Occidental Caribe

Occidental Caribe
3.493.493.493.493.49
3.49 based on 381 reviews
#46 of 99 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Punta Cana
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (86)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 1234567

Our stay at occidental caribe

, London, ON
2020-02-11
we had a great time....staff were awesome
beaches were the best [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Fantastic Occidental Caribe

, London, ON
2020-02-07
The employees of the Occidental Caribe were always exceptionally friendly and caring from all levels (room service, maintenance, bar service, restaurants, front desk, management, and so on). Employees seemed to enjoy their job, and this reflects well with guests. The commitment to cleanliness was unbelievable; I cannot recall being in a resort so clean, everywhere. And sticking with employees and service, we found everyone to be very professional, efficient and effective maintaining high inner work standards that were committed to doing a good job. Check in and Out was so fast that there was absolutely no wait time.
This resort had some of the best beaches we have experienced. The food was above average with some places providing exceptionally good meals (the Mexican). Loved the pools and that the fact that all pools as well as the beaches were well supervised. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beaches, pool, staff, rooms, cleanness, facilities, grounds. Everyone was friendly, including staff and other guests!
The weak points
Areas where improvement could be made include entertainment, beach activities and perhaps a lobby bar service.
Certified

Lynn

, Toronto, ON
2019-11-23
It was kind of boring ..nothing to do in the evening time.. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everything is in good distance...pool, beach, bar, food etc..
The weak points
Rooms are not the best and some staff is rude because of the language barrier
Certified

Do not go in March!

, Toronto, ON
2019-03-17
The resort was beautiful, the staff were friendly. 2 days into our trip the resort became overrun with 22 year olds ready to party. The staff quickly became worn down and not happy, you couldn't get a dinner reservation unless you sat in a line before 7 am. Security was not enough, one kid strung out or drunk urinated outside his own door (near mine) at 5 am. I would go to this resort again but definitely not when there is a college break. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach, good assortment of restaurants. 2 Beautiful pools, nice spa.
The weak points
Not enough staff when at double capacity (kids stayed 4 to a room) lack of security at 3 am when all kids are screaming and banging on doors because they can't find their keys. Hard to get a drink. Casino is tiny, staff in there miserable.
Certified

Occidental Caribe Punta Cana

, Mississauga, HA
2019-03-09
The hotel was amazing , the staff where excellent, helpful and courteous.
We had 3 rooms, all where very clean the beds where comfortable and the pillows were great !
The food was really good especially the hut at the beach the beef was some of the best I have ever had,and the alacarte restaurants also had amazing tasty dishes.
The beach was beautiful and was only a 3-5 minute walk from all of the hotel rooms with 6 people in our party we never had a problem finding a spot at the beach or either of the two pools however I would not recommend going during American school break as they arrived the day before we left and were very loud and disruptive into the early morning
We won 300 at the casino and the free wifi worked well! I would go back for sure [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food and location to the beach
The weak points
Toilet in one of our three rooms was slow to flush
Certified

We will be back loved this place

, Grand Valley, ON
2018-12-20
The room we stayed in was beautiful and waking up every morning see the ocean was a great start of our day. The room was always cleaned when we came back from breakfast. We are already looking next year to come back again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
First Time at this Resort and we found this a very nice and great place, food was awesome staff very helpful and friendly. Our room was great and cleaned.
The weak points
The only thing our room was on the 2nd floor and outside our door was the buffet restaurant we would hear the getting ready for breakfast early in the morning. Our room keys always had a problem then didn't always work.
Certified

NIce but not great

, Montréal, QC
2018-06-12
Staff not friendly - Entertainment staff more interested in courting/flirting than working. Buffet food always the same. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice and clean beach.
The weak points
Bathroom was not clean and needed renovation. Same with the gym.
Certified

Punts Cana beach vacation

, Tottenham, ON
2018-03-02
The hotel is right on a fantastic beach! Our Ocean-view room was literally overlooking the water, about 200 feet away. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great Beach...plenty of loungers.
The weak points
The lobby. We didn't find it so nice just to sit in and have a coffee.
Certified

Experience

, St Catharines, ON
2018-03-01
Was a wonderful experience. The hotel room , buffet, pools and beach were totally awsome!!! The staff were very friendly and curtious . Definitely will be going back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Occidental Caribe

, Prairie River, SK
2018-01-26
Tall palm as you enter the scenic driveway to the well maintained resort. Variety of daily entertainment to choose from. The white sand beach, very clean. Our room was huge with ocean view. A plentiful, tasty, variety of food was in abundance. Were allowed to reserve all 6 a-la-cartes. Staff was friendly. Nightly entertainment at the theatre. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Occidental Caribe

, Grand Falls , NB
2018-01-08
Great experience! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and à la carte restaurant, pools were great also! Casino: great staff
The weak points
Service at the buffet, friendliness, bathrooms could be improved!
Certified

My trip back to the former barcelo resort.

, Amherst, NS
2017-04-23
Not one of my best hotel experiences. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach was nice, the evening shows were exciting, very talented people.
The weak points
Desk service and lanuage barrier was poor.
Certified

Nice resort but needs some updating

, Terrance Bay, NS
2017-04-23
Beautiful beach and grounds are immaculate. The rooms and hallways (a lot of broken tiles) could use some updating. We were in building 2 and the auditorium was in front of us. Very loud from 9pm to 11pm during the shows. Wouldn't recommend this area of the hotel if travelling with small children. Overall our experience was good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Pretty good overall

, Halifax, NS
2017-04-01
When I read these things I always find them confusing because I don't know who wrote them from what perspective:

I am a 44 year old 'middle class' Canadian guy who went down with his wife and 4 year old. For perspective, I don't think I had more than 4 drinks a day and if they said the price included a four drink maximum, I'd be fine with that. My party days are long over and we didn't visit the disco or the casino.

This resort is pretty good overall. We chose it because it had a large beachfront and that paid off. (We stayed at another resort on the same strip a few years ago and we had a long walk to the beach, and when you got there it was tight for seating.) The Caribe had a ton of beach space and chairs. That's the best part.

Beautiful white sand beach was lovely, but the surf in late March was pretty choppy. (My wife made me include that as a negative. I think it's a positive because I like to play in the big waves, but my 4 year old wanted nothing to do with it.) If you want to float around leisurely, you can't in PC in late March.

Check in was okay, but the front desk staff don't speak much english and are (understandably) a bit overwhelmed and beaten down. Smiles aren't always forthcoming.

No free WIFI was a downer. There's a dank internet cafe where it's $3 for 15 minutes on a pentium-2 with a broken spacebar on the keyboard. We expected some sort of free hotspot in the lobby. Nope.

The room was clean and nice, but be forewarned the walls were paper thin in our room (the ones with loft ceilings). Not everyone had that complaint, so it seems to be the loft style rooms only. I literally knew the neighbours email password ("Jamie1975") because he told his wife , and had to listen to their 1 hour late night conversation about the differences in what the word "cake" means in different countries. Luckily they were quiet overall but it could have been a disaster. The room itself was fine, and the cleaning staff were good.

The pools are great and quite large. There are 3. The party pool (with the swim up bar, volleyball net, and stage) the kids pool (with the slides), and the quiet pool that is as described. They all serve their purpose well. We didn't really go in the party pool much but everyone there seemed to be having a good time. (although late in the day the combination of alcohol, families, and flirtation produced a tsunami of arguments. Some truths are floated in that pool in the late afternoon, and it's not a pretty sight.) It also goes without saying that in that pool although the drinks are always flowing the men's bathroom is always empty. You know what I'm getting at.

The kids pool/slide park was great. It has a full time lifeguard and a big plus is that you can sit on the beach or at the quiet pool and still have a view to keep an eye on it. We also enrolled our son in a few 1-2 hour events in the kids program (aka free babysitting) and it was exceptional. The staff and events in there were a pleasant surprise.

We pretty much spent our vacation at the quiet pool. It's big and has some features that make it kid friendly (kind of a shallow shelf along one side like a splash pool). It's big, and has sprinklers all around that create some nice white noise so not a lot of racket. It was underused and mostly empty (probably because there's no swim up bar in it). I loved it. If we had to be in the party pool all day it would have been a much less relaxing week. The quiet pool being so large and far from the party pool is a big, big upside.

You can pretty much always find something to eat. The buffet food was okay (not great), but the a la carte restaurants were better than expected. It's a big resort, so you generally have to get up early to sign up or line up for the good stuff. Make a point to discover the lunch at the restaurant next to the quiet pool. No reservations required at lunch and oddly, a secret.

I didn't use the gym but it was pretty good and well located. The climbing wall and trapeze thing are a nice touch but no one used them much that I could see.

The theatre is surprisingly massive, mercifully not close to many rooms, and the shows are fine. Our little guy didn't stay up late enough so we only the saw the beginning of a few, but they were cruise ship quality.

Here's the biggest downside: We went the last week of March and we learned surprisingly that it's still spring break so there were a lot of wasted people staggering around the resort. You can't blame Occidental for that, but this place does attract a 'mid-lower price' client and there is always a few rough looking sunburned drunkards with oversized Canadian Tire insulated mugs in eyesight teetering around and yelling a lot as the day goes on. I generally don't begrudge the folly of youth, but there was some 50-60 year olds behaving the same way which is a downer. I know it's to be expected on vacation, but I'd say 20-25% of the guests were there specifically to get drunk, and the place probably holds 1000 people. That's a lot of drunks to contend with. Maybe that's every resort, I don't know.

Overall it was good value, and for a family that spent most of the time swimming with my 4 year old or making sandcastles I can't say there was too much downside. The sheer size of the place is both the best and worst thing. There's lots of space at the pools/beach, but the main dining room is noisy/busy, the long walk to the room was a bit of a hike for a 4 year old and the high number of people/low price point conspired to a high volume of drunkards behaving badly.

I can safely recommend it overall. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-Lots of chairs/space on the beach -The "Quiet Pool" had lots of space and was quiet (unless some idiot decides to bring a bluetooth speaker) -Kids pool is fantastic -Kids Program is great -a la carte food better than expected
The weak points
-"Party pool" had a ton of really wasted people in it, moreso than expected -Front desk staff don't speak english very well -No WIFI! -buffet food not great
Certified

My stay

, East Dover, NS
2017-03-27
Overall good vacation. Buffet food needs major work. Selection not good. Internet service. Do not get thru hotel. Go thru your cell service at home. Terrible experience. Feels like we got taken. Got our service as soon as we arrived. Did not work. Went back down to fix. Girl said we were never connected and did again, only to realize at check out the first paper we signed was not destroyed so two papers with our signature was there at check out and said we owed double. I explained to the front desk staff as too what happened and he wS worried about is that he would have to pay out of pocket. I have reported this to my travel agent and myself personally will not return to this resort. It's a shame as all else was great. We had a great location and room was ready when we arrived. I will not recommend this hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Grounds were impeccable. Well kept. Staff great especially in restaurants and buffet. Maids were wonderful other than fan in our room had 5 inches of dust on it.
The weak points
Internet terrible. We ended up paying double for service we barely had due to error on hotels part. Not happy. Front staff did not help us. Just worried they would have to pay out of their pocket and no concern for the error they made. agent aware.
Certified

Vacation

, Canfield, ON
2017-03-05
We had a great time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff was great
The weak points
Our did not always flush
Certified

Beautiful facility

, Camrose, AB
2017-01-23
We loved the hotel, grounds, pools, and activities. The beach was fabulous, never had to rush to get a spot or lounge chair, there were plenty to go around. The pool loungers are the best. It was nice to have a quiet pool as well as an active one. The kiddy pool was always busy. It was nice to see that this hotel was wheelchair accessible and had elevators. That was a plus. We enjoyed our stay there but didn't care for the buffet. The Japanese restaurant was fabulous as well as the Mexican. The pizzarea and pool grill were good as well. Would have preferred to have a tub in the bathroom as well as a shower. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The strong points were the beach, pool, elevators and facilities.
The weak points
The weak points were the buffet and lack of English speaking staff.
Certified

A great vacation place

, Pointe-Claire, QC
2017-01-18
Very nice ad friendly hotel, beautiful but windy beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly personel
The weak points
Strong wind prevented us from swimming in the sea for the whole week.
Certified

Barcelo review

, Brampton, HA
2016-08-23
went with my whole family. we were kept occupied. amazing staff and very clean! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
overall experience was worth it.
The weak points
No wifi unless you buy
Certified

Family vac.

, Brampton, ON
2016-08-19
was very good vacation [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
very good
The weak points
front desk checking was very slow
Certified

Will not return...

, Barrie, ON
2016-08-16
I was at the Barcelo Punta Cana for a family wedding.
My check in experience was a nightmare. The staff could not find my reservation, told me they did not have a room for me and after much discussion stuck me in s room directly above the buffet dining room.
I had booked a superior room and spent my first night with little to no sleep because of the noise.
I asked repeatedly to speak to a manager but no one came.
The next morning, the groom voiced his displeasure to the hotel manager and the wedding planner. I was eventually moved to a quieter room but the bed was broken, the toilet seat was broken, the sliding door to the patio did not lock, the shower leaked and the safety rail in the shower was not secure.
The air conditioning in the specialty restaurants was almost non-existent and made what should have been a great experience very uncomfortable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The pools and children's areas were well maintained and liked that there was a seperate pool for the party crowd, children and those wanting a quiet relaxed environment.
The weak points
The reception area was not well staffed and the employees did not have a good command of English. The check in process was a complete nightmare. The only well functioning air conditioning was in the guest rooms which were tired and in need of repair.
Certified

Barcelo punta Cana Review

, Montreal, QC
2016-08-12
My 2 kids and my friend really enjoyed our 1 week here. We had the beach, the pools, the activities, shows and other things that u don't often do. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
View. Staff.
The weak points
Service
Certified

Barcelo Punta Cana

, Richmond, BC
2016-07-28
Service is awful. No free wifi. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

The beach is 4 or 5 stars, but nothing else...

, Ste-Anne-De-Bellevue, QC
2016-04-06
Beautiful outside: the layout is perfect, the beach is beautiful, the ocean clean, but really deceiving inside: ugly rooms, poor food, only local drinks, wine horrible, kids club not fun, annoying vendors (hotel's representatives) for spa or timeshare... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the beach and the layout of the resort
The weak points
the food and drinks really poor,the rooms with shower of toilet not working, old furniture
Certified

Loved it!!

, Gatineau, QC
2016-03-14
My wife, daughter and I absolutely loved our stay at Barcelo. The beach was fantastic. The hotel and the grounds were very clean. Everyone was really friendly and helpful with us (Juan & Ismael at the swim up bar; Ismael at the beach bar; Emmanuel at the Mexican resto) We took the Premium pkg - well worth the extra cost. A very special thanks to the ladies at the Premium lounge. Wilda, Yelitza and especially Rosa took great care of us and made our stay very enjoyable. We are already looking at returning next yr. If I had to choose something to improve, maybe some of the food at the a la carte could be better but for the most part it was really good. Will definitely try to choose a different week next yr however. Way too many Spring Breakers there when we went. Not putting them all in the same pile but when they start breaking stuff in the hotel and being out of control its no fun. But with that said, gracias to the staff (gracias Rosa) we will see you next yr! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Awesome beach, nice room, Rosa and her team at the Lounge are amazing; close to the airport; clean
The weak points
Some of the Spring Breakers were out of control; some of the food could improve

Avoid Bercelo Punta Cana

, North Glengarry, ON
2016-03-01
Our vacation was much below expectations!
Upon arrival at this resort the booking in was efficient. A porter assisted us to the farthest point in the resort to room 7415. The swipe entry card did not function. He was unable to communicate in French or English at all but pointed to me then then said reception… I returned to reception where they re-magnetized the entry card and told me not to put the card next to my phone. I had not brought any electronic devices on this trip.
The card still mall functioned. I called reception and they agreed to send someone to fix the reader. In about ½ hr. a security person came to re-activate the reader. I then asked him to repair the safe as it did not function. He said he would be back in two minutes. He returned ½ hr. later just to say he would need parts and would be back in 5 minutes. He returned in ½ hr. to say he would be back at 8:45 pm.
We went to the buffet to discover it was luke warm at best. At the grilling station the person cooking passed people speaking Spanish ahead of us although we had chosen the items to be cooked before they arrived. This same type of rudeness was the same at the bar and continued the rest of the weekend.
We returned to our room to wait for the person to repair the safe. When he had not shown up 45 minutes after the promised time, I called the reception. They said they would send someone. They never showed up.
The next day we went to the Transat meeting and found out we were not the only new arrivals with these problems. The representative said we should wait in the room as they would not enter the room to fix anything if we were not there… The repair person came at 11:00 am and he repaired the safe without parts. (Another 4 hrs. lost…)
Upon transferring clothes into a drawer we discovered the bottom sagged so it could not be closed without raising the bottom as you close it.
The bathroom had a sticky substance next to the garbage can… it remained all week…
The bath tub had a ring at about 2” from the bottom…it was sticky and remained all week…
The faucet handle to change from shower head to bath spigot handle was missing… no big deal since we would not take a bath in such a dirty tub.
Upon taking our first shower we discovered the tub filled up to the scum line and took 30 minutes to drain after a shower.
The toilet required several flushes to evacuate the contents…
Our room was not cleaned before 5:30 daily after we returned from the pool. Towels were taken by the cleaner but no replacements were supplied on one occasion.
At the seafood a la carte restaurant we had booked at 6:00 pm. Since the pool was still opened people cut across this restaurant in dripping bathing suites. This could easily been stopped by having barriers for the seating area or just open at 7:00 pm…
At the French restaurant its location is next to the children's water slide – be prepared to hear children screaming while having super – easily resolved by opening at 7:00pm
I noticed a broken glass next to the pool one morning so I picked up the glass since I had seen a staff member walk by. I stayed there until the next staff member passed… he cleaned up the remaining small pieces with a broom and a 5 gallon pail as a shovel….. we could see the remains.
I noticed a stair railing disconnected from its post leading to the fourth floor. I found the screw on the floor so re-inserted it and found a member of staff… Since hardly anyone speaks French or English I brought him over and showed this unsafe condition… He thanked me. It had not been repaired two days later! I advised the Transat rep when leaving as children could fall.
Our card to open the door malfunctioned two more times and when we called the lobby they said we had to go get it re-magnetized… On one occasion I insisted they bring one up. They sent a repair man saying it was not the unit but was the card… again blaming the phone, I had left in Canada! I had to argue to have replacement cards returned. I ended up with 4 functioning cards but by the time I left the next day, only two still functioned.
Other than on the weekend, services were ok, although I had to struggle with basic Spanish since there was a consistent communication problem. (Except at reception)
The Ice machine was out of order on the fourth flour, third floor and second floor… I did not need to use the Exercise facility as I went up and down several fights daily.
We travel south twice a year but, if this had been our first experience it would have been our last for sure.
We will never return to a Barceló Resort although we have had nice stays at other location such as Santa Maria Cuba. This is a nice resort with well up kept grounds. There are serious mismanagement issues and the fact that there is no attempt to service Anglophones or Francophone people with even basic communication indicate they do not care for our business. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
No snow, nice weather
The weak points
Cater to Dominican people first on weekends...Do not go even with basic Spanish as you will be treated poorly!

Great Vacation

, Ottawa, ON
2016-02-18
The hotel was clean and not overcrowded. Plenty of restaurants to choose from, and food was excellent. Staff was knowledgable and all very friendly.I plan to go back next year. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
No line ups
The weak points
you have to pay for internet,
Certified

7 Days of Getting Squiffy in the Afternoon Sun

, Montreal, QC
2016-02-16
A beautiful resort that exceeded my expectations. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good food, beautiful beach, clean and safe resort, friendly staff (generally), good drinks, lots to do.
The weak points
Poor, inconsistent housekeeping. Only received full attention and restocking on one day out of 7. Other days had to be requested and was even then not always delivered.
Certified

Great vacation

, Hamilton, ON
2016-01-28
My friend and I really love Barcelo Punta Cana, I have been going to this resort for many years and will continue to go at least once a year to see old and new friends. The hotel is the perfect size and very comfortable. They work very hard to keep the resort up to date and clean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everything is close by, beach,pool, food. No need to walk a huge resort to get around this resort is built alo g the beach instead of deep. The view is amazing.
The weak points
Not major, however the food in the buffet gets tiresome .... lots of other choices but the buffet needs different food.
Certified

Not a 4 star hotel

, St-Leonard, QC
2015-11-04
My heart was broken when we arrived at this hotel as I was expecting this hotel to have the same quality as the chain BARCELO hotels I have stayed at already. The food was a disappointment, as it was always cold no matter what time you went to eat. The only hot meal I had was when I had the cook prepare pasta & sauce right on the spot. Our room was situated above the buffet restaurant so we would always smell the food in our room.

On a good aspect, the beach was very nice and clean. The premises were keep clean at all times. The room was always clean, however, the bathroom would need to be upgraded a little.

What made our stay at this hotel memorable, were the animators that we got to meet. We would like to thank them personally. They are
SUPER "Yoel", SCUBY "Pedro", GASOLINA "Carlos" and Mini-me.

MOM (Momi WOW) and Olivia [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach was beautiful. Hotel location excellent.
The weak points
The food quality needs to be improved.
Certified
pages: 1234567

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021