Tropical Deluxe Princess

Tropical Deluxe Princess
3.613.613.613.613.61
3.61 based on 195 reviews
#71 of 99 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Punta Cana
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (44)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123

Great Pools and Beach

, Toronto, ON
2019-01-02
We enjoyed the set up at this hotel. 3 pools were great and the huts at the beach were really nice. Lots of them and no problem finding one. The food was great. Service: some people went above and beyond and others were just there...seemed to be no in between. The rooms need updating. The shower was terrible. We had a few issues with our rooms, like no air conditioning and our phone didn't work. They relocated us to another room the 2nd day but no one really tried to make sure all of our needs were met, the phone never got fixed and we were travelling with a group and could not call them. We like that we had a mini fridge in the room and they left us lots of bottled water. The grounds were kept great but more attention needs to be put on the guestrooms. We were here at Christmas and when we booked were really excited that there was a church on site. We chose this hotel because of this and we were excited to attend mass on Christmas Day...it was in Hotel Calendar and we confirmed with the front desk that there would be a service at 4pm Christmas day. So we were VERY DISAPPOINTED on Christmas Day, when we got to the chapel along with some other guests and found nothing happening. We had to go to the lobby and were then told there would be no mass. A real let down for us as we booked with this in mind. No apologies. No making up for anything. The front desk just didn't care. The front desk was like this for everything(poor guest services). Our sunwing rep Teo was wonderful and he helped us with everything including confirming there would be a service. They should hire him as their Guest Services Manager. If we go back to Punta Cana we would try a different resort. This was okay overall but not worth a repeat stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The pools were beautiful. The beach was choppy but the chairs and huts were nice. Always lots of room. Liked the proximity of the pools to the beach and the resort.
The weak points
Guest services did not meet our expectations. Friendliness and helpfulness need improvement. The rooms need updating. Did not like that hotel tried to recruit you to sign up for their "exclusive" program/or the pushy vendors they allowed on the resort
Certified

5 star ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

, Porters Lake, NS
2018-05-06
I give this resort a 5 star.

Beach 5/5
Cleanliness 4/5 ( wasn't too impressed to see Balloons from something strewn into the sand, we picked up some.
24 hour bar/ buffet 5/5
Drinks 5/5
Towel service 5/5
People bugging you to buy stuff 3/5
( they take no for answer and move on, but it can be a bit much at times)

Accommodations 5/5
A/C 4/5 ( stopped working twice, but was promptly fixed, and it
Never broke during the night )
Cleanliness 5/5
Safe 2/5 ( couldn't figure it out and didn't care, our passports were hidden and money kept on us. We didn't need it)
Tv 5/5 lots to watch at night
Beds and pillows 4/5 ( really wasn't bad!)

POOLS 5/5
3 HUGE pools!!
The one with the swim up bar was the party pool. Lots of action and people.
The 2 other pools were very quiet with music. Great for anyone who wants to chill and or anyone with kids.

Bars 5/5

One in the lobby
One in the 24/7 snack bar
One in the swim up pool
One at the 3rd pool
( couod have been on at the second but we didn't even go in that pool)
Lots of drinks flowing ... you won't go thirsty... water included.

Bathrooms 3/5

Not enough around the pools.
Not always as clean as they could be, but then again lots of people
Coming and going. The bathrooms by the creperie were SMALL. Like, knees hit the door small.

Sun beds, 5/5
More then enough. With restrictions on reserving them. If there was only towels on the beds and I wanted to lay there. I moved them and I laid where I wanted. I didn't pay that kind of money to not have a sun bed. I never would touch a sun with belongings on them. But just towels? Then sucks to be you!

Lobby 5/5

Lots of wifi and places to hang out.
A trolly comes every 5 mins to pick you up and take you to designated stops around the resort. Always easy to get to where ever you need to with very little wait time.

Or you can walk the 10 mins walk to and from the lobby and enjoy the birds and water fowl. Grab bread from the buffet and you're set.

Food 5/5

I don't know how anyone can complain? The food was delicious! Yes, some questionable dishes. But guess what? Don't eat them!!

So many starches, meats, salads, bread, fruit and veggies. There's so much food!!! You will NOT starve!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, service, food, drinks.
The weak points
Bathrooms.
Certified

Tropical Princess Beach Resort, Punta Cana, DR

, Melvern Square, NS
2018-03-08
The hotel was very nice. Our first night we were given a single room for two people. It only had a double bed with one pillow and was very small. The next day we asked to change and were moved to another room that was with a king-sized bed and much larger. The food was very good at the buffet and ala carte restaurants. Staff was friendly and accommodating. I would recommend this resort to family and friends and visit it again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach was great. Pools were very nice. Staff was good and so was the food.
The weak points
I did not care for the people trying to sell the time-shares. They were everywhere and did not want to take no for an answer. Also we had an incident with our TV and reported it to the front desk several times but nothing was done about it.
Certified

Great Vacation!

, Nine Mile River, NS
2018-02-25
We had a great vacation. This was our second time back here and we really enjoyed ourselves. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was good. Beach was beautiful. Room was clean and nice.
The weak points
Wish they could keep the food a little warmer but buffets are like that.
Certified

Good holiday

, Regina, SK
2018-01-05
We spent a week at the tropical Princess with our son and his wife and three kids.The weather was perfect.The pool area is very nice and kept clean.The pool was never too busy because there are three pools.The beach is beautiful.Very nice sand however the ocean was a bit rough.It was ok if you like to battle the waves which we did but for small children ur anyone who likes to relax in the ocean it was too rough. Our son and grandson went and booked to ride on a tube type seat pulled behind a boat.They were supposed to have a fifteen minute ride but it was less than ten.They enjoyed it very much but went to complain about the length of their ride and got no assistance at all.This was with a group called Sea pro. We really enjoyed the coffee shop down by the beach.Really good ice coffee and treats as well as banana splits. The food at the resort was good.We were mostly at the buffet.Lots of selection.For New Years we booked at the oriental restaurant.We were told that all places had the same menu.We were disappointed with the meal.We had talked to others and heard that the buffet was way better and it had more selection as well as New Years hats and horns were handed out.There was none of that where we went.It was disappointing. We were happy with our rooms which were kept clean and always lots of bottled water supplied.Our only complaint is that around the resort there was often bits of garbage that didn't get picked up. Wasn't lots but still shouldn't be there.Didnt find staff members as friendly as some places we have been but still courteous.All I All we had a great holiday and would not be afraid to go back.Beautiful resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach and pool areas
The weak points
Garbage not always picked up.
Certified

Nice and compact

, Cornwall, ON
2017-04-10
had a very nice experience at this hotel its two resort in one (caribe princess)and tropical princess but all very compact the lobby n night entertainment are far away from everything else but they have shuttle to bring you biggest down fall is if you want a hut on beach so you can get shade better get up at 4 am people do reserve there hut before they go to bed not cool I was getting up at 4am and some hut where already taken [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
very compact
The weak points
getting up at 4am to go at beach so you can get a hut
Certified

Loved this resort!!

, Hinton, AB
2017-02-22
Husband and I went here for our honeymoon and we loved it here! Food is amazing and the 24hr snack bar is a nice touch. Beaches are beauitful but not private so alot of vendors selling their stuff. Staff is friendly and very nice. Rooms are nice but could use some upgrades but who spends their time in the room. (shower was not the greatest but did the trick lol) Overall we would definately go back here!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
everything!!
The weak points
showers in room.
Certified

First time to Punta Cana

, Toronto, ON
2016-09-28
I wouldn't recommend staying more than 5 days, the staff is pretty good. Being first time in the ocean I thought it's a good place to start.

Highly recommend not to purchase things, like cigars at the beach. That's one thing no one seems to mention about travel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Enjoyed our stay

, Newmarket, ON
2016-08-20
The beach is amazing - white powdery sand and blue water. The staff was happy and charming. The room was nice and well air conditioned, although the water pressure in the shower was not good and the towel racks seemed to be falling out of the walls. The food was pretty good - it's always worth waiting in line for the fresh-cooked dishes. We also had a good experience with a local scuba-diving company. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

FUN,FUN, FUN

, Goulais River, ON
2016-02-01
We had a fantastic time at the Tropical Princess. The Beach was beautiful. It was fun to play in the waves. We had great experiences thanks to Miguel from SeaPro and Angelo and Solany in the Buffet. Food was great, service AWESOME. the grounds were beautiful and there was lots to do. We enjoyed the band, the kareoke and the DJ in the lobby. Loved the lobby bar and the bar by the pool. Wouldn't hesitate to go there again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the beach! the staff - especially Angelo and Solany and Miguel from Sea Pro.
The weak points
limited hot water for showers at Peak times
Certified

Not a bad place

, Richmond Hill, ON
2015-12-30
Although we were disappointed with our room, and the food was just ok, we did have a great time. We stayed in a two bedroom suite in the Lirio building. The beds were quite comfortable, and we were close to the pool & buffet.
Cons:
The room is in desperate need of updating paint is peeling of the ceiling, mold was growing in the grout in the bathrooms, we had no water pressure in the "master" bathroom and could only use the shower in the kids room, foul smell coming out of drain in "master" bathroom sink- so bad that we had to keep the door closed. We notified the front desk & they "cleaned" the drain, but it didn't help. One side of the patio door wouldn't close, so it could get noisy if people were outside at night. WiFi was available in the front lobby, but was very hard to connect to and was very slow. We found the food at the buffet was ok - not great, but not bad. We also tried the Brazilian restaurant and quite good. I was a little disappointed that there is a dress code for the restaurants, yet no one enforces it. A few people respected the dress code, and the others would walk in in bathing suits and beach wear.
Pros:
Lots of bars, never any wait, friendly staff. The resort is small enough that you can walk to any of the areas in less than 10 minutes - there is a trolly that will also take you around. The entertainment was great. There was some sort of a show every night, and they got the guests up dancing & taught them Dominican dances. The maxi club entertainment team was AMAZING! They were so engaging and friendly. The would get the kids and adults out playing games and talking to each other both day and night. I cannot say enough good things about the maxi club team! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Quick service, amazing maxi club entertainment team, beautiful location, staff very friendly, many bars,
The weak points
Room was very dated with lots of problems, waited 2 days to get hot water in the showers, waited 2 days to get a tv that worked, while friendly, front desk not quick to fix problems, food not great
Certified

Ok, But wouldn't go back

, Mount Hope, ON
2015-11-03
Beach is beautiful, food is okay, but the rooms were terrible. This was a trip with my mother-in-law and husband. When we arrived we were able to get a suite which consisted of entering through one door to a double bed, no television, no table and chairs. There was two bathrooms. You then proceeded through another door with two double bed a small television and a small bar fridge. No table and chairs so when we wanted to watch the world series we were all huddled on the bed. Our washroom had a large shower head that sprayed only out one side, terrible. We were told by our sunwing rep that we had 5 ala carte options we had two.
We went for a relaxing vacation and found out that on the weekend starting the Friday the locals were allowed to stay the weekend and the hotel was at capacity. There was not place to hide for peace and quiet. Line ups at the buffet, sitting by the pool side young children were running by and jumping in the pool splashing myself and mother in law and my electronics. No supervision at all. Never again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff were very friendly.
The weak points
Open to the locals and bedroom/bathrooms are in desperate need of updating.
Certified

Would not return

, Etobicoke, ON
2014-03-05
Sadly disappointed, staff sadly unhelpful. Would not recommend this hotel, sick all week from food!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beaches were beautiful
The weak points
Food was horrible, service poor
Certified

Not recommended to anyone

, Etobicoke, ON
2014-03-05
This resort sucked the food was terrible, the staff wasn't friendly at all and [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nothing stands out
The weak points
Food was terrible was sick half the time and still am 2 days after I got home
Certified

Hot Fun!

, Etobicoke, ON
2014-02-12
The hotel was okay. We went for the beach and the beach was excellent! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach
The weak points
Rooms were very basic. Maids didn't provide any requested diet drinks. Bath mat wasn't provided most of the week. Coasters were used/dirty and not replaced all week. Clothes line was filthy & mouldy.
Certified

Pretty good....

, Toronto, ON
2014-01-13
had soem problems with flooding in the ground floor room. I thought it was the air conditoning and when it was finally looked at --so did the tech. It as actually a flash flood from the bathroom drain--(luckily more or less clean water) that happened again the next night. Fortuanaly I had my "Shamwow". This product I WOULD recomend. Not thrilled that the same product was offered the next morning for $100 less and intracacies in the price drop rules didn't allow me to claim. Wont be booking with Sell--off's soley to get a price drop that's for sure--bit of a come on. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was okay, nice variety.
The weak points
Tram to the front inconsistent, room flooded that alone was pretty crappy.
Certified

Good value

, Toronto, ON
2014-01-11
Overall, we loved it, was a good break from work and very cold winter weather.

Good: white sand beach, pools, food, drinks, the areito disco, dance show, room, friendly staff, transportation from and to airport.

not so good: many mosquitoes seem to be immune to repellent, wifi only in lobby, very slow, drops connection frequently, distance from lobby,disco,show to room,buffet,pool,beach is about 1km, there is a two car tram which runs every 15 mins approximately, though one night we went to the disco and had to walk back to the room at 2am, on the last day we had to bring our luggage to the lobby on the tram. I did not enjoy the entertainment where the crew makes fun of guests, found it somewhat disrespectful and with poor taste. The experience at the Punta Cana airport on the way back was horrible, very long waits, lots of people, perhaps due to cancelations on previous day? 20 USD tax collected per person with no receipt... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
pool, beach, room, staff, weather, disco
The weak points
mosquitoes!
Certified

5 STAR EXPERIENCE

, Ottawa, ON
2013-12-31
The hotel and staff do everything they possibly can to make your experience a memorable one. It is clean, modern and right on the most beautiful strip of beach. The food is delicious and with the amount of variety available you keep going back everyday to the buffet without hesitation. There is also the convenience of being able to get food, drinks and service at any hour of the day. There were activities as well that could keep anyone busy all day long. I recommend the Tropical Princess to anyone traveling to Punta Cana. We will be returning. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Gorgeous Beach
The weak points
The size of the Resort - very big
Certified

Vacation was alright

, Bright, ON
2013-12-21
there was sun, food, booze, pools and beach, sounds like a vacation to me!

The food was alright. The selection, flavour, temperature, alright.

There were a nice number of bars strategically placed so that you were always near a beverage. The booze was flowing, the bar staff was great. I would imagine that your review of the staff is related to your tipping, and just like at home, no one should be surprised. It constantly amazes me the amount of people not tipping at resorts, and how they don't see the relation to the service they are provided. Did you get drinks, sure, but you wait for them (often) longer than we do.

The pools were nice, and it was never impossible to finds somewhere to sit at one. The beach was the busy place!

The rooms are a little aged, but they are still very functional.

The lobby is far away from everything and you take a trolley to the rooms, but once you are there everything you need is right there. We booked thinking there was 310 rooms, when in fact there are two "resorts" but it wasn't a game changer or anything.

The entertainment staff (shows) were not very entertaining in our opinion, but the children liked them.

The disco is not included, after midnight you pay for your drinks [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
snack bar food. Bartenders were wonderful. Ice cream shack by pools!
The weak points
the shows at night, there was a "diaper pail" smell (my husband's words) every now and again.
Certified

Good value for the price

, Brighton, ON
2013-12-01
I would rate this hotel as good value for the price.

The hotel grounds are beautiful, with the mangroves and landscaping. I especially liked the lighting at night.
There are several pools to choose from, but, why swim in a pool when you can be at the beach? Especially such a beautiful beach, with plenty of lounge chairs and shade. (You might want to arrive early, though, as many people go there first thing in the morning to lay their towels on their favourite lounge chair, claiming them all day, though they only use them later) There are many sales people on the beach, but a simple "no thanks" usually is enough to convince them to try their luck selling their wares/services to the next potential customer.
The buffet has many different selections for each meal, and the staff is very friendly, helpful, and fun, especially Noemi and her co-workers! Every evening, my friends and I would extend our dinner by having an after-dinner drink or two, talking and laughing, enjoying our time together. We never felt rushed, and really looked forward to this ritual. We ate at the buffet for every meal but one, and actually missed the ambiance and selection of the buffet! After our one a la carte dinner, we ended up going to the buffet for dessert and drinks!

We had a great time at this resort and feel very relaxed after our vacation. Thanks, Tropical Paradise staff!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Lovely grounds, especially the beach and the mangroves. At night, they light up the paths through the mangroves and grounds with beautiful lights. The buffet staff are great, and the food is pretty good. The rooms are adequate. Good family atmosphere.
The weak points
Our room smelled very moldy, and I had to complain twice to get another room. Once we were moved, I was satisfied. It can be difficult to exchange beach/pool towels as they run out of clean towels frequently.
Certified

X

, Etobicoke, ON
2013-08-18
Hotel was ok butno service in english. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
resort itself was beautiful, clean and well kept
The weak points
No english language speaking staff at resort. as such difficult communicating.Disappointed that we were lured into buying time share with the promise of welcome gift which is a lie.
Certified

Dont Vacation Here!!

, Woodbridge, ON
2013-08-05
Surroundings are beautiful, but the hotel itself is NOT maintained...we were moved 3 times, they were gonna make it 4 but we refused. No air con, rooms smelt like sewage, beds hard as hell, the workers full of attitude, they have people hounding u to buy timeshares every single day, every thing was an extra cost, even an inflatable slide for the kids in the pool. DO NOT GO HERE UNLESS U WANT TO BLOW YOUR MONEY. We were even swindled by a customs officer who said we were missing a customs form for one family member. Would not tell us who, told my husband if he wanted to pass to give her 10 bucks. He did. Cant believe this country. Gotta love Canada and all it has to offer. My advice, go to Cuba, great prices, good people. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice beach and pool
The weak points
Hotel rooms are not maintained, staff do not care for visitors, terrible service.
Certified

Go only for the beach!

, St Catharines, ON
2013-07-18
The property is nice. Amazing and big beach, nice staff! Bad food, no ceiling fans in main buffet or reception areas, rooms/bathrooms need renovation! no live music so it's boring in the evening. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach!
The weak points
Food!
Certified

Tropical princess

, Bristol, QC
2013-02-21
We had a lot of complaints. Water on floor of bathroom. Maintneance fixed the toilet was leaking. Tv not working Gave us another one The mattress was quiet stained and we did not notice until we stripped the bed when leaving because the sheet covered the entire bed sides included. The shower rod was totally rusted. The sink had alot of black marks on the front. The faucette was very loose. The end tables were old and very skuffed. I left a small paper on the floor for 2 days and it was still there in the same spot. Every day we had to ask for face cloths.verytime you called the desk you were charged for a wake up call you were charged 2.00 dollars. To call out it was 2.00 to use calling card it was 2.00. It cost us 17.00 when left for calls. The service with our agent at the motel was not great. we found things on our own and felt that we were bothering her. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach
The weak points
cleanliness especially in the room
Certified

This is not a 4 Star but maybe a 2 Star

, Welland, ON
2013-01-23
This was a terrible hotel. It is listed as a 4 Star, at best it is a 2 Star. Bathroom sink leaked, Mold in the shower, Towels were like a rag, No hot water, Some days no water, Fan in bathroom ran 24 hours a day, ON/Off button on TV missing, It took three days to get clean towels for the beach, Bar at pool ran out of wine! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach was the only good thing about this trip.
The weak points
Bathroom sink leaked, Mold in the shower, Towels were like a rag, No hot water, Some days no water, Fan in bathroom ran 24 hours a day, ON/Off button on TV missing, It took three days to get clean towels for the beach, Bar at pool ran out of wine!
Certified

Nice vacation

, Lachine, QC
2012-05-28
2 min walk from the beach ,room was allways clean service was good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
had a nice view from my balcony on the second floor ..
The weak points
didnt have a remote control for tv was missing the coffee but was fix the next day .
Certified

Tropical Princess in Punta Cana

, Woodbridge, ON
2012-05-10
We had a wonderful 2 week stay at this resort. The beach was amazing. The food was great as well. We had a beautiful big room with a balcony. We feel we got a really good deal through itravel and with the Price Drop Protection, upon our return we received a cheque for $280. It was money well spent. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful resort. Very clean, great food, great beach. Loved it.
The weak points
Most of the tourists at the resort were French speaking and German speaking. The resort seemed to cater more to the French speaking tourists.
Certified

Tropical Princess

, Middlesackcille, NS
2012-03-23
This was my 5 th visit to Punta Cana, the 1st one to the Tropical Princess. So I will compare what I have to compare to:
*Sunwing is awesome to fly with
*The rep was a bit misleading with the excursions he suggested and we came to find out that he charged us 15$ more for the same ecursion as our companions.
*The resort was very clean
*Lots of hot water and whenever we needed anything they were very accomondating.
*BUT on average the staff was not that friendly. We actually had to wake the towel guy up twice to get a towel. I'm rating this a 4* , could be a 4.5 in my eyes if the staff was friendlier, the rooms were less out dated and the food was a bit better. BUT I do know that I was in the Dominican, so note that I am basing this on previous 4* in Punta Cana. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, cleanliness
The weak points
staff, food
Certified

Another Great Stay in Punta Cana

, Hammonds Plains, NS
2012-03-14
2nd time at the TP/Caribe and was even better than the 1st. Stay at 1, play at 2 and I will be back at the Princess again next year. 3 pools, 1 for each mood, never went hungery at the buffet, the beach is simply the best with large waves for bobbing up and down, no boring flat water here! Rooms a little dated but clean and bug free, stay out of the larger buildings if you don't like the late night noise of lack of water pressure. Throw a few bucks around and you will be treated like a king!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach (waves!), the size of the resort (just right!)the mangroove, the price, the STAFF!!
The weak points
Rooms dated, sheets to small, lack of english speaking guests & staff, a little slow at night, perhaps a good thing! Vendors are pushy but it's expected.
Certified

You get what you pay for

, Whitby, ON
2011-11-03
We got a great deal on this resort for a last minute get away. The resort is well kept, grounds are beautiful, pools are clean and the beach is outstanding. Our room was musty when we first walked in but found out it was the bed spread and had it replaced. We had an ocean view room that was wonderful but would get a higher level floor if doing it again. The food we could not find anything that we liked. Buffet had lots of stuff but becasue of the internation clientelle that the resort attracts they are catering to many different food likes. There was a paste bar that became a staple for us. On the third day I got sick and it didn't stop. The day before we were to fly home I purchased Imodium (charged me $20)so I could ride home on the plain. Still have it and have been home 3 days.
If you are on a budget or have a large family this is a good deal. But expect that someone in your group will get sick. Not sure what it was, we drank only bottled water and even used it for brushing our teeth. But you don't know if they are using tap water for washing the salad ingrediences, ice cubes etc. Bring your own Imodium. We met three other couples and only one of the couples did not get sick. All the others had one or the other get sick. We purchased this trip because of the cost and we got what we paid for. Would I come back to this resort again, only if I'm part of a group or someone else is paying. I would be a lot more careful of what I ate and bring drugs. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, grounds, staff were OK, Main Lobby, wildlife around the resort.
The weak points
Food that makes you sick. We also paid $350 to upgrade to VIP. Others got it when they got a room they didn't like and were upgraded for free. Venders trying to sell you stuff! No premium booze.
Certified
pages: 123

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021