Impressive Punta Cana

Impressive Punta Cana
3.913.913.913.913.91
3.91 based on 135 reviews
#27 of 99 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Punta Cana
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (92)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Impressive - Not really worthy of the name

, Winnipeg, MB
2020-03-19
Beach 10/10 - In a word - fantastic. We will definitely be looking to head back to Bavaro Beach. From the resort, we walked 90 minutes in either direction and still didn't reach the end of the beach at either end. Beautiful sand and water and an easy walk. A few beach vendors along the way but they were not too persistent once you told them you were just out for a walk.

Weather 9 /10 - 1 full day of rain and two half days of wind & rain during our 14 day stay. All the other times were spent on the beach and it was excellent.

Resort Check-in 6 / 10 - this took longer than it should have. They push their "Premium Package upgrade" on every guest at check-in. This makes every guest check-in transaction take 15 minutes. With only 3 desk clerks, it can take a long time to get through a busload of people. We did not choose the Premium upgrade, in spite of the fact that this seems very negotiable in terms of the price you pay. The opening price is $250 / person / week. You can grind this price down quite a bit if you want to barter at the time of check-in (hence the long line up and delays at check-in).

Resort room - 5 /10 - reminded me of a typical Super 8 room - nothing fancy. The room was clean. Not always quiet as we could hear the guests next door and in the hallway quite often. The mini-fridge was frozen solid when we arrived so we unplugged and defrosted it so it worked during our stay. The TV was broken and the showerhead needed repair. The safe was locked and the hairdryer was also broken. All of these issues were promptly dealt with by the resort once brought to their attention. They get good marks for making those things right. In terms of the housekeeping service, tipping had no effect whatsoever. Towels were often hard to come by and I had to go a mission many nights to get clean/dry ones for the next day as the staff would take our used ones but not replace them with clean ones. The mini-fridge was just that - not a mini bar by any stretch. The resorts idea of a mini-bar is two mini (237ml) cans of Presidente beer every couple of days in the fridge, and that typically only happened if you ran into the cleaning staff and tipped them for the beer. They would not leave any if you were not there and on some occasions, the fridge was left empty - not even any bottled water.

Resort property - 9 /10 very lush & well maintained. They put a lot of effort into keeping this property looking great. One criticism I would mention is the relentless assault that you have to endure from the Royal Resorts timeshare vultures. These guys don't quit. They circulate throughout the resort. And even after sitting through one of their presentations (which we agreed to do to help out one of them by agreeing to sit through 20 minutes of blah, blah, blah in order to get them off our back) we were still regularly approached every day by other "salesman". The resort could certainly tone this down a few notches. Saying "No" once should be enough. You shouldn't have to repeat it 2 dozen times (no I'm not exaggerating) over 14 days. WiFi is not included unless you buy into the premium upgrade. They claim they offer free wifi in the lobby area but in our experience, this is sketchy at best as it is taxed with a lot of people trying to access and is not reliable. We tried the lobby wifi for a couple of days and then bought the wifi add on for $30 US / week for two devices.

Resort Food - 3 /10 This is where it started going south. My wife had "trouble" with the food for the entire 14 days. I had my issues for about 3 of the 14 days we were there. Neither of us have ever had stomach issues at any resort we have stayed with so this was a bit of an adjustment. Hot food wasn't hot and cold food wasn't cold. The food selection really didn't change over the 14 days we were there. Pretty much the same offerings every day.

Resort Drinks - 3 /10 The rail pour liquor was very poor. Unless you were a "premium" guest you couldn't access even mid-grade liquor (according to a few of the guests we spoke to that did upgrade to the "Premium" package, the resort ran out of what they call "premium liquor" most days). The resort routinely ran out of beer and rum at the beach bar on many days and didn't replenish stock. Guests were told to go to either the pool or lobby bar for a drink. This created long lines at the bars were waiting for 10 - 15 minutes to get a drink was typical. I ended up buying a decent bottle of rum from the local grocery store (which only cost about $9 US) and kept that in our room so I could have a decent rum on occasion.

Buffet Service - 2 /10 Be prepared to "do it yourself" in a lot of the service you might expect at the breakfast, lunch & dinner buffet. Service staff were few and far between and those that were present (with few exceptions) didn't appear to know what they were doing. For the most part, we got our own drinks, cutlery, napkins (& plates when you could find one as they often ran out) & food. Avoiding the buffets during busier times seemed to improve this, although the trade-off was a reduced selection of food items as the resort often did not replenish the buffet after the initial surge of guests at 06:30 (for breakfast) noon (for lunch) & 18:30 (for dinner). In general, I'd liken it to a school cafeteria.

Resort a la carte restaurants - 7 /10 - they did manage to kick it up a few notches with these. We ate at the Japanese a la carte twice, the Italian twice, the Grill (steakhouse) twice and the French once. The service was significantly better at all of these with staff generally being more friendly and attentive (we got our drinks and cutlery without having to go and find them ourselves). Food was good at these locations and the experience of eating at the a la cartes was enjoyable.

Catalina Island Catamaran Excursion - offered by our carrier - was a highlight of our stay. Everything about this day trip was excellent. From our tour guide (Joel), the bus we went on, the catamaran (and crew), the snorkeling opportunity on a beautiful island reef, lunch supplied on the island, beer & liquor on the boat and the island, everything was top notch. We would definitely recommend it.

In summary, we will definitely return to Bavaro Beach Punta Cana. We will not consider a return to the Impressive Resort and Spa. This property claims to be a 4-5 star resort. In my experience, they have a lot of work to do on the service side of things to get there. We have stayed at a few 4 - 5 star properties. The Impressive does not meet this grade. I would not recommend it (though I had to click on something and chose "families" in order to post this review) and give it no more than 3.5 stars (my wife gives it a 3). We met some folks from Selkirk during our stay and they shared in our opinion of the lack of service and quality this resort had to offer. That said if you're satisfied with an "okay / mediocre" 3-star experience this property might be alright for some. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- The beach and grounds were fantastic. - A la Carte restaurants were good. - Activities and entertainment were good.
The weak points
- Service levels need vast improvement. - Food and liquor quality need vast improvement. - The Check-in process needs streamlining. - Timeshare vultures need to tone it down.

Impressive Resort and Spa

, Toronto, ON
2020-03-15
We spent 10 days at this beautiful resort, very clean and well layed out. If you go, you want pool view room in building 14 (close to beach and pools and food). Most people try hard to help, but a few provide bad service... again, very clean, very nice relaxing spot [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean
The weak points
Some bad service
Certified

My first trip to Punta Cana

, Winnipeg, MB
2020-02-15
The hotel is okay but servers in the buffet are forgetful and you have to ask them a dozen times for coffee or water and even then you don't necessarily get it. The only side that was good was David's section. The food was okay but cold most of the time. The ocean is beautiful but not enough shade on the beach. The servers also have to learn more English as most don't seem to understand what you are asking for. But still an okay resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The ocean
The weak points
Serving staff
Certified

Group Vacation

, Gatineau, QC
2020-02-11
We booked for a group vacation (8 adults and 2 kids) and we did enjoy it. The resort itself is nice and they have a lot of entertainment for adults and kids. I was very scared since a lot of people complained about the food. It was debatable: I don't really eat meat so my selection was smaller but a lot of time my food was not hot. À la carte restaurant were good, especially the japanese and italian.

I would suggest if you want to upgrade to negociate. We had the upgrade for $100usd for the room since we negociated. Talking with other couples, they paid $250 per person so $500. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Resort itself is very clean and beautiful, the beach, the animation, à la carte restaurant, the premium pool
The weak points
Food can be cold ( and they don't put salt anywhere) staff at the bar are not smiling and engaging with people, they will try to sell you a timesharing
Certified

Very good

, Saint Francois Xavier, MB
2020-01-25
Hotel itself was excellent. Great weather and some good food to go along. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Dionas and Juan our bartenders in the premium pool bar were the high point of our trip. They made our days full of great times! Very hard workers and they deserve a raise.
The weak points
Too many people trying to push their sales onto you while walking around the resort.
Certified

Beautiful property; lousy service

, Oro-Medonte, ON
2020-01-20
Overall, the resort itself is beautiful. The beach is very well maintained. We upgraded to Premium upon arrival & the services we used- the premium pool, lounge, priority restaurant booking & check out- were nice, as were the premium rooms, with large bathrooms & sitting area. The Nightly entertainment was enjoyable, and there was stuff going on around the pool during the day...the foam pool party was a huge hit!! The Japanese restaurant was fantastic & the Italian was good, too. The other a la cartes were not to my liking. However, the biggest issue I had was that main buffet was not up to par with other resorts we've been to in Dominican. It was the same food everyday (No theme nights to change things up) and the food they did have was not good, and I am not a very picky eater! There was a lot of Potato based foods & a lot of pork, no chicken to be found. And if you like to enjoy desserts, this is not the place to go. Also, the service at the main buffet was terrible...employees were not friendly, tables were not cleared & set efficiently, and to try to get someone to bring a drink -even water- was a chore. Overall, I would expect more from a 4* resort in this price range. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful property, well maintained beach, premium rooms were large with walk in shower, jacuzzi tub & 2 sinks. Japanese restaurant was fantastic.
The weak points
Main buffet was not well serviced & the food was not good and never changed.
Certified

Not impressive

, Chapeau, QC
2020-01-18
This hotel wasnt clean. Our first room upon check in wasnt clean. We found 2 pills on the floor beside our bed. They were white and had the number 10 on one side. When we asked to have them removed and the room cleaned they said yes then never showed up. The air conditioner was broken and it was really hot in the room on the 3rd floor. Not enough staff and workers looked unhappy/overworked. Our bathroom flooded on our second last day there and wasted all morning trying to get someones attention to fix the matter. Had to complain 4 times until maintenance came and had to stay in the room until they were done fixing it. Once maintenance were done they left a big mess of drywall and water. Then we waited another hour to get housekeeping in to clean up the mess. All our clothing was saturated in wet sewage smell which I had to throw away. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Gardens were well maintained. Bartender near the pool was good. Nice pools. Beautiful beach.
The weak points
Pools closed too early. Lots of people asking us to buy things on the beach and hotel staff constantly trying to upsell something. We felt that they were purposely making things difficult just so they could upsell rooms and products.
Certified

Terrible experience

, East York, ON
2019-05-29
Don't come here. They close their restaurants without giving guests a schedule of when each is opened. Restaurant services are terrible. They gave me a room with other people living in there. I have warned you: no matter how cheap you think it is. DO NOT DO IT!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Number of well liquors
The weak points
Everything else

Awesome resort

, Calgary, AB
2019-03-06
My husband and I were a first timer at this resort and we travel to the DR often and we rate this as our top 2 resort . The staff were so friendly and always helpful, the food was great, the night shows outstanding, 5 start plus for our stay here, our family met us there and totally agree it was one of the best stays Thank You to all [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

This hotel lives up to its name!

, Ottawa, ON
2019-03-05
We can't say enough about how great our stay was. From the moment we arrived, we were taken care of with friendly staff, great food (lots of variety), clean room, and impeccably manicured property! They have tons of staff working very well together doing their part to make our stay flawless. We particularly enjoyed the evening shows, with one standout "The Circus"...you could have told me those two guys were from Cirque de Soleil and I would have believed you. Everything from our meals (including all of the à-la-cartes), the pools, the beach, and entertainment was done so well. We had read previous reviews about the beach not being clean or having a smell, but we walked the beach a mile in each direction and there was some seaweed all along the coast line. Some resorts like "Impressive" had staff raking it on the beach and some didn't. The weeds were minor and easily avoidable. The beach really was beautiful, the sand soft, and the water was clean. As for smell, we noticed it a bit in one spot very briefly...not sure what it was but nothing concerning. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food had so much variety, we tried something new that we'd never had before with almost every meal, and it was all very well done! The circus show was unbelievable...the 2 gentlemen acrobats were out of this world!!! The pool was very clean too!
The weak points
We really have none...anyone who complains too much about this resort were either a minority in think such or they were nick-picking!
Certified

Impressive Review

, Oakville, ON
2019-02-25
We had a wonderful time at your resort. We did not have any complaints except for the Lake restaurant. For the only restaurant that was above the all inclusive price, it was below satisfactory and I would not recommend it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-beautiful and very clean property -rooms were beautiful, clean and spacious -enjoyed the large balcony and view of the Lake restaurant -Service was great throughout the resort -Staff were all very kind and very accommodating -great massage and spa
The weak points
-The Lake restaurant was very dissapointing. The staff were few and their english was poor. The lobster was very overcooked and not edible. We were offered another lobster which we declined. They did send us off with a bottle of wine to complensate.
Certified

Fantastic Getaway!!

, Niagara Falls, ON
2019-02-17
We Visited from Feb1-8, 2019. We had a wonderful time. After reading some of the previous reviews I was a bit nervous about this place. But to put your mind at ease we have no complaints. Very friendly staff, very clean rooms and the food was better then expected!
We upgraded to premium when we got to the hotel, but next time we'll save that extra $ for the Spa and Excursions because the regular package was absolutely fine for us. All we really made use of was the wifi which you can get separately. We loved it so much that we plan on going again next year with our teenage kids.
Thanks to ALL the staff for making our holiday so relaxing and very enjoyable.
Until next year, :) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Pretty good resort on a lower budget

, Langdon, AB
2019-02-12
This resort was formerly a Sunscape. It had been closed for a month or so and reopened under its new name. We could see that the staff is still being trained but service was improving during the two weeks that we were there in February of 2019. We are reviewing as a retired couple so can't really speak to the kids program although we saw that there is one. We also saw a wedding building, and I didn't attend the spa. The restaurants were very good and great variety. There is an upgrade package available but we stayed under the standard room and service and were happy with that. I can't speak to the difference in the rooms with regard to the upgrade but the pools in that area were quieter if that is your preference. The beach in front of the hotel is under reclamation so unsightly; however you just needed to walk a few steps to where the swimming in the ocean is a bit better. The pools were large; one had lots of entertainment so was louder (but fun) and one quieter and closer to the beach. We noted that one of the pools in the upgraded area had access for wheelchairs to enter. We thought the evening shows were great - lots of talent and variety. The theatre held a few hundred people. Free internet was available in the theatre at all times. We paid extra to have internet access on 2 devices from anywhere on the resort. It worked most of the time but was slow. All in all we would recommend the resort as great on a lower budget. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great entertainment, good pools, friendly staff, seven or so restaurants with great variety of food, clean rooms with good linens. Safe to walk along the beach for miles.
The weak points
Beach views were poor as the beach sand is being reclaimed, the internet slow and sometimes not available.
Certified

Impressive resort

, Greely, ON
2019-02-03
We paid a premium for an ocean view room and the view was very limited especially because the old vinyl blinds in the room didn't work, so they had to be manually lifted each morning and wedged up high so that we could look out of the windows, which were quite in need of a good clean. This was referred to the Front Desk but nothing was done. Otherwise our room was pleasant, the mini fridge was stocked daily and the cleaning staff was friendly. The bar staff were outgoing and friendly but the wine really needs to be improved [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, beautifully maintained grounds, clean pools,good selection of restaurants.
The weak points
Very bland wine, food not always hot, very poor Wi-Fi (free), beach not impressive. Nightly theatre entertainment not impressive.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021