Melia Punta Cana Beach Wellness Resort Adults

Melia Punta Cana Beach Wellness Resort Adults
3.973.973.973.973.97
3.97 based on 33 reviews
#64 of 104 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Punta Cana
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (34)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Melia punta Cana wellness adults only

, Lloydminster, SK
2022-02-11
Overall it is a nice hotel and wonderful staff! It is a huge resort and with the adult perks you can go to both sides of the resort but take the train!! The beach is amazing, the food was good,very similar to home! Seafood was delicious!! I would suggest getting a beach front room if you don't want to do alot of walking during the day! The train only runs every 15mins and stops at 11pm (before the lobby bars shut down). There is no bank and the casino doesn't like to exchange your money, plus you have to guess what time they are open as there is never a straight time from the workers. The adult pool is just for relaxing and reading! There are no music signs up and no loud things happen at the pool, even loud groups get shushed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The rooms, food and beach are perfect. Most staff speaks english and are helpful! The relaxing atmosphere and beautiful landscape are 100% worth it !
The weak points
There is poor communication on what time things open! There is no 24hr bar and snack bar. There is no bank and the casino staff didn't want to exchange money ! There is no music allowed by the pool on the adult side! There is no loud activity by the pool.
Certified

Not Covid friendly

, Huntsville, ON
2022-01-11
This resort over promised and under delivered. We paid the extra for The Level premiums and the only saving grace was our concierge whom we could message at any time and he'd make sure things happened for us (Nathanael). Our check in was disappointing. We had premium check in at The Level and while there were premium drinks available on the bar there was not a glass in sight. No one offered us a welcome drink and we couldn't even get one of our own. There were snacks on The Level but no plates to gather them. We had to eat the cake with our fingers on a napkin. This never changed in the 10 days we were there. After we registered we were told to wait for our concierge to take us to our room. We managed to find some small champagne flutes from a staff member and I drank my scotch from this. We waited an hour before another concierge saw us and decided to take us to our room. We never did see the original concierge ever.

The buffet was okay but nothing special. There was half the variety from other resorts. There was a hamburger station with buns and all the extras but no one at the grill making hamburgers. The food at The Level restaurant was hit and miss. Some of it was pre-prepared so it came out cold and overcooked, such as the salmon eggs benedict. There also seemed to be no care regarding changes to orders. When I requested no mushrooms on orders they still came almost every time. Same goes for when they ask how you would like your eggs done, or your steak. Medium steak came rare, medium eggs came over hard.

The Mexican al la carte was the biggest dissapointment. The salad bar was not good and the soup terrine was empty. The pork tacos were all fatty so you can't bite through it. You end up with meat hanging from your chin. The flavours were not mexican either..

The Spanish a la carte was pretty good. All 4 of us enjoyed the meal.

We tried Italian twice because the first time we walked out after 1.5 hours of waiting for our meal. They had 2 chefs in the kitchen working on an over 60 capacity restaurant. The 2nd time we went they at least got the time down to 45 minutes. The food was tasty at least. This restaurant had the worst service by far.

The Vietnamese restaurant was excellent. The pho wasn't authentic but it was tasty. The food was delicious and the service was as it was expected. There was a dining room manager watching over all the tables and I feel this made the difference in service. We wish we tried this one a few more times.

There were virtually no covid protocols in place in the restaurants except the buffets where they checked you for a mask and gave you a single glove to handle the serving utensils. On the family side (Caribe) there were maskless children running up and down the buffet. In the a la carte restaurants there were no masks required at any time. It's as if there wasn't a pandemic. No mask enforcement and people were lining up directly behind us without any physical distancing. 99% of people at the resort never wore masks ANYWHERE. It was terrifying at times when people were sneezing and coughing without covering their face.

This resort is mostly European travelers. This resort has no smoking policy so people were smoking in the buffet as well as at The Level restaurant inside and out. Spoiled many meals for us.

95% of the employees we interacted with never spoke even basic english. I think the influx of travelers from Spain has made them a bit lazy on service in english. Our one server couldn't even take our order when I was asking for a specific alcohol which was on the bar and that I'd been drinking all week. I can't count how many times we had to settle for what we got instead of what we asked for.

The Level was overpriced for what we received. There is no pillow menu as advertised nor is there 24hr room service as stated. It closed at 10pm. Premium drinks on The Level were appreciated when there was glassware and the snacks would have been tasty if there was a way to eat it.

The spa was quite good but they were wishy washy with their pricing. One person would offer us 10% discount on the next service and then we'd come in and there was no discount. They are making promises to get the bookings. The massages were good (hot stone and deep tissue). The "reflexology" isn't actual reflexology. It was just a leg and foot massage. The 50 minute pedicure turned out to be less than half that length and they just put a single (and sloppy) layer of polish on without a clear coat. My wife had to ask for the polish to be fixed as my 9 year old niece could have done better.

All in all this resort might be good for people who are NOT focused on wellness as this place was not covid safe and the fact that people could smoke or vape anywhere made it intolerable at times. For the $6100 we paid we got better quality for 1/3 that price in other countries. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The grounds were gorgeous. Some of the spa services were excellent (massages)
The weak points
Dominican Republic service standards have wavered over the last few years.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Non-existent. Didn't feel safe at all. Never saw one employee sanitizing anything. It's as if there wasn't a pandemic at this resort with the exception that the staff wore masks.
Certified

Good experience

, Yoho, NB
2021-11-06
It is a beautiful property. The facilities were well appointed. The meals I had at the Al La Cart restaurants were all very good. The hotel struggled a little with the buffet restaurants though - mostly the food that should be served warm was cold, and often dried out. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beautiful Property, beach, very well kept, extremely clean, well appointed rooms. A few great staff members. Scarlett at the front desk was wonderful. Danny at the bar near the Mexican Restaurant was also had awesome customer service skills.
The weak points
Buffet restaurants. Overall service. The front desk for the most part seemed not interested in helping, check in process was painfully slow. Various bars ran out of different products through our week stay.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
They handled Covid Measures very well. Enough to feel safe, but didn't impact the trip.
Certified

Man those beaches!

, Morniville, AB
2019-08-25
We got to the hotel from our shuttle and couldn't even believe how beautiful it was. Beautiful furniture, hanging swings and chairs, cabanas everywhere in the lobby as well as the beach. We could tell right away the hotel was not that busy, for one we found a sheltered area on the beach daily to sunbath, but also all the restaurants were half empty. All the restaurants were accessible, you did not have to reserve. We loved this so much
The beach sand did not get hot, I guess they told us it's “pure” sand and we loved that feature.
The variety of restaurants was also a bonus.
Staff were constantly asking if we needed help and we did have our own concierge we could call for support named Roberto. All in all it was an amazing, relaxing vacation and we loved the resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
All 7 restaurants no reso required, The sand, The rooms were gorgeous and clean, The support from staff members, We never got sick the entire vacation( you know what I mean), Always had tons of bottled water
The weak points
Need to take golf carts everywhere and from our room to the front desk was at least 1 km, One day we didn't have running water for 12 hours throughout the whole hotel,
Certified

Amazing vacation

, Airdrie, AB
2019-08-05
The hotel was amazing! Stayed at the level and were treated like royalty the entire time we were there. Delicious food. Wish there was a little more entertainment/nightlife but still had a great time. Our trip wouldn't of been the same without Henry! He catered to our every need! Definitely would go back again. 5 stars! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

During Reno visit

, Georgetown, ON
2019-06-19
The hotel was still undergoing upgrades. Our first assigned room was like a hospital room. White.Cold.Tasteless and not upgraded. We went back and asked to move. The second room was upgraded and I was happy with the 4star quality. The glass wall between the bathroom and bedroom was really unfortunate. I don't need to see my spouse on the toilet!!
Food was good. We enjoyed the thai restaurant and Italian. This is a huge property. You need to take a golf cart or ridiculous train to get from the beach to the restaurants. Beach was really nice. Lots of chairs and room to spread out. Pool was chilly so we didn't go in but nice. No beach service for drinks. Overall I expected 4 star and was happy with it as a 4 star. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach- Sandy, big, lots of chairs
The weak points
Too big. It's refurbished and still dated.
Pro

Our one week stay

, Fall River, NS
2019-04-07
We really liked this resort. It was our first visit to the DR. Kind of wished there was more entertainment and a disco. Our room location was perfect. We tried Italian, Mexican and Japanese restaurant(Japanese should be included in price). We were charged one price and others were charged something different. Food was amazing and so were the drinks.
Didn't like being approached about time shares. Made it sound like they wanted us to view another resort to potentially stay there but it was a lie. Also didn't care for all the guys/girls on beach bugging us to buy stuff. They were very pushy. Prefer relaxing vacation and not to be bothered constantly to buy excursions/merchandise. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food and love mature trees/shrubs/flowers. Pool in Melia Punta Cana Section was awesome. Recommend building 1 or 2 in this section
The weak points
Some wait staff were unfriendly (rude). One bartender and waitress in the Caribe lobby and the girl making smoothies at the breakfast buffet beside building one in Melia Punta Cana Section. Too many motor boats on beach. Stirs up seaweed and smell gas bad
Certified

Very Disapointing

, Ottawa, ON
2019-01-11
Just returned from our vacation with such disappointment.
Let me start from the beginning, once we landed we were taken in a minivan just the two of us to Melia Tropical the sister hotel and the driver was dropping us off there at the wrong resort, security had to tell them it was the wrong resort. Once we were dropped off at our correct resort we checked in, it was a beautiful entrance people were friendly. Again to go back to airport we could not get picked up at our resort and no one could tell us why. We check in at about noon and were told check in is at 3:00pm to go and have lunch and get to know the resort. No problem we did that, at 3:00 we went to reception to get our room, we were advised room not ready. We waited until 5:30 to get our room we had been up since 3:00 am that morning it was very upsetting. They take us to our room, maid was just finishing cleaning, the mattress on the sofa was stained and wet with who knows what, pointed it out to her she flipped it over, we said no we want a new one. She left, the patio door did not lock and had no chairs on the balcony, called maintenance, the bathroom was filthy and when you turned on the tap it sprayed water all over. Maintenance put new lock on patio door and changed the screening on the tap. After all this we go to bathroom and water is flooding the bathroom floor from the ceiling. Finally client service Paula came and gave us a better room she was the only one that helped, the others just apologize and do nothing. Thank you Paula.

Let's talk about dining, the restaurants are very nicely decorated, the food is mediocre and the service is the worse we have ever had. We are seasoned travelers we have visited many countries and this resort was way below expectations. The wait staff are running around like they have no idea what they are doing, there is no service in the restaurants, at the pool or at the beach, period. We had one restaurant open for breakfast and it was buffet that was ok. At the adults only resort we had one restaurant for lunch and it was buffet we spent seven days at the resort and for seven days the buffet was the same food day in and day out no variety whatsoever. Yes we had access to the sister resort but the buffet there was the same as ours and the two beach restaurants were not appealing at all both had hot dogs and hamburgers. We expected so much better. And food is not covered, flies are all over the food so disgusting.
To get from the restaurants and your room if you are by the pool or beach it is a 10 minute walk they have a train or golf carts but you could wait awhile as they don't come often.

The pool is nice and big but its cold, the hot tub or spa is not functioning it just sits full of water and is slimy.

Julio and Candida are at the bar at reception they are very friendly and nice. Julio makes best chocolate martini.
Security is very good on keeping kids out of resort.
Wi fy was great to have throughout the resort

This is a 3 start resort it is in no way a 4.5 star. They charge 4.5 star but you are only getting 3 star services.
Date of stay: January 2019 [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Reception and restaurants are very nice . Lots of security. No kids.
The weak points
Terrible food, no service, rooms are just ok, flies on food, no variety of food. Not a 4.5 star resort not even close
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2022