Grand Memories Punta Cana

Grand Memories Punta Cana
3.863.863.863.863.86
3.86 based on 29 reviews
#29 of 99 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Punta Cana
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (6)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

PAS VRAIMENT UN 5 ÉTOILES, NOT REALLY 5 STARS

, Beloeil, QC
2020-02-28
L'hôtel est presque neuf, quelque années seulement, mais des signe de vieillissement sont présent, craque dans le murs de ciment, beaucoup de patch sur les surfaces de murs, qualité du nettoyage et entretien 7/10.
Plusieurs bon restaurants, fruit de mers excellent, italien ordinaire, mexicain très bien. Le restaurant principale est un libre service avec un peu de tout.
Le service un peu partout est assez bien 8/10. les variétés de buisson sont vraiment bien. Activité multiple et variés.Pour les enfants aussi. plage superbe, service au chambre dans le bâtiment 27 pas très efficace, frigo souvent vide, faut téléphoner à la réception souvent, papier de toilette manquant, papier mouchoir aussi. propreté laisse à désirer, dans les chambre. Vitre et miroir avec des taches. 6/10 [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
qualité du personnel au restaurant et Bar, et produit de consommation, très bien
The weak points
propreté générale, entretien des bâtiments. Et manque de serviettes de plage fréquent.

Wonderful family vacation at Grand Memories PC!

, Kitchener, ON
2020-02-21
Friendly staff, great pools, amazing waterpark, good food, easy to quickly figure out the layout of the entire resort, great for kids, free wifi available everywhere was a treat, short drive from airport, Grand Memories beach area was a bit cramped but manageable. When we were there it never felt crowded anywhere but the beach. We would definitely return to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pools, waterpark, beach, staff, food,
The weak points
Memories beach area was a bit cramped, had to ask 4 different people over 2 days to get an extra blanket but finally got it. Shows didn't start until 9:30pm which was too late for 5 and 7yr olds so we didn't ever see one.
Certified

Great Resort

, Winnipeg, HA
2020-02-14
Our family of five had a blast at this resort (2 adults and three kids under 5). Food & service was great and the resort just offered so much to keep us entertained all week. Great pools, water slides and beach all within a 10 minute walk or take the tram around the resort.
We will book again for next year, we had a great time! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Wonderful family vacation

, Brampton, ON
2020-02-08
Had a great trip with my family (2 adults 3 kids from 4 to 9), as well as three other adult family members in other rooms.

We stayed in one of the deluxe family suites, which has bunk beds in a separate room for the kids, which was fantastic. I think it was a twin on top and a double on the bottom, huge beds. We had a king bed, which was great also. Nothing but good things to say about the accommodations. The only downside would be there are no elevators to the rooms, so get the ground floor if you have a heavy stroller or a wheelchair etc. Also the shower does get water on the floor, but not such a big deal. Your room key is integrated into your bracelet, which is so convenient. At one point we had a problem with our door not opening, but it was addressed within minutes of us going to the front desk. Someone had to come replace a battery. Very fast, I was impressed. The lady at the front desk was so professional and helpful, I regret that I didn't get her name. She knew immediately what the issue was. The rooms have an entire 24h Toopy and Binoo channel, Cartoon Network, lots of stuff for kids. Room service is included, that was a new one for me. I didn't use it but it is a nice idea!

The pools were very nice. We spent most of the time at the quieter pool, which also has a wading pool. You do need to get there early if you want to get chairs because they will be mostly taken by 8am, but again no big deal to sit on the side if you don't. The other pool was busier and had more music which some people prefer.

The water park and kids' club were both huge hits, but note the kids club is only for 4 , although I think they do have babysitting for younger ones. They have computer games, ball pit, trampoline, playground...our kids didn't want to leave it honestly, we had to drag them away, haha. The water park has a bunch of huge slides, and a smaller area for little kids, as well as a wave pool. Our 7 year old was unfortunately too tall for the smaller section but not interested in the bigger slides, so this wasn't his favourite place, but he still enjoyed the wave pool. There are lots of lifeguards and they are on the ball - very well staffed. One at the top and bottom of every slide, two in the wave pool when it is going, one in the small area as well. There is no food (or alcohol) allowed in the water park so you can't set up camp and stay all day, but that was ok with us. Lots of chairs.

The beach at this resort was a bit of a walk, you get there by walking to and through the Royalton, but if you can't do the walk, a little golf cart type train runs every few minutes. The walk had a lot of birds and ducks etc so it was actually quite nice. The beach itself was very nice, but large waves so you need to be careful of the kids. Not too windy, soft sand, super clean. I think it is nicer than the last resort we went to in Punta Cana, but who knows if that was just the weather - we had spectacular weather.

Food and drinks were plentiful and good. We ate almost every night at the buffet because the one time we went to an a la carte, the kids didn't really want to order from a menu, they prefer to see what's around the buffet. It's also hard for our youngest to stay awake to eat after a full day of being outside so we kinda ate and ran most nights. The Mexican restaurant was ok. Not my favorite Mexican food of all time, but certainly tasty. My dining companions had some extremely potent tequila there, I think they liked it but I'm not sure they remember what came after it, ha! The staff at the buffet were very accommodating of our group, especially when we sometimes trickled in not all together. Particularly Wilfrido was just super with the kids and very cheerful, (although he got baby shark stuck in my head but I won't hold that against him! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The water park, kids' club, cleanliness of the grounds and attentiveness of staff. Oh and WiFi everywhere was nice.
The weak points
If I had to pick something, they could do with a few more chairs at the quiet pool and better information about towels. We got towels at the Royalton before we realized you could also get them at our end by the quiet pool. Very minor concerns, however.

A place for family

, Cornwall, ON
2020-01-26
Grand memories lives up to its name. We definitely had some grand memories. The staff was very friendly and the grounds were very well kept. The food was 6.5/10. I really wished there would have been at least some authentic Dominican republic food available to try. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff were really great. Fabio, the bar tender at the pool in front of building 26 was amazing, friendly and helpful. Raymond, the vibe entertainer was great as well. He was so funny and out going.
The weak points
The food had a lot of selection but kinda bland. I know it needs to please all kinds of people but it would have been nice to have an option to spice it up.

Great resort.

, North York, ON
2019-05-13
Grand Memories is a great resort. My husband and I currently are in the resort and enjoying our stay. Everything is great - the food, drinks and the service. I was impressed with lifeguard Wander's outstanding service. I lost my optical glasses in the ocean, near the beach and asked lifeguard Wander for help as it was important to me to find it. After two days of search he found the glasses. I didn't believe to my eyes when he came this morning with the glasses in his hands, which was in the bottom of the ocean, sank in the sand all night. Such an outstanding service. Thank you very much Wander from bottom of my heart for your outstanding support! We really appreciate it.
Melanie [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Memories

, Sault Ste Marie, ON
2019-03-10
Very new and modern fixtures. Very clean. Everything is close except the beach. Lots of children and lots of things for children to do. Lots of chairs if you have diamond statis at pools or at the beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Have Wifi even on beach and in your room.clean.friendly staff.
The weak points
Very far from beach. Need more chairs at the beach.
Certified

Pretty disappointed

, Niagara Falls, ON
2019-03-06
The hotel itself was very clean. The room was filthy smelled really humid, floor was dirty as soon as we walked in the room took our shoes off bottom of out feet were black. Room service didnt show up one night and my daughter went to sleep without eating. Breakfast buffet is a total disaster, no service abilities at all! They will Ignore you. When you ask them for a drink or anything else they give you attitude. The worst of the worst service i got was in the mexican restaurant you have to wait for your food long and the server would just disappear, until i realized what was going on.... They are drinking beer in the back while working, some of them look really drunk, how can the hotel have this going on when there are families with kids in there?. Really really disappointing. Not worth the money i paid at all!. Horrible horrible horrible! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

We will never go back

, Guelph, ON
2019-02-27
Hotel have 4.5* but actually feel like 3,5. Rooms are very basic no chairs, if you like to make cafe , you have to move furniture to find plug, if you order room=m service they will come in few hours or no, they i not bring anything except water, food is very good , but service is horrible, if you not wawe dollars you have nothing, is long waiting lines for buffet, program is good only in Royalton [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
food, water park, program in Royalton
The weak points
service, room
Certified

Great Time

, Toronto, ON
2019-01-28
The place looked as good as the photos in the brochure. My room was very clean and modern. The beds were firm but comfortable. I did not wake up sore or stiff. The washrooms were large, clean and modern. There was always hot water available in the shower. Oddly the sink hot water came and went but this was no problem for me.
The buffet was enormous and clean. The food there ranged from good to very good. The beef steaks tasted great but were sometimes a bit gristly. The orange juice seems to be made from powder and is not what we expect of orange juice here. The array of cheeses was outstanding and delicious.Service was mostly good here and when it wasn't it was due to the staff working hard to help other guests. A quick wave brought you their attention and assistance.
The A La Cartes were very good.There were Mexican, Seafood and Italian restaurants. I visited the Italian one 4 times and ate very tasty food. The number of bars were more than enough. I do not drink alcohol but they had no problem making non alcoholic delights for me. Try the dirty monkey or the slide.
The many pools were very clean and refreshing.
The coffee/snack shops served great specialty coffees and snacks. Ice cream was OK and twice ice cream labeled as vanilla was actually pineapple. It was good as well though. Travel between the sister resorts is fine on foot or you can take the 24 hour running "train".
The splash park was also lots of fun, with a wave pool and water slides for any appetite.
It is a large resort and the beach is a pleasant hike away if you opt to walk. The beach is good, with plenty of chairs. The water did have some sea weed in it but that is not the resort's fault.
Staff was universally friendly. I did tip some of the staff some of the time but was treated very well even in the cases were I did not.
Vendors set up tables on two separate days. They were more pushy than was comfortable. I spoke to a few of them and they were nice folks just trying to make a living but it got to a point were we were taking alternate routes (were possible) to avoid them.
Being able to make free phone calls to North America was a great bonus.
Despite the few little issues my stay was fantastic and I highly recommend this resort to all but the most difficult to please people. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, cleanliness, food at the a la cartes, on site travel representatives, namely Jenner and Rolson, (I did not speak with Nestor) beach, travel train between related resorts
The weak points
Guests were not stopped from playing loud personal music at the pool. This clashed with the resorts music and was very annoying.(I did not request the staff to stop the music by the way). The vendors that came twice.
Certified

Grand memories Punta Cana

, Ridgeville, ON
2019-01-23
We had a great week just relaxing. Beach is not confidently located and not very big. We went down early to put our towels including one I brought from home and when we went back an hour later my towel from home was nowhere to be found and someone had taken our chairs because there was not enough lounges because the beach area was not very large. Someone also took my hat and I checked everyday at lost and found which was a joke. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful pools and nice cafes and a burger and ice cream place besides the restaurants.
The weak points
Beach is not confidently located and not very big area. You have to go through another resort to the beach. There was a segregation if you did not buy into their vacation club, like one of the pools.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021