Melia Caribe Beach Resort

Melia Caribe Beach Resort
3.923.923.923.923.92
3.92 based on 241 reviews
#65 of 99 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Punta Cana
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (35)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 1234567

Great resort, food ok

, Toronto, ON
2020-02-14
The resort is beautiful and the staff are very friendly and attentive. We had our 3 girls (ages 1, 3, 5) with us. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff was amazing Resort grounds were beautifully landscaped Family rooms with king bed, single bed with trundle, and pull out sofa is great for large families. We stayed beachside so were very close to pool, water park, beach, and morning buffet
The weak points
Dining option a were limited since many dinner restaurants are adults only. We had 3 choices plus the buffet- dinner buffet was horrible. Restaurants were fine but only 3 kids meal choices so they got sick of it pretty quickly.
Certified

Very disappointed

, London, ON
2020-01-12
I don't understand how this resort receives the high rating they do, my wife and I travel 3 times a year, normally Barcelo, and Bahai Principe, The construction and closure of our Level amenities aside... We still would never go back, the resort is very dated, food is OK, but very very limited variety in comparison to other resorts and so many flies. The beach was awesome, except for all the peddlers. Most of the staff was good, the maid was awesome, hands down best maid service we have ever received. This is a very big resort, and we encountered many times waiting 20 to 30 minutes for a cart to drive us to dinner. The only resort activities were aerobic stuff, waited for volleyball 4 to 5 times , but hey didn't bother starting it. Tennis is a must when we go on holidays, it was a joke, the one time out out of 4 someone was there, the gave us cracked rackets and balls, and the courts were disgusting, very dirty and dated. Be ready to be asked to go to a free lunch(timeshare) at least 10 times a day! and they don't except no. Internet was good, sports bar is a joke, no satellite, same channels you get on your TV. Lastly when I did complain about 12 hours a day of listening to jack hammers and saws and closure of our Level restaurant the didn't care when bit the response was our new resort is a lot better, "let us take you there"(time share) . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach was awesome, except for the 20 peddlers a day you need to shoo off. The food was good, but very limited variety compared with other 4 to 5 star resorts,The a la carte were good, but again very limited menu. The maid service was awsome.
The weak points
First off, we paid extra money for Level amenities, and got screwed. The resort had construction in 4 area's of our location as well as closing Level restaurant which happen to be our favorite. 12 hours of jack hammers for 5 days of our holiday!
Certified

Great Resort

, Orleans, ON
2019-02-22
Just returned from a wonderful trip to Melia. We booked beachside jacuzzi room (not the Level). Very close to beach a 10 min walk to lobby. We walked everywhere. A big resort beautiful grounds, beach and food. Example steak at Capri cooked to order perfectly medium rare and so tender and for breakfast we had smoked salmon and caviar at the level buffet.
We will be returning for sure! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach The food The staff are amazing & so nice Internet free over entire resort
The weak points
The pillows

Great tropical paradise

, Thunder Bay, ON
2019-01-21
We had no negative issues with this resort.
Check-in was smooth. Grounds are lush and tropical. Beach is fine powder, wide and has plenty of loungers. Restaurants were all good.
We stayed in building 38, about 7 minute walk to the beach if you didn't get a ride.
There are rooms closer to the beach but they are far from a la carte restaurants. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Perfect gateway, amazing view!!!!

, Brampton, ON
2015-09-02
Very clean environment, perfect family suite with young children. Staffs are friendly. Beautiful landscape. It exceeded our expectations. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staffs, fast service, amazing landscape, very calm and relaxing everywhere you look.. if you like shopping, the mall is a few minutes away from the resort.
The weak points
Cheeses and yogurts should be keep in colder area.
Certified

Bad first impression, otherwise OK

, Montreal, QC
2015-04-19
Dealing with the insipid check-in staff at this resort was painstaking, but once we got into our room, the rest of the holiday was fine.

The room was nice and very clean. The beds and linens were comfortable. A/C and fans worked well. Just make sure your balcony door is closed or a sensor will shut off your A/C.

The food wasn't fantastic, but there was enough variety to suit just about anyone. The fresh fruit was delicious, though the juice would have been better if it wasn't so sweetened. Lots of food options, however the tastiest food was very unassuming in appearance while the tastiest-looking items were often quite bland.

If you stick to basic drinks (rum & coke, gin & tonic etc.) you'll be fine, but the mixers used for the mixed drinks are far too sweet or tasted horrendous. The beer is ok, but having a darker ale would be nice.

The main pool is large, clean and a refreshing temperature. Unfortunately it gets crowded after 11am with lots of kids. A 2nd pool by the beach restaurant seemed barely used and was perfect for getting in a few laps if that's you're thing.

The beach is nice, but don't venture too far south or you'll be accosted by locals obnoxiously trying to get you into one of the shops.

If you're looking to buy anything like sunscreen, bug spray, simple groceries or what not, go to the "SuperLama" grocery at the south west corner of the mall. Otherwise, sunscreen will cost you about $15-25USD. You kind of have to leave the resort and walk 10min, but the mall is clearly owned by the resort and shares security. It's also full of all kinds of designer shops with grossly inflated prices. Tip: negotiate.

The grounds are impeccably kept which was nice since you are often walking 10minutes from one part of the resort to another. Waiting for the 'train' usually took 20min or more. The main pool is nice but gets crowded after 10am.

Overall the Melia Caribe is nice, the staff are helpful and friendly. Everything else is par for the course except the idiots at check in. I recommend carrying your own luggage to your room no matter how far away your room is. Using the bellboys takes 1-3 hours and can require a private detective to help figure out where your bags are in the meantime. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Aside from the service at check-in all staff were very helpful. Rooms were clean and the air conditioning was working well. The beautifully kept grounds are another very strong suit of this resort.
The weak points
Our experience at check-in was absolutely terrible. That said, it wasn't nearly as bad as how the rest of our wedding party was treated. First impressions are important. If we weren't there for a wedding we probably would have left immediately.
Certified

Melia Caribe Tropical

2015-04-03
This resort is very large. If you are unable to walk or get around very well, avoid this resort. Maid service is sketchy at best. We came back from the pool at 5:30 and we still hadn't received clean towels, or beds made. This happened several times. Not just once. Everyone is friendly, and the food is presented very well. Although we came into a buffet to see a large black bird sitting on the cheese platter on the salad bar, and the wait staff just shooed it away. That was a turn off. Otherwise a decent holiday. Big push for time shares. They would do better to make BIG changes here. Felt like an imposition. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff is very friendly. Grounds are immaculate. Stores are within walking distance.
The weak points
Hotel says you get a concierge to look after you. He is after points for getting you to staff who are pushing time shares in Melia Club. They push VERY hard. So be ready for this. They take at least 2 hrs of your vacation time.
Certified

, Gatineau, QC
2015-02-24
C'est un voyage première classe! La seule chose à quoi nous n'avons pas aimer c'est l'enregistrement car c'était trop long. Tu dois attendre pour avoir ta carte pour ta chambre et rencontrer la personne qui prend soin de toi (butler) pour la semaine. Nous avons resté dans The Level Adult Only A . Le service au resto, à la chambre, à la piscine, sur la plage nous avons adoré. Nos femmes de chambres étaient tellement gentille nous avons même eu la chance de pratiquer notre espagnole avec elle. Le bar man Manuel, le serveur Wilson a la piscine, Manuel au resto, notre butler George, nos serveurs dans les restaurants. Nous voudrions nommer toute le monde qui ont pris soin de nous mais impossible de tous les nommés. Les deux kiosques prêts des deux piscines demandées pour Samuel et Rodess des gens très sympathique et chaleureux!

Dinie & Loulou
GATINEAU, QC [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good food, good drinks, huge pool, nice beach, great room, very clean, awesome staff that feel more like friends than staff. At the Level Adult only there is private transportation through the resort. The Adult only section*****
The weak points
The registration, too long specially when your really tired. The package and room key should be ready for when you arrive on site so you can go to your room right away if you want to.

Amazing Resort and Staff

, St. Catharines, ON
2015-02-19
My husband and I spent two full weeks at the Melia Caribe at The Level in the Adult Only section. This was our second time there and once again totally enjoyed ourselves. This resort is spotless in every respect. We did see some changes in The Level this year for the better. Last year it was very new and they have definitely improved things. We were able to go to the Gabi Restaurant this year but I do have to say that we were very disappointed in our dinner there. This is the only negative thing I can add. To our surprise they have a great snack bar on the beach serving burgers, fries and a variety of salads and other meats at lunchtime. Very nice atmosphere. The Staff are terrific and we were very impressed that some of them remembered us from last year. They welcomed us back with open arms and handshakes and each and everyone of them is so friendly. Service was excellent all the time at The Level. Our room was spotless and we thanked our maid with a small gift and of course daily tips. Tipping is not compulsory but we do tip daily and we know how much this is appreciated. There is nothing negative I can say about our stay at the Melia other than our experence at the Gabi. We spent many hours at the beautiful pool and met some great people. The pool bar staff are very entertaining and the music adds so much atmosphere. Hopefully we will be able to go back again next year around the same time. This year my sister and her husband came with us and they have also said they want to go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location is great. Maintenance of the resort is excellent, that includes our room, restaurants and outdoors.
The weak points
More and more staff are speaking some English this year. This may be an area to improve upon. However, I have no complaint personally. If and when we had any questions, if that staff member could not answer our question, they found someone who could.
Certified

Melia Caribe

, Toronto, ON
2015-02-10
Great resort.
Very slow checkin. Always trying to upgrade you. Would return... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great beach
The weak points
checkin - pushing to upgrade
Certified

As expected

, Kirkland, QC
2015-01-26
it was our 30th marriage anniversary.We had to spend first night in 2 single beds room.Next morning we should move,but the room wasn't ready till 3pm.We had to go back and forth to the reception to settle that.After tlking to 4 different persons they solved the problem.After that experience the rest of the week was ok. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach is large,clean,lots of umbrellas and longchairs.Specialty restaurants are good.
The weak points
food is less than average.resort is huge,we get lost very easily.you loose time going to lobby areas walking or taking trolly.if it rains very slippery to walk on roads made of pebbles.Because my room was on ground floor I had lots of ants-like insects.
Certified

Fantastic Place

, Oakville, ON
2014-12-19
Great hotel and amazing service! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing service at the Avenue bar every night, especially Greg, paid attention to every customers needs!
The weak points
no weak points!
Certified

Melia Caribe November 2014 experience

, Edmonton, AB
2014-11-24
We arrived at the Hotel in the evening around 6pm and cutting the story short, we only got into our room at about 8:30pm. This was because the first room given to us was NOT as on the photograph on their website. We walked back from the room to the reception once more and asked for a room that was comparable to the photograph on their website. The second room given was better although still not what expected to the price paid. After coming back the third time, they were hesitant to give us any upgrade as they had stated that they gave us what we paid for. I asked why the second room that they had given us looked a bit better than the first to which they had replied "The first room was not renovated and the second one was." Are you serious? Right then and there I took out my phone showing them the photograph of the room I had seen on their website as well as purchased to conclude that it DID NOT look the same. Anyways, after a two hour long wait with them stating they would not give us a better room they finally did. The room we received was in house #1 that was right by the beach and pool. The resort is HUGE therefore I really recommend getting a room by the beach as it takes about 20 minutes to walk from the beach to the main lobby/restaurant area.(I could not imagine the people having to walk that far to the beach and back). The food there is not your typical Mexico resort food. Nothing was greasy and the desserts were really bad. I however did not mind the food as I am more of a salad/fruits/lean and no dessert kind of person so I felt satisfied. Same goes for the alcoholic drinks, not much great options to choose from. For a person looking to indulge in heavy foods and expensive drinks, this is not the place for you. As well, if your wanting to party, then this place is defiantly not for you, the "fun pub" club was a joke :). Melia however is the best for the beach. The most beautiful I have ever seen on any of my trips so far. Therefore, if you are looking for a calm, relaxing place to travel without any of the luscious foods/drinks, then this is the place. The first few days were a rough start for me but in the end I got to like it. Nothing can compare to the outdoor beauty of this place as well as the feeling of lightness when leaving. Therefore, overall, it was not bad. Although if I had stayed in one of the first two rooms they gave us, I don't believe I would of had the rest I needed. As well, it seams to be kind of costly compared to some other luxury resorts you can go to for the same money. Basically here, you pay the top $ for the beach and the outside beauty. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-BEAUTIFUL beach and outside area. -Food was healthy/light/not greasy. -Calm place, no parties what so ever. -Great place for families & seniors
The weak points
- You basically pay top $ for the view & beach in my opinion. -Rooms themselves are not as depicted on photo & not worth the price you pay -Not much drink/food options compared to other resorts
Certified

Long waiting vacation

2014-10-19
Hotel is very clean,service at the level section is fantastic but expect to pay tips for anything you ask for or any service or you'll be surprised from the switching of service,I spend over $150.00US just tipping in 6 days, as for the food it's avrege I have better in diffrent resorts, as per the transat brochure we were spouse to get a welcom gift we didn't get anything . Front desk at he Level give us very good service . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
service,clean,staff
The weak points
Tips,food,beach
Certified

Melia Caribe Resort

2014-05-24
Service, room and food were all exceptional. Resort was very well maintained, margaritas were delicious. The only bad thing is the beach which I found to be very dirty and not the standard of beach I was expecting for Punta Cana. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The service was exceptional and food was great.
The weak points
The beach was very dirty with lots of seaweed. Other resorts I have been to the seaweed was cleaned daily but I found it to be dirty and not as beautiful as what one would come to expect from a beach in Punta Cana.
Certified

Great relaxing vacation

, St. Catharines, ON
2014-04-20
First impression was very good of the hotel and amazing grounds. Very well kept. Upgrading to the level was well worth the money. Great restaraunts, beach, pool very close to room. Never had to wait for a table in the level section and it was nice and quiet at the pool and beach. You were treated very good and this hotel. One big downside for me was that your tricked into doing a tour with someone who later tries to get you to buy a timeshare with them. We were aware of this beforehand so we had the tour cancelled. When in lobby they will still bug you to do one. This was very disappointing for me when I want a relaxing vacation and Iam bugged in lobby and also at beach to have pictures taken among other things. At the beach not that often.
Food I thought was ok for the most part. The buffet food was good but was almost never hot, warm at best. But did taste good. The level restraunts were also very good.
Overall a great relaxing vacation and would recommend it to friends. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, Pools, landscaping, having a adults only section
The weak points
Buffet food was warm at best, evening entertainment was typical every show the same with different songs. Trying to sell time shares, was always bugged when in lobby
Certified

Melia Caribe Punta Cana - The Level

, Thornhill, ON
2014-03-04
Beautifl property and great food!
Great staff although some staff tend to ignore solo travelers. This was addressed with management and I noticed an immediate improvement same day. I would have rated staff/crew a 4 if not for waiter Juan Mendez! He is an absolute gem and made every dining experience extra special for me as a solo traveler. Been to many resorts and will definitely be returning. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great location close to airport. Food was great. Loved all the healthy options. Most staff are absolutely fabulous. Beautiful property well maintained. The Level is everything I could have wanted. Loved it and worth the upgrade
The weak points
The Level was great and should consider removing single supplement for solo travelers similar to Body Holiday. Had some issues with staff who tended to treat solo travelers different than couples/families.
Certified

Great holiday

, Calgary, AB
2014-02-23
exceeded expectations, would definitely go again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach
The weak points
water sports staff
Certified

Good Family Vacation

, Scarbrough, ON
2014-02-20
Stayed at this resort previously, knew what to expect. Great service, good food, great overall experience. Clean secure beach & lush, well maintained grounds; helpful friendly staff; good food with lots of variety; ample seating at restaurants; ample lounge chairs at pool & beach. Train to help you move around the property. Not all was great, checked in at midnight with 12 other tired/hungry guests; endured a long check-in process which we attributed to insufficient/ inexperienced reception staff. Sleep quality affected by paper thin walls, you can hear other guests speaking at normal levels. All restaurants were generally very clean, but too many flies at beach restaurant & no visible attempt to manage their numbers, e.g., fly traps. Overall, a good vacation experience! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Helpful & courteous staff; good quality & variety of food; clean, white sandy beach; ample lounge chairs & towels; kids club; clean, well maintained grounds, professionally landscaped.
The weak points
inconsistent WiFi/cell service; room walls not insulated for sound, able to hear guests at normal sound levels; poor quality beach towels; too many flies on food at beach restaurant
Certified

1st time in Punta Cana

, Moose Jaw, SK
2014-02-11
We had a great time at this resort. We were in the Adults only Level. The staff is very friendly, helpful, hard working. Food is fantastic, there are so many choices of places to eat. Resort is Huge, by the 4 day we knew our way around. Our room was close to the beach and adult only pool but it was a 15 min walk from our room to the main lobby, main restaurants. There were golf carts and a trolley system that goes around often to pick guests up. Drink service by the pool was better than drink service on the beach. Sand on beach is beautiful soft white sand, but it was windy almost every day we were there, we still had a great time on the beach, we could walk for miles. There are a few vendors on the beach trying to sell hats or asking you into their stores, they leave you alone if you are not interested in buying. The resort grounds are amazing, well manicured. Pools, lobby area, lounges, washrooms are all very clean and well maintained. There are plenty of lounge chairs at the beach and by the pools for everyone, so you don't have to get up early to reserve a chair. In our 7 days we did not leave the resort, plenty to keep us intrested. In all fantastic holiday location. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful people working there. Terrific food. Lovely white sand beach. Clean resort.
The weak points
Resort is so big, you feel lost the first few days.
Certified

Great vacay with toddler and spouse

, Mississauga, ON
2014-02-10
Very clean and well maintained. Much bigger than expected which was difficult for me since i'm 7 months pregnant, though the trains come by every 10 minutes from several pick up locations. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Buffet is varied but still gets repetitive no matter where you are. A la cartes were great, especially loved Mexican. Many families with kids of all ages. A playground and a nightly kids show. They also had a sand bucket with toys for the beach in the room. Be sure to ask for the ground floor and king bed at check in if you have a toddler/stroller and spouse. The doubles are small. There are 3 other mattresses to sleep on in the room. Pool was a 5 min walk and beach was right by the pool (stayed in room 0502). Beach was quite windy but good to not burn. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
family focused
The weak points
"concierge" trying to upsell you. VIP sections.
Certified

The Melia at Punta Cana

, Regina, SK
2014-02-04
We had a great week at the Melia Caribe. The room was large and clean. The food at the buffet was good and the El a carts were numerous and outstanding. The grounds were beautiful and immaculate. The pool, ocean frontage, and bar service were great.
The Melia is determined to ruin its reputation with it's excessive push to purchase it's time shares. Also, it needs to mark out it's vast property so tourists can better find their way around the grounds. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, staff, bar service, cleanliness
The weak points
time share push, confusing layout of grounds
Certified

Poor service

, Oakville, ON
2014-02-03
This was our 3rd time in this hotel. The service and food quality has come down. The hotel was at capacity and the pool chairs were not enough. Need to get up early and drop towels on chairs like everybody else. No my idea of a relaxing vacation.
They have split the hotel in two with the higher end ($$$) "Level" service on one whole side where there's probably 10 pool chairs per guest. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Grounds, common areas - beach
The weak points
room plumbing - pool capacity
Certified

Review on stay and flight

, Richmond, BC
2014-02-03
Hotel was good, but there was no beer in fridge unless you ask.
Room service was average, we had to ask for extra shampoo
Our luggage was lost in hotel by employees there, they put it on the wrong bus and we had look through security cameras to find it. We lost about 2 hours.
Food was ok,
Employees there kept asking us every day to join presentation.
Beach was great
Bar was good
Overall hotel I would rate 3.5 out of 5 [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good beach
The weak points
Almost no access to internet
Certified

MELIA CARIBE

, Waterloo, ON
2014-02-02
THE HOTEL WAS BEAUTIFUL. STAFF ARE FRIENDLY AND WAIT ON YOU HAND AND FOOT.
WE UPGRADED TO A FAMILY SUITE. THE ROOM WAS CLEAN BUT NEEDS SOME TLC, ESPECIALLY THE BATHEROOM. HOTEL IS VERY BIG AND BUSY. IF YOU'RE LOOKING FOR PEACE AND QUITE NOT THE PLACE FOR YOU. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
GREAT WEATHER,HOTEL IS CLEAN, LOTS OF RESTAURANTS AND BARS, STAFF IS GREAT, FOOD IS BETTER THAN AVERAGE.
The weak points
BIG RESORT, BUST WITH TRAINS, CAR, VANS ND MOTORCYCLES ALWAYS DRIVING AROUND. ROOMS NEED SOME UPGRADING.
Certified

Wonderful time

, East St Paul, MB
2014-02-02
We upgraded to the adults only section when we arrived and it was worth every penny! No rushing for poolside chairs, no reservations needed at the adults only restaurants and poolside service. It was a different story in the other section. We loved the place but I think my review would of been different if we hadn't upgraded after talking to some other guests [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff! They make or break a hotel in my opinion and they were wonderful
The weak points
No snack bar for lunch
Certified

Melia Caribe Tropical

, Thornhill, ON
2014-02-01
The overall hotel was very very nice, but I upgraded upon arrival as this hotel is under new ownership since Dec.2013 and they have an adults only area and I wasn't told about this. The food wasn't the best that I've had at other all inclusives. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Adults only section
The weak points
The food
Certified

Style over Substance

, Brampton, ON
2014-02-01
I would have been kinder in my ratings if this resort wasn't classified as a 5 star. If it had been classified as a 4 star then it would have been more accurate.
This is definitely a beautiful resort with very nice grounds, pools and beaches. However, that is essentially where the 5 star quality ends. The service was always very poor and in many cases I wished there were ways I could simply have just helped myself which would have made service faster. As many other people have also mentioned the constant timeshare reps getting into your face daily to make you go to their presentations really gets annoying very fast.
Also, if you are going to be paying 5 star prices then I would not have expected to have to pay extra for anything else such as some of the restaurants, some activities at the kids club, and it seemed that giving tips was always expected in return for decent service.
The food was good but not great but in general the children loved the Kids club.
Overall, we have definitely paid similar prices at other 5 star resorts and received much better service so I would suggest anyone else to look around to see if there are better ones available instead of this one however if you get a really good deal on this one i.e. similar to 4 star pricing, then it would pretty much meet your expectations. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Kid's club, beautiful resort, beach and pool.
The weak points
Paying extra tips, for kids activities, for some restaurants. Wi-Fi pretty much non existent or very slow. Very poor overall customer service.
Certified

Family trip at Melia punta cana

, Mississauga, ON
2014-01-31
It's a beautiful resort. Beach and the pool area met all our high expectations. Great stroller accsess and wifi in the lobby. We stayed at the family suit and we loved the proximity to pool beach and the day restaurant. Food was amazing.
These are the things we didn't like:
- no bath tub in the family suit.
- no curtain between kids side of the room, as shown on some pictures
- overpised activities and additional charges everywhere
- long walk to the lobby; however it's a nice walk in a beutifuly maintained garden
- not so nice staff, high expectations for tips
- my 11 months old got bed bugs (bring mattress cover for the crib)
Tips:
- bring your oun sporting equipment
- bring mattress cover
- wake up early to "book" a beach chair
- stay by the beach if traveling wih kids
- ask for wood crib with no weels on it
- don't be afraid do travel with large stroller, it's very useful at the large resort
- come to dinner early to make sure you get a high chair
Overall we had nice experience and will want to go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing food, great beach and pool area, clean and renovated, stroller and weelchair access everywhere.
The weak points
Long walk to lobby, bed bugs, no bath tub in the family room, children club only for 5 years old, many additional charges, overpriced activities, not so friendly staff, shortage of high chairs.
Certified

Very nice

, Delburne, AB
2014-01-27
Very nice hotel but bigger than we are used to. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Hardly any vendors
The weak points
resort to big for us.
Certified
pages: 1234567

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021