Dreams Onyx Resort And Spa

Dreams Onyx Resort And Spa
4.224.224.224.224.22
4.22 based on 36 reviews
#8 of 99 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Punta Cana
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (8)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

The worst experience in a resort!

, Thornhill, ON
2021-01-06
This resort was a huge disappointment! It is advertised as a 5* resort but it is far from it. Let me be brief and outline the problems that we have encountered: the food was beyond disappointing, breakfast buffet extremely frustrating. Be prepared to wait in a line for everything as there is only one person per station. The preferred upgrade is a joke and a waste of money. The service slow and unreliable. The resort itself is not attractive and lacks character. I would not recommend this resort or the Now brand. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beach is very nice
The weak points
Food Service Layout Preferred club

Great resort.

, Toronto, ON
2020-02-03
When first booking this resort we weren't very happy because they refused our family of 5. Our three children are 8, 5 and 20 months. After a very long back and forth discussion with the resort we cancelled our family vacation and just did a couples vacation. In the end we are very happy with everything. There however would have been ample room for our children in our room. Which was the reason we were given.
The resort is gorgeous. The staff was amazing from the cleaning staff, bell boys, reception and restaurant servers, entertainement team, etc. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness, views, activities, service.
The weak points
Discrimination against girls on the water slides. Would limit our friends daughter on how many times she could go on and also measure her each time but would let the boys go without an issue. Some boys were way younger and shorter. Same rules for everyone
Certified

An Amazing Resort

, Whitby, ON
2019-02-23
We had a fantastic stay at NOW Onyx. We have stayed at over 20 All Inclusive and this is really the first 5 Star and certainly the best of the group. It is really over the top. Where do I start..........amazing food..............over the top service..........the best booze you can find anywhere............Beautiful rooms and grounds.............fantastic entertainment................THE PREFERRED CLUB!!.......
If you can afford the Preferred Club, go for it. You will never want to leave this place. Absolutely worth the money. Make sure you specifically ask for Mr. G (Garbriel), as your butler, as we have never found a more amazing butler than this person. He is never in the your face, but takes care of things before you know you need things taken care of.......lol. This guy is top notch. I own a company with over 1000 employees and I would love to steal this guy and move him up to Canada. Ask for him by name and he will take care of you!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food............Clean and Modern..........New Resort..........Amazing Service...................Over the top 5 Star.................
The weak points
Not much...........perhaps little better house wine, but overall the booze is great............

Great Vacation

, Oakville, ON
2018-05-25
Exceeded our expectations [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Wedding Nightmare

, Kimberley, BC
2017-04-23
We never got to stay at the Now Onyx resort, but we feel confident in leaving this one star review based on the nightmare we had trying to book our wedding there.

In December of 2016 my fiancé and I decided that we were going to have our wedding at the Now Onyx resort in Punta Cana and submitted the paperwork to reserve the dates of December 1st- December 15th 2017. We paid a deposit of $300US directly to the resort to reserve our wedding day, as well as a separate deposit of $500CAD to our travel agents to reserve our flights and rooms for about 40 people at the Now Onyx resort. We sent many emails to the resort with questions about wedding packages and prices that went unanswered.

Around March we noticed that the Now Onyx had no available rooms online, which we found odd being we were still months before our wedding date. After one of our group booking members requested a room upgrade that was denied due to a lack of room availability, we knew something was wrong. We sent emails to the Group Manager at the resort asking if room would become available and if we would have full access to the resort during our wedding stay as it seemed to us another large group was booked. The reply only said our guests joining us from Europe would have to stay at another resort for the first 5 days and come over for our wedding. Our follow up email to the Group Manager was never replied to.

Next, we sent the same questions to an AM resort representative (the Now Onyx parent chain) for Western Canada. He contacted the resort who then had the Sales Manager and Wedding Coordinator phone us to let us know that there was a booking error and the resort was hosting a music festival during part of our dates and even though we had our deposit down for months we would not be able to get married at the resort during those dates anymore. They we very apologetic when they told us that we could no longer have those dates for our wedding group and suggested they we move our dates a few weeks earlier or later and that they would give us “the wedding of our dreams complimentary” as well as arrange the travel changes with our airlines.

Most of our emails and phone calls to the Wedding Coordinator after that phone call went unanswered until my fiancé and I asked if our wedding could be moved 2 weeks prior to our original dates. Shortly after, we received paperwork to be filled out with an invoice for full price of the wedding totaling $3200. We sent an email to the resort clarifying that despite their booking error and our date changes we would still have to pay the full amount. After not receiving a reply for well over a week so we resent the email a second time, at which point they replied that yes, we would have to pay full price for the wedding. Next our travel agent contacted the airlines to see if the resort had arranged the new travel arrangements with them where we learned that the resort had provided the airlines with incorrect new dates.

Neither our travel agent or airline supplier were informed of this double booking by the resort and we had to contact them ourselves to try and straighten everything out. Even though the travel agent and airline were not at fault for this happening where as the Now Onyx did not accommodate to us in any way for their error. Only after we requested to cancel the wedding due to some very crucial people being unable to attend the new dates and the resorts lack of ability to communicate with us did they even try to offer us a very vague “if there is anything we can do to change your mind” which we felt was far too little, too late. We had to send several emails to the resort to get our wedding deposit refunded, even though our contract clearly stated that it would be returned to us as long as we cancelled no less than six months before the wedding date and thanks to our wedding deposit being returned in Dominican currency when we had to pay in American currency we didn't even get back the full amount we had paid due to the different exchange rates. Our email to the Now Onyx manager has gone unanswered.

We understand that booking issues can happen, but the slow responses and complete lack of any help or information was completely unacceptable. Had we not found the booking issue ourselves and inquired about it, who knows how long it may have been before the issue was found, if it all. For these reasons we cannot recommend the Now Onyx resort to anyone. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Our NOW ONYX spring break vacation!!

, Burlington, ON
2017-04-18
This was an fantastic property and it offered many benefits that come along at extra costs with other hotels.
For example they have unlimited al la carte dining and no wrist bands. It was a great service with a smile and they were always saying it was a pleasure to help you and our glasses of wine or beer or water were never left empty. The beaches are amazing and the pools were warm and inviting!
I do recommend this property for any family, couples or honeymooners stay. Especially if you upgrade to the preferred rooms with adult only pool access and private plunge pools with day beds. It was a 5 star experience without paying the 5 star pricing. I would go back in a heartbeat to this property and refer to family & friends [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
ROOMS ARE STYLISH AND FUNCTIONAL POOLS ARE WARM AND INVITING WITH PLENTY OF ACTIVITIES TO DO AND THE STAFF ARE FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL TOO
The weak points
BEACH CAN BE RED FLAGGED SOME DAYS SPA PRICES WERE HIGHER THAN EXPECTED
Certified

Best family Vacation!!

, Milton, ON
2017-04-14
Beautiful family vacation!! Very clean, staff so friendly and kind!! Lots of activities for our boys. The food was absolutely amazing!! The property is gorgeous. We loved every minute we were there. Zorrilla was especially kind making sure we had a great time. What a great guy!! All the best to him!!❤❤definitely a place we would visit again. What can I say We love Punta Cana!! Week of April 7th 2017 [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Don't Waste your time or money on this resort

, Bedford, NS
2017-01-02
We knew there would be some problems with a new resort but, not like this. First of all they were filming the week we were there for their advertising. We were told not to use the beach, pool, lobby bar etc. many times during the trip. Many of us were getting tired of this when we clearly paid for a resort and not to be told not to use the facilities.

Food was just okay, mostly over cooked and never warm. We have been to Punta Cana about 9 to 10 times and are certainly aware of what to expect from different resorts.

Rooms were hardly cleaned and towels and clean face clothes we had to beg for. Yes, the showers leaked into the bedrooms and the safe did not work, broken toilet seat, fan made loud noises etc.

Beach was nice, always windy at this part of Punta Cana though. Did not find it hard to get a seat with shade.

Pools tables were all broken and the resort was only opened 5 weeks.

The English was almost completely non existent. Most staff were new and did not have experience or could only speak a couple of words of English. Never found this in the other resorts we stayed in.

The Preferred Club is a joke. Not worth the extra for what you receive.

You can use the resort next door Breathless if you want. It was over crowded and many came from that resort that were not preferred and used all the spaces and umbrellas at the Adult Only pool. No one wears bracelets and so, if you did not pay for the preferred club ...........you could basically use all the facilities and no one could tell. Silly set up for sure.

All in all we would not return. Although it was a beautiful resort it sure is poorly run and the staff could not careless. Good luck ever talking to the Resort Manager. He does not get back to you. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful resort and that is where it ends.
The weak points
Food, house keeping, language barrier,

Amazing

, Trenton, ON
2016-12-15
Great resort 9 out of 10 we had a great vacation [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
Not enough activitys
Certified

Now Onyx

, Bowmanville, ON
2016-11-21
Resort is newly opened and they still need to work out a few kinks but overall it is a fantastic resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021