Ocean Blue By H10

Ocean Blue By H10
3.983.983.983.983.98
3.98 based on 82 reviews
#63 of 99 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Punta Cana
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (14)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Our home away from home

, Stratford, PE
2015-05-26
this was our 10th visit to ocean blue and just like usual every moment of our trip was wonderful. we just don't see any reason for the negative comments of this resort. from the moment we arrive they pick us up and take us to paradise and treat us like family and we have never had an issue that caused us any grief at all. the same great staff take us to our same room each time room 10306 we love it. Judith Edgar and the rest of the team make sure our stay is the best. because were repeats we know staff all over this terrific resort and they all treat us like gold and with respect which we do in return. we are so happy and relaxed when were there which is all we really want in our vacation. well laid out small hotel which is what we want, we rate the food ahead of cuba and mexico and that is important, the restaurant staff, mikes coffee, butlers, cleaning ladies they cant do enough for us, yes we treat them good but we never lack for anything be it drinks towels pillows ect we may wait for a little bit but we do get what we asked for. So in closing for whatever its worth in our eyes and heart we love OCEAN BLUE and the staff and have booked our next stay for 21 days in the best resort in punta cana [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff
The weak points
beach area

Excellent

, Montreal, QC
2014-09-08
comfy and clean rooms, beddings a bit musky, but then i guess that's inevitable in humid countries. Food was phenomenal, staff friendly and courteous. Great for families. Our kids ages 8 & 5 spent most of the time at the pool which almost spanned a great area... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
food
The weak points
bedding odors
Certified

Good

, Brampton, ON
2013-05-21
We had a problem with our room when we got there, but the staff were excellent and sorted it out right away. The pools and food were great, but the beach was only ok (dirty) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Not having to make reservations at the a la carte restaurants was amazing. Although the food wasn't out of the park spectacular, the variety was great and the food was fresh. The pools were very clean and beautiful! There was also so much to do!
The weak points
The beach was only ok, especially when compared to the others in punta cana (even just a few steps down the beach), as it was dirtier and had sandbags. It also lacked complete shade.
Certified

Get ready to walk

, Anola, MB
2013-01-21
we were at end, and usually golf carts are around for a lift, but on many occasion, they r not. Especially late eve. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
very beautiful layout
The weak points
need more carts for rides as it is a long resort
Certified

Wonderful vacation at Ocean Blue

, Edmonton, AB
2013-01-06
This is a wonderful resort. The food is excellent, especially the burgers at Route 66. The beach is excellent, beautiful sand. Rooms were very clean. The bar staff at the beach bar, day or night were excellent. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was excellent a d bar staff excellent
The weak points
Avoid the premium sales pitches unless you have a spare $60,000
Certified

Great Holiday

, Brampton, ON
2012-12-26
This was our second time at this resort and it still a great resort. Had a great time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean resort and well kept.
The weak points
H10 Premium vultures trying to sell you time there. Still as aggressive as they were 4 years ago. Annoying.
Certified

Enjoyable - relaxing vacation

, Etobicoke, ON
2012-11-20
Beautiful grounds & pools. Overall we enjoyed & would return. Buffet food was very good. A la carte restaurants often closed & did not take reservations so difficult to get in. Assigned to a dump of a room overlooking a tree (had to crane to see the sky) originally, but got moved next day (thanks to Andres, Reception Supervisor). Lot of seaweed on beach & in water was due to weather conditions so was understandable, but garbage on beach & seafloor was not. No elevators so try to get room on ground floor if you have any problems. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pool beautiful & clean, restaurant staff & entertainment crew work very hard.
The weak points
Originally put in a dark, no view (even of sky), tired room. Beach & seafloor full of plastic & other garbage - weather? Entertainment not as professional as expected (audience participation).
Certified

Not the best experience

, Delta , BC
2012-11-18
Just returned from this resort. Not sure why it is so highly rated. This is our second time to Punta Cana. Beach where we stayed the first time was much larger and nicer than this one. Many issues with rooms. Food was not bad. Staff ok - some definately not friendly. Would not return to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Fairly clean
The weak points
landscape boring. Some staff could care less about our needs. Beach is small
Certified

GREAT trip

, Ayre, ON
2012-11-05
Staff was very friendly. Rooms large & clean. Food was good with many choices. Would definately go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean & friendly, great food
The weak points
time sharing sales pitches
Certified

Ocean amazing!!!!

, Chatham, ON
2012-04-09
From the first step onto the resort you are in paradise!! Front desk/check in was fast and easy. Food was great-we had a fussy teenager with us and he found lots to eat at every meal. Staff was very friendly esp. Enrique and Ronny!! Room was clean and very spacious. Pillows were a little hard. Felt very safe every where we went day or night on the resort.
Can't wait to go back
Tried al the restaurants except the Dominican and had great food and service.
If you need to call home get a calling card from the store on the resort 28 minutes for $8.
Be early riser to get pool or beach chairs and exchange towels each end of day to ensure you get some
Be prepared to relax!!
Make sure you get each bartender to make their specialty beverage you may need to try a few!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food,service, room size , cleanliness all exceptional. Found nothing to complain about!! Amazing resort.
The weak points
Have to save chairs by 7 am at pool and earlier at the beach. Towel hut is always out if towels and far from the pool.
Certified

Cabana Hassle otherwise great resort

, Inglewood, ON
2012-03-30
My husband and I stayed at this hotel in Privilge. I'm not sure it was worth it. We didn't need to line up to book for the a la carte dinners but were told to "butt" in the line to go to the front. We found that distasteful. Also, we had the use of cabanas but had to be there by 6:00 a.m.or earlier to reserve one, even though you were told not to reserve them. It was a lousy system but there were not enugh cabanas for all that wanted one. There were not enough shaded areas on the beach or around the pool and the sun was very hot in the afternoon. The food in the buffets was excellent and plentiful. We had couples massage and they were very professional and price was reasonable. The workers were friendly and helpful. Enjoyed the bowling as there were no gutters. The Coffee Shop had great coffee and deserts. Room was clean, bed comfortable and bathroom upgraded. Fridge was always filled, even twice in one day with Pepsi. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean and manicured property. Always something to do in the evening with casino, bowling, coffee shop and more. Not too large a resort so able to walk everywhere.
The weak points
Not enough shade on beach. Too much seaweed in ocean sometimes made swimming unpleasant.
Certified

Great

, Richmond Hill, ON
2012-03-29
Excellent food in buffet, restaurants not so good. Coffee bar "Mike's" was amazing though. Service great but noticed they ignored our young kids at buffets or in resort itself (not kids club - didn't try it). My 5 year old got separated from us and wandered into the spa. She is very shy and stood there for 5 minutes before a young guest asked her if she was lost. The staff ignored her completely. Same happened when she stood waiting for a crepe in front of the chef. He ignored her completely until I arrived. Otherwise, great service, fun shows, very clean, accomodating. Would go again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great property. Mike's.
The weak points
Bad restaurants
Certified

Ocean Blue by H10

, Ottawa, ON
2012-03-12
We had a very good time at Ocean Blue, the place was very lively and the food was good.We ate at the buffet every night because we could put on our plate exactly what we wanted and the selection was good.
We really enjoyed Mikes coffee shop. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We really loved the location, and the people working at the hotel, were all very friendly. We only ate at the buffet, and found the selection quite good. Mikes coffee shop was a real hit.
The weak points
The water at the beach was very wavy and it was difficult to go in for a swim, wetting your feet was about the most you could expect.
Certified

3rd stay at Ocean Blue

, Mississauga, ON
2012-02-10
Satisfactory will come again [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service of staff
The weak points
Bathroom
Certified

Heaven

, Bonfield, ON
2012-02-09
Our first time to ocean blue.Tenth time to the dominican.this trip was beyond expectations.Louis showed us to our room but had two beds.I told him that would not work.He calmly said wait here for a few minuits.He came back and took us to the bridal suite.What a room.Incredible.Ocean view,jacuzzi tub and outside shower.Incredible.I cannot say enough about Louis and his counterpart Henry.Service above and beyond.Our best trip to punta cana.Every thing was perfect.I will go back again.Thank you Louis for taking care of us.Rick and Linda Bishop.Bonfield Ontario [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service,service,service
The weak points
People still reserved chairs and day beds even though the hotel says it is not permitted
Certified

Ocean blue a must!!

, Prince George , BC
2012-02-07
We had a great stay at the Ocean Blue and cant wait to go again. Pools were clean, with plenty of lounge chairs. Food was interesting and varied for a one week stay. We loved the evening shows...fantastic dancing!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The evening shows Friendliness of staff
The weak points
Wrong approach to the timeshare presentation
Certified

Ocean Blue

, Calgary, Al
2012-02-04
Overall I would rate the hotel as a 3.5*, for the price at that time of the year it wasn't bad. Quiet during the week but filled up with locals on the weekend. Staff was unfriendly unless they were trying to sell you a time share.

All things considered we enjoyed the trip, great beach, lots of sun, drinks and a good book, how can you complain! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great beach, buffet was good with a wide variety. Rooms were adequate. Mike's coffee shop.
The weak points
Staff not very friendly, pressure to by time shares. a la carte is the same as what is available in the buffet theme nights.
Certified

Ocean Blue

, Keswick, ON
2012-01-27
The privilege is no longer worth the price. Last year it was awesome this year a total rip. The resort itself if we had not paid for the upgrade was great but for the money we spent on ourselves and the kids we could have booked something real grand.I'm pretty upset but loved my vacation just not the price now that the extra services were missing.This makes it hard to rate as the place is great just not for privilege [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beaches and Food
The weak points
Privilege section now has really nothing special other than the awesome attention of Belkis,Jorge.Amanda,Kerman,Henry,Louis and a few more
Certified

Birthday trip

, Castlegar, BC
2012-01-11
The hotel was quite nice but we were not told there was going to be time share sales pressure in the hotel. We did not pay for a holiday only to be bothered by time share sales people. This spoiled a nice holiday for us. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beautiful beach. The layout of the hotel was good. The entertainment was very good also.
The weak points
Timeshare sales and the vendors set up on the hotel grounds were very pushy.
Certified

Ocean Blue by H10

, Caledon, ON
2012-01-08
Hotel grounds are beautiful and my favourite amenity was Mike's Cafe (coffee shop with fantastic coffees both hot and frozen and great desserts).
Beach is great (shade sometimes hard to find unless you are there early - same with pool side).
Buffet has lots of choice and the food generally is good.
We didn't eat in the a la carte's but heard mixed reviews (a la cartes are always hit and miss)
Service - slow which was expected in this country
Rooms were clean - no issues.
Bowling Alley and games room above was a nice touch. You only receive one round of bowling free then $5/pp -- opportunity to win more free rounds if your kids go in the games poolside or at the mini disco each night.
Kids Club was good - daughter enjoyed her time there.
Overall a good resort - lots of families with kids there all having a good time.
There is free wi-fi in the Lobby (sometimes hard or took a long time to get on). Wi-fi packages can be purchased down there - best deal $25 for 25 hours anytime. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
nice beach, clean resort, kid friendly, good buffet.
The weak points
slow service but was expected, the Travel Club represtations wandering around trying to get you to go to the presentations.
Certified

Not my favourite place

, Barrie, ON
2011-12-11
I would rate this hotel as a 3 Star only. No tips, no service. No English spoken if calling for service. Upgrade to Privelege not worth it. Room good. Beach okay but lots of seaweed on sand. Food okay nothing special. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good concierge services
The weak points
waiters without enough English to understand when you have a severe seafood allergy. Also, too much noise by the pool between 3:30 and 5:30 everyday. Change the hours for step classes to earlier in the day, not at Happy Hour.
Certified

Great place!

, Lacombe, AB
2011-11-27
We really enjoyed staying here. Rooms are spacious, requests for service were dealt with quickly (missing towels and clock radio not working). The afternoons at the pools are rather noisy and loud but didn't last for a terrible long time. Food was great, evening entertainment was not. Don't bother with the a la cartes, service and food was better at the buffet. Beach was wonderful, no problem getting a chair anytime during the day, but of course we there in low season. Found the Premium people annoying, and getting two cheap t-shirts as our gift for wasting an hour plus of our time when I told them in the beginning that I wasn't interested is an insult! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The grounds are gorgeous. Food was very good.
The weak points
Evening entertainment leaves a lot to be deisired. Too far from town to walk, doesn't appear to be any way of getting there. It would have been nice to have heated water in the small pool. The Premium sellers are most annoying and very pushy.
Certified

Beautiful Spot!!

, Mississauga, ON
2011-08-23
Lovely hotel, terrific if travelling with kids. Not as many pool activities
as we'd hoped for the kids but there was lots of other things to keep them busy.
There was no beach service so if you're thirsty you're on your own to get a drink. There were venders wandering around the pools and beach constantly trying to sell their water activities and excursions.
The location on the beach is fantastic and the ocean is so beautiful!! Overall, the good far out weigh the bad at this resort. You will not be disappointed!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach is absolutely beautiful, the staff go out of their way to help with whatever you need. The resort is not too large and not too small. The drinks are not watered down like in Mexico. The resort is beautiful and definitely worth the money!!
The weak points
The shower in the room doesn't have a proper door so every time you shower, water pours all over the bathroom floor. The rock wall was still under repair. Unless you asked, beer was not replaced in the mini bar every day.
Certified

Ocean Blue

, Toronto, ON
2011-08-12
Overall, we enjoyed our vacation at this hotel and would consider going back. Overall, the food was good and variety was there. But, waking up at 7am to make a reservation for a steak house seems silly on a holiday. The beach was gorgeous and the pools were fantastic. Lots to do all the time (if you want to). Would have enjoyed less pool noise (music & contests in Spanish) but I guess the 'kids' like that. Lots to do at this facility - tennis, archery, rock climbing, kayaking, etc etc. Rooms were nice and clean as was our bathroom. Staff didn't seem that motivated to ensure we were looked after. Hard to find a clean table for the 5 of us to eat at. Overall, a very enjoyable week. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The pools and beach were fantastic. Lots for the family to do (all ages. Food was good - no one was sick. Room was nice & clean - bathroom was large and clean. Very nice.
The weak points
Constant noise around the pool - hard to get away from it all. Staff didn't really seem to care about us - service could be better. Front desk reception was weak - they didn't really welcome us, or tell us anything about the hotel.
Certified

Returning Vacationers

, Saint John, NB
2011-05-27
We were catered to from signing in to signing out. Exceptional & courteous employees everywhere!! Third time at this resort and not the last!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent food, courteous staff all over the resort...any questions, we received a response immediately! We will be back!!
The weak points
Sorry we had to leave.....
Certified

Good vacation spot

, Antigonish, NS
2011-05-03
Good clean family resort, lots of food options. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service, quality drinks, decent food.
The weak points
Card keys were troublesome,music in lobby and at evening shows was unnecessarily loud.
Certified

Awesome Mother/Daughter Vacation

, Grand Bay, NB
2011-05-01
This was my 8th trip to Punta Cana and the resort as well as the experience exceeded my expectations. I would highly recommend this resort - it was very clean, with friendly staff, fantastic food and beautiful grounds. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The pool was extremely clean and was a wonderful temperature.
The weak points
More umbrellas are required around the pool area.
Certified

Beautiful Beach

, Mississauga, ON
2011-03-28
We had mixed reviews about Ocean Blue. On one hand, it was very clean, staff were amazing, the beach was awesome and excellent Medical Care as my wife slipped and fell on the cobblestones. On the other hand, there was a lot of noise in the villas late at night. Also, although this hotel is advertised to be kid-friendly, other than a nice huge kids pool, there was nothing of real substance for our 10 year old daughter to participate in. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleaniness, Friendly Staff, Amazing Beach, Nightly Entertainment was fabulous
The weak points
Some of the rooms in the Villas need to be upgraded; too noisy at night; lack of activities for pre-teens
Certified

Great resort!

, Edmonton, AB
2011-03-17
Loved this resort! Great variety in food, cool restaurants. Great beach and awesome pools! A little annoyed that the resort allows people to set up booths and tables for selling stuff because the people are really pushy. But if you avoid them its no problem. Bathrooms were ALWAYS clean everywhere! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great location, beautiful resort, great beaches and pool!
The weak points
Annoyed with booths set up for selling stuff in the middle of the resort.
Certified

Feb trip

, Delta , BC
2011-03-08
Ocean Blue- Not impressed [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach
The weak points
Food wasn't very good and the buildings/ restaurants all smelled musky once inside
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021