Bahia Principe Grand Turquesa

Bahia Principe Grand Turquesa
4.014.014.014.014.01
4.01 based on 104 reviews
#62 of 99 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Punta Cana
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (24)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Grand bahia principale

, Shelburne , ON
2019-10-22
Could not have been more delighted with this vacation. Excellent buffet with change of menu … not always the same food. Room service was wonderful...pools always clean and well maintained....entertainment staff was beyond expectations.....good fun to have entertainment staff at the pool who provided exercise, bingo and personal interaction with guests....would recommend this vacation to everyone [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
pleasant staff, cleanliness in every aspect of this resort...just plain wonderful experience
The weak points
no weak points.....if you continue as you are, you are doing well....
Certified

Turquesa Feb 2019

, Montréal, QC
2019-02-19
Our family of two adults and two kids, ages 3.5 and 6.5, had a fantastic time overall and look forward to going back in the future! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach, Turquesa pool, grounds, and a la cartes, especially Garden Grill, were all wonderful. Almost all the staff we interacted with were very friendly and extremely hard working. We loved the Circus show and also enjoyed the Micheal Jackson show.
The weak points
The room was not clean or in good condition. The light switch was hanging off the wall with dangling wires, clothing from other guests in drawer, outside light and tall lamp didn't work, and bathtub looks old & dirty. Minibar wasn't stocked for 4 days.
Certified

Fantastic vacation

, Pierrefonds, QC
2018-09-26
The hotel offers good value for the money, staff is very friendly and helpful, the many a la carte restaurant is more than in most hotels [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great resort

, Toronto, ON
2018-04-01
This was my third or fourth stay at Grand Bahia Principe in Punta Cana. I wasn't specifically looking for this resort, but on reviews always comes up with great reviews and offers what is important to me: good quality, for families, clean, wifi, good beach, affordable etc.

I think this resort is managed very well because everything is functioning perfectly. Rooms are nice and clean, food is fresh and diverse, beach is gorgeous, pools are clean, service is good etc. There is plenty of good quality entertainment throughout the day and at night and tons of activities for kids, including the water park.
I like that once you connect to wifi, on the first page you get full overview of the resort, agenda for the day, you can book restaurants online etc.

Every year one of our vacations is on South, but we had different experiences. I am thinking about returning to Grand Bahia Principe again because I am sure I will have great vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Amazing! Fun vacation!

, Paradise, HA
2018-03-14
Well the staff went above and beyond to make sure everything was perfect for our stay! The service was exceptional! The food was amazing, the resort beautiful, the employees were wonderful ! Not one single complaint!! Can't wait to return ! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Entertainment, Service, People
The weak points
Beds were hard!
Certified

Noisy resort

, Bas-Cap-Pele, NB
2018-03-12
Had a few problems with room (tv, shower and fridge all not working and blocked toilet) but all were fixed very quickly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
This resort is huge. Didn't like the segregation. Can't go there, can't eat here. noisiest resort we've been to in 13yrs! Free WiFi in lobby is not dependable. Very frustrating. No personal space, packed like sardines everywhere. Food just so so.
Certified

Great resort, overcrowded beach

, Kitchener, ON
2017-11-20
Great week vacation in Punta Cana; the resort was great, nice people, great food and great overall atmosphere. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice resort; feels like a small village with a lot of options.
The weak points
Overcrowded beach
Certified

GBP Turquesa

, Powell River, BC
2017-11-09
My husband and I are seasoned travelers long distances and did many AI's when we only have a week. The ambiance of the Bahia properties are great to view, but lacking of heart and attentiveness from the servers. For a 4.5 resort you would think the premium drinks are included without having to pay extra (far diff. from many other 4.5 resorts we've stayed before), the grounds are very groomed/cleaned but they cannot fix our bathroom plug just to plug a straigtner/curler. Overall beautiful gigantic property resorts you can also go to GBP Bavaro, GBP Punta Cana to enjoy their amenities, the walk to the Playa (Beach) is 10 to 12 mins or they can haul you in a long golf cart back and fort. Unless you are booking to the GBP Esmeralda , Ambar Green /Blue you will experience a lot of families with children in the resort especially the pool. Its a long haul from YVR where we departed coz its via YYZ , it was still a great getaway thanks for the experience [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Large Junior suite, property is beautiful, the beach is beautiful Caribbean water, plenty of variety in food buffet or a la carte
The weak points
For an AI, you still have to pay for premium drinks, no foreign cash exchange at Turquesa you have to go to Bavaro, wifi is bombarded slow at lobby, 2 out of many servers have any enthusiasm to serve us as guest.
Certified

Great stay and great staff

, Ottawa, ON
2017-02-25
Loved our experience would definitely go back. Amazing public relations staff and entertainment crew. Only downside is the wifi! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Front desk is amazing especially Julissa and loved loved loved the entertainment crew at Turquesa!
The weak points
The wifi is terrible because everyone is trying to access it at once. We also did not have any wifi in our rooms which is ridiculous.. if we wanted wifi it was an additional 60$USD.. and judging off the wifi in the lobby it wouldnt have even been worth it
Certified

Worst Vacation Ever

, Newcastle, ON
2017-02-06
Apart from dirty rooms and leaking ceilings we experienced insults from staff and mould growing on the room walls, Water leaking out of electrical outlets. Terrible food. You name it we experienced it this week. Long way to beach,pay for a safe in room ? and sporadic wifi only in hotel lobby. Poor service in the restaurants. Avoid this hotel !A three star or less. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nothing I can honestly think of. One person was helpful and sorry for all our inconveniences.
The weak points
Leaks everywhere we were in two different rooms and both ceilings leaked water. One from rain and the other from a plumbing leak above! Mould was everywhere on the walls and paint chips were falling on the floor daily. Restaurant service was poor.

Beyond expectations

, Toronto, ON
2017-01-02
Excellent! Friendly [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Staying at the grand Bahia Príncipe

, Kitchener, ON
2016-07-21
It is heaven on earth that all I can say no word to explain the place beautiful the peopel are angels [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everything except wifi
The weak points
We can even get one second of enter net accesses
Certified

Turquesa

, Lewins Cove, NL
2016-07-21
It was good. When you first arrive everyone is really nice but when you check out it seems
They are done with you(not very helpful). Rooms could have been better, dated and not kept up well at all. Bed sheets weren't changed regularly, stains on walls, toilet didn't work few occasions, etc. air conditioning wasn't the best either. But, food was great, location of our room once we changed rooms was great for water park and lobby. staff weren't clear on events happening it was up to you to find out. I found the Turquesa to be not of. High standard for a resort so next time
We will be upgrading to a higher end resort and not staying at Turquesa Gran Bahia Principe. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food, great excursions, relaxing by pool or beach.
The weak points
rooms need to be cleaner and more equipped, more English speaking staff would make questions and advice more easier to understand, in check in should let people know the big shows that are happening we missed two big ones.
Certified

Great resort but very BIG!

, Markham, ON
2016-06-15
Resort was great for kids, water park was good, shows at night were good, food was good. Resort is huge so you have to take a shuttle everywhere...we were lucky to have a room near the pool and lobby so we could walk to it. Lots of seaweed in the ocean [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pool and lobby were close
The weak points
Beach was far away
Certified

Not a four and a half star

, Petawawa, ON
2016-04-08
Let me start with this disclaimer
I don't have children and this resort (Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa )
is /was catered to family's with young children.
And as such the nightly entertainment was geared to the 7-10 year olds.
As the largest resort complex with 4 resorts in 1 location in Punta Cana
It has the feel of being oversized and at times confusing as each one has its own restaurants (buffets & snack bars) pools and sections with the speciality restaurants spread out over the whole complex.
The grounds were well maintained,clean and in full display of the vibrant Caribbean colour.

However the following is not only my impressions but a compilation of a multitude of comments heard around the pools and bars from fellow Canadians, Americans and British guest.
The food was the worst in my 7 times in resorts in Cuba, Mexico and Dominican.
Inattentive wait staff and a definite lack of the friendly,cheerful ,Smiling Hotel staff I've come to expect in Caribbean resorts.
This was the first resort that I have had to pay for a room safe although other guest had experience this in the past while I felt it was one more cash grab that is not expected in a supposed 4.5 star resort.
The beach is a 10-15 minute ride on a tram.
The bar staff were inattentive at the least and rude at the worst.
From giving non-Spanish speaking guests old premixed drinks from pitchers, while Spanish speaking guests at the same bar, same time had fresh drinks made.
The house keeping did not clean rooms until late in the afternoon so any afternoon siesta's were in a dirty room and on two of the six days were not cleaned at all.
Fridges were not stocked and even toilet paper had to be requested and if your expecting any of the cute towel swans or the like you will be sadly disappointed ☹️
There seemed to be a lack of chairs around the pool for the number of guests.
The only bright star in this whole very disappointing experience was one woman in guest services:
Tania Sarita
She understood the true meaning of what it means to be in the hospitality industry.
On the three occasions we dealt with her.
The first time to book our speciality restaurants and get info on the routines and amenities for the Resort. The two other times we sought her out to solve problems,
She was attentive, Positive and respectful.
Without her I would have been far more critical
Over all I would say this was at best a 3 star resort.
And defiantly not a resort for anyone who has kids above the age of ten or is looking for a relaxing get away. On our last day we were approached by a manager who was randomly walking around asking guests how their stay was going
After being told about our experience as other guests within ear shot started to chime in with their own tales of similar
Incidences he apologize and offered a massage or extra speciality restaurant
When we refused both just saying try to improve for the next guest

He sent over a $25 gift voucher for the hotel gift shop
Although appreciated most of the guests felt a little too late on the last day [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
cleanliness of grounds
The weak points
STAFF ATTITUDE AND QUALITY OF FOOD
Certified

Very good hotel

, Laval, QC
2016-03-02
Hotel,rooms and restaurant are good, but not recomended for eldary person, its far from all the all facilities, beach, restaurants and entertaiment. Staff are good exept gust- service staff they never smile they consider they do u a favor. food are so good.
the hotel is good for young familis with kids only it is neer to the water park, advice all over 50 not to go there. i love this chain of hotels but not this one [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

First Time

2016-01-29
Our Hotel was nice, clean, and roomy. Nice large bathroom, and nice balcony as well. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
It was a wonderful place to relax after a busy day, loved sitting on the balcony, the bed was big and roomy. Bathroom was great to. Was very nice to have a train to take us to the beach, felt very spoiled. People were very happy and full of fun.
The weak points
Had a few tweeks. Make sure you are aware of what you choose to eat. I was sick for 2 days at the tail end of our trip. Make sure things are cooked fully!
Certified

Christmas in Punta Cana

, Guelph, ON
2016-01-07
It was not what I expected. We found the staff very friendly, but most spoke no English only Spanish. Our room had a few minor issues, but it did not sway our stay. I found something things needed to be spruced up (a little outdated.) All in all we enjoyed our trip and my family and I would go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
It was over all very clean and staff did try fill guest needs as best they could.
The weak points
Language barrier.
Certified

Disappointed!!!!

, Stoney Creek, ON
2015-04-09
Let's start by saying that Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa IS NOT a 5- star hotel. It's a 3 star. I'm not a picky person, but really the service is not that of a 5 star hotel.
Upon check in, the receptionist, who is the only one serving EVERYONE, was in a bad mood. You can't really blame her. Next, we were just given a gigantic map - go and figure yourself where everything is.... The resort is huge and they have less workers for the amount of people staying. Food is average.
The only good thing is the water park for the kids.
Well, definitely will not go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Waterpark, room
The weak points
Service, staff, food

April 2015

, Wawa, ON
2015-04-09
The hotel was nice, clean and the housekeeping service was very good.
Language barriers were somewhat of a problem. Had a hard time communicating what I needed at times.
Overall a nice place, beach was fantastic, pool areas were very nice as well. Easy to navigate around the resort and well maintained. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach Room Housekeeping staff
The weak points
food was okay, as expected.
Certified

What a wonderful trip...

, Surrey, BC
2015-03-16
It was my family's first time in Punta Cana, DR. The resort was very big and the staff were very friendly. The food was very decent as well. This resort is suitable for families and couples. We really enjoyed our vacation. Definitely will come back here in the future. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Rooms are very clean and the food is really good (lots of varieties). Lots of activities during day and night.
The weak points
As a 5 star hotel and resort, the in-room safe should be complimentary for guest's use.
Certified

Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa

, Burlington, ON
2015-02-16
A great place for families. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Water park for the kids was amazing. Transportation through the resort was efficient. Food choices were plentiful. Resort was immaculate. Family suite was appreciated; the kids loved the snacks in the fridge. Staff very helpful and efficient.
The weak points
Room lock was very temperamental and getting the safe to work took a couple of days. More than 3 a la cart dinner would have been nice. The beaches were not the best due to waves and seaweed.
Certified

Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa - Punta Cana

, Ottawa, ON
2015-01-26
Overall great experience! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Facilities very well groomed and maintained. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Great entertainment and kid-friendly activities
The weak points
Limited access to snacks outside of restaurant/sit-down. Room did have some mold on walls near vents. Strong expectation of tipping from bell boy staff, less so with others.
Certified

Great Getaway !!

, Stittsville, ON
2015-01-20
First time in the Dominican but was impressed with the variety of food and the amazing level of service ! The staff was very attentive and our issues were resolved promptly (i.e. cable was fixed within 15 minutes of placing the service call). The beach is a 6 minute buggy drive away and the car comes every 3-4 minutes so we never had to wait. The room was spacious and clean. It is a very big resort and it is connected to several others which we could access so there are about 4-5 pools as well as a small waterpark for kids. There are two pools by the beach. There is always a buffet open on the resort during the day. About 40 minutes from the airport. Overall great resort. Only reason we will not go back is because we don't visit the same place twice. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing staff, variety of fresh food, child friendly, extremely clean
The weak points
Long walk from the beach, huge resort
Certified

Not Quite What We Expected

, Edmonton, AB
2014-11-30
The resort itself is very beautiful but is very large. We understood our resort to be BEACHFRONT when in fact it was 1.9 kms from the beach, as there were 5 or 6 Bahia Principe resorts together and we were at the very back of the property. However the hotel does have an excellent tolley bus service. They have numerous bus stops and they run about every 5 mins. The beach itself is beautiful but again very large. There was only one day we couldn't find a lounge chair. Twice during our stay the hotel ran out of clean beach towels, not sure the reason but frustrating. Service in the main lobby lounge and also the buffet was very poor. We would wait sometimes for 15 or 20 mins for someone to serve you. The food in the main buffet was also disappointing. Good variety of food, but a lot poorly prepared. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very beautiful property and the rooms were clean and comfortable.
The weak points
Service in the buffet and main lobby bar was poor. Food quality needs improvement. Hotel staff should monitor vacationers who are not properly dressed at beach buffet. Flip flops/cover ups should be worn when around food area.
Certified

Huge but somewhat average hotel

, Toronto, ON
2014-08-05
The first impression with the reception was lower than expected. The hotel has 5 individual receptions and it took their staff more than 30 minutes to figure out how to take me to the correct one. The hotel has a lot of all inclusive restaurants but only two of them have good food variety. You can only have breakfast and dinner at the restaurant that belongs to your complex. One of the restaurants that was supposed to be open for all guests from all of the complexes was constantly saying that I cannot eat there. Not all reception staff speaks english, which creates a lot of communication problems. The towel service at the pool often does not have towels available. Be ready to have your personal space broken into by the locals.

Some good points now for a change. Very large hotel with lots of space to strall, but going beyond the hotel area is generally not recommended, not safe. The family rooms are nice and clean. The beach is good, but not enough shade. Great coastal line. Good bar service and drinks menu. Spend more time taking tours than staying at the hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, bar
The weak points
Food, staff, reception, check-in, towel service, non english speaking staff, too many russians
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021