Vh Gran Ventana

Vh Gran Ventana
4.004.004.004.004.00
4.00 based on 1008 reviews
#1 of 20 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Puerto Plata
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (439)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Lovely Vacation

, Sainte Anne De Bellevue, QC
2022-10-20
Well run property with friendly staff, good food, spectacular beach and clean property. The only thing lacking was good entertainment. This is a place to relax for a 50 crowd. I will definitely go back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beach, cleanliness, staff, property, food.
The weak points
Entertainment. Didn't dance once all week.
Certified

Awesome family vacations

, Burlington, ON
2022-08-18
We spent 2 weeks vacations at this hotel, from Jul29 to Aug12 2022. We choose it for 2 reasons:
1. We knew the property from a trip we did 10 years ago, and we liked
2. We knew the food is great

We arrived late night, we missed the dinner buffet, but we were able to have the late snack dinner at 11pm, The checking went smooth.

The hotel itself is so convenient, since the property is not huge, everything is close, main pool, beach, buffet, snack bar.

If you love walking on the beach, this is the place, you can walk a lot in either direction just to realize how fortunate you are of having the best beach spot in all hotels located in playa Dorada, shallow clear crystal water, clean, no waves since it has a coral reef protecting it, and very good for snorkeling

During our stay we requested a room change since the door room did not close properly and we wanted a quieter room, thank you to the Big guy for the help with the luggage. They gave us a room closer to the beach with a better view.
We have the chance to eat at the 3 a la carte restaurants twice, Italian, meats, seafood, all 3 great

The buffet had lots of options every day with international and local Dominican food. Thank you to the guys working in the kitchen, would be nice if you are provided with identifications so we would know your names. Thank you to the guys who provided service to us at the table: Hipolito, Dawelkys, Carlos, Xiomeris, Ana, Luis, Antonio

The daily entertainment keeps rolling from the morning, we participate at the ping pong competition, darts, horseshoe, frisbee, Bingo, bachata dance classes, aerobics, water balloons throwing. They also made beach party on Thursdays, we went twice and participate at the Limbo competition, super fun. The entertainment team made a great job: Juan Antonio, Scarlett, Michael and the ones not mentioned here

They also did something new, a silent party with 3 DJ's, three different music styles: you get a wireless headphone where you can pick your music, dance, and have fun, each channel will change the color of the headphone, so you know what is most popular at the time by looking at others

The Hotel has 3 bars, one close to the beach (Thank you Mayerlin, Domingo), one at the pool (Thank you Olson, Beato, Robinson) and one close to the stage (thank you Jose David, Andrea and the ones not mentioned here)

Our room was supplied daily with water and beer, no pops since we do not like them. Thank you, Jan Carlos, for the supplies and being nice every day, and thank you Selandria for the room housekeeping and smiling every morning.

The checkout at noon went smooth with Alvania, thank you Ciriaco for helping with the luggage. Later we received a courtesy room to refresh ourselves, the bus to the airport was coming at 6pm. If you ever need a courtesy room like us, be sure to have at around 3pm. We supposed to have at 4pm, but it took 30min the process since a lot of locals were checking in on Friday.

We look forward to coming back again [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beach, food, entertainment, staff
The weak points
it had water issues couple times during our stay
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Staff used mask at all times on restaurants and bars

Great experience

, Mercier, QC
2022-04-16
Very nice hotel,very clean with a nice beach.
Pools: they have a 2 foot deep pool,a main pool with swim bar and further away they have a big quiet pool,it's for reading or just relaxing.
Three a la carte restaurants,we especially liked the grill restaurant.
Great deep sea fishing from sosua.
King size bed,there is always someone sweeping somewhere..around the pool,under the chairs. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Very clean,good food,20 minutes from the airport.
The weak points
Ccocktails are way too sweet,terrible wine (bring your own) and long check in.. that's about it for the negative

Good place for a relaxing vacation and great price

, London, ON
2022-04-12
For an all inclusive this is good value!

This resort is well-priced, clean, decent service, good food, two pools (which is great as one is a quiet pool). It's a smaller resort (but bigger than boutique). The beach is beautiful and you can walk it for miles. The a la carte restaurants were “just ok” for the quality of food and only available on certain days with spots quickly filling. The vintage of the guests was more senior than I'd ever seen anywhere - meaning over 65 - but also an assortment of other ages. Not many kids. We did not want to do anything but sleep. Cannot comment on excursions or anything like that.
We would go again for a quick and easy reasonably priced vacation to rest. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Great resort. Friendly staff. Delicoius food

, Toronto, ON
2022-03-05
We were delighted with our experience at Gran Ventana. Staff were almost all very careful about COVID. I really can't understand why the aqua aerobics animators insisted on getting into the pool at the end and drawing participants into a tight circle. Yes I could opt out, but after a pleasant class, why do this.

The food was delicious and plentiful.

We enjoyed the Dominican Day and the small Carnaval parade that went through the resort.

Our room was lovely and comfortable.

Couldn't ask for more.

Our only disappointment was that the reef out front that we had snorkeled on in 2019 was dead. There were no corals, no fish and I guess as a result, no shore birds [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Had a great visit but...

, Little Britain, ON
2022-02-15
Had a great visit and the resort is great. Had a few minor issues that the hotel did not take responsibility or ownership. Details not important. Not overly impressed with the Hotel reception staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Great restaurant staff, grounds and pools.
The weak points
Hotel receiption staff not communicating and following up. Availability of room towels.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Not following their own protocols or enforcing mask wearing, expecially at the buffets and entering the speciality retaurants.
Certified

Good value for the money

, Niagara Falls, ON
2022-02-13
nice place, friendly stuff, great beach, no complain, highly recomended [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Another stellar vaca!

, Alton, ON
2022-02-05
I've been coming to this resort for 11-12 years because it's wonderfiul.The staff are there year after year which speks to the management,which this year has returned to being outstanding again.Wecome back Oscar!The food is very good especially in the Octopus and Sappore restaurants.The staff are alway and friendly and give good service.Raul in the buffet is excellent at his job and is friendly and welcoming. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Good food.Excellent service-at the front desk,in the buffet,the maids,in the other restaurents.Beautiful big beach.The staff are helpful and amenable when asked for 'something' to celebrate birthdays or anniversaries.
The weak points
The wine at the bars and restaurants,excepting Sappore, is not pleasant.Thinking it should be stored in something other than a plastic bottle.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Sanitizing before entering any restaurant.Masks worn at outdoor bars as well as indoor ones and always masked in the restaurants.Staff were always masked.Internet access frequently sketchy in the rooms.
Certified

Just ok

, Hamilton, ON
2021-11-21
The grounds are clean the maintenance staff work hard.The rest of staff are not very friendly. The guest services team are helpful and informative.
Food very repetition
Nightly entertainment was not existing through the week until locals arrived for weekend
Even through the day no music around the pool and could not use own music
Beach vendors very aggressive took away cein wanting to go to beach
I will not be a repeat guest [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

VH Gan Ventana

, Toronto, ON
2020-03-27
This was our 2nd time here - we love it!! Resort is so clean, food is awesome with lots of selection and the people who work here are fantastic. They went above and beyond during this health crisis helping everyone and ensuring everything was clean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Entertainment crew - fabulous (Samuel, Rayson, Luis, Scarlett, Anna, Jovanny, Juan Carlos) Best waiters - Joan. Best at front desk - Ybelka.
Certified

VH Gran Ventana

, Toronto, ON
2020-03-05
The hotel was clean, friendly staff.

We tried three times to make reservations at the three restaurants, but kept being told to come back. We only got one reservation on the last night of our stay. There is not enough variety in the buffet restaurant to eat there every night. Very disappointed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff is amazing, very friendly and accommodating. Beautiful beach area.
The weak points
There are not enough umbrellas around the pool area, not enough huts on the beach. Having to get up prior to 6 a.m. to get shade is not acceptable.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-23
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at Gran Ventana. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Disapointed

, Hastings, ON
2020-02-06
The first part of the stay was excellent,the room, building we were in has been updated,the grounds,pool, service, the beach are all well maintained and the service, staff, food in the main restaurant, was excellent. One day we had only hot water in the room and for the last three days of our stay, we
had no hot water or no water at all. There was no water to flush the toilets. previous reviews have mentioned the same problem. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Aside from the water problems,We could find no complaints.
The weak points
water problems for the entire resort, problems connecting to WiFi, management did not keep us advised of water problems
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-23
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at Gran Ventana. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

VH Grand Ventana

, Gatineau, QC
2020-02-05
Nous sommes allés au VH Grand Ventana 1 semaine.
Cetais bien. Fait beau et chaud sauf notre derniere journee de la pluie raison pour aller au Mail quelques boutiques et souvenirs.Mais y retournez irais autre hotel. Buffet correct. Restots a la carte excellent. Employés super bon service et polis. Chambre très propre. Jamais eu a payer pour coffre. Chambre prete juste a 16h30.Pas une bonne idée etre pret de la piscine. Les spectacles tres répétitifs. Wifi gratuit a salle de spectacle fonctionne pas a moitié du temps. Manqué d'eau. Pas de pallapas a la plage apres 7h00 a.m.Le Paradise Island super belle plage pour faire de l'apnée WOW incroyable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Chambre propre, restots a la carte excellent, employés super polis et souriant, plage super belle, buffet correct.
The weak points
Notre chambre pas prête avant 16h30, payer pour le coffre 16$ US jamais vu ca, fallait se lever avant 6h30 pour pouvoir avoir un pallapas a la plage, manqué d'eau froide, manquè d'eau chaude, manqué d'eau, demandé une chambre avec lit Queen eu lit double,

Great vacation

, Sackville, NB
2020-01-24
8th visit to gran ventana and never disappoints. Had the premier upgrade and private,fast checkin,food always excellent with lots of variety,clean rooms and friendly staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-02-07
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at Gran Ventana. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

VH Gran Ventana

, Erin, ON
2020-01-12
Staff, grounds & food was great
Vendors on beach annoying, they won't leave you alone the minute you arrive till the minute you leave [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
food, staff, property was good
The weak points
The minute you arrive on the beach vendors stalk you and don't leave you alone wanting you to buy their items. I wanted to read my book but they would interrupt me EVERY time.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-02-07
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at Gran Ventana. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Amazing beach

, Oshawa, ON
2020-01-08
The room was not good , air conditioner was backing up and leaking on the floor . We had no hot water for the first 2days and then warm water after that [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the food was very good and most of the staff was very friendly, the beach was amazing
The weak points
the room was clean but no hot water for showers and the bed was hard as a rock
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-02-07
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at Gran Ventana. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Good resort but way over priced

, Stoney Point, ON
2020-01-04
I love kids but prefer adults only resorts. This would be a good place for a family vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Grounds and beach are immaculate. Beach is beautiful with lots of fish so bring your goggles and snorkel. Food was very good and lots of choices. The staff in food and bars where always working hard and pleasant.
The weak points
Only good entertainment was the Michael Jackson show. Try and get the quiet side of resort if you want to fall asleep before midnight. Bed is hard as rock and pillows are too full. I still have a sore neck. Rooms are nothing special but clean.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-02-07
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at Gran Ventana. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Another Holiday at Gran Ventana Resort, POP, D.R.

, Bracebridge , ON
2019-11-28
We returned for our Fall holiday because we truly do enjoy Gran Ventana & all its aspects. It is a big Resort but if you have mobility issues, there is no problem in getting a ride on a golf cart to take you wherever. The food is very good & lots of choices; the Hotel is very clean & well maintained; the rooms are a good size & full equipped. However, the number 1 reason that this Hotel has going for it, is its Staff! They are phenomenal to say the least. A few names come to mind: Luis Carlos, Raul, Dennie, Felix from the Buffet; Carlos, Iradio & 'the rock' can't pronounce his name - three porters; the Reception staff, the gal at Customer Service; the staff at the Ocean Grill. Everyone who works there, makes you feel very special.
(Incidentally, no big deal, but that is not the price we paid for our Holiday). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Staff, the cleanliness, the whole Resort!
The weak points
If I have to mention a weak point, it would be the beds & pillows. The beds are too firm & the pillows need to be replaced. Not a big deal I guess but...………….
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-02-07
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at Gran Ventana. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

September 2019

, Sydney, NS
2019-09-26
This was our 13th stay at GV. It's a small resort that has everything we look for in a completely relaxing holiday. It is extremely clean, the food is amazing, staff are excellent, beach is amazing. I String recommend this resort.
We go back in April 2020 [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-02-07
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at Gran Ventana. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Great Vacation!

, Etobicoke, ON
2019-05-08
Resort was great, food was very good. Was great to have a fridge in the room with bottled water and drinks but unfortunately the drinks refill were missed. The coffee and tea self serve was great and maybe extend the time to at least midnight. Tennis courts were great but since it was too hot during the day, night time tennis is much better if the courts have lights. All the resort staff were very friendly and always helpful. Thanks for the fun week at Grand Ventana. Overall, vacation was great and will definitely come back to this resort again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-05-23
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at Gran Ventana. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Besutiful Resort

, Halifax, NS
2019-05-01
Hotel was clean... well layed out.... food was awesome . Map given of hotel was too small print... hard to read and never did find small quiet pool. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean... friendly mostly.... beautiful beach
The weak points
Entertainment not the greatest....
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-05-23
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at Gran Ventana. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

WONDERFUL MARCH BREAK!

, Toronto, ON
2019-04-02
Overall, we had an absolutely wonderful time at the VH Gran Ventana. I don't even know what to say about the people who work at this resort. They are so absolutely WONDERFUL and I feel that I cannot do them justice with words alone. Friendly, kind, attentive, helpful, funny, they really go above and beyond to make you feel warm and welcome. Food at the buffet was ok, but quite good at the a la cartes. Kids club and supervisors were awesome as was the entertainment staff. Bartenders by the quiet pool were AWESOME!!! Rooms are a good size with a nice balcony. Fridge stocked daily. Housekeeping very good. Our only critique is that the owners of the establishment seem to have forgotten about their investment. Time to loosen your purse strings ladies and / or gentlemen. The rooms and bathrooms are in MAJOR need of an overhaul. Time to fix all the leaking going on in the bathroom, inspect the matresses and boxsprings and figure out where the squeaking is coming from, ensure that the TV is working, even after 15-20 minutes of operation and please please please add more drawers in the room and in the bathroom as well as more hangers in the closet. That small counter does NOT accomodate a family of four. Finally, spring for irons and ironing boards. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent staff, nice beach, great entertainment, very quick bar service, SUPER clean, helpful, GREAT spa service
The weak points
Dated. TV in our room was not working properly, one of the beds squeaked very loudly and the toilet had flushing / leaking issues. Storage in the room and in the bathroom does NOT accomodate a family of 4.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-04-08
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are so glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at our resort. Looking forward to your next visit.

March Break 2019 at VH Gran Ventana

, Markham, ON
2019-03-19
Stayed a week at this resort with the family and had a great time. Weather was great and the beach waters were comfortable. Staff was very friendly and the resort was very clean and safe. We also appreciated it was close to the airport so we were able to get their quickly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was very good and my kids loved the buffet pasta station where they made pasta dishes to order. There were lots of activities for the kids also.
The weak points
Rooms were comfortable though maybe a little dated. This didn't matter much for us as we only used the rooms to wash up and sleep. Free internet was poor though. I'd suggest people consider their carrier's data plan or the paid internet on-site.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-04-08
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words following your recent stay with us at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort.

Week at Ventana

, Toronto, ON
2019-03-01
I cam here on the recommendation of a friend. Was very satisfies with my say, I wanted to be able to access quiet places as I hadjust lost my husband. The resort is large enough so that there are places where you can escape if you do not want the “partying noise “. The staff were excellent in accommodating me. I highly recommend upgrading to the royal package [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful resort, good food, excellent staff, clean beaches
The weak points
Wish the rooms had more furniture for storing clothes, had to live out of the suitcase for the week.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-03-12
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at Gran Ventana. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Would return again.

, Toronto, ON
2019-02-23
Enjoyed the hotel and was glad I was in unit 3 away from the noise and caos of the main area. I found the food to be good with changing daily menu. Drinks and food were plentiful. Enjoyed the clean beaches no sargassum and was impressed by cleanlines by the workers at the resort. I would return again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness of rooms, resort and beaches. Good food and changing daily menu.
The weak points
Demeaning entertainment directed at woman- Twerking contest, sexy posing contest, blindfolded woman on knees trying to eat a bannana dangling on a string. All rather arcaic some woman left the stage in discust before contest began.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-03-01
Thank you for choosing our hotel and taking the time to share your experience. We are grateful for your kind feedback, it is a pleasure to read you has a magnificent stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Excellent stay!

, Toronto, ON
2019-01-28
We had an absolutely amazing time here. The staff are awesome. Excellent beach. Excellent food. Very clean rooms. My only complaint is that the beds were VERY uncomfortable. Other than that....great resort! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-01-31
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at Gran Ventana. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future

VH Gran Ventana

, Ohsweken, ON
2019-01-22
This hotel is good. The workers are very energetic and friendly! The beach was beautiful. It was so calm and clear. We were able to snorkel right on the beach, which the kids liked. There were games and water aerobics at the beach daily. When you first arrive at the beach there are people trying to sell jewellery, excursions, massages, but if you tell them no they will leave you be. We enjoyed the beach snack bar. The buns for the hot dogs and hamburgers were fresh and we loved the chilli cheese nachos. We were able to kayak for one hour per day as well as go for a bike ride each day. We were able to play ping pong, pool, and foosball. The pool was nice and had a volleyball net, there was also fun games set up by staff throughout the day. There was a "mall" on the property where we were able to buy items that were not available right at our resort. Such as a ball that skips over the water and many different souvenirs at a pretty reasonable price. Our room was near the pool and action, which we didn't mind. Although families with young children might not enjoy all the noise that went on until around 11:00pm. We were able to go on our deck and listen to the music or watch the shows. The shows were okay.
The wifi was horrible! The free central wifi area barely let us connect unless it was early morning or around midnight at night. When we first arrived we had to pay $16 for a lock and key for our safe in the room for the week. Our room didn't have any dressers and smelled a little musty. We were not able to adjust our AC. In the evening we were cold, but if we shut it off we would be sweating in the middle of the night.
The food was good and a good variety. Overall, the resort was good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach! The water is clear and calm. Snorkelling right on the beach, free kayaks for one hour a day, free bikes for one hour a day. There is a beach snack bar. The people that work there are so energetic, friendly, and helpful!
The weak points
Poor wifi! You have to pay $16 for a lock and key for the safe in your room. There was no dressers for our clothes. We were not able to adjust our AC, the room was a little musty.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-01-31
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at Gran Ventana. While it is one we are not happy to receive, we appreciate your honest assessment as it will help us improve our performance. We also listen to all feedback weighing the positive with the negative.

Grand ventana premium

, Montréal, QC
2019-01-04
The hotel is clean. The staff is very friendly. The buffet is good and hygienic. There is always a lot of place available at the buffet it is a very nice area. The Octopuss restaurant is average. The italiens restaurant is the best one. The ocean grill restaurant is average and I was not so sure about the cleanliness of the place.

The beach is very long, you can go on long walks 10km easily. The beach at the hotel is not the best one as it is very narrow compared to the other beaches. At around 3:30pm it gets very windy on the beach and if you go on the other beach on the left of the hotel the wind is half the force. So most people tend to finish their day at the pool around 3:30-4pm and if you arrive too late you will not find any chair at the pool.

The premium club is worth it for the private area on the beach and the late check-out if you need it. Otherwise the vintage lounge is very restricted, you can't bring you cafe or drink outside of the lounge even if you transfer it in a plastic cup they will not allow you to leave the lounge with your drink. It is ridiculous because we paid for those premium drinks and I think that we should be able to drink them wherever we want. The lounge is very dark at night, it is impossible to go there and play games, it is too dark. Furthermore they never open the windows which is shame as it looks over the whole resort.

The rooms are ok. I had back pain because the beds are not very great.

I would not recommend this resort and I would not go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff are friendly
The weak points
Beach too windy
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-01-31
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at Gran Ventana. While it is one we are not happy to receive, we appreciate your honest assessment as it will help us improve our performance. We also listen to all feedback weighing the positive with the negative.

First visit

, Toronto, ON
2018-10-08
VH GRAND VENTANA [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The atmosphere and the employees were great. The food choice selections were for all types of eaters.It was quite entertaining to see the young children during mini disco time. I enjoyed the variety of each night entertaining presentations.
Certified

Hotel Review

, St Catharines, ON
2018-09-21
My second time there is 2018 already booked for Jan 2019. Not a large hotel but for me just the right size. Rooms clean with good maid service. Food is good the restaurants are clean food good. Buffet is excellent. Checking in and out easy excellent service. The staff is so friendly and provide excellent service. Would recommend to anyone. Easy and short commute to and from air port. Overall I loved my stay and will continue to go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent service friendly staff great food and good entertainment.
The weak points
Need coffee makers in every room
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Puerto Plata's best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Beaches Families Couples Singles Seniors

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2022