Iberostar Costa Dorada

Iberostar Costa Dorada
4.254.254.254.254.25
4.25 based on 504 reviews
#5 of 20 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Puerto Plata
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (191)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12345678

Great Resort and Vacation

, Port Elgin, ON
2022-11-15
My partner and i had a wonderful week at this resort. It had everything we were looking for and we would definitely return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Friendly staff, lots of options for relaxing (beach, pool, gardens) always with lots of space. clean and beautiful.
The weak points
The booking of a la carte restaurants was a little cumbersome. and there was a slight sewer like odor as we entered our room(got worse our last couple days there). would have been nice to have a small couch or two comfortable chairs in the room
Certified

Not a 4.5 star all-inclusive resort!

, Toronto, ON
2022-10-21
Reason for vacation was to celebrate a wedding anniversary. Booked this all-inclusive vacation with the highest rating 4.5 we could find online.

Upon arrival, we checked-in at the front desk, we were given a room in block 5, first floor. Came in to the room, greeted with a bottle of Brut (which locally known as Champagne). This bottle is chilled in ice bucket.

First impression of the room is it does not look the same as on the picture posted online or on their website. Our room was missing a living room furniture section. This issue was never been brought up to front desk during our stay.

First night was okay, the second night started to becoming uncomfortable due to bug and cat? noise coming from outside at night. This has been brought up to front desk on our 3rd day in the evening. Front desk staff informed us to come back tomorrow in the morning to talk to manager. 4th day, we came back from our excursion at around 4pm, spoke to front desk, they switched our room to block 9, 3rd floor.

The room looks way different from previous room. This room has a complete furniture as shown on pictures posted online. The TV is inconsistent throughout different room. Our previous room had a smart TV (where we could watch movie stream online). However, with our current room the TV is not wifi compatible. Majority of channels are in Spanish. This was a problem for us who do not know how to speak Spanish. This issue was brought up to front desk and no solution was offered.

Excursion varies in price depending on the excursion agent you book it with. We booked ours with the travel agent under the hotel. We booked 2 days of excursion (Thursday and Saturday). The Thursday excursion pick up time at 0820am. We came in at the meeting area at 8am, waited until 0840. We started to get worried if we actually missed the tour. We had trouble finding a staff who understand English to help us connect with their excursion agent representative as she is off-site that time. At 0905am, we got the excursion agent representative on the phone and informed us that our names were not submitted for the trip that day. Someone from the tour agency will come to pick us up.

Also, the package tour that we paid and signed up for was different tour packaged scheduled for that day. We insisted to do the tour we know we paid and signed up for instead of changing our plans for that day. The Tour director was able to accommodate and corrected all the misunderstanding from the tour agent from the hotel.

Also, we missed out on all the hotel entertainment schedule for our first 2 days of stay. We were not informed of the hotel schedule at the check-in. When I asked them as we feel like lost and doest not know what is happening in the hotel, front desk advised us to scan the qr code and download their app.

Their app has a great user-interface (UI) but thats about it. Restaurant and Bar operating hours is not accurate or updated. The messaging is not active. We solely use the app to check the schedule, which is the only thing that is accurate.

I have never been to an all inclusive vacation where hotel staff (not servers/bartenders) eat and use facilities with guest. If you are interested to experience that then you will definitely see it in this hotel.

If you do not speak Spanish this will be a problem. It was really hard to ask questions, order cocktails, and build rapport with staff as majority of staff are non English speaking. This is a lesson for us. We just got an impression that if you go to a destination vacation hotels and resorts they are mostly tourist friendly. This means able to communicate in English.

Staff (bell boy, servers, bartender etc) feels like non genuine with hospitality. Handing them tip gets treated differently compared to non tipper. It does not matter if your vacation package included gratuities. In my opinion, tourist are taken advantage and harassed on tipping. Make a good observation and you will see how staff and locals react around you.

Food is not world class so do not get your expectation high. Stay away from chips as they are not crunchy. On time I had the chips for nachos, it was already not crunch as it has been out expose for so long. I mentioned to server, nothing has been done. Burger patties still got waxed paper cooked with it. Mentioned to cooked, took the patty from my plate. I saw the whole batch on the platter still has wax paper being served. I wonder how they cook their burger patties?

Lastly, I want to mention that Iberostar Costa Derorado had a $500 coupon marketing during our stay. I have to say that it was an obvious marketing strategy. The coupon composes of $25 - $50 applicable to respective purchases. Did not end up using anything. We tried using for our tour excursion but the travel agent did not accept it. Two coupons was crossed out right off the bat upon giving to guest. Anyways, do not get hooked on this. Be warned!

I almost forgot to mention to get ready to keep calling front desk during your stay as the safety box will keep on breaking.

Will not come back and will not recommend the hotel. I will think about Puerto Plata but so far I can spend my money elsewhere.

JS [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
I appreciate hotel architecture and landscape.
The weak points
Had a horrible experience instead of relaxing and happy one.
Certified

Beautiful Resort but food quality needs work

, Toronto, ON
2022-09-01
First the good. The Dominican Republic is a beautiful country. The resort is lovely - clean and the amenities are quite nice. The pool was big and the water clean. The beach was outstanding. The gym was clean and well equipped. The nightly entertainment was acceptable but the crowds a bit overwhelming. Our room was big and the cleaning staff were very attentive. The balcony overlooked the ocean - that was worth the upgrade. The staff are friendly and the service is quite good (especially if you seed small gratuities throughout the week for exceptional service). The tours are very good - we did the City Tour and Paradise Island which were fun and educational. Even the obligatory cigar factory stopover was fascinating as we watched them making cigars live! There is but a single negative - the food. While quantity is never an issue at any resort the food in the restaurants needs upgrading and the menu in the buffet and snack bar needs some variety and quality control (often overcooked). Now, to be fair, they are just coming out of Covid and perhaps in a years time it will improve. But for the food quality this would be solid 4 especially because of the staff and beautiful setting. I hope to see future reviews comment on improvements to the food quality as this resort could easily live up to a 4 - 4.5 star rating and we'd love to come back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beach, grounds, friendliness
The weak points
Food
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Good but tour operators not as vigilant
Certified

Iberostar Costa Dorado

, Thornhill, ON
2022-07-10
Not sure how this hotel got a 4.5 star review [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
staff were friendly
The weak points
no elevators, cock roaches, balconies and parapets leak, rooms are old and dated on the inside, no shower curtains, safes continually breaking down, food was sub par, all of us have upset stomachs
Certified

Great Hotel

, Barkmere, QC
2022-04-28
This is a very nice hotel, staff were friendly and efficient and the food was very good. There was an amazing variety. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Food, Cleanliness, Pool, Bars
The weak points
Beach
Certified

Very good

, Gatineau, QC
2022-04-16
Very good resort i would go bAck .. of course you get the odd person that doesn't like there job and are not very nice … but the majority made our stay very good [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Another fantastic time!

, Toronto, ON
2022-03-31
2 weeks of sunshine with amazing staff. Extremely helpful and any request was attended to immediately.
They have been working hard to improve hotel since being closed for 7 months. Noticed improvements daily along with more staff returning to work as capacity increasing.
Looking forward to returning later in the year! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The weak points
Would like to see bathrooms renovated in more buildings as currently only 3 have been done but fully understand as things were shut down.
Certified

Great resort

, Oierrefonds, QC
2022-01-04
very very nice resort , drinks and buffet was to the max, new year reception was exceptional, definitely going back there !!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Decent Place

, Regina, SK
2020-03-29
Was not as nice as another Iberostar I stayed at in the past, also upon arrival soap and shampoo bottles were empty and was a condom wrapper in one of the house coats [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food
The weak points
Staff, not overly helpful or understanding at reception, dining staff were great
Certified

Iberostar Costa Dorada Puerto Plata

, Millbrook, ON
2020-03-18
Second time at this hotel was GREAT vacation lots of activities and an amazing staff ,My wife and I have been to many different resorts over time but this place is the top of my list, the room had been upgraded since the last time we were there the bed was very comfortable and the walk in shower was excellent we where given a welcome back fruit tray and a bottle of rum and an invite to a cocktail party to meet the management , will be going back next spring for a longer stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff always friendly ,very clean and safe I like the fact that its only 20 minuets from the airport.
Certified

Excellent! Just excellent

, Jarvis, ON
2020-03-11
We have been here for 3 day so far and we just love it. Some rooms don't have the greatest view, but you can be upgraded easily and quickly. The food is very good. Everyone is friendly. The beach is kept in immaculate condition. Stay here and you will not be disappointed! We will be back! Do not listen to the negative reviews... This resort is fantastic! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach! The food! The staff! Everything is fantastic!
The weak points
No week points, in my opinion

Nice stay

, Toronto, ON
2020-03-03
Staff was great, facilities and grounds were nice. Rooms a little outdated but fine. A good all inclusive that was in a great location to get out and see the local area by taxi or walking. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice grounds, decent food and not far from downtown Puerto Plata.
The weak points
The beach itself is mostly nice but the entrance to the water had a lot of seaweed at points (may have been seasonal, not sure, was there in Feb).
Certified

Excellent Hotel

, Asbestos, QC
2020-02-18
Wé have stayed at this resort 10 times in the last 11 years and have always had an excellent vacation. Food is very good with sufficient variety for even picky eaters.Grounds are beautiful and well maintained. Personnel friendly and very helpfull and accommodating. Rooms need refreshing however they are very clean and cleaning staff is great. The room we had last trip had a renovated bathroom and was comfortable. Beach sometimes has a sea weed problem however there was no seaweed during our first week this year.We spend all day at the beach and beach itself is clean. Shows in the evening are usually excellent often with a great live band and an excellent dance troupe.Quality wifi throughout the resort at least in our room in block 5 and at the beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, personnel, entertainment and grounds.
The weak points
Sea weed on the beach for those people that like to go in the water. However there is usually at least one area where access to the water is clear of sea weed.
Certified

Nice Vacay

, Ste. Anne, MB
2020-02-08
This very clean and well laid out resort was our home for a week. We felt completley safe. The staff and entertainment crew were all very good. Our room was very clean and had been updated. The bed was very comfortable but the pillows were hard and flat. Our room was on the 3rd floor and overlooked the beautiful pool. The food was very good with so much variety and it appeared to have items that suited all dietary restrictions. The beach was very nice but sadly the garbage that would wash up (no fault of the resort) was a reminder of how poorly we treat our planet.. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Customer Service, Iberostar's environmental strategy within the hotel itself ie refillable glass jugs for room, reusable personal water bottles, recycled paper's etc. The washrooms have all refillable toiletries dispensers.
The weak points
For us there were no real weak points but given everything was in U.S. dollars the spa services were pricey. They need to enforce the signs they have for reserving lounge chairs. Towelled lounges sat empty for hours and owners no where to be found.
Certified

Iberostar Costa Dorada

, North River, NS
2020-01-31
Had a awesome week, it is definitely a 4 1/2 star. The food was excellent, the drinks we very good, very clean, the staff very helpful and friendly. Lots of activities around the pool daily. .Good location on beach. Would definitely return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean, excellent food, lots of verity at buffet, Specialty dining was amazing., friendly staff, grounds nicely kept, good location on the beach, lots of entertainment around the pool daily.
The weak points
I really can't think of any week points.
Certified

Great Resort

, Minnedosa, MB
2020-01-18
My wife and another couple stayed 7 days at Iberostar Costa Dorada and we quite enjoyed the resort itself. The staff was quite friendly and willing to help. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The pool area was clean & spacious with no shortage of places to sit. The beach was beautiful, it had a lot of seaweed washed up but the ocean was very rough while we were there (unusual) so this I don't believe is common. And most importantly, the food was fantastic. Definitely check out the a la carts restaurants. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, clean, great food, close to town of Puerto Plata
The weak points
A bit of a language barrier at times when trying to get more information. There were people on the beach constantly asking you to go to the market. These were not resort employees but still got a little annoying over the course of a week.
Certified

A very nice vacation at the 19/20 transition

, Newmarket, ON
2020-01-09
The resort is large but not huge, just appropriate to accomodate lots of guests who came to celebrate the New Year at Iberostar Costa Dorada. The room we got in buiding 5 was upgraded recently, very clean and large - we had a king size bed. The service throughout was excellent. The beach is both long and wide, with lots of palapas and trees. We did not get bothered by beach salespeople altough we felt for them as this is one of the few sources of their limited income. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The size of the resort, the size of pool, the cleanliness, the landscape
The weak points
Too many algae by the shore. I think the beach maintenance staff did their best to remove them but the beach is long and just a little truck and a couple of guys cannot remove such large quantities as they accumulate nonstop. More people anf truck will do
Certified

Staff are so friendly

, Toronto, ON
2019-12-26
The hotel is easy to get to and close to the airport.
They great you and get you through the check in so quick. Lenny does a great job and looked after all of our requests.
The entertainment staff is the best! Hulu Hulu, Pepsi, Wifi really make our holiday great! They are so fun and have so much energy. This is why we come back here.
Domingo is the best wait staff you could ask for. So kind and caring, really goes above and beyond [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Entertainment staff, wait staff, Grounds are beautiful Staff work hard to keep clean.
The weak points
Special requests sometimes get missed on check in but usually staff are able to change your room. Depends on who you get. Seems like more work. More thought and care should be handled when setting up rooms
Certified

Bien

, Gatineau, QC
2019-12-05
Le site est très bien. Le service est impeccable! Les restos à la cartes sont difficiles à réserver à des heures convenables, mais j'en ai eu deux sur trois! Japonais à ne pas manquer et le mexicain est bon. Éviter les chambres au rdc ça pu l'humidité et pas un peu. Même nos valises sentaient l'humidité à notre retour! La plage est belle mais la mer pleine d'algues et 1 jour sur 7 de baignade trop de vagues. La pluie était annoncée presque tout les jours mais elle ne s'est jamais présentée de jour. Le site est très propre. Le bloc 7 côté opposé à la piscine sent la [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service et la nourriture ainsi que la propreté partout!
The weak points
La mer grâce à mère nature! Et la chambre au rdc! L'odeur d'étang présente presque tout les jours au bloc 7
Certified

First time at this resort

, Cambridge, ON
2019-11-26
Was a fairly big resort but easy to find your way around. Staff was super friendly and would help out when needed. Power in our room went out and went to front desk to tell them about it and it was fixed within 20 min. The grounds are well kept and clean. Beach was big. Cant complain about the food, it was good all around. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good beach, good food, well maintained,friendly staff,great wifi included.
The weak points
Beach runners trying to get you to go to their market to buy stuff.
Certified

You get what you pay for!

, Toronto, ON
2019-08-05
Yordin at the front desk was friendly and check-in/out was quick. Paula and Santiago at the restaurant(s) as well as our housemaid(s) were friendly. Entertainment/animation team and other resort staff could be a little bit more friendlier/approachable. Food was OK, fountain drink was not great (IE coke, pineapple juice etc.) but you can get it at the bar for a better quality. The beach area where the hotel is located is not quite as good as the resort beside it (BE LIVE) but again beach is public so you can walk there to play/swim in the ocean. BEWARE of the sales pitch about "STAR PRESTIGE" (timeshare) or try not to make an impulse decision to sign up (you might end up regretting it--it is not for everyone) and heads up the sales staff can be pushy and the "FINANCIAL SUPERVISOR" is rude if you do not sign up. Locals are here on the weekends so it is loud. Again, for the price we paid for we can't really complain about our stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
La Hacienda makes good tacos, they can make your drink BOOZY if you ask for it, plenty of lounge chairs (low occupancy rate) and animals you may encounter such as flamingos, peacocks and turtles in the premises.
The weak points
Bathroom is dated, food at the buffet was OK (bacon was cooked differently) and sales pitch about the properties (timeshare)
Certified

Comments

, Whitby, ON
2019-04-21
Had an amazing 7 days experience. Everything was well organized. Felt totally safe. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff was extremely pleasant and accommodating. Hotel was immaculately clean Food was very tasty
The weak points
nothing to comment on
Certified

Beautiful week in Paradise

, Hamilton, ON
2019-04-16
Had another wonderful week at this beautiful resort. Staff Christina, Kennedy and Carlos are outstanding! Only issue was the beach having alot of seaweed washing up every day which put a damper on our ocean bathing.
The staff did a good job raking and removing but it was ongoing everyday. So if your a beach person, this resort may not be for you until they resolve this issue. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, gardens, large pools, wildlife, night lighting, Ala Cartes's, Pool view rooms.
The weak points
Beach, night time entertainment. There should be background music playing every night in the lobby/courtyard area from 6pm until show time.
Certified

Iberostar

, Onslow Mountain, NS
2019-02-24
Absolutely wonderful, no complaints. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff, incredible beaches, food was awesome, great entertainment.
Certified

Great experience

, Winnipeg, MB
2019-02-15
Great experience. Even better food! Staff is so friendly and always helpful. Always a smile on their faces and ready to help. Special thanks to Angela, she was lovely. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Exceptional getaway

, Hudson, ON
2019-01-21
Fabulous time, Great animation staff Barbie, Pepsi and Wifi made sure you were involved and had fun.There was always a many activities to choose from. Ony from the lobby bar and Denis from beach buffet bar so friendly and best [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Great visit again

, Brampton, ON
2019-01-18
My husband and I celebrated our birthdays at the Iberostar Costa Dorada. This was our 11th time at this hotel. We have not bee back since the last few years but was not disappointed at all in visiting this resort again. Thanks to Juan Lewis, Elizabeth, Mario, Maria Jose Berbel, Rafael, hulu hulu, Kemo, and the animation and entertainment team, Eduardo for writing and directing the beautiful shows and the beautiful band especially the saxophone player Eddie. Special thank you to Juan Familia for all the mouth watering dishes he prepared for us and Gabriel for always checking in with us and all the other guest at the restaurants to ensure we are doing fine.
Thanks to all the maids, waiters and waitresses, gardners ,front desk staff and everyone else who contributed to making our stay a memorable one.

This hotel still is a gem. It's the best hotel in Puerto Plata along with the best staff and location. The food every day is prepared by qualified chefs and served with love. The food is very tasty and there are so many varieties to choose from including a variety of desserts. There are many varieties of alcohol for those who like to try different drinks.

The pool is beautiful with a wonderful swim up bar. The beach has some seaweeds but that is expected in the Caribbean. The surroundings and landscape is well maintained by the gardeners.

Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone. I am looking forward to going back at this hotel because it has a touch of everything you need and want in a vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We would personally like to thank the following people for making our stay a magnificent one and also for a memorable birthday celebration. Special thank you to Chef Juan Famalia and Gabriel for preparing the most wonderful meals for us.
The weak points
Best resort in Puerto Plata with the best staff to cater to your need. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone

Amazing resort

, Toronto, ON
2019-01-16
Everything was great here. Check-in to the room to the service to the beach- all great. Only thing I disliked was the variety of the buffet foods and deserts, but the taste was good. Stayed in room 7118, pool view room, there was no extra wall plugs to charge anything, not sure if other rooms were same. Tons of shade and chairs between the pool or beach. Juan Felix - amazing waiter/bartender. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pool and beach, shade, chairs, service, clean, everything within a 5 minute walk
The weak points
Variety of buffet food and desserts
Certified

Great Resort

, Moncton, NB
2019-01-03
I had a very nice week at Iberostar Costa Dorada. I travelled solo. I spent most days by the beach - i'm not much of a pool person - and the beach was very nice. It was long and great for walks. The weather for my entire week was fantastic.

The food was very good. Lots of variety. Hot food was served hot, and cold food was served cold. This isn't always the case when you travel down south. I only ate at the buffet so can't comment on the a la carte restaurants.

Aside from the beach and the food, i didn't do very much so can't speak too intelligently about it.

Overall, the resort was great and i had a great time. I would certainly return again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good food, nice beach, decent wifi, decent rooms, good service
The weak points
Nothing stood out in a negative way
Certified

Not a 4 star resort!

, Calgary, AB
2018-12-13
The rooms are very dated and in need of a total renovation. There is definitely prostitution with young Dominican woman going on there that the staff tends to overlook. The beach is extremely weedy to the point of not wanting to go into it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The resort has a very nice pool. The grounds are well kept.
The weak points
The hotel needs a total renovation and updated electrical outlets. We could not even plug in our computer. The beach is weedy. The rack it daily but cannot kept up with it.
Certified
pages: 12345678

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Puerto Plata's best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Beaches Families Couples Singles Seniors

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2022