Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace

Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace
3.733.733.733.733.73
3.73 based on 79 reviews
#9 of 14 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in La Romana
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (59)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Absolutely Terrific

, Melfort, SK
2017-02-12
Stayed a week in January 2017 and cannot honestly think of anything I could complain about except I should have stayed longer!!The resort is clean, well kept, good food, great people ,great entertainment and super beach! The Saona Exclusive tour was fantastic and the Crazy Wheels tour of the countryside will never be forgotten. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The four al-la-cart restaurants were all very very good !
The weak points
there were no weak points !
Certified

Viva wyndham palace

, Ave, ON
2015-01-02
Overall average resort. Not bad but also not great. Food was good lots of varieties for everyones taste. Room was old and dated 5000 section room cleaning was ok. Family of4 the cleaning ladies left only 2 small bottles of water for the day. Had to purchase bottlesfrom the store despide spending over 5500 for the trip. When asked thecleaning ladies for more water they were rude and refused. Entertainment caters only to Italians. If you speak Italianthen you get priority service better room etc. Would not return because i have been to 3.5 star resorts in Dominican with better service and didnt need to speak Italian [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food beach
The weak points
Service
Certified

Great winter getaway

, Riverview, NB
2014-02-10
We were here Jan. 31st-Feb. 7th and we loved every minute. This was among our favorite resorts we have visited. The food and entertainment/activities during the day were great, beach was great, water was warm. The beach does have some rocky parts, but just as many areas that are clear. The fish seemed to be around the rocks in the water, and there were lots of them swimming around, my daughter and I did some snorkeling right off the beach! The room we had was very basic (5900's), but we didn't spend much time in there anyway. The fridge was stocked, room and washroom were clean and water pressure was good, never ran out of hot water. Always 2 bottles of water left in room each day. The palace side is quieter, but spent a lot of time on beach side for entertainment and activities. There is always lots to do, the animation staff work very hard all day long to make sure everyone is included but never pressured to participate. This is mainly a European destination, but was great to meet up with a few other Canadians and never felt "out of place" for speaking English only, the staff all spoke English to us, we never ran into any issues with language. Booked a la cartes on the first day, had a good choice of day and times available. At some resorts the a la carte dining is small portions but we found the offering great, lots of options and you don't leave there hungry! Agree with alot of the comments on here about the pizzeria (open 7pm-7am) to be good quality, wood oven pizza. The buffets were excellent and had a variety each day with some of the staple items like pizza (different than pizzeria), rice and fries every day for lunch. There is an awesome lunch buffet on beach side of resort at La Roca (which is an a la carte for dinner) that sits right on the edge of the ocean and close to the best pool on the resort, having lots of loungers and beds right on the water. This is right next to the trapeze area (which is a must for anyone). On the palace side, close to the shops on the beach, you can pay to take pictures with an iguana or a small monkey (was asking for $10 but did it for $5). Read a lot of comments on staff being rude or not really caring, but we found it to be the opposite, they went out of their way to try to connect with everyone, and always had a smile on their faces. Very helpful whenever we asked them anything (and they all spoke English with us), remembered where we were from, and gave nicknames to the family and greeted us that way every time we saw them, a good personal touch. Bars were pretty busy but they were fair in attending based on when you got there, so no special treatment to the singles vs families. The drinks are offered with or without alcohol (which was exciting for my daughter to have the exotic slushy drinks too). Overall the resort was great and would definitely go back again. Great value and surprisingly great food and service for the price. Would also add another 1/2 star to their rating [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beaches and staff
The weak points
not long enough
Certified

Good value

, Scarborough, ON
2013-03-17
The room was a bit basic, but the grounds and the excellent food made up for it. There was a lot to do in this resort, spread out like a series of small villages. Yes, Italian and French are the predominant languages, but we never had a problem being understood. We would recommend this as good value if you can get a reasonable price on it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, Activities
The weak points
Basic room, no kleenex or coffee maker, one garbage, overly firm mattress.
Certified

A Good Place to Stay

, Brooks, AB
2012-12-23
This hotel exceeded expectations given poor reviews. We found the food and service generally good, with staff responsive to requests. We were in two different rooms during our stay (because we requested a one bed vs a two bed room for more floor space) which was accomodated as soon as they were able. Staff were polite, rooms were clean. Had issue with Catamaran, got our time a 1/2 hour late and then staff came after with boat, we ran out of wind and staff swamped us towing the catamaran back. Very bad experience! Very rude staff! This marred the entire vacation. Had difficulty hooking onto internet although others didn't seem to be having this issue. Front desk staff were awesome in helping me to get connected. Note that English is a minority at this Italian owned resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
nice staff
The weak points
the boat nazi who swamped our catamaran
Certified

Not a 4 Star Hotel

, Maple, ON
2012-07-11
We've been to Dominican Republic 15 times, and based on our experiences have certain expectations for a 4 star hotel. Wyndham Dominicus Palace was far below any other 4 star hotel in DR we've been to. The price difference between this one and nearby Iberostar was not high, but the difference in quality is enormous. After one day of stay we asked to be moved to Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus where we spent fabulous vacation.
The main negative of Wyndham Dominicus Palace was the food. Selection was poor to start with, food didn't look and didn't taste fresh. Selection of fruits was minimal.
Room was OK, but bathroom was small. Towel rack was installed 20 cm above the horizontal surface, so it was useless.
On the positive side beach was very nice, and extends along Dominicus Beach side.
All in all, if we had paid half the price we paid, we would consider it as an adequate hotel. But for the price that more luxurious hotels have, this was a rip-off. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, free internet
The weak points
Food, service
Certified

Wyndham dominicus palace

, Fredericton, NB
2012-05-09
the staff was not able to communicate in english 90%. could not give us small american bills. tried 3 different days. there are no comfortable seats in lobby or enough. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beautiful grounds, pool and beach. the food was excellent, especially a la carte restaurants. too much distance to walk for elderly or infirm.
The weak points
the elevator was very old and was not working on three days which greatly took away from my comfort as did the location of my room. i recently had ortho. surgery and expressed that i required a room close to dr and pool. my room was not as requested.
Certified

Viva Wyndham dominicus palace

, Brampton, ON
2011-08-07
Great! The whole family had a wonderful time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach and great food and drinks. Many pools to choose from.
The weak points
none
Certified

First trip to La Romana

, London, ON
2011-05-01
Very nice resort, We usually go Cuba or Further south. Was never impressed with Punta Cana, However we decided to try a resort 'away from the wind' and La Romana
was recommended by friends and we took a chance because we got a very good price. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Large resort with lots of room, very nice gardens, lots of restaurants and bars.
The weak points
The A La Carte restaurant "Atlantis" - We paid $20 each, for a Very small piece of boiled Lobster. 'Rip-off'
Certified

Great place

, Winnipeg, MB
2011-02-05
this is a great area and hotel to choose. 2 restaurants right on the ocean, friendly staff and nice beach. Full strip of local shops immediatley outside resort gate so no need to travel to town in order to make some purchases. wifi connection in lobby and bar area is nice as well. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Had a great time
The weak points
no weak points
Certified

Great trip

, Innisfil, ON
2011-01-30
Yes there are a lot of europeans, however there is lots of room to move around. Food was great, everything was according to the price of the trip. Weather and staff were awesome. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food, the staff
The weak points
Naked europeans
Certified

Beautiful

, Wallaceburg, ON
2011-01-24
Great food, beach, temp, service, rooms.
Rooms nice and clean
Grounds beautiful
Reefs to snorkel at off of beach in as little as 3 feet of water [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food , beach , gardens
The weak points
Pools closed at 5:30
Certified

Wonderful Holiday

, Letbridge, AB
2010-06-05
I came here for a getaway and to kick start my getting in shape program. Every day I worked out at one of the 2 gyms doing weight training; then I swam my 40 lengths in 1 of the 4 pools; and then I walked at least 1 hour a day, usually 2 hours spread out. This left me plenty of time to relax, read, and do snorkeling. The food was great and I ate lots of protiens, fruits and vegetables. This 2 week holiday was the best boot camp ever at a cost of less than $1900. A 1 week camp averages $3500 and a 2 week camp hits up to $9000. There are trainers at each gym.
The front desk was wonderful and accomodated me without problem a number of times. I saw them deal with difficult people very respectfully. The buffet staff very good as well as the bar staff who gave me my coffees. English is spoken by most staff and I had no real difficulties over 2 weeks. The housekeeping was good and the rooms had no noticeable mold. The rooms are better kept up than the all inclusives I have been to in Mexico (3) and in Eygypt (1). The staff in every department was accomodating and worked to take care of the guests. The grounds and beach are fabulous and your children can snorkel safely up
and down the beach. The village is nice and not overdeveloped. The Europeans were great and it was nice to go to meals without having the female guests dressed like crack-whores, leaning their barely covered body parts over the buffet table (as in the Cancun where you wouldn't be suprised to see pasties and the cougars flaunt their sagging cleavage). Occassionally a woman will sunbath topless, way off to the side of a very long beach, and you won't glance twice as it is not an in-your-face-look- at-me attention grabbing display like the desparados littering the Cancun beaches. I
The only problem with the complex is the noise level from the bars and the outdoor theatre complex. I had to move rooms twice resulting in being in 3 rooms. Unfortunately the one builing where you get some relief from the noise has a peacok outside that starts it's horn blasting calls at 0500, and if you're lucky it a may wait until 0600 to start it's racket. The theatre will keep you awake until at least 2300 then you are ofte blasted awake 0500-0600 by the bird. A lady who has been to the complex 4 times said this was the first time they bought in the peacocks and also wanted someone to strangle it. I tried to convince a groundskeeper to do so to no avail. The bird needs to go, it's an overdressed raven.
Overall you should love the complex and the experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The setting, the beaches, the number of activites, the staff, the cost.
The weak points
The lack of sleep due to the few hours between night time noise ending and the am noise of the peacocks.
Certified

Good Time!

, Barrie, ON
2010-05-10
The hotel was located 1.5 hr drive from the Punta Cana airport. Just as stated. The hotel is in good shape, the grounds are beautiful, peacocks and beautiful pink flamingos live on one side of the hotel. That was a fresh sight first thing in the morning. Beautiful, although some people complained due to the birds making some noise at night. We had a third floor room so it was not an issue. The rooms were clean and standard, newer bathrooms, nothing to complain about. Beach towels were exchanged every 3 days. Staff was friendly but, not many speak english. The majority of guests were italian and french speaking. So at the Palace the entertainment was in italian. The use of Palace and Beach resort was great, awsome pools, great loungers, a lot of chairs on the beach. Finding a spot was never an issue. The hotel stores actually have very reasonable prices for souvenirs, necessities or rum and cigars. The Money Exchange at the hotel was comparable to banks in town. So that was convenient. The hotel also has photographers, monkeys, lizards, parrot..etc.The standard. Food was amaizing, I was very impressed, the choices were not many, but boy were they ever tasty. Fish, seafood, calamari...amaizing!! We have been to the DR a few times already so we usually have lower expectations when we travel, so we do not have many surprises. The restaurants are very good, we have tried them and the food is really good. There are some salesmen at the hotel trying to get you to buy stays with them directly, so after a few days that gets a little annoying, but you can live with it. The beach is great although there are some rocky spots, the shore is not shallow, there is a slope, so I would not recommend that beach for small children due to the slope and strong waves. The beach at the Viva Wyndh. Beach has a shallow shore and remains shallow for about 30-50 meters, although there seems to be more rocks, so be careful where you step. The water temperature was perfect, the sun was hot and the breeze was cooling. There is a trapeze set up, my children and my husband had lots of fun trying it.We had a great time! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food, nice hotel
The weak points
Long commute
Certified

Très beau voyage

, Grenville Sur La Rouge, QC
2010-03-13
Le viva wyndham Dominicus est un super de beau complexe. Le service est excellent. La bouffe est excellente. Un petit bémol.... quelques fois les plats sont froids. Les restos sont succulents et le service est très bon. On est même servi en français. Les républiquains sont très accueillants. L'hotel du Palace est très bien. Un vrai 4 étoiles. Les chambres sont bien isolés. On n'entend pas les voisins. Il manque par-contre dans les chambres une cafetière et de la bière dans le frigo. Un détail.... Les Italiens sont envahissants même ils nous tombent parfois sur les nerfs. En général, c'est un très beau voyage et nous allons y retourner. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Très beau complexe
The weak points
Plats froids au buffet
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021