Viva Wyndham Tangerine

Viva Wyndham Tangerine
3.613.613.613.613.61
3.61 based on 259 reviews
#1 of 3 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cabarete
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (175)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12345

Viva caberete

, Brighton, ON
2020-01-23
Good family hotel geared towards young families and individuals who enjoy kiteboarding.
Rooms under superior oceanview dated and very minimal. Bathroom is very good and updated.
Pools are great, lots of shade and lounge chairs.
Kids pool was great, kids club basic.
Beach area is beautiful and lots of activity going with kiteboarding being in high demand there. So expect waves daily. Red flag every day, one day of yellow. 3.5 year old still enjoyed the beach and chasing waves.
Nightly entertainment we didn't get to experience as it started at 9:45 pm.
Rooms by pool expect noise from disco nightly.

Overall was a very good week. Approximately 40 mins from the airport. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, pools
The weak points
Rooms, food, jacuzzi cold
Certified

Great family holiday

, Hamilton, ON
2020-01-10
Another great Christmas holiday place. This is a great place to visit food was plenty great coffee and drink. The beach was clean all the time. And the kids that work there are the hardest we have ever seen from morning to nite. Thanks [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food clean and always ready to help
The weak points
Rooms were dated
Certified

Viva Wyndham Tangerine September 2019

, Saint-Laurent, QC
2019-12-15
We enjoyed a magnificent tropical landscape and ocean breezes ! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
friendly staff entertainment team(Giada,Baby Face) long and clean beach beneficial wind
The weak points
None

Viva Wyndham Tangerine

, Kingston, HA
2019-05-20
Perfect resort for a family. Our group included children, adults and retirees. All the restaurants were open to all ages with impeccable service. The beach, pools and bar were close to our rooms, as was the buffet and other amenities. Staff were friendly and engaging. Rooms were clean and well appointed.
One of the children in our group fell ill ( unrelated to hotel conditions )
And all the staff were eager to help and concerned. Wifingers was available everywhere at no extra cost. We were highly pleased and would definitely return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff definitely made our stay wonderful. Shouts out to the photographer Lens from Lens Magic and Jessica, greeter, at the buffet. Also our room maid was fantastic.
The weak points
I really can't find fault. We needed this getaway and it happened to fulfill all our wants and needs.
Certified

Grows on you

, Fort Kent, ME
2019-04-22
Our initial impression was not good, the resort seemed so old and so small. The room also seemed less than impressive. But I cannot say enough about the animation team. They work tirelessly to get to know everyone and interact with them as well as provide entertainment. The facilities were always clean and well kept, the staff was super friendly. It was awesome to have the snack bar and the Mexican restaurant was PHENOMENAL. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Animation Team Close to the beach Close to town, easy to visit locally
The weak points
One bar and it only opens at 10, the drinks were not the greatest. I felt like there were so many people always offering to sell something. Aesthetically, its not the most beautiful place. The snack bar food was rarely fresh.
Certified

Mixed review...

, Ottawa, ON
2019-02-21
The hotel overall is alright I don't think it is a 3.5... some in our group thought it was a solid 2 in DR and would be a 3 in Cuba. Sadly, I have to agree.
The room designations were unequal - we paid the same amount of money for our trip as our family members who had much nicer rooms - we asked for a King bed - we got 2 doubles. We were supposed to have a garden view - we overlooked the kitchen. In fact our room was directly over the kitchen - not only could we hear the chefs yelling orders to the staff but we could tell you what was for breakfast, lunch and dinner without going to the buffet. All our clothes smelled of grilled fish and turkey and fish. we didn't ask for a new room because others were complaining of problems in their rooms such as flooding showers, over flowing toilets, constant dripping taps... we had no problems with the plumbing - just noise and the scent of kitchen, and a terrible view from the balcony - we only saw a domed roof and the back corridor of the kitchen - and there was a smell outside so we didn't use the balcony at all.
Our room had air conditioning on arrival - but I touched the thermostat to turn it to a higher degree on our second day and it stopped working. The maintenance man was quick to fix it. On our last day it stopped working all together, another man tried to fix it but it didn't work, he tried Freon and used some tools - it did not fix the problem. The room was way too humid to sleep, at 10 my partner asked for a new room - he was told we could not be accommodated because it just could not be done. But a room would be available the next day as people were leaving - we were leaving at 830. At midnight I went to the desk and asked to borrow a large round floor fan, the young man at the desk told me he could not and there was nothing he could do, I asked him to call someone who could make a decision because I just wanted to be able to sleep and the fan would have solved the problem. Enough about the room - I was very disappointed with it and for that I don't think I will return to this resort.
The buffet food was actually MUCH better than I expected. I read reviews online and was anticipating eating rice and eggs all week. To my surprise we both had very satisfying meals daily. Yes there are bean everyday, there is also potatoes made different ways, at least 3 rice dishes, at least 2 pasta dishes, chicken 2 ways, 2 fish, and either beef or pork. For those who are vegetarian and health conscious there were ample choices: beans (green and legumes), peppers (cooked and raw), tomatoes (cooked and raw), eggplant and zucchini... anyway - you get the point. The food was satisfying. The table service... not great. we were with 4 family members, so our group was 6, 45 of our other family members arrived in stages during the week - there was 1 day that we were able to sit together for a meal... and we were not permitted to move tables together - because it would block the wait staff. However there were strollers blocking the way - so that annoyed me.
Desserts - all of them were tasty, some were much better than others - but there was something exceptional daily.
Breakfast - the croissants surprised me, so did the waffles.
The staff overall were good, cheerful and willing to help out - with limitations.
The beach was nice, even the vendors weren't overly bothersome like some stated in reviews. I talked to one and asked if he could be 'our guy' we bought something small from him every other day and all the others left us alone. Sure they'd come over but a simple polite no thank you was all it took.
the Entertainment did not exist - so really nothing to say there except the one night Justin James played for about an hour - he could have been kept on all night doing sing alongs that would have been more fun than the attempts at entertainment... I am not going to leave the beautiful outside night to go inside to a stuffy theatre to watch a show in a patio chair.
Bar closing time - idiotic - the bar should move to the snack bar after dinner.
Snack bar should be a grill that serves on order and accessible from the pool deck so people can eat outside - the whole point of going on a vacation is to be outdoors.
The water was too rough to do any of the water sports - but the resort does not control the weather.
Overall I am disappointed in this resort because it looked so incredible in the pictures, we didn't get the room we expected or the view we wanted - yes we chose not to complain and to just go with the flow, but it impacted our overall experience.
I would recommend that this resort make a choice either cater to adults only or families only - because there were too many little kids and babies, and the bar closed way too early for this to be a good resort for couples or singles. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Proximity to beach from pool - that was the best part of the resort. access to the beach needs some work - make a ramp or something I saw several people trip on the stairs.
The weak points
Terrible room on the floor above the kitchen. 3206 this room and others like it should be reserved for people who work at the resort like the ones without windows with 4 guys in it...
Certified

Horrendous!

, Dundas, NB
2019-02-18
Our vacation at the Viva Wyndham Tangerine from Feb 8-15/19 was horrendous. First we were given a rooms over the kitchen that reeked of grease and balconies facing a wall and the theatre was on top of our room. After a few hours of dealing with guest services and the front desk, we were finally given rooms that were nicer in another building. Starting Monday, we got sick with food poisoning. We were not the only ones as it was reported over 40 people on the resort had it as well and we had spoken with numerous people as well. Irs to believe to have come from the water and ice that is supposedly safe to drink. Our rep was not around, we were told by the front desk that there was nothing they could do. We spent most of our vacation sick. There were food inspectors around. The resort staff is not friendly except maybe few. The front desk staff and guest services (when they are there) are useless. The food was good if you knew what was safe to eat. The drinks were watered down. The only positive thing was ala carte restaurants were great esp Tasquito the host at the Mexican.
The beach is very nice and you can walk for miles. It is very windy, great for kite sufing and parasailing. Be careful as there is a riptide and very powerful waves.
The pool is nice and was clean. The entertainment was around, not very interactive. We watched one show in the theatre which a small dark room. It was late as a 945pm start. We went down to the disco around 1130pm on Saturday night. It smelled of mold, no one there and no music.
The gym was very nice and there is a steam room as well.
We booked a snorkeling trip thru the Aqua centre for $35US ea. They taxied us to the Casa Marina resort nearby and we went out on the small catarman. In hindsight, they should cancelled it that day and rebooked as it was very windy, high waves and cloudy so it was hard to snorkel and visibility was low.
It was mainly Europeans (Germans and Italian s) on the resort.
There only one bar and they set up a small one by the pool but it does not serve all the drinks and runs out of cup.
There wifi is very good and access ed throughout the whole resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach, pool, small resort, free wifi
The weak points
Rude and unfriendly staff, watered down drinks, the food and water, the theatre, the disco, one bar
Certified

Viva Wyndham Tangerine

, Winnipeg, MB
2019-02-06
We enjoyed our stay very much after the second day. The staff were engaging and friendly. The entertainment was fun. Ocean view was beautiful and was in the center of lots of activities. We would definitely go back if we were guaranteed to not have a room over the kitchen. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food was excellent and rarely line ups to get into the buffet. Towels always available. Once moved to a different room, we were extremely happy with the room and balcony.
The weak points
Our room was over the kitchen first two nights. It was loud with both fan/kitchen noises and smelled like a deep fryer. We were deeply unsatisfied. Also heard jackhammer sound at 11pm. Front desk was hesitant to move us so we talked to our rep.
Certified

Viva Wyndham Tangerine Holiday

, Consecon, ON
2019-02-02
Not impressed upon arrival. Room had 1 bed and had asked for 2. The room was by the small pool on second floor and we stayed in it as quiet. They brought in a single bed. Crowded but okay. Great tours. Helpfull workers. Hand cleaner at buffet doorway which was great. Great place as very warm. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Laid out well. Good lighting. Good food. Clean rooms, beach and area.
The weak points
Overbooking
Certified

Not a 4 star

, Mississauga, ON
2019-01-30
Walking into resort it looked amazingly beautiful but then there was the room.... we had a room that did not have a working fridge or toilet and the TV was a big snow screen. I had put in a complaint to the front desk in which yes someone came up to fix the toilet (if that's what you want to call fixes) flushed whenever it felt like but the fridge was not changed. I was not impressed by this hotel at all the grounds were stunning , the staff was amazing but hotel was disappointing. Aldo I have never stayed at an all Inc that didnt have beer or alcohol in the room. Local hotel had more working amenities. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Enjoyed my stay!

, Tiny, ON
2018-10-31
I just returned from a 1 week stay at Viva Wyndham Tangerine. This property was recently renovated a couple years ago and the staff work hard to keep it clean. My room was a Superior Oceanview room in the main building where the bar, disco, and buffet is located which means it is a noisy location. My room's Air Conditioning unit was noisy at first but I later became grateful for it as it drowned out the noise of people in the hall and the nighttime entertainment when I wanted to go to bed early. The Animation Team was my favourite part of this property. They are fun to hang around with, and know how to get guests participating in activities. The WiFi is free and works well. The food was good. I found breakfast and lunch to be repetitive but dinner was a different theme every night. The a la carte restaurants were delicious. There are vendors on the beach (but they don't come onto the property), and after a simple "No thank you", they will leave you alone. The only downfall was a poor experience with the Head of Security. My boyfriend misplaced his phone (whether or not the Head of Security purposely took it or found it is a mystery), and requested my boyfriend give him money in order to get his phone back. The beach is very nice to walk. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would recommend this property! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, drinks, beach, pool, animation team, service
The weak points
Corrupt Head of Security

À vous de juger

, Québec, QC
2018-08-01
20puntacana
quebec
522
Avis écrit : hier
A vous de juger
Une journée et demi sans air climatisé dont une nuit sans dormir, une avant midi toilette completement bouché fosse septique qui ce vidais proche de la piscine, Les locaux sont la a tout les jours et cest epouvantable ont a 14 voyages de fait ont aimes apprendre a les connaitre mais croyez moi qua cette hôtel la ils prennent le contrôle aucune classe !Les agents de securité ne font respecter aucun réglement pour eux javais jamais vue ça ! Le buffet et les lieux sont très propre la nourriture TOUJOURS la même chose ont a déja manger mieux a cuba... Et sourtout faite attention ne laissez pas faire faire votre chambre par Eddline ...
Voir moins [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Viva Wyndham Tangerine

, Bedell, HA
2018-03-16
Overall, our experience was a pleasant one at this resort. Staff were friendly and curtious and did their best to accommodate us. Food was a good variety. The beach was nice considering they were recovering from a hurricane and they were working on fixing the front of the resort to get to the beach. Efforts were being made to help with the upkeep of the resort as well but it's still a bit dated and showing it's age. We always had hot water to shower with but they didn't provide face clothes even when requested. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice beach with plenty of chairs and shelter to hang out at the pool or beach.
The weak points
We knew it was a small resort but maybe they could add another bar to avoid frustrations because by times the line up was long for the only bar.
Certified

Decent hotel but family oriented

, Calgary, AB
2017-03-09
Our room was very small and we had issues with our shower. The maintenance team did not take the time to understand our problem.
The food was decent but not great. The best thing about this resort is the staff! The entertainment was amazing and the people were very friendly. The pool was very clean. Wifi was terrible and very expensive if you wanted to buy it! $70 US for the week is outrageous. Overall, it's decent for what we paid but I expected more. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff are amazing! Especially the entertainment staff!
The weak points
Very family oriented so not so great for couples. Room was very small for what we paid.
Certified

Wyndham Tangerine April 2016

, Cochrane, ON
2016-04-11
This being our first resort I had no expectations going in, was not sure what to expect, but the hotel, staff and everyone involved in our vacation was very helpful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Hotel and grounds were well maintained and had no issues with bugs. Went walking at night with no issues with insects at all. Staff went out of their way to help us in any way they could.
The weak points
I found nothing really that would quantify as a weak point of the hotel
Certified

Wonderful Time!

, Porters Lake, NS
2015-06-16
We had a wonderful time for a great price at this resort. The weather was perfect, the breeze was lovely, the beach was beautiful. Swimming was great in both the ocean and the pool and watching the kiteboarders was an added bonus. The resort was nice, clean, well maintained. Staff were friendly. Shows were not our style and a bit late in the evening. Restaurants were fabulous - especially the Mexican one. Not a lot of gifts items to choose from in the gift shop. Vendors on the beach persistent but polite. Overall a wonderful place to vacation and relax. Free wifi in the lobby was an added bonus. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, pool, weather, staff very friendly.
The weak points
Shows were late and not our style.
Certified

Second Time and Still Great

, Winnipeg, MB
2014-12-02
We stayed last year and were pleasantly surprised. For the price, this is a wonderful resort. This year, we got a room close in location to what we requested. The food at the buffet is above and beyond what you would expect from an all inclusive. The a la carte restaurants were both excellent. The entertainment crew (Baby and the gang) were fantastic and did an awesome job at making sure everyone had a great time. Checking in and out were easy and the housekeeping staff did an excellent job. Walking distance to Cabarete made it easy to explore. The sun was shining for seven straight days. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, fun and awesome food
The weak points
None really.
Certified

Viva Wyndham Tangerine, Cabarete, DR

, Larder Lake, ON
2014-11-23
all things were good at resort. always something to eat at buffet. A la Cartes were good.
never had a problem finding a seat at pool or on beach. never had to wait for clean beach towels. was great to watch the kite surfers and sailboards in afternoons once the winds picked up and boy did they ever pick up sometimes. got pretty windy some days and could feel the sand flying around...
rooms always cleaned by early morning every day...no issues with our room.
internet was supposed to work only at front lobby, but was able to access it even from pool area and from room.. was a bit slow, but hey we were on holidays and not in a hurry for anything.
resort is within easy walking distance to town via the beach or the road...took about 10-15 minutes on beach [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location is close to town for walking. beach location was excellent for watching kite surfing and sailboards in mid to late afternoons. the activities crew was always cheerful and worked hard at getting people to participate in all activities
The weak points
if can find a weak point, fridge was not stocked with beer.... hahaha but then we were not supposed to have a fridge in our room, so no biggy... would not let me post unless I put a weak point, so this it...hahah
Certified

Family Friendly Resort

, Woodbridge, ON
2014-03-12
Our family had an amazing time at Viva Wyndham Tangerine. Thanks to the entertainment crew for including and encouraging my kids in all activities. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Buffet food was good. Entertainment staff did an excellent job with the daily activities and put on the best shows. Room, restaurants, bar, pool and beach are easily accessible.
The weak points
Area is extremely windy. High waves near shore. Not safe to swim. Beach is mainly for kite surfing. Water bottle limit is 2 per day - not enough for a family of 4. There's also a limit of 1 roll of toilet paper per day.
Certified

A Fun Week

, Toronto, ON
2014-02-12
a good experience from check-in to one week later check-out. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
enthusiastic staff, cleanliness, food variety
The weak points
none
Certified

Not up to Wyndham standards

, Mississauga, ON
2013-12-20
Overall, we had a great time. There were just a few things missing that we felt should be present at a world famous chain.

Our pick up and check-in were very smooth. There were just two of us checking in, so no problem at all. We requested building 22 but got building 32 which turned out to be perfect. It housed the buffet, gym, spa, gift shop, and it was just steps to the pool. There is an elevator up to the 3rd floor too. The resort is very compact so it's not a long walk anywhere. We were concerned because the disco was also in that building, but we never heard a thing!

Staff were very helpful, very pleasant, and always very willing to go that extra mile to help.

The room was a little outdated. Fixtures in the bathroom were off kilter. Very dim lighting. One hook in the bathroom where I hung my cosmetic bag. My girlfriend balanced hers on the narrow shelf above the sink. Really no space to put anything, and only one towel rack. No outlet in there. We had to unplug the hairdryer. There is a pull out clothesline which cuts the bathroom in half but is useable. Hair dryer works very well. Bidet in there as well. They should take it out and put in some type of counter. The water temperature is hot, them warm then cold. After 6pm I didn't get any hot water at all. Lesson learned....shower before 5, and at least you get a mixture. One bar of soap in the bathroom, and one small bottle of shampoo...no conditioner.

No complaints about the room other than the door to the terrace didn't have a lock. The handle needs to be straight down to be locked. One day we found the other side of the sliding door slightly open. I guess the maid had opened it. Kind of unnerved us. They should put a pull out clothes rack on the terrace seeing as they don't want you hanging stuff on the balcony railings. Really no place to dry suits or towels. Everything was always damp. Only 3 outlets in the room, one that came right out when we tried to use it. I had to unplug the clock to use the one beside my bed to charge my IPad.

Costs $2 per day for the safe. You have to cart around this big key which is rather awkward. Safe needs to be updated to a combo lock, and they shouldn't be charging.

Food was adequate. You won't starve. The buffet was good...excellent pizza. Chicken good. A little repetitive. Beef was tough, a good selection of salads, cold meats, hot dishes, and desserts. Soups were also good. They have only ketchup and hot sauce. If we return i will take my HP Sauce! Orange juice is not juice. more like Tang. They have oranges, why cant they have real orange juice??? Pineapple juice is good. Cant speak to the liquor as we didnt have any. My girlfriend had beer and didn't much like it. I had eggs pretty much every morning, either poached, hard boiled or an omelet. We didn't find the pancakes very good....hard, and we didn't try the French toast. There are a few choices of yogurt and lots of fruit as well as lots of bread and rolls. Also Spanish dishes. We tried both a la Cartes and were not impressed with the Italian. The Mexican was delicious. We had the pork appetizers which were excellent, and the beef main course which was rare, and very good. Nachos were also very good. We ended up going there 2 nights in a row! My girlfriend was annoyed that there was no diet coke 3 days in a row! Also no brewed decaf coffee. Water is fine to drink. It all comes from the 18L jugs.

No coffee makers in the room. I ended up going down to the snack bar at 6:45 every morning and carrying one up to the room.

When the buffet is closed, the snack bar is open. 11am-7pm and 11pm-7am, so you can always get something to eat. We discovered French fries the day before we left! And they are very good! You can get pizza, a burger, or hotdog there as well as soft drinks, tea, and coffee.

Note: if you need sunscreen, deodorant, or even rum, go across the street to the Esso station. A LOT cheaper that the shop in the hotel. We also bought insect repellant there. My girlfriend got a LOT of bites! I only got about 5 or so but she was constantly scratching. Bring some repellant and calamine lotion just in case. Lots of Mosquitos !

We didn't need to rush to the pool as there were lots of chairs there and on the beach. The hotel didn't seem overly busy except on the weekend when the locals arrived.

The beach is not good for swimming. There are always huge waves and its always windy as this is on the Atlantic. You can go in and paddle around but there is a strong pull when the waves recede. This is the kite surfing area and it was beautiful to watch them all in the afternoons. There are masses of them out there. Lovely sight! We did know about the waves and wind before we went. However you do have to contend with the vendors on the beach. A couple of firm "no thank yours" will usually do the trick.

Watch out for the TIME SHARE people. They look for Canadians and Americans. They check their lists and look for you! We asked if it was a time share and he said no, which was a total lie. My girlfriend already has one, but it still took us a long time to get rid of them!

Wifi is free only in the lobby and it can be painstakingly slow. Wifi can be purchased in a shop by the buffet if you want to shell out some $$$. We didn't.

We only watched one show...the Michael Jackson Show, and it was disappointing compared to other resorts we'd been to.

Towels also needed to be returned to the kiosk by 5:30 pm. Never heard of that before. Also on checkout they told us we could have a courtesy room, which turned out to be the gym! No towels there! Good thing we kept ours. Checkout is 1pm, but we went up to our room at 12:30, and we were locked out! Had to go all the way down to the lobby to get the keys fixed. Very annoying!

We were told to walk down the beach to Cabarete which is about 20 minutes. Don't bother. We found the shops very grungy and lots of creepy people around.

Go to the duty free in puerto plata on the way home. Good deals to be had compared to the gift shops. They have everything there. It's a very modern airport. They take Canadian dollars too.

All in all it was a good holiday, despite the 3 days of rain (which I know they can't do anything about...lol). We would probably try another location next time. We would definitely consider this a 3 star resort. One good thing was the distance from the airport....about a 20 minute drive. We stopped only to let off everyone at another hotel, and then just 3 of us carried on to the Tangerine. We didn't feel this lived up to the Wyndham reputation, but we did get a good deal. We were there from December 9-16/13 [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff is very friendly and helpful. Maids do a good job in the rooms. Very quiet at night. Lots of chairs. You can always find something to eat. Really not a place for singles looking for some action.
The weak points
Rooms a little outdated. Bathrooms very dimly lit. Sporadic wifi. Food a little repetitive.
Certified

Great trip

, Brampton, ON
2013-11-28
I have not one thing to say negative! The food was the best, hotel is really nice, staff is friendly - we really enjoyed our trip - walked out the resort and did shopping and the locals are nice also! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good food, friendly staff, the hotel is kept very nice
The weak points
Nothing
Certified

Viva Tangerine

, Bradford, ON
2013-10-25
The hotel grounds themselves are lovely and the food was quite good. I did find that the variety of food selection limited, but there was always something to munch on. As frequent Viva Maya vacationers we had expected somewhat the same but did find that what we have come to love about the Viva Maya in Mexico, was just not there for us in Puerto Plata. We found the resort to be very quiet, not alot to do unless you were there for the kite surfing and we did not venture out into Cabarete except to check out the resturants located about 10 mins from the hotel, via the beach - Kahaunas and Jose O'Sheys were excellent. If you are just simply looking for lounger time by the pool or beach and a quiet time, this is a nice place to go. As long as you recognise it is a solid 3 star and have those expectations only, you probably won't be disspointed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the grounds and the food
The weak points
more suited for a quiet, older crowd or families, not alot of stuff to do.
Certified

Great for the money

, Mississauga, ON
2013-09-10
One of the things that I love of this place is the location, 15-20 minutes to everything
Very secure in terms of outside of the resort because police is everywhere
The rooms are generally very clean bathroom are well kept but I would recommend that you take a room on a lower level not in the “building” where the dining area is because you would need to go up and down the stairs and some corners of the have poor lighting but that just a personal choice
You will be bombarded with people wanting to sell you things on the beaches or inside the resort
The staff is more than accommodating and friendly
As for the food I didn't think they were that many variety special local cooking, they tailor more to the tourists. A WORD OF CAUSION do not drink the local water they tell you that as well but I will also tell you not even in the tea because “you will pay the price for it”
Overall great place for the money and would recommend it but don't expect a 4stars like in North America
Like it so much going back in November [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great location, 15-20 minutes to everything
The weak points
Bombarded with people wanting to sell you things
Certified

Enjoyable vacation

, Edmonton, AB
2013-09-04
Rooms and evening entertainment was good. Food availabilty and quality was good. Room was always kept clean and extra effort taken. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Evening entertainment was execelent
The weak points
Service in restaurant reduced quality during week as compared to weekends
Certified

Viva Wyndham not what we expected!

, Mississauga, ON
2013-08-07
Hotel is too small and not equipped with enough staff to provide the best quality. Our only highlight to this trip was the amazing entertainment staff. They made our week fun? [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Entertainment staff was the only positive component to this trip. They were very friendly and involved with families. Shows were beautiful.
The weak points
The resort was way below expectations. Room was small and outdated. Buffet area was too small the the amount of people going in/out. Locals pack there sort on weekends and they don't have the staff to accommodate and provide the best quality of service.
Certified

Entry Level Resort

, Calgary, AB
2013-07-26
Good beach and ocean, decent pool, but lacking in service and the venders were non stop and would not take no for an answer. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, weather
The weak points
Service and venders
Certified

Get what you pay for.

, Mississauga, ON
2013-05-23
One of the worst experiences of my life. Upon arrival, checking into the hotel was not a good experience. The lady helping us did not speak English and needed a lot of help from other employees. That was very irritating because we first had to wait half an hour for two people to be checked in and nobody helped us get to our room after, which is when we had a great time carrying our suit cases up stairs because there was no elevator. The room was shockingly small, the bed was not very comfortable. The bathroom was also somewhat small. The shower went hot and cold the whole week, even when the hot was fully on it would switch to cold water on and off. The toilet kept breaking in the bathroom too. We had to take the piece on the wall off and play with the switches for the water to stop running. Employees on the resort were not bad, except a couple from the VIP club kept asking for us to go to some sister hotel for the day. The food was alright. It was pretty much the exact same thing served at every meal every day, like the breakfast foods never changed, the lunch was pretty much the same every day, and dinner service switched up a little bit each day but would still have a lot of the same things. Also, when they set the tables, they just filled in the missing pieces, so if one of two forks were still on the table they would just put a new fork down and leave the other one there too, if napkins were just put to the side they would reset the same napkin. I know that because I wiped something on a napkin and when we got up to get more food we came back to the table and it was reset and the same napkin was there, also I watched them fill in the missing pieces. The floor did not get cleaned really either, there would be food from the lunch service on the floor in the dining area at dinner time. The beach was the best part, it was beautiful and clean water, but there were annoying people harassing us to buy stuff every day from them, even when you said no they would come back a few times later on. We were not informed of the hotel entertainment at night, we discovered it a couple nights before we left and they did a kids show, so that did not interest us and I really cannot say much about that. It was really boring. The pool was small so we did not stay around the pool at all, plus a crab was in it one day and it walked through the pool which tells me they do not clean the pool too well. Everything extra to pay for was overpriced big time. I do not recommend taking pictures with the animals on the beach when the hotel employees bring them by because they will charge you $10 a picture later and all they do is put it on a cd, you do not get a hard copy. Everything extra is a rip off if it has to do with the hotel. I definitely will not go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was a somewhat strong point, the beach was the best part but there were so many highly annoying people harassing us everyday to buy things or get hair braided. AC was strong which was nice but it was either on or off, no in between.
The weak points
The room is a weak point, cleanliness, location is a weak point because it is not safe off the resort, it is scary, have to pay for internet access even for phone/ipad wifi, everything extra is a rip off(pictures, activities to do),bathroom, A/C.
Certified

Great trip

, Dartmouth, NS
2013-05-17
First time at this hotel and second time visiting the island. This is a great place to say. Staff all seem very friendly, room was great. Big size beds, very comfortable, great air conditioner, lots of hot water, very clean. The beach was great. Big, white sands, lots of waves. One thing we must say is the entertainment crew was the best. They were very happy, out going people. Always having events going on getting you involved and the night shows were great. Robin Hood/Miseal/Micheal was the best at it all. Overall great trip and would go back again to this resort [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach, room, entertianment crew
The weak points
food, catered more to the europian
Certified

Don't bother going here

, Oshawa, ON
2013-05-16
We were harrassed to no end by vendors on the resort and beach. Also, by anothr group trying to get us to see a different resort. In Canada it is harassment. This ruined my holiday because you could not escape these individuals. The food was ok, drinks were terrible. The bar staff barley would acknowledge you. Rude, rude, rude. We had to upgrade our room to ocean view. They had put us in a room in a dark corner. it was awful. Overall, this is not a great place. I was disappointed and stressed trying to avoid being confronted by all these different vendors. we also were singled out as English speaking and had neon pink bracelets on. Ridiculous. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the beach and pool are nice. thats about it. nice spa.
The weak points
old rooms, average food, major harrassment by local vendors, poor poor service; terrible mixed drinks; old place in need of help
Certified
pages: 12345

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Cabarete's best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Beaches Families Couples Singles Seniors

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021