Memories Varadero Beach Resort

Memories Varadero Beach Resort
3.273.273.273.273.27
3.27 based on 931 reviews
#20 of 64 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Varadero
Rated 3.5 stars
Traveller pictures (255)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Great getaway!!

, Scarborough, ON
2023-02-01
Staff are friendly and very helpful. Lots of bars and activities, Theater shows at nite very professional. Pools busy and beach very busy . . . Everywhere clean and groomed. Some room challenges that many were addressed well and a few that didn't get accomplished. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beach and grounds well groomed. Very clean and friendly helpful room staff.
The weak points
Cuba and this resort are gearing back up to the old time ways. Snack bars still needing to have their full menu available.
Certified

Sad state

, Kitchener, ON
2023-01-14
We've been to Cuba 4x now and have loved our first 2 trips but this has been, by far, the worst trip we've ever had in Cuba. Starting from not having toilet paper in our room 3 out of the 7 days we were there. Most of the time the public bathrooms lacked tp and soap. The food has always been less than other places, but this time your selection was pitiful: rice, beans, fish, chicken, some vegetables. Breakfast always had fresh omelette. Some days there was octopus and beef. We ate lobster twice (off the resort). Fruit: papaya, guava, watermelon. Dessert: some pastries, some pudding, two flavours of ice cream. All in all if you weren't too picky you had something to eat.
We stayed in building #39 which we heard was nicer then most. Only problem was it was next to the theatre and music went into the wee hours of the night. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beach. Pools.
The weak points
Food selection. Hygiene(no toilet paper and soap in public bathrooms). Majority of the staff were disgruntled despite the tipping. The room service was no tip no service.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
What sanitary measure??
Certified

Had a wonderful time!!

, Ottawa, ON
2022-12-17
Highly recommended. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Most disgusting resort ever......

, Toronto, ON
2022-11-17
This resort is the most disgusting resort I have ever went to.
There were "roaches" In the buffet restaurant behind the bread and snacks. I told the staff and they did nothing but move the bread to another spot. I'm telling you every day the roaches were creeping I barely ate.
They didn't have a variety foods at all.
I been to Cuba 6 times now and how does this resort not even have fries I don't get it ?! The staff members were very nice, they surprised my daughter on her birthday at our hotel room.
The one kids pool was okay the one with the slide Is also the main pool.
The other pool was the quite pool but it's awful beware of the black bugs....my gosh we got bit soooo bad on the last day by the quite pool while waiting for our bus to pick us up to go to the airport.
Yuck Yuck Yuck! for 5 days we were itching worst then mosquito bites.
Last problem the no lights in the night time around the resort is a big NO NO you can't see nothing you must take a cart to get around the resort because of how big it is.....Not ever coming to this resort again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Service was great! Staff members are all nice.
The weak points
Roaches in buffet restaurant No lights in the night around the resort Black little bugs bite worst then mosquitos. Same food everyday.... not even fries and I was starving because of seeing the Roaches everyday in the restaurant such a turn off.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Roches roaches roaches in the buffet food area......Just disgusting hiding behind the snacks and bread very obvious. No care for covid since it's crawling with bacteria.
Certified

Amazing trip as always

, Toronto, ON
2022-11-17
Arletty,Amaury,Diosdado set up everything for us for our return vist to the resort. 5th time...great clean rooms block 30 close to the pool,2 mins to the lobby or take a trolley...david and Amaury always helpful. food good it is cuba. Lobster special dinner amazing. Japanese fantastic...pool clean as always. Amazing time away for my birthday and our little nephew had a surprise party at his room. the staff make it a home away from home.kitchen staff Anaabel (egg lady) always singing. thank you for the great time. coffee is amazing as was the santiago. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
STAFF STAFF STAFF
The weak points
YOUR ON VACATION RELAX!!!

Beautiful resort always for nice vacations

, Laval, QC
2022-10-27
The resort is huge and excited view, stuff are very kindly and helpful always good service, amelioration food noticing from May to September [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Food start to be good and more choices, amazing clean beach, services everywhere is very good , beautiful rooms and clean , security in all resort even at the beach , a la carte is super tasty
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Over all ***** Excellent

Muy buen servicio

, Laval, QC
2022-09-28
Muy buen hotel sobre todo el staff de animacion muy buena gente. Recomendado 100% [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
El equipo de animacion
The weak points
La comida

Amazing experience

, Saint Leonard, QC
2022-09-13
It was my first time in this resort and certainly not the last. It is one of the best resort I've been too in varadero. The staff is so professional and caring. The entertainment team made our experience even more enjoyable with their energy and activities especially Rafael that went above and beyond to make sure everyone was having a great time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Service Entertainment team Food Staff
The weak points
Nothing

Amazing Vacation

, North York, ON
2022-09-08
I am never disappointed at this place! I went once again for my birthday and had a fantastic time! The beach is one of my absolute favourites, as well as the staff. In particular Felix, Chocolate, Cesar & Laritza for making my birthday an extra special one! Sharing memories and dinners was an absolute pleasure with great people. By far my favour resort with amazing people! If you want to feel like you have a little bit of home with you on vacation, this is the resort for you. Thank you again for an unforgettable birthday! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Loved Cuba!!

, York, ON
2022-09-07
We arrived late after 11pm and found the room dirty, bed sheets with yellow stain and washroom also dirty, they moved to a different room and same thing dirty bed and washroom with hair but we had to sleep it was late so we just stayed there. People are great, hotel needs some fixing but great location and great employees. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beach, drinks, workers, location
The weak points
dirty room, no kids friendly food
Certified

Bad Memories Beach Resort

, Repentigny, QC
2022-08-30
Hotel rooms in bad condition, the staff don't care, food in general of bad quality, they serve ice and water from the faucet, pools are dirty, they give 21hrs of internet access for 7 days, still waiting for the baby crib! To be avoided! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
Service, staff, rooms, amenities, pools, restaurants.
Certified

Memories

, North York, ON
2022-08-30
The hotel look nice. But a big problem with communication [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The staff and the kids club was amazing. We would personally like to thank Regal and all the staff from the pool activities. They are warm and friend and work really hard in the hot sun. We love the beach and the ground is well taken care of.
The weak points
The staff the front desk where rude and because we didn't speak the language they dismissed us several time.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The bathroom and old and not well maintain and could use a little more attention.

Amazing experience

, North York, ON
2022-08-29
This hotel is one of the best places I've been to this far. The people, the entertainment and staff are just so incredible they treat you so nice and always have a great smile on their faces. If you are looking for a great getaway this should be the first place you choose [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beach Staff Experience Excursions
The weak points
Buffet food

The Food

, St-Constant, QC
2022-08-29
Thank you so much to the employees from lunch, specifically Tania Gilmacumo who served us with care. As well as Jessica Romero at the grill cooking the fish and meat with love. The delicious food had made the trip more enjoyable and I hope to come very soon and see them again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

The Animation Team

, St-Constant, QC
2022-08-15
The Animation Team were the spotlight and entertainment of the hotel! Especially Rafael Pérez and Sadiel Morales who were exceptional animators who went around entertaining people in the beach, with their yoga and dance classes in the water and volleyball games for younger people. At the pool they would encourage people to spend a good time and enjoy the day with their enthusiasm characters. They would chat with anyone and make good conversation if people ate alone or sat alone in places with a lot of movement to feel more live. They were honestly great people with amazing personalities who encourages me to come back to Memories Resort. Big thanks to the team [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Nice surprise

, Montréal, QC
2022-04-26
We've been many times to Varadero. This hotel exceeded my expectations. Clean, helpful, and friendly staff. Food was good for Cuba. Try the Japanese and Italian restaurants. Beach is great. Family Room had a king size bed and bulk beds. Animation team is also good. We met the hotel director and he's always making sure you spent a great vacation. You should try Memories Varadero! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Amazing staff (we love Cuban people) and beach. Rooms are renovated. Kids club, basketball, beach volleyball soccer and many activities for all ages.
The weak points
Beware of mosquitos, bring repellent spray. Resort is big and you need to walk to go to the main building (lobby, buffet, exchange desk) or take the golf carts.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Masks are mandatory at the main building, hand sanitizer available also.
Certified

Loved it!

, Owen Sound, ON
2022-04-14
We had a great time! The beach was beautiful and the people that work there are lovely. Music by the pool was wonderful. Because it was so warm the large pool needed some extra special attention but it didn't stop us from swimming in it. The only one that can ruin a holiday for anyone is other guests who don't appreciate the beauty and the people around them. We will be back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beach! People! Rooms were clean!
The weak points
Pool needs extra care.
Certified

Best trip ever

, Madoc, ON
2022-04-10
I had the greatest time took my friend who has never been anywhere with me and now we both can't wait to go back. It was amazing staff so friendly and everything super clean. I know from talking with people that have been many times that it was not the same as Covid has hit them hard but we both enjoyed the food and drinks. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The beach was amazing clean and so relaxing The pool was perfect as well
The weak points
More shade by pool but I know it's being worked on Also walk way lighting needed but bulbs have been taken by people staying at resort so not resorts fault
Certified

Another great vacation

, Sutton, ON
2022-03-30
Second time at this resort . Staff is hands down the best I've had in many trips to Cuba . Animation team is full of life , Laritza, Chocolate , Amauri, yohan , rafael , Felix , Helen ,and a few others . Front desk and customer services so helpful .arletty is amazing . Restaurant , buffet and bar staff pool staff , I wish I could name everyone because they all deserve recognition. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beach , A la carte , Staff , entertainment, price
The weak points
Lack of lighting on pathways , lack of shaded areas around main pool .

Awesome vacation!

, Hantsport, NS
2020-03-05
I love this resort, the food is good, grounds are beautiful and the beach is amazing! The evening shows are great and entertainment staff are the absolute best!! Denis was great, he kept us entertained all week, such a friendly person and always goes out of his way to help everyone. We had a great trip and can't wait to return :) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Food

, Surrey, BC
2020-03-03
I rarely take much consideration about resort reviews although I do read them to see if there is a common theme.

You know you're going to a tropical country and you cant possibly expect the same standards as Canada.

That being said in general people were good. As always tip a little- no brainer if you want good service! Laura Marie in the lobby - fantastic!

Facilities were good.

My only complaints the MEAT. Flavorless. Like no salt or pepper flavorless. If you enjoy meat, you know adding salt and pepper after being cooked is pointless.

The a la Carte - well they never have space so dont get your Hope's up. We tried to reserve for the week and they had 1 opening. Unless they just lie. Whatever I'm never going back and im.a travel Agent.

James [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
...
The weak points
....
Certified

Poor

, Medicine Hat, AB
2020-02-11
Food was disappointing at best rooms were falling apart pools were nice drink and snack bars always out of everything [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pools and beach amazing loved those excursions were highly recommended as well
The weak points
Food terrible bars out of most things almost always same with snack bars rooms were falling apart shower heads broken toilets not reliably working breakers were blowing
Certified

Terrible - Don't stay here

, Lethbridge, AB
2020-02-11
Well all I can say is that my stay here was terrible. We came as a large group (20 or so). We paid for the Diamond Club (which was not worth the money), which was supposed to allow us to have better rooms, more selection of alcohol, a special place in the buffet area that had AC, 20% off services and a 2 pm check out. The only thing that was really nice was the 2 pm checkout. Started out okay, we arrived at 6 pm at the hotel. After checking in we went to the buffet which had a line a mile long. I'm not overly sure why this was as the dining area is huge. Only some of us had the Diamond club so we opted for the regular dining area. The food was terrible. All of the items in the buffet were not labelled correctly so you really had no idea what you were eating. We never received any drink service during the buffet so that was awesome. The pasta station was really the only thing that was decent. The morning buffet was worse however, as the only thing that did not make us sick was the fresh fried eggs or omelettes. The resort does have a 24 hour snack bar that was decent at times. They regularly run out of things which was extremely disappointing. After having so many issues with the buffet we started eating breakfast at the snack bar. one morning they had nothing but hot dogs so we had a hot dog for breakfast. One night they served sushi which was pretty good actually. Otherwise the buffet was terrible. The snack bar wouldn't have been too bad if they wouldn't have runout of things so much. The a la carte was also a huge disappointment. We did the Italian and Japanese. the Italian was maybe mediocre, very tasteless and itty bitty portions. The Japanese was much better. However, some of our group wasn't able to get in until 9:30 pm which by that point they had run out of appetizers and desserts and most of the options for the main meal. Therefore, I'd highly recommend that you book ASAP when you get to the hotel. We had a 6:00 pm slot which was great. The show was amazing and the service was also great. No complaints with the Japanese a la carte. The rooms: well, like I said we were Diamond club so we were supposed to have more recently renovated rooms with a stocked mini fridge. The photos online looked good so I figured the investment was worth it. I was so very wrong. The roms were spacious but very dated and run down. The walls were peeling and crumbling in some places. We had black mould in the shower and a bed that I'm sure was just a box spring. The mini bar had two beers, two orange fantas and a bottle of water. during the course of the week, the beer was never restocked and we didn't get water all the time. We tried leaving a tip, still nothing. Believe it or not out of group we had the least problems. Some other fellow Diamond Club members had problems with their show head as it would pop off mid shower. Some had dirty linens on the bed first night we arrived as well. Some reported their TV didn't work. I never really tried ours as I didn't really care to but probably didn't work either. Over all the rooms were very disappointing and not what was advertised to us online. The cleanliness of the hotel was horrible. Most times the bathrooms were not cleaned and never had toilet paper or toilet seats. I expected this outside the resort but not on the resort. We also discovered the worst bathroom I have ever seen in my life. Just off the theatre, the womens bathroom was another level of disgusting I never hope to encounter again. There was feces all over the floor in the toilets even on the walls. The toilets were pushed aside and full of feces. The sinks didn't work and none of the stalls had doors. I expect this bathroom was not being used, but the door should not have been open for guests to travel in there. I was absolutely disgusted and had a hard time using any other bathroom other than the one in our room afterwards. The entertainment was decent, we didn't attend all of the shows but the ones we did see were good. The pool entertainment was pretty blah. The beaches were amazing and very nicely kept. We tried to rent some non motorized watercraft but the wind cause some pretty nasty waves so wasn't much that could be done there. The resort was also huge. We were in building 30 which was about a 15 minute walk to the lobby. There were some of us in 36 and 37 which was even further away. They do have some carts driving around that people can ride on but good luck waving them down. We almost got ran over a few times however as they use the walking paths and dont generally make much sound when they come up behind you. We tried ordering one on check out day so we didn't have to haul our stuff across the resort but they never showed. Like the snack bar, the bars ran out of things quite often. Usually cups but we had a few times they ran out of rum, which I didn't think was possible in Cuba. So be prepared for that if you decide to stay here. The staff were also not the best. We hardly received service at the buffet. We would tip large (5-10 pesos at a time) but never made a difference. The lobby bars took about 20 mins to get a drink. The best service we had was the snack bar. We received better service when we left the resort. I'm not usually one to complain, as I am aware that places like Cuba do not have the luxuries like we are used to in North America, but I still expected for what we paid that it would be way better than what it was. If I ever return to Cuba you couldn't pay me to stay here. Our entire group was disappointed. If you chose to take your chances with this resort, well good luck! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The grounds were beautiful. The pool was also pretty good. Beach was beautiful as well.
The weak points
The food, the rooms, the staff, the cleanliness, and everything else.
Certified

Nice resort for price

, Moose Jaw, SK
2020-02-02
We arrived around 10 at night. Check in was easy. We were loaded onto a large golf cart (4 adults,3 kids in our group) and driven to our room. We were on the 3rd floor and the driver helped carry our luggage up to the room. After a bit of unpacking we headed over to the snack bar for a late supper. They were out of just about everything. We waited for about an hour and ended up with only a small plate of fries to share. The next day was so much better. We headed to the main buffet and sat in the right hand section just inside the door. It was there we met Yudason(not sure if spelt correctly). He took great care of our group and was great with the kids. We sat in his section for the majority of our meals. The food is definitely not like we are used to but adults can make do. It was harder for the kids though. At breakfast they had fresh made omelettes (the ladies cooking are so nice! One lady sings while cooking), fresh fruit juice, hash brown patties, muffins Etc. They had plenty of other options too if you are more adventurous. Lunch we usually went to one of the snack bars for hot dogs and fries. A few times they were out of hot dogs so we had the chicken sandwiches. They were good. The hamburgers are pork not beef and too pink for us. They have a ketchup but it's more like a no name one from here. We had brought ketchup with us which helped with the kids! Suppers were back at the main buffet with Yudason. 2 nights had better food than the others. There was turkey and roast beef! For our 2 al a carts we chose the Mexican and Japanese. The Mexican one had run out of tortilla shells so we ended up with just the fajitas filling. Still tasted great. The Japanese one though was amazing! Highly recommend this one. The chef cooks right in front of you and does a little performance. Kids loved it too. Food was similar to Edos here. As for drinks, we never had much of a lineup but they did run out of cups lots. We had taken our own ones with lids so it wasn't a problem for us. There is a store if you want to buy snacks. They had lays plain chips in a tube like Pringle's. And actual coke a cola but sell out quickly so buy a couple if you want some for later. Our room was good. The size was perfect. Had a balcony but no view. We weren't in the room much anyway so it wasn't an issue. The bathroom was fine but no sink or tub plugs so it's shower only. Tub is a little slow at draining. The shower curtain rod and towel holders are falling off and need repair. We had a lovely lady named Ashley that cleaned our rooms all week. The kids loved her. She made the usual towel animals for them and left them notes. No matter how busy she was she always took a few moments to visit with them. Overall it was a great trip. Things we recommend you take with you- a roll of toilet paper, a reusable cup, ketchup, bug spray ( sand flies and mosquitoes can be bad), a flashlight and watch out for the golf carts while you are walking. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beaches but it's a bit of a walk through the resort to get there. They have a quiet pool for lounging and a second pool with activities and slides for kids. Both have a swim up bar. Great shows at night.
The weak points
Constantly running out of things like cups and certain food items. Rooms need a bit of repair. Shower rods and towel bars falling off. Resort restrooms usually out of paper and seats are missing. Also have an outhouse smell.
Certified

It's what you make of it.

, Moose Jaw, SK
2020-02-02
We arrived late Friday night and it was a rough start. Not a lot of help, snack bar was out of everything, couldn't get bottled water... I was panicking a bit as we were traveling with 3 little kids. We started the next day with a fresh perspective and were pleasantly surprised! The resort is well maintained and most of the staff is great. If you've been to Cuba and know what to expect as far as food and their standards (which we had) you'll be happy with this resort. It's clean and well maintained, beach is beautiful, there were always chairs and cabanas at either. Bring extra money to tip ( if we went again I would bring several Canadian five dollar bills, its slightly less than leaving $5 CUC but still a generous tip) if you want the excellent service or extra water bottles ect.. then tip. Most of the staff will go above and beyond so it's only fair! We travelled with 4 adults and 3 kids, none of us starved, the kids absolutely loved the kids club activities and the beach.
Bathrooms were hit and miss ( the one by the store is usually clean, has toilette paper and toilet seats, well worth the walk) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, house keeper, servers, kids club, bartenders Clean rooms Clean beach/pool
The weak points
Frequently out of things such as bottled water, cups, napkins, certain food staples Public bathrooms not great in general Large resort which meant a lot of walking. Not for people with mobility issues
Certified

Second time here!!

, Windsor, ON
2020-01-25
Memories to me is a great resort and has everything I need and my 5 year old. This is our second time. This resort is rated appropriately, due to the the rooms. The are fine, no complaints for a 3.5 star. If u are a picky person than book a 5 star. Me and my son choose memorise for the staff, the food, the beach, and all the entertainement, so for the price you cant beat this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great Family Hotel

, Bracebridge , ON
2020-01-23
We left the middle of winter (Jan15-22) for a week in the sun. Memories resort surely provided more than just sun! Activities for the kids, dancing at the pool, night shows and more!! We were more than happy with our stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great pools-one quiet pool one activity pool both huge. Water slide. Fantastic beach. Friendly staff.
The weak points
Bathrooms were only cleaned once a day-take toilet paper everywhere. Wifi in two spots -in the main lobby, which was very slow OR the theatre which was fast and much quieter in the theatre!!
Certified

Resort

, Edmonton, AB
2020-01-20
Me and my husband stayed at Memories Varadero beach Resort from 11/012020 till 18/2020. We loved it, We did not had any problem at all, from first day till last day. When we checked in we didn't know this pretty young lady checked us in (Chabley Delgado) that she was one of our good friends niece till next day when we visit our friend (Tamara) house, Chabely saw up there to meet her aunts friends that was us, then we found out that she was the one checked us in, so become a family and looked after us till the end our stay. We met the Manager of the resort he was a Manager at Starfish Varadero 4 years ago, this was our 5th trip to Varadero, but 1st trip to this resort, lady at Customer Service was helpful, we met Zunilda Morales at Saloon, Rafael Perez at Entertainment. We were welcome every time we walk in in main buffet cant remember all the names. Room maid service was great clean no complain. Our check out time was @ 12.00 noon but they let us stay till 3.00 pm. Beach was fantastic that is our main reason visiting to Varadero. besides the friendly people and we found new family its like home away home. We will be back at Memories Varadero, next year again. I am not much in writing reviews. Again I like to thank Chabely Delgado, Zunilda Morales, General Manager, Assistant Manager. and all Staff @ Main buffet. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Every thing was good monies worth, we have thing twice how much you paid?
The weak points
Internet service not good lights at nights

Good times

, Hamilton, ON
2020-01-15
Rough first night as we showed up super late (2:30am) because of delays. The room we got was very nice but there was an 1" of water on the ground. We requested a new one and got it with no problems. The grounds were very nice, the pools were huge and the ocean was beautiful. It's Cuba, we know this and were prepared. Food was plentiful and the four of us always had something to eat. Ages 4,10,35,39 and my wife is the vegie type. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The people, pools and ocean
The weak points
Ran out of cups often (We all had our own so that didn't bother me) No ice at times but didn't last long. The worst part by far was the ignorant Russians.
Certified

Would NOT recommend this resort

, Kelowna, BC
2020-01-12
We arrived after dark to a busy, smoky lobby. The check in was quick and efficient however the front desk clerk did not give us any directions to our room or offer any assistance. We walked around the extremely dark resort aimlessly until a couple of resort guests helped us. We were eventually able to flag down one of the resort's carts to assist us to our room but it was not a great first impression.

The room was old and outdated but clean and comfortable. The toilet did not flush well and the view was terrible. The housekeeping was always good and supplied us with bottled water daily.

The resort grounds were clean but the resort is so large everything took a fair walk to get to. You can sometimes hop on the resort carts. Do not go here if you have any mobility issues. It is very dark at night. The pools were nice but cold. The waterslide was very underwhelming.

The beach was beautiful and the beach bar was good. However we only got 2 days of good beach time during the week that we were there. The rest of the time the weather was cool and windy. There were large waves and the water was closed for two days because of jellyfish. Many of the beach loungers were broken and I got several very itchy bites from what I believe were sand fleas.

The public washrooms throughout the resort were a disgrace. Most of the toilets were missing toilet seats. There was rarely any toilet paper or soap and they were filthy and smelled terrible!

The worst part of this resort was the food. The buffet was always the same and not many of the choices appealed to us. We often left meals feeling unsatisfied and still hungry. There were flies on the food and even birds eating from the buffet tables. There was always a huge line up to get into the main buffet restaurant especially for dinner. The dining room is huge and worn. The snack bars were quieter at least but the selection was limited and they often ran out of basic things on the menu. By the end of the week we were skipping meals because we just could not stomach the food any longer. I recommend going to the buffet by the beach. The coffee was good though.

The drinks and bar service was also a huge disappointment. The drinks were often warm and not good or consistent. I stuck to beer and pina coladas as these were usually good. The service was terrible at the lobby bars but the rest were fairly decent.

The wifi was terrible in the lobby, not even worth your time trying. The wifi in the theatre was much more reliable.

The kids club was also a big disappointment. Not much for the kids to do. There were not many English speaking kids for my daughter to play with. Not impressed since they advertise as being very family friendly but the quality of the programs was very lacking.

Overall I would NOT recommend this resort and definitely will not be returning! My family was very disappointed with this vacation and in the future we will likely go back to Mexico where we have had much better experiences. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and coffee
The weak points
Food is terrible!!
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2023