Memories Varadero Beach Resort

Memories Varadero Beach Resort
3.273.273.273.273.27
3.27 based on 915 reviews
#17 of 64 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Varadero
Rated 3.5 stars
Traveller pictures (216)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Muy buen servicio

, Laval, QC
2022-09-28
Muy buen hotel sobre todo el staff de animacion muy buena gente. Recomendado 100% [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
El equipo de animacion
The weak points
La comida

Amazing experience

, Saint Leonard, QC
2022-09-13
It was my first time in this resort and certainly not the last. It is one of the best resort I've been too in varadero. The staff is so professional and caring. The entertainment team made our experience even more enjoyable with their energy and activities especially Rafael that went above and beyond to make sure everyone was having a great time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Service Entertainment team Food Staff
The weak points
Nothing

Amazing Vacation

, North York, ON
2022-09-08
I am never disappointed at this place! I went once again for my birthday and had a fantastic time! The beach is one of my absolute favourites, as well as the staff. In particular Felix, Chocolate, Cesar & Laritza for making my birthday an extra special one! Sharing memories and dinners was an absolute pleasure with great people. By far my favour resort with amazing people! If you want to feel like you have a little bit of home with you on vacation, this is the resort for you. Thank you again for an unforgettable birthday! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Loved Cuba!!

, York, ON
2022-09-07
We arrived late after 11pm and found the room dirty, bed sheets with yellow stain and washroom also dirty, they moved to a different room and same thing dirty bed and washroom with hair but we had to sleep it was late so we just stayed there. People are great, hotel needs some fixing but great location and great employees. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beach, drinks, workers, location
The weak points
dirty room, no kids friendly food
Certified

Bad Memories Beach Resort

, Repentigny, QC
2022-08-30
Hotel rooms in bad condition, the staff don't care, food in general of bad quality, they serve ice and water from the faucet, pools are dirty, they give 21hrs of internet access for 7 days, still waiting for the baby crib! To be avoided! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
Service, staff, rooms, amenities, pools, restaurants.
Certified

Memories

, North York, ON
2022-08-30
The hotel look nice. But a big problem with communication [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The staff and the kids club was amazing. We would personally like to thank Regal and all the staff from the pool activities. They are warm and friend and work really hard in the hot sun. We love the beach and the ground is well taken care of.
The weak points
The staff the front desk where rude and because we didn't speak the language they dismissed us several time.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The bathroom and old and not well maintain and could use a little more attention.

Amazing experience

, North York, ON
2022-08-29
This hotel is one of the best places I've been to this far. The people, the entertainment and staff are just so incredible they treat you so nice and always have a great smile on their faces. If you are looking for a great getaway this should be the first place you choose [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beach Staff Experience Excursions
The weak points
Buffet food

The Food

, St-Constant, QC
2022-08-29
Thank you so much to the employees from lunch, specifically Tania Gilmacumo who served us with care. As well as Jessica Romero at the grill cooking the fish and meat with love. The delicious food had made the trip more enjoyable and I hope to come very soon and see them again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

The Animation Team

, St-Constant, QC
2022-08-15
The Animation Team were the spotlight and entertainment of the hotel! Especially Rafael Pérez and Sadiel Morales who were exceptional animators who went around entertaining people in the beach, with their yoga and dance classes in the water and volleyball games for younger people. At the pool they would encourage people to spend a good time and enjoy the day with their enthusiasm characters. They would chat with anyone and make good conversation if people ate alone or sat alone in places with a lot of movement to feel more live. They were honestly great people with amazing personalities who encourages me to come back to Memories Resort. Big thanks to the team [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Nice surprise

, Montréal, QC
2022-04-26
We've been many times to Varadero. This hotel exceeded my expectations. Clean, helpful, and friendly staff. Food was good for Cuba. Try the Japanese and Italian restaurants. Beach is great. Family Room had a king size bed and bulk beds. Animation team is also good. We met the hotel director and he's always making sure you spent a great vacation. You should try Memories Varadero! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Amazing staff (we love Cuban people) and beach. Rooms are renovated. Kids club, basketball, beach volleyball soccer and many activities for all ages.
The weak points
Beware of mosquitos, bring repellent spray. Resort is big and you need to walk to go to the main building (lobby, buffet, exchange desk) or take the golf carts.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Masks are mandatory at the main building, hand sanitizer available also.
Certified

Loved it!

, Owen Sound, ON
2022-04-14
We had a great time! The beach was beautiful and the people that work there are lovely. Music by the pool was wonderful. Because it was so warm the large pool needed some extra special attention but it didn't stop us from swimming in it. The only one that can ruin a holiday for anyone is other guests who don't appreciate the beauty and the people around them. We will be back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beach! People! Rooms were clean!
The weak points
Pool needs extra care.
Certified

Best trip ever

, Madoc, ON
2022-04-10
I had the greatest time took my friend who has never been anywhere with me and now we both can't wait to go back. It was amazing staff so friendly and everything super clean. I know from talking with people that have been many times that it was not the same as Covid has hit them hard but we both enjoyed the food and drinks. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The beach was amazing clean and so relaxing The pool was perfect as well
The weak points
More shade by pool but I know it's being worked on Also walk way lighting needed but bulbs have been taken by people staying at resort so not resorts fault
Certified

Another great vacation

, Sutton, ON
2022-03-30
Second time at this resort . Staff is hands down the best I've had in many trips to Cuba . Animation team is full of life , Laritza, Chocolate , Amauri, yohan , rafael , Felix , Helen ,and a few others . Front desk and customer services so helpful .arletty is amazing . Restaurant , buffet and bar staff pool staff , I wish I could name everyone because they all deserve recognition. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beach , A la carte , Staff , entertainment, price
The weak points
Lack of lighting on pathways , lack of shaded areas around main pool .

Awesome vacation!

, Hantsport, NS
2020-03-05
I love this resort, the food is good, grounds are beautiful and the beach is amazing! The evening shows are great and entertainment staff are the absolute best!! Denis was great, he kept us entertained all week, such a friendly person and always goes out of his way to help everyone. We had a great trip and can't wait to return :) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Food

, Surrey, BC
2020-03-03
I rarely take much consideration about resort reviews although I do read them to see if there is a common theme.

You know you're going to a tropical country and you cant possibly expect the same standards as Canada.

That being said in general people were good. As always tip a little- no brainer if you want good service! Laura Marie in the lobby - fantastic!

Facilities were good.

My only complaints the MEAT. Flavorless. Like no salt or pepper flavorless. If you enjoy meat, you know adding salt and pepper after being cooked is pointless.

The a la Carte - well they never have space so dont get your Hope's up. We tried to reserve for the week and they had 1 opening. Unless they just lie. Whatever I'm never going back and im.a travel Agent.

James [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
...
The weak points
....
Certified

Poor

, Medicine Hat, AB
2020-02-11
Food was disappointing at best rooms were falling apart pools were nice drink and snack bars always out of everything [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pools and beach amazing loved those excursions were highly recommended as well
The weak points
Food terrible bars out of most things almost always same with snack bars rooms were falling apart shower heads broken toilets not reliably working breakers were blowing
Certified

Terrible - Don't stay here

, Lethbridge, AB
2020-02-11
Well all I can say is that my stay here was terrible. We came as a large group (20 or so). We paid for the Diamond Club (which was not worth the money), which was supposed to allow us to have better rooms, more selection of alcohol, a special place in the buffet area that had AC, 20% off services and a 2 pm check out. The only thing that was really nice was the 2 pm checkout. Started out okay, we arrived at 6 pm at the hotel. After checking in we went to the buffet which had a line a mile long. I'm not overly sure why this was as the dining area is huge. Only some of us had the Diamond club so we opted for the regular dining area. The food was terrible. All of the items in the buffet were not labelled correctly so you really had no idea what you were eating. We never received any drink service during the buffet so that was awesome. The pasta station was really the only thing that was decent. The morning buffet was worse however, as the only thing that did not make us sick was the fresh fried eggs or omelettes. The resort does have a 24 hour snack bar that was decent at times. They regularly run out of things which was extremely disappointing. After having so many issues with the buffet we started eating breakfast at the snack bar. one morning they had nothing but hot dogs so we had a hot dog for breakfast. One night they served sushi which was pretty good actually. Otherwise the buffet was terrible. The snack bar wouldn't have been too bad if they wouldn't have runout of things so much. The a la carte was also a huge disappointment. We did the Italian and Japanese. the Italian was maybe mediocre, very tasteless and itty bitty portions. The Japanese was much better. However, some of our group wasn't able to get in until 9:30 pm which by that point they had run out of appetizers and desserts and most of the options for the main meal. Therefore, I'd highly recommend that you book ASAP when you get to the hotel. We had a 6:00 pm slot which was great. The show was amazing and the service was also great. No complaints with the Japanese a la carte. The rooms: well, like I said we were Diamond club so we were supposed to have more recently renovated rooms with a stocked mini fridge. The photos online looked good so I figured the investment was worth it. I was so very wrong. The roms were spacious but very dated and run down. The walls were peeling and crumbling in some places. We had black mould in the shower and a bed that I'm sure was just a box spring. The mini bar had two beers, two orange fantas and a bottle of water. during the course of the week, the beer was never restocked and we didn't get water all the time. We tried leaving a tip, still nothing. Believe it or not out of group we had the least problems. Some other fellow Diamond Club members had problems with their show head as it would pop off mid shower. Some had dirty linens on the bed first night we arrived as well. Some reported their TV didn't work. I never really tried ours as I didn't really care to but probably didn't work either. Over all the rooms were very disappointing and not what was advertised to us online. The cleanliness of the hotel was horrible. Most times the bathrooms were not cleaned and never had toilet paper or toilet seats. I expected this outside the resort but not on the resort. We also discovered the worst bathroom I have ever seen in my life. Just off the theatre, the womens bathroom was another level of disgusting I never hope to encounter again. There was feces all over the floor in the toilets even on the walls. The toilets were pushed aside and full of feces. The sinks didn't work and none of the stalls had doors. I expect this bathroom was not being used, but the door should not have been open for guests to travel in there. I was absolutely disgusted and had a hard time using any other bathroom other than the one in our room afterwards. The entertainment was decent, we didn't attend all of the shows but the ones we did see were good. The pool entertainment was pretty blah. The beaches were amazing and very nicely kept. We tried to rent some non motorized watercraft but the wind cause some pretty nasty waves so wasn't much that could be done there. The resort was also huge. We were in building 30 which was about a 15 minute walk to the lobby. There were some of us in 36 and 37 which was even further away. They do have some carts driving around that people can ride on but good luck waving them down. We almost got ran over a few times however as they use the walking paths and dont generally make much sound when they come up behind you. We tried ordering one on check out day so we didn't have to haul our stuff across the resort but they never showed. Like the snack bar, the bars ran out of things quite often. Usually cups but we had a few times they ran out of rum, which I didn't think was possible in Cuba. So be prepared for that if you decide to stay here. The staff were also not the best. We hardly received service at the buffet. We would tip large (5-10 pesos at a time) but never made a difference. The lobby bars took about 20 mins to get a drink. The best service we had was the snack bar. We received better service when we left the resort. I'm not usually one to complain, as I am aware that places like Cuba do not have the luxuries like we are used to in North America, but I still expected for what we paid that it would be way better than what it was. If I ever return to Cuba you couldn't pay me to stay here. Our entire group was disappointed. If you chose to take your chances with this resort, well good luck! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The grounds were beautiful. The pool was also pretty good. Beach was beautiful as well.
The weak points
The food, the rooms, the staff, the cleanliness, and everything else.
Certified

Nice resort for price

, Moose Jaw, SK
2020-02-02
We arrived around 10 at night. Check in was easy. We were loaded onto a large golf cart (4 adults,3 kids in our group) and driven to our room. We were on the 3rd floor and the driver helped carry our luggage up to the room. After a bit of unpacking we headed over to the snack bar for a late supper. They were out of just about everything. We waited for about an hour and ended up with only a small plate of fries to share. The next day was so much better. We headed to the main buffet and sat in the right hand section just inside the door. It was there we met Yudason(not sure if spelt correctly). He took great care of our group and was great with the kids. We sat in his section for the majority of our meals. The food is definitely not like we are used to but adults can make do. It was harder for the kids though. At breakfast they had fresh made omelettes (the ladies cooking are so nice! One lady sings while cooking), fresh fruit juice, hash brown patties, muffins Etc. They had plenty of other options too if you are more adventurous. Lunch we usually went to one of the snack bars for hot dogs and fries. A few times they were out of hot dogs so we had the chicken sandwiches. They were good. The hamburgers are pork not beef and too pink for us. They have a ketchup but it's more like a no name one from here. We had brought ketchup with us which helped with the kids! Suppers were back at the main buffet with Yudason. 2 nights had better food than the others. There was turkey and roast beef! For our 2 al a carts we chose the Mexican and Japanese. The Mexican one had run out of tortilla shells so we ended up with just the fajitas filling. Still tasted great. The Japanese one though was amazing! Highly recommend this one. The chef cooks right in front of you and does a little performance. Kids loved it too. Food was similar to Edos here. As for drinks, we never had much of a lineup but they did run out of cups lots. We had taken our own ones with lids so it wasn't a problem for us. There is a store if you want to buy snacks. They had lays plain chips in a tube like Pringle's. And actual coke a cola but sell out quickly so buy a couple if you want some for later. Our room was good. The size was perfect. Had a balcony but no view. We weren't in the room much anyway so it wasn't an issue. The bathroom was fine but no sink or tub plugs so it's shower only. Tub is a little slow at draining. The shower curtain rod and towel holders are falling off and need repair. We had a lovely lady named Ashley that cleaned our rooms all week. The kids loved her. She made the usual towel animals for them and left them notes. No matter how busy she was she always took a few moments to visit with them. Overall it was a great trip. Things we recommend you take with you- a roll of toilet paper, a reusable cup, ketchup, bug spray ( sand flies and mosquitoes can be bad), a flashlight and watch out for the golf carts while you are walking. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beaches but it's a bit of a walk through the resort to get there. They have a quiet pool for lounging and a second pool with activities and slides for kids. Both have a swim up bar. Great shows at night.
The weak points
Constantly running out of things like cups and certain food items. Rooms need a bit of repair. Shower rods and towel bars falling off. Resort restrooms usually out of paper and seats are missing. Also have an outhouse smell.
Certified

It's what you make of it.

, Moose Jaw, SK
2020-02-02
We arrived late Friday night and it was a rough start. Not a lot of help, snack bar was out of everything, couldn't get bottled water... I was panicking a bit as we were traveling with 3 little kids. We started the next day with a fresh perspective and were pleasantly surprised! The resort is well maintained and most of the staff is great. If you've been to Cuba and know what to expect as far as food and their standards (which we had) you'll be happy with this resort. It's clean and well maintained, beach is beautiful, there were always chairs and cabanas at either. Bring extra money to tip ( if we went again I would bring several Canadian five dollar bills, its slightly less than leaving $5 CUC but still a generous tip) if you want the excellent service or extra water bottles ect.. then tip. Most of the staff will go above and beyond so it's only fair! We travelled with 4 adults and 3 kids, none of us starved, the kids absolutely loved the kids club activities and the beach.
Bathrooms were hit and miss ( the one by the store is usually clean, has toilette paper and toilet seats, well worth the walk) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, house keeper, servers, kids club, bartenders Clean rooms Clean beach/pool
The weak points
Frequently out of things such as bottled water, cups, napkins, certain food staples Public bathrooms not great in general Large resort which meant a lot of walking. Not for people with mobility issues
Certified

Second time here!!

, Windsor, ON
2020-01-25
Memories to me is a great resort and has everything I need and my 5 year old. This is our second time. This resort is rated appropriately, due to the the rooms. The are fine, no complaints for a 3.5 star. If u are a picky person than book a 5 star. Me and my son choose memorise for the staff, the food, the beach, and all the entertainement, so for the price you cant beat this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great Family Hotel

, Bracebridge , ON
2020-01-23
We left the middle of winter (Jan15-22) for a week in the sun. Memories resort surely provided more than just sun! Activities for the kids, dancing at the pool, night shows and more!! We were more than happy with our stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great pools-one quiet pool one activity pool both huge. Water slide. Fantastic beach. Friendly staff.
The weak points
Bathrooms were only cleaned once a day-take toilet paper everywhere. Wifi in two spots -in the main lobby, which was very slow OR the theatre which was fast and much quieter in the theatre!!
Certified

Resort

, Edmonton, AB
2020-01-20
Me and my husband stayed at Memories Varadero beach Resort from 11/012020 till 18/2020. We loved it, We did not had any problem at all, from first day till last day. When we checked in we didn't know this pretty young lady checked us in (Chabley Delgado) that she was one of our good friends niece till next day when we visit our friend (Tamara) house, Chabely saw up there to meet her aunts friends that was us, then we found out that she was the one checked us in, so become a family and looked after us till the end our stay. We met the Manager of the resort he was a Manager at Starfish Varadero 4 years ago, this was our 5th trip to Varadero, but 1st trip to this resort, lady at Customer Service was helpful, we met Zunilda Morales at Saloon, Rafael Perez at Entertainment. We were welcome every time we walk in in main buffet cant remember all the names. Room maid service was great clean no complain. Our check out time was @ 12.00 noon but they let us stay till 3.00 pm. Beach was fantastic that is our main reason visiting to Varadero. besides the friendly people and we found new family its like home away home. We will be back at Memories Varadero, next year again. I am not much in writing reviews. Again I like to thank Chabely Delgado, Zunilda Morales, General Manager, Assistant Manager. and all Staff @ Main buffet. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Every thing was good monies worth, we have thing twice how much you paid?
The weak points
Internet service not good lights at nights

Good times

, Hamilton, ON
2020-01-15
Rough first night as we showed up super late (2:30am) because of delays. The room we got was very nice but there was an 1" of water on the ground. We requested a new one and got it with no problems. The grounds were very nice, the pools were huge and the ocean was beautiful. It's Cuba, we know this and were prepared. Food was plentiful and the four of us always had something to eat. Ages 4,10,35,39 and my wife is the vegie type. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The people, pools and ocean
The weak points
Ran out of cups often (We all had our own so that didn't bother me) No ice at times but didn't last long. The worst part by far was the ignorant Russians.
Certified

Would NOT recommend this resort

, Kelowna, BC
2020-01-12
We arrived after dark to a busy, smoky lobby. The check in was quick and efficient however the front desk clerk did not give us any directions to our room or offer any assistance. We walked around the extremely dark resort aimlessly until a couple of resort guests helped us. We were eventually able to flag down one of the resort's carts to assist us to our room but it was not a great first impression.

The room was old and outdated but clean and comfortable. The toilet did not flush well and the view was terrible. The housekeeping was always good and supplied us with bottled water daily.

The resort grounds were clean but the resort is so large everything took a fair walk to get to. You can sometimes hop on the resort carts. Do not go here if you have any mobility issues. It is very dark at night. The pools were nice but cold. The waterslide was very underwhelming.

The beach was beautiful and the beach bar was good. However we only got 2 days of good beach time during the week that we were there. The rest of the time the weather was cool and windy. There were large waves and the water was closed for two days because of jellyfish. Many of the beach loungers were broken and I got several very itchy bites from what I believe were sand fleas.

The public washrooms throughout the resort were a disgrace. Most of the toilets were missing toilet seats. There was rarely any toilet paper or soap and they were filthy and smelled terrible!

The worst part of this resort was the food. The buffet was always the same and not many of the choices appealed to us. We often left meals feeling unsatisfied and still hungry. There were flies on the food and even birds eating from the buffet tables. There was always a huge line up to get into the main buffet restaurant especially for dinner. The dining room is huge and worn. The snack bars were quieter at least but the selection was limited and they often ran out of basic things on the menu. By the end of the week we were skipping meals because we just could not stomach the food any longer. I recommend going to the buffet by the beach. The coffee was good though.

The drinks and bar service was also a huge disappointment. The drinks were often warm and not good or consistent. I stuck to beer and pina coladas as these were usually good. The service was terrible at the lobby bars but the rest were fairly decent.

The wifi was terrible in the lobby, not even worth your time trying. The wifi in the theatre was much more reliable.

The kids club was also a big disappointment. Not much for the kids to do. There were not many English speaking kids for my daughter to play with. Not impressed since they advertise as being very family friendly but the quality of the programs was very lacking.

Overall I would NOT recommend this resort and definitely will not be returning! My family was very disappointed with this vacation and in the future we will likely go back to Mexico where we have had much better experiences. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and coffee
The weak points
Food is terrible!!
Certified

Little disappointments add up

, Gatineau, QC
2020-01-10
Just returned from 7 days with my wife and two young boys. Despite knowing it was a 3 1/2 star, we were impressed upon arrival with the resort. However, this quickly changed as we discovered little things that didn't compare well to even a four star in Cuba.

Despite arriving in the morning, our room was ready by noon and we were fairly happy with our room, although our 'garden view' was more of roadway / culvert and the shower never drained properly. We were happy we had paid extra for a renovated room as we quickly saw and heard from other travellers that the non-renovated rooms were it pretty rough shape (to the hotel's credit it appears two or three of the Villas are currently under renovation).

It was at this point we started to notice things fall off a bit, but because we were traveling over a Cuban holiday we knew from past experiences to give it a few days. Still most things didn't improve. To start, there was no soft drinks or beer in our fridge (reserved for Diamond Club) and the lobby bar was always incredibly full, the line for the dinner was often long and food choices (even by Cuban standards) were hit or miss. For example, you had to really hunt to find fresh Chicken (lunch buffet by the beach) and for some meals it felt the only fresh meat were hotdogs! The snack bar often ran out of most of its menu - including beer!

We also noticed the bars routinely ran out of basic items like ice and clean glasses. Our only win, was discovering the Sports Bar early on. It was rarely crowed, had great staff and good coffee (buffet was machine instant coffee)! It essentially became our lobby bar for the trip.

Also, WiFi was almost impossible to get at the lobby bar, but the second hotspot at the theatre consistently worked well.

The beach, as you'd expect in Varadero, was beautiful, but it was often a challenge to find a spot unless you arrive early. The pools are big, but clearly need maintenance and the waterslide wasn't the hit we thought it would be. We spent most of our time at the larger pool where the daily entertainment was what you would expect in Cuba. The kids club was oversold. Compared to previous resorts the level of activities was fairly minimal (colouring, lego, cookie baking). The evening 'Kids Disco' was fun and our family enjoyed the Karaoke night and other entertainment in the courtyard before the 9:30 shows. Still, for a resort that seems to advertise hard to families we've received more at 4 stars that don't advertise as being so family friendly.

We took in our two a la cartes - Mexican (horrible, again even by Cuban standards) and Cuban (very good). The Japanese seemed to also be real popular and we heard good things about the Italian restaurant.

Ultimately though it was the customer service that kept bringing the resort down for us. The front desk staff would routinely send you in circles when asking for basic items like getting money changed or getting towels. Despite being a massive resort, getting transportation to and from your room with your bags was impossible and while there were plenty of golf carts zooming around (one which nearly hit my 6 year old) none would stop and offer a ride (even if you asked). On our last day we were left with no beach towels as we had to hand them over when we checked out at noon, even though we didn't leave until 6pm. I ultimately had to tip the towel guy $5 to get one towel for our family of four to share after the front desk and 'customer service' repeatedly told me they had no towels.

Overall, I would say this place is ultimately oversold as being a 4 star when really it is much closer to a 3 star. That being said I am sure you could find worse 3 stars in Cuba.

If you only care about a nice beach, a fun pool, and cold bear you'll be fine. But if you are hoping for consistent customer service, dependable, but still basic, food options and some good entertainment for the kids I would look elsewhere. I would also strongly suggest taking the Diamond Club option as it would certainly make the stay more manageable, but I'd suspect for the extra price you could find a solid four star close by. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach, large pools (separate 'quiet' & activity pools). Grounds are well kept and layout is easy to follow. Sports Bar was a good hangout spot. Located close to airport with easy access to downtown Varadero.
The weak points
Customer service is more hit than miss. Lobby bar was always full and other bars would routinely run out of basic items. Upgraded rooms are ok, but non-upgraded rooms looked horrible. Routinely see long lines for the buffet. Kids Club is oversold.
Certified

Holiday (New Year) visit 2019

, Ottawa, ON
2020-01-07
Memories Varadero Beach Resort

Pretty disappointed, Way over priced for the experience.
We've been in Cuba few times before, but this was our worse resort that we have had.
Nice & Large Resort and walking never seemed to take long, but would not recommend it until it's brought up to Canadian standards.
The grounds were well maintained but lighting at night was poor to non-existent in most cases, and night walking around the resort was pitch black... The transport cart was sometimes available but again at night with the poor lighting and carts not always having lights was a safety hazard when walking!

Rooms:
Our Room was clean but very outdated and had funky mold smell.
Our Balcony door had no handle, just a hole where the handle should be and a chain at the top to lock it.

Public Bathrooms:
Bathroom in room was worth the walk back to from anywhere in the resort as the public bathroom were disgusting except for first thing in the morning.
Most of the public bathrooms did not lock, ran out of paper and were very dirty.
Bathrooms throughout the resort smelled awful and were a mess and most of the time no soap, toilet papers nor paper towels.

Food/Drinks:
The food at the buffet was always the same, was hit or miss with options and not that good... Tables, Cutleries and glasses were very dirty most of the time.

The snack bars were not great and the service was bad.
Limited staff so long lines to get a drink and not enough available seating for many in the lobby, so often had to squeeze 2 to a seat.

* “à la carte”: We tried the Mexican, it was okay But we liked the "Japanese".

Food & Drinks availability was not available many times off Breakfast/Lunch & Dinner hours

Pools & Beaches:
The Beaches were beautiful.
The Pools not super clean and the water was cold.
My son cut his foot quite badly, on the bottom of the pool.

We were family of 4 but had to use 2 Beach towels for 2 days until they gave us another 2 towels.

Entertainment:
The entertainment staffs were nice.
The shows at night were nice too.
……………………………..
I would not recommend this Resort.
Overall, I really didn't enjoy it. I would definitely not go back and I wouldn't make it my first choice for a recommendation either. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, Pools and Good entertainment
The weak points
Horrible Food/Drinks and Service - Poor management
Certified

Christmas visit 2019

, Ardrossan, AB
2019-12-31
Way over priced for the experience. The grounds were well maintained but lighting at night was poor to non existent in most cases, and at times out room building was pitch black. Large resort but walking never seemed to take long. The transport cart was sometimes available but again at night with the poor lighting and carts not always having lights was a safety hazard when walking. Room was clean but funky mold smell. Bathroom in room was worth the walk back to from anywhere in the resort as the public bathroom were disgusting except for first thing in the morning. Food was okay but the 24 hour restaurant was hit or miss with options as often had one option on the menu available. Went in winter so everything closed a 6 pm, so other than the small sports bar or bar in the theatre space the lobby was the only place to get a drink after 6 pm. Limited staff so long lines to get a drink and not enough available seating for many in the lobby, so often had to squeeze 2 to a seat. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Restaurant near the beach for breakfast and lunch was the better option. Japanese restaurant is highly recommended, good food, entertaining to watch them cook in front of you and staff super friendly.
The weak points
Public bathrooms were disgusting, except first thing in the morning, the lacking toilet paper was the easy part of the bathrooms. 24 hour restaurant never had the food selections so when hungry between meal times, had to have own snacks available.
Certified

Only OK

, Stayner, ON
2019-12-29
I read a lot about this resort before I booked it so I knew what I was getting into. However, I was still pretty disappointed. My boys and I love to go to Cuba so we know how the food etc., works.
The food was plentiful but always the same. No new items added to the daily buffet. The snack bars were not great and the service was worse than that. The girls working/serving were quite miserable.
Our room: The AC stopped working on our 3rd day. The lamp on my side of the bed was broken and the lamp shade was set on there as is. Looked awful. I had to fix our toilet so it would flush more often than not. Our patio door had no handle, just a hole where the handle should be and a chain at the top to lock it.
The pools were beautiful. Not super clean and the water wasn't as warm as stated but still nice. A child we met cut his foot, quite badly, on the bottom of the pool. The resort had no first aid kit readily available and when one was presented, there was nothing in it to help. The day we were leaving a dad was running around asking yard maintenance staff if they had band-aids because his son had also cut his foot in the same pool.
The staff move around a lot so I found I had to spend a lot on tips for good service. If I tip one bartender then go back a bit later, it's a new person that doesn't know I already tipped for the day. Didn't like that so much but still tipped appropriately and yes, according to service.
The floors of the snack bars are very dirty and with the winds, the glasses on the tables blow off and smash (not sure why they're using glass). This doesn't get cleaned up. We didn't know this and my son went up there with his bare feet all the time so of course, his foot was cut. Two days after this, the glass was still on the floor.
The beach was not nearly as beautiful as I've seen in Cuba and you're rarely allowed to swim in it due to high waves.
The walkways and poolside areas were not clean.
We got there very late and upon arrival, the lobby bar was crazy busy and loud and overwhelmingly smoke filled. Seems this is the hot spot to gather - which surprised me. I wouldn't think the resort would want that to be their first impression for arrivals.
There were plenty of kids there for my boys to befriend and spend their days with at the basketball court and waterslide. The waterslide isn't great and kids actually got stuck halfway down. Which is fun and funny for my kids, aged 14 & 12, but I would imagine quite terrifying for a young child.
They did love the basketball court and were given a black basketball by one of their friends when he left. The ball is getting passed down by kids as they leave. My kids used it for the week and left it with one of their new friends. This little exchange of friendship/fun was quite wonderful to see. We hope the ball is being used and enjoyed by someone right now!
There are light bulbs out all over the resort - maybe not a major thing but it makes the resort look shabby and unkept. An easy fix, I would think?
The entertainment staff was amazing. From poolside fun to the theatre to the center square entertainment area. The aqua show was particularly well done.
There is a little sports bar across from the theatre by the a la cartes. The girls in there were wonderful and it's a nice little spot to have a drink and relax. We didn't even know about it until a few days before we left.
The a la cartes were quite nice and my boys liked how "fancy" they were.
Bathrooms throughout the resort smelled awful and were a mess. When I went into the one off the main lobby, I had to wait and a Memories staff member came out of the stall. It was disgusting after she used it - had to be her because the seat/toilet was simply gross and I suspect she wouldn't have been in there using it if it was like that before her. Very gross. Most don't have toilet seats or toilet paper.
Overall, I really didn't enjoy it. I would definitely not go back and I wouldn't make it my first choice for a recommendation either. Cayo Coco and Cayo Largo offered way more food selection, cleanliness and an overall better experience. I've paid as much, or even less for Cuba, and had a better experience. The Memories in Cayo Coco was much better.
I am glad this resort has repeat clients - I think it's mostly because anything goes and it's a free for all as far as smoking, rowdy behaviour and littering goes. Some people like that because they don't have to be accountable or responsible for their behaviour.
Lastly, my son and two other kids had their shoes stolen during the one week we were there. I've never had anything stolen on a vacation ever - so three of us having to replace shoes in one week is a little disappointing. Not super impressed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
See my hotel review....
The weak points
See my hotel review....
Certified

Memories Varadero

, Ottawa, ON
2019-11-24
The experience in general was great. Most of the staff there is very friendly and personable. Some of the rooms are very outdated but there's a better section with updated rooms which we got switched to. Food was ok, there's always sthg you could eat. Service at the restaurant is the best I've seen down south. The entertainment team has always sthg going on whether on the pool or the beach. The shows at night were good too. It's a big resort so there's a bit of walking around. There's always shuttles though available to pick up the guests as they're walking. It was my daughters bday so they surprised her with a cake at the room and one of the cartoon characters showed up as well. In general it was a good experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
Some of the rooms are very old, damaged and badly maintained, some parts of the hotel also feels neglected. Food presentation is not that neat. Bed sheets and towels had stains. Pools were dirty
Certified

Needs Improvement

, Ottawa, ON
2019-11-23
This was our second time staying here. We did not enjoy it as much as our first time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff works very hard and are very friendly.
The weak points
They were overwhelmed with students. And did not seem prepared for how many there were. Lots of items on the menu were not available.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2022