Be Live Adults Only Los Cactus

Be Live Adults Only Los Cactus
3.503.503.503.503.50
3.50 based on 611 reviews
#16 of 65 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Varadero
Rated 3.5 stars
Traveller pictures (182)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Los Cactus Cuba

, Deroche, BC
2020-03-23
We really enjoyed our time here! The people were friendly, the rooms were clean and spacious. The beach was AMAZING!!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach was clean and beautiful! We never had a hard time getting chairs or umbrellas put up for us. We could swim everyday!
The weak points
The food wasn't as good as it was 2 years ago.
Certified

Veradero vacation. Not impressed.

, Sherwood Park , AB
2020-03-12
We weren't advised that the resort was run down. Some units were remodeled and lovely but our suite had toilets that leaked and didn't flush properly. We complied at the front desk and asked about moving to another suite. They said they would see about the plumbing. Two days later, still nothing done, returned to front desk and they said the would send someone over. A fellow came flushed the toilet and said that the towel around the toilet was nearly dry and that he would be back the next morning at 9:00 am.we waited until lunchtime and no one ever came. My husband found that the toilet tank was leaking and tightened the bolts. That seemed to stop the strem of water. He the found that the handle wouldn't work and looked and saw that the washer and not had fallen off into the tank. So he fixed that. There was also a sink tap that wobbled all over the place when you turned it on. Black mould around the caulking on the bathtub. Chair in sitting area had broken slats under the cushion. The maid took it and they did repair that.I can see that it could be a lovely resort when updates are done but we were unprepared for the condition of the section we stayed in. Beach was beautiful. Locals were wonderful. They need to advise what has been updated and what has not so you can book accordingly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
No pleased with the accomadation for the price.
Certified

Recent trip, 3rd visit

, Oromocto, NB
2020-02-27
Small, older resort. Needs updating. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, sun, small resort, many long-term staff members who spoke English.
The weak points
maintenance; several repairs needed; needed reminders. Toilet, clogged sink, heat pump needed batteries.
Certified

Another good time at Los Cactus

, Ottawa, ON
2020-02-19
We had another enjoyable time at Los Cactus. This is our third visit to Los Cactus so we know what to expect. We had wonderful weather so that certainly helps. If you have traveled to Cuba you probably know the positives and the negatives. The beach is absolutely beautiful and you can walk for miles if you are so inclined. We always have lots to eat. The Italian restaurant is always good. The hotel is good value in our opinion for an adults only resort. A few negative points this year was a $20 charge for our security box in our room which apparently began in November...the resort ran out of wine for a couple of days which was apparently a problem for all of Cuba. They also ran out of vodka which apparently upset some visitors who only drank vodka. The hot tubs were not working properly. There are always lots of beach chairs at the beach and the pool. The evening shows are always entertaining. There is always room for improvements but we will likely return for all the positive aspects the resort offers. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach and pool. Lots to eat. Friendly people.
The weak points
As stated in my review.
Certified

Sadly, more cons than pros

, Winnipeg, MB
2020-02-01
The beaches were lovely!! Plenty of chairs and umbrellas. The beach bar was a nice environment although, there could have been more variety of food. We stayed in room 631 in the three story building which was just fine. However, we had been in building C room 121, which had no air conditioning, hot water or pressure. Beautiful patios but 1 chair?
I understand from other guests that it is under new ownership and they are very dissatisfied with things as they are. Such as a shortage of wine at mealtimes, and in the bars they often ran out of liquor and other drinks. My worst experience came in the buffet; where birds flew all over and were constantly picking at the food, buns and rice. Also, we never seated at supper time and there was never a clean table!! No service whatsoever! Service was better in the day, there one very good gentleman who tried his best to accommodate everyone.
If these issues are addressed I would love to come back but I fear some of the damage is done and word has got out. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Skip this hotel

, Ottawa, ON
2020-01-10
I have been to Hotel for the past five years and it is going downhill. Casino night was gone. Food was a disaster, the same thing every day.
I would not recommend this hotel at all. Spend a little more and go elsewhere [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
Food - food and food
Certified

Los cactus Varadero

, Montréal, QC
2020-01-05
Very nice people, nice beach, horrible hotel conditions. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach
The weak points
The hotel conditions really bad: humidity, smells, mold, cockroaches, flies, smelly bed sheets, no maintenance...
Certified

Great time on first trip to Cuba

, Port Coquitlam, BC
2019-12-23
The hotel is older and definitely in need of some upkeep if, however, it was clean and the staff were amazing!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Smaller resort so more intimate. Beach was amazing
The weak points
Needs some repairs done
Certified

Los Cactus mediocre stay

, Mississauga, ON
2019-11-11
My husband and myself stayed @ the los cactus from the 2nd to the 10Th November 2019 . We had originally booked a room at the Junior suite section which by the looks of it is newly renovated but where provided the option to upgrade to the suites in Block I which was much closer to the beach and pool area for an extra 100$ CAD which we didn't mind paying for the convenience factor ( 2 minutes to the pool and 5 minutes to the beach ). The suite was spacious with an extra room ,comfortable bed , big balcony , with surprisingly good water pressure from the shower and warm water . We had 2 AC in the suite which helped on those crazy humid days . The hotel is on the older side , built with a colonial Cuban design in mind , especially the lobby area , it does have a large variety of flora and fauna especially the cactus variety . The hotel has an Intimate feeling with just a few bars and 2 a la carte restaurants :- Cuban and Italian . We tried the Cuban restaurant, the food was mediocre , nothing special but again Cuba is not know for its cuisine , I did carry my own hot sauces which helped add some flavour to the food . The a la carte is not available on all days and we where not informed of the schedule in advance , so many a time we went to make a reservation only to be told it's a buffet only day which was an inconvenience as well as booking widow was limited . The food was not the best and did upset mine and my husbands stomach, glad we carried tuna tins & snack from Canada which helped a lot . The drinks where watered down and my husband is not much of a drinker but enjoys couple select cocktails like mojitos but to our surprise the resort ran out of mint for couple of days as well as not much of a premium liquor selection available . We liked the idea of an adults only resort with no kids and hoped to meet other younger couples ( We are in our early 30's) however majority of the guest where Older retired folks but it didn't bother us , we meet a lot of other people from Canada . The pool was old & smaller then the ones we have been to at other resorts , with the lining almost coming off , it had jacuzzis which where not functioning, mediocre at the best , however the water was clean and it helped that there were not many guest at resort so we always got our pick of the pool chairs no matter what time of the day . The jewel of the resort is the beach , it was amazing the water and sand , clear & pristine with plenty of beach chairs and shade . My only complain that the bar at the beach was a bit of a walk and they don't have Servers on the beach like other resorts but again it's not a 5 star resort . Wifi is only available at the pool & lobby area and is limited with a cost of 1 CUC per hour . Also we are late risers in the morning and always missed breakfast, what did not help is that the resort doesn't have a 24 hour snack station therefore whenever we woke up late in the morning we had no food from 10 am to 11.30 pm unless we got some snacks from the snack bar the previous night . The resort all in all is good and close to downtown Varedaro . We had a good time . Some staff where very helpful like Ariel for helping us contact our travel agent and assisting with any requests , Maikel who was very helpful in suggesting good restaurants and night life and arranging our late checkout since our flight was at 10 pm (we paid An extra 35 CUC for it) Hugo for helping with arranging the money collection for our Havana trip , @ the buffet Roberto & German for great service , Theresa and ladies at the Lobby bar where always welcoming , friendly and helpful . Overall we had a good trip . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
1.Beach 2.Suite & location of Suite 3. Resort is located close to downtown Varedaro , just a 10 minute ride by bus or car . 4. Bus stop is a 7 minute walk from resort and the most economical way to travel (5 CUC each for entire day use 9 am to 8 pm).
The weak points
1.Food 2.location of beach bar 3. Restrictions with a la carte booking as well as uninformed change in reservation schedules. 4. No 24 hour snack bar available. 5. Drinks are watered down , bars run out of specific liquor or cocktail ingredient.

Not cuban 4* quality. Food was awful.

, New Dominion, PE
2019-04-29
The resort was small and easily accessible to the beach, pool, buffet, and only a 5mins bus or cab drive to mall of America or downtown Varadero to shop or eat. I highly recommend eating at the rooftop restaurant, The La Vaca Rosada, the "Pink Cow", on "casa 21" street. It had delicious food, quick and friendly service. We ate the filet minon and chicken cordon bleu.
The resort pool is huge, but needs to be overhauled as the lining is literally falling apart. The food at the buffet, and a la carte was awful, the quality and variation. Most of the guest got sick off the food. After we got sick, we stuck with the bread, cheese and deli meat and the panini press all week. The beach was amazing! Lots of beach chairs and beds, and if there wasn't one, the staff would put up an umbrella wherever needed. The grounds and rooms are clean, but are in need of a serious update (which I heard was coming in the near future), with these updates and change of chef/caterer, this resort would be off the hook! Because the resort was so small, we got to meet most of the guests and made friends while were there, which was a highlight to our trip! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, location (in regards to airport, shopping, restaurants, and accessibility to transportation)
The weak points
The food was disgusting! The pool was nice, but is falling apart. The resort is old, and could use a facelift
Certified

Spring vacation

, Regina, SK
2019-04-12
great place to relax great location
buffet lacking in variety [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Not the best experience in Cuba

, St Thomas, ON
2019-03-12
The hotel was musty and mouldy, thankfully they were able to give us another room. However that was only the beginning of our no so great vacation. Minimal lighting throughout the resort many many trip hazards. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach is beautiful
The weak points
Friends that we were traveling with tripped over an 18” wall in the dark and fell 4 feet down to a tile floor. The outcome is not good.
Certified

Be live los cactus

, St Thomas, ON
2019-03-12
More cons than pros. Here is my list.
--Reception is slow. No welcome of any kind
-- room was huge. Mold on curtains, bathroom door and ceiling. Air conditioning was not working. Had to switch to another rm on the 3rd day.
-- no service with a smile at any bar.
-- buffet service was lacking. Got my water and spoon 4 out of the 7 days.
-- beach was amazing!
-- very dark pathways. 2 out of 8 ppl that I travelled with got seriously hurt. Broken leg, other friend concussion with brain bleed. Back and neck injury.
* nobody spoke English.
-- ambulance service came hour after accident. No neck brace and did not strap her in when on stretcher, almost fell when lifting her. Very scary. Not to mention the lack of cleanliness in the clinic or hospital
-- not sure why ppl keep returning....
-- it says international brands are included.... that is a huge lie.... no international brands whatsoever! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

First time at this resort... NEVER going elsewhere

, Cambridge, ON
2019-03-11
I am extremely impressed with this resort.
I travelled solo from March 2-9, 2019. Enjoyed every moment of my vacation.
I've been to Cuba once before (last year) at a different resort... doesn't compare.
I was a bit disappointed on the first night once I realized that there is a slightly older crowd (30-60's)ish... However I am 26 and ended up making a TON of new friends. Literally everyone I met was extremely friendly. The staff constantly impressed me. Room was always clean.
I stayed in Block B.
Block A is near the lobby... Block F & J is closest to the pool area.
Would NOT recommend staying in the Junior Suites building.
Hallways are dark, entire building echoes (can hear every door shut on your floor).
Location of the hotel was nice as it was only a 2 minute bus ride into Varadero 1st Ave... However, the bus stop is a bit of a walk.
Note** When you go to the roundabout where the bus stop is, the stop to the RIGHT goes to all the resorts and then to town. The bus stop to the LEFT goes directly to Varadero. This is the difference of about 30-45 mins additional to your bus ride.
The resort feels like a bit of a maze for the first couple days but it doesn't take long to get a feel for the grounds.
This resort is well kept and is more than worth the price!
I have made plans with a group of new friends for us all to meet next March... yes, at THIS resort.
4 stars
-pool/grounds (bit of a maze and pools were cooler in the evening)
-room (because of the Jr Suites building - eck)
-food/restaurants (food was much better than last year, but it's Cuba... not amazing but not bad at ALL!!)
-location (because of the distance to walk to the bus stop)
1 Star
- Internet access / Wi-Fi... It's Cuba! Get off your damn phones lol

(Excuse my spelling on the local bars...)

Notes:
La Bamba is located at the resort next door, it is a 5 CUC cover for men, women don't have to pay (some ask for the $$ but you don't actually have to pay). Drinks are about 3 CUC each. It's small but PACKED. Only open Saturday nights.

Compass Bar is a small hole in the wall, night to hang out there with locals, chat over a few drinks sitting outside.

Beatles Bar - try to get there around 8 or so to get a table.

La Compasita & Casa De La Musica - didn't go to either but both came highly recommended by locals.

Tattoos - I got 2 tattoos while in town. Would HIGHLY recommend going to A Lo Cubano Tattoos Studio (on 50 St / 1st Ave) Open 9am to 8pm Mon-Fri. CLEAN and extremely TALENTED. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- Staff - Literally everything else
The weak points
- far walk to bus stop - bit of a maze
Certified

Amazing Beach, Friendly Staff!

, Cobourg, ON
2019-01-18
Our check-in was fairly quick, even though we arrived with a large group. We got a bit lost on our way to our room but the staff were very kind and kept pointing us in the right direction. We paid for an ocean view junior suite, but when we got to our room you couldn't see the ocean at all, and the ceiling in the bathroom was caving in. I called reception and they said they had another room on the floor above, and new keys were brought to us very quickly. The new room was great, and the view was amazing. The bed wasn't very comfortable, and the tension rod holding the shower curtain came down a few times. Our housekeeper was fantastic, our room was kept super clean. The beach was beautiful, plenty of chairs. It's pretty breezy down by the beach, but it makes sitting in the sun for hours pleasant. The food was really good, I was expecting so much worse from other reviews, but the food was great! It does get a bit repetitive after a while, but we broke it up by having a la carte dinners in the restaurants 4 times during our stay, and we also spent one day in Havana (independently, not through the excursions offered). Overall, it was a great trip. The staff were so friendly and attentive, always had a table waiting for us in the restaurants, always smiling, refilling our water, bringing us coffee and cappuccinos. Our waiter on the last day even made us roses out of napkins! We had an amazing time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach, the staff in the buffet restaurant and in the Cuban restaurant (Mojito)
The weak points
Beds aren't very comfy, our first room the ceiling in the bathroom was caving in, it also didn't have a view of the ocean which we paid for.
Certified

Great beach; Ran out of food and drinks

, Toronto, ON
2018-11-28
I went with my 3 daughters for a few days of sun and relaxation. The facilities were decent; the grounds were lovely and well kept; the staff mostly very friendly; rooms adequate; food okay; beach beautiful. The activity leaders were fun and enthusiastic and we enjoyed beach and water volleyball daily. The rooms had damp smell to them and the beds were hard. The resort ran out of tequila on the second day of our stay and on the Sunday of our stay, the buffet was sparse with only fish as a main course. We loved the beach and the kayaking, paddle boats and Hobies and all in all had a great time.They ran out of internet cards on our third day. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach, water, facilities, activities, grounds, most staff.
The weak points
The food was mediocre
Certified

Great beaches!!

, Angus, ON
2018-11-26
cant say anything negative for this resort! the beach here is amazing and the rooms are very nice and the staff are very friendly. there is a band that plays their music around the resort and they are the best! would be nice if the snack bar was open more often or had more options, but i did travel in the off season so i cant blame them! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach, pool, rooms, excursions, location,
The weak points
snack bar

Loved it!

, Moncton, NB
2018-04-15
Service is good but be prepared to tip. For Cuba food is great! Some rooms are newer than others. Some of the older ones are a bit dated but clean and nice. Pool is HUGE and cleaned every morning. Beach is goergeous. You can pay 20 cuc a person to go out on a boat with just a few people for an hour in the water with so many fishes you can swim through them. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food really good for Cuba Beautiful beach
The weak points
A little dated Drink selection is a little limited but you can still find something :)
Certified

Excellent Review for Hotel Los Cactus

, Port Franks, ON
2018-03-15
This is our 14th time at this resort. Once again we had a fantastic time! The food was good, actually hot, our room was excellent (with an ocean view) and the people were amazing. We love it here, and this year we went into Varadero to the Beatlemania bar, and that was amazing. The band was amazing but they didn't play too many Beatle's songs! The selection they did play was fantastic!! We went to a new restaurant in Varadero, called the Pink Cow (not sure of the actual name) on 21 Street...absolutely fantastic. Even the steak was good. My only complaint this year (and previous years)is that they have the aquafit at 12 noon?? Why?? I would like it if they did it at 11am. Other than that I really can't say I had much to complain about. Thanks again to staff at Hotel Los Cactus!! See you next year :-)
Norm & Judy Gratton [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff are very friendly. The resort is one of the smaller ones but very personable which is what we love. The beach is beautiful and the drinks are cold. We get to relax but if we want to go and party we head into Varadero.
The weak points
If you are looking for dancing, sports, etc.. this resort is more for relaxing. They do have games on the beach and they have the disco (which doesn't start till 11:30pm-midnight)too old for that nonsense but the younger ones like it.
Certified

WORST VACATION IN 6 VISITS

, St. Catharines, ON
2018-03-14
FIRST ROOM HAD A DAMP SMELL TO IT AND THE MOLD WAS EVERYWHERE, SECOND ROOM NOT AS BAD. THIRD MOVE WAS TO A SUITE WHICH WAS VERY NICE [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
FRIENDLY PEOPLE
The weak points
TOO MANY FAR TO MANY STAIRS, IF YOU HAVE TROUBLEWALKING THIS PLACE IS NOT FOR YOU. FOOD WAS SUB PAR. YOU ONLY HAVE A 2 HOUR WINDOW TO BOOK A-LA-CARTE. CONCRETE AROUND POOL ???
Certified

Great resort

, Lock Port, MB
2018-03-08
Hotel Los Cactus is a really nice clean resort with a beautiful beach and close to town. Upon our arrival we received a room in junior suites building. Our room was a bit musty smelling, the air conditioner wasn't working and we had water leaking from the ceiling in the bathroom. The next morning we asked at the desk to move and lady there was more than accommodating. We moved one floor up and had a wonderful room for the remainder of our stay.
This is my 5th trip to Cuba and I know what most say about the food in Cuba, but on prior trips I always enjoyed the food and could always find something to eat. Sadly enough, I cannot say this about the buffet at Hotel Los Cactus. I found that not a whole lot looked appetizing, most everything was cool/cold and buffet staff was not quick to replenish empty dishes on the buffet.
We did however have a wonderful meal at Martino's Italian a la carte on our last evening there, hot and very tasty, we wished we would have discovered Martino's earlier in the week.
The evening shows were great, but there was not much for evening socializing once the show was over. All bars closed except the lobby bar. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Most of the staff are friendly, helpful and so appreciative. Food at the Italian a la carte (Martino's) was great.
The weak points
Buffet not very appetizing, same thing every day. Not much for evening socializing. Once the show was over all bars except the lobby bar closed.
Certified

Reading Week

, St Catharines, HA
2018-02-26
We had a nice room with 2 bathrooms #702. At the end with nice view and large balcony. Visit Duna bar for higher end drinks and great view also quiet area to read. You can always find something to eat at the buffet. But keep a eye on the hours. Make sure you visit Carlos at the beach bar serving up bbq burgers and hot dogs. Pina colada best at lobby bar. Evening entertainment worth watching. Don't miss the aqua show in the pool!

Please tip these people. They work very hard and if you have any issues it's the fault of the owner of the resort. These people are working with what they have available. Some times they don't have mint or maybe you have a cool shower. Get over it. Bring from home clothing you'd be donating. I also took razors, shaving cream, Band-Aids, gum, toothpaste and toothbrushes. They truly appreciate anything. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent staff. All hard working and willing to make your experience the best. Beautiful beach, always someone there to put up a umbrella for you. The girls working the pool bar are always happy to see you. The wait staff at a al cart were great.
The weak points
Not a place to visit if you are a complainer. Not a place for anyone with mobility issues.
Certified

Spectacular ocean

, Brampton, HA
2018-02-15
Ocean and beach - breathtaking
Food - OK
Sports opportunities - plenty
Bars, Reception - professional, efficient and friendly
Room - terrible disrepair and bad service, not clean enough
Internet - surprisingly good internet, although in the lobby only
Nightly entertainment - fantastic music, great voice talents and good dancers
Weather - priceless [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Ocean and beach, lots of games and sport courts, fantastic musicians, surprisingly good internet
The weak points
Terrible disrepair of the room, lack of cleanliness and good will of cleaning service. Dirty washroom, fresh towels only twice, sheets too small for the bed, mouldy curtains, dirty floor, water quotas not met, broken locks, taps, sliding doors etc.
Certified

Fantastic experience!

, Bracebridge , ON
2018-02-01
I won't make this long because it doesn't need to be. I stayed at this resort with a friend for 7 days. We had a great experience. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Food is decent. The beach is wonderful. They gave us rum and cigars as a welcome gift. There were a couple downsides but nothing major. It was a little difficult to get clean towels in our room. We had to call the front desk and have them delivered one evening because the cleaning lady was just hanging the towels back up. The other slightly annoying thing was when we went to the Italian restaurant for dinner. They didn't have a lot of the items that they offered. But if those are the only things I can complain about, I would highly recommend this resort! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Hotel los cactus

, Midland, ON
2017-12-09
My partner and I headed for our first trip to veradero Cuba to hotel lost cactus just last week and it was pretty awesome! Only major complaints were our room itself was outdated and needed some plumbing work done. But otherwise, weather was good, food was good, people were nice, lots of activities if you wanted them. It's close to the airport and close to Downtown bars. No major complaints from us! I'd recommend. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- the buffet food was awesome - the rooms views were gorgeous - beach and pool were awesome - staff were friendly and helpful - no wait times for anything
The weak points
- The water pressure in the shower sucked - The a la Carte restaurants we're not good - The room could use some updating
Certified

Good time, good value, friendly atmosphere

, Thunder Bay, ON
2017-12-03
Overall the vacation was a good experience. The strong point is the staff, Jackie at the front desk, Pedro in the Italian Restaurant and the Buffet staff. The hotel is dated and the food could use more flavour. Bring your own thermal mug as the plastic cups they use for drinks are small, really small and collapse easily. Remember, you get what you pay for and the Las Cactus is good value. Recommend not doing the Tropicana tour, but a trip to old Havana for sure. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly helpful staff that don't have their hand out for tips all the time. Great beach and chairs bar none.
The weak points
Plenty to eat, could use more flavour.
Certified

Nice beach

, White Rock, BC
2017-10-26
A pretty run down hotel but a great pool and beach. Disappointed with the food as it was the same menu every day. I was hesitant to eat some of the selections because they start putting the food out a couple of hours before the restaurant buffet even opens. Their food handling process is terrible.
It's unfortunate because I would go back to this property if it wasn't for the food issues. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and pool
The weak points
Food selection and food handling. Lots of garbage in the bushes between the hotel and beach.
Certified

Last Minute First Time To Cuba

, Wasaga Beach, ON
2017-10-18
The Los Cactus Hotel, was a nice place to go. A little construction was going on to prepare for the busy season and due to some wind damage from Irma, however the staff worked to please guests. The resorts landscaping was well maintained and very beautiful, rooms are older but clean. The beach was missing some palm shades but was very beautiful and the resort offered free paddle boats, Kayak and Catamaran rides. Piano bar, and games room were enjoyable and the disco was entertaining even though it was a small area. Food was not to bad, the grill near the beach added a nice touch. The pool is large and most hot tubs were open. Entertainment was intermittent due to construction, but was enjoyable. Overall I would give the resort a 3.5 out of 5. Negatives were, felt pressure to tip on everything, had stomach issues whole time and store was closed at peak times, many times pina coladas and mojitos couldn't be found at most bars, 1 CUC peso is worth $1.43 Can. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Beach is Fantastic, Resort is mature, lots of rooms, Great four piece band that entertains with fun music at the lounge bar and dinners.
The weak points
The currency is more than U.S. Ran out of Mint often (mojitos) Ran out of some types of Alcohol, most bars closed by 6pm, Store was closed when needed. Some staff were not nice. Obvious that materials are needed for plumbing and many things were broken.
Certified

Los cactus

, Senneville, QC
2017-07-15
Good location, nice rooms and grounds, not good service and food [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Los Cactus

, New Glasgow, NS
2017-05-16
Had a great time. Quiet resort perfect for rest and relaxation. Short walk to access everything (food, pool, beach) Rooms were a little dated and could use a facelift. Mosquitos were unbearable at times and because of that some evenings just returned to the room. Not sure if they spray for bugs? [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Quiet and peaceful. Short distance from rooms to buffet, lobby, pool and beach. Having shopping right on resort was great and short distance to town.
The weak points
Rooms were dated and staff weren't as friendly as other resorts
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021