Hotel Oasis Islazul

Hotel Oasis Islazul
2.472.472.472.472.47
The average rating for this hotel is not available at this time. No recent reviews have been submitted.
Traveller pictures (14)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Worst Hotel I Ever Stayed at

, sylvan lake, Al
2015-04-27
I am not going to whine to much but i will give a list of things about this hotel which were way below any standard.Firstly i will say the beach was nice and private, but littered with garbage including empty condom pkgs.Got our room when we arrived it was ready, lights flickered off and on when first turned on,a/c wasnt turned on room was very hot,black mold was prevelant thru out the room, a river of some kind of run off from the toilet to hallway, the lock on patio door broken right off,Tv staticy, front door lock didnt work needed repair, the shower curtain was disgusting covered from top to bottom with mold. the welcome drink was non alcoholic kool aid, and a very lame sandwich that was wrapped in a napkin and not refrigerated. we wondered areound the run down property till 730am when the breakfast was suposed to open, it didnt open till 8. very poor quality of food served at unsafe temp with tons of flies, not to mention the 20 or so stray cats begging for food at the tables. coffee at lobby very good every day. lunch was not edible stunck like rotten fish and composte. we never ate dinner at hote`l once , as well as only tried the burger option once wich was unedible. i am a chef of 27 yrs and have never seen such low standrds!!! the staff seems to hang around the gusts plivalages lots, seen them eating at bars ect. very unprofessional. i was asked by staff to steal them drinks give them cigaretts and money. the sand fleas were awful but i dont blame the hotel on this. the location sucked ,spent lots of money going to town for food. the lil store sold chips for 5.50 CUC what a rip off !! considering the food was so bad. had to ask for ass wipe ,towels never cahanged. i have stayed in 2 star hotels before and loved them, this place needs to be bulldozed, thanks for the crappy holiday. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
will right as many bad reviews i can about this place wished i would of thought to pay for an upgrade
The weak points
besisdes the beach every thing sucked
Certified

Not so good

, Athabasca, AB
2014-05-01
We arrived at the end of tourist season.
put us in horrible room with a view of the road, although it did have a balcony. 3 small single beds close to the floor no room in the room. bathroom was terrible, a hose shower thing was draped over a tap it was badly corroded. As we had got in very very late we slept the first night in the room the very first thing we did was get moved. They put us in another room it was much bigger but no balcony, this room had windows that opened and the bathroom was ok, except for the water that kept coming out of our drain in the floor, we had to keep a big towel on it and walk around it. There was supposed to be 3 resteraunts and 3 bars and entertainment every night. There was only one small café resteraunt and it served very similar food every day, although some of it was quite enjoyable.
There was only one bar and it was poolside. no entertainment at all :( The staff was ok and 2 stood out as great. When we did not stay in our room
and wanted a drink we had to go by pool where they were practising scyhronised swimming so no use of pool on 3 of our 4 nights. they also had people in the courtyard practicing dancing (to the same song loudly ) for another 3 evenings......music was really loud.
Nobody could make change from bills to pesos ever. Maid service was good. Our rooms windows were very dirty as our mirror. We had 4 lamps only 2 worked.Our beach was by far the worst ever on a vacation the debris and garbage was nasty nasty, The grounds were clean and the general tidiness in the hotel was good.. We started spending days away from the hotel as there was not much in the way of entertainment or not being able to use pool. In conclusion would we go back NO [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
not many
The weak points
too many to list
Certified

Budget...but below expectations

, Leduc, AB
2014-03-28
Hotel had many issues including suspect water filtration and really bad food compared to other areas (started fresh, then stale mid-week) - served the same thing all week pretty much (very limited variety and seemed like leftovers on subsequent days). Also, 5km minimum from anything AND HOTEL DOES NOT DO CURRENCY EXCHANGE - change $10/$20 at airport or be stranded...no rental of scooters at location either, despite having scooters out front...horses, but that cost me $10... (staff don't try to speak English well either). Beach was nice, but red flag the whole time. NO INTERNET, NO BOTTLED BEVERAGES (could buy water), NO SERVICE REALLY. Bed had spring poking out that was cut around, shower had no water pressure most times, tv was very fuzzy but room was clean and almost liveable (lights burnt out and not replaced, other things in disrepair). Bugs at night that you cant see...But you get what you pay for, but this was well below expectations (if I wanted an isolated hotel where I can lounge around and do nothing, and eat elsewhere, then this is the place...(some staff were nice but my spanish sucked and their english was worse). Be prepared to be in isolation (even tour welcome sucked and was 2 days into the 1 week vacation). Highlights were walking to Varedero, taking a bus tour when in town, the Havana tour, walking the parks, catamaran tour and some of the souvenirs...that's all (got sick from something & DEFINITELY WEAR A LOT OF SUNSCREEN). Main resorts and discos are on the opposite side of city (this hotel is separated by a peninsula that divides it from the rest of Varedero (and everything up to the marina is deserted, you pass hitchhiker alley (the common transportation commute is hitchhiking), and have to cross a bridge just to get to the outskirts... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and private location good Pool ok Quiet Weather good View ok early eve performances ok Pool ok Alcohol ok Not a hotel to travel alone
The weak points
no internet no currency exchange 5km from anywhere (cost taxi to get anywhere...NO BUS SERVICE) Food was below grade (worse than what others would have at different hotels) Language (staff clearly not trying) Service - ignore everyone, expect tip
Certified

Hotel Oasis

, Cambridge, ON
2014-03-26
We are happy we have a roof over our head.Food to eat and enjoy the beach not to mention the weather.The hotel need lots of repair.Hallway leading to our room174 has no light and there is a big hole on the right side wall,cover only with slab of plywood.Mattress spring is protruding on our back as we sleep.Bathroom door not closing so no privacy there.Food is the very worse part of our stay.Meat is not that cook longer.Boiled eggs is raw,cracked it open it splatter on your plate.Sadly food they prepare most end up in garbage.We complained to the manager I think her name is Yanni or Janni.All she said to us is "we are 2 star Hotel". What does that tell you?. If that what cheap is all about then we miss it.We still have fun and a good time in Varadero.The hotel is clean and staff are friendly and all Cubans are nice people.We will be visiting Cuba again definitely.Maybe other cities next time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location,beach and swimming pool.Evening show.peaceful surrounding wonderful staff.
The weak points
food,food,food,food,food,food,food,and more food,Please can anyone teach them how to cook?food is there to enjoy it.Not to mention Health and safety issue.
Certified

Hotel Oasis

, Fredericton, NB
2014-03-21
Loved this hotel and the other guests. Almost all Canadians and very friendly atmosphere. Staff treated us like family. Any lack of amenities was made up for by the staff! Good value for the money. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Loved the size and the location! Small and more intimate than larger resorts. Staff was excellent, anything we requested (extra pillows, towels) they supplied.
The weak points
Not enough pesos at the desk, very limited mix for tropical drinks and not enough ashtrays & garbage cans.
Certified

Wonderful for a 2 star

, Warman , SK
2014-03-18
The hotel was older - built in the 50's but everything was very clean and well maintained. Our room was small-ish but the bathroom was spotless. Pool was extremely clean and staff was nice. They were out of hot water in some rooms for a day or so but it didn't bother anyone, there was still water it just didn't get hot. Buffet was small but the food was good and most importantly nobody got sick. Sometimes the food can be sketchy in Cuba but the food here was just fine. Not fancy or anything but great especially for the price. I would definitely go back. There was nothing wrong with this resort, it was way better than I thought a 2 star would be. If you are extremely picky then book a 5 star but I would stay here again. I wouldn't bother with a 3 or 4 star because at times the food and facilities are no better than at this hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach was awesome, pool and hotel extremely clean. Food was good, not as much variety as a 5 star of course, but there was always something good to eat.
The weak points
Length that buffet was open was a little limited, no hot water for a couple of days but it didn't matter.
Certified

Varadero islazul oasis

, London, ON
2014-03-17
No hot water, no ice for drinks in the main bar, dancing after the show 15 to 20 minutes, run and tequila were limited, food was the same every day, toilet broke second last day. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
People were friendly and polite.
The weak points
Broken toilet, no hot water for shower, poor selection of food and beverages, a/c only fan work,
Certified

Amazing time

, Stayner, ON
2014-03-03
This was my first time traveling to Cuba. If you asked me to go back tomorrow I would! This resort was rated 3 and a half stars I would definitely think that's based on perspective and what your looking for in a resort. I was looking for a relaxing vacation with a beach and to meet New people. Overall our room was clean We found a gecko in our room which is normal for Cuba. The food is very bland because they don't add extra salt and preservatives there. The service from all the staff was excellent. They were all friendly and patient when they don't understand you. The beach was absolutely beautiful but early morning and late night's you will find sand fleas leaving bite marks on your legs. One of my favorite things is the entertainment. Whether singing or water dancers it's all impressive.1:-D Overall I hope to visit this resort in the near future :) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
What I liked most about the resort was the beach the pool and the entertainment
The weak points
The weak part for me had nothing to do with the resort just the sand flea bites were really itchy.
Certified

Worst hotel in Varadero

, London, ON
2014-02-16
This hotel is in need of much repair,their solution now is to move guests to another room until you give up complaining,We had a balcony room with a large patio door with no hinges,a large bathroom mirror fell off wall and shattered in the middle of the night,no hot water for the week ,our glasses were never replaced or washed when maid service cleaned room.Dining room staff not friendly at all,never offered guest water or wine that is included in package,only cleaned up the dishes when u left.Bar not any better drinks were hit and miss,no beer at beach bar,coffee served in plastic cups most of the time and not very hot.Every time I went to front desk to get change for tipping they didn't have any. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
no strong points to offer for this resort avoid at all costs if you want a good vacation,if weather hadn't been picture perfect for our week,I think we might of tried to leave earlier!!
The weak points
DO NOT STAY THERE
Certified

Enjoyed the trip

, Moose Jaw, SK
2014-02-11
room was great, lots of good rum [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
nice beach bar, nice sand on beach with rocks at the water edge. Was worth the cheap price we got
The weak points
monotonous food, need better trained cooks and dining room staff. The hotel needs some renovations
Certified

You get what you pay for

, Riviere-Heva, QC
2014-01-28
nice vacation , no beach towel, food is ok not more , really small and old hotel which make that is not super clean but the staff do a super job. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
weather
The weak points
small and old ,
Certified

Avoid at all costs,

, Arkona, ON
2013-09-02
The hotel was very dirty, had lizards in the room, bed bugs, my niece was electricuted, the food was unedible, I paid alot of money for a very unpleasant trip and would really like a refund of some sort as this was a waste of money. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
there wasn't any
The weak points
The hotel was very dirty,lizards, bed bugs, no hot water, my niece was electricuted, the food was horrible,we could not eat anything but cheese and bread, I was very disappointed with the results of this trip, I will never return or tell anyone about it
Certified

OASIS ISLAZUL at Varadero

, Calgary, Al
2013-04-29
absolutely unacceptable place to stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
No strong points at all.
The weak points
Cockroachs in the room, no toilet seat,unable close the doors to patio (it's always the gap between door frame and door), unbelievably dirty inside the room, terrible food, 98% staff does not speak in English, fleas on the beach.
Certified

Value for Money

, Toronto, ON
2013-04-03
The experience was good in comparrison to the valu. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Best bit is the nicest beach and very private; swimming pool very clean; all new lounge chairs; staff very freindly
The weak points
Food was bland; open bar was very inconsistent in what was offered on any given day;
Certified

Great vacation

, Callander, ON
2013-03-28
Built in 1956 structure needs maintenance and upgrade. Pleasant stay, good, varied, fresh, food. international guests for interesting conversations and interactions. Professional,caring staff. Clean, order,safe in all sense. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach, sea, nature, friendliness of staff, order and clean. healthy fresh food.
The weak points
buildings need maintenance and upgrade
Certified

2 Stars...max!

, Edmonton, AB
2013-03-12
The people are nice, both customers and staff, the surroundings are OK, but don't stay here if you are hoping for a resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff are decent folk, the beach is rather empty, the echo's of a bygone era ring in the air with a certain charm. Meet adventure tourists who are not interested in being pampered, and travel perhaps more for the place than the amenities.
The weak points
The mens public washroom was disgusting, not toilet seats, stunk, no T.P., water always on the floor, I mean...come on...the evening entertainment seems more like a hustle than a show.
Certified

Do not go!

, Edmonton, AB
2013-03-11
I had to change hotel on the second day. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Closest hotel from the airport.
The weak points
Should be only one star. Not enough choice of food. The part of the beach is disgusting.
Certified

As Expected

, Neebing, ON
2013-03-08
We wanted to go somewhere quiet, to relax, lay in the sun, the Oasis was perfect for that. This is a 2 star hotel, it stands alone across the canal from the other hotels. I wouldn't bring my family there, it's too quiet, no water sports or entertainment. However, the food was OK, we didn't starve,the drinks were cold and plentiful, lots of chairs on the beach, no pedlars, the pool area was clean with brand new loungers, the room was clean, plenty of hot water, the staff where friendly and all spoke English. For the price who could complain and I didn't have to shovel any snow! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Quiet, friendly staff, clean.
The weak points
Limited menu, isolated location.
Certified

HORRIBLE OLD HOTEL

, Montreal, QC
2013-02-11
I BOOKED THIS RESORT FOR A FRIEND OF MINE WHILE HE WAS VISITING ME IN CUBA AND WAS EXTREMELY DISSAPOINTED. THIS HOTEL WAS OLD, BROKEN DOWN, DIRTY, SERVICE WAS LACKING AND THE ROOMS WERE DISGUSTING. BETTER OFF SLEEPING ON THE STREETS. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
CLOSEST HOTEL TO VARADERO AIRPORT
The weak points
PROBABLY THE OLDEST AND WORST HOTEL IN ALL OF VARADERO
Certified

Last minute

, Mississauga, ON
2013-02-09
Accetable for a 2 star. Rooms are large with nice balconies. Bathrooms are in need for renovation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very friendly employees.
The weak points
There was no money exchange at the hotel during my stay. The site seeing busses are not servicing this hotel. Town accessable only by taxi.
Certified

Stayed at aranas doradas instead

, Grande Prairiie, AB
2013-01-16
Before we got their we read reviews and changed hotels, have to say we picked a winner. Nice, pool, food a dog named nena by ocean, people are so great, have kayak and peddle boat, and sail boat, pay $20 to go to snorkel [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Ocean, people, compared to first visit to Cuba food:) activities
The weak points
Kids pee in kid pool( got out and peed in pool)
Certified

U get what u pays for

, Moosejaw, SK
2013-01-09
Clean but the beds are old and uncorforfable but staffs are very friendly [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staffs are friendly but only a few can speaks english
The weak points
Bed are old and uncomfortable and the foods are boring
Certified

Less than expected of a 2 star

, Victoria, BC
2012-01-26
The location was on the outskirts of town. Thus transportation was more expensive. Nothing was in walking distance, so transportation was an inconvenience. I fixed 3 toilets the first 2 days of my stay. The "Italian" restaurant was the worse dining experience I have ever had, in ANY country. The main dining room food was not far from what I expected in a 2 star, but not having enough tableware was a frustrating experience. We used soup bowls for coffee cups in the morning, and occasionally for diner plates at night. The whole week we were there, the hot beverage dispenser never worked properly....except to dispense hot water, so I would get an expresso from the lobby bar and take it to the dining room and add hot water to it for my morning "bowl" of java. Although the majority of the staff were very pleasant and want to please this hotel's 2 stars, is twice what it should be. This hotel should be taken off the Sunwing's list. ...it just makes them look bad. Of the half dozen people who booked into this hotel we were the only ones who stayed. I could go on with more details, but enough said. I think you get the idea. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The sun, sand and beach. The price of the trip.....and other than minor thefts, it was a very safe hotel.
The weak points
Maintenance, Housekeeping,The "Specialty" restaurant, Location, Food preparation and service
Certified

Varadero's worst choice

, Calgary, AB
2011-04-04
So far from Varadero that taxis avoid it and public buses arrive seldom and sporaticly. All inclusive bar closed by 9:45. Seldom evening entertainment. No animators on duty during day. Very few activities. No beach towels.Worst food ever! No daytime snack bar. Majority Russian occupation. Staff awsome. Rooms clean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
What staff were there did thier very best with what they had. The cleanliness of my room as compared to the rest of the property was acceptable.
The weak points
Worst resort property I've ever seen!
Certified

Isolation

, Steinbach, MB
2011-03-09
I have travelled to Cuba numerous times, have lived there twice and under poor conditions, but, the isolation of this hotel is hard to deal with. I transfered asap. And, the food is the worst I have experienced in Cuba, and I am used to Cuban food. This is the first time I have ever given a negative review, I am sorry. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
?????
The weak points
the location is the worst, but it could be overlooked if there was a shuttle or a bus service into town. I tranfered hotels asap
Certified

Exceed my expectation for value seeker

, Markham, ON
2011-01-25
Just to be upfront with you, this is not a high end accomodation. However, if you are a value seeker and can get an all-inclusive package at reasonable price, then you won't be disappointed.

I read the reviews on-line after booking and was concerned about the room conditions. Upon arrival, I asked the front desk staff if they allow us to choose the rooms we want and they happily complied. We toured differnt rooms and found a renovated unit on 2nd floor, away from the pool (noise issue), with new TV & A/C. The bathroom can use some further update but it was serviceable.

And yes, there were no toilet seat in the bathroom, don't ask me why. But all you have to do is ask for it. Their maintenance department will respond within 2 hour or so.

The food was OK, certainly better than McDonald or what you can get in Disney World. You can always dine out at better restaurant in Varadero if you wish. The cost is more than reasonable. We only dine out once and is very nice.

Now, let's chat about cleaniness. In Cuba, they have different standard than North America. It is not that they are not clean, but there are more bugs due to the warmer weather. They have flies as they keep their window open without screen. If you have lived in some warmer cities, you will know what I am talking about. I will certainly take that warm weather with bugs over the deep freeze here in Canada. But that is your personal choice.

Now come to the best part of the vacation, the beach. Whoever said the beach is all rock is probably crippled and can't walk. It is true that the section of the beach right in front of the hotel is rocky, just walk 1 minute to the right and you will find a real nice beach that stretch as far as your eyes can see. The weather cooperated while I was there, 28c for 6 out of 7 days, a bit windy but still can swim.

Another bonus for choosing this location is the cozy environment and friendly guests/staff. We got to meet many nice people from around the world - Russia, Portugal etc,

To sum up, if you are tight on your budget, don't hesitate to go to this hotel. If you have more money to spend, certainly you can find better accomodation elsewhere. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Private beach, friendly helpful staff, close knitted community, you get to know all guest/staff in the resort. Short bus ride from town.
The weak points
the room amenities is similar to Motel 6 or Super 8 chain. Don't expect stellar accomodation at this price. But totally acceptable for folks on a budget
Certified

??

, Napean, ON
2011-01-19
for the price not a bad place at all no bugs food not to bad but a little far from town 40 minute walk or 7 -10 pesos in taxi [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
actually a clean comfortable place to stay for the price food not great but not bad
The weak points
cost of taxi every time you went into town
Certified

Hotel Oasis Islazul

, Sault Ste Marie, ON
2011-01-16
Good experience overall. I know the Varadero area quite well ( 10 times there and counting )so I travel around alot. I don't spend much time at resort, so this place worked well for us. I had a scooter or car every day. Clean and comfortable ( for Cuba standards) , but nothing much near this resort. I had scoped out this resort on a previous trip, so new exactly what to expect. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Small resort, Good location for what I want in cuba
The weak points
Small resort, location may not be what some may want in Cuba.
Certified

Please DO NOT EVER GO THERE

, St Sauveur, QC
2011-01-12
Who ever gave this hotel a rating of 2 stars must have been drunk or mad. I have been blessed to travel all over the world and stay in 5 star hotels down to guest houses in third world countries and this hotel was the worst. Most guest (including myself) had to change rooms (some many times) due to the cockroach infestation. There was also the noise of the doors which would slam (all of them) and be heard throughout the "resort" day and night making it impossible to sleep, or try to nap to catch up on some sleep. The only drink that was available in the "dining room" was water, as they ran out of the orange soft drink and coffee on the first day and basically only served cabbage and some mystery meat. Most people left the hotel to buy food, even though it was an "all-inclusive".
It was NOT worth the money paid, as I did not sleep in 7 days (nights), did not eat at the hotel, and was covered by bites which I am pretty sure are from bed bugs even though I covered myself in repellent each night. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
There are no strong points
The weak points
Cockroaches, Bedbugs, Food, Noise, Location
Certified

The best vacation

, Vancouver, BC
2010-04-07
The Hotel was good a bit old need a touch up here and there, but I had the best time ever and everybody very friendly, the service was excellent, every days the housekeeper was clean up and decorated the bed with heart shapes and flowers,(never had this at the 5 stars Hotel) the last day she gave me a beautyfull present. Every afternoon there was games and dance lessons.I really really enjoy my vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness
The weak points
Food
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021