Grand Memories Varadero

Grand Memories Varadero
3.343.343.343.343.34
3.34 based on 432 reviews
#16 of 64 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Varadero
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (163)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12345

Much needed vacation

, Windsor, ON
2022-10-10
Another awesome vacation at my home away from home. The staff and entertainment are always welcoming and so much fun. Food and drinks are absolutely delicious. They always make me feel like I am an important part of their family. I am already planning my next trip to this amazing hotel. Special thanks to Yamaysi, Hilda, George, Reniers, Mario and so many more for always spoiling me. Thank you for everything ❤️ [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The amazing staff, entertainment team and the beach.
The weak points
Don't have any weak points to add.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
They are doing everything to keep you safe. Absolutely they make your safety a priority.

Great experience

, Longueuil, QC
2022-10-07
I spent a week at Grand Memories Varadero with one of my friends and we had a really good time. We went during the hurricane season right after Ian passed through so the hotel ran on the generator for a day and a half while we were there because of the lack of electricity and the way the staff dealt with the situation was amazing. The hotel staff was so great and positive and made the whole trip so special. I have never experienced hospitality of a high level like this in my life. We truly felt like we were leaving our little Cuban family behind when we got on the bus to leave.

The animation team was so fun. They had activities planned out every day, from bingo to dancing to thematic parties at night. Those guys are sunshines, always up for some good times and laughs. Special mention to El Chino, Madelay and Anais. There was not a boring day that week.
Julio the showman was also very funny, always dressing up in crazy costumes, walking around making people smile.

Lisandra at the beach bar was so lovable, friendly and warm. Always walking around, talking to the guests, making delicious cocktails. We were always happy to see her.

Talia, our room attendant, was also great and thoughtful. She would always make sure we had enough water, towels, etc. I swear guys, those people were the nicest ever.

Yoan, our morning and lunch waiter was super polite and cute. He seemed a little shy, we liked him [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Not happy

, Kamloops, BC
2022-09-07
Ok when we arrived trolleys around hotel did not like cubin money was really rude when we gave it to him when leaving put my luggage back room and was missing flip flops 7 packages cigs also 60 dollars worth cigars someone else we knew where missing diapers also kids clothes out of there room food no flavour all tasted same watch people use same tongs to cook food and touch raw food seen birds land on tables seen girl clean table leaving un used cups and silverware on tables
When trying to get some booze you get a glass want another and they say they ran out pool was very cloudy not clear lots of waitress where really nice I did fine rooms smelt musty I fine in my bathroom small bugs crawling around [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Grand Memories 2022

, Maple Ridge, BC
2022-08-24
I would never come there again, the washrooms don't even have toilet paper during the day at the resort. The pool washroom smeels so bad and ants are crawling all over the toilets. My son lost one of the towels which was left at the pool and they charges us $50 Canadian dollars for a towel. Their WiFi is so annoying you have to get a WiFi card every 4 hours to use it. So each time you have to keep entering new credential every 4 hours and going to the lobby to get a slip. Preety annoying. The snack bar does not have certain items that they offer only 2 or 3 items. The buffee food is usually cold and food is so blend no flavor. I could not wait to leave that property. Also the pool water smells like oil no chlorine in it at all. Watch our for Yolanda there the cleaning ladie she was Preety rude at the begging we asked for a towel and she was like I don't any now and no time. The shower have a wall which is Preety high to get into and older person will have a hard time to get over it. The lights are very dim. You will also have moisture that turned our clothes black. Also the beach has to Manny people selling stuff it's like these volchures keep annoying you when you just came to have a relaxed time with your family. The beach should have been blocked of for outside access. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The lunch place close to the beach it's prerty filthy I saw a cockroach by the buffee. The plates are not that clean.
The weak points
Don't waste your time there go to Ibersostar or International.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Cleaning was done ok but no toilet paper or certain items..
Certified

Vacations

, Brossard, QC
2022-07-07
Great experience, the beach was beautiful and the pool was clean. There was always fun activities animated by the staff that kept us entertained. A special thank you to el choco who always had a great energy and was very welcoming. Every night he was at the club and made everyone dance with his awesome choreographies. We had a lot of fun and we will definitely visit this hotel again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Nice experience at Sanctuary Grand Memories

, Nepean, ON
2022-07-02
I stayed at the Sanctuary from Jun 24 to July 1st. This is exclusive for adults.
The room is nice, except a few small pieces like the stand shower door is loose, the lavabo drain is broken, the toilet room has no fan, so it may have smells.
Aside from that the place is just 20 meters from the beach, the excellent bar, and the pool. The staff was very friendly and helpful anywhere. I especially had personal preferences for 2 butlters: Norvi and Jose Mario, and the bellman Alfredso. These 3 helped me with everything I wanted, including money exchanges.
Everynight, at 8:30, there was always very good music play in the bar, aside from the show at 9:30 in the public grand Memories theater.
The food is not good. But that's Cuba that we already know before booking.

Internet is not very good. We got a piece of paper with username/password for 4 hours. After that we have to go get another one and so on. It is OK, but inconvenient as we have to reconnect often.

I would come back just to find my friends Norvi, Mario and Alfredso.
Loc [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Incredible Staff

, Lloydminster, AB
2022-06-22
Sanctuary stay
Staff 5 Stars!!!! They made this visit absolutely amazing
The beach, absolutely beautiful!!!
Visit the beach bar , Say hi to Amaury and Natali they are two of the best. They take very good care of you even when they ran out of beer(twice) (not the fault of the staff)
See Maryls @ The Navita beach BBQ was very good. Ribs, burgers, hotdogs (tasty)
The Bites snack bar and pool bar . Very amazing staff and try the calamari , as someone who doesn't eat seafood once I tried them I was hooked. Delicious!!
You will be greeted most days by Ana , she is the absolutely amazing. See Sammi, Marle and Ailed (who is also at the Flavors restaurant)and take good care of them. They were all so attentive and make you feels like family.
Flavors is the restaurant and the food is great. We had eggs and bacon almost every morning. They ran out of hashbrowns but again not the fault of the staff.
The lounge next door Rumba Bar , it a great place to have a drink and relax .
The entertainment team El Chino, Marcos, Yelisa, Dayana made our visits to the pool super enjoyable. Always something to. Very good at what they do.
Now there are issues but if you want to go somewhere were you are made to feel like you are wanted this is the place. Every staff member we saw was always smiling.
Now our Concierge, we had two
Thank you to Abel & Adrian
Everyday you started our day with a smile. We never wanted for anything. Took care to make sure had our dinners booked everyday. Anything you need they will do there very best to help.
We attended the Grand Memories section of the resort and it was very disappointing. First breakfast we did have a shining light but unfortunately I didn't get his name.
But the second and third time we didn't even get water or were asked by any staff members if we needed anything. ( we made eye contact with several of them) Huge disconnect between Sanctuary and Grand Memories Smile people !!! It's free!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Sanctuary Staff, beach
The weak points
The Grand Memories staff. Beer should be readily available at any resort.

Great trip!

, Brampton, ON
2022-06-21
Our vacation here was very enjoyable because of the beautiful beach and the kind people. Yamaysis, Liliana, Eliecer, Dwayne and the rest of the staff made our visit a memorable and fun one. It's awesome to be surrounded by kind and helpful people like them. It's like a home away from home. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beautiful beach (clear water) Kind staff Organic fruits Safety

Great staff, especially Adrian

, Mascouche, QC
2022-06-20
I had a great experience at this hotel. We were in the adults only part of it and it was great. The activities were nice, the food was good and the staff was amazing. The staff member who especially stood out to me is Adrian. He was very friendly and helpful for everything we needed. If there's any way you can choose him as your butler I highly recommend it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Very friendly and very helpful.

Beautiful resort with magnificent beach

, Thornhill, ON
2022-05-15
Very nice resort and amazing beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
Internet
Certified

Wonderful resort, wonderful time!

, Scarborough, ON
2022-04-26
We arrived at the resort and were welcomed by the reception staff, specifically Yovani who ensured that the service was quick and organized getting us to our comfortable, clean room. He was incredibly professional and friendly ready to lend a helping hand with our bags, and attend to any questions or needs we had. The food was good with plenty of options. The grounds are expansive and well kept. Perfect for going a walk after a delicious meal. Finally, my favourite part, the beach. The water is beautiful with clean, white sand. There is lots of space and plenty of umbrella's available for some shade. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Grand Memories

, South Greenwood, NS
2022-04-09
Arrived the 31st. Check-in was fast and friendly. our room was clean up and ready. We had a problem with the theater. We got severely covered in bug bites. The pools were beautiful. One pool was closed when we got there, but opened while we were there. Food was decent. As nice as it was, we probably will not go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Food was good, accommodations were good. Pool was very good. Staff was great!
The weak points
Hard to find salt and pepper.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Good
Certified

Overall Review

, Caledon, ON
2022-04-06
The grounds and property were very well maintained. One of the pools was out of commission, it as green algae. Terrible problem to have at a resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Great staff. Sandra in the restaurant/buffets is a fantastic employee. Very helpful and friendly. She should be a Manager. The doctors on staff were very helpful and professional.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
No toilet paper or soap in most washrooms!! Some toilets had no toliet seats!!
Certified

Grand Memories March break

, Ottawa, ON
2022-03-22
The resort is a bit dated. We had to change rooms 3 times. We ended up in building 10 which was substantially better than the first two rooms we had in building 23.
I would highly recommend asking to be put in building 10 if staying at this property.
For the price it was worth it....just make sure to pack an abundance of snacks as the food is definitely not up to par. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

It existed

, Toronto, ON
2021-12-21
My 12 year old son has been chastised for being negative about experiences - so instead of saying he dislikes something, he simply will say it existed. That is an apt description for this resort. Everything was fine, but nothing was great. We received mixed messages constantly about where/how to order food and drinks. Some staff wanted us at a table (covid protocol) but then no one would come to the table as they were serving people from the counter!
there was no poolside drink service. Food was sub-par even for Cuban standards. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The beach was great. The weather was wonderful.
The weak points
Resort had a sewer back up during our stay - which caused unpleasant odours for 2 days. Food was worse than I've ever experienced in Cuba.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Staff wore masks Things were cleaned regularly. Other travels did not mask always
Certified

We had a great time!

, Surrey, BC
2021-09-27
We had a great time at the resort - all the staff were very friendly and bent over backwards to ensure we were taken care of. Covid protocols were in place in the restaurants, lobby and amphitheatre. They are just getting back on track therefore some facilities were unavailable but we were assured that things would be back to normal very soon. Food was good but not a lot of variety partly because they are not running all their a la carte venues yet but the staff did their best. Thank you and we will be back again one day! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Friendly and helpful staff who were eager to assist while also taking the opportunity to practice their English :). Didn't spend a lot of time in the bars but they appeared busy so drinks must have been good !
The weak points
We had an oceanview room in the older building and the air conditioning stopped working at some point almost every day resulting in us having wet walls and floors because of the humidity. Maintenance was quick to respond but weren't able to fix properly
Certified

Grand Memories - no hot water but loved Cuba.

, Meadow Lake, SK
2020-03-17
The worst part of our stay was definitely the resort. Our room had no hot water the entire week we were there and no water pressure for two out of the seven days so showering was out of the question.
Cuba in the other hand was absolutely amazing. The culture, beaches, sun and people were everything plus then we expected. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The grounds were beautiful. Well taken care of and always clean. The pool area was nice and had always ready to go each morning
The weak points
No hot water, no water pressure, and the food was not the best. Any food off the resort we had was wonderful.
Certified

Cuba is beautiful this resort is eh

, North Battleford, SK
2020-03-17
The hotel grounds are huge and beautiful but it does need some upkeep towards the hotel rooms and the pool areas. The food was difficult to enjoy probably the worst food I've had at a resort but I heard off the resort Cuban food is amazing. Drinks were aweful I don't know how people enjoyed them. I barely drank the whole time. The Cuban people were the nicest though and going off resort is completely fine and safe. The beach is beautiful just very small distance for lounging from sand to water. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Safe spot, can go off resort and not be worried.
The weak points
The food was aweful, even the lobster was cooked horribly and I'm not a picky person. Also they don't care for cleaning much, no person picking up drinks by the pool or taking orders like in Mexico, same with the food area no one picking up plates etc.
Certified

Last Minute Getaway

, North Bay, ON
2020-03-17
One reason why we choose this resort was because we had a wonderful experience there last March. This year we were disappointed. Our room was clean but the furniture was in poor condition and some broken. The glasses for drinking water had a thick layer of film. Our mattress needed to be replaced as we could feel all the springs. Staff were kind and helpful but it seemed like more staff were needed to keep up with the crowds. There was plenty of food and it was what we expected from our visit last year. The sun was shinning and the waves in the ocean did not disappoint. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful gardens Friendly staff
The weak points
Some rude pushy guests Terrible mattress Broken furniture
Certified

Good Times

, Brantford, ON
2020-03-16
Staff were the best. Yohan in particular. Thanks Yohan! Food was above any reviews I read regarding food in Cuba. Looking forward to the next time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Felt safe bringing our children there.
The weak points
Maybe label the oils at the salad bar. Avoid the peak hours and there will be less lining up for things.
Certified

Very busy place

, Toronto, ON
2020-03-14
The place is overrated. It has 4.5stars and the actual Is 3 or maybe less. The staff is giving their best, but it is obvious that is really hard to please everyone, especially when you have to deal with thousands of people. It's not a place for people with kids, eventhough it has the kids club. The roads are busy with transportation cars who sometimes are driven fast and can jeopardize your kid life. The food is one dimensional which is kind of normal when you have to serve huge number of people on a daily basis. It is ok for younger generations and singles, who appreciate the crowd and live music and programs. Overall, we had a nice time there and those comments weren't made to complain but to help other people. If you ask me, would I ever go there again, the answer is NO...cause there are much better places ...it's just not the place you want to visit twice. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Grand Memoris Varadero.

, Kelowna, BC
2020-03-14
This resort was the worst, where we ever were. In 2 weeks of our vacations we had only 3 days with worm water in room. Absolutely lack of hygiene in restaurant. We were poisoned by papaya, and not only we, I sow no ones like people were vomiting on the grass.Workers preparing food in restaurant were working without gloves. Beach was so crowded, bed by bed. "Music" was over the reasonable decibels.
These resort should be classified as a 2.5 stars, not 4.5 stars.We are not recommended that resort at all. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Grand memories

, Sundridge, ON
2020-03-10
Grand Memories Varadero!!
Well 6 of us had a vacation at this hotel. We all would give it 3 star (that rating is on the high side!) not a 4 star. The buildings were run down ! First day, arrived at the resort Aprox 9pm got our room keys well after 11pm. Because the flight was delayed and because checkin took so long we were unable to get any food other than at the snack bar. Went to the snack bar where the wait staff didnt seem to happy to see all six of us and we received hamburgers that were black and hard as a puck with premelted cheese that was dried out. When we finally got to the room we noticed the odours and also realized we didn't receive our pool towels. The first morning we went to customer service and had to request that we get them, We ended up doing this a couple of times over the course of two days running as we needed to make sure we at least had them for check out or pay $20 per towel. It took two days to get them . The rooms that we stayed in require renovations as there was mold in the bathroom . The room stunk like pesticide, mold and sewage, no coffee maker , radio did not work, walls were dirty and the balcony glass door was virtually inpossible to open to try and get rid of the smell. Day 2 of our vacation we couldn't get in our room several times because of faulty key cards. Not once not twice but three or four times on the Saturday and each time it was a 10 min walk to front desk and 10 min walk back to the room . The Recepition desk did not seem to concerned and stated each time that we should not keep our cell phones next to the cards. Both my Husband and I are reasonably well traveled and have both worked in Resorts with this technology so we know to keep our key cards sepreatly on our person and away from anything magnetic. they tried to pass the problem off as our mistake and did not try hard enough to resolve it . Each time when we were told the card were reset we would go back to try the key and still it would not work. Finally after 2 days and several times approaching front desk and customer servive then had to get a mechanic to actually fix the lock. Finally the door lock was fixed and we were able to use one of the card to access our room. Did not say anything about the second key as we figured we were ahead of the game with at least one key that actually worked. During the week our beds were made everyday but not changed. we did not get clean towels .we had to use two small towels for the week which because of the humidity never really dried and started to smell of mold by our last day. there were no face cloths and hand towels , we almost ran out of toilet paper as they supplied us with half rolls . While taking a shower the whole shower head unit fell hit head and scraped leg .The bathroom was never wiped down or cleaned . The front lobby/Lounge Which was very very busy daily was well maintained but as I was informed that mens washroom (only one mens washroom within this building, the rest a good walking distance away). The friday we arrived one out of the three urinals was not working by Monday two urinals were not working and by Thursday morning all urinals were broken and wrapped up! We believe through out our entire stay they were operating at maximum capacity (2100 guests we were told). We recognized that they were short staff through out the week. The food and beverage manager was constantly berating his staff throught meal time throughout the buffet. They only had one buffet up and running until they reopened the second buffet to dimond class guests only . The rest of the guests were made to line up during every meal. There was nowhere else to eat other than the snack bar mentioned above.After a week of holidays , I do not recommend this place to anyone as the current rating . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Vacances très agréable

, Saint Liboire, QC
2020-02-26
Bel hotel dans l'ensemble mais avançant en âge... nous avons eu une chambre en bon état et relativement propre mais il semble que ça ne soit pas le cas de tous, selon les commentaires entendus. En ce qui nous concernait, à part le manque de serviette à l'arrivée et le coffre-fort qui avait été verrouillé ouvert par le précédent locataire, nous n'avons pas eu à nous plaindre. Nous avons simplement avisé la réception et le tout a été réglé dans l'heure. La bouffe était bien au-delà de nos espérances. Aliments frais, bien apprêté et en variété suffisante pour qu'il soit possible de se créer soi-même des menus différents chaque jour. Je me suis régalée avec les moules toute la semaine en plus, il y avait un bar à pâte qui devait être excellent considérant la file d'attente. Je n'avais pas la patience d'attendre donc je ne peux en témoigner ;) Évidemment, il s'agit principalement d'un buffet donc, il revient à chacun de choisir ce qu'il met dans son assiette pour que ce soit varié. Au restaurant à la carte nous avons très bien mangé mais nous avons eu la surprise de ne pas pouvoir se faire servir de café sur place vu qu'il y a un comptoir à café dans le lobby. Comme le café servi au lobby est excellent, c'était un déception bien vite oubliée. La plage est magnifique et très longue pour ceux qui comme moi, aime marcher. Certaines sections étaient affectées par les algues mais ce n'était pas la norme générale. C'était la saison de migration des méduses alors nous avions été avisé d'être vigilants. Nous en avons vu qui s'étaient échouées sur la plage mais dans l'eau, il n'y a pas eu d'incidents rapportés.
Nous avons assisté à seulement 2 spectacles de soir soit Michael Jackson (excellent ! tant au niveau de la danse que du chant) et Queen qui était bien au niveau de la danse mais pour le reste c'était du lipsing donc, nous n'avons pas apprécié. Au bar Cubano il y a le groupe rock Ace avec Sylvia et Sam... (désolée pour les autres membres dont je ne connais pas le nom mais qui sont aussi excellents) Ils ont joué 3 soirs durant notre séjour et ils ont été notre "entertainment" préféré. Si vous aimé Deaf Leppard, Paul McCartney, 4 non blondes etc, vous y trouverez votre compte sans l'ombre d'un doute. Dans l'ensemble, nous avons eu du très bon service de la part du personnel, que ce soit au bar, ou au restaurant, à la chambre où Annie veillait à ce que tout soit à notre goût ou Jose le chauffeur de navette avec son jouet cochon en guise de claxon, qui est particulièrement charmant, chacun y met du sien pour que notre séjour soit agréable.
J'ai été heureuse du peu de moustique lors de notre séjour. Quelques piqûres mais pas pire que ce que nous connaissons chez nous.
Nous avons eu un bon prix et nous en avons eu pour notre argent. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Plage, nourriture, service
The weak points
Certaines salle de bain publiques sont moins bien entretenue, accès au wi-fi payant et disponible seulement au lobby
Certified

Unhappy experience

, Moncton, NB
2020-02-24
We were recently at grand memories and really quite disappointed with most of the resort. Specifically with the food, ice and lack of water. These were things we expressed throughout the week and yet we were given extra a la cartes( thank goodness), the breakfast and lunch were dreadful and I had 2 drinks the entire week, as having a warm drink on a hot day is less than appealing. The barhrooms on the resort were a sin. Filthy and no doors locked and never any toilet paper or soap. It made for a poor experience to grand memories. The beach was beautiful of course, but as on the picture we see when booking, we were not allowed to sit on the blue lawn chairs on the beach as they were for a higher class, we actually laid on the sand on towels one day, because the only white chairs available were all broken. We never had a glass of ice water the entire week. Only warm water from water bottles. My mojitos is my favourite drink, I had 1 and left it. Because if I wanted a warm mojitios, I could make my own. We got a bottle of champagne delivered to our room, because we were on our honeymoon and for our troubles, yet we couldn't get any glasses all week to drink it , so it stayed in the room unopened. I think for the amount people pay, the resort really needs to start reinvesting some money back into the resort as it seems it's being let go. I might mention our bed sheets stunk so badly and when they changed our bath towels, we got new dirty ones. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, weather
The weak points
Food, drink, water, ice, dirty bathrooms, no unbroken lawn chairs available
Certified

Disappointed

, Carman, MB
2020-02-13
The staff were overall very friendly and willing to do what was needed to make sure we had the best stay possible. But the extensive mold in our room was something we could not ignore. The smell hit us every time we walked in our room and my wife started to have breathing problems. Looking into where the air conditioner was, the mold was everywhere and thick. Was asked to be moved and went to the sanctuary which was a lot better. The part that disappoints me the most is that I know that they put someone else in that room right away with out getting rid of the mold which means it's an issue that they are comfortable keeping. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The people. Our butler norvi was amazing and so was Claude who was the manager of the restaurant. If you want to have less crowds and relax with great service book at the sanctuary.
The weak points
Mold. I didn't talk to one guest who didn't experience or see mold on there trip. It seems that instead of bleaching mold they just paint over it and then is comes thru the paint. The main area by the buffet always had bad smells as well.
Certified

Grand Memories Varadero

, Edmonton, AB
2020-02-11
Usually something going on at one of the pools or on the beach. Amazing coffee bar, you'll find something you like even if you don't like coffee. Cats and dogs wander freely but they're very friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Usually something going on at one of the pools or on the beach. Amazing coffee bar, you'll find something you like even if you don't like coffee. Cats and dogs wander freely but they're very friendly.
The weak points
Walkways not big enough for carts and pedestrians to share. Wifi didn't always work even in the designated zones. Rooms are very dated, could use a paint job. Has adults only section but otherwise there's kids everywhere.
Certified

Grand Memories

, Ottawa, ON
2020-02-10
Beautiful beaches!! Kind and caring staff! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Just OK - Not recommended

, Kitchener, HA
2020-02-05
I want to share with you our rough start to our well deserved week of vacation at the NOT SO Grand Memories Varadero.
We arrive at our room at 10 PM finding the light outside our door was out, and it remained that way for the remaining week of our stay, even though we asked for it to be looked at. Our room keys did not work and had to go back to the front desk so they could reprogram them properly. The power plate on the wall fell in pieces on the floor so we had to try to make it work but putting it back together and placing the key in very so carefully. We quickly realized the air conditioning was NOT working. Pleasantly surprised it was fixed asap.
The towels in the in the room for showers and beach are not soft and dingy white, just old. Bathroom was old and had a lot of tiles out of place. The bathtub/shower combo was very difficult to get in and out of as the bath is about 20 inches high. Short people or elderly people with disabilities would have a big time problem bathing. All of the furniture throughout the resort is old and shows stains and even missing cushions in a lot of the public seating areas. Furniture was often not feeling clean. Our shower nozzle was broken and we had to make it work with an elastic band we happened to have with us. The only good thing about our room was that the shower water pressure and water temperature was awesome every shower. On the trip description it shows 2 buffets. They don't tell you that only one is in working and running order. To serve a sold out hotel with over 1000 rooms 1 buffet is not acceptable. We had to wait in line ups during our entire visit. Line up at the buffet to get in, and long lines if you wanted a fresh scrambled egg / omelet, fresh fish or pasta. Otherwise you are bumping into other people with the rest of the buffet options. Always, always a line up for the CAFE they had for special coffees etc. Always a line up at the bar no matter what time of day. I feel the resort does not have the proper facilities or staff to accommodate sold out property. We exchanged our money directly at the hotel, which again had long lines (when they were open) that sometimes over 30 minute wait. The internet connection was not the greatest at the best of times. The number of guests wanting to use the internet probably slowed it down. It was always a hit or miss to get onto the internet. The beach was lovely, but not a lot of sand to allow for lounge chairs. The sand was soft but there was sticks seaweed and other stuff but didn't hurt your feet. The warm sun also did not burn your feet walking on the sand. The beach at times seemed over crowded and too busy. However, earlier during our stay the beach was barely being used, and was easy to find chairs. The only main pool during a few of the days were filled with drunk people and the entertainment staff having the music way too loud. We at times had trouble finding chairs. We went to the oriental a la carte, and had a chicken and rice dish. We enjoyed this dish and wanted to eat there every night if we could. Over the week we only stuck to the same foods as we were afraid of getting sick. We did hear about several people getting sick but don;t know the circumstances.
We do not recommend this resort, and will probably try other destinations before we go back to Cuba. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice beach atmosphere. Building 24 is close to the beach and pools and buffet, lobby and lobby bar.
The weak points
Too crowded and too many line ups
Certified

Grand memories

, Bracebridge , ON
2020-02-03
Had great time
Visited this location many times
Will again soon
Thanks staff
Carlos , meme , and too many others to thank [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff and manager
The weak points
Room maintenance
Certified
pages: 12345

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2022