Grand Memories Varadero

Grand Memories Varadero
3.323.323.323.323.32
3.32 based on 405 reviews
#24 of 65 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Varadero
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (149)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 1234

Grand Memories - no hot water but loved Cuba.

, Meadow Lake, SK
2020-03-17
The worst part of our stay was definitely the resort. Our room had no hot water the entire week we were there and no water pressure for two out of the seven days so showering was out of the question.
Cuba in the other hand was absolutely amazing. The culture, beaches, sun and people were everything plus then we expected. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The grounds were beautiful. Well taken care of and always clean. The pool area was nice and had always ready to go each morning
The weak points
No hot water, no water pressure, and the food was not the best. Any food off the resort we had was wonderful.
Certified

Cuba is beautiful this resort is eh

, North Battleford, SK
2020-03-17
The hotel grounds are huge and beautiful but it does need some upkeep towards the hotel rooms and the pool areas. The food was difficult to enjoy probably the worst food I've had at a resort but I heard off the resort Cuban food is amazing. Drinks were aweful I don't know how people enjoyed them. I barely drank the whole time. The Cuban people were the nicest though and going off resort is completely fine and safe. The beach is beautiful just very small distance for lounging from sand to water. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Safe spot, can go off resort and not be worried.
The weak points
The food was aweful, even the lobster was cooked horribly and I'm not a picky person. Also they don't care for cleaning much, no person picking up drinks by the pool or taking orders like in Mexico, same with the food area no one picking up plates etc.
Certified

Last Minute Getaway

, North Bay, ON
2020-03-17
One reason why we choose this resort was because we had a wonderful experience there last March. This year we were disappointed. Our room was clean but the furniture was in poor condition and some broken. The glasses for drinking water had a thick layer of film. Our mattress needed to be replaced as we could feel all the springs. Staff were kind and helpful but it seemed like more staff were needed to keep up with the crowds. There was plenty of food and it was what we expected from our visit last year. The sun was shinning and the waves in the ocean did not disappoint. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful gardens Friendly staff
The weak points
Some rude pushy guests Terrible mattress Broken furniture
Certified

Good Times

, Brantford, ON
2020-03-16
Staff were the best. Yohan in particular. Thanks Yohan! Food was above any reviews I read regarding food in Cuba. Looking forward to the next time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Felt safe bringing our children there.
The weak points
Maybe label the oils at the salad bar. Avoid the peak hours and there will be less lining up for things.
Certified

Very busy place

, Toronto, ON
2020-03-14
The place is overrated. It has 4.5stars and the actual Is 3 or maybe less. The staff is giving their best, but it is obvious that is really hard to please everyone, especially when you have to deal with thousands of people. It's not a place for people with kids, eventhough it has the kids club. The roads are busy with transportation cars who sometimes are driven fast and can jeopardize your kid life. The food is one dimensional which is kind of normal when you have to serve huge number of people on a daily basis. It is ok for younger generations and singles, who appreciate the crowd and live music and programs. Overall, we had a nice time there and those comments weren't made to complain but to help other people. If you ask me, would I ever go there again, the answer is NO...cause there are much better places ...it's just not the place you want to visit twice. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Grand Memoris Varadero.

, Kelowna, BC
2020-03-14
This resort was the worst, where we ever were. In 2 weeks of our vacations we had only 3 days with worm water in room. Absolutely lack of hygiene in restaurant. We were poisoned by papaya, and not only we, I sow no ones like people were vomiting on the grass.Workers preparing food in restaurant were working without gloves. Beach was so crowded, bed by bed. "Music" was over the reasonable decibels.
These resort should be classified as a 2.5 stars, not 4.5 stars.We are not recommended that resort at all. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Grand memories

, Sundridge, ON
2020-03-10
Grand Memories Varadero!!
Well 6 of us had a vacation at this hotel. We all would give it 3 star (that rating is on the high side!) not a 4 star. The buildings were run down ! First day, arrived at the resort Aprox 9pm got our room keys well after 11pm. Because the flight was delayed and because checkin took so long we were unable to get any food other than at the snack bar. Went to the snack bar where the wait staff didnt seem to happy to see all six of us and we received hamburgers that were black and hard as a puck with premelted cheese that was dried out. When we finally got to the room we noticed the odours and also realized we didn't receive our pool towels. The first morning we went to customer service and had to request that we get them, We ended up doing this a couple of times over the course of two days running as we needed to make sure we at least had them for check out or pay $20 per towel. It took two days to get them . The rooms that we stayed in require renovations as there was mold in the bathroom . The room stunk like pesticide, mold and sewage, no coffee maker , radio did not work, walls were dirty and the balcony glass door was virtually inpossible to open to try and get rid of the smell. Day 2 of our vacation we couldn't get in our room several times because of faulty key cards. Not once not twice but three or four times on the Saturday and each time it was a 10 min walk to front desk and 10 min walk back to the room . The Recepition desk did not seem to concerned and stated each time that we should not keep our cell phones next to the cards. Both my Husband and I are reasonably well traveled and have both worked in Resorts with this technology so we know to keep our key cards sepreatly on our person and away from anything magnetic. they tried to pass the problem off as our mistake and did not try hard enough to resolve it . Each time when we were told the card were reset we would go back to try the key and still it would not work. Finally after 2 days and several times approaching front desk and customer servive then had to get a mechanic to actually fix the lock. Finally the door lock was fixed and we were able to use one of the card to access our room. Did not say anything about the second key as we figured we were ahead of the game with at least one key that actually worked. During the week our beds were made everyday but not changed. we did not get clean towels .we had to use two small towels for the week which because of the humidity never really dried and started to smell of mold by our last day. there were no face cloths and hand towels , we almost ran out of toilet paper as they supplied us with half rolls . While taking a shower the whole shower head unit fell hit head and scraped leg .The bathroom was never wiped down or cleaned . The front lobby/Lounge Which was very very busy daily was well maintained but as I was informed that mens washroom (only one mens washroom within this building, the rest a good walking distance away). The friday we arrived one out of the three urinals was not working by Monday two urinals were not working and by Thursday morning all urinals were broken and wrapped up! We believe through out our entire stay they were operating at maximum capacity (2100 guests we were told). We recognized that they were short staff through out the week. The food and beverage manager was constantly berating his staff throught meal time throughout the buffet. They only had one buffet up and running until they reopened the second buffet to dimond class guests only . The rest of the guests were made to line up during every meal. There was nowhere else to eat other than the snack bar mentioned above.After a week of holidays , I do not recommend this place to anyone as the current rating . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Vacances très agréable

, Saint Liboire, QC
2020-02-26
Bel hotel dans l'ensemble mais avançant en âge... nous avons eu une chambre en bon état et relativement propre mais il semble que ça ne soit pas le cas de tous, selon les commentaires entendus. En ce qui nous concernait, à part le manque de serviette à l'arrivée et le coffre-fort qui avait été verrouillé ouvert par le précédent locataire, nous n'avons pas eu à nous plaindre. Nous avons simplement avisé la réception et le tout a été réglé dans l'heure. La bouffe était bien au-delà de nos espérances. Aliments frais, bien apprêté et en variété suffisante pour qu'il soit possible de se créer soi-même des menus différents chaque jour. Je me suis régalée avec les moules toute la semaine en plus, il y avait un bar à pâte qui devait être excellent considérant la file d'attente. Je n'avais pas la patience d'attendre donc je ne peux en témoigner ;) Évidemment, il s'agit principalement d'un buffet donc, il revient à chacun de choisir ce qu'il met dans son assiette pour que ce soit varié. Au restaurant à la carte nous avons très bien mangé mais nous avons eu la surprise de ne pas pouvoir se faire servir de café sur place vu qu'il y a un comptoir à café dans le lobby. Comme le café servi au lobby est excellent, c'était un déception bien vite oubliée. La plage est magnifique et très longue pour ceux qui comme moi, aime marcher. Certaines sections étaient affectées par les algues mais ce n'était pas la norme générale. C'était la saison de migration des méduses alors nous avions été avisé d'être vigilants. Nous en avons vu qui s'étaient échouées sur la plage mais dans l'eau, il n'y a pas eu d'incidents rapportés.
Nous avons assisté à seulement 2 spectacles de soir soit Michael Jackson (excellent ! tant au niveau de la danse que du chant) et Queen qui était bien au niveau de la danse mais pour le reste c'était du lipsing donc, nous n'avons pas apprécié. Au bar Cubano il y a le groupe rock Ace avec Sylvia et Sam... (désolée pour les autres membres dont je ne connais pas le nom mais qui sont aussi excellents) Ils ont joué 3 soirs durant notre séjour et ils ont été notre "entertainment" préféré. Si vous aimé Deaf Leppard, Paul McCartney, 4 non blondes etc, vous y trouverez votre compte sans l'ombre d'un doute. Dans l'ensemble, nous avons eu du très bon service de la part du personnel, que ce soit au bar, ou au restaurant, à la chambre où Annie veillait à ce que tout soit à notre goût ou Jose le chauffeur de navette avec son jouet cochon en guise de claxon, qui est particulièrement charmant, chacun y met du sien pour que notre séjour soit agréable.
J'ai été heureuse du peu de moustique lors de notre séjour. Quelques piqûres mais pas pire que ce que nous connaissons chez nous.
Nous avons eu un bon prix et nous en avons eu pour notre argent. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Plage, nourriture, service
The weak points
Certaines salle de bain publiques sont moins bien entretenue, accès au wi-fi payant et disponible seulement au lobby
Certified

Unhappy experience

, Moncton, NB
2020-02-24
We were recently at grand memories and really quite disappointed with most of the resort. Specifically with the food, ice and lack of water. These were things we expressed throughout the week and yet we were given extra a la cartes( thank goodness), the breakfast and lunch were dreadful and I had 2 drinks the entire week, as having a warm drink on a hot day is less than appealing. The barhrooms on the resort were a sin. Filthy and no doors locked and never any toilet paper or soap. It made for a poor experience to grand memories. The beach was beautiful of course, but as on the picture we see when booking, we were not allowed to sit on the blue lawn chairs on the beach as they were for a higher class, we actually laid on the sand on towels one day, because the only white chairs available were all broken. We never had a glass of ice water the entire week. Only warm water from water bottles. My mojitos is my favourite drink, I had 1 and left it. Because if I wanted a warm mojitios, I could make my own. We got a bottle of champagne delivered to our room, because we were on our honeymoon and for our troubles, yet we couldn't get any glasses all week to drink it , so it stayed in the room unopened. I think for the amount people pay, the resort really needs to start reinvesting some money back into the resort as it seems it's being let go. I might mention our bed sheets stunk so badly and when they changed our bath towels, we got new dirty ones. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, weather
The weak points
Food, drink, water, ice, dirty bathrooms, no unbroken lawn chairs available
Certified

Disappointed

, Carman, MB
2020-02-13
The staff were overall very friendly and willing to do what was needed to make sure we had the best stay possible. But the extensive mold in our room was something we could not ignore. The smell hit us every time we walked in our room and my wife started to have breathing problems. Looking into where the air conditioner was, the mold was everywhere and thick. Was asked to be moved and went to the sanctuary which was a lot better. The part that disappoints me the most is that I know that they put someone else in that room right away with out getting rid of the mold which means it's an issue that they are comfortable keeping. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The people. Our butler norvi was amazing and so was Claude who was the manager of the restaurant. If you want to have less crowds and relax with great service book at the sanctuary.
The weak points
Mold. I didn't talk to one guest who didn't experience or see mold on there trip. It seems that instead of bleaching mold they just paint over it and then is comes thru the paint. The main area by the buffet always had bad smells as well.
Certified

Grand Memories Varadero

, Edmonton, AB
2020-02-11
Usually something going on at one of the pools or on the beach. Amazing coffee bar, you'll find something you like even if you don't like coffee. Cats and dogs wander freely but they're very friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Usually something going on at one of the pools or on the beach. Amazing coffee bar, you'll find something you like even if you don't like coffee. Cats and dogs wander freely but they're very friendly.
The weak points
Walkways not big enough for carts and pedestrians to share. Wifi didn't always work even in the designated zones. Rooms are very dated, could use a paint job. Has adults only section but otherwise there's kids everywhere.
Certified

Grand Memories

, Ottawa, ON
2020-02-10
Beautiful beaches!! Kind and caring staff! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Just OK - Not recommended

, Kitchener, HA
2020-02-05
I want to share with you our rough start to our well deserved week of vacation at the NOT SO Grand Memories Varadero.
We arrive at our room at 10 PM finding the light outside our door was out, and it remained that way for the remaining week of our stay, even though we asked for it to be looked at. Our room keys did not work and had to go back to the front desk so they could reprogram them properly. The power plate on the wall fell in pieces on the floor so we had to try to make it work but putting it back together and placing the key in very so carefully. We quickly realized the air conditioning was NOT working. Pleasantly surprised it was fixed asap.
The towels in the in the room for showers and beach are not soft and dingy white, just old. Bathroom was old and had a lot of tiles out of place. The bathtub/shower combo was very difficult to get in and out of as the bath is about 20 inches high. Short people or elderly people with disabilities would have a big time problem bathing. All of the furniture throughout the resort is old and shows stains and even missing cushions in a lot of the public seating areas. Furniture was often not feeling clean. Our shower nozzle was broken and we had to make it work with an elastic band we happened to have with us. The only good thing about our room was that the shower water pressure and water temperature was awesome every shower. On the trip description it shows 2 buffets. They don't tell you that only one is in working and running order. To serve a sold out hotel with over 1000 rooms 1 buffet is not acceptable. We had to wait in line ups during our entire visit. Line up at the buffet to get in, and long lines if you wanted a fresh scrambled egg / omelet, fresh fish or pasta. Otherwise you are bumping into other people with the rest of the buffet options. Always, always a line up for the CAFE they had for special coffees etc. Always a line up at the bar no matter what time of day. I feel the resort does not have the proper facilities or staff to accommodate sold out property. We exchanged our money directly at the hotel, which again had long lines (when they were open) that sometimes over 30 minute wait. The internet connection was not the greatest at the best of times. The number of guests wanting to use the internet probably slowed it down. It was always a hit or miss to get onto the internet. The beach was lovely, but not a lot of sand to allow for lounge chairs. The sand was soft but there was sticks seaweed and other stuff but didn't hurt your feet. The warm sun also did not burn your feet walking on the sand. The beach at times seemed over crowded and too busy. However, earlier during our stay the beach was barely being used, and was easy to find chairs. The only main pool during a few of the days were filled with drunk people and the entertainment staff having the music way too loud. We at times had trouble finding chairs. We went to the oriental a la carte, and had a chicken and rice dish. We enjoyed this dish and wanted to eat there every night if we could. Over the week we only stuck to the same foods as we were afraid of getting sick. We did hear about several people getting sick but don;t know the circumstances.
We do not recommend this resort, and will probably try other destinations before we go back to Cuba. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice beach atmosphere. Building 24 is close to the beach and pools and buffet, lobby and lobby bar.
The weak points
Too crowded and too many line ups
Certified

Grand memories

, Bracebridge , ON
2020-02-03
Had great time
Visited this location many times
Will again soon
Thanks staff
Carlos , meme , and too many others to thank [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff and manager
The weak points
Room maintenance
Certified

Impressions of our stay - January 20th to the 27th

, Gatineau, QC
2020-02-03
My boyfriend and I were at Grand Memories Varadero the week of January 20th to the 27th. Our package included the Diamond Club benefits. It was an interesting stay I must say. I enjoyed my stay as I'm the type of person that will not let any negativity get in the way of a good vacation; I will always make the best of it. We were in the company of good friends and lots of laughter was had by everyone. However, I will admit that I came home not being a fan of Varadero which is sad as I had heard so many good things about it. Because of that, I think my expectations were too high. It is a known fact that there is a lot of poverty in Cuba but to see it right in my face was very difficult but that is what happens when you go on excursions. There were some positives and some negatives to our trip and I have listed some of them below. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff (especially Jesus at the Diamond Club buffet). Grounds clean/nice. Access to beach right behind our building (#24). Own space at the beach. Good entertainment at one pool/less at 2nd one. Room clean and nice. Restaurants good. Excursions great
The weak points
Poor Wi-Fi. Pools not clean (butts and empty glasses). Bad sewage smell close to the buffet. Food at the buffet always cold. Too many tips to give for bathroom use on excursions for just putting water in the bowl. Ridiculous.
Certified

20 dollar room in canada bottom of the barrel

, Cambridge, ON
2020-01-30
95% horable experience upon arrival had to bring our own luggage to our room no one took us for a tour or to our room we were made to find it our self then our room was 3 single beds for two adults and 2 kids then had to walk back to the front desk ask for another room they gave us another 1 king bed 1 single at this time was 1 am and we arrived at 10pm so tired woke up in morning with bathroom toilet flooded bathroom so we got our 3rd room and all this we had to move are own stuff with no help from staffbut we finally got 2 single beds 2 double beds but you could feel every spring in them they were 5 dollar mattresses shoulders and backs are broke also had to use use the beach towels for blankets heat didn't work or air conditioning 3rd day the air worked and finally had gotten hot water for showers food what can i say its cuba so wasn't expecting much but i wasn't expecting 7 days of pepto bismal and Imodium all we ate was safe food but still very hard to eat my husband got sick throwing up 1 night after the cuban restaurant in resort we lived on undercooked chicken white rice and tons of bread for a week he rest of the food isnt eatable service from resort in cuba from last yr was 100% diff experiance it seems they pack this place with drunks not a family resort at all the kids game room was open 1 day for like 30 min rest of time was closed the tv was old as dirt and everything was green and purple lmao what can i say totally horable resort from staff to room to food but the weather was great... thing is staff says yes to everything as they cant speek any english you complain about anything they say yes and thank you but dont resolve anything about your issue took 2 days to finally get a shitty run down room but there was finally a bed for everyone this is a 1/2 star resort unless your gonna be drunk 24 /7 while your there and 3 diff days there was 4-6 security with drunk russians fighting not a place for kids or family [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
95% crap service or no service food isnt eatable under cooked beach is okay but 3 miles from my room you have to walk kids club closed whole time i was there tv beds are garbage the whole experiance was a nightmare buldoze it already and fire everyone
Certified

Not so Grand Memories

, Chilliwack, BC
2020-01-29
This hotel is very tired. Sold as a 4 -1/2 star but no where close even by southern all inclusive standards. I had heard the food in Cuba was bad but it was way worse than expected. (we are not fussy people have traveled by road all through Mexico). Spend a bit more and go to Mexico. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pools
The weak points
Everything else
Certified

So disappointed, my family vacay was ruined

, Hamilton, ON
2020-01-20
I had my honeymoon and family vacation ruined by this resort. As returning customers we were expecting at least a decent stay. Unfortunately they dumped us all in Block 12 which is absolutely falling apart. Out of 15 or so rooms we had, four had to be changed immediately due to disgusting or unfit conditions. Dried pee in room washrooms and on the floor, dirty floors and sheets, broken showers in rooms that were already made up from previous guests. Many of the other rooms had propblems that were not worth the complaints, but at $150/night PER PERSON, we expected at least a functioning room. There is also a shortage of bath towels because the staff are selling them. They will not provide towels and the phones in block 12 don't work so you must walk to the front to ask for them and are told there aren't any more available. Very disappointing. Do yourself a favour and find another resort to go to. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- nice beach, but not enough chairs for everyone
The weak points
- rooms are not acceptable for the price - buffet ran out of items and had a huge line - bars ran out of ice and cups

Bad hotel room

, Montréal, QC
2020-01-07
We came back from Cuba yesterday and feel like we have to say sth about the hotel room. We arrived on 30th December at the hotel and were excited by the beautiful landscape in the hotel complex, but when we got in the room, my heart fell. It is not a functioning room. The safe is not working, telephone not working, TV not working, no curtain on the side window, wood cracked, bath room door cannot close, balcony door cannot open, walls dirty, and part of the dropped ceiling in the doorway was cracked and collapsed a bit . A four-star plus hotel room? what a joke! I would call it a machine room. Fortunately, the bed was still working. I reported the problems and requested a room change. They said there wasn't one single room available to be changed and promised to repair everything. The safe and TV were repaired on the second day, the curtain was added on the third day and they came to repair the balcony door in the afternoon of the fifth day before we moved to another room . At the time, the telephone still wasn't working. Sadly we stayed in a shabby room for 4 and a half days. We enjoyed our stay outdoor, but the indoor time ruined my mood for holiday. Definitely, it was a room far from being ready to sell, but they sold it anyway, and at a unfair price for the quality. I feel I was fooled. The new room for the last two nights was OK, but still not to the standard of a 4 star plus hotel according to my experience. Be careful before booking this hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
hotel landscape
The weak points
shabby rooms
Certified

Family vacaction

, Ottawa, ON
2020-01-07
This was our 2nd family vacation to Cuba and it was overall a great trip. The hotel is big enough that the pools didn't feel too crowded. There are two separate pool areas. Rooms were decent and washrooms were good. Comparatively to our last Cuba hotel this was probably a solid 4.25 stars. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Large resort and friendly staff. If you are into cigars, they have store onsite with a humidor so that was a plus for me.
The weak points
Pool chairs could use some cleaning, towels not as plentiful.
Certified

Always a pleasure

, Cardinal, ON
2019-12-28
This was our fourth visit to the resort, and we will be going back for a fifth. The staff are always pleasant, accommodating, and even if there are few minor issues, they always go out of their way to make the stay great! The premises are kept clean, the food is excellent for Cuba, the pools are lovely, the Bar and Coffee Bar staff will mix custom drinks and everyone is just looking to make sure you enjoy their resort. 5 stars from us. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, Friendly, Food is Great
The weak points
Need more music on resort - at pools, at beach. Wifii is expensive (not resort specific).
Certified

Hotel review

, Vancouver, BC
2019-12-16
The hotel is quite spread out with very nice grounds. The rooms are large with lots of storage space, TV, coffee/tea facilities but could use some TLC. They were very badly painted with burned out lights outside the room, as well as one in the bathroom which, although pointed out twice to various staff members, were not replaced. Items in the bathroom were almost falling off the walls. The rooms were very clean though. Food quality was mediocre, although there was lots of variety. Entertainment was also middle of the road. Lack of toilet paper and soap in bathrooms around resort although plentiful in the rooms themselves. Couldn't get away from very loud music around pools. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great beach and nice grounds.
The weak points
Food was not that great and often lukewarm. Everyday repairs were not carried out, even if pointed out to staff.No quiet pool area with too much loud music.
Certified

Loved it!

, Kingston, ON
2019-11-21
My first time in Cuba was a wonderful experience and I look forward to coming back again and again.
Grand Memories resort was great. The people who work there made it exceptional. So friendly and kind and just all around some of the best people I've ever met. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
I use a wheelchair and was worried I'd miss out on some of the excursions, but everyone helped and made it possible to do everything I wanted to do. It made my trip unforgettable and made me want to come back again and again
The weak points
There isn't much I can say in this section. The only complaint I had was the beds were really hard but other than that everything was great.
Certified

Horrible resort

, Surrey, BC
2019-08-13
This hotel would not be a 2 Star in Mexico. To many fake photo shopped Pictures of this resort everywhere online.

Pro's
Beautiful beach with calm crystal clear water
Con's
Bird nests on the Snack bar roof(inside), bird droppings sometimes landing on food
First 3 days, called room service every day for an extra pillow, the pillow never arrived.
Staff kept driving cars on the resort pathways with lights off, at high rates of speed, sometimes at night came close to running kids over. Common sense would have a dedicated pathway or working lights.
At the pool bar's there's local hustlers that keep hassling you to buy cigars off them.
Cockroaches everywhere, in the room, in the restaurants, in the pool areas
Very big towel Shortage at this resort. The white room towels were never restocked. If you called the front desk they would replace them usually at 7pm. So after a day at the beach after a hot shower, usually had to lay our wet bodies on the beds until we dried off. This daily towel shortage is disgusting.
Italian Restaurant at this resort is the worst Ala Carte restaurant I have ever visited, from Customer Service(none) to food quality(horrible)
Serious concerns about electrical safety at this resort, loose plugs and loose light switches are common. 220v electricity is fatal if electrocuted.
Even though you paid up front for meals, accommodation and beverages, the staff at Grand Memories really give you no service unless you tip like you are buying the drinks. Spent over $500 cuc in tips at bars, bistro and restaurants. Mexico isn't this tip thirsty as Cuba is.

Aggressive Snakes on the jungle pathway to the beach, large brown snakes would jump out and slither past us on the bridge walk way. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
Resort is a Run down dump that saw better days as a RIU in its past life

My Stay at Grand Memories

, Scarborough, ON
2019-06-18
This trip was my first trip to Cuba, so I was very excited about it. Overall, it was a fair experience staying at grand memories, but there are a few things I want to highlight.

Maintenance
For an almost 5 star hotel, with so many employees wondering around not having nothing to do, the property is not properly maintained. The pavement around the pool area is dirty, and the chairs are dirty. The bathroom in the area for the nightly shows is disgusting. It remained the same throughout my stay and probably still looking the same right now (see photos).

The rooms are musty and not cleaned properly. The chairs and table on the balcony are not clean. Ensure you wash the coffee mugs in your room if you intend to use. They only wipe them out, and so they are still sticky and not cleaned properly. The rooms also have a lot of ants and cockroaches.

Food
I can say there is a variety of options and an abundance of food. The restaurant staff are also very helpful and nice. The only challenge is, the food is not very tasty.

Staff
Most of the staff are nice and helpful, however, they don't understand nor speak English very well, some not at all.

Some staff members showed favouritism towards some guest, especially those not categorized as a minority. However, if you are able to give tips, you will get preferential treatment.

I felt bad after my tour to Havana. Upon returning to the hotel, I thanked the tour guide, and he didn't acknowledge me, all because I didn't give him any tip. TOO MUCH FOCUS ON TIP

I spend so much money on vacation and tour. I don't have money to tip everyone that does something for me. Staff should focus more on providing quality service, which is their job and what they are paid to do. When they do it well, the guests will feel compelled to tip them.

First Aid
While trying to adjust the chair in the dining room my finger got crushed because the seat of the chair was detached from the frame. I went to the doctor's office and got no help. The duty of care was very lacking and disappointing. I went to customer service and was told they ran out of band-aids. I went back the following day and there was still no band-aid. It was disappointing and such a large hotel doesn't have a first-aid kit with band-aids. I am now nursing an infected finger (see photo). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Variety of food and fruits, Friendly staff (even though not bilingual), Nice beach, Safe, Fairly good entertainment package,
The weak points
Staffs are not multilingual, Property maintenance, Too much focus on tips, Internet, lighting in bungalow
Certified

Grand Memories Varadero

, Saint John, NB
2019-05-06
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Grand Memories Varadero. We checked in and got to our room by 11 o'clock in the evening so we missed dinner. The hotel room was adequate and there was a small amount of mould in the bathroom. The room attendant was good and she kept the place quite clean. The food in the buffet was the best I've seen in 10 years for a Cuban resort. I would travel to this resort again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food was very good in the buffet and the pool on the quiet side was nice and we loved the waterfall. The reception desk at the resort was very friendly and efficient.
The weak points
We had an issue with our room the first few days. The air conditioning unit was not working properly but they accommodated us and moved us to another room and it was better. The shower curtains need to changed weekly.
Certified

2*

, Angus, ON
2019-04-27
This was not worth the money. Staff was great food was good and the place was clean but it was way overcrowded and sheets were stained blankets had burn holes and the tub was so deep you couldn't get in it . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Showers were hand held. Had to wait for tables to eat. Not enough railings for people to hold on to. A la carte restaurants were terrible
Certified

Upgrade to santuary to keep sanity

, Toronto, ON
2019-04-22
I can only review what I did. We did the main buffet for lunch one day and it was absolutely crazy. Even in our own section in the buffet we had to wait in line to get food. By the time I got to where they were cooking, everything was gone. The shows we caught were grease (great) international and some show that had a lovely x of training Bal and the lion king. We did a la carte every night and they were pretty good except for the one near the beach. Since this review is for grand memories and not the santuary, I'll review what we did in Grand. You have to wake up at 7 am or earlier every morning to reserve chairs on the beach or pool of you want a good spot. After 7 and you out of luck and can burn in the sun. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Strong point a la cartes and shows were good
The weak points
Why sell cigars if you can't buy a cigar cutter or lighters? I had the ask ppl every day for a cutter to or light. Everyone asked mg for a tip everywhere you guys on resort.
Certified

My experience in Grand memories

, Toronto, ON
2019-04-11
Went on honeymoon and payed for Dimond clab , didn't get any service,any complementary drink!! Check in at last waited 30 min to get a ride to room and ended to take a walk in 2 am,next day talked to manager was promised compensation-late check out 430pm, and started get harassed at 2 pm on last day because they need my room. my birthday was at April 5 wife were asking a a piece of cake with candle for 3 days!!!!! was promised , didn't get any!!! went fishing 3 of us , payed 400$,and we actually were asked for a 60 $ tip!!!!!!!!!!!?!?? Rally bad experience !!!!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good beach
The weak points
No service
Certified

Excellent

, Balderson, ON
2019-04-06
Beautiful spot. Food and service was awesome. Big place. Lots of walking. They have shuttles to take you everywhere if you don't like walking. Pools are beautiful. Beach goes on for ever. Would recommend. Hope to go back next year. Rooms in buildings 20 and up are closer to beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
pages: 1234

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021