Club Tropical

Club Tropical
2.912.912.912.912.91
2.91 based on 166 reviews
#40 of 65 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Varadero
Rated 2.5 stars
Traveller pictures (115)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123

Hotel review

, Halifax, NS
2020-03-11
This hotel is in need of great repairs, it's very dirty the room the walls have so much mildew and mold on them they just painted over then and now it's bleeding through, you never got clean towels thank goodness we brought our own same for the toilet paper. Some of the door were smashed and covered with boards. No safes in the rooms to use only if a key was still a available out of 5 rooms only 2 safes. The one and only restaurant was closed down for the week so the had buffet meals outside and by the time you got to the food it was cold. Ate mostly off the resort to have a hot meal. The bar staff some were very easy going others were very cranky. Front desk lady was very cranky, the entertainers and the security crew were amazing and very friendly [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Entertainer Randy was absolutely the best part of the resort despite all the poor of this hotel, he went above and beyond to make sure we had fun everyday at the resort with game music etc.
The weak points
Hotel is in need of serious repairs extremely run down.
Certified

Great but cautious

, Waterloo, ON
2020-02-17
I had booked a garden view room will my disappointment that it was a view of a concrete wall. Upon speaking with the hotel rep, I was moved to a much nicer room.
For an all inclusive, there could have been a better variety of food, they were often out of white wine, beer and once coke. The ice cream was plentiful!
The water and beach were inviting and enjoyable.
Most of the front staff were pleasant and the dining room wait staff were great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Close to the big market, beach and ocean.
The weak points
Variety and supply of food.
Certified

Mold

, Halifax, NS
2020-01-20
This was my 3rd time to this resort and my last
1. Mold in a/c and throughout the rooms ,even on the lamp shades ..
2.flies were horrendous in restaurant and not to mention the 3 ac units they have are hanging by thread and dont work
3. this resort needs alot of TLC , proper tools, man/woman to maintain the plumbing facilities , change out the burnt out light bulbs tighten the faucets ,repair toilets , javex the walls,hallways,floors,baseboards ,A/C units
4. No keys to safes anymore
5. Towels left in rooms are the size of tea towels
6. Hardly much of a beach anymore
7. Even the house across the street, that used to be a restaurant is infested with mold [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Veredero still has a beautiful beach and happy tourists and staff
The weak points
Weak points Don't paint over the mold Tourist need to realize that it's those who travel that's making the mess on the beaches and grounds and need to respect the Cubans and stop being so damn messy and disrespectful ,but that's my 2 cents worth
Certified

Club Tropical in Varadero

, Sherbrooke, QC
2020-01-07
What is stated on the hotel detail is not what is offered. The room in the old building was very mouldy smelling with black mould growing on the walls near the bed and in the bathroom. The room size did not match any of the photo descriptions. I was told this was the standard room I had booked, when in fact I had booked for a king-size bed and balcony with if possible an ocean view. I had a view of the main road traffic and a small double bed. The room was so small we could not walk around the bed. It was very difficult to open and close the room door and the door to the balcony did not open at all. Thankfully a presentative for a major airline was able to talk to the hotel manager and he took a photo of my itinerary as proof that this was not a standard room. After 3 days of arguing I was "upgraded" to a superior room which was similar to the standard room posted on the hotel site. It was disappointing to start the holiday in a foul-smelling room., that was too small to suit our physical needs. They list several daily activities (Spanish lessons, dance lessons, beach volleyball) which never happened during my 14-day stay. Finally, there is no 3rd bar on the beach, (again from the website) so you have to walk back the main bar or snack bar area across from the main bar if you want a drink. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was tasty and nicely displayed with lots of fruit and vegetable sculptures. Grounds and bar area were always very clean.
The weak points
Not the friendliest staff I have stayed with. Small hotel so you have to make your own entertainment. Always the same dance troop twice a week, but bingo everyday by the poolside.
Certified

Just not the same

, Toronto, ON
2019-02-06
after being here 14 times the service people are giving up on giving good service not all at the club, but must clean out the dead wood and give younger ones a chance. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
downtown
The weak points
poor service
Certified

Best vacation of my life

, North York, ON
2018-03-13
Me and my boyfriend went to cuba on 14th Feb 2018 for 9 days. It was my first time ever to cuba and my boyfriend's third time. I did an extensive search before going to cuba and selecting a resort. Despite some negative reviews for Club Tropical and not caring for the star rating, i choose Club Tropical. It was the best decision ever. I am going to provide as much details as possible for all the future travellers. If anyone wants more information, any suggestions regarding what to pack, what to visit, what to give away, how to tip or any other questions please feel free to email me at amna.sheikh800@gmail.com.

Location: This resort is right in the middle of everything. Unlike typical resorts that are in one corner away from city centre, this resort is in an ideal location. You walk out of the resort and walk either towards left or right, you will find plenty things around. There are many good restaurants nearby.
Shops, grocery stores as well as the flee market is just about 5-10mins walk.

Location(beach wise): This resort is right on the beach, its like we are a part of the beach itself, there are other resorts nearby which i found are away from the beach and you need to cross the street and roads to get to the beach, which is really uncomfortable when you are in swim wear and you have to cross the busy roads to get to the beach.
There is Kayaking, sailing and paddle boats provided for free on the beach by Club tropical. I loved paddle boating.

Its comparatively a small resort but it was nothing less than great, its nice and affordable and has everything you need close by accept WIFi.
This Resort has three buildings. Details are as follows.

1- This building is in the back a little away from the pool side mostly facing towards the city. Best for people who likes is quite. We got a room in this building first, our room was very clean, Bathroom was newly renovated. And to my surprise we actually had a flat screen that would take HDMI cable, beds were so very comfortable i slept like a baby. We had a balcony facing the city and partly the ocean. We had no problem with anything. I was extremely happy with my room
However we had a very minor issue with our bed. Bed post( headboard) broke just a little bit, they fixed the bed immediately, however as a courtesy management offered us a bigger room with ocean view which was sooooo beautiful, in a different building. I will attach pictures too.

2- The second building was right in front of the beach, this building had apartment type rooms. Each unit had two individual rooms and bathroom, however it comes with a shared living room, kitchen and balcony, we were offered a room in this building but we didn't wanted a shared space, this is good for a bigger group that come together. These rooms seem a little dated with old TV, but clean and nice still. And lets be honest we really don't need a TV in cuba.

3- This is the building we were moved to after. These are the superior rooms, and as the name suggests they are actually amazing rooms. We stayed in room 1101, this was a corner room with the most amazing and beautiful ocean view. Room is huge with couches, fridge and flat screen TV. With a huge closet. A nice big bath room, very comfortable beds and a to die for balcony and the view. I instantly fell in love with this place. (See attached pictured for this room.)

Food:
Before i go in detail, please note that Cuba is a third world, under developed country and has embargo by US, which means their resources are very limited and lack a wide range of variety in any and everything, however they make beat out of everything, so when you go ti Cuba have your expectations set to bare minimum, and be prepared to have food on resorts that will be repetitive and might lack flavour, however that does not mean food is bad or not eatable. I brought along my favourite sauces with me and trust me you will love any food if you bring your favourite sauce or spices with you( just a suggestion)
Three times a day buffet service, use of pork and ham was alot, we didn't eat pork so i was a little picky, however i always had something to eat.

Breakfast: a wide range of variety of food everyday, Omelet station was a plus. Different types of eggs, Pancakes, french toasts, cakes, Salads.

Lunch: Something new everyday, there was always a pasta station, made to order pasta on spot. A grill station, everyday something different was grilled right in front of you; Chicken, beef, pork, fish, shrimps( sea food is to die for). Soup was also served everyday
Dessert: wide range of cakes and cookies, Baklava and my favourite, ice-cream which is amazinggggg.

Dinner: somewhat similar to lunch with pasta and grill station and a rotation of desserts similar to lunch aswell. But you will find different things to eat for every meal.

Amenities:
- Currency Exchange on resort( rate was better than any other resorts nearby, very close to what the bank was giving)
- Pool, pool chairs.
- Beach towels
- 3 Bars, ( 1-24/7 bar with tea and coffee at all times. 2- right next to snack bar, 3- right on the beach.)
- Snack Bar ( check closing times; Ham and Cheese, Cheese sandwich, Chicken sandwich and potato chips: Some things may or may not be available everyday of your stay)
- Pool/ Billiard tables

Entertainment:
You will never be bored on this resort, they provide you with different activities to get involved with throughout the day.

- Dance lesson
- Bingo ( winner gets a bottle of alcohol, my boyfriend won two)
- Spanish classes
Nightly entertainment: every night there is a different kind of performance or show, we absolutely enjoyed every bot of it and waited for it every night.
Shows include: Magic show, Dances, mini concerts, aquatic show( absolutely worth a watch).
I tried attcahing pictures, but files are too big, you can email me of you are curious for pictures. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- Management - Food - location - rooms - beach
The weak points
- No wifi

Club Tropical Vacation

, Saskatoon, SK
2018-03-01
We found most of the Staff were awesome, had a little trouble at the bar if You do not have any Cuban Money for a tip and the hotel had no money for us to exchange when we arrived on Saturday evening. Tipping is a huge part of getting good service. Loved the location of the hotel and the beach is the best we have been at.
We would look at staying again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, Food and the Dining Staff at the Hotel Restaurant, The Beach
The weak points
One Bar Staff that treated anyone with no tip money very rudely. Public washrooms were not working
Certified

Friendly and convenient

, North Vancouver, BC
2017-04-04
I've been coming to this hotel for more than two years now. I keep coming back for the same reasons: It's clean, well maintained, very friendly and cosiderate staff, the food is decent, and the location is right in the sweet spot of downtown along with a great beach to play in the sun.
If a large 5 star mega resort is not your thing, I recommend Club Tropical. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
24 hour bar, walking distance to banks and markets. Well suited to meet new people and, ideal for small groups to vacation together.
The weak points
Rooms overlooking the street out front can experience more noise than courtyard facing rooms. No a-la-cart restaurant- just buffet style
Certified

A great stay

, Canmore, AB
2017-02-15
Our stay was great, our receptionist Maritza was the best, for an early morning arrival, she treated us like family. Our room was clean, private balcony, only 1pool, 1resturant, beautiful clean white sandy beach. In middle of downtown, so you could walk the beach for miles. The pool activities were a little loud, but fun. We had a great stay and would return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Receptionist with her welcoming us and recognizing us daily, always smiling . Great
The weak points
Same food not to many choices, and cold, things pre cooked like French fries, eggs... But we knew that, been in Varadero 10 times. Could of had a mini fridge, hair dryer, face cloths .
Certified

Ecpierience

, Eyebrow, SK
2017-01-19
I have MS also this trip was for our 39th wedding anniversary all of this we relayed to jessica @Escapes We asked for a ground floor room three flights is the closest to ground floor to our room no ground floor exists .Our first room was over the street didnt sleep a wink , in short we did not ,right from the beginning we had a less than good expierience . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
food&respectful staff
The weak points
Room even the flush mecanism on our toilet was broken from day one our first room was over the street the second was over the pool bar also no effort was made to ackknoledge our anniversary 39 years of marriage on the 14th.
Certified

Shabby but comfortable

, Strathadam, Nb, NB
2015-03-10
The hotel is very old and we were in the apartments which have not been renovated. Although the rooms were very shabby, they were clean. (Issues: toilets didn't work well so we flushed by pouring buckets of water down, one of the air conditioners was very loud so we would use it when we were out but had to turn off at night to sleep, music loud until 11 pm...bring ear plugs) The staff EXPECT you to tip and will ignore you otherwise. If it doesn't bother you...you can serve yourself beverages at meal time and the bar will give you what you want but will offer the better service to the tippers. We tipped to get better service but not every time as it gets too expensive. We spent about $40 on tips in the one week we were there. FOOD: The food was very good. I have been to CUBA before and the food was very similar. There was a great selection at each meal and my whole family ate well the entire time including my 3 children aged 15, 12 & 7. Sometimes you had to get creative but we were always satisfied. Also, if you need, the snack bar offers grilled ham & cheese sandwiches, hot dogs & hamburgers. Overall, the hotel is small and cheap but in a beautiful location. We feel we got our money's worth and would go back but only for a bargain price. We paid $780/per person for this trip. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach was amazing and location to beach and town was best point.
The weak points
The staff expected you to tip and were very rude at times if you didn't. The rooms are very shabby and old but you do not spend much time there. The food was very good but you must enjoy eating Fruit, vegetables, rice, beans, potatoes, bread & salad.
Certified

Hotel TROPICAL

, Calgary, AB
2014-11-26
hotel is in a good area but the hotel definitely needs a clean up as its old and it needs a cook. I have stayed in Cuba for several years but have been in absence from going for 4 years but this definitely reminds me that things arnt getting any better.Problem with my room was the outer sheet (cover ) sheet never gets washed and they still want to put a stained sheet on the bed. Pillows were stained terrible and when I complained all they did is go to an empty room and exchange a dirty one for a dirty one.The staff were stealing so much food that the hotel had not enough for the guests on one night and there was not much choice left if you arrived during the last hour when dinner was served,so if you go to this hotel make sure you go eat soon as they open as the workers take most of the food home with them.Put it this was as we had a Cuban person staying with our group and even she had stated the food was terrible so that goes to tell you something.As far as staying here again I would stay here again long as I got a sell off price for under 100 bucks as I did but would DEFINETLY not stay here for regular price or close to regular price as there are just so many better options and countries as cuba just does not understand tourism [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Strong point is only the beach and the pool
The weak points
weakest point is to much staff theft which leaves the guest without veriety and certain staff members who need to be replaced as they don't care but some were really trying
Certified

Better than I thought but difficult with young chi

, Mississauga, ON
2014-02-11
Well it was late when we arrived parent and grandparent and two young children and 5 luggage..we were dropped off across the road from hotel.. Had to cross road with luggage and kids. Booked two sets of rooms close together but they were confused by this booking. Family apartment on other side of hotel and was very mouldy musty and bathroom not good.. It had not ben renovated yet. The superior room overlooking pool was . Actually the hotel better set up for older adults couples but there is a 3 floor walk up to some rooms . Staff except for receptionist who served us (rude)when we arrived were very gracious and helpful.Staff very helpful and grateful for children clothing donations . We eventually upgraded to another hotel the next day . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Proximity to beach The young children were treated royally. Staff helpful courteous
The weak points
Booked a family suite but the rooms were not aired out and smelled mouldy musty however the superior rooms we were changed to were much better but 3 flights up . We were travelling with young children.
Certified

One day it will be beautiful.

, Kanata, ON
2014-01-12
The resort is currently undergoing renovations. They have completed stage 1 of a multi-stage renovation. We were not fortunate enough to get one of the renovated rooms, so this review is based on our section of the resort.

The beach was one of the nicest we have been to in Cuba. The service was exceptional. The resort was small enough that the wait staff were able to learn everyone's names and favourite drink orders :) The buffet was actually a cut above what we've been treated to on previous visits. The food was well seasoned and quite tasty, but by the end of the week was a little repetetive.

The resort is located in the city of Varadero, not on the ourtskirts, so it was quite an experience to walk the streets and interact with the locals.

Onto the negatives. Our room was one of the smallest rooms I've ever been in, with twin beds that dug into my calves as they were a little on the small side. Not a single one of the windows in our room locked, which was a problem considering one of them opened onto a communal patio. I had to have the lock fixed on my daughters' room as it would not lock from the inside. The rooms flooded during a storm on our last night there. I had to fix the room TV myself, as no one on staff could figure it out. The toilet in our room would flush continuously, and the cleaning staff were a little conservative with things like soap, toilet paper, clean towels, etc.

I would like to go back once the renovations are completed, even if only for a brief visist. The completed rooms that we did see were quite nice. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach was absolutely fantastic. The buffet was actually very good. The food was well seasoned, and quite tasty. The staff were extremely friendly, and being that it was a smaller resort, they actually were able to learn the guest's names.
The weak points
Not fully renovated yet. The money exchange never had money. The cleaning staff tended to be less than stellar.
Certified

Big SCAM

, Barrhead, AB
2014-01-08
Horrible food, stained towels & bedding, everything costs you to upgrade. People stay AWAY from Cuba!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach & warm
The weak points
No toilet seats outside your room, being guilted into paying tips for excursions by tour guide, filthy place end of story.
Certified

Still needs work

, Mississauga, ON
2013-12-27
The newly renovated rooms are much better but overall there is plenty room for improvement on facilities and food. It was better before. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Improved rooms, central location and nice beach.
The weak points
Facilities like gym and food were lacking.
Certified

Club Tropical

, Charlo, NB
2013-12-14
Less then expected. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice location, nice staff, great beach.
The weak points
Best parts of hotel were closed. No hot water. Small dirty rooms.
Certified

Open minds needed

, Princeton, BC
2013-11-27
Found this resort to be disappointing. Have stayed in 2 1/2 star resorts before, but found the food and rooms to be much nicer than here. That said, renovations were ongoing at this time. Beach and location were fabulous and staff friendly. Very quiet hotel with entertainment only once in 14 days. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach.
The weak points
Food.
Certified

Will likely go back but will budget for food

, Winnipeg, MB
2013-03-05
Pool, room, central location and beach were great. Very little participation in activities and not much of a nightlife despite the 24hr bar.

Very safe and family friendly however food left a lot to be desired (even for Cuba). We ate out 4 of 7 days so best to budget for that. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, pool, location, clean room, awesome bar staff (very personable)
The weak points
Food, reception staff, bed in room had springs poking out, no good activities and as such no participation
Certified

Varadero

, Renfrew, ON
2013-02-26
actually what I expected. food was good could use a good scrubbing down. 3 star quality at a 3 star price. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
close to everything.
The weak points
money exchange
Certified

Club Tropical Varadero Cuba

, Niagara Falls, ON
2013-01-24
Everything at this hotel was even morebetter than expected.This was our 3rd time at this hotel, and we enjoyed it even more.The staff were very friendly and helpful in anything we needed.The room was very nice and very clean,if we needed anything,all we had to do was ask.The food in our opinion was very good and a large variety was offered.It was 80% better than last year.We will be back next year. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach,the food,and the staff
The weak points
Only stairs,which may be hard for some patrons,there are 3 floors.
Certified

Places like this is why everyone returns

, Grimsby, ON
2013-01-23
At 503.51 per person what a deal Food typical for Cuba Bar staff could not do more to make us happier Stayed 2nd floor facing strip Rm 1225 exhaust fumes/noise all day and night coming through space under AC now have sinus infection Get OCEAN VIEW room Lots of fun sniff sniff [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Bar staff treated us like family before we tipped We had a great time but saw many rude demanding people who are going to complain This place was great Typical Cuba If you are respectful every Cuban on the resort will go the extra mile no charge
The weak points
We had2nd floor room facing strip noise and pollution get an ocean view room I can find nothing more to complain about NOTHING!!!!!!
Certified

Très belle semaine

, Montreal, QC
2013-01-21
J'ai passé une très belle semaine à l'Hôtel club tropical. Je n'avais pas d'attente pour la bouffe... j'ai profité du bas prix du séjour pour explorer les restaurants aux alentours et faire des sorties (Cardenas, La Havane...) Hôtel très bien situé et tout près de la magnifique plage... à ne pas manquer, le spectacle du jeudi soir à l'Hôtel (vraiment professionnel). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Visite de la Havane avec chauffeur de taxi Manuel de Santa Marta(bon prix et bon service) téléphone 01-53630085 Excellent resto chinois. Très belle excursion à Cardenas... avec la calèche no 41... pour voir le vrai Cuba.
The weak points
Rien à signaler... sauf qu'il est très utile de parler espagnol si on veut sortir de Varadero
Certified

Varadero

, Marlbank, ON
2013-01-15
The place was great..not busy...not too big...close to everything.Had a room on the street side of hotel,thought at first it would be noisey.It was not ,the morning sunrise and afternoon shade was perfect off our balcony.As was the view of old cars and horse drawn carriages traveling the streets .The drinks at the 2 bars were good..alway freshly made. Had coffee,expresso machine at bar 24 hours.
Food was as expected maybe a little better.Never had to look for a seat at pool or beach ,always lots of chairs.Fresh towels all day at beach club.Could walk to stores ,bank ,market etc.Only 30 min.to airport.Our weather 2nd week of January was 80 ,no rain.Will go again . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
A smaller property great for families.Staff was great..as is everywhere in Cuba.The rooms were clean ,had a great balcony. Our room faced the street which was alot better than I thought at first.We had the morning sunrise and afternoon shade.
The weak points
Travel times are terrible.There are no elevators ,so if you cannot do stairs...must avoid.
Certified

Choose the Superior Room!!

, Nepean, ON
2013-01-08
If you happen to get cursed with a room in the old building, your trip will be ruined. The new rooms however, are equal to a 4 star hotel. Mari tza in the reception is an angel from heaven, Roberto is one of the cleaning/maintenance staff...he's great, there is no fear of being robbed in Cuba, the punishment is too harsh, so I felt at ease wondering the streets, since this hotel is downtown. Pay the 10 Cuban Pesos on arrival for a beach towel, you get the money back in the end, and you trade it in daily for a clean one. DO NOT get your money exchange at the airport, wait until you get to the hotel, it's a better exchange rate. I personally loved the food, but I eat a lot of fish anyways, but there was plenty of variety. I highly recommend this place to anyone :) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendliness, food and location were the pluses.
The weak points
If you get stuck in the old building, your trip is ruined.
Certified

Better than expected!

, Toronto, ON
2013-01-02
I read many reviews, though after we booked. They would have kept us from booking this hotel, but the real experience was far better than most reviews. We were a family of 5 with 2 rooms. It was EXCELLENT value for the money! Any problems we had were solved very soon after we reported them. The rooms were clean and kept that way. The meals were average for Cuba, though we mixed it up with several meals offsite. The location was also EXCELLENT! It was great to be in town and within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants. The pool was adequate, if a bit shallow, but the beach and the ocean were great. The service attitude could have been more friendly, but it's really the only fault. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Value for money, in town location and great stretch of beach.
The weak points
We always got the service we wanted, and soon enough, but even with tipping, the service didn't come with a smile EXCEPT for the housecleaning maids, who were very friendly.
Certified

Amazing holiday

, Toronto, ON
2013-01-02
Modest hotel with the most amazing beach. The staff were friendly and by the end we were sad to say good bye! Bar was open late, snack bar if you missed lunch and the best food we ate in Cuba. Will return for sure. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, beach, location
The weak points
no internet!
Certified

Our R & R

, Thunder Bay, ON
2012-03-17
Overall pleasant experience. Had difficuties accessing the computer in the lobby and found no one available to assist. Lack of sufficient knowledge of the English language by staff is a handicap for both parties. Food is good but unimaginative.. no "a la carte " available at the moment. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location to village and beach
The weak points
Problems with drains in bathroom.
Certified

SO - SO

, Havelock, ON
2012-03-11
WHILE THIS IS AN OLDER HOTEL, THE ROOM WAS CLEAN AND THE HOTEL IS IDEALLY SITUATED TO EXPLORE VARADERO ON FOOT.

THE CHAMBERMAIDS AND SECURITY STAFF WERE FRIENDLY AND APPRECIATIVE OF THE GIFTS
WE BROUGHT WITH US. THE BAR STAFF WAS EFFICIENT IF NOT OVER FRIENDLY ON THE WHOLE.

THE RECEPTION DESK PERSONNEL ALL SEEMED TO NEED A MAJOR ATTITUDE ADJUSTMENT - BEING COMPLETELY UNHELPFUL AND DOWNRIGHT RUDE.

THERE IS NO AL LACARTE RESTAURANT AS LISTED IN THE HOTEL DESCRIPTION, AND THE BUFFET WAS DEPLORABLE. BREAKFAST BUFFET INCLUDED LEFT OVERS FROM THE NIGHT BEFORE'S DINNER SERVICE. WE ARRIVED ON A THURSDAY EVENING AND FROM TUESDAY MORNING ON WE ATE ALL OUR MEALS AT THE LOCAL RESTAURANTS - OTHER THAN BREAKFAST AS THE BUFFET'S ONLY SAVING GRACE FOR BREAKFAST WAS A FRESH OMELETE GRILL.

ALL THINGS CONSIDERED, I WOULD RETURN HERE FOR THE LOCATION AND THE BEACH - BUT I WOULD PLAN ON EATING ALL MY MEALS OFF THE HOTEL PROPERY. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
LOCATION AND BEACH
The weak points
RECEPTION STAFF AND BUFFET
Certified

Beyond expectations

, Greenfield Aprk, QC
2011-06-19
This beautifull hotel located right on the beach was paradise for me. The staff were very friendly and helpfull in all affaires. The beach is absolutely beautifull, and there are kayaks and a catmaran free of charge for guest of Club tropical, for 15 CUC the catmaran guide will take you far out and you can go snokling with beautifull fish. The showers are warm, the room are clean and the staff is very friendly. I met several people that have returned to this hotel for years and I will be among those who return to this beautifull place. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautifull beach
The weak points
it rained a whole day
Certified
pages: 123

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021