Villa Tortuga

Villa Tortuga
3.003.003.003.003.00
3.00 based on 252 reviews
#47 of 63 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Varadero
Rated 3 stars
Traveller pictures (64)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Worst experience ever.....

, Niagara Falls, ON
2020-02-12
Problems day one.....The room we frist got wasn't even the one we paid for, lucky we got the room switched the next day. Though it did rain that day and our new room got flooded. We ask for assistance to come and clean up the water cause it was a safety (slipping) hazard. We where told by front desk that "Housekeeping is not going to come cause its raining". So we just ended up putting the extra blanket on the floor to soak up the water. We faired better then the other people in our group that had broken toilets and no working A.C. units. They finally got move after 2 days. All public bathrooms except the one beside the front desk are disgusting, urinals and toilets were broken and over flowing. The food was awful, the same thing on the Buffet everyday other then the specialty item they cook on the Grill or B.B.Q..

The only saving grace, the staff were great and the Beach was beautiful.

If you want a frat boy good time then come here. If you want a relaxing stay, don't stay here. Stay as far away from this place as you can. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Horrible

, Winnipeg, MB
2020-02-06
Been to Cuba 8 times, this was the worst run hotel I have ever stayed at. No ice at the bars. I don't drink beer so was always running to the 3 bars looking for ice. 75% of the had warm drinks. No 24 hour bar or snacks as listed in discription. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice layout.
The weak points
Dirty beach. Moldy beach chairs. No silverware, ate with fingers.
Certified

Had to see it to believe it!

, Orillia, ON
2020-01-25
My sister and I were there for 10 days. The weather was perfect! The meals at the buffet were the SAME thing, lunch and dinner for the 10 days, I kid you not. Not enough staff in the dining area, not enough staff for cleaning the rooms. We were given one hand towel each in our room to dry off after our shower and we had to BEG for toilet paper!!! Some guests had no toilet seat so I guess we were lucky!!
They couldn't keep up with the beach towels either. We had the same beach towel for 6 days.
I could go on and on but people won't believe it until they try it.
We will return to Varadero but never Villa Tortuga again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Stay away from this resort if possible!!!

, Sherbrooke, QC
2019-12-30
The place used to be one of my favourites in the last 3 years but this year with the new administration and more Russian tourists that they don't have any manners and respect for the things around, the quality of service goes to the drain faster. Stay away from this resort if you can. The ocean water and beach is good but the rest discussed and big no!
- beach chairs broken and filthy with bacteria and there are no longer white or blue, with the dirt and microbes are completely black (not enough for the people checked in around 80 chairs in total)
- beach wood umbrellas most of them broken and big holes (if rain there are useless)
- no hot water at all to the entire resort (For the 10 days that I stayed)
- rooms stinky, dirty, rats on the air-conditioners
- room service completely a joke I think the employees are looking into your belongings (be aware of your values left in the room)
- twice in a week some random Mexican kids where trying to brake-in by forcing the door while I was in the room (I think there are there to steal belongings of the tourists)
- food sometimes good but most of the times stinks due to the contamination, expiration or stored improper
- in the restaurant before opening service people are pushing (most Russians) and they cut your line if you coming later the the service there is no much left and the dining hall is a disaster after 30 minutes of service
- lack of forks and knives and plates (people are fighting for them)
- servers they approach you while eating to ask if you want to buy cigars, drinks or change money instead of asking you if the food is good or not?!
- staff incompetent and incapable of dealing with customer service
- security guys are just a joke, doing traffic with drinks and cigars while on duty
- water in pool is disgusting (Green and blur) and adults are avoiding to use it at least for the past 10 days while I was there
That's it from the top of my head. I will get some pictures. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- there is a guy who is taking care of the plants and vegetation across resort is doing an amazing job - trees and plants very well preserved and maintained
Certified

Go somewhere better!

, Vancouver, BC
2018-03-16
Pay a bit more and go to a better resort!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach was beautiful and the water was crystal clear
The weak points
Food is unbearable, entertainment is lacking, service is poor, rooms are filthy and broken down, alcohol is watered-down and selection of anything is limited.
Certified

I would not be returning

, Thorold, ON
2018-03-08
We chose the hotel as it was rated a 3 star and let's just say I have stayed at better 2 start resorts. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The location was great, we were able to find other food off the resort.
The weak points
The food that was served was not eatable more than half of the time. Our room had issues with power and actually caused more then one of our chargers to fry. After noritfying the front desk only one was fixed.
Certified

LOVED IT!

, Etobicoke, ON
2018-03-03
We LOVED this place and are thinking of coming again. The staff were SO friendly and obliging, they were having fun working, which is a real change from a decade ago.

The food is plainly cooked (and overcooked sometimes) BUT since it's pretty organic, it tastes wonderful. There were always a ton of choices and the ice cream and cakes were to die for.

We upgraded to the oceanfront superior rooms and started out on the ground floor but due to the sand dunes, our ocean view was blocked. We asked the next morning to change and we moved up a floor and got our view.

We were in the B building and A or C is closer to the ocean, so we'd recommend 2nd or 3rd floor in those buildings. The resort has a huge open air lobby and bar, the pool is great, very family friendly, a few dogs and cats around but super well behaved and well fed too.

OK, so there's some cosmetic things that might knock this down a rating - like no toilette paper in the public washrooms - so bring a roll. No big deal. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach, the VIEW, friendly staff, delicious and plenty of variety in food, the spacious rooms
The weak points
50-50 chance of toilette paper in the public restrooms

Was pleasantly surprised

, Belleville, ON
2018-02-10
we arrived, and we were put in a standard room which was clean and the bed was comfy. But we had paid for Superior so the next morning they moved us to our room overlooking the beach and it was beautiful, they room was big, clean, bathroom nice and clean,beds were comfy.
they work very hard to make sure your stay is enjoyable, we went to a couple restaurants off the resort that were amazing, the downtown market and downtown area was great.
change your money at the bank not the hotel, you lose a lot more at the hotel.
we were able to use our bank cards at the ATM as long as they had the logo VISA on it.
we had a wonderful vacation. and this resort is great for location, price, and everything you need. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great service, staff, beaches, location
The weak points
the food was kind of bland, and same selections but always hot, and bread was amazing

Varadero first time with my daughter

, Tamworth, ON
2018-01-29
Hotel was clean and staff were great its a cheap vacaction for seven days away [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the staff location if you like the town life great beach
The weak points
i upgraded to the superior room so it was ok and all the older rooms need updating badly so if you go take the sup ....Also its Cuba go with an open mind the food is not like at home but you will not starve go to other resturants if you wish
Certified

Not bad

, Toronto, ON
2016-09-20
Overal the stay wasn't bad .If you just want to get away and enjoy some sun ,sand a little entertainment on a budget and your not picky then you'd be fine. The food isn't the best but custom omelettes and smoothies in the morning was great . The beach is original and the pool is clean. I was disappointed about the drinks. The beds are old you'll feel it in the morning . I liked that it wasn't a huge resort and everything was waking distance. Don't expect fancy piña colada or daqaris . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff and reception were very friendly and helpful. Nothing was ever taken from our rooms. Beach is beautiful and clean and hotel not far from downtown . It one of the first stops so it's close to the airport. The a la cart was great only no desert
The weak points
The beds were terrible ,the phones didn't work and not all the rooms had a mini fridge. We didn't get bottled water we had to buy. The food wasn't bad just the same thing everyday . We bought wifi cards but it didn't always work. No ramps for seniors or
Certified

Excellent hotel

, Dunnville, ON
2016-03-27
we had a great experience. Clean rooms fantastic beach good food wonderful people [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach pool and accessibility were awesome
The weak points
No weak points
Certified

Closed

, Dunsford, ON
2015-12-26
pc travel called day before bumped us up to villa cuba or be live as they call it not good so villa Tortuga must have been pretty bad as it was not open yet from renovations [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
very moldy bathroom walls/ceiling
Certified

You get what you pay for!

, Surrey, Br
2015-04-09
Lousy food. Lousy entertainment. Lousy rooms. Resort is in desparate need of renovations. Very nice beach. Bring bug spray! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, Hotel location
The weak points
Food, room, entertainment
Certified

Get What You Pay For!

, Edmonton, AB
2015-01-14
We just returned back from 1 week at this resort. For the price we paid, we got what we paid for. The staff here is very unfriendly I found almost like they hated their jobs. The food was not the greatest but there was always something to hold you over. The drinks were terrible, I don't think they new how to make anything other than rum/coke. The 24hr lobby bar did not serve beer, the coffee bar never opened till 3pm which I found crazy considering most people like their morning coffee. You could get coffee in the lobby bar but it took forever. The beach had like 30 chairs that were good the other 20 were broken and the resort held 400 people so it was brutal trying to get a chair. If you didn't get up before 8am, there was no way you were getting a beach chair for the beach that day. This resort I found to be boring not many activities, and the nightly entertainment was not that great. The nice thing about this place is you can walk into town, which was a bonus. I also must say the washrooms were very clean around the resort, and the room we got was clean(2nd floor), no critters, and clean towels everyday. Overall, the location is great but other than that would not stay here again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Price, location, clean room
The weak points
Staff, lack of beach chairs, lack of activities/entertainment, and terrible drinks
Certified

Cuban `Holiday Hola!!!!

, Wentworth, QC
2013-04-28
Excellant,great staff very friendly and courteous.Clean rooms and good room service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautifull beach and service
The weak points
none to speak off.
Certified

Worth a try

, Mississauga, ON
2012-09-24
Beautiful beach and nice weather [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Beach and location
The weak points
room
Certified

Never again

, Magog, QC
2012-04-04
the hotel its self was fine, the rooms were not cleaned properly and smelled like mold had to keep airing the room out for we could remain in it, the only nice thing in the rooms was when they made the beds was the art they did with the towels and blankets,the food was good ,but the same thing was servred over and over and over, the two a la carts again were the same thing,very disapointed,the staff was fine,i have been to cuba four times now and this is the first place were i will never go back !! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach !!!!!!!
The weak points
the food and cleaniness
Certified

Go with realistic expectations

, Russell, ON
2012-03-19
When I booked, I wanted cheap, sun, nice beach and quiet. Villa Tortuga provided this. Our standard 2-person room (1102) on the first floor of Building 1, beside the pool, definitely needed upgrading. The mattresses were old and well used - springs popped and a box spring was ripped. tiles were cracked, varnish on bathroom door was blistered and peeling, the clothes cupboard doors stuck, the safe was rusty, the balcony looked over the septic tank covers, and the odor of sewage wafed from the open wall cavity in the bathroom. We needed to keep the bathroom door closed. When we asked to change rooms, and pay for any upgrade, we were told the resort was full or shown a similar room. I would advise guests to book superior new ocean front rooms if actual accommodations are important. We received 4 fresh towels daily which you can use to exfoliate after showering. Upon arrival we received 2 sample size soaps and that was all during the entire week. We received 2 sample sized shampoos bottles upon arrival and asked for 2 more 5 days into our stay. We left generous gifts and tips for the maid but apart from from making the bed, leavins "towel art designs" and wiping the floor there was nothing remarkable about the service. The small bar fridge in the room is not stocked but there is a convenient small store at the entrance to the facility where you can purchase 1.5L of bottled water. I advise that guests bring their own toiletries.

The beach and and pool area are very nice. You can take very long walks on the beach and splash in the surf. Guests should be careful of sand fleas and sand spiders in the beach sand. My souvenirs from Cuba included 42 bug bites on my legs and arms. Please pack after bite ointment.

The food in the buffet dining room is awful and service is poor. The same rice, potatoes, pasta, desserts, and beans were served daily. At lunch, pork chops and whole fish (complete with head and tail)was grilled and in the evening roast pork and turkey were altenatively available. We kept to omelettes and croissants for breakfast, rice and pasta for lunch, and made reservations for the quiet Neptune Dining Room for dinner. Although the menu didn't vary, the two ladies who served in the Dining Room were very nice and reserved a "regular table" for us. Tea is always available in the buffet but coffee is only available for breakfast. We made a habit of getting very good coffee from the Lobby Bar daily. The pool area is nice for relaxing and is suitable for small children. The volume of music from the speakers increases as the day progresses. The pool bar serves limited snacks - hotdogs, hamburgers, a pizza variation, ham and cheese sandwiches - you can avoid these. The buns are good however.

There is a animation show from 9:30 - 10:30 pm. The entertainers are energetic. If your room is by the pool - you might as well watch the show - because you cannot sleep with the noise volume. It was interesting that one of the animators called the United States "the enemy" during a show. There are occasional. "mini" shows in activities at the pool between 4-6 pm.

The guests at the hotel were mostly adults from Canada, Germany, and Russia probably also looking for cheap, sun, and quiet. There is no disco to attract "Spring Breakers", the location of all facilities are close and walkable for older adults and families, and the conversation around the pooibar is generally subdued.

A deposit of 10CPesos is required for a beach towel which was returned when the towel was eventually brought back. There were however no fresh clean beach towels for 3 days. 3CPesos daily are required to use the room safe, and a deposit of 15Cpesos for the room safe key is also required. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, quiet, convenient location in Varadero
The weak points
food, service in buffet, standard room accommodations
Certified

An okay stay, but could be better...

, Montreal, QC
2012-02-27
Bed was too soft to the point that I could feel the springs. Friends had to change their rooms due to ant infestation and mold problems. Breakfast and lunch buffet pretty much the same plus a few new things here and there. Dinner buffet was okay with some ups and downs (good thing restaurant Club Kiki was nearby). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Unlimited access to drinks and snacks. Pool and Beach was impeccable. Excursions was good and decently priced.
The weak points
Rooms need to be cleaned properly, had an allergic reaction few times due to the dust from the air condition. Bed sheets were not cleaned properly; bathroom towels were small.
Certified

Relaxing, not for partygoers

, Oshawa, ON
2012-01-22
Overall experience was good. Not impressed with our room, could have been better, but was fine for sleeping. Smelled very musty, but otherwise clean. Not a good view of anything. Pool was nice, but cold. Beach was amazing! Hotel was close to town, you could walk to it.

The food was boring and very monotonous. We were able to find something to eat everyday though. The coffee was really good!

No beer at the lobby bar. There was a separate coffee bar which was really good. Beach bar was good. Pina coladas were really good as were the Ron Collins. Best made at the beach bar.

The staff were very nice. The entertainment team was almost non-existent. They did bingo every evening at 5:00. No entertainment throughout the day. They did a show at 9:30 every night. They finally did a daytime show on our second last day there.

Very quiet resort. Good for families and those just looking for a relaxing vacation at a good price.

Do not go if you are looking to party.

We did enjoy our vacation, but we will pay a bit more next time to stay somewhere else.

Do the Jeep Safari excursion! It was awesome! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach was awesome. Resort walking distance to town. Coffee bar was good. Beach bar was good.
The weak points
Entertainment team almost non-existent. Room smelled musty, but otherwise clean.
Certified

Great stay at the Tortuga

, Laval, QC
2012-01-11
Great time. Had beautiful weather ( not always the case in December). Nice superior room. Very clean. Enjoyed the food even though repetitive. Great bread and salad bar. Great location.Beautiful vegetation (flowers, plants, cactuses, palm trees...) Fun activities ( dolphins, incredible cave in Matanzas, double deck bus). Beautiful old american cars (1950's) - they stink though. Nice flea markets ( all over Varadero). Got married on the beach. Beautiful wedding (obviously paid extra for that (by the way very expensive for what you get). Great vacation for the price ( $600 per person - all inclusive (wedding not included)) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location. Cleanliness. Friendly staff. Beautiful pool area.
The weak points
Food repetitive ( but good)
Certified

Tortuga June 2011

, Ottawa, ON
2011-06-21
Overall our expectations were met, except for the food.
The weather was great, with only one thunderstorn (at night).
Our superior room had a great oceanview, and the complex was not noisy at night. We had a mini-fridge which did not work (not such a big deal), and the bathroom lighting functioned inconsistently. Some of the electrical plugs were 110V and some were 220V. The "sulphur" smell from the refinery was almost overpowering when there was no breeze (mostly at night).

The beach was gorgeous as expected; lots of room for everyone, and no problem finding chairs in the shade if desired. It was unfortunate to see not everyone respected the beautiful environment. No one was cleaning up discarded straws, cups, cigarette butts and other garbage.

We went expecting lacklustre food, with little choice, but this was definitely 1-2 star quality. We both suffered intestinal issues for the first time in many visits to this wonderful country, and despite sticking to bottled water purchased at the gift shop.

We would definitely come back to Varadero, but would pay more to upgrade to a hotel further down the strip. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach
The weak points
The food
Certified

VILLA TORTUGA

, Sackville, NB
2011-05-18
Wonderful vacation! Awesome beach, great pool, friendly staff. Rooms were plain but clean - maid left towel art every day and really appreciated the gifts we left her. 5 minute walk to the bus stop, 10 minute walk to arts/crafts shops. No problems at all - we would love to go again! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great beach, close to town.
The weak points
Food.
Certified

With Realistic Expectations-won't be disappointed

, North Bay, ON
2011-05-07
We read as many reviews as we could, so we knew what to expect. We weren't dissappointed. For the price we paid, we had a perfect, relaxing trip. Our room was comfortable, clean and in a great location. I would recommend to anyone looking for an economical vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location to airport and market was perfect! After a late flight it was nice to get to the resort within 20 min. Check in was quick and easy, staff was friendly and helpful. Price was a strong point for what we wanted.
The weak points
Food was bland but we didn't expect gourmet dining - there was plenty and we didn't have high expectations so we weren't dissapointed. No clock in the room so we often lost track of time but isn't that the point of a vaca?
Certified

Cuba

, Calgary, AB
2011-03-21
We had a great time, Loved the beach, Food, We would go there again in future. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, Food,Close to Havanna.
The weak points
Washrooms
Certified

Travel on a budget

, Guelph, ON
2011-03-03
I had heard all sorts of things about travelling to Cuba (food not very good, accomodations not nice) but aside from one meal in Havana was pleased with everything. This resort is probably 50-60 years old and could use some upkeep but considering its 2.5 stars I have no complaints. The staff were great, I enjoyed the food and (best of all) its a short walk to the markets in Varadero. Anyone who goes expecting everyone to have a commanding understanding of English and standards equivalent to a city hotel in a large North American city then should probably do a bit of research on Cuba and maybe reschedule their trip to Florida or San Diego.
The tour guides were amazing! Listen to what they say!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Price and location!
The weak points
Its older and below standards one may expect if they have never been abroad.
Certified

Villa Tortuga, Varadero

, Clarkburg, ON
2011-02-26
We went there not expecting to much after speaking with friends that had been at Villa Tortuga. I loved the place. All staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was comfortable. The maid was great and did a good job. The food though mostly plain, was ok, filling. Some items in the buffet were very good. You got to know what to eat and what to avoid. I was happy with everything. Can't wait to go back... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff...Good service. They are working at up grading the place...hard when they are so busy. Great beer...Good nightly entertainment. Great beach area...Very nice resort.
The weak points
Bathroom we had needs a counter around sink. Just had pedestal sink. No place to put your stuff except floor. Our entry door needs to be replaced, could see light through it. Food needs more flavor.
Certified

Beyond expectation

, Allenford, ON
2011-02-23
This was our second time at Tortuga. It was like going back to visit great friends. Most of the same staff. Everyone went out of thier way to make our stay perfect.Our room was large and clean and bright. Food was passible. We do not go to Cuba for the food! There was always something good and filling. Very close to downtown, within walking distance, great shopping, lounges, restraunts, sightseeing, can't beat it. No begging in the streets. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, perfect, beach incredible, services fantastic,rooms lovely
The weak points
A little more flavour in the food would be nice
Certified

Better Than Expected - Pleasantly Surprised

, North Gower, ON
2011-02-22
First time to Cuba - was better than expected.
Location was amazing!!
Great price!!!
Size was perfect - we like the smaller resorts.
Food was way better than we thought. The staff were fantastic - so friendly and helpful!
The only negative comments we have were the mattresses need to be replaced - very old but slept fine and the small plastic cups - we brought our own cups.
Seriously had a great vacation!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Would definitely stay at this hotel again!
The weak points
More beverage choices.
Certified

Great Vacation

, Niagara Falls, ON
2011-02-02
This was our fourth time at Tortuga. Tortuga is a 3 star no frills resort in a good location near the markets at Calle 13 and 17. We were in unit 6 of Block 214 which is ocean front, just a few steps from the beach and right beside the dining room. We were on the ground floor with a patio and 2 chairs. The room was very clean, the A/C worked very well and there was lots of hot water. The meals we felt were above average for AI. The beach is great and quite wide at Tortuga. The pool is large with a fountain in the middle. Entertainment was good. The staff at Tortuga are excellent and are fun to be with. Our favourite waitress is Yuly who has become a very good amigo. It is the friendly staff that really makes us want to keep comong back. Tortuga is very good value for the money. No complaints. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff
The weak points
Older hotel. The outside of our unit could use a new paint job.
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021