Roc Arenas Doradas

Roc Arenas Doradas
3.353.353.353.353.35
3.35 based on 774 reviews
#35 of 64 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Varadero
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (242)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

It was a nice stay

, Vernon, BC
2022-11-24
It was a nice start, but some things, could improve. People and beaches are amazing !! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Staff was very friendly & helpful. Always had a smile. BEAUTIFUL beach area & lunch and supper area right off the beach
The weak points
Very small resort not much to do there. Still older resort and run down even after some renovations. They do their best with food, but not always greatest options for those with dietary restrictions(celiacs, vegiterian, ect) bring own seasonings
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Need better cleaning everything. And now hand sanitizer
Certified

Vacation 2022

, Ottawa, ON
2022-11-23
Great beach, even better mojitos! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Carolina in the buffet was fantastic, she made our trip!
The weak points
Bad attitude and communication from receptionist/front desk.
Certified

Not good

, Brantford, ON
2022-10-14
good morning, start by saying that after a while I decided to take a vacation in varadero because of its beach and the fun people, but not at all what I experienced, the rooms are clean but they all get wet from the rain, the staff is very nice but the girl Noremi constantly harasses you to braid your hair, almost impossible to get rid of, on the beach there are no activities and it is impossible for them to be done because the entertainer spends all the time talking or texting on his phone, the only thing that saves him is the animation in the afternoon that the other guys do and the shows that they do at night, the dinners in the buffet restaurant are good but I could hardly reach meat because the Cubans take it all. My experience was bad and I do not recommend visiting. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Roc Arenas Doradas - a disappointing experience

, Binbrook, ON
2022-09-02
I checked in with my family in 2 rooms. The rooms were old and bad condition. The buffet dinner was rich in rice, potatoes, beans and fried bananas but the meat and dish very scarce and people where queuing up to get a piece of chicken or fish. It was the case for all open buffet restaurants for lunch and dinner.
When I complained next day to front desk, they “upgraded” my rooms to the renovated blocks (block 3&4) and booked us for menu dinner restaurants every evening of the week, so we don't have to queue up the way we had to do. I have to say, all the guests were disappointed with the buffet service.
They give you a towel per person and inform you that it is “your responsibility” to bring it back at the end of stay, otherwise you will be charged $10 per lost towel. I checked out on a Friday, the Wednesday before, there was a family that had 2 towels taken from the resort beach seating area, right where we were sitting. Security came and did their rounds and obviously nothing happened because it's a towel and the same type and color as all others.
On Friday we were leaving, I was sitting in the same area which is the designated area by the resort, I went for lunch and when I came back the towel was taken. No big deal, I went to reception who called customer service manager to “handle my situation” and I explained him that the towel was taken from me in the facility of the hotel. I would have been happy to pay the $10 if I had lost it due to negligence but out of principle I refused to pay the $10 for their security incompetence. He wanted to call his director and have the security look around and I had a plane to catch! In addition to waiting with him at the reception with sweat dripping all over. It's only when I told him that if the hotel will hold me responsible for having the towel stolen from me in their hotel, I wanted the police to come and open a report, he let me go… such a waste of time and ruin of vacation mode. This “manager” is one of the likes that run the hotel and make it a disgrace. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The staff is very friendly and helpful (except the customer service manager I mentioned above). The front desk team is excellent in handling issues. Make sure that you bring lot of $5 bills so you can tip them individually. Don't tip them in coins.
The weak points
Very poor supply chain leading to inconsistency in the quality of food served at the buffet and the individual restaurants. They have a poor customer service manager although the people working for him and friendly.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
It's Cuba!

Great time at Roc Arenas Doradas

, Brackley, PE
2022-04-09
We had a great vacation, the hotel staff were friendly and polite. Although the hotel is not one of the newer ones in the area, the rooms, dining areas, bars, lobby, entertainment areas and grounds were kept very clean and tidy. The Roc Plus rooms (renovated) that we stayed in were nice. The hotel was not overly busy or still had low occupancy, so that made for less wait times and more personalized service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Great place to stay, would definitely go back!
The weak points
Low occupancy made it difficult for the entertainment staff to get good participation in games and activities. Only other weakness to add would be that the pool could use a good scrubbing and a few tiles replaced.
Certified

What an awesome place!

, Fredericton, NB
2022-01-04
The experience that my husband and I had at this resort was first rate. The staff were very knowledgeable and helpful. Anything we needed, they tried their best to provide it.
The grounds were immaculate and very well kept. This is the first resort I have been to that had lots of green grass everywhere! The pool and beach were 5 star in my opinion. We were in Building 3, which was situated central to the pool and beach. It was perfect.
The rooms were very clean and fairly recently renovated with new mini-splits in each room. The beds were comfy as well.
Our cleaning lady was a sweetheart and did her best to make our stay even more comfortable.
I would return there again tomorrow if I could. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The staff were definitely one of the strong points. Very helpful and respectful everywhere on the resort. The cleanliness of the resort was a plus for me, and the layout of the resort was very nice. Lots of lounge chairs everywhere you went.
The weak points
Better information is needed concerning the process of paying for the PCR test. Our rep told us cash or creditcard, but when we got there they didn't want to take cash and they had no machine to take our credit card, we had to download an app to pay.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The attention of the staff to maintaining Covid potocol was very apparent. All staff members kept their masks on at all times. There were hand sanitizing stations everywhere! Extra cleaning was always taking place in public washrooms and lounges, etc.
Certified

Enjoyable experience

, Winnipeg, MB
2021-12-23
One week is never enough. As a frequent visitor to the Island, my expectations are low. As always Cuba surprises. And staying at this resort
exceeded all my expectations. The service was above par. The staff always friendly and accommodating. Hats off to the Pool bar and snack bar staff.
Even complete jerks were treated with a smile. WE were warned of shortages of food and drink - Never the case. The resort was well stocked and we and the several hundred locals ate and drank to our hearts content.
Side note: I am really not a resort person and love to venture offsite and visit local bars and restaurants. Varadero has been hard hit. Many closures of favorite haunts and local restaurants. Shops are empty.
No canned or bottle beer. When the famous Kiki Club can't service its fabulous lobster pizza due to shortages / Calle 62 has no beer - It really hits home. They are experiencing extreme economic conditions, I have not seen since the late 80's.
Their spirit will not be broken. They still meet everyday with a smile. they all echo the same message. " today is just a step to a better economy tomorrow"
Tip well my fellow travelers and lets show this incredible place some well deserved love. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

An excellent experience for a week in the sun!

, Cote Saint-Luc, QC
2021-12-16
The positive reviews I read prior to my trip are all justified. I traveled in early December 2021, a traditional low season for Varadero, and with the Covid pandemic still making the rounds, there were few tourists at the ROC. I checked in around 14:30h but the room was only available after 16:00h. So it was a good idea to pack a change of clothes in my hand luggage and change into something cooler. I used the hour to walk around the hotel and get something to eat at the snack place close to the pool. Every amenity is close by never mind where you are. My room was in building one, two minutes walk to the lobby, buffet, and restaurants. The beach was maybe five minutes away. Everything is clean and well maintained. My room was kind of dated because it had a bathtub and the mattress was kind of old, but this is not unusual for Cuba. Because of Covid hygiene protocol, everything is put on the plate for you which leads to lineups. During the high season, this will be problematic. The food was good for Cuban standards, but you have heard this a thousand times before. I would recommend bringing your spices with you. I even had to ask for Salt & Pepper. What I particularly appreciated was the free and well-functioning WiFi. There is also a free hotel shuttle to Varadero. Check the schedule at...More [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Modern Facilities, Free WiFi and good coverage. Staff
The weak points
Mattress

Awesome time

, Bedford, HA
2020-02-04
We really enjoyed our stay at this resort... The updated rooms deserve a 5 star and also the housekeeping service. The International Restaurant was amazing and the service was 5 star. The grounds were kept very nice and they seem to be doing lots of upgrades. The beach, the pool and the snack bar was very nice. all in all a very nice place to stay.... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2020-02-20
Dear Awesome time, We are very proud of your beautiful comments about our hotel. Thank you very much to sharing here, for us it is very important that other future customers can read and feel comments and experiences like yours. We work hard everyday and it´s a satisfaction to read your comment about the hotel, the services and the staff. Regards

Our experience

, Halifax, NS
2020-02-03
Overall great experience. The room upgrades very nice and the cleaning staff was great. The grounds very well kept and most of the staff were very friendly throughout the resort. Our only bad experience with dining was at the Steak House the staff was very slow and not friendly at all! Purchased the Roc plus and didn't have the beach or buffet service stated would receive. Hard to get wine at the bars was a bit of a problem for me as I am a wine drinker but I managed ok. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach, pool and rooms were very nice
The weak points
roc plus not honored at beach or at buffet.
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2020-02-20
Dear Lynn, We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel to enjoy your vacation. We are pleased to know that in general you had a good experience although we regret the inconvenience you had. The staff working at the Steak House has a lot of experience and dedication, we are sorry that you do not have a good opinion of your dinner there. We will continue working to offer a service with higher quality. We have a trained staff that offers service to customers of the Roc Plus offer both on the beach and in the Buffet. We have had many Roc PLus customers and sometimes the staff is not enough but we continue to refine this service to meet the expectations of all our customers. We are at your service. Regards

First visit to Cuba

, Enderby, BC
2020-01-26
Clean hotel , friendly staff [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Hotel staff did a amazing job , house keeping did an amazing job keeping our room clean everyday. Employees working in restaurants also did a great job working with the hotel guests, always polite and helpful.
The weak points
Some of the electrical outlets were broken and some lights we're burnt out , but besides that rooms were clean
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2020-02-20
Dear Troy Skead, We are very proud of your beautiful comments about our hotel. Thank you very much to sharing here, for us it is very important that other future customers can read and feel comments and experiences like yours. We work hard everyday and it´s a satisfaction to read your comment about the hotel, the services and the staff. We apologize for the inconvenience you had in the room. We are at your disposal. Regards

Roc Arenas Dorado

, Kelowna, BC
2020-01-19
Great experience. Rooms, service, food, entertainment, beach were all excellent. Our first time in Cuba and glad we picked this hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness, service, layout of resort, food choices, well managed
The weak points
Front desk not happy people but functional.
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2020-02-20
Dear Allen, We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel to spend your holidays. We are pleased to know that you had a great experience, we work for the satisfaction of our customers. We invite you to return to offer you an even better experience. We are at your service. Regards

A memorable vacation

, Montréal, QC
2020-01-15
excellent to forget about the outside world [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2020-02-20
Dear shahrooz shahraki,, We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel to spend your holidays. We are pleased to know that you had a great stay. We invite you to return to offer you an even better experience. We are at your service. Regards

Tip Central

, Spruce Grove, AB
2020-01-14
After a complete disaster with our airline, we arrived at 8 PM in Cuba. We travelled with 2 neurodiverse children ages 12 and 14 years. Cuba airport staff (women) were arrogant and rude. The airline rep at the Cuban airport was helpful...but run off his feet. We were not on the passenger list so waited an hour for that to be cleared up. Hotel reception was not welcoming and no welcome drink or smile received. The currency rate is absurd. Prices are ridiculous. Our room did not accommodate our family and the room keys were not functional and we had to switch rooms the next day. Both rooms had grungy bathrooms, dirty tubs and shower curtains, walls, bidet, bedspreads, doors and mirrors, and patio set all grungy. Store staff are rude and stand around gossiping and keep you waiting. No hello, no smile and no gratitude. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
75% of restaurant staff in main buffet are genuinely kind and happy to be there. Grounds and Beach are lovely.
The weak points
Filthy pool chairs, tips are clearly expected for everything; going by the faces made when you don't give a tip and the special service you get if you do tip. No control at pool or in food areas, barefeet, no tops and stampede of ill-mannered guests.
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2020-02-20
Dear Geniebumbie, We regret that you had these inconveniences during your trip and that you did not have a good experience in our hotel. We must point out that due to the inconveniences presented during his trip he could not reach our hotel as planned. After your late arrival and having a high occupancy we offered you the best room we had available. The next day we offered another room with more comfort where you could have a better stay. If we had reported that the new room was inconvenient we would have attended and offered personalized attention. We are at your service. Regards

Ist time to resort

, Welland, ON
2019-12-26
The hotel was nicely laid out and easy to find things. Pool centrally located to majority of units. The rooms could use a little updating, but the cleaning staff made sure your room was comfortable and clean.
Did not expect the 1.5 hours bus ride from the airport.
Food not bad, good assortment but very bland.
Hotel staff generally very friendly and pleasant. A few crabby one's
Entertainment staff very motivating [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Fantastic cleaning staff
The weak points
Very slippery with all the ceramic tile. Fell on the tile due to it being wet. Pool towels could not be replaced all week. None were ever available. Drinks were very strong to drink as a person that does not drink much.
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2020-02-20
Dear Jody, We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel to spend your holidays. We are pleased to know that you had a great experience overall. We apologize for any inconvenience you had with the towel service. This service is offered by an external company that unfortunately presented irregularities during your stay. We apologize for that and ask you to come back to offer you a better experience. We are at your service. Regards

Great time had!

, Belleville, ON
2019-12-04
Had a wonderful trip. Been to many places in Cuba and can't beat Varadero for its beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very friendly staff and visitors.
The weak points
Poor staffing at the beach restaurant. No water to drink with meals. Staff non-attentive and non-friendly.
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2020-02-20
Dear Albert Norrmalm, We want to thank you for choosing our hotel to spend your holidays. We are pleased to know that you had a good experience although we regret the perception you have about the service at the Steak House restaurant. There we have experienced workers that are characterized by offering a friendly and professional attention. We will consider your suggestion to offer a higher quality service. We are at your service. Regards

Roc Arenas Doradas

, Fall River, NS
2019-11-12
We were there from October 11th to October 17th/19 and had an amazing time. Many folks from Germany and Russia who spent 3 or more weeks every year who picked up some english so it was nice chatting with them. The girls in the buffet always welcomed us each and every morning and evening. Very chatty with us and could communicate in English. Al-a-carts were very pleasing and very friendly staff who soon recognized us after just a couple of days!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Reception desk were wonderful. Especially Yanni...we had problems with our safe and door key and she was quick to rectify it.Double decker bus was a great way to go to church and the markets.
The weak points
I know they are redoing their rooms and are almost finished but we had a bit of a problem with our first room and they were quick to change us to the updated section. Kudos to them.
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2020-02-20
Dear Keelagirl, We are very proud of your beautiful comments about our hotel. Thank you very much to sharing here, for us it is very important that other future customers can read and feel comments and experiences like yours. We apologize for the small inconvenience you had and invite you to return to offer you an even better experience. We are at your service. Regards

Our Oasis

, Toronto, ON
2019-11-10
We love this resort. We have been to Cuba many times and the Arenas Dorados 3 times. It is our favourite place to stay. The staff are amazing, the grounds are beautiful and we feel very much at home. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, comfortable and clean rooms, everything is close so not an excessive amount of walking and the beach is beautiful.
The weak points
No Air conditioning in the Buffett, room and safe key card problems
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2020-02-20
Dear Jody Whitfield, We would like to thank you for sharing your experiences during your holidays in our Hotel. We really value the repeater customer review. Our goal is our clients have a pleasant stay and that they want to return once again. Always at your disposal. Regards

Boring ! No Charm ! Limited music !

, Longueuil, QC
2019-09-27
I traveled with my husband and two small kids. I read so many amazing reviews but I still didn't expect much. We were there during the Cuban holidays (which we loved) but the service was awful. People were pushing to get food and drinks. Most staff looked unhappy and overheated. We were treated like we were locals, since we could look Cuban ourselves. Tips didn't work either...Still the worst part was the main buffet restaurant had no air conditioning in the heat of the summer...mixed with flies, mosquitoes, and large crowds, made it very unpleasant to eat there. You had to fight for plates, cups, and food. Apart from that the rooms are old but clean. Beds are comfortable. The pool is hot and not refreshing. Drinks are not great. NO good Cuban Music playing anywhere, they're playing American rock and reggaeton by the pool. This place is not good for young, old, and in between (especially families with small children) they looked at my kids like we were a nuisance. I think this place is only good for repeat customers as they supposedly bend over backwards for the repeat customers from Canada but don't make an effort to make new ones, especially new customers that don't resemble the "typical Canadian stereotype look". Our last night had to be the worst as we were barred from going into an a la carte that we had reservations to, all because they'd lost the guest list. They demanded we give them the reservation paper (which we never had to all week) Angry and overheated we were, My husband went back to the room to look for this tiny little paper while my toddler and 8 year old sat in a humid lobby waiting and not knowing if we have to head to the hot buffet to eat instead. We did find it and finally got in but this ruined our last night. Evening shows looked so boring! I've gone to 3 star hotels with much more life and much more talented warm staff. The beach is absolutely stunning! The vegetation is beautiful! This place has potential if the management changes and they learn to respect all types of tourists ! VIva Cuba ! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Beach, Beds, Natura a la carte. beach BBQ, coffee bar, Palm trees.
The weak points
No AC in the buffet. Bad service! No life, boring, no good bands, music, bad entertainment, hot pool. Nothing much for kids. Only for repeat customers!!!!
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2020-02-20
Dear Stark0, We regret that you have not had a good experience in our hotel, we work exclusively for the satisfaction of our customers. We will take into account every aspect that points to improve our services. We would have liked to know about these inconveniences during your stay to assist you and provide you with personalized attention. We are at your service. Regards

Loved it!

, Merritt, BC
2019-05-07
I went with my 2 young adult kids and a friend. We all had a very good experience! This was our first time to Cuba. Cuba is fun and safe. And very friendly! The weather was perfection, with a few rainstorms that were short lived. The food was better than I expected. The entertainment was good. Loved the coffee bar! And really enjoyed the diversity of travellers! There were lots of Canadian, but from all over canada. As well from Germany Russia China and even met some from south America. We went for the beach. And it was amazing! There was always someone to help find you a chair. We met many return customers. They said their experience elsewhere in Veradero was good but the price and quality is what brings them back to Roc Arenas Doradas. We feel the same. Looking forward to returning [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff are wonderful! The beach is gorgeous. Love the coffee bar. The bars were good- would have liked mojitos at all the bars. Dancing. We liked the free shuttle into Veradero- wished they would make a few stops rather than just one. We felt very safe
The weak points
The shower was just more than a trickle. The beds were old and uncomfortable . If we had 3 in a room we would have been very grumpy . The 2 queens were more like a super single. More ashtrays. Cigarette butts everywhere.
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2019-05-28
Dear Allyson Sterling, Thank you for your comments about your holidays in our Resort. We are very glad that you´ve enjoyed your stay with us. We will work right away on the weak points you marked. It helps to improve every day our services. We hope you can come soon. We are at your disposal. Regards, The Management

Our trip to Roc Arenas Doradas,

, Toronto, ON
2019-04-20
Nice and clean. Located close to pool and beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice and relaxing , friendly staff ,great beach.
The weak points
charging for room safe ,having to buy coffee to have in the room in the morning, not cool .
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2019-05-28
Dear Everett, Thank you for your opinion. We will work right away on the weak points you marked. It helps to improve every day our services. We hope you can come soon. We are at your disposal. Regards, The Management

First time in cuba

, Windsor, ON
2019-04-20
First time in Cuba so I understand the expectations for certain things but as for the hotel I will not return
Staff was friendly but no real feeling of vacation oriented.......our friends had issues with no water or working fridge(3 days later it worked) in their room
Both our rooms should have been set up before we got there not the next day.... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Small resort ......lobby and buffet in the centre
The weak points
Activities and entertainment were lacking A brief overview of the layout and what to do or where to eat on the resort would have been nice...after eating the buffet all week we found they had barbecue at the beach area...food 100 % better than buffet
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2019-05-28
Dear Yolande Murphy , First of all we want to apologize for the inconvenience that you had. We will personally review what happened and we will do our best that it will not to repeat it again. Thank you for continuing trust in us and select our hotel to enjoy your vacation. We hope to receive you again and you can personally check the improvements we are carry on. Always at your disposal

ROC vacation

, Newbury, ON
2019-03-05
another great trip to the ROC … thanks to the great staff for making it that way ...hope to be returning again next winter [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great staff , clean, great beach , short ride from airport, free shuttle into Varadero,
The weak points
limited wifi ,
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2019-05-28
Dear Trisha, Thank you for your comments about your stay with us. We hope you can come soon. We are at your disposal. Regards, The Management

A week in paradise

, Edmonton, AB
2019-02-27
We arrived very early in the morning and were greeted with the biggest smiles from the staff in the front end and lobby bar. Communication was easy as they know english very well so check in was a breeze. We were then shuttled to our room in a golf cart by a very helpful staff member who pointed out the main areas of the resort on our way to the room.

Our room was spotless and clean, had a small issue with the safe key that was instantly addressed and fixed by the front reception, excellent service at 4:30 am in the morning. We had no other issues with the room at all the entire week and would come back to a clean room with fresh sheets every day if we requested it, otherwise they would make the bed and fold the blankets into a swan or a heart, ect. Was always a pleasure returning to our room.

The resort is very clean and the groundskeepers are amazing! On our 3rd day one of them saw me on my balcony just before sunrise and brought over a bouquet of flowers for my wife, they truly go above and beyond to create a wonderful experience. All the eating areas were clean and had many choices of food, the breads were so good I already miss them. My favorite place to eat was the Beach BBQ, the chicken off the grill was amazing. The pool is massive and clean, the swim up bar staff always greeted you with a smile and very prompt service.

The beach is one of the nicest in the entire world, and was groomed every morning. The beach staff would get a lounger and pull it over when we arrived, excellent service at the beach bar and again there were those smiles all around.

We had a wonderful time, all the staff were informative and helpful, the food was great, the pool and beach were relaxing and our room was very nice. We are already planning to return Feb 2020 and bringing a few friends with us, it was really that enjoyable! Loved every moment at Roc Arenas Doradas, see you next year! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-Beaches are beautiful, crystal clear water -Wonderful helpful staff -Very tidy resort
The weak points
-Food, although there is many different options it is bland for what we are used too. It is still very good but I suggest bringing a bottle of hot sauce and a jar of peanut butter to liven it up. -Internet access is limited to front lobby
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2019-05-28
Dear Brendan, Thank you for your comments about your stay in our Resort. We are very proud of our staff. They are always attentative with all our guests. We hope you can come soon. We are at your disposal. Regards, The Management

You get what you pay for

, Thunder Bay, ON
2019-02-16
Below average. Our cleaning lady (Nancy) was the best. We were supposed to get minimum 3 a la carte dinners and only got 1. Buffet- hot food was cold and cold food was warm. No variety, same food every day. The 1 a la carte was very good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff
The weak points
Woman in customer service
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2019-05-28
Dear John, Thank you for your opinion. We will work right away on the weak points you marked. It helps to improve every day our services. We hope you can come soon. We are at your disposal. Regards, The Management

Truely amazing

, Thunder Bay, ON
2019-02-03
I dont know where to start. I guess by saying this is a small piece of heaven. My 20 year old son and I went on this getaway together. We had never traveled before so I did as much research as I could. I was so nervous. But right from the time we stepped off the bus and entered the beautiful building I knew we picked the right spot. We made so many friends alot of canadians where there. Staff felt like family by the time I left. You would think a mother and her 20 year old son would not have much in common on a trip but we did. He made amazing friends and went parting all over including the priate cave just walking distance. Very cool club on Monday nights. During the day we walked 15 minutes to the dolphins and swam with them. We even took the bus into the village and picked up some fun gifts. The beach was beautiful and clean. I just cant say enough about this hotel. Nightly entertainment, beautiful pool the only bad thing is I had to go home. If you want a beautiful safe place to be I totally recommend. Ps bring a big big bubba cup everyone has one and it saves having to keep going for drinks. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach staff pool drinks fresh bottle of water every day
The weak points
Food is different the what I am use to. But I'm in a different country and expected that
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2019-05-28
Dear Momandson, Thank for your comments about your stay with us. We will work asap on all weak points you marked. We hope you can come soon. We are at your disposal. Regards, The Management

My second home

, Cobourg, ON
2019-02-03
This was my 22nd time to this hotel. People are always asking why do I choose the same spot everytime for my vacation and the answer is simple. It is home to many! I cannot express enough how much I love everyone at this resort. As soon as I walk into the front lobby here it is the most overwhelmingly beautiful reunion I experience every single time. When I have to leave I always leave a piece of my heart for next time. Yoly in customer service goes above and beyond to secure great rooms for myself and guests always. Yoly also has our dinners set up so we are worry free when we arrive. Her beautiful smile and kind soul is so welcomed. Bertica is also very helpful and has a wonderful smile. Front desk staff mareyls and Zoya to name a couple are always very helpful and again pleasant to see. There are currently 3 bars. Lobby, pool and beach there you will find George Daniel Roly Miladys Jorito Pepe Lisandra Daysi Raulito Dayana. Osmany at the beach. A la carte restaurant service you have Amaury Yahony Karennia Leo Daniel Rosana Anniel. Buffet restaurant Julianna Andy Roberto Adalys Milena to name a few. Snack bar Arelys jesus And block 11 house service our sweet Aliina. Coffee bar Nuirys and Maria. And of course your entertainment staff Yas Yeneibys Noremys Danilo Eddie Laz. Iam certain to be missing so many more wonderful people from the hotel but I'm just thinking off the top. Please get to know everyone and show up with an open mind and heart. Every single one of them work extra hard to accomodate and to ensure the most wonderful experience I enjoy everytime I go. Roc arenas Doradas is a very quaint and very clean hotel. The food is great and you will always find variety in the restaurants. Drinks are cold and the beach is incredible! I will continue to support and recommend to anyone. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Entertainment is the highest quality. We were so pleased with new arrival Yas. We met him in october briefly and really got to know him in january. Yas is an incredible asset to the hotel. Yas if you are reading this the shoes have been filled my friend ❤
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2019-05-28
Dear Andreas, Thank you so much for your nice comments about us. We are so glad to receive once and once again in our / your second home! Our staff is our jewel, we are very proud of them. We are pleased to receive you one more time very soon. As always, we are at your entire disposal. Thank you so much.

Best hotel ever

, Nanaimo, BC
2019-02-01
I have been with my family at the Roc Arenas Doradas Hotel for 7th time now. I love the service, people and employees at this wonderful place that I call my second house.
All the staff are so professional and hard working people, I love them and I'm looking forward to my 8th time next year [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2019-05-28
Dear Vladcubadoradas, Thank for your comments about your stay with us. We will work asap on all weak points you marked. We hope you can come soon. We are at your disposal. Regards, The Management

Bottom of the barrel

, Abbotsford, BC
2019-01-23
This place is a joke. Upon arrival you're greeted by no less than 3 security guards in the lobby, which you'd think would give off a good feeling of safety, until you realize that their main purpose is to ensure the employees don't pocket the tips that they recieve. Having to ring a bell everytime a tip comes in makes the rent-a-cops job that much easier. All the employees seem unhappy and mostly stare at the ground. Our sink in the room was torn apart and we had no water. The food is what you'd expect for Cuba. They charge for services that are usually included in other decent resorts. (Safe, etc) oh and the 'safe' is actually just a mag strip key card that's printed at the front desk. Not really that safe considering THEY DONT EVEN TRUST THEIR OWN EMPLOYEES. This place attracts a younger crowd, and tho we are a young couple ourselves, we found it very dissapointing and paid an extra 250$ to switch resorts after a couple days. It was the best decision we made all week. I recommend spending the few extra dollars and avoiding this place and you will be more likely to recieve the service and experience that generally comes with Cuba. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
They will put twice as much alcohol in your girlfriend's drink than yours.
The weak points
They will put twice as much alcohol in your girlfriend's drink than yours.
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2019-05-28
Dear Eric Trist, First of all I would like to apologize for the delay in responding to your opinion. Unfortunately we could not do it before because of access problems. We regret the inconvenience you may have suffered with us. All the Hotel Management and the staff are working hard on the points indicated to improve our services and our offers. We hope you can come soon and you can see all improve we are carry on. Regards

Loved our stay

, Thunder Bay, ON
2019-01-03
It was our very first all inclusive experience and we really enjoyed it. We had us as a couple and our 10 yr old son in our room.
It was not perfect but we knew Cuba's limitations before coming so had tempered expectations. We also budget travel a lot so compared to other places it was good. Our son is cealiac and while they didn't know what gluten free is, because the food is so unprocessed he ate fine. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Room was a good size for 3 people Our cleaners were excellent and thorough. We had to move rooms once and it was painless. The buffet, coffee and bar staff remembered us and greeted us warmly all the time. The wifi was great when we needed it.
The weak points
The pool isn't open at night and closes at 6. Sometimes a night swim would've felt good. The buffet opens for breakfast at 7:30 but some excursion pickups are around then so that was annoying. Not a lot of planned activities for kids but we didn't need it
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2019-05-28
Dear Annet Maurer, First of all I would like to apologize for the delay in responding to your opinion. Unfortunately we could not do it before because of access problems. We will work right away on the weak points you marked. It helps to improve every day our services. We hope you can come soon. We are at your disposal. Regards, The Management

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2022