Roc Arenas Doradas

Roc Arenas Doradas
3.343.343.343.343.34
3.34 based on 760 reviews
#20 of 65 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Varadero
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (217)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Awesome time

, Bedford, HA
2020-02-04
We really enjoyed our stay at this resort... The updated rooms deserve a 5 star and also the housekeeping service. The International Restaurant was amazing and the service was 5 star. The grounds were kept very nice and they seem to be doing lots of upgrades. The beach, the pool and the snack bar was very nice. all in all a very nice place to stay.... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2020-02-20
Dear Awesome time, We are very proud of your beautiful comments about our hotel. Thank you very much to sharing here, for us it is very important that other future customers can read and feel comments and experiences like yours. We work hard everyday and it´s a satisfaction to read your comment about the hotel, the services and the staff. Regards

Our experience

, Halifax, NS
2020-02-03
Overall great experience. The room upgrades very nice and the cleaning staff was great. The grounds very well kept and most of the staff were very friendly throughout the resort. Our only bad experience with dining was at the Steak House the staff was very slow and not friendly at all! Purchased the Roc plus and didn't have the beach or buffet service stated would receive. Hard to get wine at the bars was a bit of a problem for me as I am a wine drinker but I managed ok. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach, pool and rooms were very nice
The weak points
roc plus not honored at beach or at buffet.
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2020-02-20
Dear Lynn, We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel to enjoy your vacation. We are pleased to know that in general you had a good experience although we regret the inconvenience you had. The staff working at the Steak House has a lot of experience and dedication, we are sorry that you do not have a good opinion of your dinner there. We will continue working to offer a service with higher quality. We have a trained staff that offers service to customers of the Roc Plus offer both on the beach and in the Buffet. We have had many Roc PLus customers and sometimes the staff is not enough but we continue to refine this service to meet the expectations of all our customers. We are at your service. Regards

First visit to Cuba

, Enderby, BC
2020-01-26
Clean hotel , friendly staff [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Hotel staff did a amazing job , house keeping did an amazing job keeping our room clean everyday. Employees working in restaurants also did a great job working with the hotel guests, always polite and helpful.
The weak points
Some of the electrical outlets were broken and some lights we're burnt out , but besides that rooms were clean
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2020-02-20
Dear Troy Skead, We are very proud of your beautiful comments about our hotel. Thank you very much to sharing here, for us it is very important that other future customers can read and feel comments and experiences like yours. We work hard everyday and it´s a satisfaction to read your comment about the hotel, the services and the staff. We apologize for the inconvenience you had in the room. We are at your disposal. Regards

Roc Arenas Dorado

, Kelowna, BC
2020-01-19
Great experience. Rooms, service, food, entertainment, beach were all excellent. Our first time in Cuba and glad we picked this hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness, service, layout of resort, food choices, well managed
The weak points
Front desk not happy people but functional.
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2020-02-20
Dear Allen, We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel to spend your holidays. We are pleased to know that you had a great experience, we work for the satisfaction of our customers. We invite you to return to offer you an even better experience. We are at your service. Regards

A memorable vacation

, Montréal, QC
2020-01-15
excellent to forget about the outside world [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2020-02-20
Dear shahrooz shahraki,, We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel to spend your holidays. We are pleased to know that you had a great stay. We invite you to return to offer you an even better experience. We are at your service. Regards

Tip Central

, Spruce Grove, AB
2020-01-14
After a complete disaster with our airline, we arrived at 8 PM in Cuba. We travelled with 2 neurodiverse children ages 12 and 14 years. Cuba airport staff (women) were arrogant and rude. The airline rep at the Cuban airport was helpful...but run off his feet. We were not on the passenger list so waited an hour for that to be cleared up. Hotel reception was not welcoming and no welcome drink or smile received. The currency rate is absurd. Prices are ridiculous. Our room did not accommodate our family and the room keys were not functional and we had to switch rooms the next day. Both rooms had grungy bathrooms, dirty tubs and shower curtains, walls, bidet, bedspreads, doors and mirrors, and patio set all grungy. Store staff are rude and stand around gossiping and keep you waiting. No hello, no smile and no gratitude. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
75% of restaurant staff in main buffet are genuinely kind and happy to be there. Grounds and Beach are lovely.
The weak points
Filthy pool chairs, tips are clearly expected for everything; going by the faces made when you don't give a tip and the special service you get if you do tip. No control at pool or in food areas, barefeet, no tops and stampede of ill-mannered guests.
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2020-02-20
Dear Geniebumbie, We regret that you had these inconveniences during your trip and that you did not have a good experience in our hotel. We must point out that due to the inconveniences presented during his trip he could not reach our hotel as planned. After your late arrival and having a high occupancy we offered you the best room we had available. The next day we offered another room with more comfort where you could have a better stay. If we had reported that the new room was inconvenient we would have attended and offered personalized attention. We are at your service. Regards

Ist time to resort

, Welland, ON
2019-12-26
The hotel was nicely laid out and easy to find things. Pool centrally located to majority of units. The rooms could use a little updating, but the cleaning staff made sure your room was comfortable and clean.
Did not expect the 1.5 hours bus ride from the airport.
Food not bad, good assortment but very bland.
Hotel staff generally very friendly and pleasant. A few crabby one's
Entertainment staff very motivating [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Fantastic cleaning staff
The weak points
Very slippery with all the ceramic tile. Fell on the tile due to it being wet. Pool towels could not be replaced all week. None were ever available. Drinks were very strong to drink as a person that does not drink much.
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2020-02-20
Dear Jody, We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel to spend your holidays. We are pleased to know that you had a great experience overall. We apologize for any inconvenience you had with the towel service. This service is offered by an external company that unfortunately presented irregularities during your stay. We apologize for that and ask you to come back to offer you a better experience. We are at your service. Regards

Great time had!

, Belleville, ON
2019-12-04
Had a wonderful trip. Been to many places in Cuba and can't beat Varadero for its beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very friendly staff and visitors.
The weak points
Poor staffing at the beach restaurant. No water to drink with meals. Staff non-attentive and non-friendly.
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2020-02-20
Dear Albert Norrmalm, We want to thank you for choosing our hotel to spend your holidays. We are pleased to know that you had a good experience although we regret the perception you have about the service at the Steak House restaurant. There we have experienced workers that are characterized by offering a friendly and professional attention. We will consider your suggestion to offer a higher quality service. We are at your service. Regards

Roc Arenas Doradas

, Fall River, NS
2019-11-12
We were there from October 11th to October 17th/19 and had an amazing time. Many folks from Germany and Russia who spent 3 or more weeks every year who picked up some english so it was nice chatting with them. The girls in the buffet always welcomed us each and every morning and evening. Very chatty with us and could communicate in English. Al-a-carts were very pleasing and very friendly staff who soon recognized us after just a couple of days!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Reception desk were wonderful. Especially Yanni...we had problems with our safe and door key and she was quick to rectify it.Double decker bus was a great way to go to church and the markets.
The weak points
I know they are redoing their rooms and are almost finished but we had a bit of a problem with our first room and they were quick to change us to the updated section. Kudos to them.
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2020-02-20
Dear Keelagirl, We are very proud of your beautiful comments about our hotel. Thank you very much to sharing here, for us it is very important that other future customers can read and feel comments and experiences like yours. We apologize for the small inconvenience you had and invite you to return to offer you an even better experience. We are at your service. Regards

Our Oasis

, Toronto, ON
2019-11-10
We love this resort. We have been to Cuba many times and the Arenas Dorados 3 times. It is our favourite place to stay. The staff are amazing, the grounds are beautiful and we feel very much at home. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, comfortable and clean rooms, everything is close so not an excessive amount of walking and the beach is beautiful.
The weak points
No Air conditioning in the Buffett, room and safe key card problems
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2020-02-20
Dear Jody Whitfield, We would like to thank you for sharing your experiences during your holidays in our Hotel. We really value the repeater customer review. Our goal is our clients have a pleasant stay and that they want to return once again. Always at your disposal. Regards

Boring ! No Charm ! Limited music !

, Longueuil, QC
2019-09-27
I traveled with my husband and two small kids. I read so many amazing reviews but I still didn't expect much. We were there during the Cuban holidays (which we loved) but the service was awful. People were pushing to get food and drinks. Most staff looked unhappy and overheated. We were treated like we were locals, since we could look Cuban ourselves. Tips didn't work either...Still the worst part was the main buffet restaurant had no air conditioning in the heat of the summer...mixed with flies, mosquitoes, and large crowds, made it very unpleasant to eat there. You had to fight for plates, cups, and food. Apart from that the rooms are old but clean. Beds are comfortable. The pool is hot and not refreshing. Drinks are not great. NO good Cuban Music playing anywhere, they're playing American rock and reggaeton by the pool. This place is not good for young, old, and in between (especially families with small children) they looked at my kids like we were a nuisance. I think this place is only good for repeat customers as they supposedly bend over backwards for the repeat customers from Canada but don't make an effort to make new ones, especially new customers that don't resemble the "typical Canadian stereotype look". Our last night had to be the worst as we were barred from going into an a la carte that we had reservations to, all because they'd lost the guest list. They demanded we give them the reservation paper (which we never had to all week) Angry and overheated we were, My husband went back to the room to look for this tiny little paper while my toddler and 8 year old sat in a humid lobby waiting and not knowing if we have to head to the hot buffet to eat instead. We did find it and finally got in but this ruined our last night. Evening shows looked so boring! I've gone to 3 star hotels with much more life and much more talented warm staff. The beach is absolutely stunning! The vegetation is beautiful! This place has potential if the management changes and they learn to respect all types of tourists ! VIva Cuba ! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Beach, Beds, Natura a la carte. beach BBQ, coffee bar, Palm trees.
The weak points
No AC in the buffet. Bad service! No life, boring, no good bands, music, bad entertainment, hot pool. Nothing much for kids. Only for repeat customers!!!!
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2020-02-20
Dear Stark0, We regret that you have not had a good experience in our hotel, we work exclusively for the satisfaction of our customers. We will take into account every aspect that points to improve our services. We would have liked to know about these inconveniences during your stay to assist you and provide you with personalized attention. We are at your service. Regards

Loved it!

, Merritt, BC
2019-05-07
I went with my 2 young adult kids and a friend. We all had a very good experience! This was our first time to Cuba. Cuba is fun and safe. And very friendly! The weather was perfection, with a few rainstorms that were short lived. The food was better than I expected. The entertainment was good. Loved the coffee bar! And really enjoyed the diversity of travellers! There were lots of Canadian, but from all over canada. As well from Germany Russia China and even met some from south America. We went for the beach. And it was amazing! There was always someone to help find you a chair. We met many return customers. They said their experience elsewhere in Veradero was good but the price and quality is what brings them back to Roc Arenas Doradas. We feel the same. Looking forward to returning [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff are wonderful! The beach is gorgeous. Love the coffee bar. The bars were good- would have liked mojitos at all the bars. Dancing. We liked the free shuttle into Veradero- wished they would make a few stops rather than just one. We felt very safe
The weak points
The shower was just more than a trickle. The beds were old and uncomfortable . If we had 3 in a room we would have been very grumpy . The 2 queens were more like a super single. More ashtrays. Cigarette butts everywhere.
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2019-05-28
Dear Allyson Sterling, Thank you for your comments about your holidays in our Resort. We are very glad that you´ve enjoyed your stay with us. We will work right away on the weak points you marked. It helps to improve every day our services. We hope you can come soon. We are at your disposal. Regards, The Management

Our trip to Roc Arenas Doradas,

, Toronto, ON
2019-04-20
Nice and clean. Located close to pool and beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice and relaxing , friendly staff ,great beach.
The weak points
charging for room safe ,having to buy coffee to have in the room in the morning, not cool .
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2019-05-28
Dear Everett, Thank you for your opinion. We will work right away on the weak points you marked. It helps to improve every day our services. We hope you can come soon. We are at your disposal. Regards, The Management

First time in cuba

, Windsor, ON
2019-04-20
First time in Cuba so I understand the expectations for certain things but as for the hotel I will not return
Staff was friendly but no real feeling of vacation oriented.......our friends had issues with no water or working fridge(3 days later it worked) in their room
Both our rooms should have been set up before we got there not the next day.... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Small resort ......lobby and buffet in the centre
The weak points
Activities and entertainment were lacking A brief overview of the layout and what to do or where to eat on the resort would have been nice...after eating the buffet all week we found they had barbecue at the beach area...food 100 % better than buffet
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2019-05-28
Dear Yolande Murphy , First of all we want to apologize for the inconvenience that you had. We will personally review what happened and we will do our best that it will not to repeat it again. Thank you for continuing trust in us and select our hotel to enjoy your vacation. We hope to receive you again and you can personally check the improvements we are carry on. Always at your disposal

ROC vacation

, Newbury, ON
2019-03-05
another great trip to the ROC … thanks to the great staff for making it that way ...hope to be returning again next winter [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great staff , clean, great beach , short ride from airport, free shuttle into Varadero,
The weak points
limited wifi ,
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2019-05-28
Dear Trisha, Thank you for your comments about your stay with us. We hope you can come soon. We are at your disposal. Regards, The Management

A week in paradise

, Edmonton, AB
2019-02-27
We arrived very early in the morning and were greeted with the biggest smiles from the staff in the front end and lobby bar. Communication was easy as they know english very well so check in was a breeze. We were then shuttled to our room in a golf cart by a very helpful staff member who pointed out the main areas of the resort on our way to the room.

Our room was spotless and clean, had a small issue with the safe key that was instantly addressed and fixed by the front reception, excellent service at 4:30 am in the morning. We had no other issues with the room at all the entire week and would come back to a clean room with fresh sheets every day if we requested it, otherwise they would make the bed and fold the blankets into a swan or a heart, ect. Was always a pleasure returning to our room.

The resort is very clean and the groundskeepers are amazing! On our 3rd day one of them saw me on my balcony just before sunrise and brought over a bouquet of flowers for my wife, they truly go above and beyond to create a wonderful experience. All the eating areas were clean and had many choices of food, the breads were so good I already miss them. My favorite place to eat was the Beach BBQ, the chicken off the grill was amazing. The pool is massive and clean, the swim up bar staff always greeted you with a smile and very prompt service.

The beach is one of the nicest in the entire world, and was groomed every morning. The beach staff would get a lounger and pull it over when we arrived, excellent service at the beach bar and again there were those smiles all around.

We had a wonderful time, all the staff were informative and helpful, the food was great, the pool and beach were relaxing and our room was very nice. We are already planning to return Feb 2020 and bringing a few friends with us, it was really that enjoyable! Loved every moment at Roc Arenas Doradas, see you next year! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-Beaches are beautiful, crystal clear water -Wonderful helpful staff -Very tidy resort
The weak points
-Food, although there is many different options it is bland for what we are used too. It is still very good but I suggest bringing a bottle of hot sauce and a jar of peanut butter to liven it up. -Internet access is limited to front lobby
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2019-05-28
Dear Brendan, Thank you for your comments about your stay in our Resort. We are very proud of our staff. They are always attentative with all our guests. We hope you can come soon. We are at your disposal. Regards, The Management

You get what you pay for

, Thunder Bay, ON
2019-02-16
Below average. Our cleaning lady (Nancy) was the best. We were supposed to get minimum 3 a la carte dinners and only got 1. Buffet- hot food was cold and cold food was warm. No variety, same food every day. The 1 a la carte was very good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff
The weak points
Woman in customer service
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2019-05-28
Dear John, Thank you for your opinion. We will work right away on the weak points you marked. It helps to improve every day our services. We hope you can come soon. We are at your disposal. Regards, The Management

Truely amazing

, Thunder Bay, ON
2019-02-03
I dont know where to start. I guess by saying this is a small piece of heaven. My 20 year old son and I went on this getaway together. We had never traveled before so I did as much research as I could. I was so nervous. But right from the time we stepped off the bus and entered the beautiful building I knew we picked the right spot. We made so many friends alot of canadians where there. Staff felt like family by the time I left. You would think a mother and her 20 year old son would not have much in common on a trip but we did. He made amazing friends and went parting all over including the priate cave just walking distance. Very cool club on Monday nights. During the day we walked 15 minutes to the dolphins and swam with them. We even took the bus into the village and picked up some fun gifts. The beach was beautiful and clean. I just cant say enough about this hotel. Nightly entertainment, beautiful pool the only bad thing is I had to go home. If you want a beautiful safe place to be I totally recommend. Ps bring a big big bubba cup everyone has one and it saves having to keep going for drinks. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach staff pool drinks fresh bottle of water every day
The weak points
Food is different the what I am use to. But I'm in a different country and expected that
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2019-05-28
Dear Momandson, Thank for your comments about your stay with us. We will work asap on all weak points you marked. We hope you can come soon. We are at your disposal. Regards, The Management

My second home

, Cobourg, ON
2019-02-03
This was my 22nd time to this hotel. People are always asking why do I choose the same spot everytime for my vacation and the answer is simple. It is home to many! I cannot express enough how much I love everyone at this resort. As soon as I walk into the front lobby here it is the most overwhelmingly beautiful reunion I experience every single time. When I have to leave I always leave a piece of my heart for next time. Yoly in customer service goes above and beyond to secure great rooms for myself and guests always. Yoly also has our dinners set up so we are worry free when we arrive. Her beautiful smile and kind soul is so welcomed. Bertica is also very helpful and has a wonderful smile. Front desk staff mareyls and Zoya to name a couple are always very helpful and again pleasant to see. There are currently 3 bars. Lobby, pool and beach there you will find George Daniel Roly Miladys Jorito Pepe Lisandra Daysi Raulito Dayana. Osmany at the beach. A la carte restaurant service you have Amaury Yahony Karennia Leo Daniel Rosana Anniel. Buffet restaurant Julianna Andy Roberto Adalys Milena to name a few. Snack bar Arelys jesus And block 11 house service our sweet Aliina. Coffee bar Nuirys and Maria. And of course your entertainment staff Yas Yeneibys Noremys Danilo Eddie Laz. Iam certain to be missing so many more wonderful people from the hotel but I'm just thinking off the top. Please get to know everyone and show up with an open mind and heart. Every single one of them work extra hard to accomodate and to ensure the most wonderful experience I enjoy everytime I go. Roc arenas Doradas is a very quaint and very clean hotel. The food is great and you will always find variety in the restaurants. Drinks are cold and the beach is incredible! I will continue to support and recommend to anyone. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Entertainment is the highest quality. We were so pleased with new arrival Yas. We met him in october briefly and really got to know him in january. Yas is an incredible asset to the hotel. Yas if you are reading this the shoes have been filled my friend ❤
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2019-05-28
Dear Andreas, Thank you so much for your nice comments about us. We are so glad to receive once and once again in our / your second home! Our staff is our jewel, we are very proud of them. We are pleased to receive you one more time very soon. As always, we are at your entire disposal. Thank you so much.

Best hotel ever

, Nanaimo, BC
2019-02-01
I have been with my family at the Roc Arenas Doradas Hotel for 7th time now. I love the service, people and employees at this wonderful place that I call my second house.
All the staff are so professional and hard working people, I love them and I'm looking forward to my 8th time next year [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2019-05-28
Dear Vladcubadoradas, Thank for your comments about your stay with us. We will work asap on all weak points you marked. We hope you can come soon. We are at your disposal. Regards, The Management

Bottom of the barrel

, Abbotsford, BC
2019-01-23
This place is a joke. Upon arrival you're greeted by no less than 3 security guards in the lobby, which you'd think would give off a good feeling of safety, until you realize that their main purpose is to ensure the employees don't pocket the tips that they recieve. Having to ring a bell everytime a tip comes in makes the rent-a-cops job that much easier. All the employees seem unhappy and mostly stare at the ground. Our sink in the room was torn apart and we had no water. The food is what you'd expect for Cuba. They charge for services that are usually included in other decent resorts. (Safe, etc) oh and the 'safe' is actually just a mag strip key card that's printed at the front desk. Not really that safe considering THEY DONT EVEN TRUST THEIR OWN EMPLOYEES. This place attracts a younger crowd, and tho we are a young couple ourselves, we found it very dissapointing and paid an extra 250$ to switch resorts after a couple days. It was the best decision we made all week. I recommend spending the few extra dollars and avoiding this place and you will be more likely to recieve the service and experience that generally comes with Cuba. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
They will put twice as much alcohol in your girlfriend's drink than yours.
The weak points
They will put twice as much alcohol in your girlfriend's drink than yours.
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2019-05-28
Dear Eric Trist, First of all I would like to apologize for the delay in responding to your opinion. Unfortunately we could not do it before because of access problems. We regret the inconvenience you may have suffered with us. All the Hotel Management and the staff are working hard on the points indicated to improve our services and our offers. We hope you can come soon and you can see all improve we are carry on. Regards

Loved our stay

, Thunder Bay, ON
2019-01-03
It was our very first all inclusive experience and we really enjoyed it. We had us as a couple and our 10 yr old son in our room.
It was not perfect but we knew Cuba's limitations before coming so had tempered expectations. We also budget travel a lot so compared to other places it was good. Our son is cealiac and while they didn't know what gluten free is, because the food is so unprocessed he ate fine. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Room was a good size for 3 people Our cleaners were excellent and thorough. We had to move rooms once and it was painless. The buffet, coffee and bar staff remembered us and greeted us warmly all the time. The wifi was great when we needed it.
The weak points
The pool isn't open at night and closes at 6. Sometimes a night swim would've felt good. The buffet opens for breakfast at 7:30 but some excursion pickups are around then so that was annoying. Not a lot of planned activities for kids but we didn't need it
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2019-05-28
Dear Annet Maurer, First of all I would like to apologize for the delay in responding to your opinion. Unfortunately we could not do it before because of access problems. We will work right away on the weak points you marked. It helps to improve every day our services. We hope you can come soon. We are at your disposal. Regards, The Management

FANTASTIC WEEK

, Markham, ON
2018-06-27
Hotel is excellent for its class and the staff is amazing. The beach is one of the best in the world and the food is excellent. There is a very extensive food menu on a international level.
The hotel is not a new construction but rooms are very comfortable and all have same access/distance to the pool, lobby, restaurant and the beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach, the hotel service, the pool, the restaurants, the staff and everything else.
The weak points
NONE
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2019-05-28
Dear Leo P, We would like to thank you for sharing your opinion about the hotel. For us it is very important that future clients can feel and live experiences like yours. We want to invite you to come back very soon. Best regards

Amazing Time

, Grand Bay Westfield, NB
2018-05-25
It is a beautiful resort with the nicest people working there. The pool bar staff was awesome even making drinks that they don't normally make for me. We were always able to find a chair in the shade whether at the beach or the pool. I even had fun playing games this year with the animation team. I even won a bottle of rum. Our check in was quick and smooth and we had a king size bed on a bottom floor on block 7 just as we had requested. The off and on bus was perfect to get us where we wanted to go. Even the bus straight from the resort took us so close to our destination of the church where we were dropping off school supplies and glasses for those in need outside of the tourist area of Varadero. The room was cleaned every day to our satisfaction. The Italian a la carte was amazing. The creole one was ok. During the day the best place to get lunch is the restaurant by the beach. I enjoyed all the food and it was always hot enough. Remember to take snacks for the gardeners. They really appreciate a treat. I recommend this to anyone that likes a small resort you will not be disappointed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
pool pool bar beach Italian restaurant Friendly service
The weak points
Creole restaurant Air conditioner in our room was not blowing cold enough air
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2019-05-28
Dear Linda Pitman, We would like to thank you for choising our hotel to spend your holiday. We are very proud of our staff because they make a difference in order to offer a great service. We would like to invite you to come back very soon to offer you an even better experience. We will be always at your disposal. Best Regards

Fantastic Vacation

, Edmonton, AB
2018-04-12
I have been to this resort more than 20 times and each time I feel that I don't want to leave. The staff is so genuine. I have made some great friendships here. The beach is amazing. They have added many more shade umbrellas. The water is so clear. It is aqua blue-green. This is my home away from home. The resort is a smaller resort so you get to know the staff and they get to know you! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The miles of white sand on the amazing beach. The beautiful ocean. The small size of the resort. The friendly staff.
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2019-05-28
Dear Pat Udholm, Thank you so much for your nice comments about our hotel. We are so glad to receive you once and once again in your second home! Our staff is our jewel, we are very proud of them. We will be pleased to receive you one more time. As always, we are at your entire disposal. Best Regards

Roc arenas dorados stay

, Edmonton, AB
2018-04-11
The food, staff, and ocean was fantastic. The only drawback was the rooms at the hotel. The closet doors would not open, the bathroom tub needed attention and also the shower head. The sliding doors to the patio need attention. Overall it just needs a good fix up. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
the pool needs attention . New tiles and get rid of murky water. Aumm
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2019-05-28
Dear Joyce Richards, We would like to thank you for choising our resort to spend your holiday. It is very important for us to know your opinion in order to improve our services. In fact some months ago we renovated a building and we have another that will be ready in a few months. We invite you to come back very soon to offer you a better experience. We are at your disposal. Best Regards

Perfect vacation

, Toronto, ON
2018-03-23
We had a great time with my daughter! It was better then expected for Cuba!!! Food was acceptable, drinks good and the beach beautiful. We got fresh towels and bottled water in the room every day. Entertainment and people working in this resort are outstanding, very friendly and always ready to make you happy. All toilets actually have seats and there's always toilet paper available. Family oriented resort and very well kept even though the buildings are old. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Entertainment and beautiful beach!
The weak points
Outdated rooms if you care.
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2019-05-28
Dear Nichy777, Thanks so much for your beautifull comment about the hotel, clients satisfaction is our main goal so we feel happy when guests have experiences like yours. We invite you to come back very soon. Always at your disposal. Best regards

Good

, Vancouver, BC
2018-03-15
what I got is better than what I expected. generally good.
food is ok, better than what I expected, not bad, except for beef. however, i am not going to Cuba for beef and I can choose to eat fish. Wait time is not long, that is good.
room is old but it is still fine. it is better than the photos I saw before I went.
the staff fixed the problems I met. the staff is fine.
Every night had different entertaiment activity.
it is worth the money I spent. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
food, beach, staff, drink
The weak points
most water sports are not free, not as posted in ads.
Certified

Great Vacation :)

, Newbury, ON
2018-03-08
for 4 of us this was our 2nd visit to this resort 1st time for the other couple and everything was great , beautiful beach, well kept grounds , great pool bar and pool area , staff was very friendly and helpful, we find it just the right size resort , not to big its a short 10 min walk from front desk to the beach ...our building was in the middle so we were always only a 5 min walk from anywhere :) ,the staff did a great job trying to keep guest entertained throughout the day , if all goes as planned we will be back again next winter :) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
very friendly staff , beautiful beach, grounds very well maintained and clean, food was good we always found something we liked every day, snorkeling trip was fun
The weak points
should have at least 1 blender at each bar 2 would be better , need a slushy machine at the beach bar , a few more TV channels would be nice (but now I'm just being picky :) )
Certified

Everything was pretty ok

, Winnipeg, MB
2018-03-08
The location isn't bad, it's not far to take a bus into town or out to the marina
There's lots of beach, and when we went it wasn't too crowded so there was plenty of space to relax
The setup of the resort is nice, in that the rooms are grouped in separate units, as opposed to a traditional hotel where the rooms are all connected by hallways, it made for lots of time outside, walking to the different parts of the resort
The buffet was ok, although the vegetarian options are limited. It would have been nice to see more traditional Cuban foods as opposed to "American" type food [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Reservations at the Italian restaurant are a must! Our housekeeper Elizabeth was great.
The weak points
The staff seem very motivated by tips. The security men were creepy and stared a lot at the beach. The coffee station could be better staffed, long waits and sometimes cold coffee.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021