Mar Del Sur

Mar Del Sur
2.872.872.872.872.87
2.87 based on 236 reviews
#50 of 63 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Varadero
Rated 2.5 stars
Traveller pictures (145)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 1234

For a 2 star resort we received a 1 star experienc

, Hamilton, ON
2020-01-07
Our apartment had only one key for 4 people and you couldn't even get any more keys for a deposit. We didn't receive any written or oral information about the hotel, or restaurant hours or anything else. We stayed in an older big 2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment that had mold painted over on the walls, shower grout and one and the only curtain were moldy and we were constantly running out of toilet paper. Bath towels were the size of a face towel and they were not being replaced daily as the resort didn't have any available. The initial tiny shampoo bottles and the soap were never replenished, we had to buy some outside the resort. Wifi is not available, except maybe at the bar but it's $1 per hr to use it and the signal would have been weak. Food was not bad, limited coffee and milk, you will not find fries anywhere, there is only one restaurant on premises. All inclusive bar had a drink menu that you didn't get to see because they only served you mostly beer, and rum and coke. Pina coladas and mojitos were limited or not available depending on the day. You couldn't ask for any other drinks as they "did not have them".
Money exchange is offered at the hotel, however they don't tell you that it's only in the morning and they will not tell you that the banks close at 2 pm on a holiday, you need a passport to exchange your cash. USD and CAD currency is not welcome in the city, only CUC pesos.
We were pleased to see that the resort is adding additional newer buildings, however they would need to add more restaurants to accommodate the extra people at meal times.
This could be a gem of a resort if it was restored to look more modern and cleaner, and freshly painted. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good staff. Downtown location. Cuban entertainment in the evenings. Catamarans and pedal boats free at the beach, lots of beach chairs under umbrellas. Snack and drinks bar at the beach. No sales people on the beach.
The weak points
Insufficient essential hygiene supplies. Uneven paved pathways between resort buildings that are a tripping hazard. Outdated lobby and main buildings. Mold on walls and in the showers.
Certified

AWESOME AS ALWAYS!!!!!!!!

, Dartmouth, NS
2019-11-12
The staff are the most friendly of all of the resorts we've ever stayed at in Cuba so far. They are making every effort to renovate the entire hotel too. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
I felt like I was well taken care of by everyone I came in contact with. From the lobby staff to the cleaning staff and right to the beach bar staff. The security guards do a wonderful job at the entrance ways too.
The weak points
The food, although you could find something to eat every meal, felt like the same thing everyday.
Certified

You Get What You Pay For

, Dunnville, ON
2018-04-30
This hotel is by far not fancy but the rooms are clean. When reporting any issues I had, it was taken care of immediately.
As you are advised in Cuba not to drink the water this is the first hotel I have stayed at that did not offer bottled water to the guests. I questioned the travel rep and was told this was not an all inclusive hotel, water was not included, however he directed me to the hotel store. They in turn do not sell water.
In defence to the hotel, they will fill a container or bubba if you ask.
There are no refrigerators or hair dryers in the room .
Only one key is offered per room, and it is a key. Mine personally was not an issue however a friend had a room which unless you locked the door from the inside the door would not close. A chair had to be pushed under the nob to keep it closed if it was not being locked.
I find this disturbing in that if one person from this room went for an early morning walk or coffee and their companion was sleeping they would have to lock the door. This left the person in the room, LOCKED IN. If there was a fire or other emergency how would they get out???

I found nothing wrong with the food, it was plentiful, maybe a bit repetitive, but there was always something to enjoy.
I love liver however was a bit sceptical trying it here, SO GLAD I DID, best liver I have ever eaten!!!
Dining staff did nothing at all for the most part. You needed to find someone to ask for water, wine, etc, never saw a smile or friendly face in that room in a week. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location , Beach 2 blocks away but worth the short walk Walk into town easily
The weak points
staff not very attentive at all

Wonderful Staff

, Edmonton, AB
2018-04-17
My room was clean. The food at the buffet was good. The staff are all amazing. The bartenders are funny and helpful. Always smiling and happy to serve you. Best coffee on this planet. Entertainment at the pool was a lot of fun. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

You get what you pay for

, Mississauga, ON
2018-04-06
The resort was a bit run down but they are in the processing of trying to attempt renovations. Room was basic with good aircon and hot water. The food in the buffet was the usual Cuban food and there is always something to eat. The serving staff were the most unfriendly unhelpful people i have ever come across in Cuba. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach is not far to work and has a bar and shade. Good location
The weak points
Unfriendly unhelpful staff.

7 days

, Toronto, ON
2017-11-06
It is not some fancy place, but everything you need you can get there. Room is kept clean all the time, food is very, very good, beach is great, everything is fine. People who are working there are a lot of help for everything you need. I spent 7 days there by myself, and there is just one thing I can say - all compliments! A lot of couples and families are guests there as well, and I have not heard anybody complaining about anything. I picked up this deal without a lot of thinking and I was very pleased. For the price I got for the deal I got much more than I expected. Honestly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Cuba at two star hotel

, Brampton, ON
2017-04-24
The hotel is located in Varadero and does not have direct access to the beach.Later you will like it.The nice bar is on a beach.The sand is fantastic but irregular and high waves are only for very good swimmers. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
As for two stars the food was like for three stars.
The weak points
The bars were closed at 10pm.
Certified

17-116

, Toronto, ON
2017-04-17
the hotel was wonderful and everything about it, witgh the exception of, a dripping shower which was advised to the front Desk the first night and the second night and nothing was done. Of course, with noise of the dripping shower, I could not sleep. I hope that is changed for the next person who occupied that room. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
There was a dripping shower which was advised to the front Desk the first night and the second night and nothing was done. Of course, with noise of the dripping shower, I could not sleep. I hope that is changed for the next person who occupied that room.
Certified

Hotel evaluation

, Toronto, ON
2016-07-05
Hotel is as expected. At least, it's close to the beach and markets. However, don't miss an amazing entertainment every night. Information service is not well maintain. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Entertainment is excellent.
The weak points
Communication at the front desk is not quite very well express.
Certified

Wow

, Montreal, QC
2016-07-04
well staying here proved to me hell on earth is at this hotel!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location is great
The weak points
everything
Certified

Where not to go

, Kingston, ON
2016-05-07
The hotel pictured on the website at the time of booking was not the same as the hotel. Not on the beach. ALa Carte restaurant was not open. Room not even at the main hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
met some wonderful people
The weak points
not on beach, many staff did not speak english, could not convert money at hotel. cut my gold chain off my wrist while removing the hotel bracelet
Certified

Hotel Mar del sur

, Toronto, ON
2016-02-16
Not good.Hotel run down , food is the same every day and doesn't taste good. At the bars coffee machine broken poor mixed cocktails . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
Hotel run down
Certified

Mar del sur, Veradero, Cuba

, Hamilton, ON
2016-02-08
The hotel is old and out-dated but I can honestly say that I really enjoyed myself there. The staff couldn't be more attentive, the food was better than expected, and loved the nightly shows. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location in town, service and staff, very friendly atmosphere.
The weak points
All the rooms are upstairs and no elevators. Not W/C accessible nor good for anyone with a walker or difficulty moving
Certified

Had Fun

, Windsor, ON
2015-12-30
We had fun but to short of a stay [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Very Inexpensive and Very Basic

, Toronto, ON
2014-12-22
I've stayed at this hotel on several occasions and I like it. It is not for everyone. This hotel is very basic and could use a few minor repairs. The fact that it is located in town is a bonus for me. The variety of food at the buffet this time , was the worst that I've ever seen it. Given the low price that I paid for my package, I have no real problems with this hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
low cost, friendly people, central location
The weak points
the food
Certified

Hotel Mar Del Sur

, Edmonton, Al
2014-12-02
This hotel was in very poor shape. It was not on the beach as we were led to believe but a couple of blocks away. There was a bar associated with the hotel but only limited drinks, no food or bathroom facilities. There were not even any bath towels for a 2 bedroom, 4 single bed apartment style room, only regular towels. Luckily there were 2 of us not 4. Limited toilet paper, no Kleenex, shampoo or anything like in a bathroom in most resorts. The staff was very friendly and nice so that made it a nice enough place. The food was terrible with extremely limited choice and variety. The bar was also quite limited in choice, we were there almost the full week before we knew you could order a Pina Colada. Recommended for is a mandatory field in the summary, there is no option for do not recommend. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Not a secluded resort where you don't see the people who live and or work in the area. Friendly, safe. Very nice staff at the resort.
The weak points
Food, overall quality of the hotel. Not one that I would go back to or recommend to anyone to go to.
Certified

Mar del sur

, Ajax, ON
2014-10-31
load music day and night made it imposible to rest. Bugs in my room and i was told no problem they dont bite! disgusting room [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the beach
The weak points
the room
Certified

I'M BACK AGAIN

, Scarborough, ON
2014-02-01
Hola my friends. Just got back from the Mar del Sur, staying 2 weeks this year. I first want to thank Monarc for asking me to review this hotel again...like I do every January. Things have not much changed since last year. (check out last years review titled "MAR del SUR for sure") The hotel has not changed...but seems to be in need of a major clean-up. The food is about the same as last year (same thing every day) They don't have the afternoon buffet in the court area this year...which was a delight for me...but you get what you pay for. My room was without hot water for the first week...no problem showering in cold water. You have to have an open mind about this place...it's a 2 star & still a long way from being a 2 1/2 star. Like I have said in previous reviews...I come here to meet my good friends from all over Canada every January. If you like 3-4-5 star hotels there is good chance you will not like this hotel. Last year in my review I was begging to have the washrooms by the pool bar "CLEANED-UP"...well it was wishful thinking...still disgusting. Wanted to see if cervesa could be available in the 24 hour bar & maybe the beach bar...notta. These are just small things that should be added to the hotel...I guess I'm sucker for punishment...because I will be back to the Mar del Sur next year. "FOR SURE". To all my friends & staff who make my vacation memorable I thank you all.
Take care...see you all next January. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
LOVE THE BEACH...LOVE VARADERO...LOVE THE SUN.
The weak points
CLEAN THE HOTEL UP. PLEASE
Certified

Value for your money

, Etobicoke, ON
2014-01-29
you do get what you pay for.
I HAVE BEEN HERE BEFORE. THE HOTEL HAS IMPROVED ESPECIALLY THE FOOD.

I [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
good value for your money
The weak points
staff very slow.problem solving slow.
Certified

Filthy Rooms

, Whitehorse, YT
2014-01-06
Crappy service from the receptionist, we were sent off on our own to find our room and what a task as there are blocks and blocks of rooms with silly numberings. It's not fun looking for rooms when you're towing heavy luggage. When we we got to our room: bed sheets were dirty, broken toilet handle, dirty floor, bed with springs almost poking out. It was over all FILTHY! We learned from the locals that this place is known to be a dive. We ditched this place and had to pay for rooms out of our own pocket. I will not even let my dog stay in this place. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location
The weak points
This place needs serious renovations
Certified

My Comments

, Toronto, ON
2013-12-31
Overall the property is very impressive. I was very satisfied with the service, the food and the cleanliness. The hotel lacks elevators and the rooms are below par, in that the beds are small, the shower had no water pressure. But overall very clean and still comfortable.. A PAINT JOB WOULD GREATLY IMPROVE THIS DESTINATION! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location and weather.. the staff are very friendly and more than happy to look after your needs
The weak points
The hotel needs some loving renovations!
Certified

TOURIST

, Sudbury, ON
2013-12-27
Hotel was ok I was not picked up for departure by the shuttle, either poor communication or just missed me,it cost me 40.$ for a taxi. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
GREAT BEACHES
The weak points
BEDS VERY OLD
Certified

Deceiving

, Brampton, ON
2013-04-13
I was so disappointed when I arrived at this resort, it was dirty, the cushions in the front were falling apart, the floors were super disgusting. I understand it was a 2 star but that doesn't mean it had to be so dirty. The pool was not maintained. The hotel is located in the city and about a 8 minute walk to the beach. You have to walk through the streets to get there. I transfered to another resort. Would never recommend this. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nothing
The weak points
DiRTY! Falling aprt!
Certified

You pay for what you get

, Verdun, Quebec, QC
2013-03-05
The people are very friendly and helpful.
The pool is clean, the rooms are clean, no bugs, outside and interior can use fresh painting. A great vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
friendly staff
The weak points
bathrooms
Certified

Mieux que je pensais avoir

, Sherbrooke, QC
2013-03-04
L'hotel pour Cuba est pas pire que d'autres, ya des serviette de plage, des bars, des animations, du service, la bouff pas si pire, on va pas là pour prendre du poid, mais pour profité de la plage, c super bien situé au centre du village. en général pour le prix on n'aurrais pas pu trouvé mieux...pour cuba, la sortie de Jeep est super... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beaches....
The weak points
bathroom out of the room.. yark
Certified

Mar del Sur...FOR SURE!

, Scarborough, ON
2013-02-07
Just got back from a 11 night trip to the Mar del Sur. I have been to this hotel 7 times in the last 5 years. I only go to this hotel in January...third week every year. The weather at this time has "COOL" temperature...seems like every year...but! i have so many friends that i meet every year here from all over Canada...it's a party every day. First the good news...the food is starting to improve...they opened up the lobby bar removing the windows & door...made it a 24hr bar. BUT! no cervesa. Now the bad news. Guests who have rooms off the main proporty have to walk around to the main entrance...except during meal hours,the gate by the dining room is open only then.The beach bar is open...but this year no cervesa there. This hotel still needs alot of work. The lobby washrooms aren't bad...but the washrooms by the pool bar are worse than horible...disgusting!This hotel is not for everyone...it's a 2 star Cuban hotel (and not close to being a 2 1/2 star)I've been to Cuba 49 times,i sort of have a feel for these cheap hotels & i love coming to the Mar del Sur.The location in Varadero is right in the middle of the main strip.Excellent! The beach is about a 7 minute walk...beautiful beach. If you want to spend time at the beach...get there early...they seem to run out of loungers quickly.Will i be back to the Mar del Sur? DAMN RIGHT!!I'll be back next year.BUT! maybe go a week earlier. To all my friends & staff at the hotel have a wonderful time. Wish i was there now. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff have treated me like family. My room needed work...but was clean everyday.Food is improving...but still a 2 star.
The weak points
Get those washrooms cleaned up by the pool bar. "PLEASE" The nightly show starts at 9:30...but the pool bar closes at 10:00? It would be great to have cervesa in the 24hr bar & beach bar.
Certified

Pleasant Surprise

, Williams Lake, BC
2013-01-29
We loved the central location, our room was just fine, pool area was clean and beautiful and we enjoyed the variety of food. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Communication with reception was very good.We enjoyed the hotel amenities more as the days went by.
The weak points
We were disappointed to see all the garbage along the roadsides and sidewalks surrounding the hotel: broken glass, condoms, and miscellaneous trash. The grounds inside the hotel perimeter were well kept, but the outside needs cleaning up.
Certified

, Toronto, ON
2013-01-13
upon arrival it was dark and our room was on another street but no one would give us directions

the room we got had:
dirty floors,
a broken toilet seat,
dirty bed shets (w/ stains),
a bed that you could feel the springs thru the mattress,
a bed with ants that bit us,
a room filled wiht lizards and mosquitos,
no remote for the tv,
ac would no stay in position i wanted it to,
shower space was small.

however outside the room it wasnt too bad as staff were friendly and the pool looked clean.

but still, the food was awful, full of flies, undercooked and really scarce (people would almost fight over chicken and ice cream)

the diner should have btter operating hours and/or expand as many pople had to wait in line to eat because there was no room.

finally, the hotel should have more entrances since there is only one main entrance and a fence entrance that is only open when the diner is.

front desk lady acted like she didnt care to help us and we had to constantly try to get her attention for help. she also barely spoke english.

overall, a terrible experience though! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
most staff were friendly
The weak points
everything besides staff and pool
Certified

Air-condition gives off nasty smell!

, Toronto, ON
2012-09-17
This hotel is beautiful on the outside! The food is good and the beach is phenomenal! However, the air-condition gives off a foul noxious smell in the nights. We could NOT sleep at nights!!! My perfect holiday was ruined by the AC smell and I developed a throat infection from breathing this nasty smell. The staff at the lobby are not very helpful. I was told by a friend there are better rooms on the other side of the hotel with no noxious smell problems. Next time I'd rather pay more and sleep at nights!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food was good and nutritious, the location is awesome. The outside of the hotel is picture perfect!
The weak points
The rooms inside leaves much to be desired. The air-condition gives off nauseating smell at nights after a couple hours(health risk?)ruining your holiday!
Certified

Mar del Sur

, Burnaby, BC
2012-07-26
Being a 2 star hotel and price we weren't expecting something spectacular but I should mention that this hotel is lacking maintenance, there are broken furnitures, termites in the rooms, defective appliances (fans, air conditioners). Looks like an abandoned place.(many carpentry issues)On the other hand, the pool is well taken care of, and food is not that bad. If repaired, could be a good choice for families to enjoy. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pool is weel maintained
The weak points
room conditions(carpentry, devices broken)
Certified
pages: 1234

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021