Brisas Del Caribe

Brisas Del Caribe
3.183.183.183.183.18
3.18 based on 472 reviews
#44 of 63 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Varadero
Rated 3 stars
Traveller pictures (104)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Divided experience resort

, Pictou, NS
2020-02-02
Enjoyed most everything. Small things to fix to make it a lot better. Great beach And pools.lounges around pools are great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach and resort.
The weak points
There wasn't a variety of food a the buffet, lobby & outside bathrooms weren't clean with no tissue and too many Russians that I wasn't prepared for.very pushy , cutting in line.boardwalk needs fixing.
Certified

It's more like 3 star hotel

, Toronto, ON
2019-12-20
The resort is beautiful, the employees are nice. The rooms need lots of work and the food could be better. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach & the outside of the resort
The weak points
Hotel rooms , food.
Certified

Sunny Days!

, Windsor, ON
2019-12-14
Had a very nice time especially since the weather was amazing. The room was nice but the beach was what we were there for. Great service by personnel, especially Ariel Rodrigue Carmenate and Jorge A Machin. They kept the beach very clean and answered all our questions. They were very helpful our whole time there! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Highly recommend

, Winnipeg, MB
2019-07-02
We had an amazing time at this hotel. I can't say anything bad about the food because this country is limited on what they can serve us however the dishes could be cleaned better. Martell, the dude who takes are of the water sports was amazing & very nice to us. The a/c in the rooms isn't too bad but also isnt the greatest. In the night when it cooled outside it stayed cooler inside. This was in June we went. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
All the waitresses, waiters & kitchen staff were amazing as well as the cleaning ladies.
Certified

Hotel Brisas del Caribe, Varadero

, Calgary, HA
2019-04-29
4th visit to this hotel, previous visit was 2004.Then clientele mainly Canadian, now primarily Russian couples(75%) and Latino families(25%).
Easter week very busy, hotel full. Recommend a room not overlooking pool due to excessive noise. Hotel is showing its age(25yrs?) but beach is wonderful [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach. Excellent meals in specialty restaurants. Restaurant staff in buffet restaurant & specialty restaurants v. good
The weak points
Front desk, not friendly, slow to help. Overly loud music & DJ in pool area until 11 pm nightly.
Certified

Repeat guest

, Bowmanville, ON
2019-03-03
The staff are very friendly and helpful. They do their best to take care of you. The beach is exceptional. The pools are well maintained. The food is good. It isn't a gourmet restaurant so if that's your thing then you can take a bus or taxi to the strip which is only minutes away. Personally I have no complaints about the food. There is always something to do as there are many excursions are available. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, nice beach, clean pools, rooms are cleaned daily, laundry service is available, fitness centre, massage, close to the town
The weak points
Take mosquito repellent. It is hot and the mosquitoes can become a problem if you are not prepared. Internet and cell service are slow in Cuba.
Certified

One star rating

, Kelowna, BC
2018-12-15
The beds at Brisas del Caribe were terrible as you could feel the coils on the mattresses. When we asked for another room it took 7 hours to resolve the issue. Disappointing place to stay. One star rating. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach is stunning.
The weak points
I have never gone to a hotel before with such poor beds. The sheets were so thin that you could see the design on the mattress as there was no mattress pad on the bed. Terrible. There also were no hand towels or face cloths and the safe did not work.

You go for the beach, not the resort

, Vancouver, BC
2018-06-23
Overall I would say my experience with this resort was sub par. My friends and I stayed for 8 days and by day 5 I was ready to go home.
The front desk staff were very unhelpful but I found all other staff to be fantastic.
The food was discussing, I ended up not eating for two days because the buffet was really gross. There was birds and flies in all of the food. The selection was minimal, which I had expected as I read reviews before booking the resort but it was the same pickled fish and corn for every meal. The 24 cafe was a bit better but they ran out of many things a few days into our stay.
The resort itself was clean and the rooms were a good size for 3 of us. The washrooms were not clean and they did run out of toilet paper.
The beach was the highlight of the resort. It was very close and we always found chairs to sunbathe. There was a bit of garbage but for the most part it was very clean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
Food
Certified

Wonderful week on the beach

, Florence, NS
2018-02-25
We stayed in the South section... not in the main hotel. Its abit of a walk to the beach BUT that was fine for us. The pools in our section were dirty... pool guy skimmed floating debris daily BUT never cleaned the bottom of our pools (of debris), we didn't use them for that purpose, others did though. The 24 hr Snack Bar is in the South section... we loved it there. Nice, clean grounds and their staff were excellent. Variety at buffet was minimal, same every day. You can always find something... you won't go hungry. We always had a good breakfast (Omelette chef is SO much fun)... we don't go to Cuba for the food.
Daily chicken, pork and fish selections - all good - even at the Beach Grill. We tried two "a la carte" restaurants - Seafood and Italian - both wonderful. Despite a few minor issues, we really enjoyed our stay at Brisas del Caribe. George on the beach, Omar and JuanCarlos at the Pool Bar, Ana and others at the Snack Bar, along with Juan and ladies in the Buffet... muchas gracias. For the record, our price was excellent, and we will go back to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location on Varadero Beach. The entire Brisas del Caribe staff are amazing.
The weak points
South section distance from beach. South pools were dirty. Lack of variety at buffet. Beach Bar had issues - lack of inventory and closures.
Certified

Our 2018 vacation

, Mount Hope, ON
2018-02-05
We had a vab time. One of the cleanest Hotels we have been to. The layout is great, easy to get around. The food was good and plentiful with many different varieties. Our room was very big, and very clean. The staff are very accommodating, yet very quiet. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Our room cleaner was the best. She looked out for our stuff in the room while safe was being fixed. she was in tears when we gave her some of our stuff. I left my insulin in fridge and she made the trip up to the hotel to give it to me.
The weak points
The safe was not working, took them 3 days to fix it. Was very hard to get $1.00 pesos.
Certified

Awful rooms, awful food.

, Surrey, BC
2018-02-04
Over our 15 day stay we had a total of 6 rooms. I have been to many many all inclusives in my life and I have never had to switch rooms more than once. Multiple safes in rooms didn't work and were not repairable, bathroom doors would not close, wind screamed through the ceiling and sewage spewed through the drain in the bathroom floor, flowing into the room. I never could have imagined that the rooms would be this bad.
I have been to Cuba before and knew to expect that the food wouldn't be the best but wow... Thank god for the omelette station in the morning. Other than that we spent our 15 days eating rice and fruit for lunch and dinner. If you like your veggies pickled, you're in luck because all of the vegetables at this resort are pickled.
On a more positive note we went on many excursions and were not disappointing with any of them. Be sure to ask about excursions that are not listed as there are some cool ones that they don't have written on any pamphlet!
The ocean was beautiful, although we were there as a cold front went through. I could spend everyday on that beach for the rest of my life if it were possible. If you plan on wearing childrens sunscreen during your stay here, be warned, the fish love it for some reason. It was pretty cute.
Overall I enjoyed my trip, though I would not ever go back to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

We couldn't wait to go home :(

, Ottawa, ON
2018-01-12
US: It was our first time in Cuba - 2 adults, a teen and a 10 year old child, Jan 3-10, 2018. We understand this is a very poor country. We also understand that resort staff are probably the best paid on the island. We have been to several Caribbean countries but not recently. We will not return to Cuba, and in future will be careful to book at least a 5-star hotel. Onsite, Brisas del Caribe is listed as 4 stars. We booked it based on the services and reviews on the tour company's site, not realizing it was only 3 stars. This was our experience staying there. I hope it can help others avoid making the same mistake we did!

HOTEL: Understandably, evidence of hurricane damage; trees have been cut down, gardens have died back (it is winter there too) and fountain not running. Loose tiles on walkways and bottom of small pool. This is clearly the discount hotel on the strip east of Plaza Americana. Rooms are poorly maintained, our door handle came off in our hand, a/c 'adjustment' is by flipping the circuit breaker in the exposed panel behind our door. The toilet ran, the tiny ants crawled, daylight was visible through front and back doors (but at least they locked) and the shower may or may not have produced hot water when required. The double beds were more comfortable than they looked, and the pillows were decent. Thankfully, a cot had been brought into the room as requested when we booked. There two bath towels, 2 smaller hand towels. No face cloths. No facial tissues. ** Bring paper tissues! ** The public washrooms at the resort were disgusting and often without paper. The pools and outdoor jacuzzi weren't heated. The outdoor showers/foot rinse taps didn't work at the small pool near our building. The walkways were terribly dark at night - many outdoor lights weren't turned on, which made steps dangerous. Using a pocket flashlight (or iPhone app) isn't a bad idea.

MONEY: Even the hotel front desk did not take Visa. Bank debit cards were useless. ** Bring cash, lots of it! ** Can change money at the hotel but the exchange is less favourable than at the bank, and they round down to the nearest CUC. Much better to pay 1 CUC per person per ride (or 5 for the day) and take the double decker 'tourist bus' a few stops to Plaza Americana, where there is a bank. There they change at the current exchange rate, and give a receipt - but they still don't take credit cards. Some shops at Plaza Americana do take credit cards, and there is an instant teller in the mall that will take them as well. The bus also takes you into Varadaro, to a great flea market with many crafts. Back at the hotel lobby, they never had 1 CUC bills but when pressed, did provide 50 cent pieces.

MAID SERVICE: We didn't tip the maid the first day since we had nothing to give her. She made the beds. Did not bring a fresh bottle of water, clean anything, change the towels, or bring the 2 additional towels we had repeatedly requested. She did make the beds. Later, for 1 CUC per day, she did her job and even provided the 2 additional towels we needed, folded into fancy animals. It felt like extortion.

CHILD CARE: available for up to age 12, a cabin near the beach where they had a TV and a few tiny chairs. The afternoon we stopped by, they were going to play bingo. Pretty lame, maybe appropriate for age 4-6. Very limited hours (10-12 and 3-5 each day?) Restaurants don't open for supper until 6:30. No teen club.

GAMES ROOM: one ping pong table, 2 pool tables, terrible shape. Very limited hours.

GYM: decent equipment, free weights, no a/c.

MEALS:
BUFFET: food is not exciting, but if you stand in line they will grill fresh meats, hot and not over-cooked. There is also a pasta bar, and in the morning, they will make fresh omelettes/eggs to order. The soups were good, and the kids loved the endless ice cream and variety of desserts. You must tip each meal in the buffet if you want drinks, including your morning coffee, spoons for the kids' ice cream or your soup, or napkins. If you try to get a spoon from the busing station yourself, you get snapped at "go sit down" so they can ignore you. We ate a lot of ice cream with our forks until we had halfway decent service we felt was worth a 1 CUC tip. Once we started tipping, we suddenly became great friends with our servers. Sad.

GRILL: we only went once. Outdoors near the beach, disposable plates handy for taking food to the beach. Moldy tasting bony fish from the grill.

SNACK BAR: open 24 hours Very basic, but the servers did try.

A LA CARTE: You get 2 per week. Find out from the tour rep onsite when you can reserve these, and line up early to do it. The food is better than the buffet, and the service is impeccable and obviously tip worthy. ITALIAN: very nice. Flaming Beautiful Alaska was an impressive close to the meal. INTERNATIONAL: delicious!

BEACH TOWELS: despite this being an all-inclusive resort, the towels are NOT included. Deposit (cash, of course) is 15 CUC per towel. Mine was stained and had a hole. In theory you can change them for fresh ones each day, but we checked 3 times in 36 hour period and there were never any available.

SNORKELING: Included, 30 minutes (the limit wasn't listed on the web site where I booked). No point anyway, since there is nothing to see at the resort. For 20 CUC per person (cash) you can get a 30 min catamaran trip to the reef for an hour of snorkeling. We didn't take enough cash to enable us to do it.

SAILING only with a skipper, and wind surfing only with experience (we didn't ask what that meant)

KAYAKING: they had 5 singles, plus a double, for the entire resort.

PIANO BAR: According to the sign, open every night at 9pm, and would have been lovely. Even allowing for 'island time' (meaning we waited around until 9:20) it never opened. When asked, we were always told "tomorrow".

WATER: The bars and restaurants use purified water for drinks, including if you ask them to fill your bottle, and for ice cubes. Make sure you brush your teeth with bottled water, don't let any tap water into your mouth while showering. ** Bring Imodium / Kaopectate, just in case! **

INTERNET: 1.50 CUC per hour. Could be used at a computer in the lobby or as wifi access. We didn't use it.

LANGUAGE: We don't speak Spanish, but MANY of the guests did. Most of the staff spoke English but it was pretty limited if you went off their 'script'. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good soup. Kids loved ice cream and desserts. A la carte restaurant service was impeccable. Flaming Beautiful Alaska (Italian) was a hit. International a la carte delicious. Beautiful beach. Always felt safe. Would have been OK if we'd been drunk all week
The weak points
I can't possibly fit them all in only 255 characters. See details of our experience in 'Hotel Review'.
Certified

Another brilliant holiday at Brisas del Caribe

, Rockwood, ON
2017-11-14
We have visited this hotel many time, (17) we love the place, the staff are amazing and welcome us back every time. We find the beach, the pools and the buffet are wonderful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing staff would have to be the strongest point for us.
The weak points
Pool washrooms could be improved.
Certified

7th time in Cuba -1st time at Brisas

, Langley, BC
2017-08-10
I travelled with my 2 children ages 9 and 12 to Brisas Del Caribe. I wasn't expecting a 5 star resort based on the reviews. The Pros- staff at the resort have been the best I've ever encountered at a resort. Quick service and always smiling. Food was good for being in Cuba! Bring hot sauce, ketchup and your own spices though. Beach was gorgeous and clean and there was always a palapa .Walking distance to the beach from your room is short unless your room is by the highway. Stay at the main hotel not at the other side. We had 3 single beds in our room which were comfy and always clean. Tip the maid daily and they will treat you like royalty. The ocean was calm and zero rocks! Absolutely beautiful.
Cons- Room had a ton of small ants everywhere. Bring ant spray!!! You need to bring a outlet converter for Cuba-220v outlet. We couldn't charge the iPads or cell phone.
The resort is 90% Russians and were very rude tourists- made the day to day things a little frustrating. Pools at the resort are small and quite dirty and my kids grew bored. Not much daily entertainment for them nor at night. No wifi unless you buy a card for 1.50 Cuban money for an hour usage in the lobby. Wifi is spotty at best even with the card. Overall, unless your getting a super great deal I would stay elsewhere ... much better hotels in Varadero to pick from in my Cuba experiences. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff, beach and ocean.
The weak points
Ants in room, pools and hot tub are small and dirty. Towel $$$ deposit.
Certified

Return Guests

, Halifax, NS
2017-06-02
Many visits to this Hotel.As usual we were not disappointted [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach,staff,security,great food choices
The weak points
No Bacon!As it was low season fewer a la cartel restraints opened,Piano bar closed.Only 1 bar opened 24 hrs
Certified

Worst hotel ever

, Calgary, AB
2017-03-08
We've had a bad experience with the hotel. Food was bad and takes around ~30 min to take hot noodles, dirty plates, takes forever to take a waiter attention. Public washrooms don't have toilet paper, there are no even toil bowl seats, water taps a rusty and 2 of don't work. I would give 2 stars to the hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
Cleanliness, service, food
Certified

Wonderfull beaches

, North Glengarry, ON
2016-05-29
The people at this hotel are great, the beach is wonderful but the hotel is dated. The buffet leaves a lot to be desired but the a La Cart Restaurants were good.

Management could increase the rating by addressing food at the buffet and replacing old mattresses. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
People and the beaches
The weak points
Buffet lack in choices, variation and quality and the mattress in our room was very uncomfortable.

Will not go back

, Surrey, BC
2016-05-18
Had a very bad experience.The hotel is very run down. The buffet food was being reused for multiple days and when you complain to the front desk staff, they would take no action and all they say is no problem and situation has not been dealt with. We were group of 10 people and almost everyone got sick and had diarrhea for most of our stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Brisas Del Caribe

, Burlington, ON
2016-04-06
Stayed here in April 2016 for 1 week. My boyfriend and i had a great time. This hotel is a 3.5* so we werent expecting too much but were pleasantly surprised. Try to stay in the North part of the hotel it is closer to the pool and beach. South was a more quiet area and very far from the beach. The beach was the best i have ever seen, absolutely loved it, spent my whole trip at the beach. the lunch beach grill was great had tasty fresh grilled fish that i ate daily. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
best beach ever!
The weak points
locals were allowed on weekends making the resort very noisy
Pro

Cuba Vacation

, Mission, Bc, BC
2016-04-05
I like the name of the Hotel It was exotic and exciting. The hotel is located some distance from the airport, but it is a good short ride in an SC coach, with very friendly and humerus staff, and it gave you an opportunity to see and get used to what is to come during your stay, to adjust. You have to remember this is Cuba. A country that has suffered for many decades because of their position politically in the world. The people you come into contact with daily display a sense of resignation, yet are generally happy and sociable. They know where they are at and has accepted their fate as Cuban people do, yet are proud and friendly. I found generally the same outlook in Hoguin and Varadero among the working people. They were pleasant and happy to speak with you.
Brisas is located very close to the beach in the Varadero archipelago on the north of the Island. As such the cool breezes flow right across with a decent intensity and gives you a good feeling day or night. The almost white sanded beach runs for miles it seems, and an agreeable width from the vegetative shoreline and the high tide watermark. Safety signs ate strategically posted in English. Most people, including from non English speaking countries who visit Cuba, speak English, so it is usually not a big issue. Bristas appear relatively new, and consists of several large two story buildings on different areas of the acreage, with multi large shade and flowering trees, as well as coconut trees, which enhances the Caribbean and tropical environment. At Bristas you get free coconuts at the swim up bar. Being an "all inclusive" holiday, just about everything is free and this is greatas it helps you to preplan your spending. The Bristas beach area has many palm roofed "Gazebos" under which you can use your free blue loungers, or sit/roll in the sand as you wish. Its a wonderful feeling digging your toes into the cool sand and let it flow. Repeatedly.
When the tide comes in high on the sand, it sometimes brings in broken seaweeds.A tractor quickly clears this away, and does not constitute a hindrance for vacationers. The hotel employees on the beach are very helpful, dragging your lounges wherever you choose to relax, and they keep one watchful eye on your property, while they attend to other work. The beaches I found were very safe and it is recognised that it is a place for people to have fun and not to interfere with the private property of other vacationers. There were many people on the beach, from Canada, UK and Europe in particular, and people were there to have a good time, whether just to R&R, toast themselves, enjoy the beers or keep their spouses happy. The Beach at Bristas was one of the best I have been to. Food was plentiful, and sufficient variety (for me).The dining room staff were quietly efficient, until you engage them in conversation, and they become more friendly and efficient if you recognise their constant assistance to try and let you have a memorable experience.
The rooms were AC and displayed a lot of space, perhaps due to a lack of furniture, especially if you wanted to empty your suitcases into a chest of drawers. The beds were a bit basic and some guests may require more pillows and towels each day than what is supplied. What would be of assistance are more signs/instructions to guests (to the vacationers who travel little and are not familiar with hotel/resort protocols/etiquette), as well as education for the room attendants. In this way, everyone will know that wherever you travel/vacation in the world, guests require adequate towels, and everyone knows where to put dirty/used towels. There were many buildings which housed specialty restaurants, bars, and places to shop.
vacationers would need a few days to tour the campus if they wished to see everything or spend their time pursuing their particular interest, eg beach, bar, entertainment, bed and repeat daily. Bristas is gated and the local bus service stops outside the gate. Not far away is the Mall of America where you can complete your tourist shopping. Taxis are also available from your door, and wherever you go, you can shop in CUCs or CADs. They also take USDs. Transportation is available to see any part of the Island, and a trip to Old Habana is a must do.
Overall, my family vacation to Bristas in Varadero was wonderful and memorable, and I would recommend 2 weeks to enjoy more of what Cuba has to offer. I enjoyed it better than Hoguin, which has its own charm. Varadero weather was a steady mid twenties each day and the breezes were super. I would highly recommend Bristas and would caution visitors that to enjoy Cuba, please do not keep comparing it to super resorts such as in North America. Enjoy Authentic Cuba!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
See above
The weak points
See above
Certified

Brias Del Caribe Veradero

, Truro, NS
2016-04-04
Nice beach,got it at a good price but would not return. I found the service very bad all over the resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach
The weak points
Service is not good at all.
Certified

Hotel Brisas Del Caraibe review

, Winnipeg, MB
2016-03-05
the hotel was not brand new so windows were not sealed completely and every noise from the outside could be heard. The beds were supposed to be a seize double but were a single instead and mattresses were worn out. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Home Sweet Home

, Scarborough, ON
2016-02-16
I have been travelling to the Brisas since 2005. Each time that I go there the place keeps getting better. They are always updating the resort, making improvement but most of all more beautiful. I have been talking about the Brisas to my family and friends ever since my first visit. They to have travelled to the resort and have enjoyed the same excellent time as I have.

The resort and beach is wonderfully clean. The staff as always willing to help you with all your wants or needs. The food is improving more and more each time. They have a great team that makes breakfast worth getting up for. The eggs as fantastic. They have a great selection and variety at every meal. Know matter if you are the most particular eater or an easy going eater, there is always something for you to eat. The deserts are extensive and presented beautiful. The bread is fresh and plentiful. There was a great selection of hot and cold food. The serving staff speak English and are always ready to serve you. The rooms are very clean. The maids make sure the your rooms are well stocked and clean. The bar staff have an extensive knowledge of different drinks. Now I do not usually take the day trips, but, I have. They were both fun and informative. The one thing that I enjoyed the most is the massage that I received by Emeilia. Her hands are pure pleasure. Her knowledge about the causes and pain relieving points are the best I have ever had.

Over all my experience at the Brisas del Caribe has been fantastic and I look forward to returning there again. To me it is a Hone Away From Home and well forth the visit.

Catherine
2005, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016 ,,,,, [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly, clean, good price, great location. Beaches that are white and clean. The water is beautiful blus. They have something for everyone. It did not matter whether you were single, family oriented or retired.
The weak points
Very long lines in the restaurant waiting for getting food. Needs to improve food flavour, spices etc.
Certified

Will not go back

, Victoria, BC
2016-02-07
The first thing to remember about vacationing in Cuba is that Cuba is a poor country and it's citizens are doing their best with what they have, which is very little. Therefore, you cannot expect the same standards as you would in Canada. When you see how the Cuban people live you understand that the resorts are luxury in comparison. We've been to Cuba before and knew what to expect. However, this was not the best all inclusive experience we've had. The hotel is very run down; the rooms are kept clean, but they are dingy. We had bad cases of traveller's diarrhea and bed bug bites. In hindsight, it was not worth the amount spent. We would have spent more money and upgraded to a nicer resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Accommodating and friendly staff; beautiful beach (no vendors)
The weak points
Smoking allowed everywhere - in the lobby, theatre, restaurant patios; uncomfortable bed with bed bugs, unsanitary handling of food resulting in traveller's diarrhea.
Certified

Not coming back!

, St Catharines, ON
2016-01-11
Our stay was basically a nightmare! Put in a room with no functioning lock on the door or safe, to be told we could not be moved into a different room until the next day. The next day at 1pm we were given a key to our "new" room. It was occupied! We went back to the front desk and got a new room again, it ended up having bed bugs. There were never any towels, the buffet food was being reused for multiple days, the front desk staff was standoffish when approached with problems, and overall the only good thing about this resort was the location. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, beach.
The weak points
Food, front desk, room, service.
Certified

Beach and staff are excellent, the rest....????

, Ottawa, ON
2015-04-04
If you have read reviews about vacationers in Cuba, you know the people are nice and the beach in Varadero is awesome.

We initially were given room on south side (room 673), but had intermittent water, and sometimes only cold water, then given room in main building the next day; first one was on 4th floor (really musty smell - eyes watered after 30 seconds in room, so we refused it), then moved to 105 on ground floor (although musty smell, wasn't as bad it was the better room; balcony door extremely difficult to open because track is filthy and door is about 4 feet wide and also heavy- needed both hands to pull open door) - I think the whole hotel smells musty. Even my clothes smelled musty when I returned home.

Didn't see cockroaches or bed bugs. Had a few mosquitoes in 105, but more on south side and ants there too.

Beds are 3/4 not double and are uncomfortable. Pillows lumpy. Toilet and shower worked great (FYI, if you are over 5'8", showering might be a challenge - intended for short people)!

Food? As other reviews state, you'll find something to eat (you don't go to Cuba for the food). They do not spice food so it's bland. At the buffet, bring ketchup, jam and peanut butter if you like to have those things; they have butter (sometimes margerine), cream cheese, mustard, honey; the bread is great; fresh omelettes (tip the cook for great service), pancakes and french toast every morning (coffee is instant coffee); only opens at 7 am for breakfast and 7 pm for dinner. Signage for food at buffet is lacking or vague and birds fly in and out and eat the bread at the bread bar. FYI, what they call ham at buffet is actually baloney (aka balogna).

Coffee bar in lobby is great but only opens at 7.

Garden/vegetable pizza is good at 24/7 bar located at the south side of the resort. The fries available at that restaurant and occasionally at the "Grill" just off the beach and close to the beach are unfortunately undercooked and not hot. Their hamburger patties are 1/2 beef and 1/2 pork. Tastes like wieners have been previously frozen; they taste pasty.

The A la Carte reservation process is unnecessarily lengthy - people line up at 9 am and they don't start taking reservations until 9:30 - process can be easily improved AND you may have to wait twice because they don't have the booking sheets for the next 7 days, only until Sunday.International restaurant is best a la carte restaurant (beef fillet with mushroom sauce and fruit flambe - yummy) FYI, the lobster you see advertised in the lobby for $16 Cuban pesos is frozen, tastes pasty.

Exchange rate same as airport. Don't tip with canadian coins because staff cannot exchange it.

Entertainment by the pool is great!

Sunset katamaran excursion is a must!

Will definitely book 5 star next time, but even heard bad experiences about those resorts from people who were on the same excursions that we took.

Management of the hotel can be substantially improved; feel sorry for front desk staff who have to move people around because they do not maintain the rooms (when you ask to be have another room, they give the rooms of the people who just checked out, then when the next batch of vacationers arrives, they check them into the first room you got, and the circle continues that way because there are people checking out everyday - the grounds are beautiful, ducks and chickens around the pond.

If you want a chair by the pool, go reserve one by 7:00 am (people used towels); brought my own towel because of what I read about borrowing a hotel towel. You can go later for a chair on the beach.

No snacks available when buffet is closed, so bring some (FYI, container of Pringles cost $6 Cuban pesos, so that's about $10 canadian) - only potato chip they have available at resort.

Bring a watch, only 1 clock in entire resort.

The strong points: beach, staff, pool, bread, freshly made breakfasts at buffet
The weak points: buffet food, resort not maintained, musty smell in rooms; signage throughout resort (buffet and second level rooms numbers on south side), hours of operation for buffet and coffee bar; no snacks available when buffet is closed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, pool, staff, freshly made breakfast available at buffet
The weak points
musty smell in rooms; hours of operation of buffet and coffee bar; no snacks available when buffet closed; lengthy process to book A La Carte dinners; obvious lack of maintenance in rooms; way hotel is managed - lots of room for improvement
Certified

Brisas del Caribe

, Montreal, QC
2015-03-21
Our experience was stressful and unpleasant. Below expectations. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the beach was clean and the weather was great.
The weak points
This resort is falling apart and filthy. Reception was unfriendly, food was not eatable and entertainment was poor. We would not return nor recommend to anyone we love!
Certified

Mature couple

, Calgary, AB
2015-03-20
It is a older hotel, I would give it marginal three star, not three and half, very friendly staff, but some of the rooms at south building are merely two stars. Food was plenty. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staffs, good entertainment at reasonable price
The weak points
Older hotel, rooms and toilets are not all cleaned.
Certified

Old resort with maintenance problems

, Calgary, AB
2015-03-18
We were assigned a room near by the main road. It was noisy and far away from everything. When we checked in, the lady told us we could change our room next day. Many people would be checking out tomorrow. We went there next morning. The front desk told us to come another next day. The day after, they told us the same story. Finally, we talked to the manager and we had our room changed. When I went into the room, everything was fine. We went out and returned. I found water was dripping from the ceiling inside the bathroom. I asked for changing room again. The reception said,' I have no room for you to change. I will send someone to fix it.' Finally, I met the manager again and I had changed my room! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Manager of resort was helpful.
The weak points
Front desk staffs were not so helpful. When you requested for changing room, they kept on asking you to come back the next day.
Certified

It's great

, North York, ON
2015-03-06
For the first time, I visited Cuba for a week long vacation. Overall, I would say its really worth spending money. I had great time during my stay there. To be very honest, the hotel being pretty old, the room wasn't that great, but everything works fine. I would definitely go back and recommend others about this hotel. Respect is always a two-way relationship. You give respect and take respect. Besides that, a small amount of tips makes everything work and look better. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
I would definitely go back and recommend others about their quality service.
The weak points
Might need to upgrade room to give better first impression.

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021