Starfish Cuatro Palmas

Starfish Cuatro Palmas
3.743.743.743.743.74
3.74 based on 566 reviews
#10 of 64 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Varadero
Rated 3.5 stars
Traveller pictures (304)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123

My favorite resort!

, Stony Mountain, MB
2022-09-22
Beautiful resort and wonderful staff all around! Elimay at public relations has always accommodated anything we need. It's so great to see her beautiful smiling face each time we come. This resort is a home away from home and the staff make you feel like you are family. This resort has such a great location directly in town and the beach is incredible. I will continue to return here for years to come ️ [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Location, staff, beach
The weak points
Would like to see a hot tub put in

SUPERBE VACANCE

, Mirabel, QC
2022-09-18
Nous avons passé une très belle semaine au Cuatro Palmas, l'hôtel est très propre et le personnel très attentionné,la plage est parfaite ,je recommande fortement cette hôtel [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

After pandemic

, Mirabel, QC
2022-09-17
It was a amazing trip considering covid hit hard for all not much food choices you can't expect miracles the staff was amazing the service was amazing and Thad room were beautiful I have being there three times and going back in February again the management was amazing to all levels thank you for making my 10 days amazing and great [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The weak points
Not to much food variety but again covid hit hard

After pandemia

, Mirabel, QC
2022-09-17
I really appreciate this resort! You don't need to break your head with details… they are there to make your stay memorable! I give to them 5 stars [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
No matter what, it's peaceful and quiet. You have everything you need
The weak points
More smiles

Loved my stay

, Rouyn-Noranda, QC
2022-09-17
When i whent there i wasnt expecting very much following the pandemic, but was surprised. The beach and the pool was clean. My room area was quiet wich was nice. The staff was very friendly. The food was good (i didn't go hungry). I will be going back for sure.
Thanks to the hotel management for dealing with things very quickly and quietly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Gem Hotel amazing staff!!

, Montréal, QC
2022-09-04
This gem of hotel is our new discovery we have been 2 times!! Elimay in PR made our accommodations even better and always greeted us with her beautiful smile [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Amazing Vacation Amazing People

, Surrey, BC
2022-08-08
We will always stay at Starfish Quatro Palmas. The resort is beautiful, clean and staff are wonderful. The resort is right on the main strip of Varadero where all the action is (bars, restaurants, shopping). You are steps away from the pool and beautiful beach. We would like to give a big shout out to our favourite bartenders at the pool bar: Yankiel, Brian, Villerejo, and Maikol. These gentlemen are always smiling and their enthusiasm, professionalism and dedication to making sure everyone is having fun is second to none. Gracias mis amigos!
John Christian is the water aerobics instructor who is one of a kind. He is engaging in the workouts, fun to be around and provided an awesome work out. Everyone must try one of his classes. You will not be disappointed. A true gentleman, kind-hearted, funny and professional. It is obvious he enjoys what he does. I will truly miss pool time with him. Gracias mi amigo!
Randy Martines is the MC for the evening shows and also one of the coordinators for daily activities at the pool and beach. Always smiling and friendly to everyone. He is well-spoken and professional. All the entertainers were incredible. Hard working and graceful. Gracias mis amigos/amigas.
Mario is the pool attendant. I forgot the name of the other gentlemen who works on opposite days from Mario, but he too is wonderful. The pool and pool area is always so clean. They are both quick to assist with opening your umbrella and making sure you are enjoying yourselves and that your stay is relaxing.
Joany Carrion works behind the scenes in the kitchen baking such wonderful treats. We have known Joany for quite some time as we have stayed at another resort he worked at. We will always come see him. He is a lovely human being. So kind. Smiling and happy and works extremely hard.
Christian is one of the managers at the resort. He is always helpful and accommodating. Extremely professional. Gracias mi amigo.
Our maid (I can't recall her name), we were on the 3rd floor. What a pleasant lady! Hardworking, kind and always smiling. I will miss your beautiful smiling face. Hugs and kisses to you!
There are so many wonderful, hardworking people at this resort. Sorry if I missed some names. Thank you all for making our vacation the best ever! We will be back in April and will never stay at any other resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Clean, friendly, helpful, professional
The weak points
Lobby bar bartenders need to refresh their customer service/relations skills. We avoided this bar as much as possible. Internet was weak but that is expected in Cuba.

Wonderful Time!

, Québec, QC
2022-06-04
magnificent hotel. nothing Negative to say!!. friendliness, courtesy and customer service is the gem that makes this resort wonderful. Thank you very much Elimay from customer service for the help with my parents. You are great, we need more people like you.
the very kind reception, the bars, restaurants, excellent food on Wednesday night wow! what a magnificent bait. I recommend it to everyone. and for sure we are back in October. Thank you Starfish Cuatro Palmas for making our vacation the best! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Staff always smailing. The beach. The staff. The people.

Beautiful resort

, Cambridge, ON
2022-05-31
Our April vacation at Starfish Cuatro Palmas was our 6th year. We really enjoy the location, so close to everything. The beach is awesome.The staff are awesome. Too many people to name who are always there to make you feel welcome and to enjoy your vacation. Marlem and all the staff in the dining room are great, as well as bartenders. Elimay, Mirna, Hanny and the rest of the ladies at the front desk. Alberto and the rest of the bell boys are wonderful. I do apologize if I did not mention everyone, I am not good at remembering all names. Mario is great at the pool. It was great to see eveyone including manager Juan Pablo after 3 years due to the pandemic. Highly recommend this resort. It is our Cuban home. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Home away from home

, Russell, ON
2022-04-27
Love the is hotel with its lively atmosphere situated in the heart of varadero. We have been coming here for 15 years. People are so friendly! Front desk staff are helpful, lobby bar has been renovated and is amazing. All staff are willing to talk and are informative. Marianna and the main desk is excellent, pool staff are awesome at keeping the pool sparkling! Animation team are always willing to get you involved in all the fun activities! Abel bar is so inviting!! All this cannot be accomplished without the manager Juan Pablo who overseas the coordination of these teams!! Thank you for making our trip very special!! We will be back in September 2022 [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Many Reno's have been done and it looks great

Cuatro Palmas

, Montréal, QC
2020-01-22
Overall very good. Excellent food. Friendly staff.
First room assigned had not been cleaned and had to be changed.
Promotion does not mention that eco room is in bungalows a short walk across the street and away from the main building, beach and pool.
Room is nice and backs onto a park but adjacent to a club where the band plays loudly outdoors until about 2 am. Might bother some people.
Hot water not always available.
No wifi in the room but the promotion advises it is only available in the main hotel lobby area. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent food. Friendly staff. Well maintained. Proximity to the beach (main buildings).
The weak points
No gym. For some reason tea and coffee are not available at lunch and dinner. Walk to main bldgs may not suit seniors.
Certified

Starfish Cuatro Palmas

, Amherstburg, ON
2019-12-28
We had a great time at this hotel. The staff are so friendly and eager to help. It is a small resort with a beautiful beach and pool. They are working hard to upgrade the hotel (i.e., Lobby bar totally redone and open on the 27th of December). The food was good with lots of selection. Especially on Christmas Eve. It was amazing! Many people watched the nightly entertainment. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff were amazing! Our room was clean and when we had a problem with our toilet, it was fixed in 15 minutes. Location is the best! The hotel is across the street from the Beatles bar and Salsa bar. Close to many amazing restaurants.
The weak points
Hot water was an issue. It was freezing or luke warm one day and then hot the next day. Some buildings (ECO rooms) are off site. Be careful when you book your room or you could be walking across the street for your meals and the pool.
Certified

Great...for Cuba;)

, Montréal, QC
2019-11-12
The room was clean. The staff were all lovely. The buffet never smelled like fish(even though they were cooking seafood both lunch and dinner). I would return to this place (and I have never thought that about a resort in Varadero before). It is across the street from the Cigar, Rum and Chocolate shops as-well-as the Beatles Club and Calle 62. Free entertainment and entrance to all clubs. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Right on 1st Avenue so you can walk anywhere. Stop-by Josoné Park...its just lovely.
The weak points
Although there were vegetables at the salad bar, a lot came from cans....but that can be because of losing their main trading partner.
Certified

Great location but hotel needs improvements

, Toronto, ON
2019-11-09
this hotel is in the best location in Varadero but the staff and the rooms need a lot of improvements. the front desk staff and the guy at the front door that helps with the bags was really not that helpful. our room that my with and I stayed in was infested with little ants, I think that they put us in an older part of the hotel. everything was very dated unlike all of the other hotels that we have stayed at in Varadero, as my wife and I have visited Varadero 5 times and so far this is the only hotel that we will not go back to. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach, food, drinks and location.
The weak points
cleanliness of rooms and friendliness of front door and desk staff
Certified

Magnifiques vacances (lune de miel)

, East Angus, QC
2019-10-28
Voyage de 10 jours, hôtel propre, nourriture très correcte mais agréable de sortir de l'hôtel pour la diversité. Plage plus que magnifique, personnel très gentil. Ambiance ordinaire au hall principal mais le bar était en rénovation, ça explique la situation. Chaises et palapas en bonne quantité, on n'a jamais manqué de place même si on se levait tard. Deux jours sur dix que nous n'a pas pu changer nos serviettes. Jamais manqué de glace au bar. Notre chambre étais l'autre côté de la rue au Las Palmas, effectivement bruit tard le soir causé par le Beatles Bar. Mais la chambre très confortable, air climatisé extra fonctionnelle, salle de bain petite. Pas de breuvage dans le frigo comme on nous le dit dans la description du forfait, seulement une bouteille d'eau à notre arrivée. L'hôtel n'a pas répondu à notre demande de l'une de miel comme décrit. En fait, on n'a rien eu du tout......pas de surclassement, ni de mousseux à la chambre, ni de souper privé, ni rien. Ce fut une déception pour nous. On avait pris la peine de communiquer par courriel directement avec l'hôtel sous les conseils de agences de voyage. Malgré ça, notre séjour à été très agréable, température très chaude et humide, plein de soleil. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Plage, chaises abondantes, température, propreté, emplacement.
The weak points
Pas de surclassement lune de mìel même si l'hôtel n'était pas plein, pas de breuvage dans la chambre, animation laisse à désirer.
Certified

Great vacation at Cuatro Palmas

, Brossard, QC
2019-09-09
Overall really enjoyed my week! I was really impressed with the hotel to be honest and am definitely going back.

The beach was spectacular, the animation team was engaging and fun. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was very very good Room was big, clean and ac worked great! Animation team was awesome Iced coffee at lobby bar was so good better than Starbucks!
The weak points
Not enough beach towels for everyone so I wasn't able to change my towel every day.
Certified

Great Holiday

, Perth, ON
2019-01-18
Overall everything was very good , resort is older and rooms could be updated, staff were very friendly, would definitely recommend resort as long as your not looking for a party spot!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach is great and food was good compared to other Varadero resorts we have been to. On the edge of town and walking distance to many clubs shops and restaurants
The weak points
Resort itself is quiet after the evening show, you have to go out for nightlife
Certified

It's just ok

, Niagara Falls, ON
2018-09-24
Disappointed we were not in the main hotel area we were across the street in a different section . Not aware at time of booking. The room had issues with the balcony door was fixed with a bolt lock. Could have moved to another room, but the other room smelled of cigarette smoke. The food at this resort was fairly good, ala cartes, the international was the better one. The beach was beautiful as usual for Varadero. The location was great close to night life .My other have got very sick the last day of vacation. Which has never happened all my trips to Cuba,is still recovering. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach. The location.
The weak points
Room
Certified

Best location

, Alfred, ON
2018-05-28
We just returned from a week at Cuatro Palmas and will probably return due to location. The beach is beautiful, the food is acceptable, rooms are adequate... All for an excellent price. We can make a long list of improvements but if when we want a 5 star resort we pay the 5 star price! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location and beach
The weak points
Rooms need refreshing. Towels in rooms do not appear clean (yellow and stained). The staff expect tips for every service they offer. The pool bartender should leave his cell phone at home and serve people with a smile.
Certified

April 2018

, Hamilton, ON
2018-04-24
We have been staying at this hotel since 2007. We have stayed approx 12 times. We have seen the quality of this hotel improve and decrease thru out the years. Its quality is currently decreasing. Lobby has a mambo band that travels from table to table playing for tips. This is in poor taste on behalf of the hotel. The lobby entertainment needs improvement and should be free. The rooms are nice since they were recently painted etc between 2015 & 2017. But the bathroom towels are disgusting. White towels that are grey and full of terrible stains that look like feces stains. The pool is really nice but the red deck is no longer being cleaned and washed down daily. When you walk on it with bare feet your feet become very black and dirty.The food is good but selection is limited and this is a decrease in quality for this hotel. The finest quality of this hotel is its staff. The staff work very hard at everything for the guests. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
This hotel has very professional and delightful staff.
The weak points
Bath towels. Pool deck is dirty.. Buffet has limited selection of foods.
Certified

Great place to stay in Varadero.

, Winnipeg, MB
2018-01-27
This was my very first trip to Cuba. I wasn't sure what to expect, but chose this place as I read and heard such good things and a lot of repeat clients that have been coming here for 10 years. I only wish the weather was better.

This place was amazing. Beautiful floral fragrant grounds every where. The staff are so willing to accommodate, polite, friendly and respectful. I heard so many people say they do not like the food in Cuba, but this place had great food and a great selection to choose from. You never left hungry. When I go back I will definitely stay here again. Miss some of the staff already that I met. Anel from entertainment. Bartender Abel and the one by the pool. Servers: Caridad, Javier, Arturo, Darion, and the waitress with no name tag that asked me if I would give her things I would leave behind. All the cooks ... and the so oooooh handsome security guard at the beach that said I had beautiful eyes. I can't remember all the names of the staff, but these here especially stood out..they made me feel so special ❤❤❤ I miss them all already. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great value for what you get. Great food and wonderful staff. Awesome entertainment!
The weak points
Balcony locks need repair, toilet kept breaking, security room key kept disengaging. Unless your room category states Cuatro Palmas section you will be across the street in Las Palmas or Economy rooms and it's very noisy. Was unable to sleep well.
Certified

Evaluation Of Hotel

, Ajax, ON
2017-07-20
This is my first visit to Cuba and did not know what to expect. The hotel is well laid out, the grounds are fabulous, the staffs are respectful, polite and friendly. Many delicious options for each meal. The excursions to different parts of the country was well organized, educational and fun. I will definitely recommend and will be visiting again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff could not be any better
The weak points
Wi-Fi tempermental. It took a few days to get access. I needed to let my family know we arrived safely and were ok.
Certified

Will not disappoint

, Winnipeg, MB
2016-11-26
I am not one to write reviews.I am one to read them though. Like most of my fellow travellers, when trying to book a holiday, I go to the reviews and read the experiences of other travelers.
I am not new to Cuba and know - to each his own when it comes to the fine points. So I decided it was time to offer my experiences and opinions.
I just got back yesterday from a week at Cuatro Palmas. Its is a smaller resort offering up pretty much the same thing as most - sun/sand/booze. To my surprise and just echoing what many other reviewers have said, the food was better than any other resort I have been to here. NO one travels to Cuba for the food but it usually is "the make or break" of good holiday. You will never starve. You may get a little bored with the offerings as they do not vary too much. They have a grill service/ pasta station/ food is hot and made to order. they offer the usual buffet items which are basically luke warm at best. A daily hot soup and bread station. Dessert bar with premium ice cream/ fruits/ pastries. If you think of what you ate at home last week and the week before , etc. pretty repetitive too, right. The staff is very helpfull and the managment is always present. These people work hard.
I chose to stay away from the main hotel and stay in the vilas across the street. A 2 minute walk to my room and away from the masses of the resort. Room was basic but clean. Beds were newer. Always had hot water, AC and clean towels. Security was there 24/7. Cuba is very safe. I think they are there more as a deterent to keep the locals from bothering the guests.
IT is a little noise during the night. You are located between two of the busiest night clubs on the island and they go all
The beach is clean and full of loungers. A little limited on shade but I like the sun. The pool area is large and clean. Never a problem finding a place to sit.
The bar areas can be busy. But most travellers are there to drink - Bring your own glass/Buba - 4oz glasses of beer go down pretty quick. The drink varietys change by the bar and by the day. You are limited by the daily supplies.Always lots of rum and beer. Unfortunatly no slushie drinks here. The main bar has a blender but they are always too busy to spend the time to get the ice well blended.
The lobby is open and inviting. The counter staff are there to help. Yes they can be a little unpleasant and rude. But you, work 14 hrs a day for weeks without a break and put up with a bunch of needy children/ tourists. If you are pleasant and smile - so will they. I never had any issues. Changing money at the desk was easy, even 20 dollars at a time. The general manager David is always there. He has an eagles eye and runs a tight ship.The staff respect him and show they truley care about your experience at the hotel.
I think this hotel/resort is one of the best in Varedero if not Cuba. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The location/ the beach/the food
The weak points
age of the hotel
Certified

BEST HOTEL IN CUBA

, Toronto, ON
2016-10-14
My stay was amazing. From the staff to the food, this resort by far is one of the best in Cuba. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Overall amazing
The weak points
For Cuba, this place was better than expected.
Certified

Quite Lovely

, Lasalle, QC
2016-09-21
Our flight was coming from Montreal to Varadero. We arrived at the hotel around 12:30 pm. There was no rooms ready for the whole plane. We were told to come back after 4:00 pm.
Our luggage, was put in a storage area. Finally when they did assign rooms. As me, which was stated NO stairs. I was told, that all the first floor was being renovated. I was told, I could have a room across the street, if I wanted a lower room. My preferences were, NO stairs & NOT across the street, as I was travelling on my own, & I'm senior citizen.
They gave me a room, in the main lobby but on the first floor.
I took that room, which the stairs weren't that bad, except there was no light that night, for going down the stairs.
I asked someone, to help me down. I did report the light being out. They finally changed the light, after 3 days, but I always travel with a flashlight.
In all on a good note. The beach was beautiful, lots of shade, if you went to the right of the terrasse.
The food was quiet good for Cuba but the main feature was a man there originally from Italy, was the chef for all kinds of pasta dishes. So taste, at least I thought so.
The shows at night, were very nice & the music around the bar area, was very relaxing.
In all, me being solo, I thought it was easy to get around plus, the staff there, is supper friendly. Can't do enough for you.
I felt, they recognized me being alone & again I felt safe. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location of beach, entertainment, buffet. Very nice people.
The weak points
Always asking for toilet paper. Maintenance, when advised.

Not good

, Halifax, NS
2016-06-08
I was in the new section. It was a beautiful room. The staff was not very nice. My maid was amazing.
Crystal beer is the best. I have to buy it at the vending machine. the cheap beer was available for free. NOT GOOd [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Location Location

, Chester Basin, NS
2016-05-15
The location is this hotels biggest feature. Close to most everything in town at your door step. My second time at Cuatro Palmas. I requested the main building knowing it was yet to be renovated but the room really should not have been rented. The AC machine didn't work well and was falling apart, all outlets half out of the wall, hairdryer also falling off the wall, beds uncomfortable and patio furniture basically non existent, two ratty old kitchen chairs. The maids did their best to keep the room clean and orderly. The Front desk staff were polite but they do rip you on exchange. They would not once produce a receipt which is your way of avoiding rip offs on money exchange in Cuba. They would never give small denominations for tipping, 3 cuc and higher only. Everyone was complaining about this. I personally tipped higher then I normally would have but many would not tip the higher amounts which is unfair to staff. I found most staff very nice with the exception of bar tenders. One of the pool bartenders was downright scary, not hard to tell he hated his job and unless you tipped excessive amounts the lobby bartenders totally ignored you. Restaurant staff were lovely. I especially liked the diningroom musicians, such sweet gentlemen. This hotel appeals to all age groups and people are friendly and engaging. A great choice for a single traveler. Do know when booking that unless your room category states Cuatro Palmas section you will be across the street in the Las Palmas Section or Economy rooms, I would be most unhappy over there myself. The Colonial Section rooms on the Cuatro Palmas side are freshly renovated, the rooms are small but clean. Until they renovate the main building I would not stay again. The main buffet food is not that great, limited selection and meat tough as nails. There is a nice beachside lunch restaurant that doubles as a night time a la carte but was not told about this at all and didn't realize we had that option, another guest told us about it after we had checked out, thanks. Pool was very clean and lots of activity going on there, beach was of course gorgeous but many broken chairs and not enough for all guests. Forget a covered shade on the beach unless you got up at 5 am. I'm quite sure I enjoyed this hotel more so in the past than I did this time. The hotel itself is in quite a bit of disrepair and it shows in many areas. They really must do something with the main buidling and until they do the rooms should not even be rented. The exterior and interior are not in good shape. For the money this hotel does have good value and location cannot be beat, I hope to return when they have done some very necessary work. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach and location
The weak points
rooms and food selection
Certified

Wonderful hotel

, Saint John, NB
2016-05-07
Very clean, the best food I have had in Cuba, staff was friendly and helpful, looking forward to going back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food, lots of hot water, very clean and great location
The weak points
Bathroom towels are gray and dingy, floor locks on balcony doors need repair.
Certified

Amazing

, Smooth Rock Falls, ON
2015-05-04
Hotel well situated,beach is amazing and food exellent [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Well situated to bank,stores,entertainements and medical clinic.Good food and hotel and beach not overcrowded
The weak points
Security constently asking for your clothing.
Certified

My vacation in CUBA

, St-Honore-De-Chicoutimi, QC
2015-04-17
Very good overall except the accommodation. The first room we were given was unhealthy. It had moisture, was filthy and smelled urine. We managed to get a better one for the night but it was not much better; it had cockroaches and was located remote from the main complex and the beach. We finally insisted on getting a third room which had been renovated and where we spent the rest of our journey [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach and the staff
The weak points
The rooms
Certified
pages: 123

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2022