Melia Peninsula Varadero

Melia Peninsula Varadero
3.563.563.563.563.56
3.56 based on 401 reviews
#42 of 65 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Varadero
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (186)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 1234567

Couple Trip

, Dominion, NS
2021-03-06
We've been to the Melia Peninsula Varadero four times and love it there. The rooms are very nice. Beds are comfortable. We spent every evening on our balcony relaxing. There's a snack bar that has fries, burgers, sandwiches near the pool that's open late if you're hungry. The landscaping of the resort is beautiful - a tropical paradise. Varadero beach is beautiful. It's a very short walk from your room. There is entertainment at the beach and you can always hear great music. We love spending time at the pool bar. It's the best pool bar we've been to (we travel a lot). Vladimir is friendly. We spent our time going from the beach to the pool since we love both. The good at the buffet is great - lots of choices. I'm a picky eater and I found lots of choices. Isel makes the best omelets. I love the pasta bar too. There's a second location for the buffet that's close to the beach. The food is great there too. There's a variety of à la carte restaurants - Roberto at Sakura is very good at putting on a show but my favorite is the Italian a la carte. This resort has a few specialty drinks which I highly recommend - tryp peninsula and a San Francisco with pineapple rum. Yum!! They make great mojitos, Pina colada and serve Crystal beer. There's activities by the pool and the nightly entertainment is great. The night time entertainment are very skilled and very good at what they do. We never missed a show every time we went. There's lots to do at the resort so you can be as busy or as relaxed as you want. There's even a place where you can get a massage. We keep going back because of our experiences there. It's very clean, rooms are beautiful, we love the pool bar, beach, food is great and service is exceptional.

You can contact me if you want to ask more questions or see more pics. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Clean, spacious room, excellent food choice, beautiful pool and beach, kids club and kids pool in separate area from main pool, great entertainment, exceptional service
The weak points
Time passed by too fast. Wish we were there now
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Exceptional. Very safe here

Beautiful environment, challenges with food

, Gatineau, HA
2020-03-10
I loved the resort as soon as we walked into the front entrance. It's bright with a high ceiling and fresh air flowing gently through. I loved the gardens, fresh flower arrangements, multiple varieties of palms, etc. that made the resort feel earthy. The indoor public spaces are high and bright in general, making them feel quiet, cool and relaxed. In calm weather, the beach was the most gorgeous I'd ever seen, like a massive extended pool with a sand bar 20'-30' or so off the shore that made it possible for our trustworthy 8yo to roam safely from the beach chairs to the sandbar without close supervision as long as he was within sight. The water is gloriously turquoise! We had some windy weather for a few days as well, though, and although body surfing is fun the sand gets in the swimsuit pretty quickly in the tumultuous water. The guys who run dance/pool aquazumba/stretching on the beach/etc. were fantastic, keeping up a steady pace of fun activities throughout the week. I appreciated how they respectfully came around and individually invited people around the pool, across the beach, and as they passed through the resort. The kids activities were pretty great, too, including a magician, a night of dancing on the theater stage, and an animal show.

The only issue was the food. Some of the staff seemed to be embarrassed at how many choices on the menus were not available during our stay. If all the choices had been there, it would have been much easier. But there were no more than 5 types of fresh veggies (cucumber, green pepper, onion, tomato, cabbage) the whole week. Every restaurant creatively repackaged the fresh veg according to their style (Mexican, French, Japanese, etc.). Beef was very tough unless it was well done. Pastries at breakfast are hard and dissatisfying UNLESS you heat them up––toaster or grill. Then they're delicious. I did very much enjoy the deep-fried plantain and the fresh coconuts with a straw available at particular times at the entrance to the beach. The limited menu was most challenging once we got sick after dinner the second night and couldn't stomach much more than yogurt and fruit at breakfasts thereafter, and fresh veg. I had wished for more flavour at first, but after getting sick I sincerely appreciated plain rice and butter! As we knew in advance, there's not a lot of variety in flavour on the resort. I hear restaurants off the resort are a different matter, but we didn't make it out anywhere else after getting sick.

We also made great use of the tennis courts (there was purportedly only one tennis ball, so we had a grand hunt for the ball when it went over a fence) and the big checkers board.

I really appreciated there being the little souvenir shops right on the resort. We were able to bring a few small things back without needing to go out shopping.

The room is very basic, and the beds are firm. However, after a lot of sun and lots of activity, sleep comes more easily! I loved the sliding glass door to the bathroom: classy! There is no bath, just a roomy shower with a seat that turned out to be better suited than a bath to the daily post-pool/beach showering and rinsing out of clothing.

Wifi is available for purchase, or our package included 1 hour per day of stay. We had to be right in the lounge to access it, but it's a pleasant place to hang out. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
In good weather, the beach is gorgeous. The pool with pool-side café is a perfect setup.
The weak points
Food: limited variety and flavour. Comfort of beds, if it's a matter of high importance to someone.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-13
Dear Jmsl You do not know how pleased we are to know that you enjoyed the hotel during your stay. I want to thank you for choosing us on this vacation and knowing that you loved the complex, the gardens, the fresh flower arrangements, the multiple varieties of palm trees, the beach, the activities of both adults and children, these are elements that fill us with satisfaction and enthusiasm to continue putting all our efforts into your enjoyment. Regarding the not so positive points, we will take your opinion as an opportunity for improvement and we regret that during your stay you have become ill, taking time away from your enjoyment at the hotel. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed the tennis courts and the large checkerboard, as well as the stores we have to take souvenirs to your home. We hope that we continue to be your choice on future vacations and it would be a pleasure for the entire group of Melia Peninsula to welcome you again. Best regards

First Time - Loved it!

, Kakabeka Falls, ON
2020-02-25
I have stayed twice at this awesome resort. Our first experience was New Year's Eve. The grounds are very well kept and our room was clean and located close to everything. The food displays were absolutely gorgeous and tasted even better. There was always lots of choices even for my fussy friends. We loved both the Japanese and the Mexican Al a carte restaurants. The staff as in every where in Cuba make the difference. All of the servers were definitely 5 star. But of course we tipped the same as we do in Canada....good service equals good tips. The waitstaff was attentive and our glasses always topped up. I was happy to see the food was hot. I do suggest you bring your own reusable beer glasses as all resorts just have those little plastic glasses and people go thru them so fast. Can't wait to return to our happy place in the sun! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff & Food Awesome Snack Bar when you don't want a full lunch Real Coffee Food was hot
The weak points
Tourists need to be nicer to staff (Not Canadians, we are all nice lol) Can never stay long enough
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-02
Dear Jules Kb First of all I would like to thank you for choosing us on this vacation and taking some time to share your opinion with the rest of the travelers on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to know that you enjoy your stay, the services, that you have found the gardens well maintained and you liked your room for the cleanliness and location. I am glad to know that you liked the food that our chef prepared so carefully, as well as the treatment received by our staff. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again when you wish to return. Best regards

De belles vacances sans gastronomie!

, Laval, QC
2020-02-11
Règle générale, nous avons passé de belles vacances en famille (2 adultes, 2 jeunes enfants, 4 grands-parents) et l'hôtel était bien. Chapeau à Air Transat, c'est un transporteur de premier plan ! Jeux pour enfants à l'aéroport, A330 récent, propre, système de divertissement, personnel sympathique et grignotines gratuites pour les enfants à bord.
Le Mélià Peninsula était bien pour Cuba. Le personnel était sympathique, l'hôtel approprié pour les enfants et la plage était belle. Voici mes commentaires détaillés. Je suis relativement critique, mais je suis bien conscient que les standards nord-américains ne prévalent pas dans les Antilles, surtout pas à Cuba !
Employés
Les employés de l'hôtel étaient, en général, très sympathiques et avenants. Le service était très bon, nous donnions du pourboire. Lorsque quelqu'un dans notre groupe a perdu sa serviette, je suis allé au service et ils l'ont ‘'retrouvé'', pas de frais.
Installations
L'hôtel date de plusieurs années et certaines installations sont vétustes et manquent d'entretien. Barrières brisées, peinture défraîchie, trous dans les planchers pas bouchés, douches à pied défectueuses... Par contre, les piscines pour enfants sont bien situées et aménagées. Inondations à certains endroits et déchets non ramassés. Les terrains de sport sont en mauvais état. Les bâtiments principaux sont loin de la plage (beaucoup de marche). Les navettes roulent vite et n'avertissent pas toujours, il faut surveiller les enfants.
Chambres
La taille des chambres est bien et les lits d'enfants que nous avions demandés étaient présents à notre arrivée. Peu de surfaces pour mettre les articles. Air climatisé avec moisissures. Salles de bain avec de beaux matériaux mais mal conçues (l'eau reste au centre de la douche…). Le nettoyage des chambres est sommaire (beaucoup de poussières, saletés au sol, toilette et lavabo mal lavés, moisissures dans douche). La 1ere chambre avait des petites fourmis. On a eu une coquerelle gigantesque (un monstre !) un matin, je l'ai sorti dehors, elle est revenue, on l'a perdue. J'ai appelé pour changer de chambre et le processus s'est fait facilement. On n'a pas revu de coquerelle. Les dessous de portes d'entrée ne sont pas étanches et laissent passer les intrus, malgré le dépôt d'une serviette de plage comme barrière.
Nourriture
La nourriture était décevante. Tous les items du buffet sont répétitifs et de piètre qualités, souvent tiède. Tout est très salé et gras. Peu de frais. Les cuissons sont mauvaises. Les restos à la carte ne sont guère mieux. Les meilleurs items sur le menu ne sont pas disponibles et des repas se répètent entre les restos à la carte. Par contre, le japonais était bien et ça a amusé les enfants (chef qui cuisine devant nous). Nourriture très limitée au snack bar 24 hrs. Options végé rares. Les portes du buffet sont toujours ouvertes et les oiseaux sont nombreux à l'intérieur et tolérés par le personnel. Les oiseaux mangent dans les assiettes laissées aux tables vides, brisent les sachets de sucre et jonchent les poutres. Une dame a reçu un caca d'oiseau sur elle près de nous en mangeant. Le café au buffet est mauvais, mais il est bon au lobby (espresso). Finalement, une seule bouteille d'eau 1.5 L par jour, si on fait faire la chambre seulement. Sinon, ni le lobby, ni les bars, ni le service à la clientèle en donnent. Les bars peuvent remplir nos gourdes. Le buffet ouvre à 7h30 le matin, 13h le midi et 19h pour le souper, c'est tard pour les enfants. La nourriture au snack 24 hrs est limitée.
Alcool
Le menu d'alcool est immense, mais on ne peut que commander une petite partie de ceux-ci. Il est arrivé souvent que des alcools de base soient manquant, même dans les bars principaux comme le 24hrs du lobby (pas de gin, pas de téquila par moment…). Alcool cheap, vin blanc ok, vin rouge à éviter.
Plage
La plage est belle. Lorsqu'il n'y avait pas de vagues, l'eau était claire. On a fait de l'apnée et vu des poissons. Les chaises sont vieilles et usées, mais il y en avait toujours assez. Il y avait assez de parasols et d'ombre. Seulement une poubelle peu visible, ce qui entraîne des déchets et items parfois dangereux sur la plage (mais c'est plus la faute des clients que du personnel). Embarcations accessibles et en bonne condition, équipements de flottaison pour enfants sans attache. Quelques vendeurs sur la plage, mais vu qu'on est au bout de la péninsule, pas en continu et ils n'étaient pas achalant. Pas trop de musique forte, relativement calme.
Spectacles et animation
Je n'ai vu que 2 spectacles et c'était bien. La discothèque était fermée selon les dires des représentants Transat, mais on n'y serait pas allé de toute manière. Les animateurs sont venus nous voir pour nous expliquer les activités pour enfants sans insister. Animations à la piscine des adultes avec musique trop forte, mais sinon c'était bien correct. Il y avait des activités (danse, volleyball…).
Les clients étaient généralement des retraités. Quelques petites familles et couples. Peu de jeunes adultes venus faire le party. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Bon service Belle plage Piscine pour enfants
The weak points
Menu répétitif, limité et décevant Installations parfois vétustes
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-02-26
Cher Hibouphil, Tout d'abord, je tiens à vous remercier de nous avoir choisis pour ces vacances et d'avoir pris le temps de partager votre opinion. Je suis heureux de savoir que l'hôtel et la piscine semblent convenir aux enfants, que la plage est magnifique et le personnel était sympathique et serviable. Il est bon de savoir que vous avez aimé votre chambre et que vous êtes satisfait de la satisfaction de vos demandes, ainsi que que vous avez aimé le restaurant japonais et que vous aimez la plage et les activités familiales de l'hôtel. Avec les points moins bons, nous considérerons votre avis comme une opportunité d'amélioration. Merci encore et nous nous réjouissons de vous accueillir dans un proche avenir. Avec nos meilleures salutations Directeur général

First Family Vacation

, Gravenhurst, ON
2020-01-18
We had our first Family Vacation and decided to choose Cuba, My wife and I and our 12yr old son. After speaking with our travel agent ( Hilma ) which i must take a moment to say she was absolutely amazing in every sense of the word. We decided to choose Melia Peninsula Varadero Resort, from the location to the staff the grounds pool Beach and service it was nothing short of incredable. we enjoyed every moment of our vacation and the only down side was having to return home after our vacation was over and having to listen to our 12 yr old asking on a consent basis when are we going back??
The food the choices were great and resort was clean and well maintained the beaches where top notch the rooms where clean and well appointed, we had everything we needed and the staff where awesome. if you have kids and still want to travel to cuba and stay in a higher end resort this is the one for you hands down. Melia Peninsula Varadero made our first family vacation amazing!! Thank you!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-01-21
Dear Jeff I want to thank you for choosing us on this vacation and taking some time to share your opinion with the rest of the travelers. Thank you very much for commenting that the gardens seem beautiful and well maintained just like the hotel, which seems clean, liked the pool and I enjoy both you and your family throughout your stay. I am very pleased to hear your kind words about your stay with us. We look forward to receiving you again in the near future. Best regards Managing Director

Melia Peninsula Varadero

, Hamilton, ON
2019-10-10
We were suppose to go to the Sol Sirenas Coral, but it was closed. Very nice place, but did not like the bungalow style. Very hard to get more than 2 rooms close together! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The entire staff was wonderful and helpful. Entertainment was very good. Food, for Cuba, was great. Entire place was clean and professional run.
The weak points
Bungalow style is not the greatest id travelling with larger groups. The beach at this resort was very narrow.
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-10-22
Dear jlinsch Thank you for telling us how was your stay at our hotel. I am pleased to know that I enjoy the hotel, the staff and the services, but especially your stay, even though our hotel is not your first choice. We look forward to welcoming you again, but this time it is your first choice. Best regards

Very nice resort

, Trenton, NS
2019-03-18
Loved the resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very friendly and accommodating. Perfect location and very clean
The weak points
Food is not the best
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-06-04
Hi Melissa Thank you very much for giving us your review and thanks for having chosen Melia Peninsula Varadero for your holidays. I am very glad that you enjoyed all our services and facilities in different departments. I and all our hotel staff hope to see you again having another holiday with us very soon. Sincerely Managing Director

Meals & hotel room

, Halifax, NS
2019-03-04
hotel room upgrade to elegance club
1, waste of money, offered welcome drink and a cold towel upon arrival never happened . took 3.5 hrs to book us in from 1130 pm until 3 am to service to drive to room for 1 hr later. next gift in room wine and room nothing, water beer in fridge daily no hit miss.
2. managers cocktail party .never happened
3. some one to meet us at lobby upon arrival did not happen
4.bbq beach party never happened . food terrible do not attend ala carte meals awful. managers sit down
5.managers sit down meal start time 630 pm nothing until 9 then came cold and uneatable the meat especially
6. direct transfer from air port to hotel no on shuttle all stops
7. offered 4 a la carte only offered 3

desk service hit or miss and maintenance call no one shows up such as tv took 2.5 days to have someone come it took our house keeping maid to call , she was awesome good care from her.
8. deck chairs are pool if you are not out at the pool by 7am no deck lounger chairs left people put towels out and do not show up so pool use is out of the question
9. beach sand full of cigar and cigarette butts no one cleans up
10. they painted bar with teak color paint got on my shirt i was there 7 days paint still wait and spread everywhere , bar walls, bar telephone
11. no meals for kids and lack of chairs for kids [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
maid service hotel property beautifu;
The weak points
lack of golf cart transportation always overcrowded and they travel too fast on walkway especially at night as the sidewalks/road are not illuminated properly lack of pool chairs beach towels should be given at pool daily and returned daily
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-06-04
Hello I thank you for having spent your vacation with us.I'm sorry if your experience at the hotel has not met your expectations. I would like to tell you that we are working to improve our service every day.Thank you for your comments, hopefully we will give another opportunity, in which to demonstrate the importance of customer satisfaction, for us. Receive a cordial greeting, Managing Director.

January 2019

, Barrhead, AB
2019-01-30
We had a wonderful time at this resort. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The grounds we well kept and easy to get around, although in the evening some light bulbs were burnt out making some areas a little too dark. The meals were excellent is all of the buffet, snack bar and ala carte restaurants. Our room was clean and the maid service everyday was exceptional! The tennis courts were having new fencing put up the court we used was in good shape although the net poles need replacement or welding. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-06-04
Hello Thank you very much for trusting in Melia Peninsula Varadero again to enjoy your holidays. I would like to tell you that always it is a pleasure for the staff to host you in our hotel. We appreciate your kind words about your experience in our hotel; opinions such as yours help us to carry on working every day with enthusiasm and illusion. We hope to see you again having another fantastic holiday with us. Warm regards, Managing Director.

Belle semaine

, Quebec City, QC
2019-01-28
Nous voulions une petite semaine dans le sud pour pas cher mais ne voulions pas dormir avec les cafards! Nous avons donc choisi le Melia Peninsula et nous avons passé une belle semaine. La plage est belle, la nourriture est surprenante pour Cuba et le Resort est bien entretenu. Seuls hic....la femme de chambre passait à 16h00...ça fait tard et rationnait le papier de toilette...quand t'as la turista, c'est pas plaisant. Les heures du buffet seraient peut-être à revoir, mais j'imagine que ça va avec le personnel disponible... Bref, on a passé une belle semaine. A noter que c'est un hôtel très familial. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Plage, Snack de la piscine
The weak points
Heures du buffet
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-06-04
Bonjour Simon Merci beaucoup de faire confiance à Melia Peninsula Varadero. pour profiter de vos vacances.Nous apprécions vos mots aimables sur votre expérience dans notre hôtel; des opinions comme la vôtre nous aident à continuer à travailler chaque jour avec enthousiasme et illusion.Nous prenons note de vos commentaires, nous les avons étudiés.Nous espérons vous revoir pour d'agréables vacances. Cordialement Directeur général.

Family Vaction we totally enjoyed

, Ingersoll, ON
2018-09-12
Myself and my whole family went. We very much enjoyed the stay. Ask about what is available for food and locations. The place was under construction but it ever bothered us and grounds were beautiful.Grounds were very nice. Rooms were clean but basic. Bathrooms were new and very nice. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach with lots of chairs Rooms were clean Breakfast can be got at pool bar .Check info there Beach restaurant was awesome Bus to town at front of grounds. nightly entertainment was fun.
The weak points
Buffet was not organized well Not a lot of great pool activities night club needs overhaul
Pro

Not good

, Mississauga, ON
2018-05-23
Construction all day lomg from 8am untill 8pm. Never again [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
Food
Certified

Not a bad experience

, Alliston, ON
2018-05-16
My experience was good! My boyfriend and I had a good time staying at the Melia Peninsula. We opted for the elegance package which included a free WiFi card for each day, extra al la carts, and a gift (a beach bag). The resort was beautiful, but there were many renovations happening which made it hard to sleep in. The beach was nice, but you had to get there early to get a spot with shade. The staff was incredible, very friendly and attentive. Food was pretty good for Cuba, the Japanese a la cart was amazing! The entertainment seemed good for the children, but the adult was poor. The theater is still being repaired so the shows were in the lobby which made it hard to find a good spot to see. There weren't very many activities being done at the pool/beach, but I think that's because the crowd seemed to be older adults and families. Overall this is a good hotel for relaxing, not so much for activities. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Japanese al la cart, snack bar, pool bar
The weak points
Entertainment, activities
Certified

Melia Peninsular Varadero

, Toronto, ON
2018-02-21
Resort location is good. Room cleanliness is general, don't expect a very luxury bedroom. Food is a little bit weak than other Melia chain from Cayo Coco. Staff is good and helpful. Although it rate as 4 stars, I would say it is a 3 to 3.5 stars resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

First time in Varadero

, Picton, ON
2018-01-24
This hotel was much smaller than I anticipated. There were very few activities going on, and a couple of restaurants were closed for updating.
There were no sports activities as the brochure states, no mini golf, only one tennis court had a net, there were no basketball nets.
The shows at night were ok, but not great like at other resorts I have been to, and the disco was closed.
We had a great time walking around the resort, walking on the beach and travelling into Varadero. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Our room was big but there were a few things that could have been updated.
It felt like this hotel was old and tired, but it looked like someone was trying to do some upgrades.
We did 2 excursions off the resort... the Cayo Blanco catamaran ride.... don't waste your time. You can sit on the beach at your resort and have all the drinks and food you like. We did have interaction with dolphins but you can do that on your own just down the road. We also did the Jeep Safari tour... it was a great day, filled with lots of activities and opportunity to see the countryside. I would highly recommend this one, but be sure to take some extra $ because only lunch with one drink is included. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly Staff, clean restaurants
The weak points
lack of sporting activities, nightly entertainment
Certified

Worse vacation

, Terrebonne, QC
2017-09-05
Front desk staff is horrible.
The Store staff were not nice and tries to jack prices.
They change prices from day to day. Suntan lotion went from 27 USD to 29.95 the next day. I had to confront them to make it go back to the price.
No receipt or credit cards were working during our whole stay.
There is no price also on the items so they invent the price on the spot.
Everyone working in the lobby were unhelpful and you need to tip before to get service.
Dont ask for help bringing your luggage to your room.
We waited 30 minutes and decided to bring our luggage ourselves.
We requested indication where our room was and we were only told repeatedly : near the beach...After another 40 minutes or walking and trying to find the room, we saw the conditions our hotel was in and the room they put us in.
I must confess to crying with my wife in that room wanting to return home on the same day we came in.
Hole in the door covered with a bandaid.
Room had a 1 inch gap under it letting all crawlers come in. (we even saw a snake in front of our door.
Bed was firm but pillow case had blood stain on them. And it wasn't our blood. I called front desk 3 times and had to complain the next day to have a new pillow case. I mean, why not just send the maid over with a pillow case?
Hygiene non existent as they clean floor with same water and rag for the whole building.
Food found under the room fridge with insects.
Water bottle was difficult to find and get unless you pay for it. Again, we had to complain to our representative to get water...
No air conditioning in the Italian restaurant when we went. It was dead they told us and they started the pizza oven. Pure torture.
Impossible to stay long at the pool unless you want to hear the same song on repeat for 3 hours.
That is when you can hear music as construction is going on with saw, drills, hammer and yelling. That's when there is no trucks or forklift.
Construction going on til 1.00am.
Food was good at buffet.
Beach was beautiful but chairs were old. Couldn't tan your back without some Cirque du Soleil acrobatics.
Overall staff were nice. And you need to know elemental rudiment of Spanish to navigate.
WIFI costs 1.5$ Cuban dollars for 1 hour. And you lose about half of it trying to connect as the WIFI stops every couple of minutes and you need to log back on.
Overall, the worst vacation I have had in my life.
I will make an official complain to both travel agency and the hotel chain. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach Ouside or restaurant staff Buffet was ok.
The weak points
Everything else We got to complain to get the minimum of a 2 star hotel Lobby staff Store staff Room hygene Room not finished Construction going on at night No

Yikes

, Etobicoke, ON
2017-04-14
The Food was horrible and anyone with serious allergies should not go. Cross contamination was scary - I could barely eat anything. THere were ants in my room the entire time. Service was slow and sometimes non-existant. Waited for the room to be ready...got there at 2pm and didn't get a room until after 7pm. Didn't get shower towels for another day. Beach towels were often unavailable as well. PErhaps its just Cuba, but this was unacceptable. Also the a la carte restaurants were not available fri-sun which was not mentioned to me at all until i tried to book. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Unique forever.....4th hosting

, Toronto, ON
2017-03-28
What to say about this madness of mine ..... as I said being there tonight I stay at home if I feel it .... This is the fourth time that I stay in this wonderful hotel and every year I find new things such as The gym the mini club run by Yordanis, excellent new shows in the theater every night the dancers surprise you with incredible dances improving year by year ...... the animation guys who every day worry about the customers have Entertainment on the beach in the morning and in the afternoon by the pool thanks to the coordination of Rolmes, I want to appreciate the great disposition of each one working in the hotel from the cleaning people the reception staff thanks to Yanisel for the nice welcome with All ready at the time of my arrival, to Dianys de Comercial who worried about every thing I've consulted, the security people who are always there to take care of me since I've gone alone makes me feel very safe, the porters that I H An helped in the arrival and the return home always predisposed like for example Thomas, in the swimming pool the boys of the bar like Kenya Juan Miguel Angeli made that my afternoons are also pleasing like the lifeguards and the people of cleaning of pool, I do not want to forget me Of the lobby always attending me excellent with my favorite drinks of piña colada and free cuba I thank Rafael always very attentive, in the Palma Real buffet incredible attention as every year to Judhit who does not forget me and like so many new people that I know year to I would not want to forget anyone since they are part of my holiday stories. The only thing I have to say once again is TOTAL THANKS. Keep improving as you have done so far. Every year I am surprised more than how beautiful the hotel is ....
My accommodations were (March 2013 - August 2014 - March 2015 - March 2017) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

A Very Nice Trip

, Starbuck, MB
2017-03-15
The hotel is very nice, but shows signs of needing painting & maintenance. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
As expected in most areas, service, attitude of staff and value of excursions very good.
The weak points
Hotel needs some basic maintenance, such as painting and there is a bridge to the coffee bar which is roped off, limiting access to one side.
Certified

Second visit

, Beiseker, AB
2017-02-15
We enjoyed our visit so much we came back. We traveled with the attitude we will not have any excess or abundance. Some of the staff actually remembered us from 2 years ago. That was awesome. Room was clean bed was too big and not overly comfy but still slept well. Food was good. Overall I would recommend this hotel. Not trashy was clean entertainment was ok but we were not interested. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff Helpful Clean Good communication Easy to meet other travelers
The weak points
Not enough glasses Had poor communication with pool towels
Certified

As Expected

, Toronto, ON
2017-02-03
I stayed at this resort for 5 days at the end of January. The room was acceptable. One of the issues I ran into was trying to book specialty restaurants. I went within 2 hours of checking in to book, however, they were all booked up and I only got to try one of them. My issue with this is that there were only 3 tables of people in the whole restaurant. Why was I told that they were booked solid? Perhaps because these meals are slightly more expensive, the establishment just finds it easier to say that it is all booked up instead of allowing people to get what they paid for! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful pool area.
The weak points
Internet was not easily accessible.
Certified

2 weeks Jan 2017

, Spruce Grove, AB
2017-02-02
We are a large family (7 children) and we had a great time!! The beach was absolutely gorgeous, the pool was nice, the drinks were cold, and the food was decent! If you are heading to cuba though, don't expect a culinary adventure, the food is good, but is not "knock your socks off" good! The grounds were neatly kept, and the bungalow that we stayed in was recently updated. The Kids pool was great, BUT the maintenance on the ship play gym was lacking. There were nails sticking out and broken boards. The tile in the childrens indoor play area gets very slippery when wet too.

Upon arrival to the hotel, we checked in and noticed that our family was separated into two different bungalows (we needed two rooms for our large family). The very next day customer service called and said that they had two new rooms for us in the same bungalow. We called for maintenance a couple of times, and the repair man was very quick to respond. The customer service staff would call afterward to follow up and make sure that the repair was good.

The A La Carte restaurants were all very good, we expecially enjoyed the japanese, and italian. The buffet was not too bad, but the beef was very tough, and nearly impossible to cut, or chew. Some of the steam tables in the buffet didn't work either, and the food in them was cold.

The servers in the snack bar were pretty good too. Yoyo was especially good to us! However, we did notice that if the men were working at the snackbar later in the evening, you could order anything on the menu, but if the ladies were working later in the evening, they would only make pizza. Not sure why, but it was annoying!

Another negative we experienced was that the lady changing the money at the hotel wouldn't give us single pesos. The smallest she would give us were 3's, so tipping was compromised.

The entertainment was just ok. If you spoke french it might have been better. The one lady dancer looked like she hated her job, a smile goes a long way when dancing! The clown for the kids show was absolutely awesome (reminded me of tape face from AGT)

We even had a trip to the hospital/clinic while there via ambulance, and the staff made sure that the medic was able to find us. The hospital was like a scene from MASH, but the care was great! Once back from the hospital, the hotel staff called every day for the rest of our trip to make sure that everything was ok.

We had a great trip, and we loved the hotel. There were some maintenance issues, but I believe that they are working on repairing them. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, beach, a la carte. Room. Kids entertainment.
The weak points
poor maintenance to lighting. poor maintenance to playground. Buffet steam tables not working so food was cold. Entertainment was for French people. Internet was not very good.

Disappointed in Varadero

, Paris, ON
2016-08-08
This was my tenth trip to Cuba and my first trip to Varadero and I was thoroughly disappointed it wasnt that the hotel itself was all that bad but the people rright from the airport up to the reception desk were down right rude,unlike the other parts of Cuba(Cienfuegos,Santiago,Manzanillo and Cayo Coco)that I have been.I had been told that Varadero was the best tourist spot in Cuba,I definitively disagree .When we got to the hotel we had to fight with the reception desk until we got to see the customer rep because at first we got assigned rooms that were occupied and it took three attempts until we got satisfactory rooms that we had paid for,and we were not the only people that this happened to.I must say though that there were a few good folk there namely Godoy and Kenya at the swim up bar,Yoyo at the Snack Bar and Carlos at Customer Service who was very patient and professional in dealing with me who was in a rather irritated state,and last but not least the busboys and waitresses in the dining room who were friendly and efficient.I must say that the food was better than average for Cuba.In my personal opinion I would not go back Varadero . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Hotel in good shape and well maintained rooms need a little more decorations.
The weak points
Front desk very inefficient and rude at times .People of the area not especially friendly.

A week close to the paradise

, Toronto, ON
2016-07-25
I'll recommend this place to my friends, [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Not a 5 star

, Saint-Laurent, QC
2016-03-29
4th time back to Cuba, but this is not a 5 star Melia quality resort.
It may have been a bad-luck week to travel but it still did not excuse the poor attitude of the staff, and disorganization, the beach area being non existent, the pool entertainment lacking during the day , the food quality being poor, undercooked at times, or no food left.
beach towels did not arrive till 3 days into the trip.
Enjoyed the pool area very much during the stay, and had a really great upgraded room which was some consolation for a disappointing week.
... a lot more to comment on... no enough room [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
room amenities only if upgraded pool area weather
The weak points
food beach area entertainment staff

Great vacation

, Saint Catharines, ON
2016-02-03
My wife and i are returning for the 3rd year. We both have nothing bad to say. The staff is amazing the beach is beautiful the pool is fun the food is great the booze is included what more could you ask for... Everything at this resort is amazing cant wait to get back on march 23rd 2016. All the bad reviews are people that have nothing better to do but complain! Respect and understand there culture and you will have a great time... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Every thing is great
The weak points
None

Not really a 4 hotel

2016-02-03
The Melia Peninsula Veradero has a lot of potential to be a better hotel than our experience. Some of the small annoying things like having to ask "everyday" for additional bottled water, and room towels. They only have one real choice for breakfast and it opened at 7:30 ish and was lined up with many patrons trying to get to their excursion on buses leaving 7:45 or 8:00. The tables were usually preset for the early rush but by 8:30 there were few if any cleaned and reset tables and always appeared to be a few staff short to keep up.
The bathroom was a decent size but the tub was small and not comfortable to use especially someone over 6 feet. The shower was a neo angle affair that you had to be very careful not to adjust the temperature with your rear end while trying to wash lower parts of your body and it leaked all over the floor making the floor dangerously slippery (towels used to dry the floor were not replaced).
Beach towels were rationed and looked tired and fairly old yet if you didn't return it you would be charged 15 pesos. I guess the number of towels taken home by tourists is a problem down there, I personally would suggest that the surcharge by overweight baggage to steal such an item would be more than the cost at home.
We were on the second floor and neither the balcony screen door nor the sliding would lock. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great beach for long walks in either direction. The al a carte restaurants were decent
The weak points
Pool was really load and we could not relax. I believe there were cleanliness issues and I was sick buy day 3 my spouse when we got home
Certified

Melia Peninsula Varadero

, St Hippolytes, QC
2015-08-31
The food was great. The staff very friendly. Great Holiday spot. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food and service GREAT!
The weak points
The beach is the only negative part. You must climb/descend a couple of feet in the sand to get in/out of the water.
Certified

Caribbean paradise

, Toronto, ON
2015-06-09
I had a third chance to stay in this wonderful hotel. Nothing is certain of the negative comments I can read, Melia Peninsula is a true 5 star and very deserving of the Melia brand. The rooms are first of all the right elements for an excellent stay and clean luxury. The food is varied and excellent quality. The service and quality of drinks such as mojito Free Cuba rum pina colada with the beers and everything one can think to ask. Very good treatment by staff overall hotel with all customers. The animation is spectacular, the beach activities and varied and fun pool and at night very good shows, but also in the lobby area every night there are different activities with a very good selection of artists and every night something different, I have to highlight a singer that comes in Saturday night's amazing how all dance regardless of age. The album is very good and the dj pleased everyone with his music, great retro night party and chill out. Also very good activities for babies and clown Rafiqui best. I can only say that animation is the best I've seen, make you forget the notion of time and make unique and unforgettable experiences. A great hotel in a great country they recommend to all and will return. Melia Varadero Peninsula thank you very much for these great vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the animation, wordless
The weak points
I have nothing to say

Great vacation for a spring break

, Lasalle, QC
2015-03-10
We were traveling as a family (2 adults, 1 child and 1 baby) and it was our first trip to Cuba. We picked Melia Peninsula following many reviews and there are no any regrets about that: great hotel, awesome beach, outstanding service, excellent food of good quality with a plenty of choice for everyone. By all means, it was the vacation worth remembering!

For the families traveling with the kids, there are couple of highlights. First of all, hotel is located not very far from airport (~40-45 minutes), has a lot of facilities for the kids (including pools, kids club, babies club, babysitters). Secondly, it has the doctor on site available during the day. We actually had to consult her as the baby got sick and we had been provided the medical assistance and drugs we needed very quickly.

The only disadvantages we had are ongoing constructions and general comfort of the our room. As for a family of 4 people, room was very small, plus ours had a couple of broken doors (which didn't lock properly). However, those are really minor and haven't changed our general very positive impression about the hotel and vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great location, service, food, beach and amenities for kids.
The weak points
Rooms are not very comfortable, couple of ongoing constructions.
Certified
pages: 1234567

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021