Hotel Playa Caleta

Hotel Playa Caleta
3.183.183.183.183.18
The average rating for this hotel is not available at this time. No recent reviews have been submitted.
Traveller pictures (190)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123456789

Great time

, Tweed, ON
2014-02-10
We had a great time best bars was the beach and pool bars could use work on the elevators but well worth our money.
Rooms were very clean and amazing room keeping very friendly and no bugs. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pools, beach, excursions was amazing Catamaran a must. Staff, bars
The weak points
Elevators.
Certified

Great experience

, Oshawa, ON
2013-06-25
I would like to recommend this hotel to people who is traveling to Cuba. Very clean, we didn't find any mold, big bedrooms, balcony. It is a great place to spend your holidays. I am very pleased with the hotel and the staff. Two swimming pools, very clean. The entertainment staff have a different show every night, which is quite good. They also do games and you can win a bottle of Cuban rum. I will go back to that place. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very nice staff, entertaining night show and you have 3 a la carte restaurants.
The weak points
Very far from downtown and no internet access :(
Certified

Playa Caleta

, Cambridge, ON
2013-05-25
This is a great hotel. rooms were really nice and a incredible ocean view, if you get that side of the hotel. lagoon view from the other side. hotel staff were tired, but efficient. no 24 hr food, only ham and cheese sandwich. was a let down. north end of the island , so a scooter is a good bet to rent while your there so you can scoot around. downtown is about 5 minutes away from scooter. i would stay again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
good location, great beach area, nice beach bar, lots of trees and plants use of the hotel next to you, part of this resort now. great hotel rooms. easy to get around. great pool areas lots of lounges
The weak points
the buffet was hard to find, switched it from hotel to hotel with no information. no reps around, food needs improving.
Certified

Good

, Victoria, BC
2013-05-20
My daughter and I went for her 21st birthday. We were very happy with the hotel in general. The staff was lovely, friendly, and our room was cleaned early in the morning. Our cleaning lady went out of her way to be as helpful as possible. The hotel itself is one of the oldest and does need some updating. The hotel is on the smaller side which I really like, food was good and I would stay at this hotel again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff are really good. Beaches are fabulous and location was great.
The weak points
The beds are very hard and hotel needs an upgrade.
Certified

Playa Caleta review

, Toronto, ON
2013-05-13
A nice and quiet place, renovated building, quality menu and a very nice beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach - big and clean, lots of equipment; the menu was diverse and of quslity
The weak points
staff at times unhelpful and not very friendly
Certified

GoodTime

, Liverpool, NS
2013-05-02
The hotel is one of the first to be built and it shows in places, but my only complaints are the elevators not working and the beach was not clean. The staff and service were great! I really like the fact you can walk to Varadero (2.5km) Had a good time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff and service
The weak points
the elevators work sometimes, usually down to one, they should have benches outside the elevators to use while waiting. The beach had a lot of garbage on it, wore my sandals, scared of cutting my feet on cans and broken bottles.
Certified

Computer and IPad stolen from

, Richmond, BC
2013-04-24
Horrible. My computer and Ipad stolen from "Secure Storage Room" Security of the hotel was brudal as they try to put blame on me.It felt like I was a criminal.Police was okay during investigation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
No strong points.
The weak points
The hotel is very old. The road to Hotel was terrible. Holes. Taxi didn't come because road condition. No rental car.Had to rent from different hotel.Computer stolen.Security very bad.
Certified

Bad

, Fredericton, NB
2013-04-08
Avoid at all costs [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
ok beach but it was never clean and charis were broken and very old
The weak points
bad: food selection, dirty, gas smell, doors did not shut in our room, staff were greedy and ungrateful, I spent over 200$ in tips by the end of it and still had horrible service. No soap in bathrooms DIRTY SHEETS AND TOWELS, over all just Disappointed
Certified

Don't book here. Really.

, Vancouver, BC
2013-04-05
Everything you hear or read about the oil smell is true. It was overpowering. We checked in at 5:00 AM after a long flight. Got a room on the 4th floor - great view of the ocean, when the bellhop was finally able to open the sliding door. It didn't work too good, due to the mouldy ceiling collapsing above it. The room was dirty. We went back to reception and the very rude woman there announced there were no other rooms, we had to wait until morning. We tried to get some sleep - even the sheets on the beds were dirty. Went downstairs for breakfast in the buffet - dirty table cloths everywhere, poor food selection (even for Cuba!), not an appetizing experience. Went to our airline representative, told him the issues. He spoke to the front desk and then told us we would be seen at 11:00 by the Guest Relations Manager. We walked down to the beach - full of litter. Went over to the pool - looked ok, but it is off to the side of the hotel and there isn't any kind of cohesiveness to the whole layout of the property. Went back to our room - elevator floor gave a huge BANG! when it was moving, scared the cap out of us. In the room I started to take some pictures - noticed the blood on the desk and floor, tap in the sink loose and ready to fall off, water on the floor that was leaking out of the toilet, drapes falling off the rod and in poor shape, things like that.

We spoke to the Guest Relations manager, a very nice young woman who was sympathetic to our situation. She tried to convince us to stay, by upgrading our room, etc., but by this time we just wanted out. She then went ahead and arranged for us to stay at another resort. We went to this second resort first, by cab (at our expense) and had a tour by the Guest Relations Manager there. It turns out the two women knew each other and had worked together before. The second resort was a 180 degree turn around, to the good. We went back to Playa Caleta, got our bags and took another cab (at our expense again) back and enjoyed our holiday in Cuba. Stay away from Playa Caleta. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Guest Relations Manager. She was the nicest person at the whole resort that we came in contact with.
The weak points
Oil smell. Dirty beach. Dirty room. Bad location.
Certified

Gained weight ~ really :D

, Saskatoon, SK
2013-04-05
After we stopped feeling guilty about not tipping we had a wonderful experience. For what we paid it was beyond our expectations.
The rooms were no different from any of those in cube. There was the odd cockroach coming up from the drain in the bathroom so we just put the trash can over the drain.
The staff was good and bad, no different than canada.
Some staff tried to sell us cigars or rum, we did not like being solicited during our meals or holiday, and know you can complain to customer service. Customer service is there for you, use them.
The patrons also were good and bad, excessive drinking was unfortunately common, they do have security available so use them if you need to.
Directions and where things were need to be addressed better and a two week stay is way better than one. Once you know your way around, you will love it here.
Noel is the best porter, and please know, you don't need to tip and one peso is enough.
The staff in Casablancas is just beyond wonderful along with the morning omlette lady.
By the way, in the morning, the coffee machine is by the juice bar, seat yourself, then get your own coffee and juice, it is quicker.
Plus know sometimes they run out of plates and cups, please be patient and bring your own cup with you :D
I was disappointed the cuban government thinks their money is worth more than our canadian cash, so keep that in mind, you only get 90 cents on the dollar.
Money exchange was also hard to get at the hotel at times. When you go into veradero to exchange money at the bank, you NEED your passport to do so and expect to wait up to an hour in the bank, just remember, you are on holidays so you are not in a rush. Know that liquor prices do not vary in all government stores (ones that take CUC) but do what I didn't ~ get your liquor in the airport at duty free on your way home, gives no extra weight in your luggage, plus most inexpensive. We flew out at 4am, and yes, the duty free was open.
For tours ~ Rent a taxi via your sunwing rep through cuban connections for Havana if you wish to tour on your own, less expensive, $150, so with tip, $50 for four of you to go. We LOVED the jeep tour and of course enjoyed the catamaran.
The a la carte may not be the best, but the staff is beyond in Casablancas and the food was wonderful in the Italian. Go to Al Capons restaurant, the steak and lobster was great according to other guests, we had the lobster and fish ~ fabulous. Cost about $30CUC/person for drinks and food Okay, a quick run down of what we were told, $1 a day is enough for the maid, don't feel obligated to tip bar tenders or buffet staff. (unless you would like to, these services are included) only tip concierge if you wish to $1 enough (loonies and toonies seem useless to them as they don't wish to go to the bank and exchange them so rather than give a loonie don't tip at all, and don't obligated to exchange your CUC for the staff loonies, they will ask, just say no, you already lost money on getting the cuban cucs.
Take a light towel, your own cup with straw and cover (their cups are TINY), and LOTS of suntan lotion, you will need them.
You do get a towel, but it is nice to have two. There are no face clothes, so if you would like some, take them.
Gifts to take ~ Clothes and shoes are expensive in cuba, so take
t shirts, shorts, button up shirts, tank shirts, light skirts rather than toiletries (the maids get too much so sell what you give) Razors are also awesome (as are tampons for the ladies) Take the shuttle bus into veradero from the hotel,or only pay $7-$10 if you take a cab in from this hotel.
The horse/buggy tour is excellent in veradero but settle the price first, we paid $10 each and loved it but we knew the price. Others felt ripped off as they didn't.
We didn't golf but the golf course is excellent there!!! but you must be good as the course is busy.
Oh the night shows were really good too and happily the music is off at 11pm every night.
Plus on channels 13 and 33 you have ctv and cnn.
Know there is enough to enjoy, not alot for kids but for everyone else, this resort is perfect for a canadian get away (practically everyone there is canadian! (there is no swim up bar but we spent all our time on the beach, the water is warm and swimming is excellent)
thank you Ixpata Travel, Playa caleta and sunwing :D
Oh and a final note, do not get sucked in like we did on having your carry on weighed with your luggage. We did and our final exit cost us way too much. yes, we were had by the airport... not cool.
I still recommend Cuba and hope to go back one day and yes, I will return to the Playa Caleta :D [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Small resort; excellent food; good food variety and availability; privacy of beach; room kept well and stocked with towels n tp
The weak points
directions to where everything is & activities available during the day; drinking water not provided daily in room free of charge (can be order from desk with a charge)
Certified

Playa Caleta Vacation

, New Ross, NS
2013-04-05
Wish they'd repair their elevators. The outside steps were unsafe looking . People were wonderful. food average but wherever you walked outside the smell of sewer was in the air and along the roadsides were lots of garbage. Beaches was great and for the price the resort was OK. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice people, weather and beaches.
The weak points
Elevator!!!! cutlery usually not available, In the street lots of overflowing sewers and sewer smells. In varadero itself not exactly upfront about prices. Torist trap wanted 5 pecos to use washroom.
Certified

Nice resort

, Komoka, ON
2013-03-30
this hotel is dated and in need of renovations, but overall we had a clean room with ocean view of amazing beach,wine is only served at lunch and dinner buffets and ala carts, but if you bring your bubba to the buffet they will fill it for you, food repetetive, breakfast is the best, bring your bacon to ommlette lady and she will cook it more for you, went to both ala carts and they were pretty good, you can catch a horse and buggy into town in front of hotel, barter with the driver and you can make a deal, also short walk to Al Capones restaurant down the beach or on the street, very cool! Overall i would return if the price was right. Close to beach, and also do the catamaran trip, its awesome, they take you to a private beach called cayo blanco, powder white sand, amazing lobster or chicken luch and all inclusive bar all day! $75 for the trip. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean rooms, amazing beach and pool area, food average, but you are in cuba! Service mostly friendly, make sure you tip, ocean view amazing, life gaurds and security on beach were very good, double decker bus very close to resort to go into town 5 pesos.
The weak points
hotel needs renovations, but still ok, if you want a cheap vacation and aren't to fussy this resort is acceptable.
Certified

So relaxing!

, Edmonton, AB
2013-03-26
This was our second trip to Playa Caleta, and we absolutely love the location - beautiful beach and water, close enough to walk to restaurants and into town. Although the hotel is getting a little old and could use some TLC, we have no complaints. The "industrial odour" that people complained about in other reviews was noticeable on two mornings, but was definitely not enough to ruin our vacation. Food was fine and entertainment was pretty good. Room was clean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach and ocean were fabulous! Close enough to walk into town either on the street or on the beach. Price was good. No complaints.
The weak points
Hotel is getting a little old. Elevators, bedspreads and curtains could use a little updating.
Certified

Disappointed. Not 3 1/2 Star!!!!

, Ennismore, ON
2013-03-15
Even with no expectations prior to travel we were both overall disappointed with Playa Caleta. I was ready to come home when I saw the cockroach in our room. The elevators resembled potential death traps, one of them had a floor that buckled and made a loud noise when you stepped on it and it would also literally drop 1/2 floor while you were using it going up to room. The star rating means nothing if this hotel can be rated as a 3 1/2 star. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach is beautiful but could be cleaned more often. Some of the staff were very friendly.
The weak points
The food in the buffet became very repetitive. We became very frustrated trying to find options on most occasions. The bacon served in the morning was never cooked properly, luckily the omelette lady was willing to cook it longer for most people.
Certified

Another great stay at Playa Caleta

, Victoria Harbour, ON
2013-03-14
My wife and I just returned from Playa Caleta, this was our fourth visit. We also had my 70 something yr old mother-in-law with us - her first journey to Cuba.

Once again we were greeted with smiles and hugs from the friends we've made here, it was like coming home lol, even our favourite waiter was calling my mom...momma .

Few minor glitches...yes, we were two of the four people stuck in good old elevator three.....just wish I would have refilled my bubba mug prior to getting on that elevator. No big deal, we were freed and the next day all three elevators were being serviced. Can't imagine what havoc salt water and humidity can play on hydraulics in the elevators.

Upon our arrival we were thrilled to have adjoining rooms on the seventh floor with a fabulous view of the ocean.
We have had rooms on both sides of the hotel in our past visits and both have excellent views.

Playa Caleta is certainly not 5 star, but to us it's a friendly, clean resort, with lots of food and drink and where we are always treated wonderfully and have made some great friends here. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Gorgeous views from either side of the hotel - canal or ocean. Hotel and rooms are always clean. Large variety of food in buffet restaurant. Resort is small enough to find your way around easily, and close to the beach and pool.
The weak points
Occasional smell from the oil refinery early in the morning
Certified

Terrible

, Stoney Creek, ON
2013-03-12
Child pool was closed for the whole trip but one day, due to not being cleaned. Staff was not overly friendly, the food was terrible. No activities or entertainment. Bingo once. Front stairs had big spaces and daughters leg fell through it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach was nice resort had potential
The weak points
beach had dead jelly fish all over and was not cleaned up no one spoke English to communicate
Certified

Good place,I'm not picky!

, Winnipeg, MB
2013-03-08
Good value,good place. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location
The weak points
Sand on beach is not as easy to walk on compared to other beaches I've been. But still nice.
Certified

Great place...bad staff

, Athens, ON
2013-02-25
Nice place but Hotel staff were not very attentive or friendly, which was a surprise because we've found Cuban people in the travel industry to be very helpful. I would return to Varadero in a heartbeat, but not to this resort and only because of the staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and general location
The weak points
The staff and availability of food and beverages
Certified

Comment on trip

, Winnipeg, MB
2013-02-22
Will not likely be going there again in the near future. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
There were elevators, sometimes good working and other times only 1 serviceable. Did the best they could given what they had to work with.
The weak points
Food- NO butter for the last 10 days of our trip. The a la carte rest. were "cool in personality". Front desk tried to help, but again their hands are tied.
Certified

Some one need to remove one of the stars only 21/2

, Toronto, ON
2013-02-22
been to cuba over 15 time from 2stars to 5 stars and trust me i am not fussy at all my best experience in cuba was a 3 star and been here 8years ago was 3 star and was good place and time then more like a 2 1/2 now in need of desperate repairs small resort only 3 bars 2 a la carte and 24snack bar only service chess and bread. no fries,pizza,hot-dogs and hamburgers so if you have small children this is definitely not the place for you staff are ok when you tip but slow service if you don't it just old and out dated like being in the 70es but said all of that you make you tip out of what you have i had a blast just being in cuba good beer and food was ok would i go here again if the price is around 600.00cnd include taxes in yes i would but would never pay over that there is no double decker bus that come to this resort any more to get to town 30min walk or cab 8cuc if you have any question u can email me at lozier9799@rogers.com [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
hey you are in cuba
The weak points
too much to mention
Certified

Playa Caleta

, Lindsay, ON
2013-02-22
Overall we had a good time at Playa Caleta, we didn't go with high expectations knowing that we booked a 3.5 star hotel. We were pleasantly surprised at how good the food was; as we have only ever heard bad things about the food in Cuba. The elevators at this hotel are in great need of repair / maintenance, they kept breaking down the entire time we were there, they got stuck between floors on several occasions, the floors in them felt as if you were going to fall right threw them.
The staff at the hotel were pleasant enough for the most part, although we did find that unless you were tipping for every movement they made the service was poor. Everyone we talked to (staff) had a story to tell about how poor they are are and they all asked for money over and over! I have been to other all inclusive resorts where this was not the case and found this to be a turn off of this resort.
If you require anything that needs to be plugged in i.e sleep apnea machine you require a power converter as our plugs don't fit with their system. You can purchase on at the gift shop in the main lobby, know one at the front desk seemed to be aware of this, we had to go on a search so my husband could sleep! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach is beautiful! The food was pretty good!
The weak points
People bagging for money, unhappy / unfriendly staff.
Certified

Where do the negative reviews come from

, Fergus, ON
2013-02-22
This was our second time to Cuba. If we had gone by the negative reviews we would have never discovered this resort. We had a great time and would recommend this resort to our friends. Unfortunately the only negative for our stay was the weather, which the resort had no control over. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was good for Cuba, The staff were friendly, The resort was clean.
The weak points
Can't think of any
Certified

EXCELLANT

, Kyle, SK
2013-02-14
This is cuba and the prices we pay it .is great, smell of sulphur in the morning in the room after 3 days we approached front desk and sunwing moved to ocean view room on the 7th floor no extra charges. as far as food there is always something good to eat,ice cream great. we always tip after good service no pressure to tip always got good service apart from bell hop who did not recieve a tip. entertainment good especially the ballet dancer when travellin to this resort remember these points. 1 the price you paid 2 this is cuba a third world country. 3 it is a 3 star resort. 4 there is mostly in the morning the smell of sulphur from burning of gas. 5 smoking is allowed everywhere in cuba. 6 dont act like a spoilt brat and maybe the staff will do things for if you ask nicely.
the beach and ocean are great the beers good and the weather was great so be happy and have a good time. we were very happy and had a GREAT time and so did all the russians we met there [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach amazing,food good,location great,staff excellant
The weak points
smoking, smell of sulphur
Certified

Not a good experience

, Edmonton, AB
2013-02-13
Food wasn't good. Even basic services, everyone needs tips. Inefficiency is rampant. Phone and internet don't work most of the times. Beach was good and room was good. We don't go there anymore. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach is very good. Room is okay
The weak points
Food is bad:no flavour, no variety, not handled properly. At buffet, basic services like water,drinks were not given readily without tiping. Internet was down, phone was down. Everyone is looking for money(tips)even for basic services.
Certified

Cuba

, Darwell, AB
2013-02-11
The food was absolutely discusting in the buffet and about par with any fast food restaurant in the "Special restaurants".We were served RABBIT one night. They would run out of many food specialties within the first hour. Who in their right minds would think that one turkey would feed a couple of hundred people???? No spices available and everything tastes the same.They would serve things like beef stew for breakfast! The ladies at the front desk were very rude and as this is your first experience with the hotel you start off with a bad feeling. The rooms were reasonably clean but did not provide any shampoo,soap or kleenex after the first day. The sheets were not changed all week. A horrible gas smell from the refineries and awoke us at 6 a.m for 2 days in a row. This was very distressing as you are sitting in this nauseas cloud until around 9 when the breeze picks up.There are no activities during the day as advertised.The nightly show is of poor quality.I would not visit this hotel again and sit in refinery row! This hotel should definately be downgraded!The beaches are o.k but are not the white sand that is found further down in Varadero. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
No real strong points. The price is reasonable but I would spend a little more and get out of the pollution!
The weak points
Food, Food, Food !!! The front desk. The entertainment.
Certified

Not what expected

, Lakeville, Westmorlin County, NB
2013-02-11
just got back feb 2-13 to the 9th - this is our 3 time in cuba and 1st at Playa Caleta - not what we expected - the room was always filled with a powerful smell of cigarettes - we did go to the lobby after our first night thinking we could be changed room well front desk was no help at all - we were told everybody smokes.....if that was not enough there was construction around the resort so we had to deal with the smell of tar...food not the greatest with the exception of the breakast which were eggs on the grill easy enough. out of 3 elevators only one was working the other 2 you had to take a chance some days it would work other not - having a fashion show as part of our nightly entertainment is not my idea of exciting - one night it was music which I thought would be great until we got there and hardly a word of english was spoken it was all cuban well since I did not understand a word it did not take time for me to return to my room - overall bad experience and will not return to that resort for sure nor will I recommend it [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
weather was great - pool was nice
The weak points
lack of service from staff - front desk not helpful - beaches not suited for children or people who just want to walk in water as there is a sudden drop in water level could be dangerous
Certified

Great time, Clean place

, Martensville, SK
2013-02-08
We had an amazing time. The hotel was clean. Food was as expected for Cuban food. Can't beat the price! The location was amazing. The people we met were great. Go on the Jeep tour, we had a great time. The snorkling was heaven. Better then we expected for a 3 1/2 star. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The place was very clean. Location beautiful.
The weak points
Stomach issues for most of the guest, unknown source. (food? water?)
Certified

Had a blast very friendly place

, Victoria Harbour, ON
2013-02-04
My girlfriend and I went here for a week. We had an amazing time. You get what you pay for and we got our money's worth. Everyone staff and tourists are extremelying friendly. We felt totally safe at all times, the place is kept clean but could use some renovations. Apparently the food is pretty well the same at all resorts which leaves much to be desired. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very friendly staff and tourists. Staff worked very hard to keep everything clean but the place needs some major renovations.
The weak points
Food everything tastes the same
Certified

Playa Caleta

, Port Alberni, BC
2013-01-30
Very good, higher than I expected [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Every thing you need
The weak points
No first Aid
Certified

Very disapointed

, Oshawa, ON
2013-01-23
There was nothing going on during the day.The activity staff told me everything is going down.3 years ago at this resort they had alot of activities going on.All they had was the show at night.The staff were great they were the same staff and remembered us.The catarmaran was the best time ever. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beaches,pool
The weak points
the activity was down from the last three years.Nothing during the day.The goverment has taken over and there is quite a difference.not going back to that resort.
Certified
pages: 123456789

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021