Hotel Acuazul

Hotel Acuazul
3.103.103.103.103.10
The average rating for this hotel is not available at this time. No recent reviews have been submitted.
Traveller pictures (23)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Not too bad

, Niagara Falls, ON
2016-12-10
IT was good all staff was great [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
realaxing
The weak points
none
Certified

A basic but OK hotel

, Ottawa, ON
2015-02-15
This is an older basic hotel. The staff are friendly and courteous. The food is acceptable but fairly simple and repetitive. The location is very good with easy access to the beach. Music is played loudly during the day until 11pm and can be heard in the bedrooms. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Price, access to the beach and courteous staff
The weak points
Noise, uninspired but OK food, beds are moderately uncomfortable.
Certified

Little Gem

, Ajax, ON
2015-01-26
Old and small but Charming hotel, that covers all the basics. Food's not the greatest, but more than adequate. The restaurant staff are very efficient. So are the cleaning ladies. I tipped them and was pleasantly surprised to get a little gift back with a note from them. Other guests complained about leaking faucet, I didn't encounter same problem. I don't mind going back again if the price is right:) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location and price
The weak points
size and age.
Certified

Acuazul

, Ingersoll, ON
2015-01-18
The hotel is quaint. My room was 313 and perfect as it had two balconies...one with a semi-view of the pool and streets to the rear of the hotel and the other had a view of the main street. As a result it was very quiet for sleeping. I loved this hotel as it was inexpensive, food was good, and access to the beach was a 3 minute walk only. Most walks to the beach from a resort that is ON the beach take longer. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The location, right downtown and close to everything.
The weak points
nothing I can think of at all...
Certified

Fun in the Sun

, Bowmanville, ON
2015-01-14
It was a relaxing visit to Cuba. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent value for the money. Great location.
The weak points
Food was only available at certain times. Restaurants ran out of food quickly. The bar ran out of vodka and wine quickly in the evenings. Bottled water was difficult to get. Nightly entertainment was laughable.
Certified

Nice place, friendly staff.

, Churchill, MB
2013-02-01
I would have liked a quieter environment at night but that is just me. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good location near the beach. Good place if you enjoy nightly shows.
The weak points
Very noisy at night.
Certified

Absolutely no frills vacation

, Arnprior , ON
2013-01-22
We booked this literally last minute for about 500 all in apiece.Very basic hotel with 1 pool,1 free bar and 1 cash bar.The place could use an update.The food was of very poor quality,the worst by far of any resort we've ever stayed at.Its also very repetitive with the same dishes every single day.Plain noodles with frozen green beans for breakfast,what up with dat?Wilted red cabbage scattered about with some unknown fish in the middle,raw bacon.Deepfried cubes filled with a brown substance.On top of that the buffet is often empty and ill kept.We're not the types that complain but we feel that people might want to know this so that they can bring extra cash to eat elsewhere.If the buffet is that dirty out front then I can imagine what the kitchen looks like in the back,its just that bad.The rooms are basic but fairly clean but you have to ask for a fridge and even then you may not get one. Beach is a 2 min walk and is brilliant.There is a bar there for the hotel guests but no food or washrooms.The hotel location is good with many bars and restaurants nearby and you can look these up on travel sites for ratings.Lastly there were shifty cab people so set your price in stone.Some give a flat rate and others charge per passenger rates.Eastern bloc tourists tend to get quite drunk and unruly so beware,there is no one to temper or guide their behavior.Besides all the negatives we still had a blast because we are adaptable tourists but buyer beware. I would never stay at this location again and I almost forgot 1 more little nugget of information,the pool burger cook tried to pick up my wife when I went up to take a shower and when confronted about this he no speaky english! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the beach
The weak points
as stated
Certified

Good quality for a 2 star resort

, Belle River, ON
2013-01-19
always have a smile on their faces [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff their are awesome, always friendly and willing to help out
The weak points
The food is not the best
Certified

Cuba 2012

, Winnipeg, MB
2012-12-14
Our 3rd time to this resort and found much improvement in the manner in which the food was served - the staff appeared to be the same so am thinking they were receiving better product. Many of the staff are long term employees and it was nice to be recognized by many of them. We were always well treated and with respect and our needs were always looked after fairly promptly. We had an excellent maid who cleaned our room quite early. We can't say more about all the staff from the reception, buffet, snack bar and general cleaning and maintenance. We like the location of this resort, right downtown close the main flea market, one of the shopping malls and the banks. The double decker makes it easy to go to further destinations, all for $5 day each! The Canadian Consulate is just down the street from this hotel, as well as grocery stores and other restaurants, one with nightly entertainment......the weather couldn't have cooperated more - our last 4 days were 35 and the ocean was gorgeous. It will not be our last trip to Cuba nor to this resort! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Right downtown easily accessible to flea markets, shops, restaurants & bars. Friendly staff, clean facility and the food was quite decent.
The weak points
This reort is starting to age and will likely require upgrades to some of their facilities (bathrooms) and perhaps new mattresses.
Certified

Islazul Acuazul Jan.24-31,2012 and April3-10,2012

, North Bay, ON
2012-04-12
We are just back from a week at the Acuazul. We had been before so knew what to expect. Super location, very clean, great staff. The price of this trip was much higher than when we were there in Jan/12 so not such a great bargain but still a decent budget conscious vacation.The only complaint is that the dining room is well below standard, food while plentiful was not very appealing, table cloths were not clean and there was no service in the dining room. We ate out every evening as there are many excellent inexpensive restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean, attractive large rooms, great staff, centrally located.
The weak points
The dining room was a real disappointment but the great sandwiches at the pool bar saved us!
Certified

Wonderfull vacation

, North Bay, ON
2012-04-12
this hotel is right downtown ,, close to all shopping ,, a short 3 min walk to one of the best beaches ... resturants are close with amazing food and cheap prices ...
the staff at this hotel are truely one of a kind ,,, they make you feel at home right away ... the PR manager is one of the best staff there ,,, alot of people should take lessons from him .. his attitude is to help and make sure your stay with them is to your satisfaction ... he goes above and beyond the call of duty ..
the front desk staff are easy to deal with and again are very helpful ,,, there is nothing very fancy about this place but the rooms are very clean and for the price you pay no one should complain [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the staff are willing to go that extra mile for you ..
The weak points
food really is terrible .
Certified

Overall ok

, Montreal, QC
2012-02-13
nice,no major problems,supper 10 min.late on occasion,no hot water on occasion,no glass on windows ever.Staff friendly,1 elevator worked 1 didn't. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff,shows at night.
The weak points
1 elevator,no glass on windows,broken door knob to balcony,supper late.
Certified

ACUAZUL

, Suite 703, ON
2011-05-22
Overall the hotel was below my expectations. I would not give it two stars. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Room is fairly large with a nice view from the terrace.
The weak points
Choice of food is very limited. Location is well below expectation.
Certified

ACUAZUL

, Brampton, ON
2011-03-29
Rooms were clean. There was a cesspool smell coming from the outdoors. No fault of the hotel. OK, for an economy hotel. Rude Russian tourists. No fault of the hotel either, but I think potential visitors should be warned of the presence of these obnoxious tourists who don't speak a single word of English or any other language. Entertainement was a somewhat infrequent, but musicians and dancers talented and gracious.
Front desk, not very smiling. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Would recommend if all you need is a place to sleep. Not a bad hotel altogether. Near clubs and entertainment.
The weak points
Limited evening entertainement. Staff seems unhappy maybe because of stingy and rude guests.
Certified

Acuzul Resort

, Winnipeg, MB
2011-02-08
We were very well treated by all staff and made friends with many as this was our 2nd trip to this resort. Food was decent as far as Cuban food goes - something for everyone. Service was excellent and our room was spotless! Easy access within walking distance to everything downtown, beach was great and so was the weather. Double Decker bus or horse & buggy readily available for further distances. People there are great! Our 5th time to Cuba and definitely not our last! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
right down town with easy access to shopping, restaurants and the beach, staff very friendly and helpful, our 2nd time there and we would go back in an instant!
The weak points
ran out of 4 liquors only replaced once per week
Certified

Good value

, Lytton, BC
2011-01-18
The rooms were clean,the chambermaid was delightful,with handwritten expressions of welcome and thanks when tipped. The rest of the staff were helpful and smiling even when dealing with drunken louts. Why do all inclusive stays always have too many of these type of people? We were close to the beach and public transportation. Food was adequate if unexciting, the evening entertainment was primarily fun.The pool could do with a water heater. Our overall impression is positive and we would return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
as above
The weak points
water pressure
Certified

I would not go back to this hotel

, Brossard, QC
2009-12-13
The room is clean, but sewage smell in the middle of the night. We have to eat left over of lunch for dinner! Breakfast is standard and acceptable. Staff is nice and friendly. Good luck if you have to stay on 6th floor ( no water and toilet doesn't flush becuase it's too high for water to go up there). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff
The weak points
terrible food.
Certified

Great cheap trip!

, London, ON
2009-06-18
This is a budget hotel and is OK.

The food is unvaried and so-so.

The rooms are OK.

The location is great, many restaurants close by, flea markets near,beach with bar 2 blocks away.
If you sit on your balcony you see real Cubans doing ordinary things like going to school, shopping etc.

This is a nice alternative to a resort in isolation. The street life was great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location
The weak points
Food
Certified

Excellent Budget Hotel

, Ajax, ON
2009-06-17
This was our 2nd trip to Aquazul. We have stayed at many 4 star hotels in Cuba and have found that Aquazul was surprisingly good considering it's 2 star rating. We really enjoyed this hotel. Tony and Yvettay the front desk managers were very accomodating and friendly. The food is good by Cuban standards. The nightly entertainment is great. There are ample lounges available at the pool and the beach is only 1 block away. Although the hotel is not on the beach, the beach is actually closer to the hotel than at many of the other beach front hotels in Varadero. Our room was very spacious and we always had adequate water pressure for the shower and toilet. There is a TV with sattlelite but many of the channels were in spanish. For a 2 star hotel you get your money's worth and more. We noticed that there are many returning guests at this hotel as were were there at Christmas both times and ran into many guests that were there the previous year. The staff also stayed the same which is a testament to how well the hotel is run. We will be back to Aquazul for our next vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Value for your money, spacious rooms
The weak points
Only 1 restaurant
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021