Club Karey

Club Karey
2.722.722.722.722.72
2.72 based on 89 reviews
#52 of 65 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Varadero
Rated 2 stars
Traveller pictures (43)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Book somewhere else .. worst hotel stay ever

, Gravenhurst, ON
2018-02-12
The property is a bunch of houses very spread out. Be prepared to walks everywhere. Long walks lots of walking. If you think you can lay on the beach drinking pina colada.. you can't! They don't have them. They don't have a beach bar. The beach and property are riddled with garbage and rubble. My room no working fridge, tv or air conditioning. Some of the ceiling feel onto our table in the Buffett restaurant. The beach is amazing but dirty. First time in Cuba so the food was meh .. no fries and whatnot would be tough with kids. Stay away from this one. It needs bulldozed and built again. The bar staff and cleaners were wonderful. Oh and no toilet paper.. no sure how they manage that down there. But public washrooms don't have paper. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Dirty, garbage on the beach bring toilet paper

Condiciones del hotel

, North York, ON
2017-09-10
Mi experiencia en club Carey,
La atención es excelente de todos en general
La comida .Nada que decir. Pues soy yo la del problemas con las comidas mi esposo comió de todo y lo encontró todo bueno.
Lo malo fue las condiciones del hotel mi habitación no tenía puerta en el baño el marco todo comido de cometen desastre . Los trabajadores no tiene condiciones para trabajar ni líquidos para limpiar la limpieza de los baños es pésima. Los horarios de los bares cuando está abierto el del lobby está cerrado el de la piscina es feo porque uno paga todo incluido y al final no disfrutas nada por que hay que trasladarse de un lugar al otro nada que ver . El día de venir pedí cortesía porque mi bus se atraso de 7 50 pm a 10.50pm a pesar que el hotel estaba vacío por el ciclón se me negó cortesía o sea sin bañarme sin comer apenas estuve en el lobby desde las 12.00 del medio dia hasta las 10.55
pm sin ninguna atención que no fuera cafe [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Eso fue de bastante llegue a canada con fiebre de 40 grados
The weak points
Eso es todo

Worse than a back packers hostel

, Toronto, ON
2017-03-28
Poor quality, major restoration required,dining requires major improvement, only buy with big discount and low expectations, eat dinner at restaurants in town, use beach at neighbouring hotels, no disabled accessibility, steps everywhere lack of hand rails [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
friendly staff, lots of mature older single travellers, poolside bingo, numerous friendly cats
The weak points
long walk to town, beach very narrow and dirty, sometimes no water, at times front desk unable to exchange money, food cold, lacked variety, buffet never replenished so had to line up before the buffet opened, needs major restoration from last hurricane
Certified

Great Location

, Lacombe, AB
2017-03-22
The cleaning staff were amazing. Our room was immaculate. The location is perfect for a beach location. Water in our room was intermittent; hot water non-existent, warm occasionally. The buffet left much to desire. Hamburger was made from tinned beef, and the beef served was tongue with the skin still on it. The was a great selection of fresh fruit, however. The front desk staff were polite and helpful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, location, location
The weak points
Lack of consistent water and warm water. The quality of the buffet is low.
Certified

Everything all the crummy reviews said it would be

, Toronto, ON
2017-02-12
Very very modest resort. Most of land at beach has been washed away. Few stairs to the beach. Hardly any beach chairs. Toilet didn't flush and when maintenance repaired it water continued to run. Bathtub would not drain - maintenance fixed that too. Fridge in room did not work - not did night table lamps. Door handle worked if you wiggled it. Lock in inside of door never worked. Buffet servers were pleasant and attentive. Food was very basic. Table cloths were not clean. Windows looking out to beach were filthy - some guests joked about chipping in to pay someone to wash them. The sea was spectacular. The beach had lots of broken glass. The entire trip was the cheapest on the travel sights. For a reason. It was the first stop from the airport. And last pickup to the airport (nice in that regard). Would not book this place again. It was everything the reviews complained about. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful view. Bus: First stop in. Last stop out.
The weak points
It's a substandard dive.
Certified

Club karey

, Paris, ON
2017-01-28
We loved the quietness A1 staff would definitely go back . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the quietness , never head the music at nite unless we went to the bar dance area at pool .all the staff were excellent always . nice peasefull week
The weak points
the buildings are spread out if u have a mobility problem it could be a problem . but we didnt mind the short walk.
Certified

Gracias

, Ottawa, ON
2016-03-13
Overall impression is ok you get what you paid for
Beaches are fantastic most of the staff are friendly
rooms are under construction at this moment
no internet/wifi not sure if I'll go again [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Club Karey, Varader

, Toronto, ON
2016-02-18
We had some difficulties with the food, but only because we are not meat eaters.
The room was adequate, the entertainment good and the staff just wonderful!
We would go again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff made all the difference. Reymel and Lazaro (waiters) were great as Vaden the chef and Kiki and Duba the entertainers at the pool
The weak points
Not enough variety of vegetables and fruit
Certified

13 more days and we will be back!

, Bracebridge , ON
2016-02-11
I went to club karey last year for my first vacation out of the country, the first night we got there it was late and there were 5 of us in total and were all separated in different villas so in the morning we spoke with them and it turns out our agent didn't book us as a group so the resort managed to accommodated us quite well, the best they could. The staff here are great but the food is kinda hit and miss, the snack bar has good food. We weren't there to spend time in our rooms other than sleeping so they really weren't too bad for what we used them for. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff were great
The weak points
The food was not so great.

Mixed Review

, New Westminster, BC
2016-01-06
This was my fourth time at Club Karey and I had great experiences three times. Perhaps because I had great experiences, I had great expectations and this time, I was disappointed. I had a few problems with the room (no telephone, no light in lobby. no tv signal, refrigerator not working, windows won't open, AC won't shut down). I was offered a room change on the second day, but because I was going to an excursion to Havana, I was assured I can change the room on the next day at 1PM. I rushed back from Havana and when I arrived at 11AM, I was told they already gave the room to someone else. I was stuck in the room with hardly anything working for the rest of the stay and nothing got looked at. Food service seems to be deteriorating, although I've heard the New Year Dinner was great. Staff are mostly friendly and helpful, with some exceptions. The beach is still great, and almost private, however during the week I was there no one cleaned the beach and it was littered with empty bottles and garbage. The entertainment "animacion" has been the same all these years I've been back, and although KIKI the animacion guy does his best, guests are not really animated at this hotel. The store closes at 5PM whereas it used to be open until 8PM and staff actually locks the door at 4:30, to "count the money" and to "close". Staff at the store are borderline rude, and do their best ignoring the customers as much as they can, perhaps hoping if they are ignored, they will go away. The Mariachi Band was a great improvement over the last few months! I saw them in September and they were so so, I saw them again this stay and they were awesome. Overall, I still recommend this hotel to singles and couples (there is not much to do for families with small children or for teenagers). Still a good deal, and you "get what you paid for", but as in most of Cuba, best to lower one's expectations to avoid disappointment. Mixed feelings...overall, I give a solid 2.5 out of five to this hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great beach, great views (from ocean view rooms), friendly staff
The weak points
Rooms do not have telephone, many rooms have no satellite TV (or any reception), often no hot water, fridge not working, Air Conditioner not working (or remote not working),
Certified

2015 VAC

, Hamilton, ON
2015-04-07
not the experience I was expecting
advertising vs what you get not good [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
I was on the beach
The weak points
had to put a deposit down for a towel and it took two days to get one they had no towels available anywhere no toilet seats, or toilet paper some units had water issues everyday someone was at front desk wanting to change rooms
Certified

Good for the Price

, Toronto, ON
2015-03-15
Beautiful setting right on the beach. Some deficiencies in the rooms but for the price quit acceptable. Staff are friendly and helpful with lots of local entertainment. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly, sunny and warm
The weak points
Bed comfort
Certified

Club Karey

, Regina, SK
2015-01-20
Just returned from my 6th trip to Cuba, and stayed at the lowest rated resort I've ever tried, however got a smokin' deal at 25% less than my last 'flight only' to Cancun. If you are looking for a secure room with an air conditioner that works (mine did) close to Veradero this is the place! Yes, the rooms and beds are old and have no frills, but I also no waiting in line behind 100 other guests for a drink or the buffet, and a great, shallow beach and nice pool with pool side burgers, pizza and fries avaiable all day. The staff do expect tips, but this is Cuba so who doesn't? I'm a beer drinker and no beer avaialable after the pool bar closes was an inconvenience, but town bars were only a 5 CUC cab ride away. The food was roast chicken, beef, pork, salads and fruit with cakes and ice cream. You want fancy pay for a 5 star. No money exchange on the resort when I was there, and mosquitoes and sand fies present so repellent was appreciated. KiKi restaurant 4 blocks down with great lobster! Lots of families with children there, likely because of the price so you better not mind children having fun and making noise. Hobie cat guy will take you out for a tip,pool side entertainment every day but limited evening entertainment and guests are all fiendly except for the Russians. You get what you pay for, and in this case I received much more with smiles included. No wifi or internet. If you want luxury pay 3-4 times as much and go 5 star. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach andf location
The weak points
Rooms
Certified

Has potential

, Mississippi Mills, ON
2015-01-04
Had a terrible room with no water for first day , after threats and complaining got a pretty good room , things picked up after , by the time we left , things got a bit better , great beach , food not bad some days , no entertainment , but the town of Varadero was great . Glad I did not spend a lot of $ , got what we paid for .
Felt bad for some guests with no water and small kids . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and some staff .
The weak points
Management . Motivation . Some staff .
Certified

Basic Beachfront Bargain Beauty

, Calgary, AB
2015-01-01
The best thing about this resort is that you stay in small casa right on the beach. It is very quiet and private, and the beach is beautiful. Don't go in with expectations set too high and you will be happy. This is a "bargain resort," comfortable but no bells and whistles, just the basics. You are not paying premium prices so don't expect premium service or resources. Staff worked very hard with what they had to provide a great experience, and it was more than enough for us. On Christmas Eve, we were even surprised with a spectacular turkey feast with giant lobsters, prosciutto, champagne, roses for the ladies, etc. There was also daily live music entertainment (the mariachi was the best!), and other activities available. Our only true inconvenience was having to listen to the many guests who spent the whole time complaining and acting entitled instead of enjoying their tropical paradise vacation! We had a great time and would return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach, casa are right on the ocean. Resort is quiet and private, away from busy town centre. Plentiful food with good variety. Varadero town is very close and easily accessible, with many markets and restaurants, friendly locals.
The weak points
Expected to tip everyone constantly. Front desk not very helpful. No bottled water refills (but tap water is potable). Some food items ran out and never returned. Front desk did not always have money to change. Lobby phone out of service.
Certified

Loved my vacation

, Dryden, ON
2014-02-20
negative point was entertainment - there was none except a DJ in the disco that played music too loud and was never around - Karaoke would be great to have there...fun and entertaining..the rest of our stay was amazing - beach was great *could be kept a bit cleaner* hire someone to clean it...everything else was fantastic [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the staff=amazing the location - perfect close to downtown and shopping a lot of restaurants - kiki's was the best fishing great - off the pier or in the canal.was a great place. The beach hut snack bar lady was the best quick and good always friedly
The weak points
DJ - music and disco - boring and loud get some Karaoke - CUC were not available a lot - beach should be cleaned daily of garbage and junk not just when the tractor comes by - hire some staff for that.
Certified

VERY POOR

, North Sydney , NS
2014-02-17
There was no clean towels left in the rooms, the place is in a bad state of repair. Pool bar was closed and very rude staff(some not all) We will never go there again.and would not recommend it to anyone. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Fine beaches that's about it!!!!
The weak points
Dirty, run down, very poor maintenance. very poor maid staff. Bars closed at 2000 hrs, very little entertainment. Food was cold, no variety, leftovers repeated served. We Will NEVER go there again and will NEVER recommend the place to anyone.
Certified

Club Karey Grows on you!

, Durham, ON
2014-02-13
We arrived at night, just as the buffet was about to close. They told us to get down there if we wanted something to eat! Very little selection but at least we didn't go to sleep hungry! Checkin was efficient but arriving at the room was quite a disappointment. The bathroom was not clean, used soap in the dish, no fridge, or phone and very uncomfortable beds. Sewer smell was bad in the night. Next day we asked for a different room, and were given one with a balcony on the ocean and although it was smaller, we were much happier with it as the smell was gone and we had a fridge. We don't spend much time in the room other than to sleep so the fact that it was a smaller room was fine. The staff were very courteous, helpful and friendly! The beach was fabulous and it is very close to the airport and walking distance to downtown. The weather made our week and could not have been better if we had ordered it. This was a very last minute, cheap holiday for us and we had a great week. I would stay at this resort again if the price was right, but if you are looking for great food and entertainment and amenities you would probably not want to stay here. I go for the beach and the sun and can always find something to eat so for me the quiet atmosphere was fine. The pool was good and the bar and restaurant at the pool was very good. We had lunch there every day and only went to the buffet for breakfast and supper. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service, beach, pool and pool bar and restaurant, location
The weak points
Food, rooms, entertainment
Certified

Unforgettable week!

, Winnipeg, MB
2014-02-08
Great location with beautiful beach! Staff tried their best daily. We did have to move rooms a couple times due to strong sewer gas smells. The food really is bad and never ever hot! Also, super I mean super difficult to get drinking water on site even though was to be in your room daily! It's a small resort that allows you to meet and mingle - it's in need of repair....but kinda grows on you! All in all it was a great week with tons of laughs ! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Intimate and casual with beautiful beach
The weak points
Lack of water Nd the food was pretty Awful!
Certified

It was perfect for us!!

, North Bay, ON
2014-02-06
This resort would not be for everyone but it was perfect for my 2 teenagers and myself. The staff is friendly and always willing to help, the entertainment staff is great and Pedro is the best. The beach is nice and quiet and you don't have to get up early to make sure you get a lounge chair, they are always available. The rooms are right on the beach. I would recommend that you ask to be somewhere in rooms 10 to 18, I found they were the best locations. The alcohol is available 24hrs a day but the food is done by 9pm. The kids and I made wonderful friends and lasting friendships. They don't have lots of variety like other resorts do but I would definetly go back in a heart beat. I LOVED IT!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach, staff, location
The weak points
no 24hrs access to food
Certified

I was happy with this place

, Douro, ON
2014-02-03
This hotel is a group of bungalows with about 4 units each, kinda small and the beds are hard, it's kept clean and air con. Outside the front door the beach was 25 ft. away in our room. The people at the resort were mainly 50--60 and a few children and parents. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach,service,location,
The weak points
tub small, hard beds,
Certified

Relaxing by the beach

, Pincourt, QC
2014-01-27
Great place to relax! No pressure from overzealous animation staff. The layout of the hotel along the peninsula offers lots of beaches and greenery between the units. The food is excellent, like visiting your relatives for dinner, though not what you would get at a "restaurant". [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, staff, beaches, access to services nearby
The weak points
Buildings and rooms could use some repairs, refreshing, and replacements.
Certified

Club Karey for Christmas.

, Yellowknife, AB
2014-01-02
Reception were difficult to deal with. Beaches and bartenders were in the top ten. The Christmas celebration was admirable. Rooms were clean but don't forget shampoo and a facecloth [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff of the restaurant and bar was exemplary. Beaches couldn't ask for more.
The weak points
Reception gives a new image for waste of my oxygen and space.
Certified

Fantastic time

, North Bay, ON
2013-12-30
had an awesome time. hotel was small, very friendly and the people extremely kind and helpful. my husband and I enjoyed our 10 days. Food was great, entree's changed daily, rooms comfortable. we went to Cuba because we enjoy the people the climate and the simplicity. we did not want a Hilton, etc., and we got exactly what we wanted - simple but fantastic! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
everyone who worked with and for the hotel were kind, generous, thoughtful and genuine in every aspect that one could hope for. the hotel being small meant that it was easy to get to know the staff on a first name basis. nice and quiet as well.
The weak points
you can see that global warming is having an effect on the properties as they are slowly being swallowed up by the ocean. it is not the hotels fault that this is happening. I really have no complaints at all.
Certified

Good Basic Hotel

, Winnipeg, MB
2013-03-23
On the old hotel strip with good bus and taxi service. Area prone to some oil fumes in the morning depending on wind. Few registered guests limited meal service and entertainment to buffet. Usual fare - meal, fish, rice, potatoes, omelettes, pasta hot and cold, and very good bread. Watch fishermen across the road or in the ocean in the morning, and you might have it for supper that night. Pleasant walk to main drag, restaurants are an easy walk,long stretch of nice beach. Rooms are in Casas of 8 rooms or so, with balconies or porches. Room was very clean, excellent service. Water was out in my cabin but repaired by noon. Guests from Canada, Eastern Europe, Argentina. TV has many languages. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Away from the rat race but easily accessible. It's not luxury, but comfortable and safe. Beautiful view of sunrise and sunset in the Buffet dining room.
The weak points
Activities and Dining options are reduced when low registration of guests in hotel.
Certified

Club Karey

, Winnipeg, MB
2013-03-19
Please see our previous comments re: Club Karey. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
good beach and location - hotel is clean
The weak points
poor food on quality, taste and variety - dirty tablecloths - no red wine for dinner one night - ants on the pastry which was left on the counter to still be served after our complaints - sometimes poor service - would not go there again!
Certified

Could Be A Wonderful Place

, Winnepeg, MB
2013-02-11
I booked a last minute vacation and the price seemed right for the star rating. I don't like to complain, as I know that I am going to a different country, but this resort could be a wonderful place, but the lack of motivation on the part of either the owners/managers/workers is very apparent. It wouldn't take much to bring it up to par with some of the other resorts, but it needs some TLC. Staff were great, very friendly, everything worked in my room (taps, toilet, shower, etc.) Didn't try the TV, as I don't watch anyway. It was sad to see so much garbage on the beach, not so much on the main beach, but walking along. It was a neat resort though, having the buildings laid out the way they were was neat. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendliness
The weak points
Cleanliness Lack of entertainment - One show on Tuesday night, that was it. Food was always the same.
Certified

Evaluation

, Getineau, QC
2012-11-22
Hotel Club Karey [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff is extremely friendly, polite and respectuous. The beaches are also nice and private
The weak points
Certainely the food but lets say the food is not really in Cuba. I have to add that few nights during my trip some Russian tourists drank a way too much and made a lot of noise late at night (3AM - 3 times) I had to tell them to go back in their rooms.
Certified

Cub Karey

, Sambro, NS
2012-02-15
Been to Cuba many times and have stayed at many different resorts because I followed the deals. Always stay in older end so was not expecting much. The first room I was in was dingy, dark, curtains didn't close and bathroom didn't work. Next am asked for and no problem got a better room. The staff were very accommodating and friendly. Service the best I've had in Cuba. Unfortunately, the hotel was probably 97% Russians and they ruined it for everyone else. They were loud, rude,pushed and elbowed, smoked constantly ( even tried to light up at buffet) and would yell all night ( they seemingly never slept ). I would not go back to this resort but ONLY because of them. Staff were really exasperated dealing with them and their rudeness, so they tried to overcompensate with other nationality guests.The buffet was terrible as the food was never hot, lacked any diversity ( man can survive on carbs alone ) and in fact they ran out of food regularily. I would call this only a 1-2 star depending on what room you had. My first room was uninhabitable but the second was fine. Really too bad the entire trip was ruined by other guests.Beach as always, was lovely. There was no enterainment as none of the Russians spoke ANY english and for the few others of us it hardly seemed worthwhile. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff was exceptional, very accommodating.Very keen to help.
The weak points
Russians had taken over the hotel in numbers and ruined it for others. The food was NEVER hot and they ran out often (the Russians elbowed to get in first and ate a ton).First room was dingy, dirty and cockroaches. I moved the next am.
Certified

Club Karey 2012

, Winnipeg, MB
2012-01-31
We found this resort to be better than exepcted in that the beds were comfortable and thick pillows.We had no complaints about the cleaning except that we had to keep requesting toilet paper and no additional bar soap was provided except on the first day. Location in proximaty to the beach was no more than 50'- nice sandy beach. Also next to snack/bar and pool.One building from the buffet and 2 over from the main lobby / bar. All staff were excellent and we made friends everywhere.Nice to be pampered at the a la cart-decent food.Disco was only 2 nights/week. Often ran out of certain liquors and beer so had to wait for their weekly allotment/delivery. A little too far to walk to town so had to hop bus to get there. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and the staff made it memorable. Enjoyed the spa & manicure service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good friendly staff. Clean room & comfortable beds. Plain but decent food. Right on the beach.
The weak points
A little too far from town and flea markets. No bus stop close by. The hotel often ran out of change and we had to go to main bank 3 times for exchange.
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021