Barcelo Solymar

Barcelo Solymar
3.203.203.203.203.20
3.20 based on 604 reviews
#27 of 65 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Varadero
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (133)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123456789

Disappointed

, Perryvale, AB
2020-04-01
no sheets on the bed first nigh out, ants/termites in bathroom and sink, could not leave anything on bathroom counter, [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach location
The weak points
housekeeping
Certified

Very disappointed

, Oshawa, ON
2020-03-21
First, it's not my first time I am going to Varadero. It's 10e time. I like to go to Varadero for the beach. People's from the resort are usually friendly: not this time. Food is not really good to Cuba but at this resort was terrible. I can understand was ambargo but ....Often if you wanted to be serv to the buffet we need to make them a sign. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The only think was positif is the wonderfull beach with this white sand.
The weak points
Washroom was missed regularly toilet paper. Almost all the rooms have a rusty bath. If you have shower doors, one is missing and you are not able to slide it. I had always had friendly contacts with the crew working in the buffet.
Certified

Barcelo solymar

, Memramcook, NB
2020-03-18
Overall a great experience, older facility as expected but closer to downtown, beach is the best you can get and a short walk from hotel, hotel is under renovations, staff are friendly (as all cubans are) dowtown is a short walk away [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
One of the best beaches in the world, beach and downtown are very close proximity to the hotel/bungalo
The weak points
Hotel needs renovation but is being done at the moment,
Certified

Varadaro

, Ottawa, ON
2019-12-22
My experience was better than the two previous visit the pool we're out of order except One in.acendental the food it could improve like maby get stir fry section no spaghetti no fry except one night not much of selection for a 4 star but room for improvement just saying don't get room over the reception back entrance they party's till 3 or 4 in the morning I meen let get real [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Bad time

, Toronto, ON
2019-12-03
The resort was really really dirty the rooms were specially dirty bugs everywhere did not enjoy the food they had over there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Enjoyed my time at the beach
The weak points
Did not like anything about the resort
Certified

Had a bad time

, Toronto, ON
2019-12-03
Had a really bad experience the bathrooms were dirty the room was especially dirty in the hotel was really dirty did not enjoy my stay.Did not enjoy the food they were serving the food was really really bad. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
But the beaches and everything was good I enjoyed it on the beach.
The weak points
The bathrooms are dirty the rooms were dirty plus the rooms have bugs and I got bite everywhere in my body.
Certified

Nice and Close to the Ocean

, Milton, ON
2019-03-28
Staff very helpful and friendly. The hotel grounds are beautiful with flowering shrubs and lots of Palm Trees for shade and close to the beach. We enjoyed having our lunch in front of the ocean and beach every day. at Ranchón. Our rooms were close to the bar and coffee shop. We had the best Capachino's made with Cuban coffee beans and 3% milk. Mmmm! Just a short walk to downtown Varadero and its exciting attractions. Food was great for Cuba. Smoked Salmon and prosciutto, the best low salt. My friends and I keep asking each other is this for real, are we in Cuba. The wine was very good from Spain and Chile. Definitely coming back and for longer than 7 days. Planning on taking my family next time. Perfect location you don't need a car, just a short walk to town and the beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Eating at Ranchón for lunch in front of the turquoise waters of the ocean and gentle breeze!
The weak points
Walking into the lobby bathrooms with no toilet seats and paper. Really worried me what the rest of the resort was like.
Certified

Not as safe as expected

, Winnipeg, MB
2019-03-11
We, couple, wanted to sit at the pool enjoy some sun, when we sat down on an empty sun-bed we were attacked by 6 people. They claimed, violently, that it's their & we shoud “fuck off”. They just yelled & used violent language. They punched me, female, in my face & kicked my spouse in his face.
Ended up in hospital, Stitches needed.
Had to sped whole vacation in room due to bad health as a result of the assault. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Barcelo solymar

, Chateauguay, QC
2019-01-27
Had a great experience at barcelo solymar, my room was great kept cleaned everyday with fresh towels no issues. The food was better then other places i have tried previously, activities were fun from the staff, and the beach was ofcourse amazing!!! Will definately return here next time i come to cuba! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food Staff Location
The weak points
Wifi internet sux, hard to get on, extremely slow, often get kicked off the internet, sister resort has much better internet
Certified

Adequate

, Peachland, BC
2019-01-12
Upon arrival long wait at reception then no help with luggage or directions to our bungalows. One of our bungalows had water dripping from air conditioner and black mould on walls with a very musty odour. We were unable to change rooms until the next day much better room. The beds were good although we had tiny ant problems in bathrooms and they bite. Maids were good to spray but receptionist didn't seem to be interested or do anything about. Very difficult getting room towels and beach towels for 2 days. Many nice bartenders and maids entertainers. Glad we booked bungalows over the hotel as it was where the parties were. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Some staff amazing while the supervisors difficult to deal with. I had put 2 towels in my suitcase to avoid maid taking and not receiving more. Supervisors had maid go into my suitcase as they thought I was stealing!!!! I was very mad how dare them
The weak points
Bring towels bug spray medicine as it's very expensive and not easy to find. keep suitcases zipped to avoid bugs getting in
Certified

Not a great hotel even for Cuba

, St Eustache, QC
2018-10-09
I was recommended this hotel by many people that have gone in the past. But now this hotel is in dire need of help now.
The only good thing I have to say about this hotel is that the mattresses in the rooms were very comfortable.
The rooms need renovations. Most AC units weren't strong and the rooms were warm.
The pool water was green and dirty.
The hotel staff weren't very helpful. The front desk actually unplugs the phone most of the day.
Had a hard time getting clean towels for the room and the beach.
At the buffet, the food was limited and wouldn't refill when something runs out.
Hotel is missing a beach bar, and a snack bar.
You can go to the Havana club to have a late drink but that's about your only option.
The beach was beautiful but that has nothing to do with the hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Comfortable mattresses Great beach Havana Club disco
The weak points
Buffet would run out of food and wouldn't replenish Hotel staff not to helpful No entertainment. Nobody organizing activities like beach volleyball. Pools were green
Certified

Don't waste your time here

, Grande Prairie, AB
2018-06-15
I'm not one to write bad reviews. I was expecting a 4 star hotel, that was not the case. Check in was terrible. The lobby is dirty, leaking Ceilings, very run down. The rooms are very dated with old musty fridges and very poor A/C. The food was the same everyday and not cooked well. My travel partner got extremely sick for 3 days which limited what we could do. The cleaning lady was very nice and did a great job with what she had to work with. There were small bugs all over our room and in our things. The front desk staff was not helpful if you didnt have money in your hand. This is no where close to a 4 star hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleaning staff for the room
The weak points
Everything else

I would recommend this resort, ever.

, Vancouver, BC
2018-02-21
This resort is no more then one star, but it was advertised and charged like a 4 star resort.
We believe it was definitely not worth what we paid or deserving of its title of 4 stars because of the following reasons: [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Firstly, this place is in dire need of renovation. There were missing doors to the closets and showers. The tiles on the floor were cracked. There were missing screws in the door handles to the washrooms. Toilet seats were scratched, yellow and worn.
The weak points
Secondly, there were limited food options available and when it was presumably available form the menu, it actually not available. To boot, we became ill from the food. This mistakenly booked us to the same restaurant despite being told different.
Certified

BARCELO SOLYMAR OCTOBER

, Guelph, ON
2017-10-23
Prior to departure, I was told that the resort was running as usual. Regardless of what the outcome may be, I was happy to bring tourism to Cuba after the hurricane as I know that many suffered. This was not the case as there was some minor damage caused by the hurricane that we were not made aware of. There were no shelters down at the beach and I heard that there was a bar down there, but it was destroyed by the hurricane.
The beach was raked once every morning but only one strip and there was more garbage down there than necessary.
The restaurants had a lot of birds in them and if you left your plate unattended, they would peck at your food.
My friend's room in a bungalow was very dirty. The pathways throughout the resort were also dirty and garbage would be left lying around for long periods of time.
There is a stairwell at one end of the hotel that has a broken rail and in my opinion that stairwell should have been closed. If someone fell from the 4th floor by leaning on a broken rail, that could have been disastrous.
Also, the pool bar would often close early when the sign said open til 11:45pm. This was sometimes very disappointing as you are there on vacation to enjoy yourself and it was the only outdoor bar. I didn't think that I should have to walk to the other resort just to have some drinks.

Having said all of that, my room in the hotel was spotless every day and the maids were fantastic. The lobby was always clean and the bar in the lobby was great. The food was actually quite good as well. In fact, I would have to say that it was the same as the food at the 5-star that I stayed at last year. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good food. Beaches are gorgeous. Clean well kept hotel room. Great bar near lobby. Friendly staff.
The weak points
Not very clean in general; outside pathways, near pool area. Pool often had empty cups floating in it. Washrooms often had no toilet paper. People that were extremely intoxicated were still served alcohol. Pool deck very slippery. 3 people fell.
Certified

Solymar Bungalows

, Stonewall, MB
2017-05-01
Everything was great BUT the accommodations are really in need of dire mantainance. They were way below expectations. Only a 3star not a 4star [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff grounds pools & activities. Quite enjoyed our stay.
The weak points
Bungalow big disappointment. Numerous patches on walls. Broken:remote table drapes TV showerdoors(one was missing). No plugs. No lightbulbs in patio fixtures odorous pillows x3
Certified

Make Another Choice!

, Dartmouth, NS
2017-04-11
There was public fornication in the hallways, and it went downhill from there...To put some perspective to my statement I have been travelling for over 30 years from budget to 5-star and this property was not up to standard. Management was a let down. It was clean, but not in acceptable repair with water leaks throughout the buildings. Also, the noise was 11am to 5am and there was nowhere to get away from it. To top it all off, their was no record of my complaints made while at the property; no acknowledgement or no satisfaction of any kind from either the property or my agent. My suggestion, make another choice!
Note: I am so disappointed with this property's management, I waited a year for my anger to die down before posting my diplomatic review! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The week ended.
The weak points
Public fornication, too much noise,no hotel records of my complaints, water leaks, damp musty smell...
Certified

Canadian Cash Cow

, Surrey, BC
2016-09-01
Everyone here is looking to get CUC from you, if you do not show $ before speaking they are rude and unhelpful. The lobby bar is charging double for all inclusive liqour ..water is close to impossible to get unless you go to the store. staff is unhelpful and will take your money and run [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
nice beach access
The weak points
everyone is trying to get money out of you otherwise they will not talk or will treat you rudely …. meats are undercooked
Certified

First Cuba trip

, Saskatoon, SK
2016-03-04
Solymar joined with Arenas hotel made an excellent variety of restaurants and bars/snacks. Staff were extremely helpful and lots of fun. We mainly ate at Arenas buffet as they did not have birds in the restaurant and we had a lot of fun with servers and hosts. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location and staff
The weak points
maintenance for washrooms was minimal. water leaks from ceiling etc. but easy to overlook as not a lot of time spent indoors
Certified

Amazing week at Barcelo Solymar

, Toronto, ON
2016-02-03
Just returned from my week stay at Barcelo Solymar and I already wish I could go back. I have visited Cuba last year as well as Mexico and Dominican but this trip was by far my favorite one ! My boyfriend and I absolutely loved it. The hotel was beautiful, the staff was very friendly and polite, the room was very clean and we had an amazing view overlooking the pool area. Buffet/A la carts/ snack bar were all extremely delicious. The beach was amazing. We had the chance to go to two beach parties that I've never experienced on any of my other trips which was pretty fun. We also enjoyed paddle boating in the ocean which is offered by the hotel. The hotel is less than a 10 minute walk away to Calle 62 where tourists can go to see the Cuban culture, shopping, live entertainment and clubs for partying. No complaints whatsoever, I would recommend this hotel to anyone and I definitely plan to return soon [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Barcelona Solymar

, Macklin, SK
2016-01-13
Hotel could be good however, is deteriorating due to lack of regular upkeep. Roof leaks,washroom fixtures needing repair,musty odour in rooms,fixtures in room in need of repair, [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location,beach,
The weak points
Run down and in need of upgrades, same food all week,
Certified

Nothing to rave about but decent.

, Calgary, Al
2015-08-27
Hotel was decent. We had the bungalow suite which was a worthwhile choice as we were there for 2 weeks (with the exception of the hard beds and pillows). Overall the staff were helpful, friendly, and enthusiastic. Unfortunately the reception desk was a bit of a disaster - first come, first served is not a used concept. I was often waiting for at least 10 minutes to be assisted as Spanish speaking guests would approach the desk and be helped first or anything being done for only English or French speaking guests would be interrupted to assist the Spanish speakers. Despite these long wait times, the reception desk staff was ultimately helpful overall. Room key cards are a nightmare, we often had to get ours fixed as they wouldn't work and this seemed to be a common theme for a lot of other guests as well. The pools and beaches were nice and well kept. The food was decent, nothing to rave about except for the desserts. My husband is not usually a dessert person, but there is nothing like Cuban cake or ice cream. They also had a good variety of drinks to offer. Overall, our stay was enjoyable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleaning staff, entertainment team, and serving staff in restaurants/buffet were awesome. Beaches and pools were nice.
The weak points
Cleanliness in lobby bathrooms was poor. Service at reception desk was poor, priority was given to Spanish speaking clients despite others waiting for a longer time.
Certified

Hotel qui abesoind d'Amour -TLC required

, Candiac, QC
2015-08-23
Cet hôtel déjà besoin d'être rénové, même si elle a été mise en service en Décembre 2001. Ne vieillie pas très bien.

L'EXTÉRIEUR de l'hôtel devrait être peint régulièrement, on voit les signes du temps. Sur le site, quelques tuiles ont été remplacées par des blanches, faute d'avoir celles d'origines en stock. CHAMBRES : La1ère chambre donnée était au-dessus de la discothèque, j'ai immédiatement demandé de changer de chambre. La 2e chambre avait des coquerelles dans la salle de bain, un autre changement requis, la 3ème était acceptable ... Dans la chambre, la porte patio ne pouvait être verrouillée. Les 3 matelas des 3 lits n'étaient pas très très confortables, un remplacement s'impose. La salle de bain avait des bugs, nous avons demandés 2 traitements d'insecticides TIP: Apportez des couverts de drains en caoutchouc afin d'éviter qu'il y ait des bugs provenant des drains. Quelques tuiles de céramiques étaient cassées et recollées. L'air climatisé= Déficiente.... La piscine avait un cerne tout le tour au niveau de l'eau. LA PLAGE est géniale, mais le manque de sécurité est flagrant, on a volé mes 2 serviettes de l'hotel ... et l'hôtel s'attend à se faire rembourser pour les serviettes. ASTUCE: Surveillez attentivement vos serviettes. J'ai expliqué la situation au service à la clientèle et je n'ai pas eu à les payer. J'ai observé un manque évident d'entretien dans cet hôtel. LA NOURRITURE: Vous trouverez toujours quelque chose à manger, mais ATTENTION .... Le chef utilisait la même spatule pour cuire le bœuf, la volaille et le porc ... risque de contamination croisée imminente. Ils devraient probablement éliminer les FAKE restaurants italien ou espagnol…à la carte .... Il n'a rien d'autre que le nom qui soit italien espagnol ou chinois. Tant qu'a le faire qu'ils le fassent pour vrai. CONCLUSION: Arrêtons de dire que c'est normal pour Cuba .... Il est temps pour les voyageurs, les agences, les grossistes et les compagnies aériennes de se lever et de réclamer de véritables hôtels 4, 41/2 et 5 étoiles à Cuba. C'est impensable de voir comment ils n'ont pas progressé dans tous les aspects du service hôtelier depuis ma 1ere visite au Solymar en 2004. Je dirais qu'ils ont régressés. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, 5 minutes de Varadero a pied
The weak points
Bruits, Service, Maintenance générale del'hotel, Air clim déficiente,

Good Time

, Stony Plain, AB
2015-03-09
The hotel was nice but quite loud until around Midnight, and a little beat up. Food was good, but had little variety over the week. Beautiful beach and good service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach location and overall service
The weak points
Often broken internet, lack of food variety, accumulating room damage
Certified

Terrible!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

, Mississauga, ON
2015-02-07
Front desk service terrible, super slow and made us wait four hours because the room was not ready. No keycard had to wait for a day to get another key card, always huge lineups at the front desk meanwhile stuff is taking their sweet time. Cocroches in the rooms and bathrooms as well as in the buffet, everything falling apart, used and abused. Food was terrible I lived on junk food and restaurants in town for the week as the food at the buffet was just nasty .you would have wait in a huge lineups to get anything descent. They run out of ketchup or fries constantly I guess that was the only food people ate. Could not take showers as the damn shower head was broken, toilet seats would be sliding all over or missing completely. This place has so much potential to be awesome but they just don't care. Seen better 2 star hotels in Mexico than this place, not sure how it is advertised as a four star. There was 6 of us at this place came to party a bit do some diving and just relax well it turn out to be a big disappointment. Been to Cuba many times and I notice that with time it just gets worst and worst. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good Location, nice beach,
The weak points
terrible food, front desk service bad/slow, old hotel everything falling apart, dirty, broken coffee machines, no ketchup, run out basic junk food at times(the only food eatable really) not even a 1 star, worst i had in CUBA

All inclusive, but not the SERVICE

, Nepean, ON
2015-01-02
You wont be served. Unless your pocket is full & ready to tip. Minimum tip they expect is 3 CUC (cuban Convertible) which is equal $3.60 Canadian. Imagine you are giving $3.60 tip @ Tim Horton's for each coffee you buy or they do not sell it to you. Drinks are watered. You have to pay 3 CUC's tip for a watered drink while you can buy the bottle of RUM from the store for 6 CUC's. Waiters & Waitresses will hover around you like flies hover on sh---. If you are not getting attention @ home go to this place, just make sure you have lots of 3 CUC's. By the way, each CUC is equal to 24 Cuban pesos & the government employee in Cuba makes around 600 cuban pesos. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Water front
The weak points
Nothing inclusive unless you have lots of 3CUC's for tip,

Solymar

, Hamilton, ON
2014-11-10
If you don't mind filth and disgusting food than this place is for you! I've travelled extensively and went on this vacation with an open mind. Yes its a 3 star so I wasn't expecting much. Good thing because I couldn't even get a warm meal. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location and beach are it.
The weak points
not enough room to go into it.
Certified

If You Love To Party... Come Here!!

, Laval, QC
2014-06-04
THIS IS A PARTY HAVEN HOTEL. Don't come if your a nice litte 4 person family, or if you're an elderly couple, you wouldn't enjoy you stay here!! Overall 4* quality, Amazing rooms, if your in the complex, not in the bungalows, (yuck)Amazing beach, Nice, clean, good location, and the beach was AMAZING, when it comes to varadero beach. This package bit pricey but it's worth it. Cuban prices are going up and the Canadian dollar is losing its value. The internet service, never worked, business services?? What business services... My room got flodded on the first day, because of the air conditioning, but they repaired it quickly. The food here is a bit sloopy, they would only put out the chicken once, and that's it for the night, eat at the grill, the food is better next door at Arenas Blancas, but smaller variety. The drinks are watered down, (drinks are better next door). But I was really shocked on how terrible the hotel reception staff were, they,re slow, they can't give you a direct answer, and they sold me a internet card saying that the system will work, then I found out that they sold me a card for wifi.... I got my money back, I speak spanish, if i didn't... good luck!! Another weak point... no 24 hour snack bar :( They quickly run out of food and drinks. I'm a 33 Male and I found this place a bit young for me, but I would come back!! 4 STARS!!!
OVERALL--- IF YOU'RE 18-25 AND YOU WANT TO PARTY?? COME HERE, IT'S THE BEST HOTEL TO PARTY IN VARADERO, IF YOU'RE A FAMILY OR COUPLE LOOKING FOR SOME PEACE AND QUIET, THIS IS NOT THE PLACE!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Strong points were the beach and the location, close to Havana Club, and right next door to the International
The weak points
Worst Reception I've ever seen, They were very very slow, never picked up the phone if you called them, they insisted that you give them a piece of paper confirming that you reserved (What Paper??) sloppy food, better quality food next door at the Blancas
Certified

Good ol' cuba

, Mississauga, ON
2014-04-30
I've been to Cuba numerous times so I know what to expect regarding food, service, etc. Food was meh as per usual, the service however was way below my expectations. During each meal, we were lucky if someone came by to ask us about our drink. Some of the bartenders and staff would grimace, sigh, roll their eyes when you asked them for a drink or a question (seriously?). Last I knew, hotel jobs were the good ones because you make tips, but geez with the attitude and negligence we received we barely tipped anyone. The a la cartes were delicious and the service was great there.
Another kind of bummer is that this hotel has the repuration of being a young people party hotel, but it didnt really feel like it. The bars closed at 11-12, and there was actually quite a mic of ages. We were lucky to make friends with a group of young people and i think that really saved the trip. The plus of this hotel is that the beach is absolutely gorgeous, and it's walking distance from Calle 62, Havana Club, Cabaret COntinental, and tourist stores in Varadero. The internet wifi was kinda wonky and wasn't available all the time, but meh, youre in cuba for the beach not to be stuck in the lobby on wifi! I would definitely go back here with a group of friends, I think it would be a good time, would be nice if it was slightly cheaper but eh! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach, location, cleanliness
The weak points
Poor service from staff, bars closing down too early considering this hotels reputation
Certified

March 21-28,

, Peterborough, ON
2014-04-03
We had a fantastic holiday at the Barceló Solymar. There is not a lot of entertainment on the resort but we made our own party and were received by all staff with a smile. Karen the bartender at the sports pool was the best! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach, clean pools, great food for Cuba, hotel staff all extremely friendly and helpful. The banana crepes at the buffet are fabulous.
The weak points
Some of the lounges by the pool and on the beach could use an upgrade. The bars run out of beer often if you stay late. The body pillows on the beds are really stiff, just ask your maid for a single pillow.
Certified

Barcelo Soylmar

, Lower Sackville, NS
2014-03-18
Food was not great. Staff was helpful and friendly. Front desk was very slow for check in. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff
The weak points
Food
Certified
pages: 123456789

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021