Be Live Experience Las Morlas

Be Live Experience Las Morlas
3.693.693.693.693.69
3.69 based on 136 reviews
#36 of 63 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Varadero
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (46)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Las Morlas not what we expected

, Sherbrooke, QC
2020-01-07
The resort was not as we had expected. We spent 1 week at Be live experience Las Morlas at the end of November 2019. We did the research before hand and the reviews for this hotel were amazing for Cuba.

The resort is small and quaint and not overcrowded.

The food was fair not and great like the reviews had said. We found the hot food was not very hot and the cold food not always cold, including the coffee at the buffet. The pasta bar was good. Lino the chef knows how to serve pasta. We met other people who had stayed there 2 years prior they loved it then but they said it was not as good as before.
We did not realize when we booked that the resort caters to Italians. It wasn't a problem. The staff spoke Spanish and Italian and a little English, no French which sometimes made it hard to communicate but we made the best of it. We were never approached by the animators for activities which looked like fun. The animators were very friendly with the Italian guests.
The shows were not bad. They did them in 3 languages and we could still understand when they were only in Italian.

I think the resort was having septic problems. We had a sewer smell in our room that worsened as the week went on. It seemed to only be in the night. We kept the door closed and it was manageable for the time we were there.

The ladies washrooms in the common areas were out of order the whole time we were there. You either used the men's washroom, went to the beach bathroom or your room.

The resort and rooms could be updated but were clean. Our maid Penelope was fantastic. The coffee bar was great depending on who made your coffee. The drinks were so so.
The beach was beautiful with plenty of chairs and shade.

Town of Varadero was about a 15 minute walk from the resort. Bring cash, credit cards are not widely accepted or there is a fee to use them.

Overall if you are looking for a quiet, inexpensive vacation we recommend Las Morlas. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach. Plenty of lounge chairs, Pasta bar, chamber maid, coffee bar, within walking distance to town, cleanliness, Small size of resort
The weak points
Temperature of food, outdated rooms, accessibility of the ladies' washrooms in the common areas, Drinks could have been better, snack bars could be improved. The food was the same and often recycled

Très bien dans l'ensemble

, Laval, QC
2019-04-13
On a choisi l'hôtel, car situé près du centre-ville et selon les commentaires des derniers voyageurs. 80% des clients sont des italiens, ça ne dérange pas énormément, mais aucune ou presque d'animation, appart les petits spectacles le soir....en Italien,mais on préférais aller en ville anyway . Manger des sautés de pâtes al denté à cuba, faut le faire, donc merci aux Italiens en réalité, car bcp des cooks le sont. Très bien entretenu, chambre propre, on ne manque pas de chaise à la plage ni à la piscine. Nous étions un groupe de 8, on a eu du plaisir ensemble, sinon assez tranquille comme ambiance, donc si tu veux fêter, peut-être choisir un autre hôtel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Propreté partout, chambre , nourriture en général, chaises suffisantes sur la plage et piscine
The weak points
Un peu trop tranquille à notre goût, resort plus pour de petit groupe ou famille, car manque d'ambiance.

Relaxing vacation

, St Anns, ON
2018-04-13
We are very satisfied with our vacation.We felt relaxed after our vacation .It was our third visit to cuba by far it was the best we cant wait to go again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everything was close we went to town twice during our visit
The weak points
Stocking the fridge daily with water would be nice and no fee for safe in room
Certified

Las Morlas 24May-31May 2016

, Abbotsford, BC
2016-06-07
Nice smaller resort that is easy to get around in. Wonderful staff made the experience very good. Staff works hard at trying to keep things clean on the grounds and rooms. Building is in need of repairs. ie: no toilet seat in the outdoor bathroom. Geared towards Italians and Euro/German tourists not Canadians who speak primarily English especially for the nightly entertainment...most of the time you will not know what is going on. Beach was beautiful except plastic cups and cigarette butts that the tourists leave behind. Perhaps hanging cans for ashtrays off the pallaps may assist. Garbage cans are available, not sure why people think they should be left for someone else to clean up after them. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

My first time

, New Westminster, BC
2015-02-25
Overall it is decent hotel, but all hotels in Varadero shall at lease minus two stars from their claims. There are not many activities in the hotel, the main restaurant not available most of the time, or need extra date to reserve, food at buffet is good, meat products are organic and flavorful. Service is good, but front desk speak very strong accent English that I can't understand. LOL, but compare the same amount of money I spent on cruise ship, it is incomparable, cruise always has the best deal. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location is good, not far from town and view is great
The weak points
Not many activities
Certified

Not a 4 star

, Courtice, ON
2014-12-11
the food was not great; the fruits were ok, but we spent the 4 days eating omlets only. The room had ants and the entire hotel looked run down [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The location
The weak points
needs renovations
Certified

4th time here....like being with family

, Sylvan Lake, AB
2014-11-22
As always a great stay, it's like being home with family.....if your looking for a peaceful rest with warm smiles, and great location this is it.... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff......
The weak points
.........don't like rotation of the staff.....
Certified

Nice smaller resort

, Brossard, QC
2014-05-05
Very nice smaller resort, everything just a step away, beautiful beach, great chairs by the pool, lots of sun and shade, staff very welcoming. Small tips are much appreciated. The room was small but clean, the beds were firm, towels were changed regularly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean public areas, nice pool, super beach, great staff, and, because it's a smaller resort, it's a comfortable place to be.
The weak points
Food (very repetitive - even by Cuban standards). It would have been great if they had replaced drinking water bottle in the room, however, you could have it refilled at the bar, or pay 1.5 peso at the little shop for a new one.
Certified

Below Expectations

, Halifax, NS
2013-11-19
Staff was wonderful. Beach/pool was great. Rooms were so so - below average beds, older hotel, empty bar fridge, no english TV (remote didn't work anyway). Food was bland, boring and sometimes disgusting; limited eating hours also. Only one a la carte and it was poor. Coffee was fantastic. The alcoholic drink options were few, less than any resort I have ever stayed at. Internet a rip off: expensive and so slow that your time gets wasted. No wifi. Some cockroaches found. Sometimes a disgusting, rotting smell pervaded the pool bar area. Overall OK but I wouldn't return [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Two strong points: the staff were amazingly friendly and helpful, and the coffee was delicious
The weak points
Food, access to food, poor internet, below average room
Certified

Great Hotel

, Toronto, ON
2013-08-19
A very nice small resort close to downtown with a wonderful beach [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the beach, the location, the choice of food
The weak points
noisy air conditioning system
Certified

A good hotel

, Ottawa, ON
2013-04-03
A smaller hotel,with a nice pool and great beach.It seems more suited to middle aged people than the younger crowd. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location,size,pool,and beach
The weak points
a little dated,and food selection
Certified

Mor or las what I expected

, Toronto, ON
2013-03-04
This hotel has a lot going for it & I would go back. You can walk to Varadero in 15-20 minutes or take a short shuttle into town. A bank & post office are right beside hotel but the area is quiet and beach is beautiful. Food was somewhat better than I expected. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Hotel is good size - not too big, with Spanish architectural features; spacious lobby and grounds; nice pool and beautiful beach. Staff are friendly. Lots of food choices with fresh vegetables & grilled options daily.
The weak points
Communication is weak. On check-in we were assigned a very sub-standard room away from main hotel. No explanation. It took a day to arrange a new room. Desserts were lackluster and were same every day/night.
Certified

Great Time

, Gloucester, ON
2013-02-25
Loved the resort. It is small with everything within reach - pool, bars, restaurant and oceanfront beach. Our room was a family duplex and was a great fit for our group (2 adults, 2 kids). It was nice to have 2 bathrooms and a ground floor, walk-in with terrace. Only drawback - the spiral staircase up to the shower and second bedroom proved to be a bit tight and steep. Food was ok, actually pretty good for Cuba. My kids always found something to eat. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Small size, proximity to ocean
The weak points
entertainment
Certified

As expected

, Nepean, ON
2013-02-10
Night life lacking, food really bad. Excellent staff [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff
The weak points
Food
Certified

2nd time at Las Morlas

, Mississauga, ON
2012-12-17
We were there 1st in feb. this year and we expected the same thing now, but we got a little bit less. We also paid a bit less.

The beach, the water, the staff were great, it is a quiet resort, small, with everything close. There was lot of space by the pool or at the beach and it was always clean.

The food was not that good this time even for Cuba, with few options, and the animation needs improvement. But we were there off season, so this could explain it to some extent. However, they do recycle the food, we had more or less the same soup for the first 3 days and we saw them saving the wine from the glasses back in the bottle but not sure they would serve it again or do something else with it.

The room was clean and spacious enough, the beds were not so comfortable but we expected that. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach, the water, the staff, quiet, small with everything close, clean enough.
The weak points
The food was not that good even for Cuba, with few options, and the animation needs improvement. But we were there off season, so this could explain it to some extent.
Certified

Avoid this place!

, Milton, ON
2012-09-10
My husband and I have travelled to Cuba half a dozen times and never have we had such problems. We expect the food won't be the greatest and the rooms will be dated. This place had consistantly the worst food we've ever had in Cuba and that says a lot. I read a review that mentioned a world class Italian chef and I'm thinking they meant 3rd world class.
Aside from a handful of good staff members, most of the staff acted like we were inconviencing them by being there.
During meals in the buffet we weren't offered anything to drink and often our empty plates weren't cleared away.
We tried to exchange money and were told that they didn't do that at the front desk, even though we'd already had money exchanged there twice. Fortunately the one girl at the desk who actually liked her job showed up and took care of it for us. (Thank-you blondie. Sorry we didn't catch your name.)
When we arrived we were told check in time was at four and even though the hotel was well under capacity the staff wouldn't budge on this.
For the first two days there were no beach towels available and then after that we kept being told we couldn't exchange towels for clean ones until tomorrow.
We saw a coachroach in the room, which can't be helped I guess, but we've never seen coachroaches before in Cuba.
The pool bar was closed for 3 days for renos.
The entertainers do a really great aqua show. However, what this means for the guests is that most afternoons the staff takes over the deep end of the pool and the music to practice. They're polite, but you can't really use the pool and you're subjected to the same songs over and over.
This place really isn't a destination for Canadians. Being the only english speaking people at a resort filled with German and Italian people meant we didn't have an opportunity to socialize. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach.
The weak points
The staff & the food.
Certified

Worth the money

, Dartmouth, NS
2012-04-30
Better than expected for my first trip to Cuba, would stay there again. Nice and small, easy to get around, beautiful pool and beach! Food was always cooked, especially the meat. Sometimes the wait staff were inattentive but no bother really. Rooms very clean, we were on top floor. I was impressed with the cleanliness. They're not shy with the liquor either! Go and have fun, and take probiotics just in case! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Small and quaint hotel, clean! Beautiful large pool, gorgeous beach!
The weak points
Inattentive staff, need snacks available during day/night.
Certified

Tres Bien pour le prix

, Montreal, QC
2012-04-17
Hotel Bien situé. Petit, facile de se deplacer et de se rendre a la plage-piscine-Buffet.
Bouffe Ok, un peu de varieté, toujours du poisson frais, pain frais et plats vegetariens bien preparé.
Piscine OK.
Plage Incroyable.
Chambre OK, mais sans plus.
Tres bien situé, banque et depanneur sur les rues a coté.
Shows, mediocre mais amusant.

Pour le prix (300$ de moins que les 5 etoiles) je trouve la qualité correct mais sans plus. Pour la difference de prix entre Las Morlas et un 5etoile ou un 4 en republique ou mexique, je trouve correct comme choix.
Pour un 4 etoiles a Cuba, je le trouve tres bien.
N.B. Pour du café, cigars et rum, a l`aeroport les prix sont tres differents d`un magasin a un autre (duty Free) alors arriver d`avance et fait les tous vite pour comparer les prix. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Plage.
The weak points
Chambre mediocre.
Certified

Beyond Expectations

, Toronto, ON
2012-04-17
We would recommend the Be Live Las Morlas for a very relaxing holiday in a very friendly and clean hotel. A wonderful vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, Beach, Pool Area
The weak points
Entertainment
Certified

As expected

, Perth, ON
2012-03-11
There was many good points and only a few bad points. Very clean and small enough that the beach was not that far.The beach was clean compared to other resorts. Close to town for shopping. The entertainment was average. We stayed at another resort the year before and the entertainment was awesome. We had one show that had some wow factor to it. I have used Sunwing three times now and enjoy travelling with them. Good Family resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The room and bathrooms were nice and clean. The pool and beach was excellent.I like how u did not have to pay for a towel unless you lost the one they gave you.The disco was good.
The weak points
The a la carte was not good. Food was typical for Cuba. There was some confusion when we first landed as to which bus was to take us to our resort. We were not to worried because we had been to Cuba the year before and knew that it would be okay.
Certified

Not impressed

, Lachute, QC
2012-03-10
Upon arrival near 10 pm, hotel reception had no record of our reservation. We were given a room that I believe was a room that is kept for this type of situation. Room was clean, but lamps were missing lampshades, closet door had been damaged by what looks like a fist and bathtub was worn out. I had a feeling that this was lower quality room, but reception guaranteed that this was a typical room. I was suprised however when the towel person asked twice and looked at me funny when I gave her our room number. The price paid for the trip, I feel, was a little high for what we received. Since we arrived late, there was no food to be found anywhere and since we left early on our departure date, we did not have breakfast because the hotel restaurant was not open. So although we had a 3 day package we did only spend 2 full days there. The current price for a roundtrip ticket is approximatley $360.00, so it cost me 390.00 for two days in a mediocre hotel, with miserable staff and although you will not starve, the buffet was less than appetizing since most of the hot items were cold. This is not the first time visiting Cuba, but believe it will be my last. The emphasis on tipping made me feel like I was in Jamaica. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean
The weak points
everything else
Certified

Great Beach - Hotel Rooms Tired Looking

, Kitchener, ON
2012-02-26
Enjoyed my stay, but the rooms definitely need updating as they are very old. Beach and poolside was the best thing about the holiday - nice and quiet because it is a smaller hotel, so a great holiday to just relax. Food not so great, but apparently that is the case all over resorts in Cuba. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Definitely the beach was amazing and was a nice, quiet beach area. Also, the pool and lounging area around it was lovely. The best part of this hotel is that it was small so you didn't have to deal with crowds of people. It was a quiet place to relax.
The weak points
The hotel is old and rooms are very tired looking. Food not so great but seems to be the case all over Cuba.
Certified

10 days of Sun

, Mattawa, ON
2012-02-05
Small, close to village, not crowded. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
can walk into Varadero, never crowded, staff very nice.
The weak points
Food not great
Certified

As expected

, Montreal, QC
2012-01-31
Rooms were nice. Bed was a bit uncomfortable but tolerable. Good food. It's an old people's paradise. We had an item go missing from the room and As helpful front desk was the item was never recovered. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Decent for the price
The weak points
Wuld not stay again
Certified

Wonderful resort

, Stittsville, ON
2012-01-07
We have been to Varadero 7 times and this is the first time at this resort. It was the best one we have been at. The food was great, people were outstanding. It's a smaller resort so there was no line ups at the bars or restaurants, very relaxing and clean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff was amazing, food was excellent. Beach was amazing. Nice small resort, so very quiet and relaxing.
The weak points
No real weak points. I would not recommend this resort for younger people as it is very quiet and not too much activities.
Certified

Las Morlas (the pearls)

, Winnipeg, MB
2012-01-04
The hotel was nice and clean with a friendly staff. The food was well prepared, though somewhat repetitive. Good entertainment and an exceptional beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness, quiet, relaxed.
The weak points
Internet access. (But hey, it's Cuba)
Certified

Las Morlas - more than 3.5 star!

, Brampton, ON
2011-12-27
This was my 2nd stay at Las Morlas this year. I paid dramatically more than some sell-offs were offering, in order to have the comfort and familiarity and convenience of staying here. On arrival, greeted by a friendly bus driver, comfortable 25 minute drive from the airport. Check-in is fast & efficient. $$ exchange is available at the front desk, but one of the many benefits of staying at Las Morlas, is that the bank is at the end of the entrance driveway. The exchange rate is much better at the bank. For $100 CAN, I got $97 at the bank. For $80 CAN, I got $69 at the hotel. Dramatically different! Accommodations: Clean and simple. I've stayed in both styles - DUPLEX - 2 story room, with a crazy skinny spiral staircase to 2nd floor. 1st floor has 2 single beds, washroom with sink and toilet, tv with cable (3 English speaking stations, CNN, CTV, HBO), very simple older bed linen, mattresses are not luxurious by a long shot, rather hard, but I slept great! 2nd floor has a double bed, dresser and washroom with shower, bathtub, sink and toilet. Window unit air conditioning. The duplexes are located with direct access to the main pool area. A table and chairs is located on the path just outside your door. The duplex is rather dark, as there is no window other than that in the front door...so no flowing breeze or balcony. I didn't love the duplex when I first walked in, but it was really convenient to all of the facilities, & comfortably housed 4 of us. Great for a family or group of friends. For the amount of time you spend in your room, it was ideal....loved being able to grab a cappucino from the bar (lobby or pool), and sit outside my room in the morning or late evening and listen to the music. The HOTEL ROOM that I had this time, was on the 4th floor (top). It was bright, had a balcony, 2 single beds, simple bedding, same mattress style, dresser, tv, shower, bathtub, sink and toilet. Simple & CLEAN accommodations. The buffet-style restaurant offers a wide range of selections. I am not a fish eater, so I didn't indulge is alot of the selections, but there was plenty of choice. I recommend trying the personalized egg dish of your choice, made by the amazingly friendly chef behind the grill. French toast, croissants, meat choices such as bacon and sausage are also available...heavier fat content. Fruit too. Coffee and other beverages are plentiful. Lunch is served at the outdoor buffet and typically offers a hot choice (palella rice, pork chops, burgers/hot dogs)...ice cream, fruit. The outdoor buffet is just steps from the beach. Easy to come up from your lounger on the beach in your swimsuit to grab a bite. There is also a bar conveniently located between the outdoor buffet and the beach. Casual dining permitted (bathing suit & flip flops). The pool is fabulous for ALL swimmers from babies to adults). There is a walk-in area for little ones to sit and play with comfy lounge chairs for guests, & a deeper large part of the pool for swimmers and dippers. Pool bar is open from 10am - midnight. Cappucino available there too! The staff is PHENOMENAL!!!! Pedro, Miriam, Johnny, Ivan & Jamil to name a few. Try the pina colada! The bar is also right beside the stage where shows are offered every night by the entertainment crew. Haili is the entertainment coordinator & will no doubt, introduce herself to you during your stay. If not, find her & have a chat, she's alot of fun! Navin is one of your DJs & also runs the dance club after the stage entertainment ends at 11pm. The club offers great music and a huge dance floor, but sadly not alot of traffic in there after 11pm, as the younger guests head downtown to go to a club, and the older guests don't go in. If you want a quick salsa lesson, ask Navin...I've watched several one-on-ones in the disco, and he is friendly and patient & I've seen impressive results. Don't forget to tip a peso or 2...I'll touch on that in a bit. I have heard and read a variety of opinions on this hotel. My opinion is that it is clean, friendly, the beach is the most beautiful I have ever gone to...crystal clear water, soft white sand, plenty of lounge chairs (in April I had to get to the beach at the crack of dawn to get loungers and a palapa, in December, loungers and palapas were plentiful all day). If there isn't a chair ready, a fellow who works for the hotel will set up your chair for you, I tip a peso. The beach is quiet. If approached to purchase something, it will be from someone respectful and pleasant. Not aggresive and rude. I felt extremely safe on the beach. Discreet hotel security keep an eye out for outsiders infiltrating the guest population. I took a tour to Havana from one of the beach salesmen, and it was the best tour I've ever had. The location of the hotel is great. A 15 minute walk to downtown, or $5 cab ride. There is a telephone booth at the end of the driveway where you can use a phone card, purchased at the bank (also at end of driveway). $20 phone card will get you about 10 minutes of talk time..maybe 8. You can use the phone in your room if you want, but I prefer to use a card. If you go to the bank, take your passport for money exchange. A security guard on the door will ask you to take seat when you go in...they keep it very structured in the bank and will not allow many in at one time. Careful of the guard who has a beautiful, friendly face, grey hair...he may follow you out and discreetly ask for one of your country's money bills, because he doesn't have one of those (ie: a $5 Canadian bill) My friend got caught up by this, thinking she was exchanging it for his money, but it was just a one way transaction. I made it clear that I didn't want him to follow me out. He is extremely friendly, but his charm was lost on me, as I'd seen the reasoning behind it. He is of absolutely no threat...he's just worked his charm into a money maker.

Tipping: The hotel worker's wages are low. Trust me, they live on tips!!! I've gotten to know a few quite well, & their way of life is incredibly interesting based on how they get by.....but remember, while your chamber maid is left all the shampoos, money tips, makeup etc., there are others around the hotel who make your stay enjoyable. I tip bartenders a peso every drink or 2. The entertainment crew, DJ, bellman, and security do not have a place to get tips, but work for equally low wages, they don't have a cup out on a bar to get a tip. Ladies, if you have something that you won't be wearing again, or that you can do without, give it to one of the female staff around the hotel, an entertainer or someone who you've chatted with throughout your stay. Your sandals, flip flops, pieces of clothing that you are done with are all treats for them. Guys, your shaving cream, razors, cologne, and other guy stuff would be appreciated by guys around the hotel...security at front door, DJ, entertainment crew. I happen to know that these items are all incredibly appreciated!!! Not to mention, it makes out suitcase lighter for coming home. The night before you leave, go through your stuff, make up a bag and give it to one of your fave staff. One of my favorite staff there so loves a pair of sandals one of the guests gave her. They are her best dress shoes. Staff have children...maybe a doll or toy that your child brought down...give it to a staff member to take home to theirs. I was there through Xmas this year and asked what their Xmas traditions were, and my sense was that gift giving was not a part of it for the service staff. I took a Cabbage Patch doll for one of the staff's daughter, his reaction is undescribable. I'm not saying not to tip chamber maid, please do, but staff around the hotel do get forgotten by us & they do so much to ensure our enjoyment. Clearly, I have great feelings for this hotel. It is because the facility is well maintained, the staff are happy to be there, get along wonderfully, and make my vacation there such a pleasure. Remember, your vacation is what you make of it. If you want to be snobby and rude, don't go to this hotel...it is a great hotel for families, couples and singles. I went with friends last time, and was completely comfortable traveling alone there this time. It is what you make it...I love it here and it is because of the staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, lobby bar, pool-side bar, beach, distance from airport and to town.
The weak points
Lots of carbs!!!! Lots of potatoes & rice and bread.
Certified

Been there before

, Ste Marthe Sur Le Lac, QC
2011-12-17
We have been to this resort before, and for the price could not pass it up. Nothing fancy, but very clean and intimit. Friendly staff and good service. We have been on twelve trips and this is our first repeat. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
service,beach and price
The weak points
lots of vendors.
Certified

13th Trip to CubaThis Was the WORST

, Toronto, ON
2011-10-04
I have been to Cuba now 13 times in 3 1/2 years so I know what to expect. In my trips I have stayed at 2 1/2 stars all the way up 5 and this is by far the worst place I have ever stayed at. This place seems to have somehow beat the system here and on Tripadvisor seeing as it ranks quite high on both.I chose this place over Sol Serenis Coral where I have stayed before, based on it's ratings.HUGE mistake for the same price I deeply regret not going with what I know, I even went over there and the quality far exceeds that of Be Live.The problems were so numerous I can't even begin to list them, all I can say is it was my first 5 day vacation and was glad that it was only 5 and couldn't wait to get out of there. Having had to go off roperty for every meal. I love Cuba and will be returning in a couple weeks just not to any Be Live Resorts. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice beach but every hotel has that.
The weak points
Everything, top to bottom. Worst value for $$. Definetly go elseware.
Certified

Small but comfortable

, Toronto, ON
2011-05-25
Hotel is clean and staff are very friendly.The food is good and both my wife and I gained weight thanks to Italian chef and Cuban kichen workers.
Don't forget, one of the only two banks in varadero is right close the this hotel,you can get best exchange rate and no cheat.
I would definatly recommend my friends this hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food
The weak points
Small swiming pool.
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021