Iberostar Laguna Azul

Iberostar Laguna Azul
3.733.733.733.733.73
3.73 based on 870 reviews
#12 of 64 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Varadero
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (308)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Iberostar Laguna Azul

, Vaughan, ON
2023-01-15
Amazing! We had a good time and it will be in our plans for next year. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Reception, room service, shows, beach and pools.
The weak points
Food and distance from city.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Very good.
Certified

End year vacation

, Longueuil, QC
2023-01-09
It was the first time for me visiting Cuba. I knew that I had to decrease my expectations on many aspects like food, the stars of the hotel,..
I was truly surprised in the good way with this hotel. I have spent an awesome week with my little one. Rhe hotel was nice, the rooms were indeed in lack of renovation but very confortable and clean. The buffet was various but repetitive. The staff was extremely nice and polite. The beach was like a paradise. My son had fun at the kids club. There were everyday a different show at the theater. During the day , they were having different activities at the beach and the pool.
December 31st there were a lot of different kind of food at the buffet. They brought a live band playing music at night. There were a special show. Dj was on fire , putting all kind of music all night long.
We had a lot of fun and I highly recommend this hotel. I'll come back for sure!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Staff- beach- animation and organization
The weak points
The rooms need to be renovated

Great experience

, Chateauguay, QC
2023-01-08
I went to Iberostar Laguna Azul in December 2022. It was a great experience. The hotel is very clean, organized and easy to access all the main places (lobby, bars, restaurants, buffet etc). The food was very good, there was a lot of variety (seafood, veggies & fruits). The staff everywhere was nice and helpful. I wanted to changes my room as well as have a late check-out and the changes were done quickly and easily. The entertainment was absolutely great. Every night, there was a different show (dance show, international, circus to name a few) followed by a party in the club on the resort. The entertainment staff (Yoe, Yandy and Yalbert particularly) were super nice, friendly and made everyone's trip more fun. They are great a what they do and everyone was very happy we got to meet them and spend time with them. Overall, I highly recommend the hotel. It was a very good experience and I would definitely go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Entertainment, food, beach, accommodations

Go for the Beach, Not the Resort

, Beaumont, AB
2023-01-05
We purchased a 7-day all-inclusive to the Iberostar Laguna Azul. We traveled as a family with our 7-year-old son.

Our vacation company delayed our departure, so we lost 2 days at the beginning. We were also delayed 8 hours when leaving. This was all due to “operational challenges” with the airline as a result of bad weather prior to the busy holiday season. This review has less to do with that negative experience, but it needs to be mentioned.

I've traveled to Cuba before so I knew what to expect. Those who have never been should know that going there can be different than going to places elsewhere. Generally, it's the food that has the worst reputation, but the state of the economy, supply-demand, can make for challenges when staying at resorts there if they aren't well-managed places.

We've been to many different all-inclusives - all of them either 4 or 5 star, including another Iberostar in Mexico. The Iberostar Laguna Azul resort advertises itself as a 4-star. It is not 4-star. It is a 3-star resort at best; probably not worthy of the name Iberostar.

PROS:

The Beach. There are a lot of chairs, which are in good shape. There are a lot of umbrellas to setup a home base as you spend the day enjoying your literal paradise. Beautiful almost perfect white sand, turquoise colored almost crystal-clear water, and soft waves all day every day. The resort is fortunate to be located on such a beautiful beach. It's as good as it gets. You can walk in either location and enjoy the water, sun, and the energy of the people as you go past other resorts along the way. It's clean and feels safe. The locals are friendly and don't hassle you too much – they offer cigarettes, souvenirs (shells, starfish, handmade clothing, hats etc., and hair-braiding. There's a bar on the beach and fun activities happening there daily. You can go back at night and if you're lucky you can enjoy it under the moonlight as well. It is perfect.

The Room. The AC works well. Keeps the room cool and dry, almost too cool at night. The safe works – you can easily program a code each time you open and close. It does the job well.

The Pool. It's a nice setup if the pool is your thing. There's a walk-up bar if you want to go hangout with all the people drinking all day who never leave the pool, but just know what that usually means. There's loud music and action happening on that side and if not your thing, there are quieter spots around the sides where you can play in the pool with your family.

WiFi & Internet. We expected that there would only be WiFi in the main lobby area, but there was WiFi throughout the resort, from the rooms, to the snack bar, to the pools, and to parts of the beach. Although actually staying connected was a challenge, the coverage was great.

The Ala Carte Restaurants. Since we arrived two days late, we missed the opportunity to book our ala cartes in time. We were only able to get a reservation at the Cuban restaurant at the “relaxed area” (ie: adult side) snack bar for one evening. It was a three-course dinner, and it was nice. A step up from the buffet food and the service was nice.

New Years' Eve. The buffet was nicely set up and there were a lot of offerings that were exceptions to what was normally offered at the buffet. Cloth napkins the only night there. There was sushi, and fresh lobster. Lots to choose from.

The Lobby. There was always positive energy, people, and action in the lobby, and live entertainment which was nice. Especially on New Year's Eve. It was a lively place.

CONS:

The Resort. It's tired and unkept. It needs fresh paint everywhere – it needs a renovation. The décor is dated. There are tripping hazards everywhere. Watch your step! The hand railings are not well kept and are broken or have loose screws in places. Watch your kids if they like to hang on the hand rails. The boardwalk to the beach is falling apart – be careful you don't step on a nail if walking barefoot. Smoking everywhere. There are no non-smoking areas. Indoors or outdoors. You smell cigarette, cigar, or pipe smoke everywhere you go and you can't escape from it. Ashtrays everywhere.

The Room. Dirty. Musty smelling. Mold in the bathrooms. Dirty paint on the walls. Dirty furniture. Old drab heavy beddings that smell dirty. Dirty looking and worn toilet – seat stained yellow. Sink takes forever to drain. Leaky faucets. No water pressure in the shower. The safe is mounted on an angle for some reason, and the closet door gets in the way. The front door lock wouldn't latch properly – couldn't get it to close until someone showed us a trick to get it to unlatch. The same went for the bathroom door. The fridge was empty the whole time – nothing was ever stocked for us, including any plastic bottled water or beer. Filtered water is provided for the rooms in glass bottles (and only if you ask for it), and you can buy the glass bottles for $25 USD each if you really want to buy a dirty glass bottle used by hundreds of people. The bottles are obviously never cleaned, they are just refilled by the maids when they do the rooms, so you may want to reconsider if you choose to drink right from the bottle. You may be sharing the bottles with everyone else in the hotel. Yuck! You can tip the housekeepers by leaving 500 pesos right next to a row of empty glass bottles but that's no guarantee you'll get any water. They'll just make your beds, swap out your bath towels, and make you some fancy useless swans on your bed out of the old blankets that smell dirty and musty that you haven't used all week. You can air them out on the balcony and that won't make any difference.

The Buffet. The food. Omg – most of it is inedible. Everything has a slight initial fishy taste or the essence of dirty water when you take a bite, even the fruit, which is probably the worst selection that I've ever seen at a resort. The papaya tastes awful. The pineapple is like eating a tree. The watermelon is tasteless. There was no mango. The guava is so hard you have to cut into it with a knife (if you can find one). Your juice selection includes Tang (or something like it) in place of orange juice. The rest is blended from the available fruit but it has no taste. Some food items are better than others, so you quickly identify what you go back to every time you're there, but there's nothing really good about any of it. It's all the same old recycled food that gets doctored up differently the next night and served again-and-again the whole week that you're there. The breakfast buffet was typically better than the dinner. There's a cook making omelets but he's not very friendly and his available ingredients are almost always out of cheese. Otherwise, you can choose from green pepper, what looks like ham but is really just pork, back bacon, and diced hot dog wieners. You learn quickly to grab some cheese slices yourself from the cheese platter and bring it with you before standing in line with it and give to the chef. There might be scrambled eggs or poached eggs – be careful of egg shells. You'll notice right away that there are only a few key places where you can get plates so you're looking all over the buffet just to find one so that you can start getting food, and they're hidden behind line ups. The line-ups to get anything take forever, and are also right in front of many of the popular buffet items so you have people digging around you to fill their plates while you wait in line. The utensils for the food are often mismatched with what you need them for – for e.g., tongs for things where it would be much better to have a spoon or a fork. There were almost never signs for anything so you have no idea what it is that you're eating until you take some and try it and it's a guessing game what it actually is. Vegetarians and vegans beware – everything will be cross-contaminated. There won't be any avoiding that. When there are actually signs, it's written with white marker on glass above and most of the time it's misspelled or obviously wrong. For e.g., it might say eggplant when it's obviously peas. The whole dining room is infested with birds and stray cats. Birds wait for empty tables and they flock to get food left on plates. You can never leave your plates of food unattended on tables even for a minute. There is literally bird poop on the sills right next to the tables – I don't see how it doesn't get onto the plates and glasses. So, you may want to avoid those tables. There are small cockroaches climbing the walls waiting for their opportunity to also visit your unattended plates. Stray cats wander around at your feet spreading their fleas and looking for food droppings. It is impossible to get the attention of the service staff – and if/when you do, and you don't act a certain way when talking to them, they are unfriendly and visibly not interested in serving you. There's no way to be neutral or casual with them – the only way you can get anything from them is to either flash 100 pesos in their face or be super familiar and friendly with them like you're their buddy and you've known them forever. There's no professionalism or neutral customer service whatsoever. You might ask for something like a cup of coffee and it takes them forever, they make multiple trips at a snail's pace - first to get you the cup, then to get you the coffee, and then to get you the milk. Tipping seems to serve no purpose or have no affect whatsoever. Except for on New Year's Eve, there were never napkins on the tables – none to be found anywhere in the entire buffet. If you manage to get the attention of one of the staff to request one, you might be lucky enough to receive some toilet paper – and just enough to do part of the job but never enough for your entire sitting so get used to wiping your hands on your clothes and using the dirty place mat to wipe your mouth. The whole buffet scene screams mismanagement and that there just has to be a better way. There was never any consistency with anything there, ever.

The Lobby. The staff at the reception aren't interested in you and its nothing but line-ups, even for quick questions. On check-in we had a guy who was speaking to us in such a quiet voice that we couldn't hear him and we gave up on asking him to speak up so that we could hear him. It became a smile, a nod, and a guessing game. We arrived two days late and likely because of this, our original room was given to someone else. We paid extra for an ocean view room. We got a pool view room but when we went back to ask if it was an ocean view room, we were told that it was. It was overlooking the main pool and I guess you could see the ocean if you looked hard enough to the side, but it wasn't what we were expecting. No one seemed interested in making us happy. You have to make a deposit by credit card to get towels - $15 per towel and then you get a ticket that can be exchanged for towels, which you can exchange for the ticket at the end of your stay to get your deposit back. I waited in one line for 10min to ask about getting the towel ticket, only to be told that I needed to wait in a different line, waited 10min in that line to be told that I needed to talk to someone else around the corner by the currency exchange desk, then waited 10min there to talk to someone and when I asked them about the towels, they laughed at me and told me to talk to the front desk. I went back and waited another 10min to talk to the same person who told me to talk to the currency exchange, and the whole time I'm trying to get her attention that I've already waited in line. At least an acknowledgement of “oh I'm so sorry did I misunderstand you” would have been enough, but instead it was the same blank empty uninterested eyes, and when I showed the slightest hint of frustration for having waited half an hour to get something that should've taken minutes, that seems to have been the only way to get anyone's attention but I quickly calmed down knowing that getting visibly frustrated would have only worked against me. I guess you have to go in with 100 pesos flashing it right off the start pretending like they're your long-lost buddy. Then you'll get the reaction you expect.

The Snack Bar. Yay it's “open” 24 hours every day. This is what that really means: You can stand in line for a half-hour just to place your order to the one person who runs the snack bar, and nothing is ever available. For e.g., you can order a hamburger but maybe there won't be any buns or ketchup or mustard. You can order fries but they may take another 20min because the fries are still frozen. Or you order fries and they've been sitting in a metal bin next to the frier all day, cold, and they just get dunked in again to heat them up. You can ask for a plate of fries for your family of three and you get half a plate when there are clearly more fries available in the bin for you but they're saving them for the next person in line. You can slip 400 pesos into the glass at the counter, and you would think it would make a difference but it doesn't. Tipping does nothing. You don't get any favors. You don't get extra fries unless you keep asking. They simply don't have anything to serve you. If you ask for a chicken sandwich, you might get grilled chicken on a hamburger bun one day, and you'll get chicken salad on toasted sliced bread the next. The ketchup is watered down and tasteless. The hot dogs are wieners one day, and revamped breakfast sausages the next. There's a salt bowl where everyone in the resort including the snack bar staff uses their fingers to pick up salt for the fries. There are birds everywhere – dirty tables, dirty everything.

The Pool. The sun beds are dirty and could use some renovating. There are plates of food and dirty glasses left everywhere and no one is around to clean any of it up. Everyone just leaves them everywhere – no consideration for other guests at the hotel or guests with families. The central pool seems to be a gathering place where all kinds of strange activities were happening. A couple of alpha-bulls with their harem of groupies – not a very family-oriented scene. Who knows what's actually going on there? A lot of drinking and open drunkenness. Not a lot of shaded areas near the central pool. There are stray dogs wandering the entire resort and you'll find them drinking out of the pools next to your kids.

WiFi & Internet. Although there was coverage throughout the hotel, the WiFi was unreliable and difficult to stay connected to. Each guest is provided with a long userid that is a string of letters and numbers like an email address and then a long 8-digit number as the password. It's an open WiFi network with a captive portal authentication page that pops up every time you try and connect. Your devices will remember the WiFi network but will not remember authentication after a very short time and you will have to forget and reconnect to the network repeatedly to get reconnected. Each account can only be used on one device at a time, and has a time limit. The time limits run out for each account even when you're not using the WiFi. You can try to forget the network, or put the device in airplane mode, but the timer still counts down. It'll show 24 hours when you use it for 5min to check for texts and connect with family and friends back home and then the next time you connect it will have burned away 2 hours of your WiFi time. Be prepared to wait in line at the front desk to ask for more WiFi time and they will give you a hard time about it. Bring some pesos to flash in front of them and make sure to act like they're your long-lost buddy.

The Ala Carte Restaurants. It's a struggle getting a reservation for the ala carte restaurants. There's only one place where you can reserve them and there are ALWAYS line-ups. It would have been nice if we could have used up the ala carte restaurants that were included with our trip, but at no point on check-in or otherwise were we ever told how many were included with our package, and when we saw the lines we thought, okay let's go enjoy our day and come back when there's no line, but there were always lines. That was basically the theme of the whole place – you can get everything you want for free, all-inclusive with your stay, as long as you're okay with standing in line all day. Another thing we learned is that everything is done on paper. Everything. Paper tickets for everything. Unorganized. Inefficient.

The Bars. The service was absolutely terrible at the lobby bar. You can stand at the bar for a half-hour staring at the bar tenders waiting to get their attention to order a drink and they simply just don't see you. Ever. No eye-contact. The bars all seemed to run out of everything all the time. There was nothing but rum and beer. You want a pina colada? Sorry we're out – just lemonade or fruit punch with rum. Here's a half a cup of rum with watered down tang. The pina coladas were served in tiny plastic cups and were great, if you managed to actually get one. Plus, you're waiting in line for a long time, ALL the time. There is no selection for anything. Nothing but rum, beer, house wine, and everything is watered down served in small plastic cups.

In summary, I can comfortably say that apart from the beach, which was almost second to none, our stay at the Iberostar Laguna Azul was the worst all-inclusive experience that I/we have ever had. I've been to another Iberostar in Mexico that was stellar by comparison. This didn't seem like an Iberostar at all. The Laguna Azul was dirty and needs work, the food was terrible, the service was non-existent, the bars had little to offer, and we were just barely comfortable during our stay to avoid complaining non-stop. But all that would have meant would have been standing in lines anyway as there's no one there or interested in helping you. There's nothing left of anything, food or drinks, and they clearly save money on giving you what you paid for by making you wait in line and hoping that you give up. Our vacation rep seemed to only be interested in upselling the excursions for a commission, and was of no help to us at all; the hotel was completely oblivious to the services arranged for us. For e.g., there was a major disconnect between the hotel and our vacation company in that they had no idea if a bus was coming to pick us up as there was a delay in our departure flight and we were told that a bus would come get us 4 hours before our flight was scheduled to leave but was late by an hour-and-a half. We paid $70 CAD to hire a cab to take us to the airport instead of waiting for fear that no one was ever coming and we would miss our flight. The hotel had nothing to tell us, and we ended up doing seemingly very shady “business” with one of the front-men to arrange a taxi ride and in the end, we felt ripped off. To me that's simply taking advantage of people who come to Cuba from a foreign place, who may be afraid and do not know what to expect. It's an easy way to make unfair deals because most of us will do it. Would we go to Varadero again? Absolutely. It's a beautiful location and the beach was spectacular - wonderful. The Cuban culture is interesting and inspiring. Would we go to Iberostar Laguna Azul again? Never. I recommend trying some place else. Or if anyone from the hotel or Iberostar is reading, please take these considerations to heart as a way to improve your services to your guests. There's room for constructive criticism here. It is not justifiable for either you or our vacation company to charge as much as you do for an all-inclusive experience to people and then not provide them with what they believe that they are paying for. This includes everything from guest services, to basic accommodations, quality of food, and providing security while at the hotel.

I hope this helps someone considering going to the Iberostar Laguna Azul. I gave it 2 out of 5. One extra point just for the beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The beach is pretty much as good as it gets.
The weak points
Pretty much everything at the resort other than the beach.
Certified

Disappointed first day

, Pointe-Claire, QC
2022-12-29
We took almost a whole day to check in. We arrived at the hotel before 11am in the morning and told me that the room was not ready until 5pm in the afternoon. The front desk staff of the hotel are very unfriendly and almost cold-blooded(maybe the tip wasn't enough for her: Nayezis). There are obviously vacant rooms ready, but they refuse to give them to us. We are a couple with 2 young children and we were allocated rooms in 2 different buildings far apart. After two hours of requests with no answer, I had to pay extra to get two rooms relatively close together. Finally we got into our room after 6pm. Wasted the first sunny day.
Thankfully, the day before we left, the hotel management spoke to us about our complaint and offered 2 bottles of rum as consolation compensation. Better than nothing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Food and beach are ok.
The weak points
The room had a strong musty smell which made me cough a lot. It took me a long time to adjust to sleep every night.
Certified

IBEROSTAR lAGUNA AZUL

, Oromocto, NB
2022-12-24
we had a wonderful time at this resort. We were there with our 3 grandchildren 15, 12 and 9. The rooms were a little dated but were cleaned every day, fresh towels and water. Small easy to maneuver around. All amenities were close walking distance. Over all the food was good. A little bland and repetitive but we found something we liked every day. Was a little disappointed there were no small bottles of soda left for the kids, but we used the large ones.. Cannot say enough good about the staff, helpful and friendly. Always smiling. Dania, Victor and our housekeeper were super stars. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
the people are amazing, the beach cannot be beat, the animation team, location
The weak points
few coachroaches seen around the grounds, the food was good but repetitive
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Hand sanitizer is places around the resort,
Certified

Lovely Stay

, Halifax, NS
2022-12-10
The hotel was very lovely and staff friendly. The things that weren't awesome were mostly out of staff control and I'm sure are supply chain related. Thinks like no real napkins at the dining locations. There was a lack of coconut rum and it seemed less variety of cocktails than I've seen previously but everyone was trying very hard with what they had. The he'd amd pillow were the most comfortable I've ever had in Cuba and I really enjoyed the relax upgrade. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Cleanliness of rooms, everything well maintained, friendly staff.
The weak points
Bugs at the snack bar. Salt at buffet would be good and wine seemed watered down.
Certified

Nice Hotel / Resort.

, Ottawa, ON
2022-12-03
This is not the first time we stayed at this hotel / resort and that is why we came back. Overall, we had a really good experience at this resort. However, we did notice that some maintenance work is needed, especially in the rooms. The great and friendly staff made up for many of the shortcomings. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Wonderful location on the beach, great pools & facilities (buildings, theatre, bars). Service from staff was superbly delivered w a smile. Grounds were well maintained & groomed. Towel service was great and clean. Specialty restaurants were really good.
The weak points
Guest rooms (doors, showers, and beds) need some updating and repair. Food was average at best with some guests reported seeing bugs. Drinks quality and quantity were not the best. The place could certainly use some improvement on the above.
Certified

A relaxing vacation!

, Innisfil, ON
2022-11-15
We had a wonderful, relaxing vacation at Iberostar Laguna Azul. The beach was beautiful, the food was good and the staff was very friendly. Fermin was very helpful and made sure we had everything we needed. He also regularly checked in to make sure we were having a good trip. In the evenings we were entertained by the shows and relaxed in the cigar bar. Pavel made delicious drinks, highly recommend a banana mama, and he was great to talk to. If you want a place to go with beautiful views, beach, lovely staff, this is the place to go! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Price for the trip

, St. Catharines, HA
2022-11-12
everything was in short supply or did not exist at all. something is wrong with the price I paid for the trip,you say I paid $1079.00 when I was charged $2158.00,what happened there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
we have been at this resort 5 times since 10 years ago.
The weak points
It has a long way to go to get back to what it use to be before co-vid.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
none
Certified

Beautiful Resort

, Toronto, ON
2022-05-31
The resort was absolutely beautiful. Every inch of the resort was clean and well maintained. The staff were amazing. Very friendly and caring. Always a smile on their faces.
The one thing that I would change is that there should have been more music playing on the resort. It was fairly quite. There was little to no music at the pool or in the lounge area or on the beach. Music would make the resort a lot more livelier.
The Ala Carte restaurants were very good, especially the Japanese restaurant. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Clean and beautiful resort. Terrific staff. Ala carte restaurants were very good.
The weak points
More music in the common areas and a better variety of food at the buffet. The buffet was the same everyday.
Certified

Our stay - Last week of April 2022

, Marysville, ON
2022-05-05
All in all, we had a great week away. Two Mothers with our daughters. We stayed in the Relax section and I would highly recommend this for the extra money. You have your own sit down/served breakfast and lunch. Freshly made omelets in the morning and great steak or grilled chicken for lunch with a salad and season veggies. Helps to not have to eat at the main buffet as often. We also had the use of a quieter pool and a later checkout at 2 pm rather than noon. We were only able to get 2 dinner reservations which was a real disappointment as we wanted to try them all especially the Cuban. I think Relax section should be guaranteed 4 and we barely could get 2. Snack bar was a great option later in evening - great frys and pizza made fresh. Shout out to Sexy Alex and Candy Boy - great guys who work very hard to be sure everyone is having a great time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beach-amazing-lots of shade-ours was biggest compared to other resorts we walked by. Pools were a great temp-everything was kept very clean. Staff all very friendly & appreciated every tip. Entertainment staff-great to get people involved if they wanted
The weak points
Beds in room were very small-a super single-Ok for us as it was Mother/Daughter but not good for 2. Very poor lighting in some walkways and hallways at night. A lot of bulbs blown in room & in buildings. Solar lighting on walkways would be great.
Certified

Dissatisfied

, Maple, ON
2022-04-25
not satisfactory in the least. Showers were unaccetable,water flow was extremely low. No tissues, no toilet paper, had to fight to get towels, room not kept clean mold on the bathroom walls. Patio door did not open. no room service, no wifi not clean at all. I had to sanitize my own room. I would never recommend or stay at one of your resorts ever again. Pool bar did not have beer, they ran out of pizza and fries for the kids. I can just go on and on as I found nothing at all good with this hotel. Oh yes one thing, they made amazing espresso coffee. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Our family stay

, Stony Plain, AB
2022-02-08
First off let me say that this resort is fairly small with a great layout. It is a beautiful resort with amazing staff.
It would appear that when we got to the resort, we got the impression that it had opened recently so not all the services was available and the food was not the best. As the days progressed the food had significantly improved. We even had lobster and shrimp in the main buffet one night.
The beach is amazing.
The hospitality is really good as well.
There is a lot of covid protocols in place at this resort such as wearing a mask when going to the bars aside from when in the pools swimup bar.
We had our alcartes at the romantic restaurant as well as the italian one. Both were pretty good. The wine that they serve as their house wine is pretty good as well. We only had the white wine.
We went to the shows at night twice and it was great, though it was really loud. It seemed like they wanted to make sure that the resort next door knew what was going on.
I am not quite sure what the capacity at this resort was at, but at night there was some wings of the hotel that was not lit up so it was quite fun to walk around the property in the dark.
The upkeep at the resort was lacking, im guessing due to covid, but as Monday roled around, the grounds persons was out and doing their thing, and some painting was going on.
As a family of 5 we needed joining rooms, these rooms were equally sized and had a great view of the resort grounds. Any issues we had with the rooms (TV didnt work in one room, Ceiling fan not working, shower head holster broken) were dealt with in a timely manner. The room maids were very efficient and prompt they kept our waters and toiletries stocked and overall our rooms were clean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The entertainment staff, bar staff and groundskeepers are all top notch and very friendly. This is a small resort so the staff felt like a family and made sure any guests did as well.
The weak points
Hotel upkeep. Ice cream parlour was not open. Jaccuzzi at main pool was not open. Did not look like the kids club was open. Snack bar was 24hrs but had very limited available. This was all due to it being their winter months.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
social distancing recommended but not enforced. Masks at the bars was enforced except at the swimup bar location when in the pool. Entire staff always wore masks. Hand sanitizer was available everywhere.
Certified

Vacation 2020

, Winnipeg, MB
2020-03-05
We didn't get to our hotel, Iberostar Laguna Azul, until after 4 am. We were on the third floor of a building with no elevator. This was a problem for our friends - booked this hotel because it indicated there were elevators. They had two cots, not the king bed requested, My friend & I had the king bed.
- Next day, we went to ask for our rooms to be corrected. We're told the hotel couldn't accommodate us & we would have to wait a day or two to be moved. Our friends were moved on the 2nd day of the trip to a building with an elevator. Unfortunately in a building with at least 6 elevators throughout, there was only one that worked. It broke down occasionally too. My friend & I decided to stay in the first room.
- Rooms - staff did the best they could for the most part, but they were in poor condition. The shower head holders were broken & could not be used unless you held them. We did not use them that way one day & it flooded our bathroom. We called for assistance to clean up the water. No one ever came
Food was pretty good with good variety. Very long lineups at breakfast. Coffee was undrinkable
We were given beach towels & told we could change them. EVERYTIME we went to do that we were told there were none & to come back. There were never any available
Lobby bar was good but not enough tables. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleaning staff were very good. Food & beverage staff were great. They worked hard to make sure we had a good experience
The weak points
Front desk staff, for the most part, were pretty unhelpful & acted as though we were bothering them if we asked for assistance. Yalena (sp) was the exception. She tried very hard to accommodate our request & was pleasant to deal with.
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-13
Dear Lori, Thank for taking the time to review our tropical beachfront resort Iberostar Laguna Azul. We are sorry to hear some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. We can assure you that all our staff are professional individual with thorough training, who are dedicated to making our guests have the most wonderful time in Cuba, as well as maintaining the hotel and grounds to an exceptionally high level. However, we have taken on board your comments and we will discuss your concerns with the relevant departments. Nonetheless, we hope you enjoyed the stunning beach and the charming town of Varadero and we hope to welcoming you back to one of our Iberostar hotels in the near future. Best Regards Quality Manager Iberostar Laguna Azul

Wonderful Week at Iberostar Laguna Azul

, Scarborough, ON
2020-03-02
Took my eldest son, and we had a great week. From pickup at airport to departure was good. The hotel is large and surrounds the property. Pool was too cool for us but it was immaculately clean at all times. Food was good but repetitive. I guess others have complained about lack of flavour, so now I find the food very over salted and no black pepper to be found. We didn't starve and our love of the cappucino coffee and croissants was so good. Our room was clean, newer mattresses, all doors locked, lots of hot water for showers, and we had a safe in our room. Perfect! Resort needs more bar staff behind the counter - 1 guy for 30 folks was frustrating (in main lobby area). Sometimes the wait was up to 20 min. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness, friendly staff, food choices, clean pool, lots of chairs (if you're early and reserve).
The weak points
salty food (esp. the meat selections), need black pepper,
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-13
Dear Renee, We would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar for your holiday. Your friendly comment is an incentive for us to continue to the best of our ability so that all our guests feel as comfortable as you were.  The fact that you had a wonderful time in our hotel is an excellent outcome for our efforts. Also, we would like to thank you for your helpful feedback and will gladly forward it accordingly. Every detail is important to us to ensure that our guests always have a very pleasant stay in our hotels. Thank you once again for sharing your review and we hope you continue to include us in your future holiday arrangements. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Laguna Azul

Great place but needs improvements

, Edmonton, AB
2020-02-23
Overall my trip was amazing.
5 out of 7 days i stayed in the hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff (Cuban people) are nicer compare to other Carribean resorts I have been. Fun activities and events throughout the day. Very generous in alcoholic drinks.
The weak points
Food were repeats. Room needs renovation. Server needs more training with attending tables. (I'm a server myself and I expect service I provide to my guests) Wifi is expensive $1/hr but has limited access.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-13
Dear guest, We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday. Your kind review is an incentive for us to continue working in a motivated fashion and to give our absolute best so that all our guests feel as comfortable as you were. We would also like to thank you for your helpful feedback and will be forwarding it to the appropriate department on your behalf. Again we thank you for your kind words and look forward to your next visit to one of our hotels. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Laguna Azul

Very good

, Bewdley, ON
2020-02-22
Almost most of criteria were perfect and all my guests who I brought with me were happy at the end of trip . I will definitely recommend it to other friends. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Almost every thing was perfect and as it was expected. Food were good , clean rooms. Staff were super friendly and hardworking. Beach was perfect, night programs were good snd fun.
The weak points
Our arrival was Late around midnight after the buffet was closed . The food we were offered was awful . Elevators were mostly broken or very slow . Wifi was very slow and sometimes impossible to get it and we had to pay for it.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-13
Dear Mina, We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday. Your kind review is an incentive for us to continue working in a motivated fashion and to give our absolute best so that all our guests feel as comfortable as you were. We would also like to thank you for your helpful feedback and will be forwarding it to the appropriate department on your behalf. Again we thank you for your kind words and look forward to your next visit to one of our hotels. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Laguna Azul

Had a great time!

, East Gwillimbury, ON
2020-02-03
Overall, the stay was very pleasant. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Mostly everyone speaks decent English which helps. Good exchange rate for currency. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff. Variety of food. Cigar shop on site.
The weak points
First room given to us was not that good. 3 small beds instead of the king we had requested.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-02-26
Dear guest We are grateful to you for choosing us for your recent holiday and for sharing the experience you had with us. It is great to read your enthusiastic comments about many of the prime pillars that we set in place many years ago to guarantee fabulous holidays Once again, we are truly grateful for this complimentary review of your time in our hospitality. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Laguna Azul

Mini mother/daughter get away.

, Ariss, ON
2020-01-05
My 14 daughter and myself took a little mini vacay. It was very safe and enjoyable experience. When going to Cuba you don't expect a lot so expectations are not high. Food was pretty good at this hotel not exceptional. But we did have some surprises like sushi, ice cream and mini homemade pizza and fries. All A La Cartes were booked up for the week. Unable to book in but we're granted one night to join when we showed up at the door. Next time here I would take ketchup and peanut butter or jam for toast. Drinks were good and bar service was good. Able to exchange money at hotel. Wi-Fi was not good. You pay $1 per hour and it would cut in and out. Data service with my phone plan was not great. I would leave a tip on the bed for cleaning ladies and they supplied me with extra towels and blankets on request. There is excursion they told you about but non seemed appealing to us. Took a double decker bus into Varadero and felt safe to walk around town for the day. The only issue we had all week was someone stole our beach towels off our deck. If you lose your towels you are unable to replace them. We went to front desk and they wanted us to purchase $14 for a towel. So people were either stealing and exchanging for new ones for themselves or cleaning staff was taking them and making you replace them. We were not the only ones that had towels stolen that week. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pool and grounds Awesome entertainment for New Year's Eve and celebrations
The weak points
Beach towels stolen No safe in room (door broken off) Booked up A La Cartes
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-01-10
Dear Tanya, We are delighted that overall you had such a wonderful time with your daughter at our 5* resort Iberostar Laguna Azul. We are overjoyed you found our selection of food tasty, although we are very sorry you were not able to try the a la carte restaurants during your stay and we will take note of this and take action to ensure this does not reoccur. Furthermore, we appreciate all your positive feedback regarding the hotel grounds and pool, as well as the New Year's Eve celebrations. On the other hand, we are surprised by the incident you described in regards to the towels going missing and we will look into your concerns. However, we have full confidence in the loyalty of our employees and can assure you they were not involved in any way. In any case we would like to extend our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. If you miss the outstanding entertainment team and evening shows, we would love to welcome you back at our resort. Best regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Laguna Azul

Review of Iberstar laguna Azul

, Edmonton, AB
2019-12-22
We enjoyed our stay from Dec 3 to Dec 17. Reception was very accommodating. We asked to be close to beach on first floor and we received exactly that.
The room was ok but the couch and chair needed to be cleaned or recovered. Badly soiled. Would not sit on.
Bathroom should be updated for walk in shower. It was difficult to climb over bathtub and out of shower.
Two light fixtures burned out but replaced when requested
Replenishing fridge very sporadic. One beer or drink at time.
Not enough for two people in room.
Light fixture outside room 19122 burned out. Very dark at door. Never replaced. Safety issue.
Service staff extremely friendly and accommodating.
Food was good. Could always find something to eat. Lot of salads. Great improvement.
Leather chairs in foyer need to be replaced. Torn.
Foyer very smoky. Uncomfortable for guests.
Lovely pool area and beach. Well maintained.
Walk way leading to beach from units 19 and 20, water shower not working. More huts required on beach at entrance from units 19 and 20. Would elevate over crowding on main beach.

Would certainly entertain going back to Iberstar Laguna Azul. Had great holiday. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-12-27
Dear Ronald We would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for your friendly review and at the same time for the helpful assessment of our hotel. We are also very grateful and motivated to receive your constructive feedback as we are always open to suggestions on how we can improve on a daily basis to satisfy our guest's wishes and provide an even better service now and in the future. Thank you once again for your description. It is nice to know that you had such a fantastic time with us and we hope to see you again soon. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Laguna Azul

Beach exceptional, resort run down

, Victoria, BC
2019-12-04
The resort is in need of many repairs, many broken tiles, our lights in the room were hanging off the wall, our toilet kept running all the time, our bathroom door wouldn't shut etc etc. And our room was typical, The beach was exceptional, then drinks were good, plenty of food, good selection but the fruit were quite tasteless. All 3 A la Carte restaurants were what I would consider quite good.
The staff was very Friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, A la carte restaurants, Staff
The weak points
Upkeep of the buildings. buffet food was okay, fruit was not very good but plenty of it.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-12-09
Dear Coderre, Thank you for your feedback on our Iberostar Laguna Azul boasting spectacular sea views. Knowing that you had a fantastic holiday at our resort brings us great joy. We are grateful for your positive comments in regards to our wonderful staff, gastronomy and location. Although we are disappointed you felt the upkeep was not completely satisfactory, we thank you for sharing your useful thoughts and will use this as an opportunity to keep perfecting our establishment. Thank you for choosing Iberostar for your vacation and we would love to welcome you back soon to our paradise island. Best Regards Quality Manager Iberostar Laguna Azul

Second visit at iberostar hotels

, Montréal, QC
2019-11-16
Since it was my wife's 60th birthday I took the time on oct 29 to e-mail iberostar of my preferences or requests and since have been aprox ten times in Cuba I usually get my requests with other hotels but upon arrival the clerk seemed to understand but in facture didn't because I never had any of my requests, renovated room on 2nd floor. I know my email was received by David Keuzenkamp at customer support. The e-mail said they would come back to me and never did.
On my last day I had a bad experience while choosing a table for supper I noticed that there was a lot of broken glass under the table so I asked the employee to clean it and when I returned it wasn't. I spoke with Johnny the person in charge and he was rude and said I was a liar. He didn't want to give me his name and later did.
Later reported this incident to the customer service manager and she said would communicate with me by e-mail and to leave my info at check out.
I forgot to give my email but a quick search on their part is all that was required.
No news since. I am greatly disappointed in this hotels service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Sight, beach and food for Cuba
The weak points
Customer service is poor. All they gave me was a bottle of rum worth 7.50 pesos with the comment they couldnt find my email... I called the front desk to ask for someone to open the safe and they sent a mechanic?
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-11-20
Dear Christian, We would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar to celebrate this speial occasion. We welcome and value the ideas of our guests because with them we can achieve our goal of providing perfect holidays, therefore we will take note of your valuable feedback and will relay it to the appropriate department for their consideration. We would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused and we hope to be seeing you again soon at one of our hotels to offer you the exceptional service we are renowned for. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Laguna Azul

Great week-Needs some TLC

, Quebec City, QC
2019-11-11
This was our first time in Cuba. Chose this resort because of the layout and close to the beach. Not disappointed there. Beautiful property! Rooms needs some upgrade. We were told, it had been renovated and it wasn't. Public bathrooms and lobby furniture needs some upgrading. Other than that, it is a beautiful resort, great entertainment, wonderful staff. Other issue was the buffet where most of the food served was not labeled and I have a severe allergy to shellfish. We did not starve but stayed with the same food all week, where I knew I was safe. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff, very friendly Loved the entertainment in the lobby and the theater
The weak points
Bathroom in the bedroom, washrooms on the property and No labeling of food.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-11-14
Dear James Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on our all inclusive Iberostar Laguna Azul resort with ocean views. We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful time with us and that you enjoyed our all-day activity programme and the spectacular location. However, we regret to hear you found some elements of our hotel a little outdated. Although we know our hotel is not brand new, we invest copious time and effort into maintaining all areas in pristine condition. In addition, we will pass on your helpful ideas regarding the labelling at the buffet to the relevant department and for future reference we would like you to know that our helpful restaurant staff are always on hand to answer any questions regarding the food on offer. Once again, thank you for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again at one of our Iberostar resorts. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Laguna Azul

Iberostar Laguna Azul

, Ottawa, ON
2019-06-05
We had the best trip ever! Highly recommend and will definitely be back! Best beaches ever and wonderful people [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Wonderful experience

, North York, ON
2019-05-29
The three of us loved our stay at Iberostar Laguna Azul ! The service was fabulous....everyone treated us fantastic... Dania at the hotel makes sure everyone is enjoying their stay there. This is our fourth time at the hotel and we really loved staying there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service, massage on the beach, food, etc
The weak points
Not much here .... maybe the masuse on the beach should give us a receipt with his full name so we can claim the massage on our insurance... everything was great
Certified

Ok trip

, Fort Mcmurray, AB
2019-05-02
Hotel is ok. Our room was fine and our maid was amazing and kept our room clean and always made towel animals. Food was below par and they ran out of multiple items halfway through the week and didn't get anymore same with some drinks I bought my own and brought it to the bars to make my drinks. The staff was amazing. Weather was great and pools kept us cool. Probably wouldn't go back and that goes for Cuba itself. If u love Cuba then this hotel would be fine for u. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff amazing Pretty clean Ground nice
The weak points
Food No clean pool towels Ran out of some food and drinks Starting to become run down needs work
Certified

Iberostar Laguna Azul

, Markham, ON
2019-03-26
I enjoyed the hotel it was very nice. The rooms need a bit of work some better than others. The food was too salty and not hot unless you get your food at the grill. The gourmet restaurant was great. I was disappointed with the alcohol as the website said they have premium alcohol but they did not. The entertainment was very good and fun. The front desk was very helpful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The hotel was very nice.
The weak points
The food was not hot and too salty.
Certified

My opinion

, Bouctouche, NB
2019-03-16
Beach was great food was eatable, under staff slow service , beach service was the worse and bar service. Clean resort outside of resort very well keep inside need new furniture it a bit beaten up we stayed in ocean view suite was nice but once again need new furniture .. I would say staff was 20% friendly [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach good a la carte food
The weak points
Friendliness, furniture
Certified

Enjoyed Cuba but Wouldn't Rush Back

, St Catharines, ON
2019-03-05
Generally the staff was great, helpful and wanted to do a good job. Rooms need some TLC with safe doors, closet doors missing, needs a paint job. We were surprised with the appearance of a newer resort has been really well used.

A la carte restaurants were good but the buffet always had dirty tables, no signs to identify what you were eating. The 24 hour snack bar was disgusting with birds enjoying the buffett as well gross!!

Beach, pools and grounds were very nice well kept.

Did the Jeep and catamaran excursions both were excellent. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
A la carte restaurants, beach, pools, cleanliness of resort
The weak points
Not much to do at night, rooms need to be refurbished, elevators don't always work, 24 hour snack bar disgusting.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2023