Iberostar Laguna Azul

Iberostar Laguna Azul
3.733.733.733.733.73
3.73 based on 846 reviews
#14 of 65 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Varadero
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (285)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Vacation 2020

, Winnipeg, MB
2020-03-05
We didn't get to our hotel, Iberostar Laguna Azul, until after 4 am. We were on the third floor of a building with no elevator. This was a problem for our friends - booked this hotel because it indicated there were elevators. They had two cots, not the king bed requested, My friend & I had the king bed.
- Next day, we went to ask for our rooms to be corrected. We're told the hotel couldn't accommodate us & we would have to wait a day or two to be moved. Our friends were moved on the 2nd day of the trip to a building with an elevator. Unfortunately in a building with at least 6 elevators throughout, there was only one that worked. It broke down occasionally too. My friend & I decided to stay in the first room.
- Rooms - staff did the best they could for the most part, but they were in poor condition. The shower head holders were broken & could not be used unless you held them. We did not use them that way one day & it flooded our bathroom. We called for assistance to clean up the water. No one ever came
Food was pretty good with good variety. Very long lineups at breakfast. Coffee was undrinkable
We were given beach towels & told we could change them. EVERYTIME we went to do that we were told there were none & to come back. There were never any available
Lobby bar was good but not enough tables. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleaning staff were very good. Food & beverage staff were great. They worked hard to make sure we had a good experience
The weak points
Front desk staff, for the most part, were pretty unhelpful & acted as though we were bothering them if we asked for assistance. Yalena (sp) was the exception. She tried very hard to accommodate our request & was pleasant to deal with.
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-13
Dear Lori, Thank for taking the time to review our tropical beachfront resort Iberostar Laguna Azul. We are sorry to hear some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. We can assure you that all our staff are professional individual with thorough training, who are dedicated to making our guests have the most wonderful time in Cuba, as well as maintaining the hotel and grounds to an exceptionally high level. However, we have taken on board your comments and we will discuss your concerns with the relevant departments. Nonetheless, we hope you enjoyed the stunning beach and the charming town of Varadero and we hope to welcoming you back to one of our Iberostar hotels in the near future. Best Regards Quality Manager Iberostar Laguna Azul

Wonderful Week at Iberostar Laguna Azul

, Scarborough, ON
2020-03-02
Took my eldest son, and we had a great week. From pickup at airport to departure was good. The hotel is large and surrounds the property. Pool was too cool for us but it was immaculately clean at all times. Food was good but repetitive. I guess others have complained about lack of flavour, so now I find the food very over salted and no black pepper to be found. We didn't starve and our love of the cappucino coffee and croissants was so good. Our room was clean, newer mattresses, all doors locked, lots of hot water for showers, and we had a safe in our room. Perfect! Resort needs more bar staff behind the counter - 1 guy for 30 folks was frustrating (in main lobby area). Sometimes the wait was up to 20 min. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness, friendly staff, food choices, clean pool, lots of chairs (if you're early and reserve).
The weak points
salty food (esp. the meat selections), need black pepper,
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-13
Dear Renee, We would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar for your holiday. Your friendly comment is an incentive for us to continue to the best of our ability so that all our guests feel as comfortable as you were.  The fact that you had a wonderful time in our hotel is an excellent outcome for our efforts. Also, we would like to thank you for your helpful feedback and will gladly forward it accordingly. Every detail is important to us to ensure that our guests always have a very pleasant stay in our hotels. Thank you once again for sharing your review and we hope you continue to include us in your future holiday arrangements. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Laguna Azul

Great place but needs improvements

, Edmonton, AB
2020-02-23
Overall my trip was amazing.
5 out of 7 days i stayed in the hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff (Cuban people) are nicer compare to other Carribean resorts I have been. Fun activities and events throughout the day. Very generous in alcoholic drinks.
The weak points
Food were repeats. Room needs renovation. Server needs more training with attending tables. (I'm a server myself and I expect service I provide to my guests) Wifi is expensive $1/hr but has limited access.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-13
Dear guest, We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday. Your kind review is an incentive for us to continue working in a motivated fashion and to give our absolute best so that all our guests feel as comfortable as you were. We would also like to thank you for your helpful feedback and will be forwarding it to the appropriate department on your behalf. Again we thank you for your kind words and look forward to your next visit to one of our hotels. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Laguna Azul

Very good

, Bewdley, ON
2020-02-22
Almost most of criteria were perfect and all my guests who I brought with me were happy at the end of trip . I will definitely recommend it to other friends. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Almost every thing was perfect and as it was expected. Food were good , clean rooms. Staff were super friendly and hardworking. Beach was perfect, night programs were good snd fun.
The weak points
Our arrival was Late around midnight after the buffet was closed . The food we were offered was awful . Elevators were mostly broken or very slow . Wifi was very slow and sometimes impossible to get it and we had to pay for it.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-13
Dear Mina, We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday. Your kind review is an incentive for us to continue working in a motivated fashion and to give our absolute best so that all our guests feel as comfortable as you were. We would also like to thank you for your helpful feedback and will be forwarding it to the appropriate department on your behalf. Again we thank you for your kind words and look forward to your next visit to one of our hotels. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Laguna Azul

Had a great time!

, East Gwillimbury, ON
2020-02-03
Overall, the stay was very pleasant. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Mostly everyone speaks decent English which helps. Good exchange rate for currency. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff. Variety of food. Cigar shop on site.
The weak points
First room given to us was not that good. 3 small beds instead of the king we had requested.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-02-26
Dear guest We are grateful to you for choosing us for your recent holiday and for sharing the experience you had with us. It is great to read your enthusiastic comments about many of the prime pillars that we set in place many years ago to guarantee fabulous holidays Once again, we are truly grateful for this complimentary review of your time in our hospitality. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Laguna Azul

Mini mother/daughter get away.

, Ariss, ON
2020-01-05
My 14 daughter and myself took a little mini vacay. It was very safe and enjoyable experience. When going to Cuba you don't expect a lot so expectations are not high. Food was pretty good at this hotel not exceptional. But we did have some surprises like sushi, ice cream and mini homemade pizza and fries. All A La Cartes were booked up for the week. Unable to book in but we're granted one night to join when we showed up at the door. Next time here I would take ketchup and peanut butter or jam for toast. Drinks were good and bar service was good. Able to exchange money at hotel. Wi-Fi was not good. You pay $1 per hour and it would cut in and out. Data service with my phone plan was not great. I would leave a tip on the bed for cleaning ladies and they supplied me with extra towels and blankets on request. There is excursion they told you about but non seemed appealing to us. Took a double decker bus into Varadero and felt safe to walk around town for the day. The only issue we had all week was someone stole our beach towels off our deck. If you lose your towels you are unable to replace them. We went to front desk and they wanted us to purchase $14 for a towel. So people were either stealing and exchanging for new ones for themselves or cleaning staff was taking them and making you replace them. We were not the only ones that had towels stolen that week. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pool and grounds Awesome entertainment for New Year's Eve and celebrations
The weak points
Beach towels stolen No safe in room (door broken off) Booked up A La Cartes
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-01-10
Dear Tanya, We are delighted that overall you had such a wonderful time with your daughter at our 5* resort Iberostar Laguna Azul. We are overjoyed you found our selection of food tasty, although we are very sorry you were not able to try the a la carte restaurants during your stay and we will take note of this and take action to ensure this does not reoccur. Furthermore, we appreciate all your positive feedback regarding the hotel grounds and pool, as well as the New Year's Eve celebrations. On the other hand, we are surprised by the incident you described in regards to the towels going missing and we will look into your concerns. However, we have full confidence in the loyalty of our employees and can assure you they were not involved in any way. In any case we would like to extend our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. If you miss the outstanding entertainment team and evening shows, we would love to welcome you back at our resort. Best regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Laguna Azul

Review of Iberstar laguna Azul

, Edmonton, AB
2019-12-22
We enjoyed our stay from Dec 3 to Dec 17. Reception was very accommodating. We asked to be close to beach on first floor and we received exactly that.
The room was ok but the couch and chair needed to be cleaned or recovered. Badly soiled. Would not sit on.
Bathroom should be updated for walk in shower. It was difficult to climb over bathtub and out of shower.
Two light fixtures burned out but replaced when requested
Replenishing fridge very sporadic. One beer or drink at time.
Not enough for two people in room.
Light fixture outside room 19122 burned out. Very dark at door. Never replaced. Safety issue.
Service staff extremely friendly and accommodating.
Food was good. Could always find something to eat. Lot of salads. Great improvement.
Leather chairs in foyer need to be replaced. Torn.
Foyer very smoky. Uncomfortable for guests.
Lovely pool area and beach. Well maintained.
Walk way leading to beach from units 19 and 20, water shower not working. More huts required on beach at entrance from units 19 and 20. Would elevate over crowding on main beach.

Would certainly entertain going back to Iberstar Laguna Azul. Had great holiday. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-12-27
Dear Ronald We would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for your friendly review and at the same time for the helpful assessment of our hotel. We are also very grateful and motivated to receive your constructive feedback as we are always open to suggestions on how we can improve on a daily basis to satisfy our guest's wishes and provide an even better service now and in the future. Thank you once again for your description. It is nice to know that you had such a fantastic time with us and we hope to see you again soon. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Laguna Azul

Beach exceptional, resort run down

, Victoria, BC
2019-12-04
The resort is in need of many repairs, many broken tiles, our lights in the room were hanging off the wall, our toilet kept running all the time, our bathroom door wouldn't shut etc etc. And our room was typical, The beach was exceptional, then drinks were good, plenty of food, good selection but the fruit were quite tasteless. All 3 A la Carte restaurants were what I would consider quite good.
The staff was very Friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, A la carte restaurants, Staff
The weak points
Upkeep of the buildings. buffet food was okay, fruit was not very good but plenty of it.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-12-09
Dear Coderre, Thank you for your feedback on our Iberostar Laguna Azul boasting spectacular sea views. Knowing that you had a fantastic holiday at our resort brings us great joy. We are grateful for your positive comments in regards to our wonderful staff, gastronomy and location. Although we are disappointed you felt the upkeep was not completely satisfactory, we thank you for sharing your useful thoughts and will use this as an opportunity to keep perfecting our establishment. Thank you for choosing Iberostar for your vacation and we would love to welcome you back soon to our paradise island. Best Regards Quality Manager Iberostar Laguna Azul

Second visit at iberostar hotels

, Montréal, QC
2019-11-16
Since it was my wife's 60th birthday I took the time on oct 29 to e-mail iberostar of my preferences or requests and since have been aprox ten times in Cuba I usually get my requests with other hotels but upon arrival the clerk seemed to understand but in facture didn't because I never had any of my requests, renovated room on 2nd floor. I know my email was received by David Keuzenkamp at customer support. The e-mail said they would come back to me and never did.
On my last day I had a bad experience while choosing a table for supper I noticed that there was a lot of broken glass under the table so I asked the employee to clean it and when I returned it wasn't. I spoke with Johnny the person in charge and he was rude and said I was a liar. He didn't want to give me his name and later did.
Later reported this incident to the customer service manager and she said would communicate with me by e-mail and to leave my info at check out.
I forgot to give my email but a quick search on their part is all that was required.
No news since. I am greatly disappointed in this hotels service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Sight, beach and food for Cuba
The weak points
Customer service is poor. All they gave me was a bottle of rum worth 7.50 pesos with the comment they couldnt find my email... I called the front desk to ask for someone to open the safe and they sent a mechanic?
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-11-20
Dear Christian, We would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar to celebrate this speial occasion. We welcome and value the ideas of our guests because with them we can achieve our goal of providing perfect holidays, therefore we will take note of your valuable feedback and will relay it to the appropriate department for their consideration. We would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused and we hope to be seeing you again soon at one of our hotels to offer you the exceptional service we are renowned for. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Laguna Azul

Great week-Needs some TLC

, Quebec City, QC
2019-11-11
This was our first time in Cuba. Chose this resort because of the layout and close to the beach. Not disappointed there. Beautiful property! Rooms needs some upgrade. We were told, it had been renovated and it wasn't. Public bathrooms and lobby furniture needs some upgrading. Other than that, it is a beautiful resort, great entertainment, wonderful staff. Other issue was the buffet where most of the food served was not labeled and I have a severe allergy to shellfish. We did not starve but stayed with the same food all week, where I knew I was safe. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff, very friendly Loved the entertainment in the lobby and the theater
The weak points
Bathroom in the bedroom, washrooms on the property and No labeling of food.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-11-14
Dear James Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on our all inclusive Iberostar Laguna Azul resort with ocean views. We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful time with us and that you enjoyed our all-day activity programme and the spectacular location. However, we regret to hear you found some elements of our hotel a little outdated. Although we know our hotel is not brand new, we invest copious time and effort into maintaining all areas in pristine condition. In addition, we will pass on your helpful ideas regarding the labelling at the buffet to the relevant department and for future reference we would like you to know that our helpful restaurant staff are always on hand to answer any questions regarding the food on offer. Once again, thank you for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again at one of our Iberostar resorts. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Laguna Azul

Iberostar Laguna Azul

, Ottawa, ON
2019-06-05
We had the best trip ever! Highly recommend and will definitely be back! Best beaches ever and wonderful people [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Wonderful experience

, North York, ON
2019-05-29
The three of us loved our stay at Iberostar Laguna Azul ! The service was fabulous....everyone treated us fantastic... Dania at the hotel makes sure everyone is enjoying their stay there. This is our fourth time at the hotel and we really loved staying there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service, massage on the beach, food, etc
The weak points
Not much here .... maybe the masuse on the beach should give us a receipt with his full name so we can claim the massage on our insurance... everything was great
Certified

Ok trip

, Fort Mcmurray, AB
2019-05-02
Hotel is ok. Our room was fine and our maid was amazing and kept our room clean and always made towel animals. Food was below par and they ran out of multiple items halfway through the week and didn't get anymore same with some drinks I bought my own and brought it to the bars to make my drinks. The staff was amazing. Weather was great and pools kept us cool. Probably wouldn't go back and that goes for Cuba itself. If u love Cuba then this hotel would be fine for u. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff amazing Pretty clean Ground nice
The weak points
Food No clean pool towels Ran out of some food and drinks Starting to become run down needs work
Certified

Iberostar Laguna Azul

, Markham, ON
2019-03-26
I enjoyed the hotel it was very nice. The rooms need a bit of work some better than others. The food was too salty and not hot unless you get your food at the grill. The gourmet restaurant was great. I was disappointed with the alcohol as the website said they have premium alcohol but they did not. The entertainment was very good and fun. The front desk was very helpful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The hotel was very nice.
The weak points
The food was not hot and too salty.
Certified

My opinion

, Bouctouche, NB
2019-03-16
Beach was great food was eatable, under staff slow service , beach service was the worse and bar service. Clean resort outside of resort very well keep inside need new furniture it a bit beaten up we stayed in ocean view suite was nice but once again need new furniture .. I would say staff was 20% friendly [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach good a la carte food
The weak points
Friendliness, furniture
Certified

Enjoyed Cuba but Wouldn't Rush Back

, St Catharines, ON
2019-03-05
Generally the staff was great, helpful and wanted to do a good job. Rooms need some TLC with safe doors, closet doors missing, needs a paint job. We were surprised with the appearance of a newer resort has been really well used.

A la carte restaurants were good but the buffet always had dirty tables, no signs to identify what you were eating. The 24 hour snack bar was disgusting with birds enjoying the buffett as well gross!!

Beach, pools and grounds were very nice well kept.

Did the Jeep and catamaran excursions both were excellent. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
A la carte restaurants, beach, pools, cleanliness of resort
The weak points
Not much to do at night, rooms need to be refurbished, elevators don't always work, 24 hour snack bar disgusting.
Certified

Beautiful resort!

, St Thomas, ON
2019-02-01
It was Excellent ! No problems ! Excellent Staff & food !
Beautiful resort ! Awesome nightly shows! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Family 2019 New Year

, Gatineau, QC
2019-01-08
Cuba knows one way capitalism... they take, but they have hard time getting quality ressources to give back.

ACCOMMODATION
The hotel is beautiful, but we quickly realised that the ground level rooms are still showing sign of the 2017 Irma passage. Strong humidity smell and molds were easily detectable in both ground level rooms they gave us at our arrival. However, the hotel staff quickly accommodated us to other rooms on the 4th and 5th floor, which i strongly recommend to any travelers apriori. Hotel is very clean, but somehow the equipment quality is unequal... some fridges will wake u up in the middle of the night and others you will need to play with the power outlet to make them work... and its the same when your talking about the gym equipment which almost 50% are just broken... so are the toasters every other day at the buffet.

FOOD
Yeah i know...you dont go to Cuba for the food... but i wasnt expecting this low level quality at an Iberostar hotel. Food management needs some work i.e. some of the buffet items were probably from last week and somehow it was difficult to make....fries! Stick to pizza which is very good and cooked vegatable.
A la carte restaurant, i only recommend Japanese...which was better than what i could get here in Canada.
... but hey, who can complain losing weight after spending 7 days in an all inclusive resort :)

POOLS
Very clean, alot of chairs...perfect

BEACH
Just WOW

ENTERTAINMENT
Very comparable to other all inclusive south destination.... however, even if i am not an expert, the ballet dance quality is very superior. The russian influence definitly gave Cuba high quality dancers.
We did the Jeep Safari Yumuri and it was simply awesome!! Strongly recommend and very family oriented. Best thing i did in an all inclusive resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and weather
The weak points
Food and general accommodation

Bad

, North Vancouver, BC
2018-12-31
The appearance of the hotel seems good and the rooms are spacious and the hotel looks beautiful. We went just a few days before Christmas time and there was not any decoration. We arrived at an odd time at about 4 oclock in the morning and had booked 2 rooms. One of the rooms was OK which we decided to keep it for our kids. The bath top in my children's room was not clean when we arrived and I had to wash it for them. The other room had some problems as water was barely coming out of the tap water and shower. the refrigerator was empty and no drinking water available. The room key was not working and the bell boy went and changed it for us. The phone in the room was not working so we could not contact the reception. There was not a note on how to ask for the services. I finally went up and asked the receptionist, they said I should just dial 0 and ask the reception for anything you need. The safe box was broken. No coffee maker or mini bar in the room. Next day after our objection to the above, the tap was repaired and phone was changed and drinking water was given to us. Then in the other room there were a lot of ants and my son found some bugs in the bed. Even though I asked for the change of bed sheet but again we found some bugs and my son refused to sleep on that cot, and I had to change my place with him. Every day we had to ask the maids to change the towels otherwise they would keep the old ones hanging on top of the bath top. In the restaurant the workers were very nice and friendly but one day we found a small coach roach on the table. All the elevators were not working and some were not working for some floors. The wash rooms in the lobby and swimming pool areas were not maintained well and sometime they were out of toilet paper. The show programs were repetitive and they were mostly talking in Spanish. IN conclusion I think the management was lacking and did not control things well. During our stay of 8 days nobody bothered to repair any of the elevators and so on... I think with a proper management and maintenance this hotel can do better. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff
The weak points
cleanliness

Iberostar Laguna Azul

, Hamilton, ON
2018-12-27
Had an amazing time at the Iberostar Laguna Azul. The accommodations, staff and beach are amazing. They should improve on the food though, since it was always cold, even when we arrived at the time the restaurant opened and it was extremely bland made with low quality ingredients. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, Flight
The weak points
Food
Certified

Horror show hotel

, Charlottetown, PE
2018-05-29
This Resort is the NIGHTMARE you hear horror stories about but rarely experience in Cuba. My expectations are low for Cuba Resorts in certain areas (Food taste especially), I have been to Cuba many times and many places around the world, but this place has challenged new things I never thought I would have to worry about - actual care for the health and lives of the people staying at the Iberostar Laguna Azul. I mean that. I question if they care if the guests live. I have photographic and video evidence of the staff, from random areas throughout this hotel, purposely refilling used bottles of water using water from the tap throughout the resort.

On top of this (caring if you leave as healthy as when you arrived), very unsafe food handling resulted in me getting food poison, unsafe (actually unsafe - not exaggerating) elevators for disabled people, and just as bad - what looks to be black mold, in the rooms ventilation systems. Specific to me is my family (7 people with 3 kids 16y, 8y, 9mos and our two elderly parents) was sprayed with Pesticide/Insecticide twice while we were eating at an A La Carte (they told me it was safe, more lies, They make their insecticide with pesticides, diesel fuel, and the jury is out if they are using DDT (neurotoxic health effects in humans, like Alzheimer's, Parkinson's disease, breast cancer, diabetes and brain development in children). The waiter was pissed we got sprayed and apologized shaking his head and saying "Why now? The baby the baby" to us. It wasn't hard to tell were good people working at this resort, we got small hesitations from their routines at various times as soon as they saw we had an infant with us.

The first day we were there, we were greeted not by an origami towel on our bed and a welcome note: we were met by 3-inch cockroaches scurrying on our floor after a long day of travel and arriving late from a bus that too had no water for us to drink - only beer.

The fridges in our adjoining rooms also had no water, only cola, and beer. When we would call and ask for water, they would LIE. "We will be there in 5 minutes"...if you called back in 10 minutes, the staff, almost like a recording would give the same spiel about having you more water in five minutes... When you called a third time - That is when the gloves would come off and they would talk over you and blame the cleaning staff... If you then walked out to talk to cleaning staff they were friendly up to the point that you asked for a bottle of water then would instantly lose their smile and would tell you to talk to the desk. If you saw water in their carts, they would say that is for the other rooms and they are not going to give it to you - and get rude about it/ignore your pleas. We were given a total of 8 bottles of 1.5 litres (6 of which was on day 4 when I threatened to cause a huge scene in the lobby during the middle of my food poisoning stint - I honestly could have gone out of consciousness or even, WHO KNOWS, died if it went on much longer - and I think they realized that and scrambled - we demanded 6 water and got it an hour later from two managers). At this point we were told the cold water was being disconnected in our room for 24 hours (yes while I was sick), and we had the choice to stay if we wanted to (the toilets would not work).. so we had to pack up 7 people (including two kids and an infant) and move to the other side of the hotel... two days later, without telling anyone, they disconnected the water to all the hotel rooms in our new side of the hotel after we moved as well as the electricity for hours. No toilets again! - The lobby was full of angry guests... they were offering petty gifts for the inconvenience in return for relieving the hotel of any liability for anything at all that happens to those guests for the entirety of their stay - shady.

On top of this -
- Dead flies in the food - or fighting for their lives to swim out of the evil clutches of molasses by the pancakes.
- Birds literally defecating on the food (I witnessed several times) as well as on people while they ate.
- Raw chicken kept close to other cooked and uncooked meats by the grill
- Undercooked meats
- Refilled used water bottles that tasted both swampy and sometimes like it was pool water - served in the bar, at a la cartes, and in the poolside portable bars.
- Bug Bites (Not just mosquito but deep red bites that itch like an allergic reaction - Bed Bugs?)
- Dirty dirty dirty rooms. Cockraoches, hair, dust, crumbs, name it, I saw it all.
- Bonus drunk guy smashing chairs and glasses against our hotel room calling out for his girl/wife Rachel at the top of his lungs two nights in a row, beating the walls and doors. The hotel staff cleaned the large pieces of glass but left the small fragments in a spot where people would frequently walk barefoot in this "Family Friendly" Hotel.
- broken safes in all rooms we were in - most missing the doors themselves.
- closets doors either painted open or doors that wouldn't open/move.
- Missing locks on patio doors.
- Non-functioning door knobs on bathrooms
- Broken shower wand holders so the shower heads lay on the floor of the tub
- Railings of the stairs either missing or have self-tapping screws sticking out (self-tapping screws for those that don't know are for metal and have extremely sharp drill bits at their points - instant cuts/stitches).
-Obvious water damage in staff areas from past hurricanes - I suspect where the mold is originating from in the guest rooms
-bugs scurrying across the floor in the food prep areas
- Broken TV's
-Dirty rooms, taps
- General -Don't care at all- in every corner
- Phones randomly working
-Worst WIFI in Cuba

We have been offered $360CAD from the hotel for 'compensation', laughable, you not only took my money, my time (preparing, travelling), but my chance of happy memories in your beautiful country with my beautiful family - SHAME ON EACH AND EVERY ONE OF YOU who know this is going on under your nose.

In the end, the Cuban people from Varadero came to our aid after our taxi driver heard our problem, he came with 6 large containers of water for us to drink he bought with his own money. Advised us to eat sparingly until we left, try to only eat bread because everything we eat was a risk. Once the hotel saw the water, we never got another bottle of water again for the next 2 days.

I'm sure their "Management" (an insult to true managers) will respond with some sort of thing about "oh we always use these reviews to improve" and all of that, but I looked back at other reviews of people saying the same sort of things I saw myself - They don't care. From the woman who had her daughter assaulted and the desk staff smile at her and say they are not calling the police (I saw this same deceit at times I was down and out at this horror show resort IBEROSTAR LAGUNA AZUL), to the people saying water was impossible to get - The way they learn and improve is to lie and bottle what I believe to be water from the pool or tap - Something that can give you a disease! Just wow. This hotel is truly a horror show, and maybe some of these 5 star reviews are people who lucked into a good time - Maybe some people are too drunk or naive to see what was happening and maybe some are insincere - But my pictures and experience doesn't lie - and I will forever feel I let my family down, exposing them to possible diseases and health problems - on a trip I wanted to create memories to cherish with my family for the rest of my life. I leave this review for the clear thinkers - YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED, I don't want to read your review of a similar experience here, or read about you on the Internet - a victim of this horror hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, beaches.
The weak points
Food safety, hotel safety, water safety, cleanliness, rude staff.

Would not return

, Conception Bay South, NL
2018-05-03
I've been to Cuba 6 times so you will get on honest review of someone who knows what to expect. We traveled from St. johns to Toronto To Varadero Everything was running smoothly, arrived on time. My sons bag was busted upon arrival but it happens - go to catch the bus , beers outside airport 3/10 on bus the same. used to be 2/5. No one on bus purchased beer.
RESORT: We arrive at the resort , I have 3 rooms booked - my room , my teens adjoining family room, and a room for my in laws. so assigned our keys. My in laws get the family room with my kids , i get their room -- my father in law was quite content with the king size bed lol until he seen the adjoining door. So once we figured that mix up out we switched around. Time for showers! no water.....ugh. apparently gone on the entire resort. I soon come to learn this will be a regular inconvenience. We walk around to have a look - just outside my door ( block 16) is a make shift area on the roof, with a tarp roof, of what looks to be the respraying of metal furniture - there are workers there in masks spraying paint all day, every day. You can smell the fumes from our deck, so we avoided this in the daytime. But im pretty sure the fumes would be getting into the ventilation system as well. probably not the safest of toxins.
POOLS :The Jacuzzis near all of the pools are empty, the waterfall feature is not working, though one evening they did turn it on for like 5 minutes. Not sure what that was all about. The pools are clean. There is very limited shade around any of the pool areas- i had to get up 6 am to reserve one - otherwise they were all gone. There was more shade on prior vacations however the issue of fixing huts etc has not seemed to be a priority. The base of the wooden canopy are there, however no material to block out the sun.
BEACH:Beautiful.The beach has plenty of huts, though chairs are hard plastic. I noticed a lot more seaweed in the morning, in past vacations this was raked up. Did not see anyone doing this - though a truck went by giving it a quick sweep - though leaving some behind. Again its not horrible.
BUFFET: 10 days ! ugh... ok so breakfast was always good, omelets, hash browns, bacon, puddings, toast , etc I made sure to get most of my protein in at that meal as did the rest of my family. Lunch and supper was almost terrible. Again I know what to expect - the line up for pasta was crazy, pizza is not made to order, plain or sparce veggies. Went fast - I guess people were trying to find something. Hot dogs were not cooked well enough, burgers were a hit or miss. Bread was good. Honestly i lived on pizza and French fries. no carving stations. Plates were not clean. Please be careful. You know when you wipe your plate with a paper towel before you put it in dishwasher?? all smudgy , well ya. They are not washed properly if at all. One day when getting a cappuccino (the best! by the way) near the beach , the guy serving was washing the mug with his thumbs, literally rinsing and scrubbing with fingers- no soap. I got it to go . lol
A LA CARTES : excellent. Get as many as you can. Best was the Japanese, Romantic and Italian
DRINKS: Beer is good, fancier drinks in lobby. Service can be a bit slow, but its a busy spot. Cant complain here.
Back to the loss of water. We lost it 3 times in 10 days, the most about 5 hours. so no showers, flushing of toilets etc. My son was in bed for 3 days with vomiting and diarrhea - I had to track down a maid to give me a bucket of water to flush to toilet. Luckily we had 2 rooms (family room) so 2 toilets. with fear of dehydration i called down to the front desk 4 times to get extra water , never did get it. I tracked down a maid and got it myself. I asked the maid to leave 2 bottle per room everyday after, and she did, Thankfully.
There was a strong sewage smell in my room every morning, til about lunch- it woke us up out of our sleep. Again I called about this and went to front desk but nothing was done to my knowledge. It was still like it on the last day. I usually leave our room about 6ish,(open patio door wide lol ) return for a few minutes to get beach bag etc and not back again until after lunch. Had i have been one to stay in my room this would be terrible.
Everything working order in room , except my boys patio door was extremely hard to open. Rooms were clean and cleaned everyday , with fresh towels - expect when they ran out of water - towels were late. But honestly we didn't really couldn't use them.
Last day i wake up, head to the washroom and almost slip- water all over the floor.The air conditioning vent is leaking - it takes 2 beach towels to soak up the water - IK give up - it continues until we leave.
So this resort really missed its mark , many improvements need to be addressed. And problems remedied.
I did however enjoy our family time, the sun and cold drinks. We made the best of it.We went to Havana and Varadero which we all enjoyed. We also enjoyed the music in the evening and sitting outside on the deck, Dont miss the outdoor rock show it was awesome. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beautiful weather
The weak points
Food, availability of shade

Un beau séjour mais...

, Québec, QC
2018-04-29
D'abord les plus: la beauté du site et de la plage; la cour intérieure avec sa végétation et sa très grande piscine est vraiment superbe. La plage est fantastique et la température a été extraordinaire 13 jours sur 14. Les restos à la carte étaient excellents quoique nous nous sommes sentis bousculés dans le resto italien et le gourmet pour en finir au plus vite afin de laisser notre place.

Les points moins positifs; nous avions payé un extra pour une chambre vue sur mer. Ça nous a pris 3 jours à l'obtenir pour ensuite la perdre une semaine plus tard à cause de problème d'eau potable. On nous a sorti de la chambre vue sur mer et la nouvelle chambre n'était pas prête; on est donc devenu itinérant après 10 jours de présence dans l'hôtel.

L'air climatisé de notre troisième chambre n'a jamais fonctionné malgré 3 demandes d'intervention.

Une intervention de traitement de petites fourmies a du être faite dans notre chambre vue sur mer au 5ième étage.

Le bar de la plage faisait l'objet d'une attente monstre quand il n'y avait qu'un seul barman.

La propreté au buffet principal laissait à désirer; quelque fois la vaiselle n'était pas propre, les coussins des chaises sont assez épouvantables de même que les napperons quelquefois. La variété au buffet faisait en sorte qu'il y avait d'interminables files aux pâtes et à la pizza. Personne n'a cependant été malade.

Les serveurs sont d'humeur variable mais sont surtout très débordés. On fait quand même un clin d'oeil à Yanisel qui après une première journée difficile a tout simplement été super extra.

Les chaises sur la plage sont en plastique dur et très inconfortables.

On a aussi eu la joie de la présence d'une bibitte bien vivante de la grosseur d'un bout de doigt dans une entrée de saumon fumé au resto à la carte italien.

Les drinks au bar particulièrement les bloody cesar et margarita était plutôt sans goût.

Les murs d'une des piscines secondaires était vraiment sales.

Le guest service à qui on demandait de l'aide avec nos problèmes de chambre nous disait n'importe quoi. Je pense qu'ils ont été dépassé par les problèmes d'eau que l'ensemble de l'hôtel a vécu pendant notre séjour.

Quelquefois, les draps et les serviettes de salles de bain étaient tachés.

Notre séjour fut quand même agréable mais particulièrement grâce à la présence de nos amis et de la belle température. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beauté du site, plage
The weak points
Chaises non confortables sur la plage, eau coupé plusieurs heures à 3 reprises, buffet, propreté, drinks sans goût

I will be back

, Po Box 102 Port Medway, NS
2018-04-09
My experience was wonderful for this resort , A little problem the first not serious but quickly fixed by the staff .food was good..Beach was beautiful.I would defiantly recommend this place and I will be returning [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Nice hotel

, Cocagne, NB
2018-04-01
The hotel was very nice. Loved the 3 pools one for having fun and two others for more quiet time. The Staff was very frindly.
I would not recommend the spa. I asked for a massage and got a wrap, and the management of the spa or the hotel expected payment anyways and did not want to take any responsibility at all.
If you are wanting to party downtown, then you should try another resort as this one is almost as the end of the peninsula [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
pools and hotel staff
The weak points
Spa
Certified

Weekend getaway

, Toronto, ON
2018-02-28
This was our third time in Cuba and our first time at Iberostar Laguna Azul. The hotel staff were super friendly and the service was good too. I especially liked being served drinks at the pool [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, good food, and good service.
The weak points
In need of some repairs and upkeeping.
Certified

Not a 4 or 5 Star Resort any more...

, Merritt, BC
2017-12-07
We were very disappointed on our second trip to this resort. We first went 4 years ago with 5 other couples and just loved it. I believe that the ownership or management may have changed since. Food & Service was just acceptable this time! All of the Hot Tubs were sitting (drained) empty, {Go figure?} Most likely "Out of Service" Rooms were not bad, But of course older after 4 years. But I would not highly recommend this resort this time around, But sure would have 4 years ago. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice and Clean Resort, But not a 4 or 5 Resort any more!
The weak points
Food and Service have gone down since our last visit 4 years ago!
Certified

Good – not great vacation in Varadero

, Burnaby, BC
2017-07-13
My wife and I had a good – not a great vacation in Varadero, but only because we didn't let “little” things to bother us so much, for the most of our stay in Iberostar Laguna Azul Resort. Where to start? Beach is beautiful and a real highlight of our trip. Unfortunately, Iberostar Laguna Azul Resort is just a shadow of a resort we visited in 2011. I cannot tell if this trend exists in other hotels in Cuba since we chose to visit this resort again based on great experience from 6 years ago. There are numerous “hidden” service cuts at all levels. For example during our 7 days stay, we managed to change beach towels only 3 times. You get stuck with a dirty, wet towel that you have to carry in your room. They do not give you a towel card to leave a dirty towel with them like every other resort because they probably know that they will not have clean towel next day. I counted my 10 attempts to get a clean towel and I succeeded to get them only 3 times. Food – You will not be hungry, but the quality and choices of food are limited. A la cart – only Japanese restaurant was up to the level, the other two that we visited were average at best. Be prepared to wait 5-10 minutes in line for barbecue any time or for eggs in the morning. Quite often nobody asks you for a drink or if you order it you may not get it at all. Staff for the most of the part was accommodating, especially servers in the main lobby by the reception, but bar staff by the lobby will ignore you even if you are alone there.
And “icing” on everything, my wife's brand new Michael Kors sandals were stolen between the hotel room and our home. We cannot pinpoint where they were stolen. We noticed it when we were unpacking our bags at home. One thing is for sure we didn't leave them behind in the room, but we had our language packed evening before we left and obviously we didn't check if everything was still in the bag before we left the room. My wife remembers having them in the bag day before we checked out when she was packing our clothing. Next morning we spent some time on the beach, came back to our room grabbed the language and left. Before leaving the room we checked every corner of our room and nothing was left. This happened to us for the first time in more than 20 different destinations we visited in the last 10-15 years. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach is beautiful and a real highlight of our trip.
The weak points
Numerous “hidden” service cuts at all levels
Certified

Iberostar Laguna Azul

, Kamloops, BC
2017-05-31
We were disappointed in this 5 star hotel. We did not get the king size bed that we had requested. They had us in a twin bed room. When I complained, reception took about 10 minutes looking for a king size bed for us. We went to check it out and were very disappointed. The mattress seemed to be about worn out and the air conditioning did not seem to work so we took the twin bed room because we were not offered anything else. The mattresses were better but still old and uncomfortable. They seemed like they were children's mattresses with not much support. The pillows were almost non existent with not much stuffing in them. On the wall between the beds were two lamps with moldy lamp shades. You could tell everything in the room was the original. Sheers on the patio window were dirty and ripped. The bedspread looked like it was hardly ever washed so we removed them from the beds. On first glance the place looked clean because the floors are very shiny but there is quite a bit of dirt around the perimeter. The holder for the shower head was broken so we had to hold the shower head in our hands to rinse off. Sometimes we had to fill the pail inside the garbage can with water to flush the toilet completely. We understand that Cuba in general and this resort was short of water so we kept our bath towels for 4 days before getting new ones. My request for 2 bottles of water a day sometimes worked and sometimes didn't. I think the chamber maid did not always have the supply all the time. She told me another bottle and clean towels would come later. Sometimes I would have to go down to the desk and request at 1030 at night because we had not received them. I do not think this was the fault of the maid but who ever was supposed to bring the items after she was off shift.The bright side was that I found one cockroach in 2 weeks. I thought I would find more just because of the climate. We did not have food in our room which greatly helps. I do not think the hallways and stairs are cleaned very often. There was dog poop I think on the stairs that had been walked in and tracked up and down and was there for 3 or 4 days until I grabbed a maid and showed her. It was kind of cleaned up to a point but a piece that was on our part of the stairs was still there when we left(9 days after the fact) I always took the stairs because the elevators were very run down inside the ones that were functioning. Food safe seems to be non existent. The food in the buffet is put out a good hour before the doors are open and there seems to be no way to keep the food hot or cold. The eggs used for the omelets have chicken poop all over the outside of them. Having raw egg yolk drizzled over an almost cooked omelet is a common occurrence. Ants were in the canned peaches one day and had walked over to the pineapple and when they got put out again a few days later the ants were still there. The only time lobster was offered was for an extra cost so we opted out of that. The special restaurants for the most part were just offering pretty well what was in the buffet. Very disappointing because usually that is where you expect to find a higher quality of food and service. Exterior building and walkway and hallway interior lights were missing and we saw bare wires on missing walkway lights that were poorly taped off causing a hazard. For a 5 star we expected better. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Did not see many bugs which is amazing in that type of climate. The staff were for the most part friendly and understood english enough to get by.
The weak points
Food safe, building maintenance and poor quality beds and pillows. It may have been a 5 star when it first opened but not now. Hotel rating should be reevaluated every year to adjust hotel rating.
Certified

Excellent resort

, Waterloo, ON
2017-05-08
Great place for a vacation. We were a group of 8. Our stay was overall good, but not everything was good, Oh well it's Cuba. Checking in was very efficient. Any issued that came up was looked after. The ground of this resort is beautiful, clean, great service and lot's of food. Lot's of variety to choose from the main buffet was ok for Cuba, but we find the food was a bit repetitive. They need to make some changes on the menus. Food at the a la carte restaurants was amazing. We all wish we could have eaten at the la carte more. Our room we had some issues, we had two twin beds. We wish we had a king size bed, because it was very uncomfortable to sleep together, most of the time we slept seperate. The room needed some TLC. The closet door Feld off on my husband, the shower head also came off while he was taking a shower. The second day we had another issue with the toilet not flushing, they came twice and the third time it was fixed. We did overlook these problem and try to enjoy our stay. Our maid Janet that clean our room 19205 did an excellent job, with our towels beautiful decorated with flowers. Entertainment was great, always something going on. The staff keep's you entertained during the day and at night, they was never a boring time for us. The people on this resort was very friendly and out going, and went the extra to make our stay enjoyable, also the beach is amazing, no problem getting a chair. The guys working on the beach always took care of us every morning setting up our chairs at our favorite spot, not pushy for tips, but we always gave for they kindness and hard work. We all had a wonderful time and would definitely go back if we can get better rooms. Planning to bring some friends on our next trip. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021