Muthu Playa Varadero

Muthu Playa Varadero
3.233.233.233.233.23
3.23 based on 939 reviews
#28 of 65 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Varadero
Rated 3.5 stars
Traveller pictures (260)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Cubans only .... never again !!!

, Vancouver, BC
2019-09-27
We had a fair experience first two days and the last day, in between, the resort was flooded with local guests, this is where all became a nightmare, bad service everywhere, the food wasn't that good and it became even unavailable, we had to laterally prepare our table every time and very rude people at the reception, we've witnessed another Canadian lady crying because of their rude service while asking for a very basic service !!!
Never again ....!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- Everything with in few minutes walk - Beach is great (Thanks mother nature!!)
The weak points
- Grumpy personnel everywhere, even if you tip them, with few exceptions - You have to ask for clean towels and sheets EVERYTIME - Pool is not as clean as you'd expect
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2019-12-27
Dear: We thank you endlessly for choosing us to enjoy your holiday and share your experiences with us. We are sorry for the inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay with us, but we assure you that when you repeat your visit you will find a much more pleasant atmosphere. The time when you visited us coincides with the Cuban holiday period, so we receive many national clients with various customs and practices. We are taken by surprise by the fact that he has been mistreated at the reception, but we will take the necessary actions to amend the situation. We would have liked to have received your opinion while you were at the hotel and that way we would have taken immediate action. We reiterate our apology and invite you to visit us again for personalized attention. Best regards

Muthu trip

, Pefferlaw, ON
2019-04-06
Overall 7/10 Clean, comfortable great beach [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach pool bar food and service
The weak points
Staff could've been more friendly dang bugs pool needs daily cleaning
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2019-04-15
Dear Derek Rumley We thank you for choosing Muthu Playa Varadero for the enjoyment of your vacation and that you have taken part of your time to share the impressions of your stay at our hotel. We are very happy to have met your expectations and our staff appreciates your words. An investment program has been made in some areas of the facility, which include the kitchen, buffet, pool, technical renovations, which according to the schedule, which were planned for this stage are executed without difficulty We hope to have it in another occasion in our hotel. Best regards

Playa

, Mississauga, ON
2018-10-07
Under renovation very bad [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Na
The weak points
Nothing good to say very very sad
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2019-02-11
Dear Domagoj Mulalic, Mississauga, We are infinitely grateful that you have taken part of your time to share the impressions of your stay at our hotel Muthu Playa Varadero. An investment program has been carried out in all areas of the facility, with the aim of enhancing the image of Muthu Playa Varadero. The rooms, in particular, are painted, they solve details as soon as they need it. In addition, they are well equipped with all the elements established in the standards, which is supervised and certified before our clients arrive at the Hotel. It is good to know that you enjoy our gastronomic services buffet restaurant, snack bar, ranchón beach and specialized restaurants. The safety and quality of our beaches maintain their level, so that customers like you take it into account as a reason to return. We would like to visit you one more time and continue to be part of this great MGM Hotels family. Best regards

Stay away until Muthu takes over

, Mississauga, ON
2018-08-20
I was staying in Havana and I purchased a one day trip All inclusive to Varadero (transfers included) from the local rep at Sunwing. We did not care much for the place, we just wanted to have a day on the beach. This hotel has major issues, in the common bathroom area there was no toilet paper - men or women... We had to go and ask for it. We were not able to eat the food - it was disgusting, cold and served army style, from large containers. Some stuff was just a brown goo, which we did not dare touch. We could only drink beer, all of the cocktails are made from frozen or chemical mixes - no real fruits here. I have not seen the rooms, however from people staying here, I have understood there was a great need of repairs all over the place. My husband adventured to ask for a hamburger at the pool bar - it was actually fried bologna. So, please, do yourself a favour and do not go here until Muthu takes completely over this resort and management is changed. There are 2 good sides and I do hope the new owner will take advantage of them: people working here were very nice (except the kitchen staff - they were really gloomy) and the biggest plus is the wonderful beach. The beach is beautiful, clean - outstanding. I hope things will change in the future for this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Pro
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2019-02-08
We are infinitely grateful that you have taken part of your time to share the impressions of your stay at Muthu Playa Varadero and that you have enjoyed with your family and friends. Rest assured that your observations have been taken with the utmost seriousness and addressed to the relevant departments. For months we are in a process of improvement with the aim of eliminating this type of experience and as you ask us, help other vacationers to enjoy the beautiful beach, with family just like you. We feel the situation presented and we hope to have it in another occasion in our hotel. Best regards.

Muthu Playa Varadero

, Mississauga, ON
2018-08-15
We enjoyed our vacation at this hotel. Older hotel, but it was clean, air-conditioned. The only problem was the door, we had hard time to open. The staff were friendly…The food and service was good. The beach and the water are the best. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2019-02-06
Thank you very much for choosing Muthu Playa Varadero to enjoy your holidays and share your experiences. All our staff will be happy to hear that we meet your expectations and enjoy the beach, pool, cafeteria and other areas. We wish your next visit as soon as you wish. Best regards.

Got what we paid for

, Toronto, ON
2018-04-29
Before booking here please understand this is a resort in transition. It was recently bought and changes are happening as your stay progresses. Overall it wasn't a horrible experience. There was plenty of hot water in the room. Too bad they couldn't use some of that hot water in the warming trays on the buffet. I've never eaten so much cold food in my life. Unless you were getting it right off the grill all other food was cold or tepid at best. The room was cleaned everyday, however, they neglected to sweep the balcony all week. The internet service was good, however, it was only available in the lobby and you had to pay 1 peso per hour to use it. Needless to say there were many many people in the lobby everyday.
The resort was overrun with families with children for the first portion of our stay as it was spring break from school for all of Cuba. Check your dates before booking unless a full family experience is what you are looking for. The evening entertainment was actually quite good and worth staying up for. Once the families all left the main buffet was not used at lunch time and we had to traipse down to the beach bbq restaurant....not easy to do for those who had mobility issues. The pool bar/cafe stopped being open 24hrs without any notice. The coffee bar in the lobby (which was hugely popular and had awesome coffee) stopped being open at 7am with no notice. We were left with drinking the instant crap from the machine in the main buffet room. Changing money was easy but not the best rate. Better to change it at a bank in Varadero. Also, one day you could do it without signing anything and then all of a sudden we had to provide our room number and signature. As stated earlier, we didn't find it horrible, however, we probably won't be staying here again...at least not until the new owners have finished their renovations and changes. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, great beach, lots of loungers, clean pool, hot water, good nightly entertainment
The weak points
Cold/tepid food temps, a/c couldn't be regulated, broken equipment, rules/procedures changed frequently, elevators iffy,
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2019-02-08
Dear mlberg, We are infinitely grateful that you have taken part of your time to share the impressions of your stay at Muthu Playa Varadero Rest assured that your observations have been taken with the utmost seriousness and addressed to the relevant departments. For months we are in an investment process with the aim of eliminating this type of experience and as you ask us, help other vacationers to enjoy the beautiful beach, with family just like you. We feel the situation presented and we hope to have it in another occasion in our hotel. Best regards.

We had a great vacation!!

, London, ON
2018-04-15
better then last year, improved [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
catamaran and dolphin suncruise was awesome!!
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2019-02-08
Dear Andy Hofmans We thank you for choosing Muthu Playa Varadero for the enjoyment of your vacation. All our staff will be happy to know that we met your expectations during your stay. We keep improving to meet the needs of our customers We look forward to your return as soon as you wish. Best regards.

Great price for a small resort!!

, Saint Thomas, ON
2018-04-08
My friend and I were looking for a week away to relax and refresh and that's exactly what we got! This small resort - although dated - had a fabulous beach, decent selection of food and drinks, and lots of entertainment (if that's what you're looking for)! Can't beat the blue water and white sand!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach was fantastic... tended to be very windy in the afternoons. Lots of good spots by the pool when the wind got to be too much. Food selection was decent, bread choices were top notch! Most staff was were very friendly (tips help).
The weak points
Dated hotel - some rooms better than others. If you want a good spot by the pool or on the beach, be prepared to get up between 0530-0700 to claim your spot. All the nighttime shows start at 2200hr.
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2019-02-11
Dear Iluvcuba, Saint Thomas We thank you for visiting Hotel Muthu Playa Varadero and we are pleased to know that you enjoyed our rooms, the Animation activities and some of our dishes. Our team works according to the clients that visit us to meet their needs. Muthu Hotels appreciates your recommendations and be sure that they are taken into account. We hope to have you back soon. Best regards.

Good Resort

, Toronto, ON
2018-04-03
Staff was very friendly and food was good. Some of the doors could have used a fresh coat of paint, but that was our only negative observation. The beach was fantastic.
We were happy with the quality of the resort for the price we paid. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent beach, and decent food.
The weak points
Some painting needed.
Certified

Muthu playa

, Barhead, BC
2018-03-30
The atmosphere at the hotel was great. Staff were Very helpful & friendly.Food was good, but remember we r not at home & they use different spices.Rooms were ok, need some TLC, but were comfy & clean. Would go again.
Livia, Ab. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great Trip

, Hamilton, ON
2018-03-23
Over all this is a great place. The foods was good that my friend and I had. If you go to this resort just remember that the air conditioning was cold for us most of the time. So we turn the breaker off to the air conditioning when needed. The resort is dated and needs some work and they where sprucing it up with some paint when we were there. We were told that this resort is 18 years old. Our shower water was good for us but not for 2 friends that we met there. I thought this resort was a walk in to the pool but it is not. There are not tubs at lest we didn't have one. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
nice beach small resort so everything is not to far away
The weak points
Same activities on the board daily except what they were playing in the theater. For us the disco was not what we thought.
Certified

As good as it gets

, Vancouver, BC
2018-02-06
You go to Cuba for sandy beach. Make sure you pick the right month. Going to Playa de Oro or Golden beach rezort, now Muthu, you need to get an uprage while booking to have at least the pool view room. That way you are in the centre of the rezort and activities. The hotel is not big, everything is close, you don't have to walk long distances.
Lots of young couples with small children.
Be prepared that you can ran into all sorts of shortages, e.g. clean towels, hot water, and sometimes even food if you're late, etc.
Food selection is not bad but it's not good. We were mostly eating sandwiches. Bread is very good.
This hotel is relatively inexpensive so you get what you pay for.
People that work there are nice.
The rezort has a new owner now so things are improving [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Sandy beaches, relatively small rezort, everything is close. Good entertaining
The weak points
Very limited number of restaurants, only 2. Hotel is designed that every facility is open thus could get drafty when windy
Certified

CAUTION - YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR.

, Lethbridge, AB
2018-01-22
The Cuban staff were very good. Always pleasant and willing to go out of their way to assist you. The rooms and facilities were low end. The showers were tepid at best. The card powered room locks were unreliable. Sometime it took as many as 10 tries to open our door. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Quality of Cuban staff was excellent.
The weak points
Rooms and other facilities require a great deal of simple maintenance. Since labour is so cheap in Cuba I am surprised this has not happened.
Certified

Playe de Oro - Amazing Beach - OK Hotel

, Calgary, AB
2017-12-04
Playe de Oro sits on Amazing stretch of beach - the hotel is OK almost fully recovered from the Huricane - Beach Bar-Restaurant just opened Nov 29. Pool is great - but watch out for a 1cm metal rebar between the pools. Food and drink selection was ok, Rooms were clean only hallway side of doors had some bleached mold on it - but it was taken care of due to moisture in the air. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
amazing beach , good location, great pool, nice layout,not too small or too big
The weak points
still recovering from Hurricane, could use more attention to details, rooms could use stocked mini fridge and bottled water
Certified

Already looking to go back!!

, Welland, ON
2017-11-02
This was our 2nd visit and we were equally pleased with our stay at this resort. The staff is friendly and helpful. The room was cold and comfortable and the drinks and food delicious. There was lots to do in the evenings with the events the resort plans everyday! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff make this resort wonderful for me. They are friendly, helpful and do their jobs well. I looked forward to coming back to the room daily to see what the maid designed for us
The weak points
The chairs in the lobby bar are really uncomfortable. Sitting on wicker wearing shorts is painful
Certified

The air The air-conditioner is a little cool

, Montréal, QC
2017-08-16
everything is very good.The Internet speed meter in the lobby is faster .just The air-conditioner is a little cool for us [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach is very beautiful and the food in the restaurant is also very rich .Drink a variety of drinks in the bar .
The weak points
The air-conditioner is a little cool for us
Certified

Great place!

, Maple Ridge, BC
2017-06-07
Had a great stay here. Room was kept very clean, food was good, and the beach was amazing! The pool had easy access, and I appreciated the gradual entry into the water due to my bad knee. I chose this resort because it is small and casual. I'd happily stay here again! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, cleanliness, food
The weak points
Wifi, spa
Certified

Ne retournerais pas

, Boisbriand, QC
2017-04-27
Moi et ma fille désirions oubliés notre passage a cet hôtel. Outre la plage et la piscine et de nouvelles connaissances nous ne retournerions pas à cet endroit. Il n'y a pas assez d'assiettes et de coutellerie et sont d'une propreté douteuse.
La nourriture est médiocre pain moisi dans le buffet ça coupe l'appétit alors manger seulement ce qui est cuit devant vous par le chef et à la piscine et le petit resto sur le bord de la plage question de survie. Les resto dit à la carte sont passable. L'hôtel complet a besoin d'un coup de pinceau chambres inclus. Les salles de bain douche brisée, toilette qui coule, etc.. j'en passe. Changer de chambre le 3ième jour sur un séjour de cinq jours. Le staff est courtois sans plus. Pour le prix j'aurais aimé plus puisque des amis sont allés dans d'autres hôtel avec le même nombre d'étoiles et étaient beaucoup mieux. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Cuba holiday 2017

, Gatineau, QC
2017-04-25
Lovely spot in Varadero nestled amongst beautiful palms and greenery. Peaceful and relaxing, very warm and gentle breezes. Viva Cuba!
Though dated and in need of a face-lift, this resort is pretty good as it is. Why go to Cuba if not for the climate and experience? The important thing is the personal comfort and interaction with staff. The rest is icing on the cake. The activities put on by the resort were terrific. Nightly shows were awesome and the lobby bar music and dancing was very well gone and typical of the culture. A nice way to start the evening off.
It is a 4 star hotel to Cuban standards.. not Canadian, where it may be a 3 star. We, as tourists, must remember that when travelling. Our high expectations can lead to great disappointment when not keeping the differences in mind.
Overall, resort datedness excluded, it was a terrific holiday all things considered.
Gracia Playa de Oro !!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff were awesome. Drinks plentiful and well prepared. Quiet at night after show finished. Food well prepared and plentiful. Resort layout was great. Shop prices very reasonble.
The weak points
Internet access very sporadic. Chaise chairs unavailable at pool area, all taken by 7am. Shower wafer pressure very poor but hot water was available for me. Some had none all week. Bacteria infection received from pool or ocean but is under treatment.
Certified

Unpleasant leave

, Halifax, NS
2017-04-19
there check out time sucks.....no matter when u leave resort by bus...check out is 12 noon...not right if you have a late evening flight.....my bus wasn t til 7pm...n checkout at 12...was not good...n my room wasn t booked either...but they wanted 25.00 pesos...to have room til 5pm....but friends who left on wed. that week...had a room til 3pm...n were charged nothing.
also...night I arrived....after 20 min. wait....still never saw a bellboy...so I went n found my own room.
I also think...place needs some tlc...needs some repairs....patio doors don't all lock. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
entertainment in evenings , were awesome
The weak points
front desk were unpleasant n sometimes answered u...before u even asked a question.
Certified

2nd time there, will go back again

, Saint Hubert, QC
2017-03-20
We stayed there a couple of years ago and were happy, so we went back. It's a nice hotel with extremely friendly staff, and it is generally clean and well-kept, although things like getting light bulbs replaced can take time (i.e. next day).

It is often hard to find a chair at the pool or the beach, although this has more to do with guests staking their claim for the day by leaving their towels when they are absent for long periods than any real shortage on the hotel's part, although they could adopt some sort of policy to restrict this.

The quality and variety of food in the main cafeteria has improved significantly, and we were happy to see the bar and restaurant close to the beach were open this time.

We were disappointed in the poolside snack bar, which no longer offers coffee, and has drastically reduced the quality of the sandwiches we enjoyed so much last time.

We were also a bit disappointed in our two a la carte meals, which were much better last time.

Wifi access (available in the lobby) is intermittent at best, but that's more of a Cuba thing than a failing of the hotel.

There is a good variety of various activities and entertainment daily for those looking to do more than veg out at the beach or pool. Pedalboats and kayaks are also included, with enough that it is rare to have to wait for one.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and will likely return, but keep in mind that 4 stars in Cuba is 3 stars by Canadian standards. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, good cafeteria food, clean rooms, daily activities and entertainment, pedalboats/kayaks included.
The weak points
Poolside snack bar disappointing, beach and pool chairs hard to get, wifi pathetic.
Certified

Traveller

, Mississauga, ON
2017-03-09
i had a very good experience staying here. staff was friendly . the resort was very nice , clean. the beach was beautiful. i liked the lay out of the resort, it had a patio open space feel to it. i really enjoyed the entertainment that it provided every night with the live singers and a theater show every night. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

It's wonderful vacation

, Montreal, QC
2017-01-23
It's wonderful vacation, the scenery is good, the service is good.. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

We had the best time!

, Lindsay, ON
2017-01-19
Clean, friendly resort. Very relaxing. My kids are 11 & 13 and they had so much fun! My husband and I particularly enjoyed the coffee bar in the lobby. Perfect place to relax. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing beach, beautiful resort, friendly staff
The weak points
Buffet was the same everyday, after day 3 it was time for a change
Certified

Girls getaway

, London, ON
2017-01-13
5 times to Cuba, 3rd one in varadero . This was the worst resort I have been to. A majority of the staff were rude. Never experienced that in Cuba . Rooms need a lot of work. Beach always beautiful in Cuba . International ala carte was aweful, Cuban was good. Did I have a good time? Yes cause of the company I went with but very disappointed in the resort . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach.
The weak points
The staff were rude and not what I expected for ,Cuba, door to room didn't close properly, rooms were clean but had holes in wall and rusty lamps, avoid international a la carte, Cuban was good, bring your own towel and they often run out of them.
Certified

2016

, Avonport, NS
2016-12-28
The Hotel was overall good, however, there were a couple of issues...there were no controls for the air conditioner, you actually have to switch the breaker off behind your door. The staff were very pleasant except the desk staff. The biggest problem however was the resort next door. There Discotheque stage was behind our room complex, and it was horribly loud every night till 430 am. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location was very Central
The weak points
The loud music from neighbouring resort.
Certified

Not a 4 start as we know it

, Kamloops, BC
2016-12-25
the hotel was nice enough, but needs a lot of TLC. However the maids/cleaning staff did a good job of cleaning the rooms. Both my husband and I broke out with a sever rash, we are not sure if it was from the cleaning products or the food/drinks. We thought at one point it might be bed bugs, but we checked the mattresses and couldn't see anything with the naked eye. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location and beaches
The weak points
needs TLC
Certified

Playa de Oro

, Charlottetown, PE
2016-12-12
Great manager and staff who were always willing to help make your stay enjoyable. Small complex (400 rms), space, our rm. was very clean, great beach, food typical Cuban fare for tourists. Great place to get "the Cuban experience". Fidel died so no entertainment for 9 days.Ouch! Really missed the music! Private trip to Havana great! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Management and staff! Small complex. Great beach.Landscape and birds great.
The weak points
The property could use some $capital,ie. paint and patio stones around pool are tired. Sand flies are nasty devils even with good spray.
Certified

Awesome

, Kingston, NS
2016-10-14
Stayed here with a group of 8, most of us for our first Cuba experience. We had an amazing time! The workers all so friendly and helpful, pool, beach, restaurants and grounds clean and well maintained. The rooms are simple and functional. Wifi can be purchased for 2 CUC but doesnt work all the time (not a priority for us so we didn't mind) there is a good variety of food on the buffet and in the restaurants & the service is excellent! Our table was ready for us most days & there was no shortage of drinks. The beach is beautiful and the ocean like bath water. We all had such a great time! Can't wait for my next trip to Cuba! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, beach, location
The weak points
Wifi access, public bathrooms, no bathroom close to the beach
Certified

Good value for money!

, Stoney Creek, ON
2016-10-02
The buildings need some work....leaks and mould. Overall, however, I enjoyed my stay due to the exceptional staff, good food and beautiful beach! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff definintely were the strong points! Especially Tony and all the activity staff.
The weak points
The buildings need repair. Leaks in the hallways make it a falls risk and mould was evident.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021