Fiesta Americana Punta Varadero

Fiesta Americana Punta Varadero
3.233.233.233.233.23
3.23 based on 622 reviews
#26 of 63 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Varadero
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (213)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Not worth the money

, Winnipeg, MB
2020-02-21
First on the second evening there, while we were taking a nap someone broke into our room and stole my husband's cell phone from beside his head, while escaping he ran into the table and woke me up, we went to go after him but he was long gone. There are no instructions by the phone to call the front desk and I have a walking problem so it took awhile for us to report it. They never did anything to help us except for moving to a different location closer to the desk.
At the resort you would be lucky if you found a bathroom that had a toilet seat, toilet paper and soap to wash your hands. I would expect this from out in the village not at the resort.
The bars were very few and very far between, you have a looooong beach but it takes you an hour to walk to the bar, stand in line because everyone is there and then walk back. It would be best if another couple of bars were set up along the beach. Overall I would give the resort a 2/5. The workers were fabulous and the food was good. But that's it.
By the way when we got back to Canada we tracked the phone at a pawn shop 2 hours away from our resort. (Inside job) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
People were kind and food was good
The weak points
Always being toilet paper! Change you money at the bank no matter what! Lock your doors!!!
Certified

Fiesta Ameŕicana Punta Varadero

, Perth, ON
2020-02-10
The weather was wonderful with the exception of 1 huge downpour of about 20 minutes duration at about 7:30 p.m.
The coffee in the restaurant was only available at breakfast and was lukewarm and undrinkable. The coffee and cappuccino in the cafe bar and lobby was exceptional.
Food was plentiful but repetitious. Servers were friendly and polite.
The rooms were adequate. Two improvements would been facecloths and bigger bars of soap. In future I would take my own beach towel. BUG SPRAY in the early morning and at supper time is a must. I was glad of my holiday in the sun. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly people and good conversation with people i met there. Great beach and weather
The weak points
Undrinkabke coffee in the restaurant. Beach towel deposit of 15 CUC or 15US meant having to change $$ at reception and maybe getting it back in the same currency. When advertised as free it should be FREE.
Certified

Disappointed

, Port Dover, ON
2020-02-04
To be honest, overall it was disappointing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice grounds and Libby. Beautiful and we'll maintained pools. Most of staff were pleasant and professional. Room layout was nice. Comfortable mattress. Nice location. Great beach.
The weak points
Room was not clean. Sheets, floor, bathtub, curtains, bedsheets and countertops were either dirty or stained. Door lock malfunction 4days. Sink, towels not cleaned. WAter rationed and not stocked 4days. Closet door didn't close. Some rude staff.
Certified

I love this hotel !

, Montréal, QC
2019-12-20
I have a fantastic 6 day in fiesta Americana punta varadero Hotel with my kids.the room is clean ,the staff was very nice .thank you very much. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Bad experience

, Braeside, ON
2019-11-30
First time I ever lost weight on vacation. We have stayed three other times in Varadero at 3* to 4* resorts before and had much better experiences. I will probably return to Cuba again but NOT to this resort, [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great People throughout the resort. I needed a doctor and one was available immediately and the doctor was great. Any time we met he always asked how I was feeling.
The weak points
Food not very tasty, not well cooked, not warm, sometimes almost raw and little variety. The public washrooms on the resort had no toilet paper or hand towels to dry hands after washing.
Certified

Bad hotel

, North York, ON
2019-08-31
The hotel staff was unfriendly and my room was full of ants. When they switched my room it was in the furthest building where they where doing repairs with constant banging all day. The food was terrible and the pools were only for kids. The 24 hour snack bar Not fit for a dog the bar at the beach served warm beer. I will never stay there again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great place.......

, Pointe Du-Chene, NB
2019-05-05
Great staff....great resort....lots of great food and drinks.....beautiful beach!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff that treated us like family
The weak points
We had many bug bites after rainy periods which had resulted in a hospital visit the day we arrived back home....8hours in the emergency ward from the swelling and pain in both feet and ankles....am now on meds and bed rest for several days.....
Certified

Fantastic Experience

, Glace Bay, NS
2019-04-29
The main lobby of the resort is wide open to the elements (I'm guessing this would be the case for most of the other resorts too??). This wide openness gave me the feeling of a very expansive world to explore. We had a slight issue with the reservations... they gave us a single room with 1 king sized-bed where we had booked a double occupancy with 2 double beds.. the problem was quickly fixed. After that, we spent the rest of that first day walking around and getting familiar with the rest of the resort and doing a currency exchange at the resort.
On day two, we met with our travel representative, Rayden, who gave us the run down on what to expect around the resort, he let us know when to be in the lobby when it came time to leave on our last day there, etc. He also gave us a brief description of all the available excursions and prices.
As for the food on the resort (supper).... rice is a staple of the Cuban diet so expect to see a lot of different rice dishes... also there where a lot of different foods (fish, chicken, pork, potatoes, etc...) served that just didn't look all that appetizing to me (I'm not too adventurous when it comes to food) so I tried to stick to foods that looked more Canadian (mind you some of the chicken and pork meals were delicious). For tea drinkers out there, apparently they only serve tea at breakfast... even then the tea isn't all that good so bring your own... the coffee wasn't much better! Also at breakfast there was a number of different foods available as well as the old standbys (scrambled eggs, bacon, etc...) or if you wanted eggs cooked differently you could visit the chef at the back of the restaurant and have eggs cooked the way you liked them, this included omelettes with a variety of toppings!! Snack bars were located in 2 or 3 different areas around the resort which usually served toasted chicken or tuna sandwiches, hot dogs and cheese burgers and of course anything you wanted to drink!
Our room was quite comfortable although a little run down (some updating couldn't hurt) and was kept fairly clean every day by staff. Incidentally, the bigger the tip , the more things got done in our room it seemed!
Overall, I loved how the resort itself is pretty spread out... you didn't seem to be far away from anything... and it is a big resort with some 1200 rooms. There was one incident where there was a strong odour of sewage coming from one of the other housing "blocks" that hit you almost immediately as you approached it!! The smell disappeared after a few days... I didn't spend much time in any of the pools as sun bathing at the beach and swimming in the ocean is more my thing. Absolutely beautiful white-sand beaches and warm ocean water (75 to 80 degrees). All in all, it was a great experience and wouldn't hesitate to go back... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very friendly knowledgeable staff; the layout of the resort itself; clean white-sand beaches
The weak points
Our room, although comfortable felt run down; the odour of sewage coming from another "block" that took too long to remedy. EVERYBODY looking for a tip!
Certified

Very Solid Experience

, Scarboroguh, ON
2019-04-25
Exceeded expectations [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, varied food options
The weak points
Last resort at the end of Varadero, not enough security by poolside
Certified

Vaca in Veradero

, Scarborough, ON
2019-04-21
The country is still developing which is understandable but is no excuse for the lack of cleanliness. They need more staff on the grounds to get things done. I would not stay there unless the cleanliness was drastically improved.
The staff had attitude towards people if they thought you were a local. There should be awareness for tipping because they're is alot of it and it's expect. Also, it's better to change money in a cuban bank than at the airport.
Don't buy replant in cuba; buy it before because the ones there don't work well. We also had to bring the toilet paper from our room because there was none available off the resort or in the public bathrooms. You have to pay for toilet paper off the resort.
It smoker friendly which is not always good because children and non smokers have to tolerate the smoke. They can smoke anywhere. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness really needs to be improved especially the dirty ponds that breed mosquitos. They also need to spray the resort more often
The weak points
We met someone who had visited there 11 times and mentioned that all the resorts are the same
Certified

Not recommend

, Oakville, ON
2019-04-17
Front desk ppl are so ruled .food is not good , mist server are not happy , not smile , probably they are all rich and don't need make extra tips .
Entertaining team are the best !
They are the best team , (accept some are still not smile at all time ) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Entertaining team are the best
The weak points
Front desk ppl are not nice at all.
Certified

Great stay

, Toronto, ON
2019-04-14
The hotel was great, the staff was wonderful and the beach was good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Hotel is wonderful. The Staff was great. The beach was great.
The weak points
Internet is not available in the room. Entertainment staff asking for tips.
Certified

Affreux, à éviter

, Sainte-Catherine-De-La-Jacques-Cartier, QC
2019-03-31
Nous déconseillons cet hôtel à toute famille.

Selon nous,cela devrait être affiché comme étant un 2 étoiles.

Ouvert aux Cubains, pas propre du tout,mal entretenu, besoin d'amour, manque d'assiettes au buffet, on doit débourser 15 pesos par serviette de plage (qu'il vous remettent à la fin du voyage).

Site était vide de touriste,donc aucune action ou activité pour les enfants.

Après moins de 24 heures,nous avons payé un extra afin de changer d'hôtel (a notre grand bonheur) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Aucun
The weak points
Voir commentaires

Good for Cuba.

, London, ON
2019-02-28
I'll just give you the abbreviated point form version and leave it up to you to decide which points are pros or cons
-You have to leave a $15 cuc deposit for a beach towel.
-Coffee in buffet is awful, but the coffee bar in lobby and one just to the south of the lobby is really good. 
-Mosquitoes are brutal at night and in the early morning.   Bring spray
-A couple non functional lamps in the room
-No clock in the room
-Only wifi in the lobby area @ 1 cuc per hour.  It can run video chat apps.
-Breakfast starts at 7:30 which was occasionally an inconvenience.  Most excursions pick you up at 7:30 or before, so the only food available is a hotdog ot hamburger from the 24 hr. Snack bar at that time. 
-The rooms are clean but run down, the resort is pretty clean with the exception of lots of cigarette butts around the property.  It is slightly run down in general, but in pretty good shape for Cuba. 
--Out of French fries regularly and or pizza
- beach is incredible
- food is decent [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
See above
The weak points
See above
Certified

I rather stay home and watch my money grow

, Richmond, BC
2017-06-15
Very bad overall. There is no service at all unless you tip along the way. Have to constantly ask for things that should be provided, ceiling in my room leaks water onto my blanket, went to the reception to tell them, just give me a simple "ok" and wave me goodbye. No wonder why most of the rooms are empty, some part of the hotel feels like a ghost town. Compare to the next door hotel (melia), full of people and activities . But on the other hand, if you like to be alone and bother by no one, this is too good to be true. No wifi either if it's a plus. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The sun and the beach.
The weak points
Everything else, if you call yourself a five star resort ,people pay for and will expect five star services, This feel more like a two star.
Certified

Great staff and very nice hotel

, Kitchener, ON
2017-05-08
This was our 8th or 9th stay at this hotel. The staff are like family. The rooms were clean, well stocked and good air conditioning. The a/c failed one day and was repaired within an hour. The food was good with a good variety. We will be returning in November. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff
The weak points
Maintenance. Not all light bulbs were working.
Certified

Old Resort

, Terrace Bay, ON
2017-05-03
Resort was old and dirty. I would not recommend to anyone! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beaches and good location across from the marina
The weak points
room were very dirty, no clean towels, poor maintenance and poor food choices.
Certified

Shoddy first time all inclusive experience

, Lachine, QC
2017-04-26
Vibrant culture, friendly people, beautiful beaches overshadowed by this poorly maintained hotel. Purportedly constructed in 2005, the poor condition of the room and public washrooms particularly did not belie its young age. Going in with low expectations of the quality of the cuisine, we were nonetheless surprised at the general blandness and poor quality of the buffet fare, unclean cutlery and dinnerware not to mention one of our "a la carte" experiences which turned out to be just another buffet of Cuban fare of an even poorer selection and quality than the standard fare. The pinnacle of our unfortunate experience, however, was the nightly mosquito feeding frenzy occurring at the main lobby which was built in proximity to a stagnant swamp - the ideal breeding ground! My wife and I had both developed red welts on our legs and arms which were either the products of the mosquitoes, sand fleas, or worse - bed bugs! If not for the multiple excursions we had taken to escape the premises and visit Havana, a sugar cane plantation, etc., this week in sunny Cuba would have been a complete wash. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beaches, friendliness of staff.
The weak points
Cleanliness and cuisine.

Terrible service

, North Vancouver, BC
2017-04-25
I recently stayed at this resort and it was the worse experience I have ever had at a resort. I don't have anything nice to say about this hotel, other than I give it a 10 for its location, other than that, I wish I cold give it a negative score. On our arrival date, the room was not ready so we decided to get something to eat in the mean time. When we came back from lunch, they said the room was ready, but there were no sheets or towels in the room but someone will come and bring us some fresh ones. After going back and forth with front desk for 3-4 hours, we finally had some sheets in our room, except that they were folded nicely on the corner of the bed. I didn't know I had to make my own bed in a hotel. We stayed there for 10 days, and the sheets were changed just a couple times, and that was after I complained at front desk. I guess they think it's ok for you to sleep on the same sheets for a week. As far as towels go, they say to put them in the bathtub if they need to be changed, so I did. I came back to see the same dirty towels folded on the corner of the tub, they weren't changed either. They have a beach towel exchange room, but after going there every single day for 7 days and them telling us they didn't have clean beach towels, I just gave up. This was the most stressful vacation I have ever had. I love Cuba and would love to go back, but will not stay at this resort unless it was free. Definitely not worth the money. There were days that I just put up the "do not disturb" sign on the door when I left because I honestly didn't see the point of the room being cleaned when they use the same sheets and just fold your dirty towels for you to reuse. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Beautiful beaches

, Niagara Falls, ON
2017-04-17
Hotel it self could be cleaned up and upgraded. I found our room very musty and damp the whole week and it never seemed to get cleaned properly. The food was great tho so that made up for a lot of the other things [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was better than expected. Staff were fantastic. Bartenders and servers especially Carlos in Lobby were excellent, staff in Buffet were good too especially Milesys she was wonderful.
The weak points
Bedroom was damp and musty asked for a king size bed got two doubles pushed together. There was rust all under the tub in bathroom. Grounds needed to be cleaned up of the garbage and cigarette butts too.
Certified

Nice trip

, London, ON
2017-03-05
Just got back from a nice weeks stay, the food was weak and lack of tables in bar area need improving. Its Cuba though so don't go with high expectations and you wont be disappointed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Feb 10 - 17 2017

, Brampton, ON
2017-02-28
Beautiful resort. very nice staff. Large clean updated rooms. Large resort for long walks on the beach and from pool to pool. Food was pretty good. Chefs offered spice to all meals. Security in the area was very good. All taxi's were stopped coming in and out and they were helpful and friendly. All in, I enjoyed my stay at Blau Marina. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
all inclusive
The weak points
wifi
Certified

Blau Marina

, Ottawa, ON
2017-02-21
The people and beaches were amazing [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Nice Hotel

, Niagara Falls, ON
2017-02-04
I went single and I had a great time. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The food was not good but you wont go hungry, remember this is Cuba. My room was cleaned every day and the maid was very nice. It was a very relaxing time and I didn't want to come home. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice friendly place to go.
The weak points
Lots of standing water, lots of bugs bring spray.
Certified

Blau Marina Varadero

, Harrow, ON
2017-01-21
Our stay at the Blau Marina was wondeful. I loved all the upgrades and paint colours. Tvs were upgraded to LED ones. They have wifi in the lobby for $1.50 an hour which I thought was a great price. You have to go on a web site to sign off the wifi which they don't tell you. Therefor all your wifi minutes gets used up after you click your phone/table off and you are forced to buy more cards. Food was always cold but there is a microwave at the back to heat your plate up. I am a travel agent and will be recommending this resort to my clients. We had an awesome time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great upgrades and location
The weak points
Cold food.
Certified

Wonderful Vacation!

, Markham, ON
2016-12-12
We found this hotel very good in all the aspects of the travel.
The check in staff was very specific and clear in the information about the hotel services.
The room services was very accommodating and helpful in every situation. The room was spacious and very comfortable.
A lot of entertaining activities at the pool area and the beach. In the evening a very comfortable, relaxing and enjoyable show.
The restaurant staff and the food is very courteous and more then you can ask for. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
A very beautiful Resort.
The weak points
None
Certified

Stayed at Blau Marina from April 17-24

, Brampton, ON
2016-05-03
Blau Marina Varagero was great. It is water front property which I loved it. The only complaint I had was that they should leave few bottles of water in the room. I got really sick when I was there and doctor told me to drink lots of water when I asked the front desk they said you have to wait for tomorrow and tell the customer service people to give you extra bottle. Also I think the doctor at the resort should take major credit card right now he only takes cash. Something to consider in the future. Otherwise everything was great!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Very good

, Toronto, ON
2016-04-25
The best holiday ever [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
255
The weak points
5
Certified

Blau Marina

, Trenton, ON
2016-04-17
I have been at this resort 8 times. Friendly courtesy staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff is amazing
The weak points
Need more staff in the buffet
Certified

Amazing place for holiday

, Winnipeg, MB
2016-04-01
very good view on the beach, good food and drink. stuffs kind and friendly. but the bed is not confortable [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach
The weak points
bed

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021