Iberostar Selection Varadero

Iberostar Selection Varadero
4.214.214.214.214.21
4.21 based on 251 reviews
#18 of 63 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Varadero
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (51)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123456

Great place to stay with kids

, Toronto, ON
2021-08-28
It is an older facilities but everything is very nicely maintained. AC was working with no interruptions. Food was great. The amenities were great too. Many swimming pools to play for kids. We have been travelling with 2 and 3 years old kids and it was very convenient and accommodating. Kids club and small aqua park was working regularly and we could pay for babysitting $10 per hour to leave kids with club worker. Shows are everyday. Nice drinks and premium alcohol are included. The hotel beach is amazing. Rooms are cleaned perfectly everyday. We had amazing dinner at the restaurants requiring reservations. Lobster was deliciously cooked. Extra lobster could be served for $25 anywhere in any of the restaurants. The resort was half-empty. It was a great trip with our 2 small kids. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Food. Beach. Kids facilities and kids entertainment. Very developed area around the resort.
The weak points
3 floor buildings, no elevator
Certified

Iberostar select vacation

, Barrie, ON
2019-07-20
We found this resort to have it all. Food was surprisingly great. Rooms were lovely. Resort is easy to find your way around. Very clean. Beach is incredible. Day trips to Veradero was a nice added feature. We will definitely be back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
Staff could be friendlier
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-07-23
Dear Rena, We want you to know that the description of your stay with us at our hotel is very helpful and we thank you for providing your rating. Although your comments show that in most areas we are on the right track with our numerous efforts and our detailed service, we have taken your feedback regarding the concerns you raise on board as we are aware that we can only improve on the basis of constant dialogue with our guests. Again, we want to thank you very much for sharing your review of our establishment and would be delighted to welcome you back to one of our hotels soon. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Varadero

Fourth visit

, Moncton, NB
2019-05-12
Fourth visit at this resort. Did not have us marked as returning guests so did not get the extras without asking for it but was quickly resolved [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service and food at buffet and a la carte restaurants was excellent. Also great service at lobby and beach bars. Received excellent service from Yadira, Yennifer and Yovanni. Celebrated birthday at Gourmet restaurant enjoyed all the special attention,
The weak points
First room 1625, chairs look old and dirty. Asked to be changed to building 19 which is updated however could not get king bed but still a lot nicer room. Resort in need of some renovations but seem to be ongoing.
Certified

Great resort but my daughter and I got salmonella

, Brockville, ON
2018-12-25
It was a beautiful resort and staff were friendly but I think we got salmonella from the eggs. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly helpful staff Amazing beach
The weak points
Myself and my 3 year old came back feeling very sick. We went to the hospital and tested positive for Salmonella
Certified

A VERY successful

, Toronto, ON
2018-02-07
We very much enjoyed our stay at the Iberostar Veradero. The staff are very friendly, helpful, intelligent, and knowledgeable. My husband and I have strictly gluten-free diets and this hotel can definitely accommodate your needs. Just let them know up front. They provided us with GF crispbreads, rice cakes, and cookies. There were PLENTY of GF options at the buffet; *all* of the staff/chefs at the a la carte and buffet restaurants had complete understanding of the GF requirements and actually provided us with custom "sin gluten" dishes, to ensure we didn't get sick! In fact, we did two tours that provided lunch for us and even the tour guides and the staff/chefs in these simple restaurants understood and accommodated our dietary restrictions. I haven't seen such comprehensive understanding of the GF diet in the Caribbean, except in Aruba! :)

The food and drinks at this hotel are quite good, in comparison to the other hotels in the area, with lower star ratings. After talking with other tourists in the area, we believe that our dining experience at the Iberostar Veradero was better because it's a 5-star resort. For "foodies" who have traveled elsewhere in the Caribbean, be aware that this is Cuba, so the buffet is not going to have endless variety each and every day, but the food will be fresh and tasty. I have been to Cuba before (3 1/2 star resort) and the food and drink at the IV were *much* better!

The beach is simply beautiful and you could walk to the west for about 30 minutes before encountering rocks. If you walk to the east, you encounter rocks after about 10 minutes. Bring sandals (like Tevas) if you want to continue walking farther than that. One of the things that we really liked about this hotel is that they enforce the rule that you can't "reserve" the beach chairs by going out early in the morning and putting down your towels, then skedaddling off for hours. The staff will respectfully remove your items after 30-60 minutes, if you haven't shown up. Of course, at lunchtimes, a little more time is given for you to get back.

We decided to upgrade our room to a Spa suite. It was only slightly more, and worth it, because we had WiFi in our room. (You still need to purchase the internet cards, though.) The Spa suites are also close to the restaurant buffet, so for people with mobility issues, I would recommend staying here. It's also quieter and you can share a private pool with others who selected the same upgrade. Lastly, you get a private, fully bilingual concierge who can help you with a la carte reservations, manage your dietary restrictions, etc.

It's very safe to walk around outside the resort. My husband and I are both "walkers" and enjoyed working off the extra calories we consumed in food and drink. There is a little cafe in a marina, about an hour's walk from the Iberostar Veradero, so we would walk to the cafe, drink a capuccino (muy caliente, sin canella), then walk back to the hotel. With a 2-hour, round-trip walk, followed by a swim in the ocean, we came back to Canada having gained only a couple of pounds, each. ;-) If you're not a walker, there's a public, double-decker bus that comes along around every 30 minutes in front of the hotel, that you can hop on/off for 5 CUCs/day.

Tips:
- My husband is fluent Spanish, so if you are not and wish to dine gluten-free, be sure to bring along a Spanish translation of your dietary restriction - you can find an online source at a Celiac's site.
- Bring Canadian dollars to change at the airport into CUCs. Over the trip, we changed $300. About $200 went to tips for the staff and tour guides. You can get lower-denomination CUCs at the hotel front lobby for tips.
- Buy the WiFi cards in the hotel lobby. You get one hour for one CUC. If you want WiFi in your room, upgrade to one of the Spa suites. The price isn't that much more, IMO. Note that it's one card for one device. If you have two people using two devices, you'll need to use separate cards. We spent about 10 CUCs on WiFi and it's amazing how quickly you go through the time if you're Facebooking.
- I wasn't able to get a cell phone plan through Rogers, but we could've used my husband's phone (Bell) for $60, with various conditions. We decided that having voice wasn't necessary and I could still call on my phone (for emergencies), with Rogers charging $3/minute.
- The staff appreciate tips. I found that I tipped way more in Cuba than I did in Mexico (have been several times) and in Aruba. Cubans live very simply, so the tips are appreciated. Note that the staff at the hotel are very respectful and do not expect tips, but my bilingual husband inquired of the locals what we should do, and we learned that tips - even small ones like 0.50 CUCs - are welcome.
- There are various, conflicting threads on the internet about bringing items from Canada. We decided not to bring anything along b/c it seemed that money was better than items. That's not true. If you have some small items you can bring along (hair scrunchies/clips, razors/shave gel, shampoo/conditioner, etc.), you can do that and provide them to the staff. We left a bunch of items in our room, or gave them to the staff, when we left because we knew the staff would appreciate them (examples: my "crazy high-heeled sandals" that were in excellent condition but I'm getting too old to totter around in them; my husband's Teva sandals, in excellent condition; my husband's snorkeling fins (brand new Mares fins, but they were too tight and hurt his feet); a sundress I wore once, but the colour doesn't look great on me; our extra razors, sunscreen, packages of gum we didn't open, some soap we brought but didn't open, etc.). I wish I had brought my jeans that are in excellent condition but just don't look great on me. Someone in Cuba would've really appreciated them!
- The coffee at the buffet in the morning is a little weak and the cafe does not open until 9 am. If you like strong coffee, bring some little packages of Starbucks instant coffee, with which to "spike" the coffee. Problem solved. :) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The hotel is very clean and the staff are terrific. The beach is absolutely stunning. The buffet food was reasonable and excellent at the restaurants. We are gluten-free; the staff was VERY accommodating/knowledgeable about dietary restrictions.
The weak points
The WiFi needed to be purchased in one-hour increments, but this is typical of all Cuban hotels. Just an annoyance. The buffet food/coffee was sometimes cold/bland, but again, typical. The a la carte restaurants were not always open - disappointing.
Certified

Getaway for couples

, Montréal, QC
2017-12-05
Very pleasant stay, highly recommend this hotel [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very nice staff
The weak points
Wifi not available in rooms
Certified

Great stay with the family

, Montréal, QC
2017-06-06
People are incredible. Food is great. Wifi, only in the lobby, however, it forces you to realize that you are in vacations! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
People are incredible. Food is great.
The weak points
Wifi, however, it forces you to realize that you are in vacations.
Certified

Iberostar Varadero 2017

, Bathurst , NB
2017-05-15
Our second visit in 2 years. Was even more pleased than first vacation. As returning guests we enjoyed the daily all a cart breakfast among other perks on my birthday. Would definitely recommend this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean inside and out. Grounds well kept.
The weak points
Was short changed at lobby currency exchange 3 out of 4 transactions.
Certified

Iberostar Vara-NO-GO

, Georgetown, ON
2017-02-16
Check-In
Arrived at 3pm and the room wasn't ready. We were told to wait in the lobby until 4pm. So just having arrived from -10C in Canada we had long pants and shoes on. It was a very long hot hour to wait for our room. No offer of a cold drink or a hospitality room so we could change into shorts and shirts. Finally our room was ready, we received the key and a circle on the map of where the room was located. So off we went on the hunt for our room, no direction from front desk, or a porter to help with the bags. After a while we found the room and carried the bags up 3 flights of stairs. Check in was not good

The Room
The room was ok, dated and very basic. Pretty much what you would expect from a holiday Inn or highway side motel. Day one our toilet stopped working, no water. Day two the AC broke. We gave the maid 5cuc each day but I feel we would have received the same basic level of service without the tips. Also Don't plan on getting to sleep before midnight each night. The noise from the theatre blasts into the room so loud that you have to turn up the TV to watch the one English Channel they have.

The Food
It's Cuba and what people say about the food is true. Not good. We were very very careful about what we ate. The ala carts were a joke. The Japanese was worse than bad Chinese take out back home. At the Mediterranean we had the surf and turf. I have never seen a lobster tail like that, we got about 3 bits of meat. The "steak" was the size, shape, and taste of a hamburger patty, I'm convinced that's what it actually was. One night we ordered room service. Some chicken nuggets and fries. Took 30 minutes and arrived burnt and gross. I wouldn't serve it to my dog. Had one bit and left it outside for the mice and rats.

The Pool and Beach
Despite the short comings of the hotel, the beach and ocean in Varadero are very nice. Lots of loungers, but the blasting music made it hard to nap on the beach.

Pool was ok. Typical large pool. They have a Jacuzzi in the middle of the pool, but surprise its broken and as per the pool bartender it has not worked for years. Swim up bartenders were hit and miss. Sometimes it seems we were making them made
by ordering drinks. One lady we joking referred to as the grumpy lady.

Be careful when picking loungers. After a morning at the beach we went to the pool, found two spots with no towels. 2 hours later some crazy guy comes up yelling that we stole his towel and begins to rip it out from under my wife and twisting her arm in the process and then kicks me in the back. We called security, but all they did was kind of listen, then walk away. I get the feeling this happens a lot at this resort given the people that come to the Iberostar chain.

This was our 2nd time at an Iberostar. Our 1st time was the Iberostar in DR for our honeymoon so for our 10th anniversary we thought we would try Iberostar again. No mention of us returning to the chain from the front desk. Other places keep your name on file and flag you as a returning guest and offer extra dinners or bottles of rum in your room. Iberostar seems like they don't care if you come, stay, or go.

Very disappointed with this resort, I will defiantly never go to another Iberostar resort. Next time it will be a North American chain with guests that have manners and don't chain smoke everywhere. There is lots more I could say about this resort like the smell of sewage that fills the air where they are doing renovations near the lobby. All in all, do yourself a favour and don't stay at the Iberostar Varadero, wish we didn't. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Leaving the hotel
The weak points
Checking into the hotel

Great place!!!

, Calgary, AB
2016-11-14
We have been to Cuba a few times and this hotel by far was amazing. Kind staff, clean rooms, wonderful gardens that workers work so hard to keep it that way. Great place! We will be back to this place for sure!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Honeymoon in Paradise

, Kitchener, ON
2016-07-07
Wonderful resort. Would go again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very friendly staff. Went above and beyond to make sure our stay was wonderful
The weak points
No follow through with staff for requests such as room service or wake up calls. Was promised breakfast in bed for our honeymoon and it did not show up.
Certified

Excellent resort

, Montreal, QC
2015-04-03
It was our first trip to Cuba. We were expecting all sort of negatives so maybe our expectations were set too low.
But this resort was fantastic. We ate well, not fine dining but still pretty good.
The staff are amazing. Super nice super friendly very helpful and all speak English comfortably.
Rooms were spacious and clean. I left my iPad unlocked in the room once, the cleaner had come and gone and it was still there. I also forgot my phone charger after I had checked out, but as we still had a few hours on the resort before leaving they came and found me and gave it to me.
This is a Quiet resort, if you're expecting a party place this is not it.
The only downside is that the internet is only available in the lobby, and is sold by the hour. If we could get WiFi in the rooms it wold be perfect.
Location is also a little far from downtown but depends how much you care about going off the resort vs staying on.
The beaches were really nice and clean, staff coming to serve free drinks, and very quiet beaches. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, food, beaches
The weak points
Lack of in-room internet. But this is Cuba afterall.
Certified

Great Resort

, Middle Sackville, NS
2015-03-02
Wonderful hotel, the staff was excellent, and very engaging with the guests. Food was also good, though I was not a fan of the Japanese restaurant. The beaches were gorgeous and the rooms very clean. I do wish they would provide more water to each room, as one does not seem to be enough, especially with families. Even after we requested some each day we only received one. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach, the buffet, the staff, the pool and the cleanliness.
The weak points
No data roaming access points and very limited wifi.
Certified

Iberostar varadero

, Calgary, AB
2015-01-21
The experience at this hotel was really good, We thought the food met out expectations, it was clean, nightly entertainment good and generally nicely kept. We would use this hotel again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, entertainment, food, cleanliness, staff
The weak points
internet
Certified

Exceeded expectations!

, Torotno, ON
2014-06-10
Fabulous hotel, great staff - highly recommended! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
All staff are friendly and helpful. Overall, we are extremely impressed by the hotel
The weak points
I can't think of any :)
Certified

Excellent

, Etobicoke, ON
2014-04-06
For the first time we felt like we were at a 5-star resort in Cuba.
The service was amazing - staff were glad to be tipped, but provided great service despite tips.
The grounds were beautiful, perfectly maintained, and the entire hotel was very clean. The beach was stunning and the positioning of our beach actually saved us from strong winds and waves - we compared by visiting other beaches km's away.
The entertainment at night was good. Certainly not cruise-quality, but it gives you something to do in the evenings. The live musicians were amazing, though! Music runs in Cubans' blood,there's no way around it.
We especially enjoyed spending time in the Cigar Lounge, sipping on carefully concocted cocktails, being educated on the art of the cigar, and, of course, smoking some great cigars they have to offer (at a cost, of course).

The food was pretty great! The first evening we went to the Japanese a-la-carte, and decided to not bother with the rest of the a-la-cartes and instead stuck to the buffet all throughout out trip. They had lobster nights, with delicious sea food, great paella and overall, very yummy food.
My husband and I are food snobs, and it is beyond us how people can complain about the food selection and turn to eating pizza and fries!. This particular resort had great meats. We don't eat red meat in Canada, but the meats we had here were delicious - there is someone making burgers by the beach during lunch every day - amazing! The cheeses were great too!
Most importantly, the food in Cuba is pure, clean and chemical free, which is a nice break from all the crap we're exposed to here on a daily basis.

I can go on and on, but I'll cut it short and say this - Iberostar Varadero is a great choice of a resort in Varadero. I can't imagine someone having a bad experience there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing beach, great service, super clean, beautiful grounds
The weak points
None....
Certified

Don't hesitate to book this hotel!

, Ottawa, ON
2014-03-31
Beautiful, clean resort, good food (it's Cuba), great drinks, one of the best beaches I have seen, very kind and happy staff, very lush grounds with lots of palm trees, flowers, birds. Never had to fight for a chair at the beach or pool. One of the best things was going out on a catamaran right in front of the beach and snorkeling ($ extra). That was awesome! We took an excursion to Havana that was really great too! I highly recommend this hotel!! Hope to come back some day... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
Wish I could have stayed 2 weeks!
Certified

IBEROSTAR VARADERO

, Niagara Falls, ON
2014-03-06
the hotel facility was a little dated

the gym was sad - most exercise equipment were broken [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
best hotel I have been in Cuba but rooms were dated, quality and variety of food was excellent
The weak points
activity staff could have been more engaging
Certified

So So

, Morinville, AB
2014-01-29
This hotel is not a 5 star resort as advertised. The food was not good at all, they can't even cook bacon correctly at breakfast. Night life was non existant, and most of the nightly shows did not include English. If you are looking for a boring holiday at a mediocre resort this place is for you. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
None
The weak points
Food was subpar as was expected. This hotel is far from a 5 star resort, I would say more like 3 star.
Certified

Just OK

, vancouver, Br
2014-01-27
Unfortunately this hotel was not close to what I was expecting.
- Food was OK, and sometimes really bad (Don't go to the Japanese restaurant if you are expecting Japanese food)
- Front desk was rude and not helpful. Our first room smelled and it took us 15 minutes of convincing until they gave us another room, the next day they checked-in our friends into the same smelly room. One hour before check-out time our keys stopped working and we were locked out of our rooms.
- The main bar was very good
- The staff and entertainment group were awesome [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff and great entertainment, Location
The weak points
Food, Front Desk, Expensive compared to the service you'll get
Certified

Iberostar Varadero

, Richmond Hill, ON
2014-01-19
I have no complaints about this hotel.The staff were excellent in all areas. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
very friendly and attentive staff
The weak points
We had 3 people in one room.Did not matter that the extra bed was a single but the mattress was hard and very uncomfortable.
Certified

Had a great time

, Torotno, ON
2014-01-06
I'm not clicking 5 star (beyond expectations) because it is rated 5 star, and it was not cheap, and so I expected a 5 star. We were there for a wedding and there were lots of other family with us and so we had a fabulous time. We used the ocean toys (kayaks and pedal boats), played games on the beach and in the pool and generally had a wonderful time. The hotel was exactly as hoped, but not a 'dream come true'. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Relaxing, lots to do if you want to join in. Friendly wait staff and the entertainment was really very good.
The weak points
1/2 of the cardio equipment at the gym was out of order. about a 1/3 of our group was out of commission for at least 24 hours due to tummy upset. I must have picked up a bug because even though I don't feel sick, I am still attached to my bathroom.
Certified

Another excellent stay at Ibersotstar Varadero

, Markham, ON
2013-12-11
Our fifth holiday in Cuba- fourth at Iberostar Varadero.
Nice beach, variety of food prepared properly, but what really makes the place special is the staff. Thanks to Alex, Elena, Oz, Viktor, Jailin, Verona and many others. We travel as three generations, and there is lots to do for all of us. Kids' water park was a great addition. See you next year. :) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Best place for a family vacation. Enthusiastic staff, so many activities, good choice of food, decent nightly entertainment.
The weak points
Too steep a drop at the beach. Need some stairs. Need the hawk back at the outdoor restaurant. Too many birds around.
Certified

Stay away

, Montreal, QC
2013-12-08
Highly overrated, unpleasant front counter staff. Run down, dirty gym. Boring entertainment and mediocre food (2 * menu.) Stay far away-overpriced!!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
None
The weak points
Everything
Certified

Cuban Adventure

, Mississauga, ON
2013-12-06
Very good overall. Hotel facilities, rooms, grounds etc. were fitting of a 5 Star hotel. Staff always greeted with warm and welcome attitude. Communicating in English with hotel staff was not an issue. Beach was good although impacted of ocean waves on area of sand beach has caused area of beach to become very narrow and further action could result in loss of chaise and thatched shade areas. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location and amenities. Staff. Variety of food.
The weak points
A La Carte restaurants need to up the level of food quality that would create a distinct variation between general buffet which was very good and a level that other 5 star level hotels offer
Certified

Good vacation

, Edmonton, AB
2013-11-23
Nice place to stay for a vacation. Clean rooms and good food. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Lots of sunbeds, friendly staff
The weak points
rocks on the beach
Certified

Nice place to vacation

, Edmonton, AB
2013-11-23
Had such a good time at this hotel, the staff is so friendly that it just makes me want to smile all day. Love the lunch and dinner buffets, not so much the a la carte dinners. Clean rooms, sheets don't smell. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff was great, good entertainment, buffet is awesome and always a little different, plenty of drinks and always offered more
The weak points
Lots of rocks in the water
Certified

Expected more...

, Calgary, AB
2013-11-22
Been to both Iberostar's in Mayan Riviera and this resort barely compares to its sisters in Mexico. And this hotel is rated as the #1 in all Cuba... ? [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Star Friends were entertaining during weekdays... but most were not around on weekend.
The weak points
Some of the waiters/waitresses in bars were rude and not friendly. Hotel seemed to want to conserve energy... no air conditioning in main restaurant - just fans...
Certified

Iberostar varadero

, Pickering, ON
2013-10-21
major improvements to beach
area, grounds well kept food however
and buffet service not as good as last
trip also tons on kids this time, next
trip will try adults only [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach in 2013 is 3 times the size[ as in apr 2011 excellent
The weak points
food selection not as good as 1pr 2011 could be time of year
Certified

Cuban 5 star

, Cobble Hill, BC
2013-10-18
The staff at this Hotel were very helpful, working hard to insure their guests are well looked after. The hotel was really very nice, the beaches superb. The food was really good but without much spice and imagination. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location,beaches,staff
The weak points
It would seem that the little things get missed, no toothpaste, soft toilet paper (it was like washroom paper towels).
Certified
pages: 123456

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021