Paradisus Princesa Del Mar

Paradisus Princesa Del Mar
3.853.853.853.853.85
3.85 based on 541 reviews
#11 of 65 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Varadero
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (148)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Won't go again

, Cambridge, ON
2020-03-09
Unfortunately my experience with this hotel wasn't positive. Buffet was terrible, no butter or condiments, no variety, felt like stewed something every day.
Ran out of wine, beer, limited wifi, Cuban people are usually alot happier than there were. the hotel is definitely not a 4.5 star. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
nice area, nice beach
The weak points
ran out of beer, wine, bathroom towels were not replaced daily, air conditioner in room did not work, tv broke down. buffett was terrible
Certified
Hotel reply, staff, on 2020-03-20
Hello Dianne Thank you for taking the time to write your review. İ feel however, that it is a shame that you did not bring any this issue to my attention during your holiday. The management of the hotel are around daily to handle any concerns and rectify any problems. I do not want to lose hope to have the privilege and the pleasure of welcoming you back again, and we will keep working hard in all aspects for our guest's satisfactory and really enjoying Paradisus Princesa del Mar hotel and vacation. Because our main objective is to offer the best service to all our guests, and reach your expectations about an enjoyable and unforgettable holiday. Sincerely Managing Director.

Feb/mar2020

, Fort Mcmurray, AB
2020-03-06
Great staff and helpful with any questions. I give it a 3.75 star if comparing to mexico resorts. It was my first time in cuba and it was what I expected. Reccommend [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing beach, fast service, good excursion packages at resort, Scooter rentals as well. Wifi at pool
The weak points
Have to log into wifi everytime you open your phone, all hot tubs on resort were drained. Massage in spa was not what I'm use to in Canada. Water is only 50degrees in hotel rooms.
Certified
Hotel reply, staff, on 2020-03-13
Dear Shawn It has been very exciting for all of us to know that we offered you the type of stay you deserve. Your comments help us to enhance the experience and make it more comfortable so THANK YOU very much for the time taken in publishing your opinion. We are already expecting you in Paradisus Princesa del Mar to give you a new reason to choose us as your hotel when in Cuba. Warmest Regards,

Cuba is not good until trade embargo is done!

, Halifax, NS
2020-03-05
This is NOT 5 stars, maybe 3.5 or less. The room was fine but not as good as we are used to for 5 stars. The food was terrible, especially the Buffet. Cold off the steam lines, very limited, even for fruits and salads. There was NO Wine available Anywhere except for one A La Carte where we got a glass at the Mediterranean. Most people bought a couple bottles downtown Varadero to bring into the resort for meals. There was no WIFI for our first 3 days due to an internet issue. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pool was good. Beach was good except for being quite full of seaweed. Room was acceptable. Staff did their best at apologizing for the lack of decent food or any wine.
The weak points
Food was the worst we have seen after 5 Cuba visits and compared to DR and Mexico, unacceptable. Just wasted almost 4K for my wife and I.
Certified
Hotel reply, staff, on 2020-03-13
Dear Patrick First of all thank you for having your holidays at Paradisus Princesa del Mar. I read it very carefully, and studied your comments about your experience this time, I would like to apologize if you didn´t enjoy your holidays at the hotel. All your valuable information will be taken into account. Regarding the buffet comments, we have informed our kitchen staffs about it and we are also welcome to any suggestions you might have to better improve our service. Hopefully give us a second chance in wich live up your expectations. With respect,

Hotel review princess del mar

, Windsor, ON
2020-02-23
When going to our room for the 1st time there was a broken plate with food spilt on the stairway. This remained there from 9pm until approx 11am the next morning. Our room had cracked and broken tiles, the bathroom had a cracked sink and water pressure was awful. We tried to upgrade to the Royal service but nothing was available. I have taken photos to show our travel agent. I thought the buffet was better than the restaurants. No wine for 2 day anywhere. Although there was some if u wanted to purchase it. I did like the beach, pool and found the staff very pleasant. Unfortunately my husband got sick on the last day and remained sick for the next 3 days. I don't believe we will visit this hotel again. There were a lot of complaints from others who were staying at the hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, staff, on 2020-02-28
Dear Wilhelmina Many thanks indeed for completing a Monarc review subsequent to your stay with us. It is through receiving reviews that we are able praise where praise is due and where appropriate to do so, improve our standards in order to maximise guest experiences. I was very pleased to read that you felt that the team here is very pleasant. Our hosts are the pride of the resort and it was great to read your kind comments about them. Thank you also for your constructive comments about the resort. We are working in the rooms area and we dont have broken tiles, so please iwould likew to invite you tosend us the photos where you found them broken in order to replace/fix/repair them and offer the best service as soon as possible how our guests deserve. would like to comment that the hotel management takes into account the views of all partners, whom we aprecciate their help. Thank you once again for taking the time to review our resort. It was a pleasure to have you with us and we very much hope that you continue to enjoy the Cuba vacation experience in the future. Kind regards, Managing Director.

Paradisus Princesa Del Mar - Not recommended

, Beaver Creek, SK
2020-02-20
We felt that the resort lacked customer service as there were many mornings where we weren't offered coffee at the buffet. Felt that the buffet was understaffed. Also the resort ran out of wine for three days which was a total disappointment but they offered wine for purchase. The buffet had a disappointing selection which never changed. Getting access to the internet in the lobby resulted in long waiting lines and sometimes no-one was around to give you the access code. Other people at the resort had mold in the bathroom and their air conditioner did not work. This is definitely not a five star hotel. The sea weed was not cleaned up on the beach but other resorts did. The exercise schedule on the beach were a hit and miss. Overall it felt like any questions we had was an inconvenience. Everyone around us was complaining about the service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, weather and ocean were nice.
The weak points
Customer service and buffet.
Certified
Hotel reply, staff, on 2020-02-26
Dear Beaver Creek, SK Thank you so much for posting your review on TripAdvisor and thanks to chose our hotel for your vacation in Cuba. I read carefully your comments and I took notes about some points of your review, the things you liked and the things you was a bit dissatisfied. Our customer service philosophy is to make the guest's experience enjoyable, we will keep working hard for our guest's satisfactory, and we will try to do our best for your next visit. It would be such a pleasure to welcome you back in the very near future. Sincerely,

You get what you pay for...or not.

, Stratford, ON
2020-02-12
Cuba isn't well known for its amenities there is so much that is difficult for the country to get. And this resort is an example of that.

Service was good most of the time. Tips are needed to ensure this.

Beds were comfortable and Rooms were spacious. Maintenance iffy. Go ahead and ask for an extra blanket and a washcloth (only two bath towels to start with) but if you don't ask repeatedly you'll never see it.

Food was just ok. Somethings very tasty. Other things not so much. You'll cramp your hand trying to cut steak. And love pizza. Well they have a place for you. But you better line up before it opens because they run out quickly.

Like slushy drinks? Go to the beach bar. Or was it the pool bar? Because they're not always available at both.

Polish up your Spanish because English isn't well spoken by most staff. Including whoever translates their menus (kind of funny). But hey, kudos to them anyway because I only know one language.

Ask lots of questions. Like what activities are there this week I should know about. Or where is the disco...because communication is lacking.

There's a Marina within walking distance. Go there if you need a pharmacist or more souvenirs options.

Things you may want to take with you. Salt and ketchup. And definitely take a good power converter.

Be willing to wait an hour or more to book your Ala carte restaurants. And if you plan to upgrade to Royal service you'll get newer nicer rooms and access to a newer nicer more private pool. But from what hear the service and food aren't any better.

All in we had some fantastic experiences on and off the resort. But I probably won't go back to Cuba anytime soon. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach. Loads of Canadians (mostly all). Okay food and amenities (for Cuba).
The weak points
Service. Pool is NOT heated and shallow. Hot tubs (which are no where near the main pool area) are out of service.
Certified
Hotel reply, staff, on 2020-02-26
Dear Lucille I would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your comments on tripadvisor. I take every comment very seriously and review it with my all the team members concerned at the resort. I am of course happy to read that you liked the grounds and the beach. I am sorry we have failed to impress you with some aspects of your stay. In our effort to improve the level of our services, we put the utmost interest in our guest´s opinion and we understand that this is the most effective way of detecting our areas of improvements. Despite the various hit and miss I would like to hope that you will give us a second chance should you visit again Cuba. Kindest regards, Managing Director. Paradisus Princesa del Mar.

Going back.....

, Glencoe, ON
2020-02-03
Just like the photos we viewed on websites. The rooms were spacious, clean, not to mention comfortable. The food; flavourful, plentiful not to mention a variety as well. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Did complain about the ‘wine' situation to customer service they delivered a bottle of wine to our room the next day.
The weak points
Reservations made at the Italian restaurant but NO WINE
Certified
Hotel reply, staff, on 2020-02-07
Dear Laurie Hauspie Thank you so much for staying with us at Paradisus Princesa del Mar and taking the time to share your experience. We're super happy had such a good stay! We are pleased that you enjoyed our establishment and that our location, beach and restaurants were all to your liking. We would be delighted to have the opportunity to welcome you again to our hotel Kind regards,

Treated well at the Princessa

, Edmonton, AB
2020-01-30
Staff treated us really well. Super friendly and really helpful.

The resort was generally lovely. It is showing its age here and there, but that is pretty typical in Cuba. There were a lot of really cute and charming touches around the resort, like some of the rock landscaping in shapes of flowers, etc.

The food was decent. It's typical Cuban resort buffet food. Simple, but plentiful. The food at the a la cartes that we went to were quite good.

Not really a party resort. It was more chill and relaxing which was what we were looking for.

This is the first time we stayed at this resort and I would do so again.

We did stay in the Royal Service section, which was a really nice treat for us.

A positive experience at this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach was incredible and beautiful. There was always lounge chairs available. The staff were very friendly. The rooms we stayed in were fairly recently renovated from what we could tell. Very comfortable.
The weak points
The mosquitoes. I really recommend bringing bug repellant and wearing it from the first day. I had tons of bites, but I didn't feel them until a day or two later, when they become crazy itchy.
Certified
Hotel reply, staff, on 2020-02-03
Dear Tammy Thank you so much for such a lovely review about your experience with us! It is true that we count on a great location, amazing beach and a very committed staff that takes pride in what they do! We are so excited that you happened to enjoy your time with us at Paradisus Princesa del Mar. Should you be around any time soon, please do not hesitate to contact us! Kind Regards,

Not recommended for Solo or groups of women

, Calgary, AB
2020-01-24
My 32 year old daughter and I spent a week here and were astonished at the disrespect and lack of service we received. We were generous tippers, very polite and friendly, by the end of the week we could only conclude that the main differences between us and other groups receiving service was we did not have a man with us. Examples - breakfast buffet first day - we sat at table that had crumbs and dirty napkin from previous guest. My daughter sat first - finally was able to call staff over - she asked them to wipe table, and for water, tea for herself and coffee for me. When I arrived at table it was still not wiped (never did get wiped), they brought her coffee with milk instead of tea, no water, coffee for me, cutlery, or glasses. I was able to get someone's attention, she threw cutlery on the table and gave me an empty glass. We never did get water, tea or coffee. Meanwhile 2 men arrived and sat behind us. 2 servers rushed over, cleaned their table, brought them juice, water and coffee. They had several refills while I couldn't get one coffee. The servers looked the other direction when they passed our table. My daughter was half way through her breakfast and was drinking from the water bottle she brought when a server rushed over and took her plate. We guessed that was our signal to leave, finished or not. Example 2 - lobby bar. We could not get served at table so daughter decides to just go to bar and ask them to fill her water bottle. It took a long time to get their attention while they served others who came and went around her - finally they took her bottle. Put a little water in it then left it to go fill other bottles with pina coladas and margaritas, a little more water, then stopped to reach over her shoulder to take cigars from men, cut and light them and give them back, served other people drinks over her shoulder, when they finally gave her water bottle back it was only half full. Example 3 - last day - we checked out in the morning and put our bags in storage but airport pickup wasn't until 6:15. I went to front desk to ask them to mail postcards and get our bags out of storage. The 2 clerks were busy with another guest so I waited a short distance down the counter. When the other guest left, neither turned my way or acknowledged me - one walked the other direction. I went and stood directly in front of the one who was left - she still didn't smile or acknowledge me, but I put on my cheerful smile and voice and asked if it would be possible to mail the postcards. She looked at the cards on the counter with disgust, poked them with her fingernail and said no, plus some stuff I couldn't understand. Luckily the other lady came back and said yes they could mail them and she would call the man to open the store room for us. She even smiled. There are more examples, but you get the picture. Once we were able to get served the first time, and tipped generously, we could usually get servers to come back a second time, but servers changed. An exception was the piano bar - service in there was always great - as well as the a la Carte restaurants - we received good service in all of them. Other women told us they had the same experience, some said they got better service in the buffet later in the day, during dinner, but we didn't go back there if we had an option. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Piano bar and a la carte restaurant service was good, activity people at beach were friendly and nice, cleaning staff was cheerful and friendly. Nightly entertainment was good, especially the water ballet. Lady making omelettes was amazing!
The weak points
Service as mentioned - bring a man and it's probably fine. Lack of good fresh fruit, papaya was good but pineapple and watermelon were under-ripe, bananas would have been welcome.
Certified
Hotel reply, staff, on 2020-01-31
Dear Debbie Thank you for taking time off to share your thoughts with us. We are truly sorry to hear of your less than satisfactory experience during your recent visit. Please be assured that your constructive feedback has been duly noted and will be shared with our colleagues. Training efforts would also be stepped up as a priority as we continually strive to create unforgettable moments of delight for all guests. allow us an opportunity to rebuild your trust and impression of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Yours sincerely, Managing Director.

Quality of hotel

, Montréal, QC
2020-01-17
L'aire conditionné ne function pas pour 3 jours !
Pas de l'eau chaude déjà 5 jours !!!!
Très sale partout. Rien rénové depuis 16 ans !!!
L'odeur dans la chambre !!!
Pas de shampoo ou de produit de nettoyage!
Tout devrais être rénové ! Nettoyer !!!
Nothing works. Aire conditionné broked
Non hot water for 5 days
Stinky !
Hôte need renovation !
The staff are nice !
Beach not clean ! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff are nice
The weak points
Non hot water !!! Non aire condition- broked ! Stinky Hotel need renovation big time ! Internet accès 3$ for 1 hr !!!
Hotel reply, staff, on 2020-01-22
Cher Alisa Tout d'abord merci d'avoir pris le temps de partager votre commentaire avec les autres utilisateurs de TripAdvisor. Nous sommes ravis de savoir que vous avez vraiment apprécié le destination. Nous comptons beaucoup sur les commentaires de nos clients afin de perfectionner nos services et apprécions énormément que vous ayez pris le temps de les écrire. Nous mettons un point d'honneur à offrir à nos clients un service de très grande qualié. Nous regrettons beaucoup tous les inconvénients auxquels vou savez été confrontés et nous serions très heureux de vous faire changer d'avis. Nous espérons donc pouvoir vous recevoir bientôt au sein du Paradisus Princesa del Mar. Cordialement, Directeur Général. Paradisus Princesa del Mar.

Christmas in Cuba

, Regina, SK
2020-01-01
Overall this resort was great. Our room was situated in close proximity to pool, beach and restaurants and grounds were beautiful. The entertainment and activities were excellent. Food was good (for Cuba) although variety lacking at times. Serving staff were always friendly and polite. Customer service desk does not help you. We had an issue with towels being stolen off beach chairs and they took our room number and that was it - no concern whatsoever. We ended up arguing with them about it at check out and refused to pay for them. May be a scam to get extra $ for the resort as all guests have the same towels and they are left on chairs at the pool and beach all the time while guests are enjoying the water. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very good servers and waiters. The beach and pool areas were clean and appealing. The a la carte meals were very good and filling. The rooms were clean and comfortable.
The weak points
Bad customer service desk staff. Water in the rooms were not always replenished daily. Water was not delivered even after repeated requests.
Certified
Hotel reply, staff, on 2020-01-03
Dear Steve Thank you to write such a long review about your experience We will study every item, and we will learn over them. So I would like to apologize about these aspects you have disappointed a little. The comments concerning a poor staff attitude from some of our customer service and reception are certainly not the standards we normally achieve (as you will see from many other reviews). It is particularly dissapointing that we have not provided our normal standard of service to you. We will do our best to improve these aspects for your next time We hope to see you again in your next visit to Varadero Sincerely Community Manager

Excellent 5* Resort and Service

, Burks Falls, ON
2019-12-23
As a travel agent, I am always looking for weak points. I can honestly say that there were none! We stayed in Royal Service (a beautiful ocean view suite) and our butler (Ernesto) was amazing. We did not use him as much as most people but he was always there when needed. The resort is beautiful and the Royal section has its own pool and beach area. Very quiet and relaxing. Beautiful beach. People say you do not go to Cuba for the food. However, we had no complaints and loved the varieties in the different restaurants that Ernesto booked for us. Our favourites were Hilltop and Sakura. We are already planning to return for our wedding anniversary. I would highly recommend this 5* resort to my clients. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service and attention to detail.
The weak points
None.
Certified
Hotel reply, staff, on 2019-12-27
Dear Martin Roberts It is very rewarding when we achieve our goal to provide an excellent experience, as it was in your case during your visit to Paradisus Princesa del Mar. We are grateful for your kindest review. All our efforts are focused in giving the best in each and every area and service in the hotel. We remain at your entire disposal for anything you may need prior, during and even after your next stay in Paradisus. Warmest Regards,

Cuba Dec 2019

, Gatineau, QC
2019-12-21
It was good. Cuba is Cuba. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach. Drinks. Staff very nice
The weak points
Access to beach difficult. Deep sand. Need boardwalk or dock
Certified
Hotel reply, staff, on 2019-12-27
Dear Louise Jodouin We appreciate the time that you have invested on writing an overview of your stay with us. There seems to have been a number of deficiencies encountered which are very atypical and not reflective of our brand experience; if this stay was marred by irregular circumstances, we can only renew our apologies and assure you that we have in the meantime briefed the team at great length of your comments. We are working on a daily basis to exceed our guest's expectations and would love to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future to offer you a remarkable stay. Best wishes,

A great stay

, North Vancouver, BC
2019-12-02
Great experience! Really nice beach, food was good, room was very nice and the entertainment during our stay was exceptional. The staff were friendly and helpful and. It was nice that there were so many activities available including tennis, volleyball and hobie cat sailing ! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness, service, shows, sports.
The weak points
Limited fresh fruit- and no lemons / limes for drinks. Gym had a lot of broken equipment - will this be fixed before I come again? Internet was hard to come by. Would like it included.
Certified
Hotel reply, staff, on 2019-12-05
Dear Richard Triggs Thank you for your review for your recent stay with us. We were absolutely delighted to read that you had a great stay with us. Your comments have been shared with the team who contributed to this great experience. We hope we have the chance to welcome you back again in order to provide the best of our service and make your stay even more comfortable! Warm regards, Managing Director.

Excellent resort

, Nipawin, SK
2019-11-05
We have been to PDM in Veradero many many times over the past 10 years! We usually try to go every single year and sometimes twice a year. We absolutely love it, we have always enjoyed an amazing vacation there. We have always had a lovely room, the food has always been very good for us, we have never had any issues with food. The staff are amazing and so helpful. For us it is one of our very best vacation spots to go to, and we love it so much, it is one of the reasons we keep going back again and again. It has become a home away from home for us. We both give it a five star rating. We have stayed at other hotels in Cuba as well, and they were good also, we have no complaints about them either. But for us Princesa Del Mar It's truly the best. We can't wait to go back again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff! No food issues, nice big rooms, beautiful resort, amazing beaches, lots to do and see! Lots of entertainment ! Just a really great place to vacation ❤️ We love this place ❤️
The weak points
Some staff do not speak English, wish we spoke more Spanish, room service can be a bit slow at times ! No major complaints really! We've had really great stays !
Hotel reply, staff, on 2019-11-12
Dear Ma&Pa-M Thank you for your lovely review about Paradisus Princesa del Mar. Your compliments has been passed on to the team, thank you for rating his service as outstanding. We hope you will take some time out in the future to visit us, Best regards,

FANTASTIC Adult-Only Resort!

, Hamilton, ON
2019-11-05
We have been to PPDM numerous times. This resort is top notch! Cuba offers beautiful beaches and breath-taking views, but this resort surpasses all others. The staff are amazingly helpful and friendly. The grounds are spotless and the rooms are pleasant and inviting. Plenty of water provided in the rooms along with a stocked mini frig. Pool bars, lobby bars and all those in between will spoil you with delicious tropical drinks or ice-cold beer! If you are searching for an adult-only bit of paradise, you can't go wrong at PPDM.
Food is fine! We always have plenty on our plate and are never hungry!
For those interested in fun in the sun, there are always activities at the beach and pool. If you're there to relax, rest assured, you'll go home rested but will be planning your return trip to PPDM!
We would like to say a special THANK YOU to Mari, the Community Manger who does SO much for her customers. No matter the inquiry, she finds the answer and helps you with a warm smile and kindness. She is certainly an asset to this resort. We love seeing her each visit. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pristine grounds. Very friendly staff. Clean sandy beach. Close to Varadero markets and site-seeing. Energetic and friendly fitness instructors on the beach and at the pool for fun activities. Lobby bar open 24/7 if you're a night-hawk! :)
Hotel reply, staff, on 2019-11-12
Dear Marianne Thanks you for taking the time to write your feedback following your recent experience in Paradisus Princesa del Mar. We was delighted that you choose to come and visit us and enjoyed the service and overall experience. And from our part we will do everything possible that your next visit will be even better. You are always welcome. Kind regards,

Très bien

, Saint-Lazare, HA
2019-10-27
tres bien, tres propre, bon service! repas correct pour Cuba [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
plage, personnel chambre 3112
The weak points
heure d'ouverture des resto sur l'heure du midi, ouvre seulement à 1230 hr
Certified
Hotel reply, staff, on 2019-10-30
Chère cliente, Nous vous remercions d'avoir pris le temps d'écrire un commentaire si élogieux suite à votre visite à l'hôtel C'est un plaisir de lire que vous avez passé une excellent séjour parmi nous. Nous sommes également ravis que la qualité de notre service ait entièrement répondu à vos attentes. Nous espérons avoir le plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau très prochainement Cordialement,

Nice hotel

, Ancaster, ON
2019-09-09
We stayed in the first week in Sept. No problem getting a lounge chair. Great time to go as the resort was not full. Food was the same every day. Not too much variety however I came for the beach which was warm and amazing. On my birthday we went to a la Cart and they surprised me with a cake and champagne. Very nice. Only disappointing part was the food. Otherwise well kept grounds. Entertainment gets affected by weather as is outdoors. They need an inside area. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, staff, on 2019-09-16
Hello dear Mary Thank you very mucho for your review and for enjoy your holidays in our hotel. It is so nice for us to know that you liked our rooms with sea view. I shared your good comments with the staff; opinions like yours motivate us to do our job with happiness. We look forward to see you again . Sincerely

Best animation

, Montréal, QC
2019-05-23
We got here and the hotel had a Cuban day with Cuban music animation . It was AMAZING!!!! Shout out to Nayvi❤️❤️ She was amazing and very nice ! We loved her!!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Hotel reply, staff, on 2019-05-24
Dear Nancy Thank you for your lovely review posted and for enjoying your holidays We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and would like to thank you for your comments on our facilities, and animation We hope to see you again and will be happy to host you again. Yours sincerely Mari the Community Manager

Amazing 3 week stay at this little gem!

, Gatineau, QC
2019-05-15
My husband JM and I were on this lovely resort, Royal side, from April 14th to May 5th (3 weeks).

We LOVED LOVED LOVED our stay there! Everything about the trip was amazing and we have nothing negative to say, aside from perhaps a bit of mosquito action in the Miramar restaurant, but aside from that, it was fantastic!
We are going back next year, 100%, in hopes to be as amazed the second time around, as the first !!

Highlights are as follow:

1) Beach - lovely beach, well maintained, comfy chairs, and enough space between the palapas to remain in your bubble. Never crowded, no need to highjack chairs at the crack of dawn, just great!
2) Scenery - soooo beautiful and well kept place, the buildings are lovely, the trees all over, the flowers everywhere, it was just beautiful and so were the pools!
3) Our room - HUGE, ocean view even though we did not ask or pay for that, boy was I happy to see the view when I walked in that gigantic room!! Amazing - clean and just so spacious!
4) Service - we were treated close to perfection the entire stay, all the employees, wherever you are served are very professional and courteous, super pro-active, and very very kind.
5) Gym - we went every day, I think it's a pretty full gym, and the staff was nice and on time!
6) FOOD - our biggest surprise was with regards to food. Yes normally, the food in Cuba is not that great (never horrible in my opinion, just perhaps, bland and not too much variety), however, this time??? NO MAM!! It was fantastic!! For 3 weeks, we ate morning, lunch, snack in the afternoon, and dinner and it was amazing every time! YES, you heard me! EVERY TIME!! We tasted everything and it was all delicious, and I am a pretty picky eater. We enjoyed the food at the buffet in the morning, at lunch and at night, and the restaurants were even BETTER than the buffet, which was hard to believe. Lots of variety, lots of flavour, great desserts and just wowowowowowo!!! I ate as well as in Jamaica and better than in 99% of the Mexico resorts I have been to. LEGIT!

I would like to thank all the staff for making our trip so lovely, and here are some folks we would like to put forward for their outstanding service:

Bell boys/room service
Amazing staff, all of them very patient and kind for driving our 4 luggage's and golf bag around for us!

Cleaning lady
She was awesome, and our room was spotless throughout!

Beach chair keepers
Alfredo & Fernando, both as efficient, both on the ball, both very hard workers who paid attention to detail. And Alfredo, I found very very kind, we talked a little and I really enjoyed his company.

Entertainment
Felix, very good water aerobics' classes in the sea, I enjoyed those! I also danced on the beach once with him, even though I was solo, I had fun!
Marialys, we had a good Spanish class with her, and then we learned how to make a grasshopper, a flower and a fish out of palm tree leaves, it was lovely.

Royal buffet
ALL the waitresses were amazing, very kind, very sweet, very attentive and just perfect service overall.

Pool snack bar
THE best wood oven pizza you'll ever ha!!! Chorizo pizza and Hawaiian pizza, simply addictive and soooo delicious!!

Beach bar
Iniacio (Nacho) - certainly a very effective bar tender and kind man! My husband liked him very very very much, so much so that they will keep in touch. He was great!

Hilltop restaurant (that restaurant in itself was a hidden gem - we went at least 6 times and tried the whole menu, just delicious food and my fave about it was the chocolate pyramid dessert - wow!!)
Javier - just a fine young and vibrant man, he was always in a stellar mood, always on the go and sooooo efficient, he was great!! He speaks a bit of French and English and we really had a soft spot for him.
Dorian - our favourite waiter of all time, just so professional, beyond what any waiter has ever been. That guy could serve at any 5 star restaurant in North America and make so much money, it's insane. He just had it. No idea where he got his training, but he was simply perfect in every way. He is my husband's highlight of the trip. We love him very much and hope to see him next year when we return.

Butler Service
Randy - our main butler, was just soooooo efficient, soooooo proactive, soooo kind, and helpful, that we legit never even had to lift a finger for any of our reservations, our my husband's golf days. He made our lives easy as can be and we are very thankful to have been assigned to him. He's most likely the best!!!
William, who replaced Randy, drew us the loveliest bath!
Ernesto, was also great.
Yan was very good as well.
They are all very kind and hard workers, very organized and on top of things at all times.

Sakura
Evilio - this man, the best of the best, made us sushi (not a thing there, not on the menu). The sushi plate he made us twice, was THE best sushi I have ever had in my entire life! YES! I SAID IT! It was out of this world and we felt very lucky to receive that treatment from him, not once, but twice. The appetizer he made us was also out of this world. I could not stop thinking about those sushi and if it were just me, I could have had that as a meal, every night for the rest of the stay...

I recommend this resort - Royal side, and I have been giving out the name of it ever since I got back from vacation. I HIGHLY encourage people who love Cuba to go to that resort as it will make for a superb time, I promise.

Note that we did go on the other side, and it was as beautiful over there than it was on our side. Love the set up (restaurants and plaza, and pool table as well as ping pong table, little market, money exchange shop, gym, aerobics class, and all that). The main lobby was lovely over there but the one on the Royal side was gorgeous, and we were close to everything, so it was great!

If you want a top notch service, Paradisus Princesa del Mar is the way to go!

Very happy costumers,
MJ & JM (AKA Juan Marco & Maria-José) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food & Service, Beach scenery!
The weak points
Mosquitos in the Miramar restaurant
Hotel reply, staff, on 2019-05-24
Dear Marie Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words following your recent stay with us. I was glad that we met your expectations and found the service and hotel facilities to your liking. Please do come and visit us again soon. Yours sincerely, Mari the Community Manager

Great Resort and Vacation

, Coquitlam, BC
2019-04-30
We stayed in the Royal Service and had the Honeymoon Bonus. Overall, it was a great vacation and I would return here in the future.The additional cost for the Royal service was minimal, but the additional services and amenities were well worth it. The included green fees covered the additional cost alone. Our butler, Val, was extremely pleasant and efficient with all of our requests. Our room was very nice with ocean views and excellent location with close proximity to the beach, restaurant, lobby bar and pool. If you're ok with the quiet and relaxed atmosphere, opt for the Royal Service. If you want to be closer to the party, restaurants and activities then Royal Service is a 5 minute walk away. The overall location of the resort is at the far end of the strip, so keep this in mind when travelling outside the resort. It is $20 each way to downtown, and you will be the first pick-up and the last stop for any tours. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach is amazing with endless sand, warm and azure blue water. The service everywhere was excellent. The overall appearance of the resort and landscape is beautiful.
The weak points
The food is mediocre across the board. The buffets are unimpressive and the steak seems to be the same mediocre cut and preparation in every restaurant. The entertainment was also mediocre. There were also lots of mosquitos at night - bring bug spray.
Certified

Paradisus Princesa del Mar

, Oshawa, ON
2019-04-19
The resort was excellent and the entertainment every night was over the top like nothing we've ever seen before at other resorts. Not sure why people complain about the food as we ate everything…no problem. Yes some of the food was bland but for the most part, it was good. The pools were great, alcohol was flowing fine and the ocean was like bathtub water it was so nice.

In addition, the A-La-Carte restaurants for the most part were very good with the exception of the Italian restaurant which is probably why they're going to be renovating it next month. We were surprised that from time to time some of the restaurants were out of certain items like butter and various appetizers or main course items but not a big deal.

We also did two excursions whereby we did the Jeep Safari and a private day trip to Havana and not the bus tour which both were very good. We also went to Veradero on two separate occasions to shop, have lunch and mingle with the locals.

The only damper was that my spouse had a severe reaction to mosquito bites to the point that she had to get an injection and was placed on three different medications. Her lower legs were full of large red lumps and some of the lumps actually blistered. She was very self-conscious of this as people stared everywhere we went making her uncomfortable. Aside from this, we loved the trip. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, friendly staff and fabulous entertainment and plenty of food.
The weak points
No face clothes and towels could have been replaced more often. Sand flees at the beach were nasty and the mosquitos which couldn't be seen but bites were certainly noticeable.
Certified

Paradisus Princesa DeL Mar , Excellent resort

, Hardwicke, NB
2019-04-14
The resort was excellent , my first time to Cuba , one of my best vacation , would recommend this resort to any one and will be returning for sure and as for the food that everyone complains about , this resort has good food , never had any sickness issues , thanks to everyone for the services. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The strong point is the staff are so nice everywhere on the resort, beaches are the best yet, the resort is very well kept and clean everywhere and had no complain about the food at all.
The weak points
None!
Certified

5 stars resort ????

, Toronto, ON
2019-03-30
Terrible service from Buffet and other A La carte restaurant, the management needs to enforce excellent customer services if this is a 5 stars resort. Foods are not appetizing ( no choices at all.) Room on ground level has mosquitos, I got 8 bites 1st night, door can not close. A La carte dinner is always full booking, but most restaurants are 40-50% empty all the times.??? Need to address the booking system or change to no reservation, but first come first serve. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The only 1 excellent service was from Bamboo restaurant, the best server I met throughout my stay. The overall landscape is great.
The weak points
need more food variety, do not just serve fried egg, scramble egg, omelette, natural egg.. sausages with different colors. Room is not clean, no pen, no facial tissue, door can't close, mosquitos inside room. Customer service needs big improvement.
Certified

Not a great trip

, Thunder Bay, HA
2019-03-28
The food was very poor. We liked the hot dogs but most days during our vacation they were sold out even at the beginning of days . We had ask for room service most nights because we did not eat our suppers even though we stayed in royal service and when they answered the phone the instead of saying hello they spent 1 minute telling what food they don't have. Both me and my girlfriend got sick during our trip.
The pool restaurant at royal service made up its own schedule and one day was not even ready to cook until after 1.5 hours later than 1 pm until I complained . I was told to go to the buffet I said if I wanted to eat inside instead of outside in the sun I would have staid home in canada and ate there. Most days if they had 10 choices on the menu at pool restaurant they would have 3 available .
Half the staff was so nice and the other half was very miserable even though I spent 600 on tips for a 7 day trip. When I complained it was like an inconvienance they made an effort as my last day the pool restaurant had a full menu and was open on time .
I told there manager that I own a business and when I can't keep a schedule I lose business. I think people never showed up for work and that is why we were screwed but I told them a good business when people don't show up for work the bosses have to pick up the pieces to ensure the customer does not feel the loss. My second year there back to back this year royal service and was very disappointed and likely done with Cuba now as a result .
The Sea Bass was great at one place and the French Restaurant was great but the rest was really bad including the over cooked lobsters I paid extra 3 times to enjoy .
This likely a waste of time filling out but there were a lot of other complaining about similar issues and even worse . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great place

, Mississauga, ON
2019-03-24
Great place with good food, clean, beautiful beach, friendly staff, amazing entertainment specially Luis kept us entertained all day and we learned how to dance. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice place , clean, good food, gym , salon , spa everything you need

Best girls trip to Cuba 2019

, Moncton, NB
2019-03-23
We had arrived late at night. But got into our rooms quickly. Our rooms were all in the same building and on the same floor. Leo had arranged all our accommodations and restaurant reservations. A special thank you to Leo for organizing our stay and all our restaurant reservations. We enjoyed all our a la carte restaurants especially the Japanese restaurant.
We also enjoyed many of the resorts nightly shows. And participated in some of the beach and pool activities. Like dance lessons and water aerobics. On Tuesday we attended the disco at the Melia del Marina resort next door. Great dancing and music. Absolute wonderful time had by all of us!! An extra special thank you to the Animations crew especially to one young man Luis(Juan Luis de la Cruz Favier). He has an amazing talent at helping us feel comfortable and showing us how easy it can be to learn new dance steps. With his friendly and lovable personality. Thank you Luis!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly and helpful service!!

Wonderful Experience

, Fort Frances, ON
2019-03-21
It was my first hot vacation. My adult daughter and I went and it was absolutely magnificent!! The staff were amazing, so kind and helpful. The beaches were gorgeous, the pools incredible and the weather perfect! 31 degrees and sunny every day. I would definitely recommend this resort and am definitely going back. Next time with hubby [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly and very helpful staff. Our maid was awesome. Beaches outstanding, pools were beautiful and refreshing. The food was great. It was the most relaxing vacation I have ever been on. Thank you to all the wonderful staff, we had the best time ever!
The weak points
None
Certified

Paradisus Princesa Del Mar

, Halifax, NS
2019-03-17
Great spot. Friendly staff. Entertainer Yordan Olmo was very informative to us and did an excellent job entertaining. We have been around the world and I can say we will be back! Also a shout out to lobby bar staff Javier, Mario, sandy and cigar bar staff member Euben! Thanks to all of them we had a great time and any questions answered. Its Cuba <3 Enjoy for what it is. Thanks [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Spectacular experience

, Winnipeg, MB
2019-03-17
We booked this resort solely on website searches and upon arrival we could not have been more pleased. The staff in the royal service was exceptional with beautiful accommodations and site. The resort was large and beaches are incomparable. What made this experience so excellent was the entertainment staff members especially Yordan and Irina! Very friendly and helpful to make our stay more enjoyable. We can not wait to return !!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Entertainment! Hands down amazing! The staff members Yordan and Irina went out of their way to ensure we had an amazing vacation!
The weak points
My only complaint would be the excessive use of plastic cups and straws...as with most resorts I am sure however there is better options. I would strongly hope to see them switch to no straws or paper ones and reusable plastic cups.

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021