Los Delfines

Los Delfines
3.273.273.273.273.27
3.27 based on 423 reviews
#26 of 65 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Varadero
Rated 3.5 stars
Traveller pictures (177)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123

Los Delphinos

, Boudreau West, NB
2020-03-09
We were a family of 6 adults and 2 children ,and had a wonderful time [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very well centered and close tobeach
The weak points
The food,but it's Cuba
Certified

Was fine

, St Williams, ON
2020-02-29
It was fine for our first trip to Cuba. The food was surprisingly bland. The beach was beautiful and was never too crowded. The drinks were plentiful. We were surprised that there wasn't a currency exchanger. We requested a king bed and had two doubles. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Stay at Los Delfines

, Surrey, BC
2020-02-24
A 5 star beach
a 3 star hotel
staff great
original in room over beach area bar
was able to move to main hotel area which is newer
would stay again in main hotel area [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Los delphines varadero cuba

, Battleford, SK
2019-12-04
great midtown location, pleasant staff. very good breakfast, I would stay here again [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
excellent location,midtown varadero.Friendly staff,and clean rooms. tv worked well, had hot water everyday. Very good breakfast, and a nice selection of very good,inexpensive restaurants within immediate walking distance. spectacular beach!
The weak points
lack of beach towels, no house brand whiskey(irish or scotch), thought it was a little pricey for the time frame we were there
Certified

Los Delfines

, Spruce Lake, SK
2019-12-03
very clean,staff was very friendly and helpful but not happy with the food on the resort [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location,beach,staff
The weak points
food,food at snack bar,food at the restaurant
Certified

Transferred to Roc Valovento because of Irma

, St Bruno, QC
2017-10-01
It was a very nice hotel but the services could have been a bit more friendly.
The buffet was just OK but we always found something to eat. Breakfast was never any problem [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing beach and good cappuccino at the main bar.
The weak points
Customer appreciation by 60 percent of staff
Certified

Another great vacation!

, Montreal, QC
2017-04-01
This was my fourth time returning to this hotel. Yes, it is older and in need of a little repair but, the beach is absolutely beautiful at the staff are so nice. I'm not there for the hotel room - I'm there for the beach and the sunshine. It is located close to downtown Varadero and there are a few little markets around. There are also some good restaurants close if you want to take a break from the buffet. I've enjoyed each and everyone of my stays there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- beach - staff - location (the hotel is surrounded by good restaurants, close to the bank and in walking distance to downtown Varadero)
The weak points
- hotel is older and in need of some repair - hot water can be scarce! - would be nice to have access to wifi
Certified

Club Los Delfines

, Woodbridge, ON
2017-02-21
Loved the place. Great Buildings, great facilities, entertainment. What a Beach! Beautiful Pool. And Downtown. Food was above average for Cuba. Very Fresh. Had the time of my life. Going back for sure! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location/Beaches/Staff/Food/Drinks/Facilities. I'm going back. Loved it!
The weak points
Bathroom and no Wifi but it is Cuba so was acceptable. Bathroom fine except shower floor slanted.
Certified

Good location - Run down hotel

, Calgary, AB
2017-02-14
Location is good as it is downtown and easy to accces all cultural activities in any part of the town. The hotel is run down. Expect not to get the beach towels so better pack your own. Get extra towels as they only put one per guest. Get your own shampoo and shower gell as they don't provide those, although they say it's all inclusive. Food is flat but healthy. Entertainment team sucks, specifically Jordan. The evening shows are ok. There is nothing to do after 11AM at the hotel. However as the hotel is located in downtown, there is always some life band or some free shows in vicinity and you can walk there rather then taking a taxi. Beach is ok. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Things have changed

, Sherbrooke, QC
2015-03-07
Very disappointed.14th time to Cuba. We have seen and understand the reality of it all. We were very disappointed.
This said, this resort is on the way to closing for sure,, the hotels to the left are all closed, and demolition signs everywhere. The rooms on the beach side have 28'' beds and very dusty. Most of the ceilings are falling apart,
Buffet in the morning is great, lunch is hit and miss. For diner ouff never mind find a good restaurant near the site, (there are several). Nonna tina is absolutely a great pizza spaghetti place.
Coffee machine in the morning was broken every other day and on the day it worked coffee not to hot.
Varadero beach is PERFECT, you can walk all day with not trouble, or just sit in the sun and relax. SO next year yes will be back to Cuba.. But not at this resort,, [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Beach is the best.. Great reastaurants all over Varadero
The weak points
The hotel is old , run down, and is about to close,,,
Certified

Hotel Los Delpines

, Scarborough, ON
2015-01-02
We spent a fantastic week in this hotel in November 20014.resort is older but friendly staff makes your stay very pleasant. LUCIANO the entertainer was fantastic. I can highly recommend massage therapist LOUIS.He is one of the best. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach ,location in the middle of Varadero
The weak points
Entertainment,food is repetetive

Many times at los delfines

, Guelph, ON
2014-12-30
I have been 6 times in the last year to this hotel. I thought i had made many friends here.but i found out different this past time. I booked for 12 days on the 5th day there it had been raining. After it cleared i went for lunch. Coming from the buffet i slipped down the stairs and broke my ankle. I was rushed by abulance to the clinic. Where they xrayed and yes i had broken my ankle. I was moved to the bottom floor with a wheelchair i rented. Oh how they were so concerned i fell. Abraham was the only one to care about me.he brought his wife to help me.i must say thank you both. You are amazing people. But after they left. I was left alone. No one to help me get food. Nothing.i was crying when another tourist seen me and offered to help me get dressed. People in the hotel actually asked me why i didnt go to the buffet to eat. I guess they dont realize you cant get up stairs in a wheelchair. There were 2 young girls there. I noticed many security and one barender wanting to screw these 2 young girls, i was ashamed these people were acting in this manner.how safe would a hotel like this be to send my daughter there. To all those that have made many friends. There all nice to your face. But watch if the gifts dont come. Thats how i felt and i brought many things. It was just sad after all i have done for these people. Only one true friend was there for me. So all you single girls that go there. If your interested in any of the men there. Protect yourself. There only there for one thing. Sex and gifts. Be smart .i know i will never return. No offer was ever made by management to refund or give me another week which i had lost as i had to return home . They never clean up any water after it rains in the most traveled areas. Buffet.lobby bar. Rooms. Lobby and stairways [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach is nice. I truly see what the staff are after. Watch all young single girls.these men are out to suit there needs. Be prepared to eat out alot as well. The only nice dinner was cubans xmas dinner. Not ours
The weak points
The managers are not very helpful. They just care about entertaining there cuban friends.the 70 yr old male italians walking around with there 20 yr old prostitudes

If you are single and over 25 don't go to Varadero

, Toronto, ON
2014-12-29
The facilities were as expected and the beach was great but the atmosphere of the hotel was below expectations, no much going on. If you stay in this hotel you will quickly get bored. Fortunately it is located in the downtown area and if you want you can go out and explore different cafes and restaurants.

The buffet was small and food was repetitive, I had seafood (shrimps) only once, other fish they cooked was low quality fish. It will help if you bring some condiments non existent in Cuba like a small bottle of olive oil, balsamic vinegar and hot peppers

Now, if you are a single man over 25, I would not recommend Varadero at all, inside the hotels you will see mostly couples and teens. Outside, If you meet locals, everything is complicated, there is strict police and security everywhere and locals are afraid to even talk to tourists. In case you really want to go, consider renting a private house (Casa Particular), lots available in the downtown area for 30CUC/day ($37 CAD)

In regard to Nightlife, don't waste your money in places such as Havana Club, Casa de la Musica or Cabaret, they are full of locals who love laud Cuban music, instead go to outside clubs such as "Beatles" (Calle 60) and "Calle 62" (on Calle 62), great outside live shows, dancing, breathing fresh air and no cover charge. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, Beach, comfortable beds
The weak points
Not adequate for singles, food is repetitive
Certified

Fab vacay

, Shuniah, ON
2014-11-27
I've been to Varadero 12 times now, this was the 3rd time at Los Delfines. This is a smaller resort than the previous ones I've stayed at. From the front desk staff, waiters, bartenders, security staff to the maids, all the staff is very friendly and willing to help. Inaudy the dance instructor has the patiency of a saint and is able to teach anyone to salsa. Roberto the bartender make the best cappuccino and pina colada.
The rooms are clean, the maids do an excellent job.
The food is pretty basic but there is enough of a selection even for the pickiest of eaters. If you don't like the selections on the buffet go out on the the street and find a restaurant close by that will satisfy anyone.
For those of you that do not want to spend your vacation with hundreds of strange people on a resort where you have to walk blocks to get to the beach and wait forever to get a drink, you will be pleasantly surprised by this resort. By the end of your vacation you will have made new friends and connections that may last a lifetime.
I've been at this resort 3 times, made many friends, 4 very good ones, and i will definitely be returning on my net holiday. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff are amazing, just take the time to get to know them
The weak points
some rooms need upgrading
Certified

Great Hotel

, Toronto, ON
2014-03-03
The food was a pleasant surprice.
The staff excellent.
The beach perfect. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach, the service and the people
The weak points
It need to add espresso coffee machine at the pool bar
Certified

Beaware

, Mount Hope, ON
2014-02-27
This hotel is very old, even for cuba standards. The food was ok did not get sick. The beach was great a little choppy but still swimmable. Rooms were kept clean. Beds a bit lumpy. Entertainment, [ if you went to bed early you didn't miss much].
I ran into an issue our last day there I only had 3 drinks went to the beach bar to say goodbye to a certain bar tender, he made me a drink I drank it went back to pool area where my fellow travelers were. Passed out . pretty sure there was something in that last drink. So travelers beware this stuff does happen. Thank god for family and friends would have missed my flight. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
bar service, beds.
Certified

Well...

, Candiac, QC
2014-01-20
The hotel and staff are not great. The best thing about this hotel is the beach! The location is good too. But the rooms are not good and we only had hot water once for a shower. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach
The weak points
Bathroom and no activities
Certified

3 Star rating is about right for this hotel

, Mississauga, ON
2014-01-11
Three-star hotel is about right. The beach and beach front setup at this hotel are great. Hotel staff in general is friendly and helpful, except for the bar staff. Bar service in general was slow. Bartenders often seemed to ignore mepeople standing at the bar. Room was clean, but basic. Food was OK, could always find something to eat at each meal, but if you're a picky eater then Cuba in general is not the place to go, this resort no different. Resort is in Veradero itself, town is lively enough (this is a middle aged man stating this, though, so take it for what you will). If you're going to Cuba primarily for the beach, then you'll enjoy yourself. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-beachbeach front setup -bar set uppatio -good entertainmententertainers, but lacked variety -front desk and services there
The weak points
-food - liked the a-la-carte grill selections (egg omelets, fish, chicken) but not happy with rest -bar service was poor
Certified

Exceeded our expectations!

, Toronto, ON
2013-12-30
My girlfriend and I decided on a one week Christmas trip to Varadero and we initially chose Hotel Los Delfines because of it's central location in the downtown core of the city. I also much prefer the option of walking the streets of the city rather than being stuck on a resort for my entire stay and this hotel was perfect.

Quality/Price/Initial Impression: The hotel is an older one but is well maintained. Previous reviewers also gave this hotel a more positive rating than others in its price class. You can see that the staff really do care for the cleanliness of the rooms and grounds. Some previous reviewers have indicated having problems with their toilets and/or showers but ours were functioning. There are three main areas of the hotel, the buildings surrounding a large pool and stage area, the old colonial building which also has the buffet restaurant and the more modern building which has the clubhouse on the lower level. The more modern building and the colonial building are separated from the rest of the hotel by a small public street. All areas have rooms for the guests to stay. We paid more for our trip because of the time we went but there were shows on the main stage every night and the Christmas meal and stage show in particular was really well done. In addition, the staff always have optional beach activities planned for the guests which we also participated on a regular basis in and made our trip even more fun. I have stayed in a higher rated resort in Cayo Coco previously but this hotel was definitely more enjoyable overall so I personally feel that I got more than my money's worth.

Beaches: Simply put, the beach is amazing! This is the main reason you go to a resort and this beach does not disappoint. Los Delfines has access to a large area of the Varadero beach and there is always a place for you right by the water. You never have to fight for a spot. The beach is clean and the water is warm (even in December!) and was never too wavy. Highly recommended!

Room: The standard room we initially received was not very large. The bathroom area was also divided between the sink and the toilet by a door which made it somewhat inconvenient. We requested a room change but because the hotel was full (on account of Christmas) we could not change it until 3 days into the trip. However, the hotel manager, Efram, personally took care of things and changed us to a larger and more expensive suite overlooking the ocean. The unobstructed ocean view from room 312 was simply incredible. Please note that the new room was also located above the clubhouse so the music was playing until 11pm but we were out every night so it really didn't matter to us. For those preferring a more quite room, other reviewers have suggested getting a room overlooking the pool or one in the old colonial building also overlooking the ocean. This is of course assuming the hotel has them available when you request them.

Front Desk/Reception: The girls at the reception desk were helpful to our needs and pleasant to deal with. I also personally dealt with the hotel manager and found him to be very agreeable. He seemed genuinely concerned in our comfort while at the hotel and this was something I really appreciated.

Cleaning Staff/Security Crew: The cleaning staff was also good with keeping our room organized on a daily basis. We had absolutely no issues. There are plenty of security personnel on staff and visibly present so you always feel safe. We made sure to tip when possible and brought items with us like toothpaste and soap to give away as tips to staff because Cubans have difficulty in obtaining these items.

Food/Restaurants: Regardless of what some may say about Cuban food, I found it to be quite good overall. The buffet had a wide selection of dishes for guests to sample on a daily basis. All selections were also well prepared. The hotel also has one a la carte restaurant which you have to book early on to ensure you get a table because it is small. This restaurant also had excellent food and service although the menu selections were more limited. We also tried a restaurant outside the hotel on Calle 43 which served 2 lobster tails as well as salad and a drink (a Mohito) for only 15 pesos per person which we thoroughly recommend for those willing to try.

Phone/Internet: I did not use the internet while I was at Los Delfines. Cuba has difficulties in accessing the internet in general because of the current embargo as most internet infrastructure is located in the major US cities. As such, do not travel to Cuba expecting to use your computer devices or smartphone. Cellphones will work in most places but are expensive to use ($4/min for talk and $.75/text). Besides, aren't you on vacation? If you must use internet, you can buy minutes to use in a public internet location but it is also very expensive for only very limited time. Phone service can also be spotty. I called home to Toronto from my hotel room which worked both times (which I recommend over other communication options) but a public phone card did not work at all for me (I wasn't able to put out a call when I tried). I did not use my cell phone except to text which worked only at the airport.

Overall: We were thoroughly impressed with our first stay in Varadero. Despite the hotel being older and smaller, the staff and in particular the hotel manager went out of their way to make our trip memorable and pleasant. I will certainly consider booking here again and I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a thoroughly enjoyable vacation experience in Varadero Cuba. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Central location in Varadero; clean and empty beaches; excellent hotel service!
The weak points
No internet/business service
Certified

Love Veradero

, Hamilton, ON
2013-12-18
This is our second stay at Los Delfines. We have had a good time here and the staff is friendly and helpful. It is also not gigantic so you get to know some of the other guests as well. While the buildings and furnishings are in need of update, we would still return. Also, food is not spectacular, but no one will starve. This is our 4th stay in Cuba and this is the par it seems. The price is right! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good price, nice beach, great weather, nice people.
The weak points
Buildings and furnishings are dated, but work OK.
Certified

Better than expected.

, Toronto, ON
2013-12-01
My expectations were quite low considering the price we paid for this holiday. But, everything went very well indeed.

I must begin by saying that we were there on the shoulder season in November and the resort was quite empty. Perfect. The staff were very attentive and there were no problems with getting into our room, getting problems solved or getting drinks or loungers on the beach.

Main issue was the cleanliness of the beach. Now most of this was due to the disgusting nature of the guests. They threw away cigarette butts on the beach, left garbage everywhere and were generally pigs, but the hotel should have cleaned up after them.

The location in Varadero could not have been better. Right in the centre of town, close to shopping, banks, internet and the bus station.

All in all, if I were to go back to Varadero I would have no problems returning to Los Delfines, if the price were the similar. I would consider this to be a solid 3 star Cuban resort.

Things that might help: Get a room furthest from the beach away from the music and the show in the evening. Get creative with the food. The dining staff were more than willing to make grilled cheese sandwiches or grill up some cabbage and carrot with chicken to make an improvised stir-fry. I took some hot sauce which helped spice up the meals. Maybe some dried spice mix would be nice. Take a large cup for bevvies. They serve them in tiny plastic cups, it would also be eco friendly. But most of all be nice to the staff, 'cause they make next to nothing and you get better service. Don't forget to tip, the maid and bar staff at the beginning and the others at the end.

Enjoy yourself. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, clean room, small resort. Good beach. 24 hour bar. Problem with the toilet fixed quickly. Pool area loungers were very nice. Room staff were very helpful.
The weak points
Dirty sand. The food was repetitive. OK, it's Cuba we sort of expected it, but it has to be mentioned. The pool was a bit tiny but clean. Music on the beach was loud.
Certified

Not bad for the buck

, Hamilton, ON
2013-11-25
The hotel was an older place but very well maintained and very clean. The food could improve a lot. The people were really nice there. The one thing i did not like at all that i thought was really disgusting was the old men from europe there with very young cuban girls the men are old enough to be their great grandfather . I think that should not be allowed at the hotel it will eventually drive people away from there [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
close to the beach
The weak points
grandfathers there with the young cuban girls
Certified

I would return

, Hamilton, ON
2013-11-11
We would return to this hotel as a couple, not as a family though, not enough for the kids to do.
We stayed in an ocean view room and had a very nice room (same building as the 24 hr. bar) The view was spectacular!! The only two things that were not great in this building, we had NO hot water all week. And it tends to be quite noisy until midnight or later. I would stay at this hotel again, but I would want a pool view room, they had plenty of hot water in that building and tended to be quieter by 10 or 11 p.m.
You don't go to Cuba for the food in the resorts....I have stayed at a larger and higher star rating resort and did notice quite a difference in resort food. The buffet at Los Defines could use improvement. Very repetitive, ate a lot of pasta. Some of the food in the steamers was not very warm and for the cold salads and cheeses they were not on ice or a cold counter. I kept to only food that was the proper temperature. The bean soup was awesome!
Good place if you want to just relax and sip cocktails. Being right downtown was fantastic also. We went off resort many times and never felt unsafe. We also had a few meals off resort and were not disappointed.
Most staff members were pleasant and helpful. (we did have to ask for toilet paper for our room a few times the first day before sending us to the maids office to pick up a roll, throughout the week the maid kept us well stocked) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Overall, good bang for your buck. More intimate setting then a larger resort.
The weak points
No hot water on the ocean view side Buffet was very repetitive, but there are lots of places to eat off resort for reasonable prices. The pizza and hot dogs were good at the pool bar.
Certified

Real good value for the money

, Rockwood, ON
2013-10-21
We had a great time at this resort. It is a smaller older resort so everything was close by like the pool, bars and beach.. which is great if you do not want to spend your holiday walking like you do in the bigger resorts. It was also right in the center of all the shops and restaurants in Varadero. So if that's what you want to do it is very convenient. The staff was courteous and friendly....food was typical Cuban but always found something we liked....the a la Carte is small so you can go once during the week which is too bad since it was excellent...but if you want something different to eat than the buffet there are numerous restaurants at very reasonable prices nearby...great place for a quiet holiday maybe more suited for adults than young children and singles...well worth the money for us...Jim and Pam Rockwood Ontario [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly, quiet, clean small resort
The weak points
Not a lot of planned daily activities and need more a la Carte offerings...
Certified

Great beach

, Hamilton, ON
2013-10-14
Very clean , great service, Hotel is small food is basic. if your looking for ice sculptures and flash this is not the place .If your looking to just to relax on the beach come to this hotel. Fantastic beach. As well close to everything bank flea market stores food [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and close to everything
The weak points
same basic food
Certified

Never again

, Mississauga, ON
2013-10-11
I stayed here from Sept 21st to Oct. 5th and had many problems with this resort. The most important being the food and cleansliness or lack of at our resort. The buffet was reserving vegetables from previous meals and they were cold and water logged. We witnessed our bartender cleaning our esspresso cups with his finger under tap water, no soap no hot water. Spent the last week avoiding the food when possible (I had torn the ligaments in my ankle the 3rd day)I could not walk and was sucucumbed to my room...We were advised of several sick guest the week before we arrived and assumed the resort was aware and would be more cautious with food preperation / cleaning of the buffet. We had several flies in the restaurant at any time..Next time I will hold a little longer and pay a little more before ever considering this resort for vacation. This was my major complaint amongst many others which I will be forwarding to Islazul as at time I would not consider any of their resorts in Varadero, I felt that resort was a case of false advertising and rate this resort a 1 star.. We got tired of waking up the 24 hour bar staff - them turning the lights looking not impressed that we had just bothered them...After sprainging my ankle on the beach we requested a room on the ground floor and were given the wheelchair room, the room was okay our safe did not work and they had to replace the cover, the support rails in the shower had come out of the wall and were unsafe. We tried to make the best while we were there but myseld and aunt were both treated with antibiotics for probable e.coli when we got home. We were ectremely ill for the last 5 days of our trip as were many other guests complaining of severe stomach ahces and diarrhea. I would never consider this resort or probably an other Islazul resort again, [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach
The weak points
The food / Most staff
Certified

Great Location Friendly Staff

, Hamilton, ON
2013-10-07
Had a great time at this place. It is older, but the rooms are clean and the food is...well Cuban. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great location, right on the beach and near almost everything in Varadero
The weak points
Will not be eating Pasta for awhile!
Certified

Great value for the price!

, Oakville, ON
2013-09-11
Hotel located in Varadero City and conveniently near hop on and off bus. Lots of bars, restaurants and shops nearby. Beach is spectacular. Maid service great and room very clean. Food was so so but always found something to eat. Bar service not so good as bartenders indifferent. Room was very clean. We tried to get 2 keys for the room but were only allowed 1 After several attempts to get another key we gave up, not convenient for us but we managed. Hola Sun rep not very knowledgeable or helpful regarding excursions. Lots of activities going on during the weekend when locals stayed at the hotel but not so much happening during the week. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach is outstanding. Very pleased with cleanliness of room. Close proximity to bars, restaurants and shopping. Really enjoyed the cabaret show at the Hotel Internacional that was included in package. Overall, definitely received value for the price.
The weak points
Bartenders not eager to look after guests even when tipped. Hola Sun rep only on site for an hour a day and not informed regarding excursions that were available. Animation crew was great on the weekend upon arrival but fizzled out once locals went home
Certified

I had a good vacation

, Gatineau, QC
2013-08-13
This hotel is very good located in downtown, close to everything. beach is beautiful. food are great! much better than I expected. Staffs are nice and helpful. rooms are clean. one thing I 'm not 100% satisfied is that I have a very tiny shower space in my bathroom. My room is on second floor, and There is a show in the lobby every night till 11. so it is not a good room for people who want to sleep early. in general I had a very nice experience in this hotel. I would like to go back in the future! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
good location, wonderful beach, friendly staff, great food!
The weak points
small shower space
Certified

Best two weeks

, Scarborough, ON
2013-04-15
This was our 5th time to Cuba and our 4th at this resort. We love it there. We have become like family where they call us by name. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff amazing, location the best and a beach to die for.
The weak points
Ran out of few things, butter, wine etc. but was still able to find enough to eat.
Certified
pages: 123

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021