Iberostar Playa Alameda

Iberostar Playa Alameda
3.513.513.513.513.51
3.51 based on 319 reviews
#40 of 63 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Varadero
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (126)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123456

Wonderful time at Iberostar Playa Alameda!

, Ottawa, ON
2020-03-16
When I first arrived, my room smelled mouldy, so I asked to change to a different room and that was no problem. The beds are small but comfortable. The food was typical for a Cuban resort, you don't go to Cuba for the food, but for the beautiful beach and sunshine! The resort was clean, the staff was friendly and hard-working. The grounds are lovely, and well maintained. The architecture is colonial-style and very attractive. Food is available round the clock, and the cappuccino and drinks are plentiful. I have no complaints and would recommend this resort to friends and family. It was declared an adult-only resort as of last November 2019. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The service at this resort is excellent! If you have any questions, concerns or requests, the staff will respond to your needs quickly and will ensure that your needs are met! Very clean resort, and excellent evening entertainment.
The weak points
I have no complaints. If you know what to expect from Cuba, then this is a great resort!
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-23
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful impressions of your stay at our hotel. It is of the utmost importance to us that our guests can appreciate our well-thought-out holiday concept. Our daily efforts aim to guarantee our guests can experience the highest levels of comfort while soaking up the unique atmosphere. Again we thank you for sharing this fabulous review of our hotel and we hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Playa Alameda

Excellent venue!

, Ottawa, ON
2020-03-16
I had a great experience here. Small resort, great beach and service was excellent. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
service music
The weak points
bedrooms are not the best but suitable enough.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-23
Dear guest, We would like first and foremost to thank you for choosing Iberostar for your recent holiday. Every day is a new and exciting challenge for us as we work to provide our guests with a feeling of staying at a home away from home. Again we thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Playa Alameda

Not the best

, Kanata, ON
2020-03-10
I'm grateful I was able to get away and meet new friends however the hotel itself was terrible. Even the lobby was yucky, smelly old furniture.The room smelled so bad and it wasn't very clean at all, or maybe it was just so old that it was the cleanest they could get it. The staff was great but the drinks, not so much. Our fridge didn't work the entire time, as a matter of fact, it didn't even close properly and it leaked, therefore..mold! On the site they advertise you get coffee machines and housecoats in the room...NOT...however one of our friends found the room where they all were held, not being used haha There wasn't a swim up bar and there wasn't a bar that you could sit around while having the bartender make you fancy drinks. I was really looking forward to that as I had it the last time I was in Cuba. The food....well if you have been there before, no surprise, it's terrible. You won't starve though as long as you like bread and pasta. We paid much more for this trip to Cuba then the last 2 times there and I would say it certainly wasn't worth the extra money. I think I will be trying a different location next time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, beaches
The weak points
Food, Cleanliness
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-18
Dear guest, We appreciate the time you have taken to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our 5* all inclusive resort boasting seven bars and five restaurants. We are sorry to hear you were not fully satisfied with our establishment. Although we are aware our hotel is not brand knew, our diligent staff work hard to maintain it in pristine condition through a rigorous cleaning routine and regular inspections. However, we are always grateful for the opportunity to see our hotel through the eyes of our guests and we have taken note of your comments. Furthermore, we would like to clarify that as part of our initiative Wave Of Change we are eliminating all single use plastic from our rooms worldwide. Therefore we decided to remove the coffee facilities until we have sourced environmentally-friendly coffee capsule for our hotels in Cuba. However, our guests can order coffee from room service free of charge. We apologise for any inconvenience caused and hope you appreciate this initiative is close to our hearts. We hope you enjoyed the breathtaking views and the crystal clear caribbean waters and that you had a safe journey home. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Playa Alameda

Mar 2020

, Hamilton, ON
2020-03-09
Weather great. Room great. Food perfect for Cuba better then a lot I have stayed. Entertainment great. Whole stay fantastic
I have stayed at many resorts in Cuba. This one rates best. Size smaller which I like easy access to everything comfortable great stay [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everything was great
The weak points
None
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-23
Dear Dorothy, Thank you very much for your review of our establishment. We are always very happy to receive confirmation our guests have enjoyed an excellent holiday and have left with wonderful memories. Our combination of both a friendly and competent service is one of our highest priorities and we are constantly working to provide our guests with an excellent experience. Finally, we thank you once again for your kind comment and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Until then, we wish you all the best. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Playa Alameda

Vacation

, 3584, NS
2020-03-01
The staff is fantastic! Genuine people
Buffet had something for everyone's taste
Size of the resort is good
Evening shows were fantastic; very lively
Cleanliness of our room was poor; musty smelling and just surface clean, a la cart restaurant were lacking in food; always out of things on the menu. Women's bathrooms were always ruining out of toilet paper and hand washing soap [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, Beach, Shows
The weak points
Cleanliness of room Lack of toilet paper around resort Lack of hand soap Lounge chairs
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-13
Dear Brenda We want you to know that the description of your stay with us at our hotel is very helpful and we thank you for providing your rating. Although your comments show that in most areas we are on the right track with our numerous efforts and our detailed service, we have taken your feedback on board regarding the concerns you raise as we are aware that we can only improve on the basis of constant dialogue with our guests. Again we want to thank you very much for sharing your review of our establishment and would be delighted to welcome you back to one of our hotels soon. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Playa Alameda

Would not return

, Pictou, NS
2020-02-29
Resort is small so it's easy to get around. Staff are amazing! The staff I would say would be the main reason they would have any return customers. The beach of course is beautiful as it is Varadero so all of the resorts along their have amazing beaches. The rooms are large and beds are either king or 2 doubles put together. Mattresses very hard and one pillow each so you might want to bring extra one if u need more than one. Bathrooms have a large glass door instead of wooden, be very careful as they come off track easy and are beyond heavy to hold on to. I tripped on metal lip in front of shower and fell on ceramic bathroom floor as only two bath towels no bath mat on that day, half vacation in wheelchair from the medic room which u rent only after doctor does assessment of injuries. The doctor at this resort was wonderful. Air conditioners work but don't keep up with the humidity so your cloths, sheets ect will always feel damp but you get used to it. Rooms are very poorly lit with 3 small lamps and no ceiling lights, a bit brighter if you take the shades off of them. We have been to Cuba many times, we always come back because of the people and the beaches, would we come back to this resort? No, their were just too many things that could of and should of been done that would not cost much to fix that they won't do. Most outside lights don't work but have bulbs in them, when we touched one it tipped over and wiring inside was all rotted, very hard to find your room in the dark if you are the back end of any building. The resturaunts were out of most items on the menus which was very disappointing. They hand u a menu with items scratched out but when u order they will say sorry we do not have that either. Chicken, fries, ect are never to be seen. Pizza is burned almost always on bottom in buffet and very very sparse cheese and sometimes you might find a peice with a little green pepper which not sure why they don't put on as they have it. If u like seafood thier is plenty, meat not so much and if you take a peice of steak or pork it is very very tuff to bite though so maybe stick to salad or pasta [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff that are warm, welcoming, they always remember you and stay to chat and see how your vacation is going. Beach is beautiful
The weak points
Water brought only every other day but always had to call to get even that one. Food very poorly cooked, meat raw inside. Uncomfortable hard beds, shortage of towels, rooms damp, patio door locks don't work no coffee machines in rooms.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-13
Dear Wendy We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and for sharing your experience with us. Firstly, we are very sorry to hear about your accident and we hope you have fully recovered now. Secondly, we regret that your stay fell short of your expectations on this occasion. We are especially disappointed that our gastronomic selection was not entirely to your liking. However we thank you for providing your observations, we will, of course, share them with our professional chefs as they greatly appreciate feedback and any possibility to offer more to our guests. Similarly, we will explore your concerns with our maintenance and housekeeping team to ensure every detail of our establishment is perfect. Again we thank you for this review and hope to see you again soon in the future. Best regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Playa Alameda

First time in cuba

, Brampton, ON
2020-02-05
Loved the beach, the overall atmosphere of the resort great, staff very helpful and friendly [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Breakfast! Coffee
The weak points
Litter around the grounds Would like servers on the beach Side tables for drinks on the beach Loungers need to be replaced
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-02-26
Dear Laura, It has been a real pleasure to read this excellent review of your recent holiday with us at our hotel and we really appreciate that you took the time to write and share it with us and other travellers. The fact that we were able to impress you with our excellent standards in every area that characterise our company is of great importance to us. We are so glad you have kept us in your fondest memories and it would be wonderful to welcome you back again. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Playa Alameda

Total disaster

, Longueuil, QC
2020-01-28
We were already exhausted from the delay. we reached the hotel at 5 AM instead of 9 PM, all we wanted was to shower and get some sleep, it was really too much asking. The shower wasn't clean and the room smelled really like some body died in there and they forgot to open the windows.after arguing for about 20 minutes we got another room not that smelly but not great at all. the covers had bloodstains and the tile floor was disgustingly filthy, the heavy curtains had obvious stains on them. there was no phone in the room, I have asked every day and I received the same answer every day, we are working on it. From the foods I got sick and we only drink to avoid being dehydrated. The staff were kind and welcoming and the beach was perfect. I may go back to Cuba one day but my children don't ever want to go back there. They really need to improve the hotel in all levels and we also need to stop indulging them by choosing other destinations. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-01-31
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback on your stay at our paradise resort Iberostar Playa Alameda. We regret the room you stayed in did not meet your expectations. We would like to reassure you that our efficient housekeeping team follow a strict cleaning routine of all areas of the hotel, including bed linen and towels. Furthermore, our highly trained chefs adhere to international hygiene guidelines and take the utmost care in preparing the food to guarantee the health and safety of our guests. Nonetheless, we will be sure to pass your comments on to the relevant department for their assessment. We apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay and and we hope to see you again soon at one of our Iberostar resorts. Best Regards Quality Manager Iberostar Playa Alameda

Review of Iberostar playa Alameda

, Toronto, ON
2020-01-19
This vacation was enjoyable for the most part but definitely not a 4 star...more like 2.5-3 star
Room was a disappointment with many broken items
Staff are great but I would not return or recommend this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff are exceptional Property is clean Quite a few palapas on the beach Food was tasty but not much selection Great entertainment and service staff
The weak points
Rooms smell musty Curtains have mold stains A/C control was missing the control knob Mirror falling off the wall Needed to go looking for toilet paper and clean towels Beach/pool loungers are broken and dirty
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-01-23
Dear Lise, We are grateful for the time you have taken to review our 5* adults only Iberostar Playa Alameda resort, boasting a wide range of watersports and all-day activity programme. We are surprised and disappointed we found some items not working properly during your stay. Our capable maintenance team regularly check the hotel and grounds and are also quick to fix any item that is brought to their attention. Similarly, our housekeeping are always happy to replace any item that may be missing or not to your complete satisfaction. Nonetheless, we would like to apologise for any inconveniences caused and we will be sure to pass on your feedback to the relevant department so we can continue pursuing our goal of delivering perfect holidays to each guest. We trust you had a pleasant journey home and we wish you all the best. Kind Regards Quality Manager Iberostar Playa Alameda

Fully Relaxed

, Rocky Mountain House, AB
2019-12-01
This was our first time to Cuba and loved every minute of it. Our room was pretty spacious and the A/C worked great. Also our stairwell was only accessed by 4 other units so it wasn't noisy at all. During our stay we noticed so many activities around the resort, I.e, dancing lessons, Spanish lessons, dart tournaments, rifle shooting, there was sometimes a bbq going on down by the beach around lunch time. The Varadero beaches are beautiful with white sand and clear blue water. All of the staff where friendly, the groundsman often cut fresh flowers for the ladies or would chop up a coconut that had fallen from a tree for us to try. Each night there was an entertainment show. Our resort also had a Discotech/Club that ran too 2pm.
The location of the resort itself in comparison too Varadero was a bit further away than others. The marina is only a block or two away and has a bunch of shopping, restaurants and tours that head out from there. But heading the other way into Varadero sometimes took a while on the bus just because we would pick up lots more stops & hotels. But don't worry the vintage cab ride was only 15$CUC & about 10mins so pretty quick when it's direct. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The resort lay out was great. It wasn't too far of a walk between any of the areas or buildings.
The weak points
The food in Cuba is very different from North American. Just took a bit too find out what your looking for. Stay away from the beef & pastas, go for chicken, porks, and salads
Certified

NOT RECOMMENDED

, North York, ON
2019-08-28
This is my 5th and last time to Cuba. Horrible hotel. Check in 4pm and by 5pm my room was still not ready. Was to be in room 1113. Front desk check female had a rude attitude thru the duration of our stay. Put us in room 1119. NO TOILET SEAT. HORRIBLE NIGHTMARE FROM HELL. NUMEROUS times I asked to speak to the manager and HE NEVER SHOWED UP. Room was disgusting. Nothing like the pictures on the net. This woman who checked us in and the hotel manager should be reprimanded these people should not be in the hospitality business. Rained 2 nights. Asked for an umbrella after I told her twice there wasn't one in our room. She responds with a "SO". DEMANDED THE MANAGER. He never showed up in the lobby nore to our room. THIS RESORT IS A FAKE. As is the manager and his front desk side kick. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The buffet restaurant staff was pleasant and courteous. Lovely people.
The weak points
Disgusting rooms. Rude front desk check in. Unprofessional manager. Food was tasteless and poor to minimal selection. Same food combination every day. Resort is over rated and not the same as shown on the net. DEFINATELY A " 0 ".
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-09-03
Dear Guest, Although we sincerely regret reading that your recent stay at Iberostar fell short of your expectations, we are grateful for the time you spent to share your feedback with us. Firstly, we are sorry that you were not satisfied with our cuisine. Gastronomy plays a very important role in our hotel, it is fundamental to us that all our guests enjoy their meals during their stay. Furthermore, we apologise for the discrepancies that you found. We are sorry that you had this experience during your stay and apologise for any inconvenience due to the above. We would like to reassure you that all of our staff are highly trained professionals and are renowned for their kind and competent manner, we are very disappointed that you did not receive this impression during your stay. We trust that you have taken some great memories home with you from Cuba We would like to think that you will give us another opportunity and visit one of our many hotels in the future. Best regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Playa Alameda

Mr and mrs

, Toronto, ON
2019-07-16
This Hotel Was Ok, Did not like the Fact That they put us in a unit then change it and put us elsewhere did not care for that unit, they did change us to a new one [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Drinks was plentifully, the tour was ok
The weak points
need a better internet services
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-07-22
Dear Alvin, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our stunning all-inclusive, spa hotel on the seafront. We are happy to see that you enjoyed the fantastic selection of drinks available at our hotel and we will look into your concerns regarding the internet offered at our resort. It is through customer feedback that we can improve our hotel and its services so we appreciate your comments. Once again, we thank you for your observations and we hope to see you again at one of our hotels in the near future. Best regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Playa Alameda

Iberostar Playa Alameda

, Toronto, ON
2019-04-14
Overall we enjoyed the stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach was clean. Front desk was helpful with exchanging money and reporting a plugged drain in room. Swimming pool was the highlight of vacation.
The weak points
Mini bar was only stocked every 2 days sometimes 3 days. Not enough servers for the amount of guests. Beach was over-crowded and was not able to find chairs. Restricted hours for cafeteria and coffee bar not convenient.
Certified

Relaxing Vacation

, Dartmouth, NS
2019-03-16
The staff were very friendly. We found that some of the front desk staff had a harder time understanding English which makes it difficult as they are the main contact people for issues. We had an issue for three days with our hairdryer that was smoking but got it rectified finally thru our rep. Nice small resort with some great entertainment and the food was very reasonable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff, especially Tony the waiter, Charlie the entertainer, and Idelysis our waitress.
The weak points
Response time to issue(s).
Certified

Cuba adventure

, Girouxville, AB
2019-03-15
The hotel was good!! The staff was very friendly and helpful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food for the most part was very good. Fresh fish made everyday in the buffet restaurant. The beach was very close and clean.
The weak points
The bedrooms were not the best. The beds were to double beds. The cleanliness was not the greatest. Towels did not get exchanged everyday and the sheets had not been changed once over a 2 week period. I would not rate this as a 4 /12 star resort.
Certified

Playa Alameda

, Quispamsis, NB
2019-03-04
Average nothing fancy,average cleanliness,staff not overly helpful,drinks inconsistent from one bar to another. Beach was absolutely beautiful. A week was plenty.
I believe the accommodations and service were very similar to other resorts in the area when discussing this location with other people that stayed at other resorts along the same strip in Varadero. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and location
The weak points
Not very well maintained Staff not overly helpful.
Certified

Nice experience

, Edmonton, AB
2019-03-04
Really good experience. Lots of activities to do during day and shows at night while at the same time not too rowdy of a place. Most of the staff was very friendly. The buffet food was decent for Cuba but wish there was a bit more traditional Cuban food. Beach really nice and easy to plan activities from the hotel as they have rental car/scooter, and tour staff on site. Gorki's aquafit class every day was awesome and so fun. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-Lots of activities -Specialty restaurants good -Most of the staff very friendly
The weak points
-Pool bar staff rude
Certified

Nice beach

, Edmonton, AB
2019-02-22
the beach area and pool area are about the only things nice about this hotel [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
on our fourth day at this resort the pool snack bar ran out of food and beach snack bar ran out of beer. on the following morning the buffet was out of bread of any kind..
Certified

Cuba in February

, Mississauga,, ON
2019-02-20
We arrived late on February 6th, we got a room that had a moldy smell, I suspect this room on ground level was hit by hurricane waves in 2018. The next day we were switched to a really nice room. The service to switch to the new room was excellent. We enjoyed our stay very much, the hotel facilities and resort layout is really good. Good restaurants and bars and friendly service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great facilities, service and food. Loved the nightly entertainment and the bands that played before the nightly show. Great that the dancers were mixing with the people and dancing when the band was playing, great beach.
The weak points
No week points.
Certified

February Vacation

, Regina, SK
2019-02-13
Check in was easy. Small resort. Room needed an upgrade, did not match picture on Website. Beds were hard, no lampshades, old furniture, not enough drawers for clothes. Resort was beautiful, loved the beach, though did get crowded. Food was typical for Cuba, tired of it by end of week. Would not return to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Resort grounds were very clean, amazing beach, staff very friendly.
The weak points
Safe didn't work, asked 3 times at front desk to have fixed but they never did it. Only had 1 beach towel upon arrival, asked multiple times for another, they didn't do it. Had to get one myself from house keeping.
Certified

Cuban holiday

, Vernon, BC
2019-02-02
I would give the Iberostar Playa Alameda a rating of 2.5 to a 3 star. It is not a 4.5 star as advertised. We have stayed at a Iberostar resort before and the Playa Alameda does not maintain the Iberostar standards. There is a lack of maintenance, there is a lack of lighting (lots of lights are broken or do not work). The pubic bathrooms where not up to an Iberostar standard and require a lot more attention.
The only way to get a hot meal was to stand in line and have a chef prepare the meat for you. At the buffet there is a good selection of food but the food should be labeled for allergy purposes and is always just warm. At some bars the drinks are weak or watered down.
On the positive side the staff are very friendly, the beach was nice (but no bar service). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff are very friendly, good food variety.
The weak points
The Cuba peso, maintenance, cleanliness & food (meat not cooked).
Certified

Wonderful holiday

, Oxbow, SK
2019-01-17
Iberostar Play Alameda, Varadero
Wonderful Holiday. We will return
Excellent service in all Departments.
Dining: Plenty of selections of food. The waitstaff work so hard to honor our wishes. Lily greeted us with a smile and hug and made sure she found us a table. She remembered our preferences. Thank you Jose` and Lily
ROOM The room is basic, beds are very hard. Would be nice to have a place to leave suitcase open. The shower roomy, works well nice rain shower and hand-held shower, Grab bar much appreciated.
Housekeeper added a blanket under sheet to help with the extremely hard beds .the towel art was a new surprise every day. I took a light weight extension cord that fit into power converter and plugged a night light into because the room is dark and frosted glass door to bathroom is to bright for night. Plug in bathroom is for shaver only
The fridge restocked every other day. Large bottles of water (recommend bring a small water bottle to carry) Coffee maker in room. When we asked for a second cup one was delivered quickly.
Front desk helpful and courteous., get change and buy Wi-Fi cards there ,1 CUC for 1 hour, log off and on throughout stay ..
Charlie (entertainment) loved his greetings and hugs.
Friendly. Greeted by all departments. Fluent in English.
I would highly recommend this resort
Bus stop close to front entrance.5 CUC for a day.
Beach nice, slow gradual decline into ocean. Lots of lounge chairs.
Pool; we didn't use. There are stairs into water but no hand rail. One part is very shallow kids type but now resort is 16 yrs. and up. Limited shade spots .
Thank you to all for making us feel special
Havana tour was good. Luisa was an excellent guide. A group of Fellow passengers where late for pick up and late a nearly every spot which caused us to miss a stop. Very disrespectful [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff are excellent.Nice Beach .
The weak points
Hard beds .No hand rail on stairs to beach or into pool.

Iberostar Playa Alameda

, St Leonard Parent, NB
2018-12-22
Food was good, hotel clean, bed very comfortable. No washcloths, and Kleenex, so if you need some bring some. They have made some renovations in the rooms, changed pictures, new shower and sink, looks good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Adults only - some rooms renovated, but only a few finished. Nice pools!
The weak points
Bathrooms renovated, but still have a lot of work to do. No elevator!
Certified

First time in Cuba

, Windsor, ON
2018-12-15
Rooms and grounds were a bit dated but clean and comfortable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach was gorgeous. Hotel clean. Staff unbelievably friendly and helpful. Premium drinks included like Amaretto, Baileys, etc.
The weak points
Food was not the best even at the a la carte restaurants. Things were missing from buffet on given days.
Certified

Excellent stay... loved it

, Sault Ste Marie, ON
2018-06-23
We went for a family vacation. We have 2 and 4 years old daughters. It was great resort for the family. Very well managed and very clean. Food was great. Entertainment was excellent. Staff was very friendly and accommodative. We would have loved some flexibility from resort management on our departure day as our flight was 5 hours after the routine checkout time. The resort wasn't very busy with many empty rooms, but the management charged us an hourly rate for 5 hours to keep our room. Our kids nap during afternoon, so we had to keep the room. $100 on a vacation like that doesn't change much, but given that resort wasn't very busy and we had 2 and 4 years kids, more flexibility from the resort would have gone long way. In the peak season, I wouldn't even mention this, but in less busy season, management should be a bit more flexible. None the less, it was great place. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice and very friendly people, food, entertainment
The weak points
No flexibility on checkout time if your flight is after checkout time. You can pay per hour to stay extra
Certified

Cuba Vacation

, Whitby, ON
2018-03-30
Have to say we would definitely go back to this resort. People were great, food was great and beach was great..Not much to say but we will be returning to this resort in the future. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

March Varadero Trip

, Azilda, ON
2018-03-12
1st rooms offered had moldy smell. No door to bathroom. No lights working where safe was situated. Air conditioning button broken. No room to exchange until the next morning, which was done promptly. No hand towels during our whole stay. Room lock at 12noon sharp when you haven't even returned your room cards yet for check out. Really! It was only 12:03pm!! Had to walk all the way back to reception to reactivate cards. Should not be the cleaning personnel's responsibility to keep track of beach towels. They wanted our beach towels at 9am when we were there until 5pm departure. Great place, but not sure if I would return there, but would most definitely return to Varadero. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great buffet food. Great buffet staff. Great entertainment. Disappointed with all 3 a la carte restaurants
The weak points
Beach towel stolen.Refused replacement but still charged 15 pesos.No hand towel ever. Check-out time lock out of your room.Room card no longer worked at 12:03pm really!All week cleaning staff never came to clean until 5pm what's the rush?
Certified

Vacation

, Brandon, MB
2018-02-07
Not totally satisfied [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pool beach grounds dining rooms
The weak points
Food room maintenance had keep phoning to get water supply and coffee to room
Certified

Adio Cuba

, Toronto, ON
2018-01-28
The outside of the buildings and the gardens show lots of work and attention to detail. The interior is lacking much in details that invite the guest. Instead creates doubts in mind if the stay has a good start. Cross contamination present in the work of the maid and all the cleaning workers.
Had to complain in order to get the fridge refilled. I would think lack of training in hotel practice is the problem. The maids seem to have good intentions and work ethic. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Gardens and facade of buildings are looking good. The entertainment is good and can be better if the choices are more pleasant to engage the guests.
The weak points
The bad weather exposed the lack of activities and creative side of the management. Many of us got sick from what we served at the restaurant. Cleanliness a problem, bad practices lead to cross contamination
Certified

Lovely time at Iberostar Playa alameda

, Toronto, ON
2018-01-28
We just arrived home from spending a week at Iberostar Playa Alameda. The resort itself is lovely. The weather was unpredictable but in the end we had a lovely time. Very high winds all week and jelly fish covered the beach making it almost impossible to walk safely on the beach. This is normal i guess when it is so windy. The room we had was great. A bit musty smelling but again expected when it is humid and wet outside. The food was above average for Cuba. Always a huge variety of veg and fruit and prepared foods. No lack of desserts and breads either. We only went to a couple of night time shows but the young dancers were always mingling with the tourists and tried to make your stay very enjoyable.We went on one excursion that was included in our package, to Mantanza and to a cave which made for a wonderful day. Met lots of other Canadians there and came home with a few new friends. I loved my week at Iberostar and would for sure go back again and recommend it to my friends and family. I LOVE CUBA!!!! I always feel safe there [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Our room was lovely. Food was good and plentiful. Staff was lovely and always had a smile on their faces. Lovely location in Varadeo. Highly recommend this resort for a relaxing time.
The weak points
Not enough staff in buffet but we didnt mind getting things for ourselves. Take Dukoral before you go to avoid the runs from the change of food.
Certified
pages: 123456

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021