Sanctuary At Grand Memories Varadero

Sanctuary At Grand Memories Varadero
4.134.134.134.134.13
4.13 based on 271 reviews
#3 of 64 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Varadero
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (196)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123

Great vacation inspite of some deficiencies

, Ontario, ON
2022-11-01
I was in Cuba so many times that I don't count any more. Booking 4 star hotel like Sanctuary section of Grand memories made me feel confident that I will get above average accommodation and service. The first impression was disappointed. Rooms were below average and ran down for the category. Service in the restaurant, bars, butler's were great. Room service was poor, including cleaning. Food was good but not what I expected for the category.
We still enjoyed our vacation inspite of some deficiencies and misrepresentations. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The beach is excellent, including Alex who was always there to help with the chairs. Mario, our butler was helpful and friendly. Service in the restaurant and all the bars was excellent. We haver never waited for any order.
The weak points
Rooms were ran down for the category they advertise. The variety of food, particularly fruits was poor. However, the food that was available was good and tasty. Our maid has never made any effort to bring us bottled water, toilette paper or change towels.
Certified

Best weekend vacation!

, Delhi, ON
2022-10-17
My husband and I and another couple decided to go on a 4 day, 3 night getaway to the Sanctuary Grand Memories Varadero and had a phenomenal relaxing time. Everything you need is at this resort, great food, beach, pools and great employees! All of our needs were met and then some. We were treated like family the moment we arrived. This is not our first time to this resort but it is our top choice in Varadero! The pools are clean and the grounds are meticulate, did I mention the best beach! The people are the nicest people you will ever meet! If you haven't been here you need to give it a try. You won't be disappointed!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Wonderful Vacation

, Montréal, QC
2022-09-27
I never write any reviews, but this time I making an exception. I have been about 17 times to Cuba and last June I happened to stay at the Sanctuary. The service was exceptional. I had no complaints whatsoever, even the restaurant a la carte, the food was the best that I have had in Cuba. The manager, Mr. Iago, I hope I got the spelling correct, was extremely polite. He was always present around the grounds, greeted always the guest with politeness and also took care of any complaint that the guests had.. personally!!! Also, we had 2 terrific butlers, Norvis and Janette, that took care of all our reservations and any little thing that we asked for. The location of the resort is on a beautiful part of Varadero's beach. I liked it so much that I am returning next week for another week of vacation!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Amazing Vacation

, Toronto, ON
2022-07-26
This was my 2nd visit to Cuba in my life. My first visit was in 2009 and I swore to myself that I would never return back. Fast-forward to today July 2022. I booked a solo vacation for a week at the Sanctuary At Grand Memories Varadero with my expectations set very low because of my of my previous visit at a different resort in 2009. I arrived July 14th and stayed until July 21st.

The Sanctuary is adults only section inside the Grand Memories Varadero resort. When I arrived at the resort I was dropped off at the main lobby of Grand Memories and was shortly picked up by the Sanctuary driver who drove a group of us to the Sanctuary reception.

From the moment I stepped into the Sanctuary section I was treated like a KING. The staff were amazing. Few shoutouts that went the extra mile
ANET - Sanctuary Bar definitely knows how to mix up a good drink is very professional and polite.
NOEL & THALIA - My butlers during my visit. They both made sure I was well taken care of for reservations for dinner at the sanctuary to any questions I had or anything that I needed.
NIURYS - Grand Memories 24 hour snack bar at night time. NIURYS is an amazing person and a very good listener. My glass never got empty and at the end of the night when I was ready to head back to the Sanctuary she called the driver to pick me up and take me back to my building #32.

The food at the Sanctuary restaurant for breakfast was good. Lots of fresh fruit and deli cuts and cheese, sweets and when your finished you have the choice of eggs and bacon or a ham and cheese omelette with bacon on the side.
Lunch & Dinner was all a-la-carte with a pretty good selection I was surprised that I had the option for Lamb one day and it comes all nicely prepared and presentation on the plate very well done. They are very creative.

If you want a quiet relaxing vacation without any screaming kids and stuff you want to stay here. Im looking forward for my next visit back here to celebrate my birthday.

Thank you Sanctuary At Grand Memories for the most amazing trip I have ever had. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Butler service, a-la-cart lunch and dinner at the Sanctuary restaurant
The weak points
That I had to return home to reality
Certified

We had a great time at Memories Sanctuary!

, Richmond Hill, ON
2022-07-12
Memories Varadero is a lovely resort, and the Sanctuary being the adult section was quiet and peaceful. Still roomy enough to include a large pool and a portion of a beautiful beach! Plenty of restaurants and many activities. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Extremely service-minded, friendly and happy staff. He standard of rooms restaurants etc absolutely to satisfaction. Beautiful beach. We would recommend this resort and return ourselves.
The weak points
Still in the process of restoring buildings due to sanctions.

Love the people!

, Hamilton, ON
2022-07-08
Came here with a group of friends for vacation and the people here are amazing ! special shout out to miguela at the restaurant! she's amazing as well as butlers norvi and jose they're excellent as well. The manager i believe his name is diego is great as well [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Excellent Service

, Pierrefonds, QC
2022-06-26
The staff at this resort really make it special. Our butlers Norvi, Jose, and Jorge Carlos made sure to check in on us and made sure we had a great stay. This was our first trip since Covid and it was great to see most of the team back at the resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The resort is very clean. The food in the Sanctuary restaurant was good.
The weak points
Internet service was sometimes challenging.

The best service I had in a while

, Scarborough, ON
2022-06-26
The grand memories sanctuary side was very nice compared to the grand memories side but overall the service on the sanctuary side was incredible. I would like to specifically ask that our butlers Jose and Norvi get a big raise the service they provided was exceptional. They accommodated all of our needs with a wonderful smile but overall made our trip exceptional. For sure if I do come back I have to know where they are working so I can see them again. Thanks again to the sanctuary for a wonderful time and to great customer service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Our butlers Norvi and Jose really took the time to full fill all our needs and made our stay excellent!

Sanctuary at Grand Memorie June 2022

, Scarborough, ON
2022-06-26
Grand Sanctuary was a great resort. The service within this resort was spot on. We had two butler assigned to us for the whole trip. Jose and Norvi were our butlers and they made sure we were taken care of the whole time. They planned a great day trip for our group to Havana City which included a personal taco driver in a beautiful oldschool car and tour guide. They also planned a dinner trip for us to a local restaurant which was way better than the food on the resort. They took care of us so well that they even got someone to deliver pizza for us to the resort. Rooms and beach were amazing aswell as the pool. Would definitely recommend coming here [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Service Rooms Butlers Beach

Adult Luxury and pampering - Done Right

, North York, ON
2022-06-24
As recurring guests of this hotel, (6 or 7 Times) it goes without saying, from the moment you arrive, the staff take good care of you, from the Management, the reception, the butlers, to the wait staff, the restaurant and bar staff go above and beyond to make your vacation memorable and make you feel like a member of the Sanctuary family. We were lucky to get away during the Pandemic, and although there may have been some shortages, the staff always go above and beyond to make the trip memorable. Remember, it is YOUR trip, you can make it a great one.

The chamber maids are always welcoming, the snack bar staff are hilarious and accommodating... Return visitors will attest to the level of attention the staff here give the guests.️ We did miss the Beach, due to the erosion of the recent Hurricanes, but it has been restored now and the Adult Only Section is more incredible than before. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The bar staff, Nathalie, Miley, the snack and beach bar staff, Roxy and the crew are amazingly attentive. The butlers, in particular, Abel, will see to your special requests and dinner reservations.
The weak points
We did have a slight issue with Russian flight and cabin crew that were staying at the resort, but Management quickly stepped in and got it sorted.

Amazing Resort

, Nanaimo, BC
2022-06-22
This is hands down the best resort in Cuba!! I would highly recommend this resort if you want to have an amazing time and be treated like royalty. The food is great, the beach is great, the staff is great, the rooms are great, the grounds & pools are great and the entertainment is AMAZING!!!! I will be back very soon! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Sanctuary

, Pitt Meadows, BC
2022-06-22
we had a really nice room we had a view of the water. the butler was great [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Amazing vacation

, Windsor, ON
2022-06-20
I recently stayed with my husband at The Sanctuary At Grand Memories for our 1 week vacation and already planning to go back❤️ The beach and blue waters of Varadero never disappoint . Nothing to complain, only next time we have to stay longer, one week wasn't enough. The staff always go above and beyond to make our vacation special. Yamaisy thank you for making us feel special with your kindness and professionalism. We really appreciated all you did for us. We hope to return very soon❤️ [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beautiful beach and amazing staff .
The weak points
One week wasn't enough
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Loved it!

, North Vancouver, ON
2022-04-23
The hotel amenities and services are great! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Friendly staff.
The weak points
Bad internet connection.
Certified

Home away from home

, Windsor, ON
2022-04-03
I loved being back to my home away from home finally after all this time. Great way to celebrate my 50th bday and get to enjoy the food, entertainment and the best staff :) they always make me feel so welcome. All the protocols are followed by the staff and the PCR test was easy to get on the property for under 40 U.S dollars. My two weeks flew by as always, thank you for always taking care of me and making me feel like family. Especially thanks to Yamaysi, Luz and Thalia for my birthday dinner. All 3 of you made me feel like a queen for the evening, i couldn't have images a better place to have my dinner with the most amazing view and company. Already looking forward to being back as soon as possible. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The best staff, entertainment and management!!! Food and alcohol delicious as always. The Best Beach :) can't get enough of the water, sun and hearing the waves!!!!!
The weak points
Money exchange which the staff and management at the hotel have no control over.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
All the staff wore masks at all times, everyone followed all the protocols. I felt very safe at all times.

Much needed paradise ✨️ ✨️ ✨️ ✨️

, Toronto, ON
2022-04-02
Sanctuary at Grand Memories resort is like my home! I visited so many times and I was never disappointed. The resort is clean, not new, but well maintained. The grounds are beautiful and the beach is magical. Simple food, you are never hungry. Great service! I can go over little detailes forever. Dont want to waste your time, readers. Please low your expectations for luxury of high rise hotels, with 11 choices of burgers and puzzas, and you enjoy a beauty of this gem! Big thanks to Yamaysis! You are an angel! Professional, welcoming, simply magical! Hope to visit soon!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Absolutely Delightful Get Away!

, Cambridge, ON
2022-03-30
As fabulous as the Cuban beaches are, in my experience Cuba's #1 asset remains its people. I have been going to Cuba for 24 years - Sanctuary at Grand Memories is my favourite. Although we have been going to Sanctuary the last few years, we always spend time in both Sanctuary and the rest of the resort, Grand Memories.
The service is second to none - both at Sanctuary and Grand Memories sections. In terms of the Sanctuary, the convenience of having the beach and the pool within steps from your room, the restaurant, the snack bar - it's just paradise. From being greeted at the front Lobby by a cold cocktail brought by amazing Letty Leydis Gonzalez having just stepped off the airport bus, to being greeted with my favourite cold coffee cocktail by Tanya after an afternoon of shopping in downtown Varadero. We also dipped into the buffet (as mentioned, we love to mix it up and don't just stay in the Sanctuary section) - Beatriz was waiting for us with her smiling eyes, sincere kindness and cappuccinos. At the end of a long day of lying under palm trees and wandering around the resort to catch the entertainment, Jorge Rodriguez Garcia (Mr. World Wide) would never fail to spot us and give us a ride back to the Sanctuary. I can't say enough about the service, truly. Ridel was another exceptional staff member who went out of his way to make our stay wonderful - a proud Papa of a beautiful ballerina, he was always all smiles and so very kind. Alfredo was another character that never failed to scoop us up and give us rides to wherever we were going! And I haven't even begun to gush about the restaurant staff at Sanctuary! A LA CART EVERYDAY, ALL DAY LONG.
Always smiling and ready to accommodate our special requests. Frederico manages both the Sanctuary Restaurant and the Grand Memories Buffet - despite how busy he is, he took time to chat with us when he could - he is also an artist and a writer! Frederico was delightful - an old school gentleman and a renaissance man - ask him to show you photos of his paintings! The Chef, Vincenzo, is from Milan, Italy originally - and the food was just amazing. My partner is Italian and a foody - even he was impressed! Juana Rodriguez and Norwin - our "butlers" at Sanctuary were just amazing - they actually would anticipate our needs in advance! From facilitating reservations, to keeping us in the loop of events at the resort and making our reservations for Covid testing (from the pool side, no less!). Were there shortages? Hell yes, this is Cuba - so some days there was no diet coke, or milk, or french fries - I truly can't think of anything else they were short on. But they more than made up for any shortages in my view. My only regret - we only booked 7 days, should have booked at least 10. Without hesitation, I would strongly and without hesitation recommend this beautiful resort and this amazing team of people! I wish I could name absolutely everyone, but I need to go get some work done now to pay for the next trip!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Amazing beach and amazing service.
The weak points
Shortage of diet coke and french fries - who cares, both bad for you! lol
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
All staff wore masks. Extra measures taken to disinfect and to limit number of people in closed spaces (from open theatre used as dance club as it is open - to limited people allowed in airport when leaving).

Food was bad

, Hamilton, ON
2022-03-28
This resort is dated. The food was terrible. Not sure if it was the result of COVID but there was no beef available, no french fries. We were fed fish that was not cooked, pork was all fat. Was given a hamburger that was raw. One of our travellers was sick for two days and I got sick the day before we left and am still running to the washroom three days later. Very disappointed in the food. Have been to Cuba 15 times, first time I have been sick from the food. The staff were awesome. Friendly and helpful. Please have the cats and dogs neutered. Three dogs were running around with injured legs. I am an animal lover and hated to see them not taken care of. Memories can afford to get them neutered and taken care of. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beach and pools were beautiful.
The weak points
The food. Rooms are dark. Lighting is terrible.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Resort was clean and the grounds are beautiful.
Certified

Amazing Stay!

, Mississauga, ON
2022-03-26
We spent a week at this resort and had an amazing time. Everybody was so welcoming and kind. The rooms were clean and spacious. The food at the sanctuary restaurant was great and there were enough options. The drinks at the bar were great, especially the piña coladas! We definitely recommend this hotel to go and relax. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Very kind staff, comfortable rooms, great swimming pool, good food with lots of options.

Perfect escape..

, Halifax, NS
2022-03-21
After the restrictions of covid I was so happy to be able to return to the Sanctuary. The staff welcomed me back warmly. Despite the shortages I had heard about I was pleasantly surprised how smoothly everything went. The food was fine and there was plenty of choice. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The beach continues to be one of the best in the world, turquoise water and warm temperatures all make it like paradise. The resort is the perfect size to get to know other guests plus you can also enjoy everything on the Grand Memories side.
The weak points
I could not fault the resort or the staff who bent over backwards to make the guests happy. It was frustrating to hear other guests complaining, especially over petty things. I also got a bit upset when I saw some guests wasting large amounts of food.

Beautiful Resort

, Fonthill, ON
2021-12-12
The grounds and the suite were very nice. Unfortunately Cuba wasn't ready for tourists. There was a lack of choice of food with the same food everyday. The a la carte restaurants had the same food as the buffet. The Asian restaurant had only Cuban food. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Clean, beautiful beach and the workers couldn't do enough for you.
The weak points
Covid 19 protocols were not enforced. Some people did not wear masks. Not enough people working at the buffet and at times people picked up the tongs themselves. No social distancing with crowds around the food.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Most places had sanitizers before eating.
Certified

Just ok

, Corunna, ON
2020-02-15
Hotel is ok, lots of walking to get places to eat and shows which is ok I guess,
towels got smaller and fewer each day,
food well it's Cuba first off so just ok, lines for pasta every night over 20 minutes at least,
bathrooms in lobby smelled horrible never had paper towels as ex and that's all week, [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
good view from room to pool?
The weak points
see above
Certified

Dream Vacation

, Peterborough, ON
2020-01-07
My husband and I went to Sanctuary at Grand Memories for our honeymoon. I can not say enough good things about this resort. The staff was friendly and helpful, the food was excellent and the resort was absolutely beautiful. I was pampered and cared for the entire week. I was very sad to go and when I visit Cuba again, I will definitely stay there again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
People had warned me that the food in Cuba is not good. I was so pleasantly surprised that every meal I had at Grand Memories was excellent. There was a good variety of restaurants and the service was excellent.
The weak points
I found the staff inconsistent sometimes. Our butler (Renier) was amazing....so helpful. Other butlers were not as helpful. Some of the restaurant wait staff were friendly (Thalia and Roxanna to name a few) and others were not as friendly.
Certified

Sanctuary is the way to go

, Toronto, ON
2019-12-30
First impression when we got to the Gran Memories lobby wasn't good. Too many people around, from kids running around to drunk dudes to a bunch of people with tons of bags waiting for their transfers. When we heard the Sanctuary had a separate reception, things started to get better. The adults only session was incredible. Private pool, private session of the beach, our own bar and restaurant. The rooms were clean well maintained despite the antique style. Food was delicious and well prepared, staff was super friendly and helpful. We also found that guests at the Sanctuary had a better wi-fi rate than the main hotel and we also got 30% off of any bookings in the SPA. If I ever go back to Cuba, I'll certainly stay at the Sanctuary again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, cleanliness, privacy
The weak points
Paid wi-fi that works on main areas only
Certified

DISSAPPOINTED

, Hamilton, ON
2019-12-16
Its Cuba! The reviews dont match my visit!! This was supposed to be the #1 rated hotel in Varadero! NOT SO. All week told maybe we have tomorrow, No Sparkling wine every night, no orange juice and yet saw a guy have a whole jug to himself ! Ask when the foam party was, dont know! My Mom had beer taken out of her fridge, all bathrooms out of toilet paper at night. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Italian night was really good, birthday celebration for me was really nice, lobster was good however the second night 3 of us ordered and only two got it and third sorry we are out of them now! Ocean beach was great except for long path in thick bush.
The weak points
Out of alot of stuff, no coffee liquor, lobby bar no toilet paper most of the time, one night no vodka at main lobby bar, fishy smell on water glasses at breakfast, big cockroach on blender at bar, 45 min.wait for fries at snackbar,50 bites/leg gross!
Certified

Sanctuary at Grand Memories

, Toronto, ON
2019-12-02
We enjoyed our stay at Sanctuary.Nice and quiet for adults.Helpful staff.Close to beach and restaurants. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Santuary

, Brighton, HA
2019-10-17
Overall excellent.Only annoying thing was arriving at gourmet and Italian restaraunt 10 minutes early and told to stay outside until exact time on reservation even though restaraunt was empty,Really annoying and then told most of menue unavalable.staff at both places where not happy to be there.I tried the filet of steak twice and it was nasty,i felt like i should get in the kitchen and teach them how to cook meat.However i would Highly recommend the sanctuary for Value and rest of staff , Mario the butler in block 131 was brilliant . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Disappointed Holiday

, Toronto, ON
2019-09-17
The hotel requires a huge renovation. Customer service was beyond rude and uncaring.
One person to check 40 people -- the time it took to check in was uncalled for. This should have been a hint as to what the rest of the week was going to be like.
The shower head was broken, water was releasing on the floor --it was very scarey to walk on and feared that I would slip and hurt myself badly. I went to the front desk to let them know so that they could send someone to fix it for me and they just shrugged their shoulder and told me it is what it is.
food was disgusting, fear of getting food poisoning. I was very hesitant to eat anything. Why is the food so bad and you are doing nothing about -like schooling or training the chefs you get enough tourist.
Towels was another issue-not enough [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach was great
The weak points
EVERYTHING -food -buffet-disgusting -could not even make a sandwich--not enough variety --a la carte the same. room -broken shower -wild dogs around the beach and bugging the tourist for food-, customer service -no one really cared
Certified

Grand Memories Sanctuary

, Paris, ON
2019-08-01
The location of the hotel was great, the beach was gorgeous. The food and drinks were very much below standard. Basically everything I ate was “white” in color. Mostly bread, rice, over cooked lobster. No choice of salad. Very little options for good beach drinks.

Was getting a lot of insect bites on the top of my legs. I had to spray Off ever night before I went to bed.

I think the staff tries very hard but management should put some money back into the resort. Spend some more time cleaning, perhaps they need to look up sometimes in the buildings. Sat beside a post in one restaurant and the ants were all over it, okay I can ignore this but when the waitress brought over the buns the ants were crawl all over the buns.

I will not be returning I feel this resort needs to some TLC. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Bad service

, Vancouver, BC
2019-06-02
Overall, I was not very happy during this trip. Last year I stayed at this resort and service was good. That's why I come back this year. This time, there were many staffs at the resort. However, they just like to talk to each other in their language. It's very rude when I tried to order a drink at the snack bar and the staff just rolled her eyes and ignored me and continued to chat with her associate. That was a very bad experience for me. There was no service at the pool or the beach. You have to go get drinks yourself. On the good side, the food was very good. There was lobster for 3 nights which is great. Entertainment was good.
I do not recommend this resort due to bad attitude from most staffs. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The manager "Karl" at the Sanctuary Restaurant has exceptional good customer service. Staffs should take lessons from him to learn how to provide good customer service.
The weak points
Most of the staffs are not very friendly and helpful. At the pool, no service at all. I have to go get drink by myself. The attitude of the staffs at the snack bar at Grand Memories side was horrible. I will not go back due to poor service.
Certified
pages: 123

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2022