Sanctuary At Grand Memories Varadero

Sanctuary At Grand Memories Varadero
4.114.114.114.114.11
4.11 based on 252 reviews
#4 of 63 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Varadero
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (146)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Excellent Service

, Pierrefonds, QC
2022-06-26
The staff at this resort really make it special. Our butlers Norvi, Jose, and Jorge Carlos made sure to check in on us and made sure we had a great stay. This was our first trip since Covid and it was great to see most of the team back at the resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The resort is very clean. The food in the Sanctuary restaurant was good.
The weak points
Internet service was sometimes challenging.

The best service I had in a while

, Scarborough, ON
2022-06-26
The grand memories sanctuary side was very nice compared to the grand memories side but overall the service on the sanctuary side was incredible. I would like to specifically ask that our butlers Jose and Norvi get a big raise the service they provided was exceptional. They accommodated all of our needs with a wonderful smile but overall made our trip exceptional. For sure if I do come back I have to know where they are working so I can see them again. Thanks again to the sanctuary for a wonderful time and to great customer service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Our butlers Norvi and Jose really took the time to full fill all our needs and made our stay excellent!

Sanctuary at Grand Memorie June 2022

, Scarborough, ON
2022-06-26
Grand Sanctuary was a great resort. The service within this resort was spot on. We had two butler assigned to us for the whole trip. Jose and Norvi were our butlers and they made sure we were taken care of the whole time. They planned a great day trip for our group to Havana City which included a personal taco driver in a beautiful oldschool car and tour guide. They also planned a dinner trip for us to a local restaurant which was way better than the food on the resort. They took care of us so well that they even got someone to deliver pizza for us to the resort. Rooms and beach were amazing aswell as the pool. Would definitely recommend coming here [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Service Rooms Butlers Beach

Adult Luxury and pampering - Done Right

, North York, ON
2022-06-24
As recurring guests of this hotel, (6 or 7 Times) it goes without saying, from the moment you arrive, the staff take good care of you, from the Management, the reception, the butlers, to the wait staff, the restaurant and bar staff go above and beyond to make your vacation memorable and make you feel like a member of the Sanctuary family. We were lucky to get away during the Pandemic, and although there may have been some shortages, the staff always go above and beyond to make the trip memorable. Remember, it is YOUR trip, you can make it a great one.

The chamber maids are always welcoming, the snack bar staff are hilarious and accommodating... Return visitors will attest to the level of attention the staff here give the guests.️ We did miss the Beach, due to the erosion of the recent Hurricanes, but it has been restored now and the Adult Only Section is more incredible than before. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The bar staff, Nathalie, Miley, the snack and beach bar staff, Roxy and the crew are amazingly attentive. The butlers, in particular, Abel, will see to your special requests and dinner reservations.
The weak points
We did have a slight issue with Russian flight and cabin crew that were staying at the resort, but Management quickly stepped in and got it sorted.

Amazing Resort

, Nanaimo, BC
2022-06-22
This is hands down the best resort in Cuba!! I would highly recommend this resort if you want to have an amazing time and be treated like royalty. The food is great, the beach is great, the staff is great, the rooms are great, the grounds & pools are great and the entertainment is AMAZING!!!! I will be back very soon! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Sanctuary

, Pitt Meadows, BC
2022-06-22
we had a really nice room we had a view of the water. the butler was great [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Amazing vacation

, Windsor, ON
2022-06-20
I recently stayed with my husband at The Sanctuary At Grand Memories for our 1 week vacation and already planning to go back❤️ The beach and blue waters of Varadero never disappoint . Nothing to complain, only next time we have to stay longer, one week wasn't enough. The staff always go above and beyond to make our vacation special. Yamaisy thank you for making us feel special with your kindness and professionalism. We really appreciated all you did for us. We hope to return very soon❤️ [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beautiful beach and amazing staff .
The weak points
One week wasn't enough
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Loved it!

, North Vancouver, ON
2022-04-23
The hotel amenities and services are great! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Friendly staff.
The weak points
Bad internet connection.
Certified

Home away from home

, Windsor, ON
2022-04-03
I loved being back to my home away from home finally after all this time. Great way to celebrate my 50th bday and get to enjoy the food, entertainment and the best staff :) they always make me feel so welcome. All the protocols are followed by the staff and the PCR test was easy to get on the property for under 40 U.S dollars. My two weeks flew by as always, thank you for always taking care of me and making me feel like family. Especially thanks to Yamaysi, Luz and Thalia for my birthday dinner. All 3 of you made me feel like a queen for the evening, i couldn't have images a better place to have my dinner with the most amazing view and company. Already looking forward to being back as soon as possible. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The best staff, entertainment and management!!! Food and alcohol delicious as always. The Best Beach :) can't get enough of the water, sun and hearing the waves!!!!!
The weak points
Money exchange which the staff and management at the hotel have no control over.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
All the staff wore masks at all times, everyone followed all the protocols. I felt very safe at all times.

Much needed paradise ✨️ ✨️ ✨️ ✨️

, Toronto, ON
2022-04-02
Sanctuary at Grand Memories resort is like my home! I visited so many times and I was never disappointed. The resort is clean, not new, but well maintained. The grounds are beautiful and the beach is magical. Simple food, you are never hungry. Great service! I can go over little detailes forever. Dont want to waste your time, readers. Please low your expectations for luxury of high rise hotels, with 11 choices of burgers and puzzas, and you enjoy a beauty of this gem! Big thanks to Yamaysis! You are an angel! Professional, welcoming, simply magical! Hope to visit soon!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Absolutely Delightful Get Away!

, Cambridge, ON
2022-03-30
As fabulous as the Cuban beaches are, in my experience Cuba's #1 asset remains its people. I have been going to Cuba for 24 years - Sanctuary at Grand Memories is my favourite. Although we have been going to Sanctuary the last few years, we always spend time in both Sanctuary and the rest of the resort, Grand Memories.
The service is second to none - both at Sanctuary and Grand Memories sections. In terms of the Sanctuary, the convenience of having the beach and the pool within steps from your room, the restaurant, the snack bar - it's just paradise. From being greeted at the front Lobby by a cold cocktail brought by amazing Letty Leydis Gonzalez having just stepped off the airport bus, to being greeted with my favourite cold coffee cocktail by Tanya after an afternoon of shopping in downtown Varadero. We also dipped into the buffet (as mentioned, we love to mix it up and don't just stay in the Sanctuary section) - Beatriz was waiting for us with her smiling eyes, sincere kindness and cappuccinos. At the end of a long day of lying under palm trees and wandering around the resort to catch the entertainment, Jorge Rodriguez Garcia (Mr. World Wide) would never fail to spot us and give us a ride back to the Sanctuary. I can't say enough about the service, truly. Ridel was another exceptional staff member who went out of his way to make our stay wonderful - a proud Papa of a beautiful ballerina, he was always all smiles and so very kind. Alfredo was another character that never failed to scoop us up and give us rides to wherever we were going! And I haven't even begun to gush about the restaurant staff at Sanctuary! A LA CART EVERYDAY, ALL DAY LONG.
Always smiling and ready to accommodate our special requests. Frederico manages both the Sanctuary Restaurant and the Grand Memories Buffet - despite how busy he is, he took time to chat with us when he could - he is also an artist and a writer! Frederico was delightful - an old school gentleman and a renaissance man - ask him to show you photos of his paintings! The Chef, Vincenzo, is from Milan, Italy originally - and the food was just amazing. My partner is Italian and a foody - even he was impressed! Juana Rodriguez and Norwin - our "butlers" at Sanctuary were just amazing - they actually would anticipate our needs in advance! From facilitating reservations, to keeping us in the loop of events at the resort and making our reservations for Covid testing (from the pool side, no less!). Were there shortages? Hell yes, this is Cuba - so some days there was no diet coke, or milk, or french fries - I truly can't think of anything else they were short on. But they more than made up for any shortages in my view. My only regret - we only booked 7 days, should have booked at least 10. Without hesitation, I would strongly and without hesitation recommend this beautiful resort and this amazing team of people! I wish I could name absolutely everyone, but I need to go get some work done now to pay for the next trip!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Amazing beach and amazing service.
The weak points
Shortage of diet coke and french fries - who cares, both bad for you! lol
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
All staff wore masks. Extra measures taken to disinfect and to limit number of people in closed spaces (from open theatre used as dance club as it is open - to limited people allowed in airport when leaving).

Food was bad

, Hamilton, ON
2022-03-28
This resort is dated. The food was terrible. Not sure if it was the result of COVID but there was no beef available, no french fries. We were fed fish that was not cooked, pork was all fat. Was given a hamburger that was raw. One of our travellers was sick for two days and I got sick the day before we left and am still running to the washroom three days later. Very disappointed in the food. Have been to Cuba 15 times, first time I have been sick from the food. The staff were awesome. Friendly and helpful. Please have the cats and dogs neutered. Three dogs were running around with injured legs. I am an animal lover and hated to see them not taken care of. Memories can afford to get them neutered and taken care of. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beach and pools were beautiful.
The weak points
The food. Rooms are dark. Lighting is terrible.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Resort was clean and the grounds are beautiful.
Certified

Amazing Stay!

, Mississauga, ON
2022-03-26
We spent a week at this resort and had an amazing time. Everybody was so welcoming and kind. The rooms were clean and spacious. The food at the sanctuary restaurant was great and there were enough options. The drinks at the bar were great, especially the piña coladas! We definitely recommend this hotel to go and relax. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Very kind staff, comfortable rooms, great swimming pool, good food with lots of options.

Perfect escape..

, Halifax, NS
2022-03-21
After the restrictions of covid I was so happy to be able to return to the Sanctuary. The staff welcomed me back warmly. Despite the shortages I had heard about I was pleasantly surprised how smoothly everything went. The food was fine and there was plenty of choice. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The beach continues to be one of the best in the world, turquoise water and warm temperatures all make it like paradise. The resort is the perfect size to get to know other guests plus you can also enjoy everything on the Grand Memories side.
The weak points
I could not fault the resort or the staff who bent over backwards to make the guests happy. It was frustrating to hear other guests complaining, especially over petty things. I also got a bit upset when I saw some guests wasting large amounts of food.

Beautiful Resort

, Fonthill, ON
2021-12-12
The grounds and the suite were very nice. Unfortunately Cuba wasn't ready for tourists. There was a lack of choice of food with the same food everyday. The a la carte restaurants had the same food as the buffet. The Asian restaurant had only Cuban food. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Clean, beautiful beach and the workers couldn't do enough for you.
The weak points
Covid 19 protocols were not enforced. Some people did not wear masks. Not enough people working at the buffet and at times people picked up the tongs themselves. No social distancing with crowds around the food.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Most places had sanitizers before eating.
Certified

Just ok

, Corunna, ON
2020-02-15
Hotel is ok, lots of walking to get places to eat and shows which is ok I guess,
towels got smaller and fewer each day,
food well it's Cuba first off so just ok, lines for pasta every night over 20 minutes at least,
bathrooms in lobby smelled horrible never had paper towels as ex and that's all week, [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
good view from room to pool?
The weak points
see above
Certified

Dream Vacation

, Peterborough, ON
2020-01-07
My husband and I went to Sanctuary at Grand Memories for our honeymoon. I can not say enough good things about this resort. The staff was friendly and helpful, the food was excellent and the resort was absolutely beautiful. I was pampered and cared for the entire week. I was very sad to go and when I visit Cuba again, I will definitely stay there again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
People had warned me that the food in Cuba is not good. I was so pleasantly surprised that every meal I had at Grand Memories was excellent. There was a good variety of restaurants and the service was excellent.
The weak points
I found the staff inconsistent sometimes. Our butler (Renier) was amazing....so helpful. Other butlers were not as helpful. Some of the restaurant wait staff were friendly (Thalia and Roxanna to name a few) and others were not as friendly.
Certified

Sanctuary is the way to go

, Toronto, ON
2019-12-30
First impression when we got to the Gran Memories lobby wasn't good. Too many people around, from kids running around to drunk dudes to a bunch of people with tons of bags waiting for their transfers. When we heard the Sanctuary had a separate reception, things started to get better. The adults only session was incredible. Private pool, private session of the beach, our own bar and restaurant. The rooms were clean well maintained despite the antique style. Food was delicious and well prepared, staff was super friendly and helpful. We also found that guests at the Sanctuary had a better wi-fi rate than the main hotel and we also got 30% off of any bookings in the SPA. If I ever go back to Cuba, I'll certainly stay at the Sanctuary again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, cleanliness, privacy
The weak points
Paid wi-fi that works on main areas only
Certified

DISSAPPOINTED

, Hamilton, ON
2019-12-16
Its Cuba! The reviews dont match my visit!! This was supposed to be the #1 rated hotel in Varadero! NOT SO. All week told maybe we have tomorrow, No Sparkling wine every night, no orange juice and yet saw a guy have a whole jug to himself ! Ask when the foam party was, dont know! My Mom had beer taken out of her fridge, all bathrooms out of toilet paper at night. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Italian night was really good, birthday celebration for me was really nice, lobster was good however the second night 3 of us ordered and only two got it and third sorry we are out of them now! Ocean beach was great except for long path in thick bush.
The weak points
Out of alot of stuff, no coffee liquor, lobby bar no toilet paper most of the time, one night no vodka at main lobby bar, fishy smell on water glasses at breakfast, big cockroach on blender at bar, 45 min.wait for fries at snackbar,50 bites/leg gross!
Certified

Sanctuary at Grand Memories

, Toronto, ON
2019-12-02
We enjoyed our stay at Sanctuary.Nice and quiet for adults.Helpful staff.Close to beach and restaurants. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Santuary

, Brighton, HA
2019-10-17
Overall excellent.Only annoying thing was arriving at gourmet and Italian restaraunt 10 minutes early and told to stay outside until exact time on reservation even though restaraunt was empty,Really annoying and then told most of menue unavalable.staff at both places where not happy to be there.I tried the filet of steak twice and it was nasty,i felt like i should get in the kitchen and teach them how to cook meat.However i would Highly recommend the sanctuary for Value and rest of staff , Mario the butler in block 131 was brilliant . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Disappointed Holiday

, Toronto, ON
2019-09-17
The hotel requires a huge renovation. Customer service was beyond rude and uncaring.
One person to check 40 people -- the time it took to check in was uncalled for. This should have been a hint as to what the rest of the week was going to be like.
The shower head was broken, water was releasing on the floor --it was very scarey to walk on and feared that I would slip and hurt myself badly. I went to the front desk to let them know so that they could send someone to fix it for me and they just shrugged their shoulder and told me it is what it is.
food was disgusting, fear of getting food poisoning. I was very hesitant to eat anything. Why is the food so bad and you are doing nothing about -like schooling or training the chefs you get enough tourist.
Towels was another issue-not enough [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach was great
The weak points
EVERYTHING -food -buffet-disgusting -could not even make a sandwich--not enough variety --a la carte the same. room -broken shower -wild dogs around the beach and bugging the tourist for food-, customer service -no one really cared
Certified

Grand Memories Sanctuary

, Paris, ON
2019-08-01
The location of the hotel was great, the beach was gorgeous. The food and drinks were very much below standard. Basically everything I ate was “white” in color. Mostly bread, rice, over cooked lobster. No choice of salad. Very little options for good beach drinks.

Was getting a lot of insect bites on the top of my legs. I had to spray Off ever night before I went to bed.

I think the staff tries very hard but management should put some money back into the resort. Spend some more time cleaning, perhaps they need to look up sometimes in the buildings. Sat beside a post in one restaurant and the ants were all over it, okay I can ignore this but when the waitress brought over the buns the ants were crawl all over the buns.

I will not be returning I feel this resort needs to some TLC. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Bad service

, Vancouver, BC
2019-06-02
Overall, I was not very happy during this trip. Last year I stayed at this resort and service was good. That's why I come back this year. This time, there were many staffs at the resort. However, they just like to talk to each other in their language. It's very rude when I tried to order a drink at the snack bar and the staff just rolled her eyes and ignored me and continued to chat with her associate. That was a very bad experience for me. There was no service at the pool or the beach. You have to go get drinks yourself. On the good side, the food was very good. There was lobster for 3 nights which is great. Entertainment was good.
I do not recommend this resort due to bad attitude from most staffs. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The manager "Karl" at the Sanctuary Restaurant has exceptional good customer service. Staffs should take lessons from him to learn how to provide good customer service.
The weak points
Most of the staffs are not very friendly and helpful. At the pool, no service at all. I have to go get drink by myself. The attitude of the staffs at the snack bar at Grand Memories side was horrible. I will not go back due to poor service.
Certified

Great Stay!! Will be back.

, Dieppe, NB
2019-05-08
We had a great stay at the hotel. We will definitely consider returinign in the future. The best all around resort we've been to in Cuba. The staff were all amazing. We were in Building 32 and Abel the butler was fantastic! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- Great Beach - Premium Drinks such as scotch's and Liquor was as good as Canada. -Service was excellent all around -Food was exceptional -Resort was very well organized -Live music most nights at both Santurary and Dream Memories
The weak points
- Shower in the room was leaking onto the flooe --That being said - we were able to use the other shower in the bathtub.
Certified

Family Reunion at Sanctuary Grand Memories

, Kamloops, BC
2019-04-17
We were a total of five couples from across Canada that arranged to meet for a week in Cuba. We chose Sanctuary at Grand Memories Varadero as it is Adults Only. The facilities are very nice and the staff were friendly and helpful. The approximately eight buildings that comprise ‘Sanctuary' are arrange around a central pool with an adjacent restaurant/lounge/snack shack building. It was all very convenient and about a three minute walk to the beach.
My wife and I chose a premium suite that had a separate living room that worked out well as we hosted a family ‘happy hour' before our group would head off to dinner each evening. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Quiet, well laid out, close to beach, 24hr lounge that serves coffee and spirits. Rooms were nicely laid out and beds were reasonable comfortable (firm mattresses). Karl, the restaurant manager was terrific, as was Renier, our ‘butler'.
The weak points
Inconsistent food quality at time (not unusual in Cuba). People would ‘reserve' chairs around the pool (with their towels) but not show up to use them until late afternoon (we ended up just sitting in the chairs until the people showed up to claim them).
Certified

Low Expectations - Lower Reality

, Ottawa, ON
2019-03-06
To start, I will note that our travel group are really easy going and we are not complainers. We kept an open mind knowing about Cuba. Some of us had already been there (my husband and I 8 years ago).

We are a group of five couples who have traveled together many times over the years. As a whole, we knew going to Cuba would be less than what we are used to. We traveled there from February 16 to 23, 2019. Our flight was delayed a little over an hour so we did not arrive at the Grand Memories until about 12:30 am on the 17th. It was extremely quick getting us to the reception at the Sanctuary. We were given our room keys and off we went. We all met at the Sanctuary bar which has a really nice atmosphere and great staff.

FOOD:
The Sanctuary A La Carte: Well we went to this restaurant for breakfast our first morning around 8:30 am and ordered an omelet, bacon and home fries. They had no home fries which wasn't that big a deal however you had to make your own toast which is quite inconvenient because you don't know when your actual breakfast will arrive. Well that wasn't an issue anyway as they had no bread and did not refill while we were there. This was pretty well everyday for the bread. My husband ordered just bacon as he would have bacon on a bun. What arrived on his plate as well as mine was a “bacon ball”. It was deep fried bacon, crisp on the outside and completely raw on the inside. Actually disgusting. For lunch the same day we went to the snack bar by the Sanctuary pool. I had calamari and fries. We ate dinner there most nights and some from our group also ate lunch. The menu changes everyday however what is offered for lunch is the same as dinner, no change. I did go there for lunch one day and ordered the fish fillet noted on the menu and was brought a tuna steak. These are two very distinct items. I cannot stand tuna and would never had ordered it. I then ordered the chicken breast that the others at my table ordered and said was okay. What I received was very fatty and overcooked chicken thighs. My preference is dark meat back home but this is not a breast nor was it very good.
Sanctuary Snack Bar: Calamari was okay, certainly nothing like some reviewers have noted it being the best. Not sure where they have had calamari before but it was overdone yet still tasty and you can't really mess up fries – can you!
Grand Memories Buffet: Our whole group went to the buffet for dinner our first evening and it was nothing to write home about. It satisfied our appetites somewhat however we never returned there other than breakfast one other morning.
Criollo A La Carte: For starters, the location noted on the resort map is not even close to where this is actually located so we were left scrambling and trying to find someone to direct us. Worst service and food!!! We went as a group of ten with separate tables, a table for 2 and 2 tables for 4. We asked if they could put us together and they very rudely stated no. We were okay with not being seated together, it's not that big a deal but no need to be rude about it. My table of 4 waited almost half an hour before we flagged someone down to at least give us water. We then had to flag someone down again to get our drinks ordered and menus provided. We finally ordered and it was the worst meal. Our friends at another table waited almost 2 hours and when they finally received their food walked out – completely terrible. Oh and when they provided my table with dinner rolls, my husband flipped his over and it was moldy. That was the Wednesday of our trip and some of our group had already started to have tummy issues.
On our last night there 4 of us went to the Gourmet restaurant, however I was quite ill by then so it was wasted on me as once I smelled the food I literally ran out to the washroom. The others said their beef tenderloin was tasty and they were happy with it. The staff though were quite friendly and our waitress, upon seeing my Pandora bracelets, showed me charms she makes. I did not buy any off her but instead gave her 2 of my Pandora charms. Her reaction was very nice and I was happy to see her so happy. I do have to note though that we saw two cockroaches skitter along the floor of the restaurant and I know they can be common but it's still disturbing and disgusting

BEACH:
I could never imagine anyone ever complaining about the beaches in Cuba. Absolutely stunning. As part of the Sanctuary you have waiter/waitress service on the beach. A huge shout out to Natali who was very attentive and always with a smile on her face. She works very hard so tip her when you see her. The beach and ocean were absolutely beautiful and we enjoyed it fully. We would always leave the beach around 3:30 to head up to the pool which is very nice and chat up other travelers. We would also do the Zumba at 4 which was so enjoyable.

STAFF:
The only complaint I would have about the staff was our butler, (Building 32) who did not even make an effort to find us until our 5th day in. Of course she was hanging around our room the last day, I'm guessing looking for a tip. Was not going to happen as she did nothing for us. Our maid, forgot her name, kept our room very clean and our fridge full. The staff in the Sanctuary Lobby Bar are amazing and never seem to go home. Get your morning coffee there, so yummy. The staff at the reception area are so inconsistent I gave up asking for anything. We only had the one chair on our balcony the entire week there. We requested, 3 times that an additional chair be brought to our room. Never got one. However, after checking out, as we were sitting outside we saw them put a second chair on the balcony for their returning guests. Thanks!!!
ROOMS:
Rooms are very dated and really not that nice. Our bedspread was torn in spots and had stains. The shower had definitely seen better days. On a positive note, there was never an issue with hot water. We always had it, did not matter the time of day which is quite nice. Our room overlooked the Sanctuary pool so that was nice.
FACILITIES:
Well you were lucky if there was toilet paper most days. Pretty well had to make sure to always have Kleenex with you and forget about drying your hands as the dryers never worked and they never replenish the hand towels. You were lucky if they actually cleaned them.
HAVANA:
If you have the chance to do this day trip, I highly recommend. Havana is quite stunning and the history itself is amazing. One of the highlights of the trip.
OVERALL:
We are very diligent in what we eat and drink and up until mid week all seemed good. A few of our group had tummy issues and ended up staying in their rooms which is unfortunate. By Tuesday one of our group had severe dehydration, diarrhea, vomiting, etc. By Thursday I was so ill I stayed in my room. We left on Saturday and by then I had a high grade fever, diarrhea, nausea, severe stomach pains, etc. By the time we got to the airport I was sick like I have never been in my life and I'm 53 years old. I was actually afraid that they would not allow me on my flight. Once home, I went to see my doctor on the Monday and had cultures taken and received my results yesterday that I have salmonella poisoning as well as not 1 but 3 different parasites. I have been home now for over a week and this Thursday will be 2 weeks since I fell ill at the resort. I am now on my 4th round of antibiotics and still sick although no fever anymore.
Would I recommend the Sanctuary at Grand Memories – NEVER. Will I ever go back to Cuba – Unfortunately I will not mainly due to these issues but there are also so many other beautiful places to see and I believe much safer as far as food goes.

I contacted the resort and they literally blew me off saying they take every precaution necessary to ensure food preparedness and safety. Sorry I don't buy it when I got sick there and continue to suffer.
On a last note – when planning our winter getaway, we are diligent in reading Trip Advisor reviews and doing our homework. Based on reviews of this resort on Trip Advisor we decided on The Sanctuary at Grand Memories. In speaking with other guests they noted they do the same however most we spoke to said they will never go back there and had nothing good to say about the food and that most at one point were very ill as well.
This comment is directed at the Management of Sanctuary - you need to have better practices in place for food storage, preparation, cooking, etc. There is no other way that any in our group, including myself, got salmonella poisoning as well as parasites from any other source than Sanctuary at Grand Memories. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff are so friendly.
The weak points
Food - the food was obviously not property prepped or cooked.

Grand Memories Sanctuary Varadero, Cuba.

, Coldbrook, NS
2019-02-24
All & all a very nice resort. Will likely go there again. The cleanest resort we were ever to. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean and tidy. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Sanctuary a la carte meals were excellent.Beach and pool was very nice and clean. Restaurants and bars were excellent, for the most part.The cleanest resort we were ever to.
The weak points
The Italian a la carte, meat was not cooked. The main buffet restaurant, uncooked bacon and some of the meats not cooked enough. The beach barbecue meats were not cooked enough, the uncooked meats were in contact with the cooked meats and fish.
Certified

It's all good!

, Markham, ON
2018-12-18
We did not have high expectations of the food in Cuba but WOW. We were blown away.
The food in the specialty restaurants were awesome.
Service from all staff were all friendly. The resort well kept. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Room clean, maid service is good, butler service was good. Buffet omelettes, grilled foods were good.
The weak points
Room's wall, furniture were tattered and Dated. It has seem better days. Hot water only on the sunny days. Buffet was ok, if you like runny scrambled eggs for breakfast.
Certified

50th Birthday

, Winnipeg, MB
2018-12-17
We were at the Memory Sanctuary we loved it. The brazilian coffee is amazing. All the staff are the best. I celebrated my 50th Birthday was my husband and they treated me like a queen. My room was all decorated. My husband wanted roses for my birthday and my butler went to Varadero and picked them up for me. Great service. The food was great. Calamari, lobster. Breakfast we went to the buffet I love my omelette. No complaints would go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2022