Valentin El Patriarca Varadero

Valentin El Patriarca Varadero
3.713.713.713.713.71
3.71 based on 504 reviews
#14 of 65 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Varadero
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (171)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12345

Beautiful beach

, Québec, QC
2020-03-23
I loved the layout of the hotel and the fact that I had to walk around. At least I got some exercise! Our bungalow was close to the lobby so we had to walk a bit to get to the beach. The gardens are beautiful and gardeners so sweet and friendly. I recommend this hotel if you want to relax and take it easy. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, à la carte restaurants, Mike's coffee, great beach and pool service to get chairs and parasols.
The weak points
Having to get up at 6:30 to reserve a chair at the beach (no joke) and the impossible beach towel change. You have to be at your room with your beach towels between 2 and 4 pm to catch room service. I bringing your own towels.

Good for the money

, Moncton, NB
2020-03-19
I went with my 2 sisters, my Mom and 3 friends. We had a wonderful time at the resort. It was clean and the rooms were spacious. The beach was pretty good. Lots of mosquitoes, so take fly dope. I got bitten up pretty bad. The food was really good at both the buffet and the Al-la-cartes. The entertainment was wonderful and the crew were amazing and beyond friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was very good Entertainment was great, loved Naylin and Andre Rooms were great and housekeeping lady was amazing Pool was very nice and clean. Lots of chairs around
The weak points
Wi-fi was not good at all Front desk staff were not always friendly or helpful A lot of mosquitoes in the lobby Beach was a bit disappointing with a lot of seaweed.
Certified

Relaxing Get Away

, Rothesay, NB
2020-03-02
Overall we enjoyed our vacation. We have been to cube 9 or 10 times so we know what to expect. Food was a little better than Cuba average. No reservation required at the a la cartes which was really nice. We bring our own beach towels as towels have always been an issue in Cuba; however, we did NOT get clean towel all week which was a first. Coffee at Mike's is delicious. Be sure to take in the nightly entertainment in the lobby, something different every night. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good entertainment in the lobby Beautiful Grounds Friendly staff
The weak points
No clean beach towels ALL WEEK!!! Slow to clean tables in buffet No French fries
Certified

This Resort is the reason I wont go back to Cuba

, Brampton, ON
2020-02-24
Been to Cuba 3 times , expectations were low - the food at this resort was by far worse then any other Cuba Resort . Service was not good and staff were not very friendly in the main buffet or front desk . Short changed , hat, sun glasses and makeup disappeared . Seaweed was not removed from the beaches
Rooms were clean , hot water and Air Conditioner worked . Was pleased with rooms and overall condition of the resort . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean Room , hot water , comfortable bed and air conditioner worked . Entertainment was great
The weak points
Food was terrible , service at main buffet and front desk was very bad . Short changed at money exchange and again when getting WIFI . Doctor wanted $100 for Tums
Certified

Dirty filthy 2star

, Laval, QC
2020-02-18
The Picture of the pool they show here is privileged pool DoNot rely on this. I have pictures that you will see its a awfull hotel dirty most of the staff is rude not just a bit rude very Rude. At our arrival we could not believe how dirty it was dirty moldy tiles in the shower dirty walls dirty fridge with not even water in it.Dirty rag outside our door room.So they had not other room so they imposed us a priveleged room for 200$each x2 dont forget the exchange is as USA dollars almost.The priveleged room different colour as warn down but cleaner we had no Choice. The safe did not work so they send a technician 3days later again broken it happend 4times.The beach towel smell feet ..and the towels we we ask to change they fold it back dirty we were both sick with the food .Do not get caught at this pkace the beach is dirty and full if rocks [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Signer one night was amazing,Sylvia the night server at the buffet
The weak points
Dirty,no great service the worst at the reception,awfull beach full of rocks, cigarettes butts paper ...food yuck.

11 day stay

, Young, SK
2020-02-17
First the pictures we viewed on line looked nothing like the place we stayed we had no hot or even warm water in the room for the first 7 days we ment alot of other people that complained about their air-conditioning was not working you cannot see the beach from any rooms there our friends from Alberta caught a scorpion in there room some rooms have a 2" gap under the door we would have to think really hard about returning to this resort wi-fi sucked you have to pay for it and can only use it within 50' of the main building [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great entertainment Food was okey
The weak points
Staff that worked in the guest services were very rude not impressed
Certified

January getaway

, Saint Amable, QC
2020-02-07
Nice trip ..food was alright. The resort needs a bit of work alittle run down, but overall just okay the beach was not bad but not great either [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The great weather
Certified

Okay

, Ayr, ON
2020-02-04
Overall not very pleased. The hotel staff were not very friendly, the food was not good, the room was clean but bathroom was not the nicest. Our key card broke 7 times along with our safe. Some days our water and fridge were not re stalked. For a 4&1/2 star I wasn't to happy with the outcome. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice beach and pool area Good entertainment
The weak points
Bad food - line ups for fresh on the grill were long Weird eating time late dinner Key card stopped working everyday Unfriendly staff Gross bathrooms Lack of room service ( missed refilling water and fridge) Line ups super long to restaurants
Certified

My overall review

, Carbonear, NL
2019-10-10
Our hotel room had a really bad termite problem, you can actually see the wood shadings everywhere and chunks gone out of the bed and headboard. Some days it was cleaned up and other days it wasn't cleaned and left there. The first day we arrived there was a big pile of wood shadings by the bed that was couple inches high. I recommend taking a can of raid to spray your room few times during your stay
The staff varied, some were rude and hardly spoke. Most the staff always remembered you, bar knew what we liked the workers at the spa was amazing and never forget your face. Highly recommend the back and neck massage.
The food for us was not the greatest. We avoided the buffet as much as possible, served alot of the same stuff and always ran out of ketchup, etc. The snack bar was our go to, we always asked for extra Fry's with our order and was never an issue.
The entertainment at the theater was ok, alot of the dance shows was the same but the magic show waw great and enjoyable.
We done the boat tour, the dolphins was amazing, the snorkeling was ok but when we got to the Island I hated it. The food was absolutely horrible.
Tipping the restaurants and bars helps get better service, we always left our maid something as well. They appreciate the little gifts.
Overall it was a great trip and a great experience! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The maid always done something nice for us with the Towles or blankets, very creative. Always had fresh clean towels given to us every day or our stay.
The weak points
The smell of sewage coming from the bathroom toilet and around the resort wasn't pleasant, we start to notice it more after about 5 days of our stay.

Good overall

, Saint Leonard, QC
2019-07-10
We were 4 families. My review pertains to my family only which consists of 2 rooms in block 24 which was the furthest away from beach. Walking distance to beach was about 9 minutes but there are free electric carts that can take you there. Rooms were overall clean but upper floor has less bugs. Beds comfort was OK. Towels and soap bare minimum but if you ask you will get.

The beach is very nice and always found palapas and lounge chairs with shade. No shade in pool area even the Privilege Club pool. You can snorkel off the beach especially towards the left side (towards the Paradissus.)

Staff varied. Some were very efficient and friendly, some not so much (especially in the restaurant by the beach.)

Resolution of problems was quick if you go to Customer Relations. We had reocurring issues with door locks and within 15 minutes each time a technician was sent.

Following hurricane Irma in 2017, 20% of roof shingles flew away and have been replaced by non-matching color. This is for aesthetics only but shows lack of funds or something. Also, many trees were knocked or had to be cut and new ones have been planted however it will take years before they grow and provide shade.

Entertainment was better than expected. Keep in mind shows use staff as performers but they were surprisingly very well coordinated and costumes were very nice. There was even a show in the pool. Activities organized on the beach and pool area were good.

Children and teen programs were poor but there were a few days that had more kids present and activities on those days were better. There was also a show for kids every evening prior to the main show but the time coincided with restaurant opening hours.

Sports on the water ... always got either paddle boats, kayaks or catamaran having either no wait or up to 30 minutes wait. Tennis and handball courts exist but too hot to use in the summer and no lights on at night. Plus at night they were spraying the area (were the courts are) with insect repellent.

MOBILITY RESTRICTIONS: I noticed ramps everywhere, going as far as the beach. The main pool you can access with a wheelchair right into the water. Wheelchair accessibility is excellent everywhere.

We saw 2 destination weddings on the beach during our stay. You can clearly see the sunset from the beach.

WOULD WE RETURN? Only if they permanently fix the door lock issue because I spent an awful lot of time virtually every day to get it fixed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach sand and water, shade on beach, good food variety, availability for group of 8 at specialty restaurants every night, beer & soft drinks restocked daily, some brand names at bar, layout, availability of watersports equipment
The weak points
Door lock issues (made 11 claims for 3 rooms over 8-day stay, sometimes could open doors without keys, sometimes keys wouldn't work), phones don't work in blocks 11, 13, 15, 17 following a lightning strike, some renovations needed, need more shade in pool

Cuba in June

, London, ON
2019-06-23
Overall the hotel was very good for the price. The specialty restaurants had something for everyone in our group. The rooms were very comfortable and well stocked and we had excellent service by the hotel staff. Our main complaint would be that it was extremely warm (C40 with the humidity factored in) and the common areas in the resort either had no air conditioning or it was insufficient to keep the areas comfortable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach was wonderful and we were always able to get cabanas for shade. The weather was great during the day but we had rain almost every night which was fine by us as we are early birds anyway. We really enjoyed Mike`s Cafe for specialty coffees.
The weak points
Air conditioning in the buffet was nearly non-existent or not strong enough to keep the room a comfortable temperature as well as in most of the common areas. Ceiling fans would help in the lobby area.
Certified

El Patriarca Varadero Cuba

, Val Caron, ON
2019-05-15
Had a wonderful time enjoying everything this beautiful resort had to offer. A very private feel rather than the hotel type resort. staff are great and we hope to come back. Exactly what we hoped for when we booked this holiday. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
live music, thetre shows every night, specialty coffee shop, swim up bar, numerous al la carte restaurants and a beautiful beach stretching across the ocean. The layout of the grounds is perfect and easy to navigate.
The weak points
Perhaps needed more umbrella's around the pool area.
Certified

Ok trip

, Grand Lake, NS
2019-05-14
I visited the hotel 5 years ago and returned with a party of 10. The hotel is ok, good bang for your buck but lacking in areas as well. I don't sweat the small things but a lot of small things also add up. If I didn't upgrade to the privileged suite, my trip would've been subpar at best. Even being “privileged” my beer fridge was never restocked (even with a note) and no one answered the room service phone all week. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
VIP lounge and food. The staff at the cop lounge. Entertainment in the piano bar.
The weak points
The snack bar is not 24 hours and constantly ran out of food. It shuts down for 4 hours. Your kicked out of the pool at 6:00pm. It's still light out, I've been south 13 times and this is my first experience with this. Beer fridge wasn't restocked once
Certified

OCEAN VARADERO EL PATRIARCA

, Moncton, NB
2019-04-30
The hotel customer service person, Yadira, was by far the sweetest and most accommodating person we've met on any resort. Made our stay perfect. Staff are all super friendly with the exception of a few main lobby bar bartenders. The beach is not the best stretch of beach on the Varadero strip but still very beautiful. Not enough palapas on the beach although we did see the construction of several more to be ready soon. The beach restaurant is great but service is a bit slow. On a busy day, we were there from start to finish 2 hours. Should offer a small buffet style lunch instead of a la carte orders or a pizza shack on the beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The service at Mike's Coffee shop, buffet, reception and especially a customer service rep and our Air Transat Rep were all simply fantastic. Grounds are lush and beautifully maintained. Clean public washrooms with toilet paper.
The weak points
No reservations needed at all a la cartes not so great if you are a group, near impossible. Mike's coffee shop and/or coffee at the main lobby bar should open at 6am instead of 7am for the early risers and provide donuts and/or croissants.
Certified

Resort OK but needs improvement

, Laval, QC
2019-04-26
Stayed for a week (back on April 19th) and had great weather. Overall impression of the resort was good. Not sure I'll go back again. I like better the resorts in the Cayos.
Check-in/out: Very nice service. The receptionists are very nice. Jenny (Yenisey) is marvelous and her smile and generosity are very special to my heart . Besos. She answered all my requests and made sure we got the best rooms. Just a small note that the check-out is at 12 and they charge you 10 CUC per extra hour. They also offer to keep your luggage in a room near reception.
Rooms: Nice and clean. Contemporary design but a little run off. We got a king bed and my 14 years old slept on the sofa bed. We had a bathtub with a shower head and a separate shower. We couldn't use the shower as the glass door wasn't installed correctly and made some dangerous cracking sounds and the shower head spilled the water on the ceiling. Air conditioning ok, fridge filled daily with one beer, two sodas and one 1.5l bottled water. The most bothering problem I had was getting water. We were 3 and, as I don't drink sodas or beer, I had to share one bottle of water per day with my son. I tried to get a second one but it seems they have the policy to distribute only one per room. No way to get another one unopened from the bars or restaurants. I had to give good gifts and pray a lot to get a second one. It's easier to get alcohol than water. Please change this crazy policy. A special thanks to Eny, our cleaning lady. You have to leave the towels in the bathtub if you want to change them.
Beach: Very nice, especially on the right end towards the boats where the sand is thinner and the water entrance is less rocky. Not enough palapas (only 40) for shadow and that's a bother when you're on vacation, as one of us had to wake up every morning at 6-6:30 to reserve chairs. I've never been to the pool so I can't comment.
Food: Ok. I've been to Cuba many times and I'm not picky but they suffer from a critical supply problem. I've never gone at opening hours but one hour after opening the plates were empty or a little off, they run off daily of something (pizza, bread, pasta, salads, chicken, etc.) Not a lot of side dishes or vegetables. I've eaten mostly pasta, white fish, chicken, hamburgers, hotdogs, rice, fries and pizza. Good breakfast in the morning. Best choice at lunch is the beach restaurant, close to beach, nice and quick service, in the fresh breeze of their open terrace. The main buffet was supposed to be air conditioned but it's pretty hot inside. The snack bar was ok but choice is limited to hamburger, hotdog or pizza (choice depending on the availability) and it was incredible long. Cuban Fiesta Day at the beach restaurant was perfect. Many choices, good food, Cuban music, incredible beef Ropa Vieja.
Service: Just Ok. We always left tips and gifts for them and some offered very nice service with a smile and others … just ordinary or even worse (main buffet waiters). Management should offer some more training (making drinks, cooking, customer service). Not so warm service as we got in Cayos or Holguin. However there were some exceptions. Special thanks to Yenisey (reception), the team of servers from beach buffet, the two girls from the piano bar.
Animation: Mostly quiet resort, a lot of older tourists. I'm in my 40s and travelling in family but I found it boring in the evening. At the beach was ok. I'm not a fan of beach activities but they offered a lot (volley, soccer, catamaran, snorkeling, trips, aquagym, etc.). In the evening, they have the usual show in the theatre every night - nothing wow, kind of boring. I don't go to the disco as we travelled with kids but I expected some nice Cuban music in the evening, at least a radio or something... The only evening animation was in the Piano Bar near the lobby bar. It's a closed air conditioning room with its own bar. No piano but a good band performing every evening, but with the doors closed! We couldn't get inside as it's really small and full of people dancing on tables. We had to sit every evening on the chairs near the lobby bar, in silence and go to sleep early. They surprised us one night and brought the band outside from the piano bar, in the lobby and it was the most amazing evening. Everybody was dancing, singing, having fun. Should be like this every evening because, after all, we are on vacation. Nothing crazy or loud but at least some Cuban music on the background sound to make me feel I'm in Cuba. Many seniors reading in the Lobby Bar, playing games or cards. Strange and silent atmosphere for a cubain lobby bar in the evening.
Smoking: No smoking allowed anywhere. Strange for Cuba and, as we are smokers, we found this bothering not to be able to smoke at any bar or anywhere. I wish we knew before about this policy but it's not indicated anywhere. The Lobby bar is in open air and it's still forbidden. The only in ''smoking section'' is the 4-5 tables near the buffet (always full) and some coffee tables in the hallway outside the Mike's Café (non-smoking people sitting there and complaining about me smoking in the only section allowed !) So, to smoke, we had to stand outside the Lobby bar in the bushes or in front of reception, no table, no chair, no friends, no music...I respect the non-smokers position but they should inform you before about this policy or arrange options for the smokers too (at least one smoking bar or some reserved tables). It's Cuba after all. We couldn't smoke a good Cuban cigar in Cuba.... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, room
The weak points
Service, food supply, not enough shade on the beach, bottled water 1.5l per room policy, no smoking spaces

El Patriarca

, Vancouver, BC
2019-04-22
We really enjoyed our stay at the Resort however the only negative was that there was no phone service during the entire stay there. That made it hard too get room service etc. The food was good. Would have been nice too see a little more variety or different selection on different nights of dishes being offered. A lot of the same food selection each day. The Staff were great. Over all we really liked the resort and would go back again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Will not return

, Upper Tantallon, NS
2019-04-08
We arrived at the resort 4 hours late (no fault of the resort) at 3:00a.m. We were tired but excited to start our vacation. When we arrived at the counter we were told that our reservation, that was made in June, could not be found. We fortunately had our travel agent with us so she had to pay $342 so we could have a room until thing were sorted out. her money was returned the next day. This meant that we could not unpack as we did not know if we would be staying in the same room. Upsetting way to start a vacation. We were told after 24 hrs we would be staying in our room. We were also told that our room checkout time would be extended on our last day due to the confusion and that was a bonus.
Beyond that, the resort was substandard even for Cuba. The beds were so hard and the pillows awful. having said that, we slept well due to active days. There was a shower in the tub but the head was black with mildew, yuk. There was also a shower stall and that was fine so we used that. The pool was clean but the white plastics grills around it we missing in places and broken in others. we were told first day to be careful not to step on them as someone had gone through one and had been hurt.
The grounds were lush and the beach was nice but quite narrow. There were 35 umbrellas on the beach for a resort with 420 people. The beach was full of seaweed for the first few days but they did eventually clean it. The water was outstanding with a sandy bottom, very little seaweed and my happy place for the trip.
The food was typical Cuban resort food so not shocked with that and we did not go hungry. The ice cream was very good.two of our group did get quite sick the day before we left though despite probiotic tablets.
We had a nice week because of the people we were with and made the best of it but not worth the money spent.
This was our third trip to Cuba and we will definitely not return to this country. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beautiful in the water - ice cream -cookies are great when available - pleasant staff - great evening entertainment in the lobby
The weak points
unsafe pool - snack bar food quality is poor - beach towel exchange system is awful (waiting to see the person cleaning your room and hoping she is there when you are) - more umbrellas(palapas) on the beach - poor lighting on pathways at night
Certified

Ocean Patriarca

, Penniac, NB
2019-03-12
Hotel was nice clean [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Was close to the beach. Pool and beach bar restaurant
The weak points
Lost hot water on the 2 coldest day.
Certified

Ocean Varedero El Patriciarc

, Toronto, ON
2019-02-27
Upon arrival requests for specific accommodation locations totally ignored when rooms assigned. Person with walker given second floor and other party put in another building very removed from other party!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff courteous and accommodating. Not reception ones who just said we are full no change.
The weak points
Hard for those with physical problem to get around as resort so large.
Certified

Not bad but not 5 star

, Oshawa, ON
2019-01-13
I cant add what hasnt already been said. Its Cuba. Staff were friendly, grounds were tidy and grounds crew were always working hard. The food was very basic not 5 star quality. We booked a couple weeks before we left and got a reasonable price and really werent expecting too much. Lots of bug bites on most people, the noseeums are brutal. There was an excellent band the first night I had arrived, one from off the resort. One other night had an amazing show at the theatre, the rest were same ol. The Mikes coffee shop ladies work long tireless hours, for Gods sake tip those ladies!! The weather was great but thats not part of the hotel resorts doing. Make the best of your vacation , if youre comfortable riding a scooter, rent one and go to Varadaro for a while, experience more culture [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Family getaway

, Verchoyle, ON
2019-01-04
The staff were very friendly and helpful. They were very attentive and did everything they could to ensure guests were happy. The buildings are getting older. The rooms were large and airy. The pool area was comfortable and there was lots of seating available. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Helpful, friendly staff. Even at the buffet there was the ability to go to the grill area and staff would cook you fresh fish or other meat. The dolphin adventure excursion was amazing!
The weak points
Beds were older and could use updating.
Certified

Very nice

, Toronto, ON
2018-12-19
I've been to Cuba 6 times now, and this was by far one of the best hotels i stayed in. It is quite and not a 'party hotel'. Rooms are very updated, sadly due to hurricane. Alcohol selection was very good, food is the same everywhere. The only minor inconvenience was availability of loungers and umbrellas on the beach, they should really get more for a hotel this size. Staff were all great! Even wifi was nice in the lobby, except during bad weather and peak hours. Ground were very well kept and maintained, over all beautiful hotel. I personally disliked the lunch place by the beach, it took forever and food was meh. Buffet was great and all 3 restaurants also. I was there with a group of people so we tried everything there is to try. Never swam in the pool so cant comment on it, the beach was fantastic but one of my friends cut her foot with a sea shell so be careful..but its pretty much a lottery. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
landscaping, staff, rooms
The weak points
saw a few roaches in buffet, need more umbrellas on the beach
Certified

Great Vacation, great service

, Sherbrooke, HA
2018-12-19
This was my 7th trip down South excluding another 8 to the Hampton area. I found the hotel staff very polite and helpful. The site was clean and very well maintaned. The rooms had a good look to them and the toilet is seperated from the sink so a nice plus. The beach was great for walks. The sand was not white and powdery but the advantage is that winds did not blow the sand in our eyes or mouth as it does on the soft white sand of certain beaches. The food varied from fantastic to good depending on what we chose at the buffet or order in the restaurant. Id say this was a 5 star experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great service and great food.
Certified

Ocean varadero el patriarca

, Maple Ridge, BC
2018-07-14
this is not s 5 star property, 3 star at the best [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Ocean Varaderop el Patriarca

, Scarborough, ON
2018-06-02
There was very few people working there that spoke English some tried but most did not. This resort is made up of 2 story units with about 6 rooms on each floor. We were on the main floor. We had heavy rain and strong winds and the rain came in under the door. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
Not many people working there spoke English and if it rained there was not much to do as most activities were outdoors.
Certified

Nice family vacation

, Mississauga, ON
2018-03-08
I went with my wife 2 years old boy and 4 years old boy we actually enjoy it and the resort is really nice but the only think is the food quality was little poor and they only had fries 2 days then they stop bring them out my kids had really hard time eating room need improvement alot people over there are the nicest u can ever see nice the beach was amazing the pools are nice we actually enjoyed it I would go to this resort again I would say I didn't regret of going there at all.. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Good Experience

, Toronto, ON
2018-02-02
The week that we were in this hotel the weather did not cooperate, but the stay at the hotel was pleasant and had lovely grounds . Good service and helpful staff. We took some tours into Havana. One day by bus and learned a lot about the city and Cuba. Then we went again by taxi and did our own thing. Very enjoyable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice and quiet. Beautiful gardens. Friendly staff and fairly well kept rooms.
The weak points
Food. Poor cleanliness and presentation at buffet. Food at the restaurants was somewhat better but still not great.
Certified

Love this resort

, Ottawa, ON
2018-02-01
This resort was referred by an acquaintance and I cannot thank them enough, it is a pleasant surprise. Clean, polite, efficient staff await you and are interested in you enjoying your vacation. Everyone from the chambermaid to the gardener is pleasant and helpful. The resort is modern and clean, in a fairly good state of repair with everything easily accessible to guests. The pool area is huge with room for everyone. The bars and snack bars are always well staffed. Lots of chairs on the beach, and if you can't find one... they will get you one. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff are amazing... Mikes' Coffee Bar makes the greatest coffee, the lounge bar staff really do remember you, and the snack bar.... best fries ever. Just like home.
The weak points
Off the top of my head, I cannot find anything to say that is negative. I would go back!
Certified

Varadero

, Oakville, ON
2017-06-26
Hotel restaurants service was below par, Drinking Water and toilet paper in hotel room was rationed, tip was the only way to get them sometimes, [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great weather, very nice beaches, hotel had nice live bands/groups
The weak points
food was very average, service was average
Certified

Would not return

, Mississauga, ON
2017-05-19
My friend and I stayed at this resort for 1 week at the end of April. The resort was very well maintained and the beach was beautiful. The breakfast was very good, however the lunch and dinner was very disappointing. We have stayed at multiple Cuban resorts and were extremely unsatisfied with the food selection at this particular resort in comparison. The only place worthwhile was the Italian restaurant, which we dined at multiple times. In regards to excursions, we took a day trip to Havana, which I would highly recommend to everyone. The tour guide was great and despite the rainy weather, it was still an amazing to see the history and culture in the city. On the last night, when packing to return home, we noticed we were missing a few items of clothing that we had brought with us. This was very unsettling as our clothing was kept in our luggage, which meant that someone would have had to go into the luggage to take these items. The next morning we mentioned to the front desk that items were missing, and the employee at the front desk just informed us that the housekeepers do not come in until 9am, so we should ask her then. Given that we were leaving for the airport at 7:30am, this was not an option. Overall, I would not return to this resort, especially for the price paid. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach Location
The weak points
Food
Certified
pages: 12345

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021