Club Amigo Marea Del Portillo

Club Amigo Marea Del Portillo
3.403.403.403.403.40
3.40 based on 651 reviews
#1 of 3 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Manzanillo de Cuba
Rated 3 stars
Traveller pictures (282)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Home away from Home

, Harrow, ON
2020-02-14
This was our second time here. We like the resort. It is clean and the staff are very helpful and friendly. We are making great friends here. It is nice that there are not planes in every day. It is nice to get to know the people around you. Sad we are hearing stories of this resort possibly closing. Our Cuban friends will be the ones that lose....so many generous Canadians go to this resort. We hope to go back again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very friendly staff.
The weak points
Shortage of food. No chicken this time and no orange pop. Long drive from the airport and the road isn't the greatest.
Certified

Marea Portillo Holiday: More than We Bargained For

, Toronto, ON
2019-09-10
"Marea de Portillo Holiday Sandwiched Between Terror Bus Ride and Vacation Ending Travel Chaos"

Tough decision coming up with my title for this remote resort, "Rough Ride in Marea de Portillo: You Can Check Out Anytime You Like But You Can Never Leave!" was a close second.

This was our first and last visit although, like every place regardless of the rating, there's always something good to say.

Give the tour operator credit. They lured us with a decent price ($1,195, 2 weeks, Jan/ Feb.) and great video of this out-of-the-way place tucked between the Sierra Miestra mountain range and Caribbean sea.

Been to Cuba and traveled their roads often but nothing prepared us for the bus ride from the airport! Stomach churning, scary even! Our bus' suspension was worn out so it rocked back and forth stroking fear we might roll over at any time as the driver plowed along at much too high a speed! Fortunately, we arrived alive but a lot worse for wear, after a long day travelling from Toronto. That said, perhaps you'll find comfort knowing I chastised the SW and hotel PR rep about the "hellish roller coaster ride," and that on the return trip out, things were better and the driver went slower. Surely, nobody, I said, would want a tourist disaster to claim as their own!

Moving on to the resort - one of two hotels with a "stay-at-one play-at-both" feature - with Marea de Portillo down by the beach, and La Farallon up on the hill, far from the beach. Here's the good and bad.

The Good (why it's popular with repeat guests):

1.  The setting and scenery.

2.  The Beach Bar with “open air” terrace patio. Spent alot of time here, away from the crowd hanging by the pool. Only thing I didn't like was the everyday bartender who often insisted on a no smoking area despite the open air patio and scant tables who kept putting ice in my beer "before" rather than "after" he poured, although he knew what I wanted.

3.  The friendly Pool Bar bartenders. Problem was, 90% of their cocktails couldn't be made because they didn't have pineapple or other juices;

4.  When they didn't run out, the French fries, cooked to perfection in clean vegetable oil;

5.  The Hotel Rep. Outstanding!

6.  The regular shuttle to/from Farallon with its great views, nice lobby area/pool and snack bar chicken sandwiches made with fried peppers and onions on occasion;

7.  The pleasant a la carte dining at Marea de Portillo and Farallon. Food wasn't bad either.

8.  The so-called Three City Tour taking in Pilon (not much there), a Cuban homestead (with animal farm), the uninhabited coast line and a hilltop restaurant for photos and refreshments.

The Not So Good:

1. Hungry seniors lining up for every meal and cleaning out the buffet. Nothing worse then knowing you can't sleep in a little, return from the beach late or have a pre-dinner cocktail before dinner!

2. Territorial old men, repeaters, who try telling you not to smoke outside in open air places when the staff have posted signs marking these areas as "Smoking Areas!" Two men argued with two middle-aged married men until they left the poolside area (shouldn't have) to finish their lovely aromatic Cuban cigars elsewhere. Hint Dummies: That's why tourists come to Cuba! Go elsewhere!

3. No hot water in Hotel Rooms! Bad on the Tour operator for not incl. this in their advertising. When they say rooms feature showers, naturally you think it comes with hot water. Btw, staff were unanimous: "The rooms have NOT had hot water for at least two years." Only the Cabanas do. Complained afterward, but last I looked nothings changed.

4. Who wants to share their room with mice? Credit staff though. The hole in the wall, where they were coming from, was plugged up on our first full day there. Afterwards, we liked our spacious room, antique furniture and King bed. The only exception was the TV. Just 4 Spanish “snowy" channels - no English movies, sports or news channels! So much for the advertised satellite TV! Front desk staff kept saying they would be round to fix it but didn't. Instead, "compensation" was offered for this and no hot water, in the form of a free late check out (never happened, read on), and lobster meal (never happened, they "ran out.")

5. Murky water beach often windy, not great for swimming as strong tides create steep mounds/drop-offs you can't see until (like some), you twist an ankle going in/out. A small, nice enough swimming pool exists but it can get overrun at times.

6. No bread for your hot dog/hamburger at the snack bar, French fries running out  AND sandwich service on the go-away-day that starts at 2 P.M, after you've left for the airport.

7. No pre-made scrambled eggs at breakfast. Why do I have to line up with the omelette lovers for half an hour? Plus, hate to say it because the staff keep the hotel clean, but we did see the odd cockroach in the restaurant.

8.  Flea infested wild dogs and the dumb people who feed them! They're even allowed to sleep on lounge chairs too! Reason enough to not come back! Love the cats though, they eat the insects and roaches (not birds that I saw).

9. Lax Security at the quasi-disco plus an unusual number of wackos here, most repeat incl. a French Canadian who boasted about "beating up Anglophones" in Montreal during the Separatist lead, Bloc Quebecois rule years ago. Most upset though with an Ontario tourist (from London/Strathroy) who drop-kicked me in the back without provocation because he (claimed later) he was "too drunk on Rum and didn't know what I was doing and never drink the stuff." Seems he was jealous I was dancing with everyone else incl. some single girls in his group who had befriended me earlier. Worst of all, he WASN'T taken into custody or charged (despite my torn kneecap and elbow, lucky I didn't smash my skull after he knocked me off the elevated dance stage)! Alas, everyone had another week of this guy roaming around!

Last but not least, our otherwise marred-but-not-too-bad holiday ended horribly, leaving us fearful of returning here given the airport facility, and 2 A.M room flood on our last night due to old, unmaintained bathroom plumbing!

After the 2 hour bus ride out, 3:30 arrival at the airport and loading onto the plane at 8 P.M, we waited for 2 hours, then had to disembark and go back to the “no-food airport” to wait longer -- 11 hours in total – before being told by airport staff (the poor baggage handler) that our flight was cancelled!

At 4 A.M., tired and hungry, we had to get our Tourist Visas back in hellish heat and crowding, then board buses for an "up to 4 hour (bumpy) bus ride" to faraway Holguin! Once there, it took 1 1/2 hours to register at the Iberostar Holguin resort ... all this after losing our last nights' sleep and a second night's sleep at the airport ! In all, we suffered 2 nights' sleep deprivation, partly because airport staff in Mazanillo de Cuba couldn't get the runway lights on, and the crew was beyond their acceptable work hours making a daybreak flight out impossible. Worse yet, all we heard from SW, the pilot actually, and that was 6 hours earlier, was the "runway lights were out and our plane couldn't take off."

Nightmare vacation, you bet. Good thing the Holguin resort had room for us and took us in (at no expense), allowing time to shower, eat breakfast and lunch (amazing food), before departing late afternoon for our flight home from Holguin ...

Finally, as the plane was "lifting off," everyone broke out in applause [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The scenery.
The weak points
The limited choice and mediocre quality of food, the clientele, and accomodations.

Good vacation

, Toronto, ON
2019-05-19
Two planes arrived at the same time and our plane had to wait for the stair to exit the plane as the airport only has one set. Our bus was late getting to the resort. The hotel rooms were already assigned at the airport and check in is the fastest I have ever experienced anywhere. All staff was on hand to welcome us and help with luggage to your room. The bar was open with food ready for us and it was around 11pm. Nice touch & appreciated after a long day of travel. Resort is older , smaller, very clean, food was pretty good & staff is friendly. There are some food shortages but you can always find something to eat. The trip to the island is worth taking, incluces bbq , beautiful white sand beach. The bbq was really good. We did messages, light & relaxing. Took the carriage ride, traveled through the farm land to the water fall. Enjoyed seeing the area and learning about the culture. Always good to support the local businesses. Hats off to the bus drivers keeping us safe on the road to and from the airport. Good value for the dollar but it you want everything first class this is not the resort for you. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean resort
The weak points
Airport customs was very slow arriving and departing. Long bumpy ride to the resort about 2 hours.
Certified

103 times to cuba

, Mckellar, ON
2019-05-09
Good value
Friendly staff
Average age 60
Good food selection for a 3 star.
Back in july with number 80 sunscreen [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Quiet, bartenders great
The weak points
They need to get 1 and 3 paper dollar bills 5 peso bill is way to much for a tip

Scenery, scenery, scenery

, Innisfil, ON
2019-03-29
After reading reviews, I was a bit nervous. Totally, happy with our vacation. Yes, bit of a bumpy ride from airport, but, well worth the trip. Check in was the fastest I've ever experienced. Room was perfect, with view from every unit. Room was clean, best bathroom I've ever had in Cuba. We usually go to resorts with different buildings thru out resort, this resort is one big building. It was very enjoyable, lots of comfortable grouping of seats to sit and chat. Food was repetitive but very good. Found the reception desk personnel were short on smiles, along with nursing staff and quite a few employees. I know they put in long days, but felt a little guilty, we were smiling. If you like a white sand beach, this resort isn't for you. Swim to the end of old pier with some crackers or chips, lots of fish to swim with while they are eating your offering. You could be sitting on beach and horses will walk up the beach. Lots of mango trees, beautiful trees and plants. Was a bit intimidated by men who carried our suitcases to our room. Very pushy for a tip. Unfortunately we get in around 9:30pm, not exchanged money yet. We were promptly told they will except Canadian money. My daughter, feeling pressured gave them $20 to appease them. Needless to say, we refused their help to carry suitcases back down to lobby. Overall experience was wonderful, hopefully we will be able to return next year. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Scenery, scenery, scenery.
The weak points
I never thought I would complain about Cuban people joining us at a resort. Unfortunately, quite a few joined us on the weekend, they were very rude. Drunk lady in pool blowing nose into pool. One boy was not supervised, lifeguard had a time with him.
Certified

What to like

, Toronto, ON
2019-02-17
As per general rule all staff is friendly, welcoming and willing to help and accommodate your requests but problems are far beyond the staff willingness. An 84 KM from the airport to the resort is at least a 2 hour ride because road is atrocious. The resort itself is attractive but it's crumbling, AC was not turning off for 3 days, during my 7 night stay I never got hot water and so most of the guests. On my last couple days there was sewage back up in the shower. The buffet restaurant too small for the number of guests and usually you have to wait for a table to be assigned or you have to share with other guests. Last but not least food is not only repetitive but lacks quality/taste without a doubt the worse experience I have ever had. To the grace of God...the weather was fantastic. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff and beach
The weak points
Resort infrastructures, food and foodservice.
Certified

Can't wait to go back!

, Harrow, ON
2019-02-16
This is Cuba. We went to have a relaxing time and the price was right for us at this moment in time. We will be back. The bus ride isn't the greatest. We also had problems trying to get home, pilot couldn't fly. We loved the "family" feel of the staff and repeat vacationers.

We stayed in a Cabana and loved it. The only bad part for us, the people in the upper unit started making noise by 7am. Sometimes the bugs were a surprise, but nothing horrible. We will bring more snacks with us next time and pepper. But we will bring items we are use to having at home to make it a little better. Only slept in our rooms....tv wasn't a big deal to us. We aren't on vacation to watch tv!!

Bottom line, if you want 5 star with great food and everything else they have, go to a 5 star. Being at the Marea, you get to see the real Cuba. Where people struggle. If you are not humbled after this experience, you never will be.

We had a great dinner at Danny's. Highly recommend! The food was great and cheap! The only thing was, we ordered 3 cabs to take us and only 1 showed up. Next time we will take a horse and buggy for sure!!

Can't wait to go back next time and explore.

Bottom line, it's Cuba!! Go and enjoy the sun, sand and water. Recharge your soul!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Loved the beach, great staff. Had fun with new friends. Older crowd
The weak points
Food wasn't great

Still beautiful after 5 visits

, Candiac, QC
2019-01-18
Stayed at the Farralon (the superior room) and the views are simply amazing, hotel staff , maids, waiters , waitresses , barmaids all happy with a smile. will be back again [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
scenery is amazing, safe , beautiful area for hiking or walking, locals and hotel safe are very cheerful
The weak points
none , a few power failures but that is anywhere in Cuba
Certified

Friendly area

, Laval, QC
2019-01-04
This place is beautiful.The staff as well as people off resort are exceedingly friendly.Food was not bad at all and sometimes great.Late night dancing in the sand at the beach bar was so much fun.Beach is varied but very long and nice for long walks.Rooms were clean and the maid's even cleaned after we slept in one day and refused service in the morning.Felt lucky to be there and taking a horse and buggy to the waterfall to swim in the off resort mountains was an added bonus.I recommend this hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Mountain scenery,waterfalls,friendly people
The weak points
Bumpy roads for the 2 hour transfer,seaweed on the beach,snack bar running out of food.
Certified

Don't go there for diving

, Lasalle, QC
2018-12-29
We went to Marea del Portillo to dive taking care to be confirmed by the airline and an employee of the hotel, before buying the package, that the dive center was operational. The answer was, "everything will be ready the day of your arrival blah blah blah ..." We also had the opportunity to pay in advance for a 10 dive package but we did not take the chance even though we usually dive twice a day, every day. You never know what the weather holds. When we arrived, we had a surprise, the manager seems to find all the possible reasons not to go to sea. Weather conditions being good he had to find something else. First day, none of the two compressors worked but seeing our discouragement he told us, "come back tomorrow I will try to arrange something". The second day, nothing to do, so I offer to pay myself a taxi that will fill a few bottles elsewhere, the answer, "come back tomorrow with your equipment, I'll arrange something". On the third day, "we have no fuel for the boat". We return with our equipment that we lug around for nothing. On the fourth day we did not take any chances, we went on a jeep trip thinking that our diving holidays, without puns, were in the water. Upon our return, a tourist in the same situation as we told us, "I insisted so much that I managed to do ONE dive this morning and if I'm not alone tomorrow, I could" maybe "do it. another". So I go back with him on the sixth day, my girlfriend, discouraged, does not want to have to re-lug and dry her equipment to dive "maybe" once. We try to do two dives but "the sea is OK for one but the wind will rise and it will be too difficult to make a second one". By cons we will make a small detour to make a commission. Indeed the sea was a little agitated, but not enough to prevent us from going to bring food to one of his friends on an island. Half an hour to go, one hour to return, and half an hour to wait while they drink Cuba-libre with their amigos. Four hours lost in my last day of vacation for a forty minute dive on a very ordinary site. In short, there are very beautiful places for diving in Cuba, we were there 18 times, Cuban divers are very kind, professional, and have more and more adequate equipment if you do not have yours. But for a beautiful dive trip, stay away from Marea del Portillo. ;-) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Save your money dont go !! scam

, Etobicoke, ON
2018-06-10
went to this place thought not bad for price after watching video ,let me tell you half the resort was closed there was 1 pool in the resort size of the one i have in my backyard they use pictures make pool look big its not!! no swim up bar beach is BLACK and dirty cant walk on it either full of rocks (maybe why no pictures of beach ) nothing i mean NOTHING for kids to do there oh yes and tons of protitution that happens in this resort old men and women go there for hook ups !! let me tell you i have never seen such a thing in my life !! its a 2 hour drive from the airport it seriously has zero things to do no beach pool is small and doesnt work no jets run its all dirty i cant believe this place is open , I cant believe people dont right the truth on these reviews to warn others !! food was ok same every day but ok !! the place was full of crabs and yes i mean crabs in rooms and everywhere you go apparently was due to the rain season i dont know i dont care hotel full of cats and dogs running around this place should be shut down or fixed up !! they throw all the garbage at the end of the resort onto the beach i cant believe it !!! no wonder found alot of plastic cups floating in water beach has no one on it clealry its dirty !! Some staff was super nice but the actual resort was a shame !! i asked where was the resort i seen in video they said shut down from April to November so this trip was a scam i booked in one place got another !! Its better to pay a bit more and go where its clean and something to do ! WIFI not free its come out to like 1 dollar and hour but doesnt work through out resort only designated areas !! SMH never again clearly [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Faralon

, Mississauga, HA
2018-04-01
Beautifully located with great view from any wing/ site/room. Very good size, spacious closets in rooms. Well kept, very nice service staff, cleaning done very well. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Wont be back

, Toronto, ON
2018-03-18
This was our 30 something trips to Cuba. We visited Marea Del Portillo some years ago and thought we would give it a re-try. The 2 hr bus ride, over the worst roads we have ever experienced in Cuba, wrecked the first day. The room was typical low end Cuba. (No hot water, hair dryer didn't work, no iron, no fridge, torn drapes, etc.) Later we were given a fridge, loaned an iron for 1 day and the hair dryer was replaced. Nothing proactive in Cuba and their reactive leaves much to be desired. A lot of older people re visit the Morea Del Portillo some for extended stays and sort of give it a geriatric feel. The food is typical Cuba which we don't understand. Why cant the meat be soft instead of the texture of the bottom of ones shoe. We won't go back to Manzanillo. The bus ride alone and the travel times is enough to turn us off. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The warm weather
The weak points
Food and lack of maintainance.
Certified

Disappointed

, Lasalle, QC
2018-02-27
Club Amigo Marea del Portillo in Manzanillo Cuba from Feb.7 to Feb.21, 2018 We stayed at this hotel and decided to separate our comments in Positive and Negative segments Positive: - Staff is constantly working hard cleaning the premises. - Water at the beach was nice and warm with small waves. - You are allowed to eat at three different sister hotels. - Beautiful weather throughout our two weeks in February. - Delicious hamburgers and fries at the pool coffee bar. - Food at the a la carte restaurants was quite good. - Price for the trip is quite good. Negative: - There is no management nor administration visible on the property. - There is no suggestion box for comments. - Good luck trying to get bottled or mineral water anywhere - Poor TV reception. One must call a technician to help who in turn expects a tip. -If you like to walk on the roads make sure to bring your running shoes when you leave the hotel as their roads are like craters on the moon! This is also the reason it takes 2 hours from airport to hotel (and not 90 minutes as advertised by Sunwing) because of the poor condition of the roads. - There are no DO NOT DISTURB signs to place on your door-knob. When we asked for one, they went looking for it and we did get it, but other people that asked were told that they would have to go to Havana to get these signs. Apparently, there was only 1 sign throughout the whole hotel. So, we need to ask, is this some sort of game they play so they get to clean your room each day to get tips? Hint, make and bring your own sign to place on the door. - Lots of burnt out light bulbs in hotel, city lights to sister hotels are off at night so walk at your own risk with flashlights. But, they do make sure that there are horse and buggies to take you back and forth to the sister hotel always for a price. The hotel also offers a golf cart to take you to the sister hotel but the battery always runs out of charge which means you get off and walk the rest of the way and no golf cart available for the rest of the night. So, why are these lights NOT working at night? - Toilet paper and soap usually missing in public washrooms. - Miniscule balcony with barely enough room for two chairs facing each other. - Prostitutes around hotel outdoors, some tourists hooking up with Cubans at the hotel for a temporary good time. - Lifeguards (3) not doing their jobs, under trees talking all day long. Swim at your own risk. - The security guards at night also under trees talking as opposed to walking around the premises. - This hotel has the smallest washroom and shower we have ever experienced. - We travelled with a group of 25, but beware because people will form clicks and shun you away even though they do not know you. - There are very few beach huts ( 10 ) and all reserved by 6:30 am with towels or rocks on the chairs or tied together with ribbons and branches. - You always have to run after your chambermaid before 4:00 pm if you want to change your beach towels. Although our chambermaid cleaned our room, we still had to run after her regularly to get shampoo, soap and toilet paper. We always tip and make sure to leave gifts and yet we had poor service. - We are by far NOT picky eaters and have travelled to Cuba many times in different areas but the food was too repetitive during our two weeks. This was the most common complaint heard from everyone including repeat clients. Hope you like soup and steamed rice. - There was no pizza nor tomato sauce on any pasta. The pool bar had a sign for pizza, but this is false since there was none available during our entire stay. - The staff does not seem to be happy even though we give them good tips, clothing, pens, toothbrushes etc. This was quite strange. - Good luck trying to get a bicycle to ride around because you can not get a straight answer from the front desk nor an employee as to how to get a bike. - The young girls at the front desk give very poor service because they are too busy on internet with their cellphones. - This hotel is mainly for clients who are 75 years and older. They do not bother anyone but it is good to know the age bracket before booking so sharpen your BINGO skills and pool exercises. - Beware of strong winds and rough waves at times since lifeguards are rarely visible. - There are no water sports whatsoever at this hotel. Do not go looking for peddle-boats, kayaks or anything else, you will not find it. - We took our excursion to Cayo Blanco on Tuesday, February 20, 2018 and paid (45 CUCs each) has nice white sand but full of rocks and shells at the bottom of the ocean. Don't expect to eat lobster as your Sunwing representative will tell you when you book. Once there, we were told by Dany they only had four lobster tails left and they would serve us lobster if we agreed to secretly eat our lobster at our beach chairs so no one would see us and want lobster. He also told us that at the hotel "returning customer dinner" that same night they also ran out of lobster. For us this was not an issue as we told Dany because this was included in our package. We told him we paid the 45 CUCs extra for the excursion including our lobster lunch. This smells like a scam and we do not think that Sunwing is aware of this situation. There were about 40 people who took this excursion and they were not very happy that they paid 45 CUCs and didn't get lobster. We had paid for lobster so there should be no reason why we needed to hide while eating our lobster, it was very unpleasant having to hide after we paid. We were told that they ran out of lobsters and they never offered a small refund to anyone that took this excursion. The next day was our departure and went to look for Elena (Sunwing Rep) in our lobby to inform her of our experience but we were told she was at Airport duty. We were never able to inform her. - Not enough chairs at the pool, we always needed to get beach chairs and carry them to the pool. - Nightly entertainment is one hour and repetitive and NOT every night. Very ordinary. - We did not see any of these things that are advertised: All guests will enjoy the following Viva Cuba activities: • Learn about Cuban Rum (educational and tasting) • Mama Ines activities • Folkloric evening of typical food and dance • Spanish lessons • Weekly Cuban Fiesta on the beach with Barbeque • Mojito happy hour from 4 p.m. - 6 p.m. (learn to make your own cocktail) • Be your own chef program • Traditional dance lessons for adults and children • Local excursion to appreciate the surrounding area and heritage (you pay for this) • Scuba diving lessons in the pool . Cigar tasting Were we at the wrong hotel???? Would we return to this hotel? Definitely not. They need to update the dated buildings, work on weak entertainment, improve the quality of food, smile more and hope seniors keep returning to their hotel [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Getting tired

, Sherbrooke, QC
2017-04-21
Hotel is not aging very well. However the location is amazing and worth visiting at least once. Food selection and availability is an issue (worst I have seen in 20 trips to Cuba). You get what you pay for... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, view, weather, not crowded, price
The weak points
food/drink selection & availability. Very weak A/C. Lack of hot water most days. Staff (most seem totaly depleated)
Certified

Hôtel Marea del portillo Mazanillo Cuba

, Alfred, ON
2017-02-10
Did not like the food too far from airport on rough roads will not go back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean and staff are very kind and gentel
The weak points
Extremly far 2hours drive from aireport on rough roads food is not so good
Certified

Farallon

, Palgrave, ON
2017-01-22
We have been many times at this place and went to other places in between. It is always nice to come back here. It is simple, the water is warm and clean, the waves are not crazy, but enough to have fun in them. If you like to just relax, this is the place to be. The people working there are very nice. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the scenery and the warm water. Safe to travel to the nearby village and meet the locals.
Certified

Marea Del Portillo

, Trent Lakes, ON
2016-12-28
overall good, it is nice being near the beach. there is new tiles on the walkways and suites have been upgraded.however, some of the great tours are no longer available (ei the jeep tours) no one available to book the special restaurant, and music is very loud during meals. The 2 English channels on Tv had poor reception, at one time there was 4 english channels, with good shows [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
nice being right on the beach, which is cleaned each day. it was nice having good bacon and better choice of salads
The weak points
wasted 2 full days in transportation to and from hotel to airport. no jeep tours/limited tours/ needs new beach chairs/ TV, poor reception and insufficient English channels, majority of visitors were English or French/ no one available to book restaurant
Certified

Just Perfect

, Toronto, ON
2016-12-16
Well run hotel, spacious clean rooms, lovely staff, healthy and tasty food. There are activities during the day, good aqua fitness and enjoyable and sometimes excellent entertainment daily. The beach is well maintained, quite extensive with plenty of chaise lounges and shady areas to rest in. What I particularly like about this resort is the peacefulness and the option of getting away from any noise if you so choose. The music during the day is gentle and kept low so as not to unnecessarily disturb people ..a huge plus in my books. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Perfect weather, 2 resorts so some variety, PEACE, great beach, lovely staff, good food, plenty of chairs and chaise lounges everywhere.
The weak points
Isolation from nearby city and very little to see and do in nearby city..very poor roads...very little activities on the exterior and little choice for short exterior tours. Insufficient poolside services for food and snacks..
Certified

Basic but good!

, Toronto, ON
2016-12-14
We have now been to this resort 3 times. OK..it's not the smartest place on the block, but the location is amazing, the swimming off the beach is fantastc and the drinks are good.

Yes, I could make criticisms, but why? It's one of the cheapest resorts in the Carribean for Canadians to visit (look for deals!) and we have a good, relaxing time, every time. Go with an easy attitude and, hopefully, you'll enjoy it too!

PS Best suited to middle aged/older people...not many activities (apart from natural beauty) for kids. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great value, great location!
The weak points
The bus ride at night is tedious but worth it!

Not a big party but a lot of fun!!!

, Toronto, ON
2016-06-03
The people!! The workers are amazing, so kind and willing to help. I will go back just to visit the friends I met. Most of the workers don't expect any gifts or special treatment but when you give it they are extremely grateful.

The excursions are fantastic - make sure you upgrade to VIP it will be worth the money if you want to do more exploring. You will save money by getting vip and doing all the activities included but wait until you get there to purchase it because that way you will get a 30 minute massage included. The Cayo blanco trip is beautiful, it is a private island. VIPs have the two days to go if you want to!
There was no disco or anything but after the shows the dancers would come out and dance with us for a while which was lovely.

The rooms are what I expected, clean but very simple. Now the Toilets.. make sure you flush before you sit down. It may have just been our room but there were bugs living in our toilet some how. It was gross at first but we coped just fine by flushing to make sure there were none before we sat down.

Day time activities were a bit of a let down, they hardly announced when they were happening so they rarely happened. But when they did it was awesome. The evening shows were great, the dancers were wonderful! The band was awesome too. The saxophone /flutist was unreal.

On Saturday night some of us went to Pilon, many people left early but we explored a bit more and because we knew people from the hotel would be there we met up with them and went dancing. Just try to ignore people asking for things and being stared at. It was an awesome evening.

If you wanna sit by the pool or on the beach and do nothing this is the place for you, if you wanna do more get the VIP or go somewhere else. For my first time in Cuba I'm glad I went to such a lovely little spot.

The drive from Manzanillo airport to the resort is bad if you get motion sickness so take Gravol! Bring a travel mug for drinks because you only get little cups which you need to constantly be refilling .. And bring toilet paper with you if you go off the resort. Some times is easier to pee in the bushes than to find a toilet with a seat on it in the small towns.

We made great friends while we were there and there are a lot of regulars that go back all the time which gives a great impression I think!

I think you have to be a certain kind of person to enjoy it there but food is fine. I didn't get sick. The options were limited and the snack bar was a bust. BUT what I did eat I didn't mind and I didn't get sick.

Also I was there in the off season so it was slower. Usually the two Club Amigo hotels are opened so you can go back and forth for more things to do, but it is being matienced right now.

Keep an open mind and you will enjoy yourself. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

It get's better!

, Toronto, ON
2016-04-02
Stayed here last year..a bit shabby, but the food this year was much better; the location is great if you like a quiet resort and the roaming pigs, goats and horses on the beach and grounds are a delight! People love this place and come back year after year! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Quiet location with magnificent setting..great mountain views and great swimming off a clean beach.Staff are pretty friendly.
The weak points
It all needs a lick of paint! TERRIBLE, PAINFULLY SLOW CHECK IN..they must improve it! Snack bar needs more efficient staff/equipment.

Manzanillor de Cuba

, Severn Bridge, ON
2016-03-14
I was a little hesitant to poste something as I always get annoyed when people make negative comments about Cuba as I tell myself "my goodness it's Cuba you shouldn't have high expectations." This year I am going to poste something as this is our 4th trip to this resort, and I'm really disappointed with the changes. In past years we always had access to white wine this year there was none to be had. We could purchase it at the store but the hotel had none. I did end up buying it at the store as my wife enjoys a glass of wine with dinner. The part that upset me the most is at first the cost was 5.20 a bottle, ok I can manage but then because everyone was buying the cost went up to 7.80 (you factor in the exchange that gets a little pricy) We were there for 2 weeks. They always serve Buchanaro draft beer at the bars and last year from time to time you could get Crystal beer, not this year, you had to pay 1.00 peso to get a can of beer. This really got to me considering we paid for an all inclusive holiday yet we were buying our beer and wine. I did from time to time drink the draft beer from the bar but it had often gone flat and tasted awful. Another sad part about this is the bartenders weren't getting as many tips and we all know they can use the extra money. The exchange when we were there ranged from .70 to .72 cents on the dollar. It made for an expensive holiday. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff are great and will go out of their way to accommodate us.
The weak points
Aside from having to buy our beer and wine that "loud" speaker by the pool. Everyday at 3 pm they would call bingo and use the speaker system and blast the whole place. It really wasn't necessary.
Certified

Wonderful

, Lucan, ON
2016-01-30
We stayed in a Cabana and loved it. The hotel and grounds were clean and the staff is wonderful. The location is breathtaking with the mountains meeting the ocean. We enjoyed the goats pigs and horses roaming freely. The beach was great and we didn't use the pool but it looked clean. We would return to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Using the facilities at both the Marea and Farlon was great, with golf carts running continually between the two. The location of the hotel is amazing.
The weak points
The food was okay but lacked variety.
Certified

Not up to par

, Orillia, ON
2016-01-02
The cabanas really should be advertised as a separate resort. Hotel food and amenities much better. Bathrooms were disgusting everywhere. Food was very repetitive with very few vegetables. Activities didn't happen very often. Lots of locals asking for food, money, etc. Beach was good and weather was awesome. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and exposure to local culture
The weak points
Food was very repetitive and boring. Very few vegetables.
Certified

Second home. Marea del Portillo

, Windsor, ON
2015-11-27
I have been to this resort many times for over twenty years. I consider this place as my little piece of heaven [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The scenery and staff
The weak points
The price of the single supplement
Certified

Cuba Experiance

, Scarborough, ON
2015-11-07
Overall the hotel was clean and staff were frienly and helpful. The surrounding area was very beautiful and relaxing atmosphere. There were some challenges in resolving a major pluming issue in our room that took several hours before we were moved to another room. There was a few days on the resort where we were unable to exchange cash resulting in a limitation to enjoy some of the activities that were available in the area. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff were friendy and helpful, some of the food options were very tatsy. The resort was good for relaxation. The surrounding country side was very beautiful.
The weak points
There was a major issue with the plumbing in the bathroom of our first hotel room and much confustion to finally resolve the situation by moving rooms. There were 2 1/2 days where we were unable to exchange cash at the resort
Certified

I want to be there now!

, Toronto, ON
2015-11-05
I can not think of anything to complain about. This place is picture perfect. Some people complain about the ride there and it is long but if you do it in the day it is so beautiful. Also the food is so yummy. There is no steak but all the fruit and the meat and cheese it just tastes and feels so healthy. Organic and free range how it should be. You feel better after a week of the food. The people are so amazing, Elena th sunwing rep I love her! ChiChi the horse tour guide is so much fun and so careful to make sure everyone is safe and happy. The other guests were so friendly and genuinely happy. This is a place to come if you want to feel energized and refreshed. It is paradise. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The amazing warm ocean water and the morning omelettes and the espresso at the pool! <3
The weak points
Leaving :(

3 stars to much,

, Mississauga, ON
2015-09-25
only 2 stars, baoring for singels [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
peple drinking beer at the pool, i dont like tis
The weak points
not for me
Certified

A breath of fresh air

, Hamilton, ON
2015-05-29
the hotel front desk always looks after you friendly atmasphere [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
quet peaceful area,affordable deep sea fishing, coconut water in our fridge.
The weak points
long way from airport,broken roads near hotel
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Manzanillo de Cuba's best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Beaches Couples Singles Food & Restaurants Families Seniors

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021