Hotel Holguin

Hotel Holguin
3.423.423.423.423.42
3.42 based on 679 reviews
#9 of 13 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Holguin
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (185)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 1234567

Too much bugs and not good for the swimming goer

, Niagara Falls, ON
2020-02-21
The resort's staffs are very friendly and greatly. The room is clean and AC and hot water are perfect. But there are a lots of tiny bugs and bite you and cause itchy. My arms and legs are bitten allover. It was nightmare. The beach is ok. But the sea is very shallow and not for swimming. The room electric voltage is low. My cellphone is difficult to charge unless sometimes in the morning and shutdown your room AC then can charge it. WIFI is very bad. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Memories ❤

, Halifax, NS
2020-01-28
Amazing service! The staff here is simply the best. Genuine, kind and caring people. We will be coming back for many years! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff was amazing. They made the extra effort to get to know you and were all extremely caring and professional.
The weak points
The stairs! If you have mobility issues this may be a concern as there are about 90 steps to get down to the beach. There are paved switchbacks for wheelchair use though.
Certified

Holguin memories

, Ottawa, ON
2020-01-21
Hotel was clean 5 stars;
Staff was amazing 5 stars;
Food was bland and boring 2 stars;
Entertainment was boring 2 stars;
Beach was clean 5 stars;
Drinks were ok 3 stars. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and staff.
The weak points
Food and entertainment
Certified

First time to Cuba

, Belleville, ON
2020-01-05
When we arrived we were greeted with refreshing beverages, our check in was very quick & easy. The lobby was clean and very grand. The washrooms were stocked and clean. Throughout the day other public washrooms sometimes ran out of toilet paper so I suggest carry some in your beach bag. The beach was lovely and not crowded lots of chairs available, there was a lot of seagrass and walking in the water was a little rocky I'd suggest water shoes if you're a big water person. The pools were crystal clear and refreshing after a day at the beach. Lots of chairs available and the bars were not too far.
We only ate at the buffet and the food was mediocre, there was fruit and vegetables but not a wide variety. Take your favourite salad dressing with you and snacks for the day. We took cans of peanuts and other dry snacks as there aren't many choices at the 24 hour snack bar. Our room was older, tv not great & coffee maker very slow, but it was clean and the housekeeping did an excellent job.
The staff was incredible everyone was friendly and helpful including maintenance people and housekeepers.Bartenders were A1
I'd recommend this place for couples and we met a lot of singles too! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff was amazing & friendly Grounds were gorgeous Variety of drinks was good Small excursions close to the hotel New Year's Eve was fantastic!
The weak points
The menu in the buffet didn't vary much day to day Lots of stairs Fridges in room only stocked with water no beer, something we missed when booking.
Certified

Relaxing Week--Great Staff

, Toronto, ON
2019-12-23
We were at hotel early Dec 2019 , resort was very quiet , maybe 15-20 % capacity , weather was nice but not extreme heat , ocean was nice temp but wavy most days . We paid for Diamond Club upgrade, we felt it was worth the extra, separate check in and concierge, Lazaro looked after us,room close to pool, extra a-la-carte nights, special dinner, Club beach area and bar , upgraded alcohol at lobby and snack bar. Rooms are fairly modern, bathrooms outdated but well kept, maid staff were very efficient and trustworthy. Drinks/beer were normal Cuba , gets a little boring after week, bartender /wait staff are all professional, staff at 24hr snack bar were excellent , lobby bar staff were very nice to talk to, Richard knows his stuff , shows were low key but entertaining most nights, staff during day had options for participation if you felt like it but didn't bother you much, buffet staff were very nice, omelet ladies made to order, food selection was limited some days, a-la-cartes were a better food option, they were well done, waiter staff very courteous , Dayami , Kareniey and others make the experience top notch. We didn't really use the pools as we are beach people, pools looked nice and clean , beach sand is clean, ocean is a bit weedy , lots of shade if you want it , Jose-Louis looked after us at the Diamond Club beach bar . Resort is well worth what we paid, staff throughout the resort made it a very pleasant vacation...... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Resort is well looked after , staff is fantastic , beach was nice .....
The weak points
Food supplies were varied each day, always ok though. Hot water sometimes takes a while to get to your room , sometimes not very hot, other times unlimited ....Quite a few stairs but we found it was good exercise.
Certified

Review

, Pincourt, QC
2019-09-29
We liked the hotel, liked the location, landscape, room. Very good service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location, landscape, room, service
The weak points
We had to rest at this hotel for 14 days. But we were transferred to another hotel after seven days without asking for our opinion. As a result, the rest turned out to be worse than planned.
Certified

Love Cuba!

, Toronto, ON
2019-07-25
Family of 3 traveling to Cuba for 7 days. Both my husband and I have been to Cuba 2x before this time and when we found this resort online and for the price we couldn't pass up the chance to do our son Cuba for the first time.
As a couple we travel 2x a year to various all inclusive resorts as well as privately owned spots, so we know what to expect and aren't picky travellers. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach: loved it! It was clean well staffed. The
The weak points
Pools: ongoing issue..limited chlorine treatments = GREEN pools with algae blooms on a regular basis. The water will appear cloudy the day before is turns green and it will make you sick (our son can attest to that). Food: it's not good.
Certified

Overall- good. We enjoyed our week.

, Sherwood Park , AB
2019-07-12
Memories had some good things and a few that could be improved. I traveled with my two daughters ages 13 and 15. This was not our first time to Cuba so we weren't expecting fabulous food or selection. With that being said, the buffet was very repetitive. There were always omelette and crepe stations in the morning and meat, fish, and pasta stations in the afternoon and at dinner. The service was mediocre in the buffet and much better at the al a carte. Be aware there are many roaming cats that come out at night and seem to be everywhere. They didn't bother us but it was odd. The entertainment crew was lovely and tried to engage the crowds and were very cheerful. The evening entertainment was so-so but they did try. Our room was very clean and comfortable. We had hot water and always got a new bottle of water and the air conditioner worked fine. We always got fresh daily beach towels. The grounds are really lush and we adored the beach. It was not too busy and the water was crystal, clear and the sand was white fine sand. We spent most of our time at the beach not the pools. We knew there would be lots of stairs so that didn't bother us but it's built on a hill and it's not great for people with strollers or mobility issues. It is extremely hot in July and the ocean was so warm and provided a lovely breeze.
If you expect fancy you will be disappointed but if you aren't, you will be quite happy with Memories Holguin. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach with trees for shade, catamaran rides, use of paddle boats and kayaks, and grounds. The coffee was really good. The beach bar and snack shack was very handy.
The weak points
Buffet selection- they ran out of cola and ice cream and ketchup wasn't anywhere to be found. Was this a Memories issue or just Cuba in general? We had all of these things at other Cuban resorts. Some maintenance issues- broken tiles
Certified

OUR FIRST EXPERIENCE AT MEMORIES HOLGUIN

, Montréal, QC
2019-05-28
THE HOTEL WAS AMAZING. VERY CLEAN, PEOPLE WERE POLITE AND HELPFUL. GREAT EXPERIENCE. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
LOCATION, CLEANLINESS, BEAUTIFUL VIEW, WELL MAINTAINED POOLS AND BEACH, FELT VERY WELL TAKEN CARE OFF. STAFF WERE EXTREMELY HELPFUL AND FRIENDLY.
The weak points
NO TV RECEPTION IN THE ROOM. REQUESTED NUMEROUS TIMES TO FIX, AND THEY NEVER DID. WE WERE NOT READY TO GET BITTEN BY MOSQUITOES.
Certified

Memories Holguin

, Scotsburn, NS
2019-04-30
Overall nice resort. Check in was easy; staff very nice! Lots of stairways to the beach; but, can find pathways to rooms and beach that are easier. Food was good and lots of it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Rooms were nice and clean. Beach was nice. Loved the trees on the beach. Some seaweed in the water; but lots of sandy areas. Enjoyed the Cuban entertainment and pork roast on the beach.
The weak points
For some people the stairs would be a concern. Distance from main dining area to rooms would be difficult for some people. Would have preferred perked coffee rather than machine coffee. There never seemed to be cups at the machine to help yourself.
Certified

March 23rd to April 6th 2019

, Geraldton, ON
2019-04-08
Very beautiful grounds and the staff are more than eager to serve you! I can't mention all the names cause there are to many to mention...The workers that take care of all the pools do an amazing job making sure they are kept clean, A BIG THUMBS UP!
If you have a hard time walking this is not the place for you, there are way to many sets of stairs to go up and down every day.The food is okay, there is a large variety available, but almost the same everyday.
One of our biggest issues is there are not enough washrooms for the size of this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Awful time

, Bala, ON
2019-03-29
The service was bad, the worst ever experience, workers were rude and the front office was even worse. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

FANTASTIC WEEK!

, Renfrew, ON
2019-03-27
This hotel was clean, the staff was amazing, it was an open-air experience. The beach was white sand and beautiful and the choice of pools meant a change of scenery everyday. Compared to other hotels in Cuba, the food was good. I never went hungry and the Romantic Restaurant (a la carte) was to die for! Overall, I couldn't be more happy and would go back there in an instant. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- the pools - the privacy of the rooms - Romantic restaurant - Catamaran Excursion
The weak points
None!
Certified

Not good resort.

, Ajax, ON
2019-03-22
Too many stairs, not good for seniors. Up to pools aND to dinning area and villas.
Swimming is not good, coral reef only 25 yards out hard on feet too shallow to swim.
Bug eat us alive, fogged at night.
Place looks old and tried, food the same everyday. At beach bar when ran out of food that was it, pig roast ran out.

Missed our returned dinner and bottle of rum, wouldn't give us the rum when asked for it.

No bandages when had a cut, wi fi had to paid for it and overcrowded could not get on in lobby. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
This is not a 4 star place.
Certified

Hodgkin Memories Beach Resort

, Montréal, QC
2019-03-10
I would return again if I have the possiblity. I I have only good feelings about my time at the resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great vac. Pretty resort large and well landscape. Beautiful ocean front. Large clean rooms with friendly maids. Great food ,friendly staff in dining rooms.
The weak points
Need more staff at main desk to register large groups coming in. More staff at Sun Wing counter. More lights on walking paths
Certified

Memories Holguin Holiday

, Toronto, ON
2019-03-08
Our overall experience was great. The staff were very friendly and helpful. A variety of choices of restaurants/food. A choice of pools (bar, kids etc) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Our room was cleaned daily. The resort and pools were very clean. A variety of food at all restaurants. If diamond club, you are close to everything (food, pool, beach)
The weak points
Too many stairs from our room to all restaurants and pools. Accessiblity for strollers and mobility issues would not be a good choice. If not diamond club, you have a long walk to the pool/food from your room.
Certified

Mixed feeling

, Hawkesbury, ON
2019-03-02
we give this resort a [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
pools, breakfast, large rooms and friendly waitress at breakfast, great scenery and grounds very well kept xo
The weak points
WEEDS GALOUR at the beach

Great people at your service......most of the time

, Belleville, ON
2019-03-02
Return guests not very happy with some items at resort. Light bulbs seem to be in short supply as many of the pathway lights and room lights were not present or blown. Two nights all of our hacienda lights were off. Shower light in both of our rooms did not work. Had to switch rooms after 2 nights since our safe cd not be fixed. Very dark walkways...bring flashlight ! Guys on golf carts all in a big hurry day and night it seems. Best to step out of their way ! Some front desk people need to be taught about being happy looking when u approach them. They r front line workers who get your vacay started !! Smile [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean room, decent beach , good entertainment, service staff all work hard for you. Lots of pool space. Bartenders are awsome as well as dining room servers.
The weak points
Lighting , many rooms need upgrades as our bed was more like a box spring than a mattress. Our friends had same package but much softer beds. Front desk staff need hospitality refreshers....a smile really does go a long way in my books.
Certified

Honest review

, Halifax, NS
2019-02-26
The rooms are outdated and beds are not comfortable. Air conditioner worked fine, but often the fridge was empty and we had to call for water as they did not willingly give it. We are a family of 4 and we would receive only one bottle. For the price, it's well worth it but I have had far better experiences at other resorts where people were friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-Multiple pools so we were able to get away from the party people and be with the families -small market that changed daily on the resort -Ample seating at beach and pools -drinks were great
The weak points
- limited food options -unfriendly staff -broken pool tiles And hat caused lacerations in my son as well as other guests of the resort -limited entertainment
Certified

Memories Holguin Review

, Toronto, ON
2019-02-15
We had an awesome week. The hotel is clean, the staff are friendly and the food was delicious. I just wish the secret paths were cemented or flat. Not easy for strollers or elderly people with canes or wheelchairs. A very big resort, lots of walking. The beach was beautiful and pretty big, but had a lot of seaweed/algae in the water that week. Overall, I'd come again but with no babies/strollers. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Hotel and resort was always clean, the people were friendly and sweet. The room was always stocked with water and always had clean towels. Food was great. Very big resort. Beach and pools were beautiful.
The weak points
Not advised for older people with canes or wheelchairs. Not a stroller friendly resort. I carried the stroller up and down stairs and up and down paths all day long due to branches and rocks sticking out in secret path. No tub in my room to wash the baby.
Certified

Amazing relaxing week away

, Wakefield, QC
2019-02-15
This was our first time at this hotel. It was a great week away. we enjoyed many aspects of the hotel however the beach sand is wonderful but you need water shoes to manoeuvre the ocean floor as there are lots of plants. But breathtaking views of the surrounding areas lush plant life. Hotel was clean, servers were polite. We did Diamond Club for the first time and really felt like we got our moneys worth. The service from the two who took care of our needs was top notch! Nice having access to more alcoholic drinks as well. We had issues with hot water one day but was fixed in a very short period of time. Pools were well maintained and plenty of chairs around. If you have a hard time with stairs this may not be the resort for you. There are lots of stairs as well as pathways but you have to go around then. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
clean, well staffed hotel, great location on the beach, great polite servers.
The weak points
ocean water has lots of seaweed but with water shoes it would be manageable. There are lots of stairs as well.
Certified

Wonderful!

, Saint Lazare, QC
2019-01-31
This hotel surpasses many in Cuba. This was our 30th time to Cuba and Memories Holguin is our new favorite. The staff are wonderful and warm.. the rooms are kept beautifully clean and the food was delicious! Don't listen to the bad reviews out there.. if you appreciate Cuba for what it is and not what it doesn't have.. you won't be disappointed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everything!
Certified

Nice Resort

, Porters Lake, NS
2019-01-29
My wife and I did enjoy the resort and the weather.Our room was spacious and clean. The air conditioning worked well. The front lobby was clean and the entertainment there was very good. I would work on the main entertainment. Very loud and repetitive. The three specialty restaurants were ok but the main buffet was rather repetitive and at times no bread or bacon.But the big item would be the beach. More care with grooming. We always enjoy Cuba and would go back to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great price, wonderful staff, clean pools
The weak points
Cleaner beach, bread everyday,
Certified

Nice winter break

, Toronto, ON
2019-01-27
Had a good stay. Food was good for Cuba and staff was great. Few things a little dated or run down a bit but nothing that would effect your stay. For the price it was great. If you have mobility issues or need 5 star go else where. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
pools food and staff
The weak points
For some steps an issue but I enjoyed exercise
Certified

Beautiful Resort but has it's problems

, Toronto, ON
2019-01-21
Upon first arrival the resort was gorgeous. The landscaping was very pretty, the views of the ocean were beautiful, there are many pools so the kids were excited. Flowers, trees and bushes all very well maintained. The lobby was very nice and overall the resort is stunning.

Once we were given our room the issues started. The room was very old, had holes in the walls and many places were dirty and decaying. The front door was missing the top hinge so it was slanted and impossible to open/close. The balcony door was no better. We asked to change rooms and were accommodated. The second room was slightly better however the toilet didn't work and there was no hot water, there wasn't even warm water only cold.

After advising the staff I learned there was a water problem through out the resort but it was being worked on. The water tank wasn't filling with enough water so toilets weren't working and there would be no water for a few hours.

He offered to move us again, to a room that had water and wasn't affected. . Again, very outdated room and the tv didn't work but at least there was hot water and the toilet worked. But not for long.

The water problem went on all week intermittently and in total we were able to take 2 warm showers. It was also a hit and miss with the toilets working and some of the public washrooms around the resort got really bad.

Also, when there was no water there was no coffee or cappucino which otherwise were delicious. That was a bummer since I love the coffee in Cuba.

The rooms were cleaned daily and they did a good job. In general the staff was accommodating and tried really hard.

The resort is quite large and the walkways were very dark so it was quite unpleasant to walk after dark. The carts didn't come that often so we would wait for others to walk and then go with them. A resort this size should have much better lighting outside after dark.

The food was quite good especially for Cuba. We always found something to eat and enjoyed it quite a lot.

The evening entertainment was ok, nothing to write home about. There was entertainment in the lobby each night with either piano or cuban band playing live music.

The beach was very nice but a lot of seaweed at the shore.

If it wasn't for the water issues we would return to this resort. The staff were friendly, the pools are fantastic and even though the rooms were old they were kept clean. We had a great time in the end because of the weather but the water thing was frustrating. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful looking resort, friendly staff, great pools, decent food
The weak points
Outdated rooms, no water or working toilets, dark walkways
Certified

Vacation with kids

, Toronto, ON
2019-01-18
Great resort for the price I have payed. Not a 4 stars but more 3 stars resort but I am not complaining. The food was ok, kids were eating burgers anyway :))) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Weather, beach, location
The weak points
service, food
Certified

Family Vacation Nov 30th to Dec 7th 2018

, Toronto, ON
2018-12-11
When we first checked in to our room we were a little disappointed. Our bathroom was dirty (Feces on toilet and wall). The patio door did not lock properly and the lights entering the room did not work. When they told us they could not switch our room - we settled with them coming to fix the issues. Within a couple hours all was fixed. (Although the patio door never properly locked all week - and I think that affected the air conditioner) But we were happy with how quickly they tried to make things better.
We noticed our 2nd day there, EVERY one of the staff members seemed to be in a bad mood. There seemed to be a lot of suited men walking through the resort and talking to staff members. We figured it was some sort of management checking in... but we definitely did not get the warm fuzzy feeling from the staff that so many other reviews talked about. (I had read about how friendly the staff at this resort were...and we were not seeing that). However, the next day or so things started to change. Almost all the staff were super friendly, and smiling and making small talk. We met so many wonderful people, both Staff and visitors. (There were a few sour people, but I guess not everyone has a bubbly personality...)
The resort has a lot of stairs, and is very large. This was OK for our active family (3 kids ages 11, 8 and 5) We did not gain any weight this trip - as we walked off all the extra calories!
The pool had a few missing tiles (on the bottom) my 8 year old son found that out by stubbing his toe... not serious... but, still could be an issue for someone. The food was nothing exciting. But, this is Cuba. You don't go to Cuba for the food. If you go with no expectations - you will not be disappointed. You will not starve. My kids ate cheese pizza and fries all week. (we brought our own ketchup and ranch sauce from home) no one starved! Food is hit and miss based on availability... so we had pineapple one day, and avocados one day... (would have loved to have that all week!) The Breakfasts were by far the best meals. Omelette's and fruit smoothies were amazing!
The beach has quite a bit of seaweed, but it didn't keep my kids out of the water. Entertainment was great! Daytime and evening. The shows were really good in the evening. A circus, Synchro water show etc.
Lobby drinks were really good! Hot chocolate was yummy, coffee is very strong. Orange juice is just powder mix in water (not bottled). Our family all drank water from the resort (Not tap water - do not even brush your teeth with the tap water!) But, my kids ate ice, drank juice and water with no issues. We did get Hep shots before we went, and took probiotics to help our guts cope.
Bring bug spray as the bugs bite once the sun starts to set. 2 out of 5 of us were covered in bites... the other 3 had just a couple bites each.
We were in room 109&110 (joining rooms). The beds were quite hard and not very comfy... but, my kids slept really well!
We did not do any of the paid excursions through the resort.. we did the free bat cave tour, and the catamaran ride. We hired a horse and buggy from the guys out front and did a few trips with them a couple days. They were very friendly and helpful. We also did a horse back riding tour with them, that my kids loved. (Short morning trips because we had younger kids). We went by bus to Guardalavaca Beach and market - that is a beautiful beach!
Bring gifts to tip workers. (clothes, hats, shoes/flip flops, toys for their children, hygiene products, razors, school supplies etc.)
All in all it was a very enjoyable vacation. We were able to relax by the pool and the beach as well as explore the local culture a bit, and meet some wonderful workers. I would probably go back in the future if we got another great deal again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Price, Pools, staff
The weak points
Hard beds, a little dated looking, somethings could use some maintenance,
Certified

Very nice resort but way too many stairs

, Hawkesbury, ON
2018-12-11
Staff were fantastic (with exception of lifeguards / security guys who were always looking for drinks and handouts and not paying attention to what was going on in pools). As mentioned in title the resort is definitely not wheelchair or stroller friendly. Also difficult for anyone with mobility issues. My wife stopped counting after 50 stairs. Hotel had very low capacity which meant the buffet and bars should not have had issues running out of supplies. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleaning, customer service, bartenders, and wait staff were great.
The weak points
Pool wasn't cleaned daily so every 2nd or 3rd day the water was green and unusable. Walkways to room were cracked and uneven making it dangerous. (My wife fell one day and hurt her foot). Food supply was often ran low and pool bar ran out of beer twice.
Certified

Overall, nice resort!

, Montréal, QC
2018-11-29
In comparison to Sol Rio de Luna y Mares & Cayo Guillermo that I visited years ago, Memories was so far the most spacious resort. As it was their low season, everyone had space to relax without feeling crowded.
The beach was large however I would say that about only 1/3 of it was dedicated to the tourists (with half of that portion reserved for Diamond club visitors who were scarce at that time) and 1/3 for watercrafts. The rest was used for algae deposits. I do not understand why there was so much space left unused.
Snack Bar on the beach offered a hot dog and/or a meat patty in a dry cold bun with salad tucked in. You also can go to the buffet restaurant for lunch or to another snack bar near the lobby where they had other meals like pizza however in both scenarios you would be leaving the beach while being obliged to wear some clothes.

The restaurants À la Carte were very good but in every restaurant they would miss something on the menu. I liked the Italian and Cuban restaurant the best. Buffet restaurant was excellent where everything was to my taste except fruits. I miss their hot chocolate/coffee machine ... great beverages!

I had a great maid and any room related service that I requested was fulfilled quickly (ex. fixing bathroom fixture/coffee machine/balcony door lock). The only thing I regret was choosing the room besides the pool because it is never quiet. It feels as if music plays from morning till evening.

I used their "golf" cart service a few times to move around and generally they come in 5-15 minutes depending on demand.
However, I liked walking to my destinations even if it meant climbing hundreds of stairs in a day while laughing every time I hear the entertainment lady yell "shake it, shake it" for like the 5th time. I would always discover something during my stroll, pet a cat (or a whole bunch of them) or simply take this time to soak the sunshine, knowing I will be back into the November gloom in no time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
spacious resort * multiple swimming pools * thumbs up for buffet restaurant * I've lost weight because of the distances I walked and the amount of steps I climbed in one day * internet 1 hr = 1 cuc, on any device you have that has wi-fi access
The weak points
Beach Snack Bar menu - À la Carte menu - entertainment team yelling into the microphone while you are trying to relax - front desk & reception = variable language skills - lobby bathroom needs to be renovated
Certified

Dissatisfied

, Mascouche, QC
2018-10-25
The overall experience was less than acceptable. The pools were extremely dirty. It took staff 4 full days to clean one pool and they have 4 pools in total. Which means the other 3 pools were GREEN and filthy. The beach was also very dirty. Staff did not take care of the beach area. The buffet was OK, staff was very nice and helpful. If it wasn't for them this trip would have been a disaster. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
No strong points besides the staff
The weak points
Everything else.
Certified
pages: 1234567

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021