Paradisus Rio De Oro And Spa

Paradisus Rio De Oro And Spa
4.374.374.374.374.37
4.37 based on 526 reviews
#2 of 15 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Holguin
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (288)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12345678

Manage Expectations

, Toronto, ON
2022-11-27
This was my first visit to the hotel. My friends had visited pre-COVID and recommended the location. It is an adults-only, well established resort. Predominantly comprised of middle aged/older guests - this is not a party resort, but a more sedate vibe.

The room was spacious and clean. Good variety of spaces, with ample seating and lounging areas. Some interesting outdoor spaces to explore.

The biggest challenge was due to food/drink shortages and this is where a guest needs to manage expectations. Buffet fare was the same each day, some items (like papaya and lettuce) made inconsistent appearances. For example, the salad buffet consisted of onions, white cabbage, carrots, beets and sometimes cucumbers. Don't expect broccoli, cauliflower, kale, mixed greens, or peppers. The fruit on offer was apple, star fruit, white grapefruit and pineapple. You won't find mixed berries, watermelon, mango or grapes. I don't believe this is unique to this resort in Cuba.

Vodka and rum were in large supply but there was no tequila, gin, club soda, diet pop or ginger ale.

If you have food/drink intolerances, dislikes or allergies, your options may be minimal.

The best places to eat were the beach restaurant and pool bar restaurant (food was made to order). The Cuban and International a la carte restaurants served the best quality wine.

You can tip in Canadian, USD or Cuban pesos. Note that only paper money is accepted (ie, no coins). Many staff have worked at the resort for years and get to know repeat guests. Overall, they are polite, and friendly. I never experienced any mediocre or rude behaviour - only smiles, and a willingness to serve within the limits that exist.

Overall, if you don't have high expectations in relation to the food and drink, if you enjoy beautiful beaches and a quiet space, you will happy at this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beautiful beaches, great pool area. Lots of loungers, well maintained resort. Pleasant staff.
The weak points
Food and drink shortages within the country mean minimal variety. I suggest bringing and using hand sanitizer consistently (that is, don't rely on the resort having it available everywhere).
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Beyond some hand sanitizers, I didn't see anything above and beyond standard cleaning.
Certified

Disappointing 39th Visit

, Etobicoke, ON
2022-11-14
This was our 39th visit to PRDO . We were able to deliver 3 suitcases of Humanitarian Medical Aid to a Paediatric Hospital and 2 nearby Consultorios from the group we volunteer with. We stayed in the Royal Service and certainly enjoyed the food, the service and the evening entertainment in the Royal Service. Our disappointment was with the Lobby Bar at the Main Resort where it was not possible to find a No Smoking Table in the evening due to the very few No Smoking tables being occupied by Smokers . This was brought to the attention of the Customer Service Department on Nov. 2 , the evening we arrived and again on Nov.3 when I complained to the Night Duty Manager. We were unable to enjoy the evening entertainment in the Main Lobby to celebrate our 49th Wedding Anniversary.
I am a Nurse who suffered from a Smoke Inhalation Injury while evacuating patients during a fire . There is currently no Safe area in the PRDO Main Lobby for Non Smokers or those with Respiratory Issues to enjoy the evening entertainment. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Excellent service in Royal Service, very good selection of food available.
The weak points
The lack of a Smoke Free area in the Main Lobby . Smoking is allowed in the Main Pool dispite posted signage that indicates that it is prohibited.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Hand sanitizer stations still available.

Price is great

, Toronto, ON
2022-10-09
The hotel was nice we found pool very dirty all restaurants were great but we did lose power in r room 2 and no water one day for about 6 hours that was not good [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The weak points
Pool dirty
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Was very safe
Certified

Covid Scam

, Burlington, ON
2022-05-12
The management of this resort took part in a Covid scam on my boyfriend. It cost us $2500.00 extra and he was never confirmed to be positive. This caused tremendous stress to me and I was crying for days. They never once checked up on my boyfriend. They even threatened me on several occasions. We were in the same room and I was negative. They blamed everything on the medical unit and would not even offer an apology. This was the worst vacation experience of my life. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The pool and support staff were excellent. They remembered us from our previous visit.
The weak points
Management participation in a scam Management not taking responsibility for any hardships we were put through Management refusing to let us leave unless we paid for a phone call I made to my boyfriend at the Covid scam resort. The price…. One Peso
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2022-05-13
Dear Joanne Neiser We are deeply sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience at our hotel, as we strive every day to make each stay unforgettable. At Paradisus Rio de Oro we respect the rights of all our clients and the most important thing is their safety, so I can confirm that your comment does not correspond to reality. In addition, we have reviewed your comments in detail, together with our team and those responsible for each department, and there is no record that you have approached any of our staff to raise your disagreement. We hope to have you back at the hotel and change your perception. Kind Regards Sales Department Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & SPA

Love this resort

, Barrie, ON
2022-04-27
The staff are truly incredible and go out of their way to deliver excellent service every time, so very friendly.Entertainment was missing the usual high spots but I guess with covid and some resorts closed for renovations it's difficult to arrange acts from Havana etc so that will change.Some food was not available or in short supply eg potatoes, breakfast sausages, Also coffee tea and snacks where not available in the rooms.
The resort is showing some signs of age but upgrades are taking place walk in showers for example.
Taking all that into consideration we had a wonderful time the staff make any holiday special.
Our only gripe was the smokers walking through the lobby, around the pool and taking seats at the front of the stage, and the cigarette buts just thrown down anywhere.This has not happened when we have been there before and is not acceptable the resort must go back to dedicated smoking areas for the comfort of everyone.
But that said we will return again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Wonderful staff fabulous setting
The weak points
Smoking everywhere!
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2022-05-10
Dear Annie1 Thank you for the great feedback of your recent holiday experience at our Paradisus Rio de Oro ; guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that, we are happy our hotel and staff were able to meet all your needs during your stay. We hope to see you soon Kind Regards Sales Department Paradisus Rio de Oro.Resort & SPA

Exceeded expectations!!!

, Hudson, QC
2022-04-07
a lovely all inclusive with good beach, average snorkelling, lovely pool area and good food options [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
custom made morning smoothies with some organic ingredients, room was super clean and quiet, staff very friendly and helpful
The weak points
food was delicious is general but became a bit redundant, no gluten free, toilet was not functioning for a few days but they gave us a bucket to flush with!
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2022-04-08
Dear vacationers Thank you for making us your holiday destination and taking time to leave your feedback on Monarc. We are happy that our hotel and staff were able to meet all of your needs during your stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel. Warm regards, Mirian Yisel García Sales Departments Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & SPA

Great People beautiful resort

, Woodbridge, ON
2022-03-25
This was our first trip during COVID. We noticed some obvious changes aimed at managing COVID restrictions. Despite that we were surprised by the excellent customer service [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Strict compliance with COVID 19 Protocol
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2022-03-30
Dear Poles Mansour Thank you for making us your holiday destination and taking time to leave your feedback on Monarc. We are happy that our hotel and staff were able to meet all of your needs during your stay. It is truly rewarding to hear you enjoyed our greatly located facilities and amenities. We also appreciate your opinion, thus, we will share your comments. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Paradisus Rio de Oro. Warm regards from Cuba Mirian Yisel García Sales Department Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & SPA

Pleased.

, Thunder Bay, ON
2022-03-16
Our experience at PRDO was the best! The facility, beach and surrounding country side was very beautiful. The service at the resort was exceptional. The food was plentiful and good quality. I love Cuban coffee! It is obvious the the Owners and staff taske pride in the facility and service. Thank you for a most enjoyable vacation! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
See review
The weak points
Confusion with currency.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Excellent, very proffessional.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2022-03-21
Dear David.W Kirychuk Thank you for making us your holiday destination and taking time to leave this wonderful review. We are happy that we met your expectations and made your stay an unforgettable one. The satisfaction of our customers during their stay with us is very gratifying for our team, thus, we thank you for your kind words and motivation to continue providing excellent services to our guests. We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Paradisus Rio de Oro. Best Regards Mirian Yisel García Sales Department Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & SPA

Cuban Gem

, Cambridge, ON
2022-02-12
We stayed in the junior deluxe villa with the garden view, it was lovely and you felt quite secluded there, which we like. You will not be disappointed with this hotel. Staff go out of their way to be helping and are very friendly. Food is great, better than any I've experienced in Cuba before. The Cuban music band which played on the beach and at the evening entertainment were fantastic!!
I would definately return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Authentic Cuban music band. Great value for money!
The weak points
Details, but it's Cuba!
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2022-02-16
Dear Scotgirl Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback with the rest of users. We are happy that we have met your expectations and made your stay a memorable one. It is very rewarding to hear that you have received such a friendly and professional service. We thank you for the compliments given to our team that encourage us to continue delivering an excellent performance. We are looking forward to welcoming you back Warm Regards Mirian Yisel García Sales Department Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & SPA

Disappointed

, Ile Bizard, QC
2021-11-14
The hotel was beautiful but it was unprepared for guests. The whole trip from the time we arrived at the airport seemed like it they were not ready to receive visitors.
I booked Royal service which was supposed to include Royal service transfers from the Airport, I was told at the airport that "this does not exist anymore".
There was supposed to be Wi-Fi in our room, another inclusion in Royal service, but there was not, I tried to ask for it to be fixed, but they could not fix it.
The WI-FI in the lobby was working sometimes, not always, I had to use my data plan to connect and even then the connection did not always work.
The beach for the Royal service is very small and poorly kept, there was seaweed all over the beach that was not cleaned, big mounds.
The Pool is also very small, it is beautiful but small. If the Royal service was full, the pool would have been over crowded. There is no swim up bar at the pool in the Royal service.
The food was not good, the choices were very limited. The A la Carte restaurants offered the same choices no matter which one we ate at.
The buffet was small and extremely limited.
Our hot water did not work in our room for 3 days! We had to take cold showers!
I have been to Cuba many times, stayed at Paradisus in Varadero, Melia and Iberostar, and this was by far my worst experience.
We hired a taxi for the morning to go shopping, only to find out the market in town was closed, something the butler who arranged the taxi for us should have known.
There were no activities, no shows, no WI-FI, poor food, poorly kept grounds, it was a very bad experience and something I did not expect when booking with Paradisus.
One side note, if you do go to Cuba, bring small Canadian currency for tips, there is no way to change large bills, if you want to tip in Canadian dollars you need to bring small bills with you.
I will go back to Cuba because I love it, but not to Paradisus Rio De Oro, I feel like I wasted my money, and I never feel that way after a holiday, I am very sorry to have to say this. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Nice people Beautiful Hotel
The weak points
Terrible Beach Terrible food No WI-FI Poorly kept grounds No Activities No Shows Small pool
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2022-04-04
Dear Daniel We would like to thank you for the review you shared on Monarc. We regret the incidents that you had here, your feedback allows us to continually improve the experience we create for our guests. We hope to give you a new welcome in our resort. Warm regards, Mirian Yisel García Sales Department Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa

Paradisus Rio De Oro - Best in Cuba

, Barrie, ON
2020-02-27
Another great stay at the Paradisus resort. Great food and awesome service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-04-07
Thanks John Underhill, We hope to see you soon!!

Hope to go back again soon

, Winnipeg, MB
2020-02-15
Great location, clear ocean water, nice beach to walk on, not too crowded. If you like walking, this is a good choice, as there are walks around the facility and on the beach. Snorkelling right off the beach along the coral reef was very enjoyable. We enjoyed the food and service, staff was great. We were able to enjoy the spa and had a massage or two, including a therapeutic one. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great views from shore, nice for walking, great food, friendly and courteous staff, enjoyed the snorkelling
The weak points
Maybe some places could use a fresh coat of paint and the sidewalks could use some maintenance, if that matters, minor details as far as I'm concerned.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-04-07
Dear Todd D. Thnak you very much for this opinion. We hope to see you soon. Kind reagrds

Amazing experience

, Little Britain, ON
2020-02-11
Our vacation here was excellent. We had the trip booked for several months but sept 11 our 10 week old grandson passed away. We were hesitant on going on the vacation but figured it might help with our heads. Checking in was quick, taken straight to our rooms. There was a restaurant/grill still open for us when we arrived. Rooms were clean, everything worked. Pools were beautiful. Beach was beautiful. The resort was slow as Thomas Cooke had declared bankruptcy the week before. To say the least we had lots of staff for few guests. I met a lady in the lobby who is a professional artist. Her name is Yohonis Crus Betancourt. I gave her a picture of my grandson. On the Friday she returned with a portrait for me. I took it out of the envelope and cried. It was more lifelike than the picture. If you want a painting done go see her. When I go back to Cuba it will be to this resort just to get another painting done. Everything about the resort was beautiful. The staff were amazing and one of the managers,Alexis Riveron,he went above and beyond what I think he needed too. I would highly recommend this resort. I know I'll be going back.
Steve beacock [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
There was nothing I would change about this resort.

Jan. 14, 2020

, Toronto, ON
2020-01-17
This was my 5th time at this resort in the past I have really enjoyed myself and have had great weather I have always stayed at The Royal Service

However this time around not so much. We had rain for most of the week while I was there.
I had asked the resort by sending them a email a few weeks before my trip if I could have the room That I stayed in last night and they said they would do their best to have it for me. When I got there the receptionist said no that room was not available
It seemed liked every time I went to the bar to get a drink they were always out of the liquor that they needed to make the drink so they were always substituting. The restaurant at the beach was closed I was so disappointed with that. The food at the Royal Service wasn't as good as I had it in the past and same with the service. Trying to exchange money at the front desk was another disappointment they never seem to be able to do it and if they did it was in large bills which wasn't good for tipping they suggested that I go to the other resort.
The reason I have stayed at the Royal Service is because they are suppose to cater to you and pamper you I sure didn't feel this time I was here. I paid double the amount that I would have paid for staying at the main resort and I'm sorry to say the value was not there this time around. I was very disappointed.

In the past I have recommended this resort to many of my friends In not sure after my experience this time that I would do that sorry to say [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
My butlers made me a private dinner In my room and I enjoyed that a lot
The weak points
Please see above
Certified

Amazing resort to Relax

, Winnipeg, MB
2019-12-23
Very good service, very good food, quite and clean
If you are over 50 this is the hotel to go to. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-01-02
Dear Hessam Samarghandi,, Thank you very much for having chosen our hotel for your holidays and for sharing this lovely review. We hope to welcome you back soon. Warm regards, Wendy Valiente Sales Department

50th Anniversary

, Montréal, QC
2019-11-20
Great hotel excellent service. Great staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff couldn't nicer Pablo, Marieanella,& Lorenzo at the pool.
The weak points
Getting a little dated but well maintained.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-11-28
Dear David Strutz, Thank you very much for having chosen our hotel for your holidays. We are very happy to know you had a great time. We hope to have you back some time soon! Warm regards, Wendy Valiente Sales Department Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa

Royal Services at Paradisus Rio de Oro, the best!

, Guelph, ON
2019-10-14
Royal Services at Paradisus Rio de Oro is really a "paradises". I was there with my sister a couple of weeks ago. Everything was "perfect". The hotel is located in a really nice spa. The nature surround it is beautiful. The beach is small but very nice and relaxing. The hotel facilities are really good, the rooms are nice, clean and spacious but the best of all is the services! All the employees are great since the manager to the restaurant, lobby bar, beach bar, reception, butler, transport between buildings. All of them are very professionals and hard workers and make you feel that you are in a family. I really recommend Royal Services at Paradisus Rio de Oro. I'll be back soon, for sure! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-10-31
Dear Dolores D, Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel and services, we appreciate your recommendations for future customers. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at our Resort and we hope to have you here again soon.. Warm Regards, Wendy Valiente Sales Department Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa

PRDO at its best

, Toronto, ON
2019-10-03
Our third time here (on the Royal Service side) and not the last one.
Rooms are large and well appointed, a separate beach exclusive for RS guests and the gourmet restaurant where they will be happy to customize their menu per your request.
The only downside is that rooms show their age and I hope management will start refurbishing soon.
We had great time there! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service and facilities on the Royal Service side
The weak points
Aging building interior
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-10-31
Dear Snorkeler, We are pleased to have been able to offer you the service you expected and enjoy all our facilities. We greatly appreciate your comments and hope to have you at our hotel again very soon. Warm regards, Wendy Valiente Sales Department Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa

Home away from home

, Sarnia, ON
2019-09-06
It is home away from home for us . Our 10th visit at Rio de Oro and looking to go back again next month to visit " family". The resort is the finest and the staff makes it even more endearing. Martica does the yoga every morning, followed by water exercises, then spanish lessons in the afternoon. Next dinner at one of the a la Carte's followed by great entertainment, yet another one of Martica strong points. I would recommend this resort to anyone who wants to go to Cuba. Shout outs to Alex, Aya and the entertainment crew. They do an excellent job. Now, that is on the regular side where we have been 4 times.
Since then, we've gone to royal service in the same resort 6 times where it is more laid back and get pampered rotten. Everyone has become like family, especially David, who keeps our mini bar topped up with our favourite drinks.
This resort is the best there is and we can't get wait to get back. It is reasonably priced and absolutely gorgeous with amazing beaches. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

The Best in Cuba!

, Edmonton, AB
2019-07-19
I have been to Cuba about 16 times (in various cities), and this was the best hotel experience I've ever had. I highly recommend it. I love to snorkel, and the beach here was also the best I've seen in Cuba. I went with a group of friends, and the lifeguard Angel Victor was even gracious enough to give us a snorkel tour! He dove in, picked up sea urchins in his hands (I had no idea you could handle these safely, but this kind was ok he said), then he would break them with a rock and feed the fish with the interior of the urchin! We were so grateful for his generosity and hospitality. The rooms in the hotel are great, the food was good and nobody in our group got sick, the staff was all around friendly and helpful. We are highly likely to return, mainly because of the incredibly beautiful snorkeling we were able to discover thanks to Angel Victor the lifeguard! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing snorkeling, nice big rooms, friendly staff, good food, free wifi in lobby
The weak points
The food can be a little repetitive at the buffet, but hey, it's Cuba! Despite this, there was always plenty to choose from.
Certified

Wonderful Resort

, Hamilton, ON
2019-06-25
We have just returned from a a one week stay at this fantastic resort. This was our 8th or 9th visit to this same resort and we have never had anything but great things to say.
The staff at the resort made the difference, everyone was so genuinely friendly and helpful. The food was a good selection, there were always things to do on the beach, or the pool or lobby.. and the room was really clean and comfortable.
All of the staff, (and I do mean ALL of them), were so welcoming, nothing was too much trouble for any of them.
The choice of restaurants was superb, with something for everyone. We visited the Japanese restaurant, El Patio, and the Mediterranean during our stay. Mediterranean and El Patio is more of a "intimate" dining experience. The buffet is excellent as well.
There is a poolside restaurant that is now open 24 hours, delicious pizza, calamari, and sandwiches.
The beachside restaurant, where Roberto and his team made you feel very welcome, the food was great and the view over the beach to the crystal clear waters was to die for.
The pool was superb, kept very clean- never too crowded and always plenty of sun loungers available.
Delmis and her entertainment staff were as always amazing. Special shout out to Delmis, Jennifer, and Alec. They are encouraging to invite you to join the activities and they seem to enjoy the activities along with you. What a great job to have! The morning pool aerobics were well organized and fun.
Special Thank you to Yander at the Lobby bar, Marisol at the pool restaurant, and Rolando who we saw at the beach restaurant, buffet, lobby bar and the grounds - always had a smile and a welcome. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, food, beach
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-07-02
Dear Linda, It is always rewarding to read that we print so memorable experiences in your lives. Thank you so much for sharing them with other travelers. We hope to have you back many more times. Receive warmest regards from all our staff, who will love to see you again! Sincerely yours, Wendy Valiente Sales Department Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & SPA

Cuba is reborn to us

, Barrie, ON
2019-04-21
Our friends talked us into returning to Cuba. we have been to Cayo Coco (Pestana) and Cayo Santa Maria (Valentin Perla Blanca).and vowed we would not return to Cuba. Beaches were fabulous but the staff and food was less desirable. The Paradisus really changed our tune. Never pushed a plate of food away!!! Went deep sea fishing and the chef prepared our Maui Maui that we caught and served us in a great presentation!! The staff was amazing from the check in, beach service, entertainment, life guard, cart drivers and so on and so on. I wish I could list everyone but you will see if you decide to go to the PRDO. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Love Holguin

, Kingston, ON
2019-04-17
This is our 3 rd time to this beautiful resort. The beach is smaller than Varadero or Cayo Coco but is still beautiful. We did some snorkeling right out in front of our resort. The food is great and staff are wonderful. Will definitely be looking forward to going back in October. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff, food and rooms.
The weak points
Smaller beach but still beautiful.

Third time a charm cuban paradise

, Barrie, ON
2019-03-07
Hola mi amigos! This is our third trip over 10 years, and we are so happy to return to where our vacations started in 2009.In 2011 we got engaged on the beach. Now we are back and this time we moved to 10 days.(now the new7). First of all we want to thank the whole staff for making our vacation so restful, happy, and welcome.I am going to name a few of many who either touched our hearts, or made us feel like family. To start; Sarah Jeisy Melo Rojas, cant say enough of this amazing lady whom you may never see, but makes this resort rock.Along with her partner, Wendy,Thank you Marco (general manager) for ensuring the guests have the best you can provide, in sometimes hard conditions.Lisandro (food and beverage manager). without your hard work the amazing and tasty foods and drinks we all enjoy would not be the same.The bar and food staff whom we connected with were professional, polite and fun Dixon (lobster dinner),Rolando and Luis at Beach bar, Elisabeth beach restaurant. Yipsy and Maylin in buffet.Osmany,and Disney pool bar.helping our waistline expand was Mercedes in Flambe station.Our maid Mariluz outstanding .Now on with resort. From the time we step off bus from airport, greeted with cool towel,and a glass of champagne, you know its good. Fast easy check in and whisked to room. The updated bathrooms are nice to see. the resort even though built in 1998, is always improving despite setbacks, like hurricanes and supply issues.. We are not there to look for faults, but to stop for a moment and enjoy what great things this resort and its people are providing us. We were there 20 feb to march 02. Never crowded and plenty of variety to drink or eat.If anyone bitches about Cuban resort food needs to shake their head.Realize where you are, and how hard it can be to get supplies. I am a chef, and i cannot find fault anywhere. Yum yum ha ha.This resort is not a loud party place. Quiet relaxation is the deal here. Ok im rambling, just want to say come enjoy, relax and let the staff here make your stay beautiful making memories. Gracias mi amigos [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Awesome

, Ajax, ON
2019-02-03
The hotel was what I expected very clean helpful staff and food was very good. One of the staff in the office should be commended for her efforts in helping me solve a problem which I had arriving at the hotel. She was finishing her shift but still still stayed to help me her name was Olga. I will definitely come back. The cleaning lady who had cleaned our room did an excellent job and as well should be commended.
. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean rooms helpful and friendly staff

Best honeymoon ever!

, Montréal, QC
2019-01-31
Last november, I visited PRDO for my honeymoon. I have to tell that Sarah and Iraida made me live an amazing experience there. I have 0 complains about the hotel, the food and the staff.

We arrived and they received us with the best customer service ever! The room was very spacious and very clean.

I have to say that is the best hotel I ever visited in Cuba! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing customer service ever! Great food variation Big room and confortable bed Cocktails on point!

Paradisus!

, Toronto, ON
2019-01-28
Truly a beautiful resort! Just got back from a week there with my Wife. A stunning location and setting. We enjoyed the gym they had with a view over the ocean. The food was easily the best we've had in Cuba. The Rooms were very large and had a brand new bathroom with lots of space. The only complaint with the room were the blinds. Seemed inadequate for covering, but could have just been our room. The entertainment was also excellent. We usually went to bed early but there was live music around every corner it seemed - piano singer, opera singers, guitar players, etc... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach Location and setting
Certified

Amazing stay!!

, Lacombe, AB
2019-01-12
You would never be disappointed in your stay it was unbelievabley amazing!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Luxurious

, Toronto, ON
2018-11-24
superb resort; quiet; very good food; large pool; beach ok thus. spa luxurious; staff and service excellent. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff
The weak points
the beach
Certified

Big dissapointment from a repeat guest

, Mississauga, ON
2018-11-09
This was our 7th time back so I knew what we were getting....so I thought.
Our first room was like walking into an oven the A/C out of order the mini fridge wasn't plugged in so we try to plug it in no luck as the outlet is too far for the cord to reach and no you can't move it closer because it's in a built in unit. We move rooms which took hours and way past the so called 3:00pm check in, second room at least works. This place is falling apart there was mold all over the pool tiles you couldn't walk without stepping on it, there was garbage never picked up all week. The restaurants are over taken by birds so no matter where you sit there is bird poop, I watched as these birds land on the table, cutlery, napkins and yes leave they're evidence. We use to enjoy the lounge area where you could watch the entertainment but good luck not getting poop landing on you by the infestation of hundreds of birds above you. This place in my opinion is a 3 star at best, the food quality and variety is so pathetic.
Please for those of you who say this is Cuba what do you expect, I've been to Cuba many many times and to this resort at least 7 times but because of my experience I will never return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
pages: 12345678

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2022