Gran Muthu Almirante Beach Resort

Gran Muthu Almirante Beach Resort
4.324.324.324.324.32
4.32 based on 66 reviews
#1 of 15 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Holguin
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (163)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Brand new resort, incredible service

, Lasalle, QC
2022-08-08
Amazing stay at this new resort. I was really impressed by the service, everyone working here is wonderful, all the waiters, waitresses in the lobby, buffet, restaurants, bars, cleaning ladies, garderners, and so on..very respectful, professional. Jose Pupa, the sommelier at the cigar shop was so kind and helpful, Anyel , Yamlet, and all the other waitresses in the lobby were amazing, Luis Angel Kapicino makes the best cappuccino! The asian restaurant a la carte was the best!The resort is super clean, the beach is amazing! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Beautiful trip

, Courtice, ON
2022-07-24
We enjoyed our stay at Gran Muthu almirante beach. The entertainment team were lovely, beautiful shows. Loved the Aqua zumba everyday at 11 am. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Very nice services at the bar and restaurant
Certified

Beach ... Wow

, Gatineau, QC
2022-07-07
Went in June 2022
Fairly new resort, we had a family room and a standard room and both were great, beach is paradisiac and plenty of chairs and huts. Same thing for pools, clean, plenty of chairs and huts, animation was also great both at the beach and at the pools. Resort employees are so kind, you are not a number at this resort, people cares about you. Barbara and Kenisey from guest services were very helpfull. They managed to have a birthday cake for one of our teen which was really appreciate. For food: AC in A la carte and in the buffet should to be colder. A la carte was really good specially the Japanese one. For the buffet, you need to be open minded, you are not in Canada but everyday we found some good stuff to eat. you can normally find grilled beef, chicken or shrimps, fish, burgers, hotdogs etc ... Softdrink were rare, we did not ask to get some in our room but there was none in our fridge, we got water bottles everyday in the room without asking. We were a family of 7 with 5 teenagers and game room (Xbox, Playstation, VR, Pool, PingPong, babyfoot) was perfect for those who did not want to go to the night show. Weekend was busy with locals but weekdays were not, best time to try kayaks, paddle boards, catamaran rides and pedalos. For the Internet, you have a username/password for the week, that must be renewed every 3 hours. This is 3 hours of use or connected, so when you don't need it tick the wifi off and counter stops. Internet was working perfectly throughout the resorts except at the beach.
Value for the price is unbeatable, it was half of the price of Mexico or Domican Republic, will retun to that resort for sure [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Our FAVORITE place in the world!

, Toronto, ON
2022-05-29
From the second we got off the bus to the second we got back on it, our entire trip was a dream!
It was our second time there, and we are already planning our next!
The staff is amazing! They make sure your every whim is looked after.
We have an 8 year old and 2.5 year old so we book the family suite, and have a stunning view of the resort and the ocean! The 2 room suite is a plus because we have a separate living space and bathroom from our kids! The rooms are brand new and no expense was spared. From the waterfall tile and glass shower to the chic and modern decor of the room. Every day our fridges were filled with water, Fanta, sparkling wine and rum!

The pools are kept pristine, the cabana beds are great for relaxing, the infinity pool is magazine worthy, the inflatable jumper in the pool kept our kids having a blast all day long! The pirate ship water park was a hit as well!

The 24 hour bar area was our favorite place to hang with constant entertainment and the view of the ocean!

The beach is just perfect! The white sandy beach, the turquoise water! The beach bar and servers were always making sure our drinks were full!

The staff deserve to be mentioned again! Even with masks you could see the smile through their eyes. Always making sure everything was perfect, that you didn't need a single thing. From remembering your drink order and just bringing it over, to going through extra mile to make your children smile with a flower for their hair. The staff is what makes you fall in love with this already beautiful place.

Cuba is struggling right now, with food supply and variety. But on resort you would've never known.
My husband ate so much shrimp, lobster, crab, fish he could've swam home!
The breakfast omelette bar was a thing of dreams!
The buffet always had a great selection of chicken,pork and beef. You definitely won't go hungry! We just recommend when travelling with kids to bring ketchup!

The restaurants are GREAT! The Asian is a hibachi table and the chef puts on an entertaining show! The Seafood is a full lobster and fabulous shrimp cocktail!

The nightly shows were fun as well! We highly recommend the water ballet!

With the short food supply/variety currently, we can't wait to see what the food will be like when it's over!

The coral reef just off the beach is pure beauty- we highly recommend if you get the opportunity to snorkel go! There are lifeguards on the beach who will safely take you out for a modest price.

The wifi is much better than a few years ago in Cuba, but still not the greatest. Some days I could work from it, some days I had to turn my phone data on. But if you're lucky enough to unplug for your whole trip, the wifi will be enough to check social media and send messages home!

All in all you will have an phenomenal trip if you choose the Almirante! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The weak points
Curve your expectations of the food currently with the shortages. But I promise everything else will make up for it!
Certified

Last minute vacation

, Lavigne, ON
2022-04-03
we booked a last minute vacation for a week after spending 5 weeks at this resort in January and February 2022. We enjoyed every minute of our stay. The hotel lobby staff are wonderful, the VIP section is such a fantastic option and Raul has everything running beautifully. The karaoke is wonderful every evening and the return customer lunch was a great touch. Thanks to Rafael at the VIP pool and Yadian and Yanet in the VIP restaurant and our butler Latchuga for such a great job all the time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Customer service, VIP section, Asian a la carte, spa
The weak points
wait times at 24 hr bar for food or drinks
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
all precautions are taken at this resort
Certified

Nice place to stay

, Ottawa, ON
2022-03-31
Gran Muthu Almirante Beach Resort [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Amazing vacation

, Lavigne, ON
2022-03-30
This was our second trip to this hotel this year and we were not disappointed. The hotel is amazing, clean, well maintained and lacks for nothing. Their customer service is second to none. The VIP section is incredible and Raul pulls out all the stops. Rafael at VIP pool is a hidden gem. The entire staff at the VIP restaurant makes you feel so welcome and grateful for the opportunity to be there. Needless to say this hotel has chosen the best employees throughout their hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Customer service, Cleanliness, incredibly friendly staff
The weak points
Length of time to be served food or drinks at 24 hour bar, lack of condiments available
Certified

My Winter Home Away From Home

, Toronto, ON
2022-03-28
This was my third of four trips to this hotel this winter, 10 weeks in total. It is an amazing new hotel with great amenities and incredible staff. the beach is pristine as are the pools. The restaurant has good food and amazing service. Nightly shows are first-rate and the disco that follows is a lot of fun. I'll be back in April and start the cycle again in the fall. Almirante is my winter home. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
As new building, everythign is in great condition. Staff maintain the cleanliness - everything is pristine. All staff are amazing.
The weak points
Internet can be a bit of a challenge at times.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Very clean. Good measures in place.
Certified

Guardalavaca vacation in hotel Almirante

, Niagara Falls, ON
2022-02-03
Good hotel with all modern conveniences. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Good hotel with all modern conveniences. All new furniture. Smart house system. Central air conditioning.
The weak points
Elevator is very slow. Noisy in the corridor. Every 3 hours need to recharge WiFi in lobby. No room call to advise the time of leaving hotel. Bus left hotel at 11:15 but check out was at 12:00. Paid 70USD to reach airport by myself. Who will compensate?
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
No compliants.
Certified

Awful place, scam people

, Hamilton, ON
2022-01-12
As a beginning my experience was good. And then when it came to the Covid testing it wasn't all that great. They try to say that the person I arrived with that I spent all my time with because there my partner in life tested positive for Covid. But I tested negative which is absolutely impossible considering we spent 24 seven together. And then they wouldn't allow him to take a retest they said the test was 100% accurate. That is not true nothing is 100% accurate. And people do get false positives all the time and they said that is not true. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The waitress at the lobby bar she was really great and always was respectful.
The weak points
Other than that all the other staff are basically extremely rude. And then they scanned us with the Covid test. I think they say people test positive so they can get more money out of them to make up for the loss
Certified

Beautiful but ...

, Gatineau, QC
2021-11-20
Arrived Nov 18, well over an hour for check in. We were brought to the wrong room category. Only found out around 9pm since our room keys were not working. Reception had supposedly fixed the keys knowing we had been assigned a wrong room. Went back up, keys still not working. Went back to reception to be then met up with management to be told we had to pack everything up and change rooms. Our documents stated the room number we had been given in the first place. We were assigned a new room but this time with 1 bed. Our reservation was for 2 beds. Once again sent to another room with 2 beds. Beautiful room but shower was not working, had someone come by and fix it quite quickly. I have been asking for diet cola since day 1, after 6 visits to reception and guest services, still nothing on Nov 20, 2021. Requests are slow to be dealt with. Food in buffet is ok, very limited in choices. If you see something you may want, take it while it's available. Once the tray is gone, there is no more. Best drinks are at the lobby bar. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Room, housekeeping, service at lobby bar and drinks. Beach
The weak points
Food limited but ok. Reception and guest services when you have requests.

Almirante in holguin

, Scarborough, ON
2021-11-17
Overall experience is above average, the staff was very courteous and professional.
The property layout is nice and spacious for these times.
The pool facilities exceeded 5 star
There are always room for improvement so it's will be ongoing work to maintain such standards [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Very clean Staff very professional Large and spacious Excellent pools and facilities Nice location In general it's all above average
The weak points
Food can be to a better standard and quality, Bacon too oily and burnt Beef too tough more hot peppers soft boiled eggs Bread can be more soft More information to facility these times Air conditioning system very difficult to adjust
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Clean and posh
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Holguin's best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Beaches Families Food & Restaurants Couples Seniors Singles

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2022