Melia Cohiba

Melia Cohiba
3.423.423.423.423.42
The average rating for this hotel is not available at this time. No recent reviews have been submitted.

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Wonderful Experience!

, Pickering, ON
2015-02-15
We found this hotel to be first rate and exceeded our expectations. It is located in the newer part of Havana and is approximately 10 minutes by car/bus into Old Havana or approximately two hours if you walk.
The hotel offers a free shuttle service to and from Old Havana on a fairly regular basis.
The buffet breakfast which is included in the price offered a wide selection of choices. It was plentiful and tasty. We also ate in the La Piazza and Agua's Grill Bar. The meals were a little pricey but in line with other 5 star properties.
We didn't get to use the beautiful pool because it was windy and cooler on the days that we were there. The hotel is right beside the water and at times we could feel the spray from the ocean.
We were on the 8th floor and had a Junior Suite which was a corner unit and we had two views of the area.
The staff were friendly and helpful. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone who doesn't mind being a few miles away from the hustle and bustle of Old Havana. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent value for the money.
The weak points
I can't think of anything.
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-02-27
Dear Sandy, Thank you very much for having chosen our Hotel for your stay in Havana and for having shared your experience with the users who consult Monarc.ca to choose your next destination and Hotel. We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed our location, the attractive views of the city and the sea that can be seen from our rooms and the proximity to the city center for your tours using the Shuttle free. It is also good to know that you enjoyed the comfort of our facilities and of the quality and variety of our gastronomy in the different restaurants and bars of the Hotel. It has been a pleasure to know that you also enjoyed the attentions that you received from our staff and that you recommends us on Monarc.ca community, which means that you will return to Melia Cohiba on his next stay in Havana, it goog that you know that for us it will be a pleasure to welcome you and offer you another memorable experience. Until then I send you a warm hug from all our staff, Oscar Frederik Andersen Stahal, Managing Director

Should not be classified as 5-star

, Toronto, ON
2013-05-21
Disappointed with this hotel for these reasons:

-Food offered at buffet for breakfast was minimal & not tasty at all
-Prices of food & bottles of water at hotel were too expensive (double what is offered at Hotel Nacional)
-Wi-fi service is available for $14 CUC for 2 hours usage, in the lobby. When I purchased the wi-fi service, I was given a password to use. I was not told that I needed to go to a specific website after using internet to log off. Instead I shut off my wi-fi, not knowing that my wi-fi time was being used up while my ipad was shut off. When I realized my time had expired so soon, I approached the business services desk. The staff member called tech support and I was simply told that I had used it up. I had to purchase more time and was still not told about the log-off procedure.
- The cleaning lady assigned to our room just changed our bedsheets & provided new towels, however the bathtub was not washed
- An area near the pool, under a cabana, was very dirty with litter, food & cigarettes on the deck [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Strong point - concierge was helpful with recommendation of a great restaurant within walking distance called Atelier
The weak points
Food is lousy and expensive
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-02-13
Dear Mary, We regret to know that your stay at our hotel has not met your expectations and we thank you to inform us at least in this way of the eventualities that you said you have in our hotel, because although you have spent a lot of time of your stay at the Melia Cohiba and our facilities and services have improved a lot, this comment of yours will be one more opportunity to review our services and take the appropriate measures to make this type of incident does not happen again in our Hotel. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused. We hope you will give us the opportunity to count on you again at Melia Cohiba; we will make sure to offer you a happy stay. Until then I send you our warmest regards, Oscar Frederik Andersen Stahal, Managing Director

Nice hotel in Havana

, Montreal, QC
2013-01-29
I believe is one of the best. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very nice hotel in Havana.
The weak points
The food prices are in my opinion a little pricey. It should be more affordable considering prices in Havana (i.e. Breakfast should be 10$ instead of 15$)
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-01-04
Dear Jaime, Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay in Havana and for sharing your positive experiences with the users of the Monarc.ca community. We are pleased to know that we meet your expectations and that you consider us one of the best hotels in Havana. We wait for you in Melia Cohiba in your next stay in Havana, we will be happy to welcome you and offer you the best experience in our hotel. Until then, I send our best regards to all our staff, Oscar Frederik Andersen Stahal, Managing Director.

A week in Havana

, Winnipeg, MB
2013-01-23
A nice hotel. Breakfast staff not friendly. Could not get a decent cup of coffee at the Hotel Melia Cohiba. Reception desk friendly and helpful. One week is too much time in Havana. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very nice hotel, but too big for personal service. Front desk on the whole very good.
The weak points
We could not get a decent cup of coffee anywhere in the hotel. Just awful. Gave up coffee after 4 days. Good coffee elsewhere in Cuba. Breakfasr staff unfriendly
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-02-04
Dear Charles, Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay in Havana and for sharing your comments about your experiences with the users of the Expedia community. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms and the attention that you received from our staff at reception. Allow me to tell you that, although you have spent so much time of your stay at our Hotel, we will analyze even more the service that our staff is offering at breakfast and we will take the necessary measures to further improve the quality of the service, because for us the full satisfaction of our guest is fundamental. Sorry for the inconvenience that we may have caused. We hope that you choose the Melia Cohiba on your next trip to Havana, we will be delighted to receive you and provide you with the best service. Until then I send you a cordial greeting, Oscar Frederik Andersen Stahal, Managing Director

Good location & service

, Brossard, QC
2012-07-09
Good location & service - Room need renovation. Good hotel for business tryp [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service and location
The weak points
Rooms need RENOVATION
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-02-04
Dear Alex, Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel for your stay in Havana and for sharing your comment about your experiences with the users of the Expedia community. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our location and the attention that you received from our staff. Allow me to tell you that our hotel is in the process of refurbishing some of our facilities with the aim of improving our image and continue in the preference of our customers. Thank you very much for considering us a good Hotel for business trips. We hope you choose the Melia Cohiba on your next trip to Havana, we will be happy to receive you and give you the best attention. Until then I send you our warmest regards, Oscar Frederik Andersen Stahal, Managing Director

June 2011 Vacation

, Saint Stephen, NB
2011-06-07
The hotel is very nice, clean, friendly staff and has several nice restaurants. The location on the ocean is beautiful and there are several cantinas & stores nearby. Overall I had a great experience and would recommend this hotel to people in the future. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great restaurants, internet access, friendly staff, location very close to the ocean
The weak points
Pool closes too early
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-01-04
Dear Stephen, Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay in Havana and for sharing your positive experiences with the users of the Monarc.ca community. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our facilities, especially the attention that you received from all our staff, our proximity to the malecon and our gastronomy. Thank you very much for recommending our Hotel so kindly and for your preference. We hope you at Melia Cohiba in your next stay in Havana, we will be happy to welcome you and offer you the best experience in our hotel. Until then I send our best greetings from all our staff, Oscar Frederik Andersen Stahal, Managing Director

Weekend in Havana

, Toronto, ON
2011-03-02
We were pleased with the Melia Cohiba. My wife and I were travelling with our 11 month old baby and the response to the litte one from everyone at the Hotel was warm and welcoming. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Remember this is Cuba, but this hotel was very good for Cuba.
The weak points
None. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-01-04
Dear Richard, Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay in Havana and for sharing your positive experiences with the users of the Monarc.ca community. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the comfort of our facilities and the services that we provide to our guest, especially the warm and welcoming the attention they received from our staff. We are waiting for you at the Melia Cohiba in your next stay in Havana, we will be happy to welcome you and offer you the best experience in our hotel. Until then, I send our best regards from all our staff, Oscar Frederik Andersen Stahal, Managing Director.

Melia Cohiba Hotel

, Kincardine, ON
2009-12-22
Melia Cohiba Good overall [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Top class hotel
The weak points
Bit far from downtown and we weren't aware until the last day that the hotel had a frequent free shuffle to old Havana. Spent a lot on taxis.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-01-04
Dear Joseph B Harron, Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay in Havana and for sharing your positive experiences with the users of the Monarc.ca community. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the comfort of our facilities and the services that we provide to our guest, especially the attention that you received from our staff and our gastronomy. We are waiting for you at the Melia Cohiba in your next stay in Havana, we will be happy to welcome you and offer you the best experience in our hotel. Until then, I send our best regards to all our staff, Oscar Frederik Andersen Stahal, Managing Director.

Interesting

, Toronto, ON
2009-09-01
Most of the hotel staff was not friendly at all...
Had to change rooms 4 times..
first room - ac leaks water
second room - smell of smoke.
third room - ac not working
fourth room - ok.. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great location, very nice resturants.
The weak points
staff very rude.., rooms or suite not service properly.. no guests are allowed in the pool..
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-01-04
Dear Christopher Ishmael, We regret to know that your stay at our hotel has not met your expectations and we appreciate that you let us know at least through this way of the eventualities that you said have in our Hotel, this will be an opportunity to take the appropriate measures to make this type of incident not happen again. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused. We hope you give us the opportunity to have you again at the Melia Cohiba, we will make sure to offer you a happy stay. Until then I send you our warmest regards, Oscar Frederik Andersen Stahal, Managing Director

Melia Cohiba

, Toronto, ON
2009-06-18
Great if you're a business traveller.
[Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, very impressive lobby and pool area.
The weak points
Too big and impersonal
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2018-12-17
Dear Nicholas, Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel for your stay in Havana and for sharing your opinion about your experiences with the users of the Monarc.ca community. We are pleased to know that we met your expectations, We hope that you choose the Melia Cohiba in your next stay in Havana, we will be happy to welcome you in our Hotel and give you the best service. Until then I send you our warmest regards, Oscar Frederik Andersen Stahal, Managing Director

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021