Hotel Kohly

Hotel Kohly
3.063.063.063.063.06
The average rating for this hotel is not available at this time. No recent reviews have been submitted.
Traveller pictures (4)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Hotel Stay

, Peterborough, ON
2014-02-19
A very nice inexpensive hotel that is close to downtown by bus or taxi. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Small reasonably priced hotel. Only a short walk to the bus to get downtown.
The weak points
It doesn't have any!
Certified

Will not stay here again

, Toronto, ON
2013-01-06
This was my ninth trip to Cuba. I've stayed at 3* hotels in Varadero and casa particulars across the country.
There is nothing wrong with the hotel or the room, per se. I had warm or hot water in my shower whenever I used it. Here are the reasons I will not return:
- the hotel is also a dormitory for Angolan students, about 97% of which are male
- maid left dirty glasses in my room, left balcony door unlocked (the balconies are connected) and I returned from two nights in Matanzas to find my door not fully closed. I reported this to the front desk and ask that the maid NOT attend to my room for my remaining three nights, and she still showed up everyday.
- the Internet did not work in the 11 days I was there. 4 computers that appeared operational, but could not process the logon codes.
- the first week I was there, my student neighbour would enjoy one of two CDs (Fifty Cent or Kizomba) on his powerful stereo everyday.
- the hotel is also used for community things, so the bowling alley is busy with young Cubans and when there was a private party held in the bar/pool area, I was told I could not get a drink at that bar (the bowling alley bar was closed). This was around 8pm one evening. Hotel with no bar?
- with one or two exceptions, I found the staff unfriendly or they'd given up after dealing with the students constantly.
- as a blonde female, i found I just had to avoid the hotel as much as possible or stay in my room if I wanted some peace.
- better to stay closer to downtown, even if accoms are a little more, as the cubataxi drivers will rip you off. I did better as I got more used to the private taxis and what the real prices should be. One driver charged me 10CUC to go to the Viazul station which is about 4-5km away and should be about 2-3CUC. I was in a hurry or would have refused.
The strong points: None. Do NOT recommend.
The weak points: Location, service, university dormitory [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
None.
The weak points
Location, student population, staff
Certified

SunWing/Kohly Great

, Rr2 Pictou, NS
2012-03-05
My expectations weren't high and they were far exceeded at the Kohly. The hotel is clean, safe, friendly and has decent amenities. The rooms are simple but have a nice balcony and everything worked well. Kohly is a $10CUC ride downtown however the price savings more than pays for the taxis. The OLD TOWN tour is only $19CUC which covers all the high points. Breakfast was excellent and the pizza in the Hotel was good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, simple, balcony, staff, breakfast
The weak points
Distance from city center
Certified

Hotel kohly

, Toronto, ON
2012-02-04
It is absolutely charming, and the staff were great. Not as close to downtown Havana as the literature suggests. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent feel (ambiance) very homey.
The weak points
location - it's not near anything. It's in an area called New Havana
Certified

As expected, nothing beyond ...

, Montreal, QC
2010-02-27
We booked this hotel as part of a flight/hotel package and read existing reviews before so we knew what we were getting into. Not the most convenient or the cleanest hotel but if you re just looking for a place to sleep at night its fine.

Its a bit far from the city centre and so took about a 10-15 minute cab ride everyday and back. Be sure to BARGAIN with the cab drivers. They will ask for 7-10 CUC and you should really only pay 5. 9 times out of 10 if we bargained we got a deal, just be sure to do so in a firm but friendly manner. Hotel staff was somewhat helpful though often very vague when recommending things or helping us located sights etc. and only at the end of our stay informed us that we owed 2 CUC for local calls made( The front desk placed these calls for us without informing us of charges)

The room was adequate and spacious and had a balcony, tv, two beds, a small table. However, during the entire week it was never actually cleaned, which was a problem considering the toilet leaked a bit each time it was flushed. Beds were made and towels were exchanged, though once I believe I was handed and already used towel by mistake, pretty disgusting. Hot water was hard to come by. I think I had one hot shower in a week (best to try at night) the rest were cold or barely warm, though as I understand this is pretty common in Cuba unless you stay at a 5 star. Previous reviews on various sites mentioned cockroaches and bedbugs though we didn t have any problems. Also the safe in the room came at no charge.

The food was adequate and again just meeting standards as they are in Cuba. Daily buffet of scrambled eggs, hot dot dogs, peas, sad tasteless fruits, coffee, bread, cubed cheese was the norm. Food in Cuba is generally quite bland and not exactly plentiful, so work with what you re given:)

Overall, I would describe the hotel as "Adequate" though, if you have the option, I would look into staying at a Casa Particular in the city. Services and cleanliness may honestly not be that much better (ie hot water etc) but it would be a much richer traveling experience for the same (or cheaper!) price. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Inexpensive, decent (by Cuban standards) bar and restaurant, large room, safe for valuables, internet available though expensive and slow.
The weak points
Leaky toilet, cold showers, room was never cleaned only towels and sheets were exchanged, hidden phone charges even for local calls, expensive and slow internet, must take a cab to city centre everyday (be sure to bargain never pay 10 or even 7 CUC!)
Certified

What I expected.

, Mississauga, ON
2010-02-24
As other reviewers have said, you get what you pay for. I ll try to include information here that I wish was posted before I went. The hotel is located in a residential area. The food is terrible and there isn t anywhere to eat within walking distance. I m not a picky eater and this is really some of the worst food I ve ever had. Eat in town! Old Havana and Downtown are about 10 minutes away, taxi costs 6-10 CUC depending on negotiating skills. The bus station is about 7 minutes away (4-6 CUC). Loud music plays into the night. The hotel facilities are used by locals but they re no bother. There is internet on-site, a pool, bar, stores. I only spent 3 of my seven nights in Cuba at the hotel. The rest of the time I was bussing across the country. I don t know what days were like there b/c I was always wandering in the city. The rooms are a good size, hot water, good pressure, clean bathroom, room service, nothing was stolen, the beds, pillows or sheets smelt bad - not sure where the smell was coming from. For the price I paid for flight and room, I d stay again. It s a good deal if you plan to spend your time exploring Havana. Just don t expect paradise. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Close to Havana and bus station. It s worth the cheap package!
The weak points
The bed, pillows or sheets smelt bad. Nothing exciting within walking distance.
Certified

Kohly Havana

, Ottawa, ON
2010-01-22
Hotel clean, staff polite. This is a travelers hotel, simple and cheap. Nice pool, coffee shop/bar, simple breakfast. Great place to see Havana except out of the way. Take taxi to sights and restaurants. You can usually get great deals for the economy minded. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Price. Great for those going outside Havana. Very safe area for walking about.
The weak points
Lack of access to nearby restaurants and tourist parts of Havana. Use taxi, 8 CUC to downtown.
Certified

Rundown but alright

, London, ON
2009-11-23
The Kohly Bosque is definitely rundown and in need of some serious renovations. The rooms are, however, clean. Most have huge balconies overlooking the the front street and, therefore, your Cuban neighbors. The pool is nice but freezing. There was little entertainment to speak of, but that's why you're in Havana and not the hotel. There were a few chicas hanging about with their older gentleman friends, which was by turns utterly disgusting and totally hilarious depending on your mode. Staff were friendly enough. Just remember, you get what you pay for. Hotel, flight and daily breakfast for 560 Canadian. Can't beat that. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cheap and for the most part, cheerful. The gardens were lovely and although far from the beaten track of Old Havana, it felt safe and a little like we were just one of the neighbours.
The weak points
Very minimal. Don't expect much and you won't be disappointed.
Certified

Kohly Bosque

, London, ON
2009-06-17
This hotel was nice if you want to feel a more authentic Cuban experience as there are a lot of Cubans that come here to use the facilities that are open to the public. The down side is that it was loud in the evenings and there was no hot water the entire time I was there. This may be due to the fact that it is solar powered and it was unseasonally cold in February 2009. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Incredibly good value.
The weak points
Quite loud in the evenings and no hot water.
Certified

Noisy hotel

, Edmonton, AB
2009-06-11
Too far from Old Havana [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Personal safes in room were available for 2 convertible pesos a night
The weak points
The open air bar was noisy. It was open all night.
Certified

Nice little place

, Toronto, ON
2009-06-10
Kohly Bosque is located in a quiet residential neighborhood. You can sit by the pool at the hotel, but for all other activities you will have to travel by taxi. The music blares a little loud at the bar next to the pool, but it is turned down usually by about 10:00 at night. The rooms are plain, but are kept clean by a good staff. A reasonable place for a reasonable price. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Off the beaten track. Inexpensive.
The weak points
You will need to take a taxi everywhere. Food is average at best.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021