Melia Habana

Melia Habana
3.183.183.183.183.18
The average rating for this hotel is not available at this time. No recent reviews have been submitted.

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Our stay at Melia Habana

, Calgary, Al
2013-12-09
Overall a very nice hotel. However when we checked out, they greatly overcharged us for the minibar. Their records were terribly inaccurate. As well, we couldn't go into the pool area after dark for some reason. The lighting was fine and there were various seating areas that would have been lovely to relax in, with a drink and a book. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
good restaurants
The weak points
When we checked out, they greatly overcharged us for the mini bar. It was wildly inaccurate. I was also quite disappointed that we could not go into the pool area after dark. There was plenty of lighting.
Certified

Havana

, Ottawa, ON
2013-01-08
Stayed for a week on vacation and had a great time. The Melia Habana is a hotel where everything works and the staff was consistently friendly and helpful. The room was clean, food was good, and we always felt safe there.

Although it is beside the sea and some Cuban locals were swimming nearby, it is very rocky and you would likely want to use the pool or travel to the Playas del Este for the beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
High standard for Cuba. No concerns with my stay. For those considering a vacation stay, the shuttle to Old Havana was very convenient running six times daily.
The weak points
Need to commute into town by shuttle or about $10 taxi ride. Fee for wifi service.
Certified

Mr.T

, Toronto, ON
2012-09-18
Hotel was good no complains. I would recommend. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Overall a good experiance and i usually stay at Melia Cohiba.
The weak points
The hotel room should have newer tv's
Certified

Trip to forget

, Ottawa, ON
2012-01-23
decu de la chambre a trois,mais l,agent a été tres serviable ainsi que la femme de chambre juanita.mais le pire c,est le retard de 11 heures a attendre au lobbye de l,hotel,un voyage a oublier... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
je retournerais jamais au mélia habana
The weak points
le manque d,informations par sunwing,il fallait au moins une chambre pour se reposer pendant toute l,attente interminable et au frais de sunwing qui revient la faute et le prix citron pour son service médiocre.......
Certified

Overpricey for not much 5stars

, Kingston, ON
2011-12-31
first thing they welcome you with is a scam .
They welcome you and mention that the system do do the room key is down so the valet will come for you and open it. He dosen't leave before having his tip.
5 minutes later, you go and they activate your key.
as they do, they mention that their system is down to other client arriving to the hotel.
I've been seeing this scam at least 6 times during my stay.
I suspect that the receptionist split tips with the valet to keep it going.

room was good but as you expect from Cuban resort, 5stars there is about 3.5 stars in US or Canada so if you expect the royal room, you'll be disappointed.

Know your price, at the hotel, the buffet is $25 and the next door hotel (Neptuno)have an equivalent buffet for $15...

Pool close very early even with lit lightning all around, they still close it at about 6pm.

they have a very good gymnasium with about everything you can possibly want. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
free shutttle to downtown right across a doubledeclker tourist bus stop (5$ per day to hop in) verygood gym inside
The weak points
everything is too pricey in there no beach near by
Certified

Melia Habana

, Port Stanley, ON
2011-02-16
We had a wonderful stay at the Melia Habana. We do not speak Spanish and had no trouble getting what we needed. The staff are awesome. There is a free shuttle to Old Havana which is a must to see a number of times. Old Havana is like nowhere else in the Caribbean. Its like Europe except it has better weather. If you don't want to take the shuttle its only $10CUC each way. Was surprised how cheap everything was at the hotel and in town. Food at the hotel was excellent and there lots of places to eat in Havana with good prices. The rumor about Cuba having bad food must be originating from some of the cheap resorts. Can't wait to go back again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean friendly and safe hotel. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful
The weak points
Didn't always get coffee for our coffee maker in our room
Certified

Awful hotel!

, Markham, ON
2010-07-09
This hotel is approx 15 years old but it hasn't been kept well. Washrooms and floors were dirty. Service staff had no desire to serve anyone. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Located accross from Trade Center. Very convenient if you are doing business there.
The weak points
The worse, besides the hotel bad shape, was putting up with the lack of service by staff.
Certified

Terrible!

, Markham, ON
2010-07-08
Hotel is run down. Floors and walls are dirty. Linens are old. Food was awful. Service was non-existant. Wi-Fi is sooo slow and you are being charged $8.-/min. Basically, hotel has 5star prices and 1star quality. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
I have nothing positive to say about the Melia Habana.
The weak points
Food description on the menus made it sound so good but the actual food was bad. We ordered a tiramisu that was melted. It looked and tasted like it had been sitting on the counter for hrs!
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Havana's best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Families Couples Seniors Beaches Singles

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021