Club Playa Giron

Club Playa Giron
3.173.173.173.173.17
The average rating for this hotel is not available at this time. No recent reviews have been submitted.
Traveller pictures (84)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Nice place

, Brampton, ON
2015-03-24
very friendly staff, [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
good place for diving
The weak points
less variety drinks for children
Certified

Don't go to Playa Giron, it is awful

, St-Lazare, QC
2012-04-30
The place is well past its sell by date, the rooms are of very poor quality even for 2.5 stars in Cuba. Had we known we would have used Casa Particulars at extra expense. The flight and transfers were fine and on time. I have toured west Africa and stayed in up country hostels better than this. A couple of the desk girls were nice but they fail to tell you thant the money exchange shuts at 16.00 which would have been useful. We went out west of Havana for two days to a hotel at Soroa, operated by the same people but which was 1000 times better, it was a relief to get away from the Gulag that is Playa Giron. When trash is scattered around the site and the maids just kick it to one side you know what sort fo service to expect, we forgot to thank them for the big dead Cockroach they left in our room for not tipping! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
None unless you are a birder like us.
The weak points
Decrepit, no water to buy for three days anywhere! food lousy, no worse.
Certified

Great Snorkelling

, New Lowell, ON
2012-04-03
The hotel was a little rough around the edges no nice view on beach as they have an ugly break wall but, a definate bonus was Caleta Buena and Purto Perdize they were both excellent day trips for snorkelling and beautiful places the food/drinks were included here the Gumas Bus is $3.00 cuc's round trip. We ate at someone's house which was a great experience and had lobster for $10.00cuc's you really get the Cuban feel at Playa Giron very authentic people very friendly. Was definately worth the $525.00/wk. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Snorkelling and Caleta Buena Purto Perdiz
The weak points
Break Wall - Food always the same but did find something to eat daily
Certified

A perfect getaway!

, London, ON
2012-03-20
A perfect small, quiet place where one can relax! Great staff willing to always help you. No crowds to worry about and with your own little home as your sleeping accommodations, one has great privacy. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
A quiet, small resort perfect for someone who needs an escape from the daily grind. It provides a great location where lineups for food, drinks are non existent. Great nearby places to explore for 3 conv. pesos where one can enjoy amazing scenery!
The weak points
the prostitution that is allowed to go on at the hotel. It was obvious and disturbing to watch older men with young local girls.
Certified

OK FOR PRICE PAID/BUT RESORT NEEDS IMPROVEMENT.

, Toronto, ON
2012-03-14
PLEASANT FRONT DESK STAFF,OK OVERALL SERVICE BUT CAN USE MUCH IMPROVEMENT. ROOM MAIDS WERE LAZY, DID NOT CARE ABOUT DOING A PROPER JOB.IF YOU WERE IN YOUR ROOM WHEN THEY KNOCKED, THEY TRIED TO CONVINCE YOU TO LET THEM COME BACK TOMORROW.THIS BEHAVIOUR WAS REPORTED TO THE FRONT DESK AND MANAGEMENT. ALWAYS FORGOT TO PUT SOAP,CLEAN TOWELS,EMPTY WASTE BASKET. MAIN BUFFET STAFF NEVER OFFERED TO BRING A GLASS OF WATER OR CLEAR USED PLATES AWAY, HENCE, NO SERVICE=NO TIPS.MAIN LOBBY BAR STAFF EXCELLENT COFFEES/EXPRESSOS=TIPS. IN SUMMARY GOVERNMENT NEEDS TO UPGRADE THIS PROPERTY OR RISK LOSING THE BULK OF BUSINESS=REPEAT CANADIAN CUSTOMERS.(FOR EXAMPLE, NEW BEDS,MATTRESSES,FULLY FUNCTIONING BATHROOM PLUMBING,AIR CONDITIONING,RESORT IN GENERAL STATE OF DISREPAIR/DECAY. MY SECOND STAY IN 2 YRS BUT WILL NOT RETURN.ONLY REASON FOR VISITS WAS LOWEST POSSIBLE PRICE PAID FOR ALL INCLUSIVE. IN MY EXPERIENCE OF OVER 20 YRS TRAVEL TO CUBA, MANY OTHER RESORTS WORTH STAYING AT. PAY THE FEW HUNDRED DOLLARS MORE FOR A PROPER VACATION.THIS PLACE SUITS THE SCUBA DIVING COMMUNITY FOR PROXIMITY TO GOOD DIVE SITES AND BUDGET TRAVELLERS PASSSING THROUGH THE BAY OF PIGS REGION ENROUTE TO OTHER LOCATIONS IN CUBA. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
FRONT DESK/LOBBY BAR STAFF MAKE THE PLACE FRIENDLY AND PLEASANT, THE ONLY SAVING GRACE.
The weak points
POORLY RUN RESORT BY CUBAN GOVERNMENT.BUT IN PARTICULAR,MAID ROOM CLEANING STAFF AND MAIN DINING ROOM STAFF DON'T CARE ABOUT PROVIDING ANY SERVICE WHATSOEVER=NO TIPS.RESORT RUNDOWN AND MIS-MANAGED.
Certified

Holiday

, Norwood, ON
2012-03-06
the taxi ride from the airport to the hotel left a lot to be desired
my luggage went with sunwing and I had to travel home with no winter coat the luggage was delivered to my home the next evening [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the weather was great
The weak points
trip from airport needs to be upgraded
Certified

Nightmare Vacation

, Mississauga, ON
2012-03-05
This was the worse vacation i have ever taken, I am aware that the hotel was only a 2.5 star but that is an overstatement it should not be even offered to tourists. The food was absolutely terrilbe. The 1st room I was given was beyond words and the second one was not much different, then on the next morning my son and his wife arrived so they offered us a 2 bedrood 2 bath bungalow which appeared to be acceptable until i discovered I had an infestation of the lizzards in my bathroom approx 5 - 7 of them which i complained about and when they discovered where they where coming from they stuffed toilet paper in the cracks to block them out ( 2 rolls of paper by the way). I was also bitten by sand fleas and had an allergic reaction to, I know that my allergy has nothing to do with the resort but they don't even spray to try and control them. therefore you can imagine this was not a pleasant vacation. Also is I was aware of the class of people going to this resort I would have not gone there were many how do i put this working ladies and tourists there for that purpose. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The XDr. was very kind
The weak points
everyting but the dr.
Certified

There for the diving

, Ottawa, ON
2011-06-01
Only go there for the excellent diving. People are wonderful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
friendliness; excellent dive operation
The weak points
poor cleanliness in dining room (especially the tablecloths - they're never changed and are incredibly dirty). There was no entertainment during this off season period. Our rooms were infested with crabs and we had to relocate. No wine available at meals
Certified

Very pleasant, peaceful and beautiful

, Lasalle, QC
2011-03-02
The locals are great, very safe place. Great if you dive. could have been a little more interactive and have more activities for the guests and at least one bus to go to havana. The food really wasnt that great but overall good experience. Not really a place for young people. Mostly french older people. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beautiful beaches and very friendly locals
The weak points
not enough activities
Certified

Playa Giron

, Waterloo, ON
2011-03-02
Very plain room. Weather was perfect, clear blue sky every day, 85F by 8:30AM. Many places for spectacular diving close by. Front desk had no money for money exchange after the first day. No water on 2 occasions. All in all a good trip, better than I expected. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
weather
The weak points
no money for exchange
Certified

Good Value but lacking in many areas

, Kitchener, ON
2011-02-09
This hotel had spacious rooms and a separate living room with it's own T.V. and fridge. The walk from the rooms to the cafeteria can be fairly long. I was disappointed that the hotel provided no orientation session on the first day. Such information would have been beneficial for not recommending to buy cigars from the beach vendor behind the pool since Cuban Customs confiscated them at the airport. The goats on the hotel grounds can be cute, but don't put anything outside that they could eat like bathing suits (really). The food was adequate but almost all vegetables were raw, so wash every meal down with an alcoholic drink. The daily Guama bus tour is a nice deal for $3/day. The boats/kayaks on the beach are good, but you must use them before closing time at 5pm. The hotel had no bicycles available to use. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice pool, spacious rooms, free boat rentals, good location, long beach.
The weak points
No welcome/orientation session, raw vegetables, no bicycles, lots of goat, horse droppings, poor lighting on outside hotel paths.
Certified

March Break

, Sunderland, ON
2010-03-21
Was pretty much what we expected. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Near by snorkling. The Cuban people are wonderful hosts to visitors to their country.
The weak points
Limited menu and front desk lack cash to exchange for us to offer tips. The Museum next door could use some English subtitles, but worth the visit.
Certified

The first and last time in 2-stars.

, Montreal-Nord, QC
2010-02-22
We were shocked with first impressions but it passed gradually. This hotel better mathes to the needs of Cuban peoples. The weather was not stable: cold for 2 days, hot for 2 days, rainy for 1 day, good for 2 days. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cofee at lobby bar was always fresh and good. If you will go to Caleta Buena beach for a day (shuttle costs 3 CUC) you will have a nice day: natural pool with many species of fish, diving and snorkeling are possible.
The weak points
Old, not nice looking hotel. The rooms are located in the plain field and far from all services. Entertainment is close to zero. The rom in the bars is cheap.
Certified

OK for price

, Whitby, ON
2010-01-17
Agent talked a lot about not being tipped by guests.
No clear information on what goes on at the hotel during the day for entertainment. The information board had the same info. daily yet there were more activities going on.
Do not leave valuables in rooms.
Very cold at this time of year with no heating and not enough blankets.
Very alarmed at the number of tourists that were allowed to have locals stay with them at the hotel for a small fee! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
value for money paid
The weak points
Security of valuables
Certified

Playa Giron Cuba

, Ajax, ON
2010-01-12
The location was lovely and the beach was great. Our room was adequate although the beds were quite uncomfortable..........actually the room was very dated but for the 8 hours spend in it it was o.k. Being a vegetarian I found it very difficult to eat well and I ended up having very little protein all week. The staff was polite but don't expect many to speak any english. We were travelling with our 6 year old who was one of the few children there. We enjoyed the scenery and the diving in the beautiful Carribean Sea. We would go back to Playa Giron..........just with more snacks packed next time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The location was beautiful. Rooms were clean but beds were not that comfortable.
The weak points
The food was less then expected and found it very difficult to eat well. I am a vegetarian and the choices for me were very slim.
Certified

Dated but beautiful area

, St Catharines, ON
2009-09-15
The hotel is dated with the sea walls in disrepair. The rooms were clean but also dated. Area diving and snorkeling is great with clear water and abundant marine life. The Bay of Pigs is a no fishing zone which insures this. If you are not fussy with older resorts and love exploring nature , Giron is your place. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great snorkeling and diving.
The weak points
Older buildings and seawall in disrepair.
Certified

Great value for the price

, Ottawa, ON
2009-06-11
In my life, I have stayed in student hostels and in 5 star resorts and I can say that, for the money, you get more than what you pay for at Club Playa Giron. If you like a quiet place to relax and catch up on your reading, this is the place. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
It is a nice quiet out of the way resort with a lot of space. No cell phone connection and no internet, which means you can totally disconnect yourself from the rest of the world!!!! Try it, you will love it.
The weak points
Evening entertainment a bit amateurish. Not much variety in the drinks.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021