Memories Paraiso

Memories Paraiso
3.533.533.533.533.53
3.53 based on 1491 reviews
#12 of 24 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cayo Santa Maria
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (358)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Hotel need renovation

, Lorraine, QC
2020-03-06
The room need renovation, the drinks and the beach and the pool were no taste, the food in the buffet was cold and a lot of time empty, no fruit, no vegetable, the mini bar was empty and they give you one cerveza or cola at a time, no paper toilet in the bathroom at the beach and the pool.... but the beach was amazing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach, room maid
The weak points
room, food, drink,
Certified

Stay away from building 31 room 3176 Feb 11-21

, Pierrefonds, QC
2020-02-22
So we arrived at 12:30am. Didn't take long at all to check in. They put us on the third floor. We walked in the room there was a terrible smell, after inspecting everything in the room with my phone flash light cause the lights were very very dim I saw 5 cockroach in the room. The walls were black the blanket had blood stains and the best the lights were flickering. I went to the lobby and argued that this was my 4 time in Cuba and this is the worst of the worst. I was shaking crying hysterical telling the guy I can't stay in this room. The guy whom is name is Hermes was very very understanding with me and told me come back at 9:00 am and I will change your room to building 33 room 3314. It was a beautiful room no SMELL NO BLOOD STAINS NO COCKROACHES AND NO FLICKERING LIGHTS. I am very grateful for Hermes to have changed our room and made our stay a much much more pleasurable stay. THANKS AGAIN Hermes for understanding how terrified I was. Now I know why you seeing ratings 1 and some are ratings 5. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
My strong point was that I was very grateful for meeting Hermes he is so understanding and caring for is customers. You are the best Hermes.
The weak points
Building 31 should be CLOSED till they clean it up and get rid of ALL the cockroaches. Smell blood stains etc etc.

Hit and miss

, Toronto, ON
2020-02-16
Hotel is showing its age in the rooms and lobby, 3/4 beds too small for 2 normal size adults, food is bland apart from the grill which had fresh fish, meats, etc. Only toaster in the Buffett is ancient and slow, couldn't get bread toasted after 5 rounds. Stayed in building 35, great access to pools and beach. No French fries at all, hard with 2 picky kids. 24 hour snack grill is only pizza, which was excellent however they ran out of dough on day 3 for a while. Nice gardens, tropical looking, theatre had kids show at 8 every night. Some staff were friendly, not all. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice pools, easy access to beautiful beach and market. Snack bar at the beach with great hamburgers. Lots of loungers at the beach with shade.
The weak points
Some times no coke for the kids, no beach towels, no pizza, no white wine, no coffee packs for the room, hard to find a clean table at the Buffett.
Certified

Disappointed

, Hamilton, ON
2020-02-14
In a nut shell .. I know it's Cuba and the food and drinks are not the greatest but this resort (for me)..hit an all time low..except the beach!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach was beautiful,
The weak points
Very disappointed in the staff..most where miserable, beds were horrible, food was the worst , half the time no toilet paper, very run down
Certified

Poor service, dirty, not for small children

, Edmonton, AB
2020-02-07
Came with husband and 7 month old daughter and upon entering our room found it was filthy and had a couple large cockroaches running around. By filthy I mean toilet had diarrhea stains running down outside porcelain, bedskirt not even tucked in like someone had slept in it, towels were grey not white. Switched rooms.

New room didn't have cockroaches that we saw but did have a suspicious white stain on the red sheet. We didn't have beach towels or do not disturb signs and were ran around 3 days trying to get it. Service terrible kept getting redirected to housekeeping, pool, reception and back. Eventually we had to argue with pool to get towels.

Our 7 month old needed bottled water for formula. We brought a kettle to boil water in our room. We asked on day one for 4 bottles so we didn't have to all each day and so we wouldn't run out. The answer was always "no, no,no" we ended up having to "steal" bottled water from kitchen. They only give one bottled water each day per room ONLY if you are in your room to accept it $$ and they can't even tell you what time the water boy will be there.

Expectation of staff is to recieve a tip before providing service. Give money then ask and hope for the best. We expected to tip but have never needed to tip before we recieved service before.

Also I had dirty baby clothes and blankets which I wanted to pay their laundry service to have cleaned. No way Jose. Our room different have a special form to fill out for laundry and it was 3 days (and running back between reception and housekeeping countless times) before we got one. Then the form didn't have baby items only skirts pants e.t.c so housekeeping didn't accept it. I ended up washing items by hand in bathtub but hanging them on balcony a storm came overnight and blew them away. Lost half the items and the remaining landed on dirt. (Day 4 of 7) hotel then said they'd wash remaining items for free. Gave them to housekeeping. Next day asked housekeeping for items ... they left them in closet .. wet, dirty, in a closed plastic bag because " I didn't fill out any form and baby items weren't on the form anyway, I must go back to reception" essentially no one communicated with non English speaking housekeeping that those items were supposed to be taken and cleaned for free without any forms.

Too late anyway because we only had 2 days left so I gave up EXTREMELY FRUSTRATED!

If I didn't have a small baby and I had tipped Before asking for any help or service perhaps it might have been reasonable to stay there If you don't mind filth. Bring toilet paper, bring sanitizer for room, bring own pillow, and bring diarrhea pills in case of food poisoning. We were ok but I did see cockroaches among food trays a couple times and before we upgraded to grand memories we ate at paraiso which was way more filthy. Same hotel just fancier restaurant and cost us 100 bucks to upgrade (worth it).

Just be aware of what to expect and maybe avoid this place with small children too. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Coffee, alcohol, beach amazing. If service was improved and cleanliness it would be almost 4 stars
The weak points
Service, cleanliness, old, communication, tips expected Before service provided not after. Internet paid by hour 1 cuc
Certified

No go

, Halifax, NS
2020-02-01
The tv, fridge and phone all a no go. The butler tells you to call if you need anything, no way to call him. No wake up at checkout. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, staff
The weak points
Really needs a lot of repair.
Certified

New year getaway

, Hamilton, ON
2020-01-15
Memories Cayo Santa Maria [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Improvements needed

, St Laurent, QC
2020-01-06
Improvements are needed, many usual services are not available, no buffet or decent food on beach, no lights on alleys can get run over by hotel cars, buildings are very outdated, food is running out such as cheese, nasty looking water basins. Nails, electric wires and other iron things sticking out. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful surroundings, well maintained gardens, nice pool, amazing beach, good services, people were very nice and helpful
The weak points
Dilapidated buildings, bridge to beach has many broken and missing steps, electric wires and nails sticking out, dangerous! Unpleasant sighting of smudges everywhere, rust, running out of food and electricity constantly, kid club refuse kids to make braid
Certified

We will not return to this resort

, St. Paul, AB
2019-11-15
We were very disappointed with this resort. We would not give it more than 2 stars. It was very dirty, the rooms had lots of issues with lights and fans not working. No phones in the room. Only certain rooms had coffee makers, and once you used the coffee supplied no more was restocked. The worst part of our trip was the resort was filled with RUDE Russians. They would butt in line, grab utensils out of our hands at the buffet....absolutely horrible. There is a little market right off of the resort-they sell little souvenirs. If you want to buy bottles of booze there DON'T!! Go to the duty free at the airport---believe me, I wish someone had told us how much more $$ we would pay at the resort. The Italian al a carte is very good...with very polite wonderful waitresses-the lasagna is wonderful! The beach and the ocean are absolutely beautiful, but the sand fleas/sand mites are absolutely horrible. We are all covered in bites head to toe - and not sure how to stop the itch. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The pool bar staff are very nice. The ocean and the beach are incredibly beautiful. The Italian al a carte was very good with a wonderful waitress
The weak points
Rooms are not clean. Buffet is usually so packed we had to fill up our plates and eat outside. Had to ask for everything we needed at the buffet...from forks, to glasses, to water. Sand fleas are absolutely horrible-bitten everywhere
Certified

Amazing stay

, Toronto, ON
2019-04-27
Hotel got an amazing view, I was not expecting for a 5 star accommodation because Just paid for a 4 star accommodation, it was not too bad. Anyways service was excellent. The guys even offered us fresh coconut while we were having fun in the swimming pool area [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We really enjoyed our stay in this place especially the well maintained swimming pool, workers are very nice and respectful which made us felt comfortable.food was so good, want to go back there
The weak points
Out dated washrooms everywhere but it was not really a big deal to me. What more important was the beach, swimming pool, people and food
Certified

VERY GOOD

, Toronto, ON
2019-04-06
The beach is the strongest part. Room was O.K. The maintenance was appropriate. The food was pretty good, in comparison to average Cuba's offer! We had fish, shrimps, even lobsters.... plenty of meet entries, veggies, salads, sweet stuff, fruits, wine, beer, champagne, juices, yogurt...etc. The best support guests get from the one of the management's staff member, named Nacho. Entertainment was excellent! I do suggest this resort for relax and joy! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, see, entertainment, Nacho!
The weak points
Toilet at the pool. Tips, all over....Weak Internet signal...

Not impressed

, Whitewood, SK
2019-02-01
Upon arrival, check in was smooth and fast. We were driven to our bungalow building and they stopped to show us where we could go for supper. When we first arrived at the bungalow, it was apparent it need maintenance and repairs. The hand railing going up the the building was loose and wobbly. One side didn't even have a hand rail at all. The room in general looked average but we soon saw there was a lot that was in poor condition. The cupboard the safe was on, had broken draw fronts which made the cupboard, unusable. The safe itself was in good working order. The cupboard that the fridge was in didn't have a handle or knob, so that cupboard had to be left open at all times. The fridge was also in good working order and stocked with one large bottle of water, one can of beer and one can of pop. In the bathroom we found the toilet seat was held on by one screw and the seat shape, round, did't match the bowl shape which meant you sat on a portion of the porcelain bowl every time and one flush button didn't work. The silicone around the bath tub had mold growing on it and the shower head sprayed water out the part that connects to the hose. We looked at it and found it just needed an o ring to create a better seal. It was reported to customer service but was never fixed. The walls were covered with scuffs and poor drywall repairs and needed to be spruced up. The mattresses were very plain and not very comfy either.
Then we headed down for the buffet supper, there was ample room and tables but over the week we found many chairs arms were broken and several tables wobbled. The food was average. There were several areas to get food but we also noticed many stations were not in use. The selection of foods were okay for adults, but very few selections for kids. They also had stations were they would cook to order eggs and omelettes and in the evenings, fish (excellent), beef (poor cuts and chewy) and chicken, which I didn't try. But these stations created a lot of smoke and haze which filled the eating area due to the fact, they never turned on the exhaust fans over head. These areas also used a lot of oils which made the stations greasy and not clean. The service here was good. Although the buffet had washrooms just outside the main entrance, they were usually locked which meant to had to walk all the way to the lobby to use the washrooms.
When you did find a washroom that was open, not out of order or closed, they were in very poor conditions. Most stall doors didn't have a lock or latch. Several didn't have toilet seats. And the availability of toilet paper was dismal. You would find several toilets with broken flush handles which left the toilet full of fecal matter, urine and plugged. You were also lucky if you found soap at the sink and faucets that were secure to the sinks. The washrooms all over the resort were like this. The washrooms at the main theater I refused to used due to the distinguishing conditions.
In the lobby area, was a bar that was open 24 hours and service here was good. They had one drink menu for selection, but could make just about anything you asked for. There was usually some sort of music playing or singers there. As for the evening entertainment, it didn't start til 9:30 in the evening and when we had to be up before 7am, to go eat and be picked up for an excursion, we didn't go to any shows. It was just way to late to enjoy. I can tell you that it would have been very loud as to hearing the music and announcer into the we hours of the night.
Later that evening we tried to explore the resort but had to do it in the dark. On the walking paths numerous lamps were not working. One stretch we counted 14 lamps out. Many people were using the flashlight on their phones to see. We also found the signage at the resort poor. It took us two hours to find the snack bar and when we arrived we were disappointed. There was no menu to see what selections they had. As far as we could tell, they served burgers and ham and cheese sandwiches. Another snack bar served only pizza, which we never tried. Later in the week, we seen people eating french fries and were told you had to ask for them but they were hit and miss if they had some.
The next day we managed to find the board walk to the beach but again by fluke as there were no signs stating where to go. But I must say the beach was the most beautiful I have ever seen. The beach was very clean and the water crystal clear. Lots of chairs and shade were available. The huge draw back were what they called "sand fleas or no see bugs". We had several bites just from one visit to the beach, they got very itchy and bug spray didn't deter them and benadryl didn't touch the itch. We seen several people that looked like they had chicken pox due to the amount of bites they had covering them. So we spent more time at the pool.
The pool area was large and lots of chairs available, we soon found that several were broken though but kept in use anyway. But people didn't respect the area, leaving it riddles with plastic cups, cigarette butts everywhere and plates from the snack bar. The bar service was good but again, no drink menu to make selections from.
In our room, 2 days later, we came back to find a huge puddle in our room. We found the water was dripping out from the side of one of the pot lights in the ceiling. We went down to customer service and reported it and they told us it was likely from the air conditioner. We assumed the drain hose had detached or was plugged. They told us to put the garbage can under it till maintenance came to look at it. After two days of hearing drip, drip, drip, drip and not maintenance coming to fix it, we asked to change rooms which they were happy to do. The next room was just like the first but the ceiling fan didn't work and the sink drain was half plugged. And speaking of water leaking and damage, one morning while we waited for our bus to arrive, a large chunk of drywall from the ceiling came crashing down. Luckily no one was under it. You could see where another crack was starting and water was dripping from the hole that was left.
As for wi-fi, you could buy a card for one hour for one peso. But the connection was very poor. There were 6 phone booths in the room but she said no of them worked to call home on. I have a samsung phone and none of my messages would go through. But my Sister had and i phone which worked fine. So you can say we were not impressed at all with this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beaches
The weak points
Washroom conditions Maintenance Safety issues
Certified

The people are amazing!

, St. Catharines, ON
2018-11-13
Overall we had a nice experience. The people were so friendly and the beach was spectacular. The food wasn't that bad (as food goes in Cuba) and it was very clean everywhere we went. The nightly shows were fun to watch. As with everything, you gotta take the good with the bad. There were no lights in the hallway and my son fell up the stairs while the bellboys laughed. The fridge was not stocked. There were 4 of us and 3 VERY SMALL beds. There was only 1 day where there were clean towels to exchange at the pool [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pool was gorgeous and the people were so incredibly friendly
The weak points
In-Room fridge didn't get stocked consistently and there were no towels at the pool to exchange for 4 days. No lights in the hallways
Certified

Fantastic family resort

, Pointe-Claire, QC
2018-04-16
This is what a family resort IS. All the staff is very professional from the front desk to the landscapers and everyone in between. They all go out of their way to make sure everyone in your group as the best of time. Last's year hurricane season left the area damaged but they have worked hard to bring back the resort to its prestige shape. We were a group of 4 families (11 kids) and we all had a great time I recommend this resort to anyone who wants the best for their family.

Dave - pool manager, Osneil bartender at pool, Oro activities director, Ena activities director, Hermes front desk, Jorge sailing guide, Lazara & Sandra dining room buffet and also the big guy mister DG - plus more staff a big thank you to making this a great week!

We'll be back next year for sure

The big Papy [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The regular buffet, activities for the kids, fast wi-fi, fast service and restaurant and bars. Fantastic hot dogs and burgers and pool and beach snack bar

Memories paraiso

, Winnipeg, MB
2018-04-08
First time in Cuba, absolutely loved the beach. Breathtaking. The food was very good with a lot of selection , best part, grills to get food cooked in front of you. Easy access to eating area, pool and beach. All staff are lovely... esp in Buffett - Jorge . Our lovely hard working Claudia... entertainment team at pool so lovely, ORO, David and Jesus... always went out of there way to say hello ...
The al la carte restauraunts were spectacular, our fAvourite the emporium where we had a Lobster that was magnificent . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great people , hard working staff. Easy assess to beach and eating area( ask for bungalow 35).
The weak points
Long bus ride from airport
Certified

Memories - March 2018

, Lachine, QC
2018-03-26
Staff were friendly and tried to accommodate as best as they could. Wait staff in buffet were very attentive. Hotel is clean but could use a paint job and some more repairs from the hurricane damage. Cappuccinos are fabulous. Beach had ample shade palms and good for long walks. A bathroom closer to hotel on beach would have been helpful. Twice water shut off for a good part of the day. About average Cuban experience for us (6th time in Cuba). Nice to have the catamaran and paddleboats as part of the hotel package. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, buffet staff, cappuccinos, friendly staff, excellent talent in entertainment
The weak points
Food variety, water stoppage, repairs needed, shuttle cars on site drive too quickly, internet connection limited to lobby and slow
Certified

Great resort

, Montréal, QC
2018-03-18
This is one of the nicest resorts I have experienced. I feel it deserves high marks in every category - room, grounds, entertainment, food, service, maintenance,.... Promo photos are accurate - no disappointments there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
I enjoyed excellent capuchinos at the garden terrace, chocolate martinis at the lobby bar. The sitting areas are great. Entertain-ment was better than most Cuban hotels - varied - included pro dancers, great Cuban bands, single/duo musicians, etc.
The weak points
The only real complaint I had was unnecessary noise. It is a common problem at resorts - loud music at the pool, beach bars, etc.
Certified

6th Time and Better Than Ever

, Hillsdale, NS
2018-03-08
This was my sixth time going to this resort. Out of all of my trips this trip I enjoy the most. Between the absolutely amazing staff with honarary mentions to Ray at the beach bar, Oro with entertainment, osniel and Alejandro at the pool bar, our favorite waiter Alfredo, Javier with the excursion desk and many more I will never forget my amazing time!! The food was much better then every trip prior, hello pizza bar and the bbq at the pool was divine!! My room was gorgeous but tired. 4 coffee pots and never did receive one that worked. The room had a few issues but nothing a person couldn't live without! You don't go to Cuba to be in your room. My biggest disappointment was the diamond club gig! My previous 3 trips diamond club was amazing but this trip I felt I got nothing that nobody else didn't. I always bring new friends with me and can't wait to come back and bring more!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff and service 100% Pools and beach
The weak points
Rooms
Certified

Amazing first time to Cuba!

, Lake Echo, NS
2018-02-04
This hotel was a wonderful expierence all around can't wait to go back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, beautiful beach, great food, clean!
The weak points
A lot of walking (but there are electric cars to take you around). Beds are really firm.
Certified

Grossly misrepresented

, Ottawa, ON
2017-12-28
We booked our vacation at the memories paraiso resort. The travel website neglected to mention that this resort was devastated by the hurricane and so when we arrived we were transferred to a completely different resort. It was disappointing to be transferred to a resort which we did not specifically pay for. The booking agent misrepresented this vacation because she sold a vacation knowing full well that our family would not be going there. The company sells you one thing and you receive another thing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Very poor

, La Ronge, SK
2017-05-10
poor service , terrible beds , dirty , should be rated a 1 star at best . Great beach but thats not the hotels . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great beach
The weak points
poor poor service to get a drink , dirty , nothing like its is described to be . One pool table for 1000 people , one basketball hoop . Bring Advil to kill the pain the beds give . Better to sleep on the floor . Nothing good to say .

Not worth the money

, Montreal, QC
2017-04-21
Bad services, worst than the usual Cuban 4 star resort type of services. Most of the stuff either borderline rude or simply pretending they were busy unless tipped for every single service. I'm not talking about service beyond the standard such us poring a drink, cleaning the room, getting another bottle of water in the room. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach and great location
The weak points
The hotel needs a LOT of maintenance done. Incompetent staff.
Certified

Excellent for preschool aged kids

, Aylesford, NS
2017-04-13
Check in was a nightmare. We arrived at noon, and were told that check in was not until 4pm. The man told us to put our luggage in the locked storage room and go have lunch at the buffet and then check back with him. Well, the storage room was full, and the buffet was closed until 1pm. Finally after 2 hours, another gentleman working at the front desk offered us a different room (different building, and first floor instead of 3rd). We took it. Turns out, the building was close to the lobby, pool, theatre for entertainment and beach, so it was perfect.
There were beach towels already in the room. The mini fridge was not stocked when we arrived, but got stocked daily after that. Room had 2 double sized beds, futon couch and was fairly spacey.
We've been south 9 times, 5 of those to cuba, but this was our first time to Cayo Santa Maria. I must say, this beach had the WHITEST SOFTEST sand I have ever seen! Beach was clean. Lots of beach chairs, and 2 workers cleaning beach chairs and would deliver them to wherever you wanted to sit.
Pools were clean, and perfect size! Shallow end for kids, which got progressively deeper at the other end, and another pool that had a pool bar.
Entertainment was excellent! ENA from the entertainment team was phenomenal. She was soooo attentive to the kids and got them excited about everything. Lots of games and competitions around the pool, including a pizza party and ice cream party. Also, a special visit from Binoo and Minnie Mouse. They had a foam party around the pool, and made sure to invite the kids over first. It was excellent.
Evening/night entrainment was great. Live Toopie and Binoo show and Disney show for the kids. The Michael Jackson show was magnificent. Professional dancers and acrobats. A definite must-see.
The Italian a-là-carte restaurant was delicious. The buffet was ok. Omelette stations were great, and meat grills were awesome, but long line-ups. Fries, pizza, hotdogs for the kids. However, like any buffet, most of the food was repetitive and bland (as it is anywhere in cuba).
They had soft ice cream at the 24-hour bar, but only for 2 days, then they ran out and didn't get any more. The pool side BBQ grill burgers were great. However, none during the weekend, which was sort of disappointing. The lady working there however, was great. Very friendly and you could tell she loved her job. She goes by J-Lo.
Overall a great resort. We would go back! Great value for your money! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Entertainment team, especially Ena! Live Toopie and Binoo show, cartoon characters around the pool, foam party. Entertainment was excellent!
The weak points
Check in was terrible!
Certified

Terrible

, Tracadie-Sheila, NB
2017-03-11
Should be a 3 stars. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
Tower changing, no running water for 3 days, brocken chairs,dirty, lack of staff, lack of maintenance, lack of activities, not well lit at night, food just terrible.
Certified

Not the worst

, Saint-Eustache, QC
2017-03-10
Compound way too big. Too much walking up and down hill and way too many stairs to get around. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very nice staff.
The weak points
Distances are huge and over 100 stairs to get around. Beach has alot of plants.
Certified

Memories Paraiso

, Toronto, ON
2017-02-25
Old outdated hotel but clean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great beach, clean room and surrounding
The weak points
Outdated
Certified

N'y aller PAS

, Gatineau, QC
2017-02-23
Par crainte que vous pensiez que je me plains pour rien, je connais vraiment Cuba. J'ai fait 9 voyages à Cuba. Des complexes trois étoiles et plus. Malheureusement, Memories Paraiso n'est définitivement plus un 4.5 mais plutôt un 3 et encore. Si vous êtes habitué à des 3 étoiles et que le prix est bon, allez-y. Si vous payez pour un 4.5* allez ailleurs en courant. Selon les informations obtenues, il semble que la resort a été subdivisé en janvier 2017. Il y a Memories, Grand Memorie et Sanctuary maintenant. Votre bracelet Memories blanc vous permet d'aller au Grand Memories, mais personne ne vous le dira. La bouffe et le service y sont meilleurs. Dans la section Memories vendue comme un 4.5*, vous n'aurez AUCUN service. N'appelez pas la réception pour faire remplir votre frigo, ou faire changer les draps, ou faire réparer votre téléphone ou même déboucher une toilette. Vous n'obtiendrez RIEN. Vous serez complètement ignorés.

Je connais des gens qui y sont allé a répétition pendant des années mais pour eux c'est finit. Le Memories n'est qu'une ombre de ce qu'il a déjà été.

Nous étions 3 couples. L'un deux était même CLUB DIAMOND. Désastre. En plus d'avoir payé 500$ de plus par personne pour le Club, ils ont obtenu le MÊME service que nous. Un vrai vol. Je n'exagère aucunement. Tous les gens rencontrés durant la semaine avaient le même traitement.

CHAMBRE:
Le couple Club Diamond on reçu leur chambre avec des draps fraichement tachés de sang à leur arrivé et une serviette hygiénique tâchée dans la poubelle. Ils n'ont jamais obtenu de drap propre. Il a fallu les subtilisés du chariot de la femme de chambre, et ce après 3 jours. Aucun frigo n'a JAMAIS été rempli. Pas moyen d'obtenir de bouteille d'eau pourtant fournie dans la description du forfait. Nous avons parlé au représentant Air Canada, à la gérante, nous avons parlé à la réception, nous avons parlé au service à la clientèle, et ce de façon très gentille. RIEN.

TOILETTES PUBLIQUES
Les toilettes dans les aires communs sont soient barrées ou dégoutantes à l'extrême. Aucune toilette utilisable au Grill. Tous barrées. 4 toilettes sur 6 étaient barrées au buffet et les toilettes des hommes barrés à la piscine. À quel endroit devons-nous aller lorsque l'on sort de la table ou que font les gens qui boivent à la piscine pendant toute la journée? Ceux qui sont utilisables n'ont pas de papier. Elles se retrouvent donc bouchées, car les gens prennent le papier à main pour s'essuyer et flush. BINGO! Une autre de bloqué et personne ne s'en occupera.

BOUFFE:
Jamais je n'ai eu à soudoyer pour obtenir des frites. Au resto LA Grill, elles sont cachées derrière les comptoirs. Vous devez demander et on vous dira qu'il n'y en a pas. Vous tipper et vous en obtiendrai. Le GRILL ainsi que le SNACK BAR sur la plage n'a pas beaucoup à offrir. Vous aurez faim. Vous voulez de la chair blanche de poulet, vous la trouverez au buffet du Grand Memories. Le Memories à de la bouffe de 3*. Vraiment vraiment décevant.

DRINKS
La bière Crystal, bière populaire de Cuba, était inexistante sur toute la resort les deux derniers jours que nous étions là. Il ne restait que la bière forte bucanero fuerte en bouteille que l'on versait dans des verres. Plus aucune draft. Le rhum Mulata est le seul rhum servi au bar. Incapable d'avoir du Havana Club comme partout ailleurs dans les autres Resort. Le Rhum Coke n'était pas buvable. Nous avons acheté notre propre rhum et avons fait nos mix.

Au moins, la température et la plage restent des incontournables. Je retournerai à Cayo Santa Maria, mais je retournerai au Melia Las Dunas ou au Iberostar ensenachos. Ce sont tout les deux des valeurs sures.

MEMORIES NO MORE [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Plage
The weak points
Toilettes publiques dégoutantes. Service à la clientèle inexistant ou indiférent. Manque de nourriture ou redondante.

Worth looking elsewhere.

, Orleans, ON
2017-02-20
Basically, if you are looking for a cheap vacation where room conditions, overall cleanliness and below average food (for Cuba) are acceptable, then this might be the place for you.

I have been to Cuba once before so knew what to expect. We were also traveling with people who have visited Cuba many times (family in Havana). I believe my expectations were not too high. This is Cuba and a 4 star in Cuba is not a 4 star elsewhere.

If you look at the website for this resort, imagine all of the nice features in the pictures but without maintenance for many years. That should give you an idea of what to expect.

POSITIVES:
1. Beach/ocean are really nice. Beach is clean and water is absolutely amazing. At low tide, the beach is 3x as big and a sand bar allows you to venture far into the ocean. Note that there are barracuda's in the water - we saw 2 while snorkeling around the sand bar.

2. Staff. The staff were really nice and tried hard to make the week fun. Our maid did everything she could to help. The staff at the bars, especially the pool bar were always great - they were really nice with the kids. Staff in the restaurant were fine,though seemed to have little training. BUT they have limited supplies and resources to do what they should be doing. Especially around cleaning and maintenance.

3. Cappuccino is a standout. Surprisingly, it was really really good. Same with Spanish & Cuban coffee's. The Mojitos are at the opposite end of the taste spectrum...

4. Catamaran excursion was fun. We did 2 one hour snorkeling sessions, dolphins and lunch. The food at lunch was filling; lobster was decent. But note that what they show you on the plane is just a small selection. You can do a shorter Catamaran excursion without lunch and dolphins for a cheaper price. We did save ~$10 per person by booking on the plane though. Bring gravel if you get sea sick :).

NOT POSITIVE:
1. Rooms / Bathroom. If mold is something that is OK with you, then you are in heaven. The 3 rooms we had all had extensive mold issues in the bathrooms. If not showering for a week was an option, I would have opted for that. It was beyond cleaning - it requires replacement. While I didn't find mold in the room, it's not great either. Of the 3 rooms, 1 TV worked, 1 only went to channel 9 and I only got mine working mid week. Not that TV's are overly important but they are useful to keep kids happy while showering, etc. Remember, no internet. None of the phones worked either...at all.

2. Broken. Endless things are broken. In some of the site pictures, you will see nice wooden boardwalks to the beach. Well, reality is that you cannot walk more than 3 feet without a broken board, nails popping out or some other issue. Sandals pretty much mandatory if you care about your feet. Same goes for so many other things. steps, railing, walkways are broken with rebar showing, everything around the pools, etc...sad.

3. Shortages. It became our motto - They don't have it, they ran out or it's broken. Sort of funny. It was comical how many things they ran out of. Even sugarcane sticks that came with the coffee....sugarcane from an island made of it... However, they never ran out plastic cups at the bar.

4. Pool towels. We got 2 in the room, even though we booked for 4...Same for the other 2 rooms. Front counter said they would try to get us 2 more "sometime today". This was noon and we wanted to go to the pool....We eventually were able to source 2 more. Keep them close as that is all you'll get. Forget about trying to exchange for clean ones. The towel room always had the sign "no more towels". They did have 20 on the last day we were there...but gone faster than Tragically Hip tickets....

5. Food. Including the a la carte options. Lower your expectations. Lower some more. You'll be fine now. The eggs and pasta stations are good choices where they make it for you. Slow, but better than the prepared options. Pancakes... Think of a good pancake, take all of the moisture out and flatten. There you go. Except for Tuesday where they were just like home...go figure. Toast - 3 of out 7 days. Must have run out. Emporium was the worst. Italian was the best. Mediterranean and Mexican in the middle. AVOID THE BEEF. Chicken, pork are much better options.

6. Washrooms. Expect many to be broken, missing toilet sets (female and male) or no toilet paper. Check before using....

7. Resource services: Site says diving. They had 1 tank by the pool on Thursday, but no diving. The TV in the lobby even shows pool volleyball....but no net (we asked). Basketball, tennis courts I am sure were nice long ago.

8. Kids camp. Site says kids camps for <7, 7-12 and 13 . Seems only good for under seven. We dropped by...one room had some young kids playing a a guy making sure they could not leave, another empty room and what looked like a working washroom. they did have someone walking around trying to get kids involved. She seemed excited about kids.

9. Pool & beach loungers. If you want one on the beach, get there by 6:30. They get taken quickly, even if people don't actually go to the beach until noon. 80% of the loungers are also broken (slates, incline, etc). use the towel to prevent pinching of the skin.

10. Banks. They are slow. Like stupid slow.Expect ~15 minutes per person. There is one in the resort and another in the market, which just happens to be at the far end of the resort. But, they are very very slow. We changed some money at the front counter. You pay 4-5% more on the exchange, but save time. It was worth it to me.

I could go one, but you probably get the idea by now. It was probably very nice year ago...but when you don't do the basic maintenance, things break down...

SHOWS:
The Michael Jackson show was fun. The Disney show requires a lot of rum prior to watching. And note the Looney Toons soundtrack that goes with the Disney show... :)

NOTES:
1. Power - rooms are 220V. Most cell chargers work with these and you can charge them. However other things like a hair dryer require converters. Many sites say Cuba is 110V...but not the hotels.

2. Bring something to drink from. Makes life easier at the beach and pool.

3. Bring insect repellent and after bite. You'll need it and be thankful you did.

GRAND MEMORIES:
This resort is attached to Memories and has full access to it, whereas memories guests don't have access to Grand. The grand memories pool is near the kids camp. The loungers are really nice...and not broken. Covered my bracelet and stayed there for a few hours while the kids enjoyed their pool. Cleaner, but no swim up bar (guess you cannot have everything). The main bar at grand was much nicer as well. Had the opportunity to get a drink there by going with someone from that side of the resort. I don't know how much more it is, but probably worth looking into. Don't know what the rooms are like, but would think there is less rot and mold...

Anyways, is this resort worth your money? I don't know. We paid 3400 for 2 adults and 2 kids. It was a cheap vacation for sure. But had I known the actual condition of the resort, I would have opted to go elsewhere and pay more.

So, if cost is the main deciding factor and you can live with whatever else, this might be the right place. For me, I was disappointed and wished I had gone elsewhere.

Perhaps I didn't research enough. I wish our agent would have provided some further details about what we were getting into.

I will never go back. Worth spending more, to me at least. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and Staff
The weak points
Everything else.
Certified

Needs alot of work

, Langdon, AB
2017-02-11
We have been to this resort 3 years ago and had an amazing time. So we wanted to take our 3 yr old grand daughter with us.The resort is in so much need of TLC.Maybe because we have been there before and we have higher expectations. But will not use the carrier ever again. Delayed flight 2 hr on tarmac then off the plane then on the plane. We were to fly out of Cuba at 515pm never left till almost 730pm have to stop in Winnipeg for fuel the Edmonton and then Calgary arrived at 600am and we were to arrive home at 11 35pm the night before. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The weather was nice.
The weak points
not a good experience will not stay at this chain again. Bug bites, big resort no enough carts to move people around the resort. Not a lot of light at night. Fridge not filled for 3 days
Certified

Memories cayo santa maria

, Brampton, ON
2017-01-29
Beautiful beach and pools. Staff were friendly. Our room was not wat we expected, our phone did not work. Front desk didnt do anything about it. Wifi very weak unless your on it early and only works in lobby. We went with our 17 month old and they always had stuff going on for kids. Lota of activities for parents with small children. The night shows weee very nice and entertaining. It was a good resort for our family it had something for everyone. The staff serving drinks on the beach were excellent!! Buffet food was a 5/10 [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021