Angsana Cayo Santa Maria

Angsana Cayo Santa Maria
4.264.264.264.264.26
4.26 based on 98 reviews
#8 of 24 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cayo Santa Maria
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (250)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Quiet Gem in Cuba

, North Bay, ON
2022-05-16
Angsana Cayo Santa Maria was the perfect Post Covid getaway for us. The smaller resort hosted a variety of areas to enjoy. Most complain about the long bus ride from the airport, but it was interesting to see the small towns and villages along the way along with the extensive causeway that leads to the resort. With two white sand beaches complete with beach bars, and access to an abundance of chairs and sunny/shaded areas, it made for a perfect getaway. Going in May, there were not as many visitors which made it very comfortable and enjoyable. The food at all areas (restaurant/buffet/snack bar) was as expected - Nothing extraordinary but very well done and presented. Pizza, chicken, beef (steaks) pulled pork, cheese, several types of juice and an egg chef were all had. The dinner theme nights are a must for a slightly higher quality dining experience. Cuban night hosted a pig roast with all the extras! All the staff were on board to make this night special for everyone. The cabana we stayed in had some slight AC issues, but this was fixed in a hurry with no other issues. All the staff went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. Snorkeling at the beach was exciting as we saw several types of fish and coral areas... no need to pay for all day excursions ! Found a star fish at the "secret beach". Overall, this resort is a hidden gem for those wanting to relax without the "party goers" and loud younger crowds found at some other resorts in Cuba. I would go back and would definitely recommend this resort to those over 30 or anyone wanting to chill and take it all in. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beaches, smaller resort, 24hr snack bar, cabana ocean view rooms, secret beach, dinner theme nights, cuban celebration pig roast.
The weak points
AC was broken in our room when we arrived and needed to be looked at several times before it was fixed (the fuse breaker kept popping). Food is "average" for Cuba. You had to keep going up to front desk to renew your internet (5 hr password).
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2022-06-03
Dear Shelley Young, On behalf of the entire Angsana family, we would like to thank you for sharing your experince, the beauty of the resort and its staff, but also the aspects in which we can improve as the A/C. Day by day, we do our best to make each of our guests feel at home, so your detailed review it is a plus to move forward and improve ourselves as much as possible. We will be delighted to welcome you again at Angsana Cayo Santa María, your home, so that you can enjoy an even better experience than the previous one. With our best regards, Familia Angsana

Angsana Cayo Santa Maria Positives and Negatives

, Toronto, ON
2022-04-15
We visited Angsana Cayo Santa Maria from March 18-April 8, 2022-a 3 week stay in total. We did our homework in regards to reading all of the rave reviews about Angsana Cayo Santa Maria on this platform as well as different FB group pages prior to booking, having said that we chose to do a lengthy vacation due to the great reviews by return visitors.

Our Room:
Upon arrival we were shown a partial oceanview room which had a musty odour and because we were having a lengthy stay decide to upgrade to an oceanview suite in the main building-the cost of the upgrade was $ 495 US funds which we were told was the price of 2 weeks instead of 3 weeks, we were appreciative. Raymondo brought us to the room.The room was beautiful, overlooking pools and ocean, and did not have a musty odour. We settled in and noticed the room had some issues. The refrigerator was leaking all over the floor, there was no light in the water closet, both handles on the sliding doors to the bathroom area were not screwed in so came off as they were pulled, and the air conditioner wasn't cooling the room. We popped by the customer service and spoke to Naydis in the morning to explain the room issues-she had them looked after right away-the only thing that wasn't resolved was the air conditioner would not drop below 20.5 and we needed to keep the fan on above the bed during our stay. Yani was our chamber maid most of our stay, she was exceptional and went above and beyond in every way!! On our last night she surprised us with a romantic bath with flower petals-such a kind gesture!

Elevator Issue:
On our 2nd day-we we're trapped in the elevator for 25 minutes. Upon entering, the doors closed and the buttons in the elevator didn't work. We pressed the alarm button which you can only hear inside the elevator which we were told went to a computer system which no one was manning at the time. The doors eventually opened when others pressed the button in the lobby but we asked them not to go in and we went immediately to the front desk to Norberto. We furiously asked him to have the General Manager call us in our room. He did call with sincere apologies as we voiced our concerns. Over the next few days customer service reached out to us to make sure everything was fine and offered us a complimentary massage and romantic dinner-which was very kind. The elevator was out of commission for several days and was fixed. However, prior to our departure of the hotel on our last morning-we were again trapped in the elevator, but this time under 10 minutes, and we reported this to Raymondo.

The Resort:
The resort itself was quite beautiful as it is fairly new! The 2 pools were lovely, and the main beach was gorgeous! Drink service was excellent at the main pool as it is in front of the lobby bar-Nali, Pocurel, and others made sure to make their way around that pool often. The smaller pool near the snack bar didn't offer pool drink service when we happened to be at that pool-but was steps away. Drink service at the main beach was also excellent, as there were servers as well as the beach bar.

*A few days into our trip there was a break in the water main to the resort. There was no water to shower or flush. These things happen. For two days after we strictly had cold water, then only scalding hot water for the rest of our vacation.

Alcohol:
Although we are not big drinkers-there was shortages. There were times during our stay that there was no vodka, gin and certain mixes for 3 days at a time-and I heard complaints about beer short term shortages. I will mention that the international wines served at dinner were always fantastic!

Food:
This is where we were most disappointed due to reviews we had read, and the fact that it is 5 star Cuban resort. We have travelled to many other 5 star and under Cuba resorts with fantastic food. We were told it was because it was post COVID and difficult to get provisions, but toward the end of this food review you will see that is false. I do feel that because we were at Angsana for more than a one week stay our review of the food may be harsh-but I'm being very honest.

The buffet food was almost the same everyday. A few styles of rice, same vegetables day after day, usually two types of soup, minimal salad selections, sometimes no oil and vinegar, yes there were bread and butter shortages-sometimes none, beef, pork and chicken to grill(watch for food handling at this station), usually a few types of fish, once there was fresh squid to grill on the buffet, we saw bacon on the buffet twice, always sausages, an egg station, toward the end of our stay a pasta station was added, desserts were minimum, ice cream, rice pudding and a few cakes.

The 1 available ala carte restaurant revolved nightly between Cuban, Italian and International. The menu for each of the a a la cartes rarely changed, I say rarely because the International offered squid one night but not regularly-which happened to be our best dining experience at the resort(squid ceviche appetizer and grilled squid in white wine for the main). After dining at the Italian a la carte many nights, I fine tuned my dinner selection which I had several times over our stay (bruschetta, caprese salad, half and half cream of tomato/cream cheese soup, chicken milanese with a side of lasagna bolognese). The Cuban a la carte was not at all to my liking-it offered one meal of what seemed to be what was available from the food warmers on the buffet. One main complaint we had was that food was just barely warm- Yurchemy and his staff really tried their best at the a la cartes and made sure to get our meals to us hot.

The Romantic Dinner we were given complimentary that we were looking so forward to, sadly was a cold meal. It consisted of bread and butter, minestrone soup, lobster, rice, and vegetables. The manager Lucien did ask us how it was but we were honest about the dinner. Service was fantastic by Nali but our entire meal was cold. He did say he'd look into it and we heard from other guests that theirs was good and hot after our experience.

The Snack bar by the pool was hit or miss. We had breakfast there most days after wandering through the buffet for a possible change in food availability. The snack bar served breakfast until 11am. Sometimes hash browns were available there but not in the buffet, bacon was available there but not in the buffet-sometimes we brought out to the snack bar additional items from the buffet when they were available at the snack bar (toast and butter, sausages, fruit). For lunch when Alfredo was working he would make bacon cheese burgers-he seemed to be the only one to do that during the day, he must've had a secret bacon stash. Here would normally work at the snack bar at the quiet beach. Pizza was sometimes available and sometimes not. We were told pizza was not available after 5 pm., however we ordered pizza earlier in the day several times but was not available. Chicken tenders were good. You could also get battered fish pieces, fried plantain and sweet potato, and ham and cheese sandwiches.

The Snack Bar at the beach was better. Grilled burgers, hot dogs, chicken skewers and of course-ham and cheese sandwiches. Once ordered the grill man delivered right to you once done, we appreciated his service at the beach. Also to note-Freddy who we gave the title of Beach Ambassador helped us with beach chairs daily and found us aloe Vera for our skin, just an amazing person to get to know during our stay.

*After having eaten the same food over and over again and having voiced our opinion several times to Lucien the general manager , we learned that there was no food and beverage manager nor an executive chef. Lucien arranged in our last week to visit several other resorts for dinner with another couple. This is where we found that the selection of food at other resorts in the area had so much more to offer.

In conclusion we feel the resort was beautiful, the staff was amazing, the general manager went above and beyond to make our stay most enjoyable. Had we booked a one week stay, food availability and preparation would not have been an issue. But I would not recommend this resort be a long term destination. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
New smaller resort approximately 200 rooms, great staff, excellent wine selection, beautiful beach. Recommended for short term stays only.
The weak points
Should not be listed as 5 star in Cuba. Food selection and preparation not acceptable for this rating.
Certified

Will definitely go back!

, Hamilton, ON
2022-03-13
This was our first vacation since the start of the pandemic. Resort is beautiful with a breathtaking view of the ocean as you step into the lobby. Rooms are a good size, staff is phenomenal with a personal shout-out to Yipsy, Yailet and the lobby bar staff. Can't forget my morning cappuccino, a great way to start the day! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Hotel staff went out of their way to make our stay memorable. My husband loved snorkelling every day (coral & colourful fish). Amazing ocean view (Cabana 9, room 908) and a fantastic rainforest showerhead. Great couples massage.
The weak points
Nothing to do with the resort but the no-seeums were thick the week we were there and they do love to bite!
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Felt very safe, staff always wore masks. Guests wore masks walking into the restaurants, bars or while up at the buffet.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2022-11-29
Dear Aundria & Tony, thank you so much for a nice review about our Product & Services and specially our Staff. We hope to welcoming you back in a near future. Gracias!! Familia Angsana

Angsana

, Oakville, ON
2020-03-15
Lovely hotel, clean and comfortable [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, great snorkelling, quiet and not too busy.
The weak points
Windy and cool for three days. Long drive from airport- 1.75 hours Internet inconvenient to get onto having to log into every time
Certified

Amazing beach

, Dsl De Drummond, NB
2020-02-27
Nice resort ,nice people and beautiful beaches but the food not always hot ! The snack bar at the pool was great and the Asian restaurant also but not the buffet! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach ,pool and service
The weak points
Food
Certified

Will not return to Angsana Cayo Santa Maria

, Berwick, NS
2020-02-16
Some great memories during our week at Angsana, but many disappointments as well. This resort is a 3/5. Poor food, cheap drinks with limited choice, as well as repeated issues with hot water and the internet played havoc with our vacation. There are much better organized and smooth running resorts in the area and we will be visiting them next time. You get what you pay for. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beaches and the everyday working staff, as well as the clean rooms are definite strengths of Angsana
The weak points
Food: limited supply of fruit and vegetables Drinks: cheap quality liquor, limited mix options Hot Water availability poor Internet availability sporadic Management was all talk and no action
Certified

Awesome Time

, Brandon, MB
2020-02-15
We enjoyed our time at Agnsana. It was everything we hoped for. The service was top notch. Starting with the lobby bar, Nalli was awesome! She was fun loving and kept the drinks flowing. Often came by with a new drink for us to try and they never disappointed.
The snack shack was one of our favourite spots. The food was amazing! I suggest you try the Fish Fingers.Vivian, Maité and Alain offered great serice always smiling and willing to please.
We had wonderful meals at the Seafood/Italian a la Carte. The head waiter Ramon looked after us and suggested delicious wine options. Our server Hendry went above and beyond to make out dining experience wonderful!
At the small beach we would like to mention Alexander and the crew. They provided us with excellent service! The chicken skewers were delicious as were the drinks. They were always smiling and friendly.
We can' t name all the staff but everyone was friendly and helpful. All in all we were VERY happy with our stay at Angsana. We will be back!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Outstanding service. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Clean and well kept.
The weak points
No bathroom beside the small beach. No schedule of daily events/shows

Cuba One of our best trips

, Toronto, ON
2020-02-03
The hotel is very clean and inviting.
The staff is wonderful und super friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach is beautiful. Very good for snorkeling and swimming. Very clean. Multiple beaches to go to. Food and drinks at the beaches are great. The rooms are clean and modern. Comfortable beds. Room service is excellent. All wheelchair accessible.
The weak points
The drinks are good but not very consistent, every drink a surprise!
Certified

Beautiful, relaxing adult resort

, St. Catharines, ON
2020-01-05
This resort is beautiful, very modern and clean. The staff were all very friendly and accommodating. We celebrated our 10th wedding Anniversary while there and were asked if we would like cake with our a la carte dinner that day. We absolutely said yes, but did not receive any kind of special dinner or dessert. To be honest, I was a little disappointed.
The food in the buffet was pretty good, a pasta bar would have been nice. The only pasta available was the same rigatoni each night, sometimes with a different sauce. There was only one restaurant being used for a la carte dining. When we were booking our meals, they didn't let us book too many days in advance, as they hadn't decided yet what they would be serving. Have never experience that before lol. All in all the food was flavorable (for Cuba), we were never hungry and always found food to eat. The 24 hour bar had good pizza and the beach snack bar had awesome chicken skewers!
The beach was beautiful! When in front of the lobby looking to the water, if you walked to the right you would come to the small private beach. We were always greeted by the bartender and lounge chair guy. Chairs were brought to wherever you wanted, sand brushed off and your towel placed on it. This beach was very shallow and super quiet.
If you wanted a larger beach, you walk to the left and come to a beautiful sandy beach with lots of shady areas to relax. Again the lounge chairs were brought, brushed off and towels placed. Music would usually be playing here and you could also snorkel in some areas.
The pools were shallow, well maintained and very clean. Bar service was brought right to your chair.
Our room was beautiful, large king bed, walk in shower and large bathroom. Only thing that could have made it better would have been some towel art and flowers left in our room. When speaking to other guests they apparently had these things daily. We tipped every day and left items for the maid, but only received a swan on the bed for our anniversary. Not a big deal, just a little disappointing, as I feel these are the touches that make a resort 5 star.
The resort is adults only and extremely quiet. If you are wanting to enjoy shows at night, music around the pool or throughout the lobby, this is not the resort for you. There was a piano in the lobby bar and the pianist was fantastic but that was it. Two of the nights there was a bit more entertainment with dancers one night and a Michael Jackson show the other. But no large shows happening nightly.
All in all we had a good stay, met some amazing people both tourist and workers. Would we go back again, if we wanted complete quiet and relaxation yes. Would we recommend Angsana to others, yes, again if they wanted quiet and relaxation. Maybe at a different time of year, there would be more activities. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Modern, clean, friendly staff. Food was good, beaches are beautiful, can snorkel as well. Hobbie cat and paddle boats available each day for your use. Excellent coffee/ cappuccino.
The weak points
Inconsistency in the drinks from bar to bar. Bartenders free pour so you could get super strong or barely none. The resort was too quiet for our liking.
Certified

A TRUE FIVE STAR PARADISE!!!

, Ottawa, ON
2019-12-31
THE BEST HOTEL FOR COUPLES IN CUBA. EVERYTHING WAS PERFECT: STUNNING LOCATION, GREAT LONG BEAUTIFUL BEACHES AND POOLS,MODERN DESIGNED GROUNDS AND LUXURIOUS ROOMS, WONDERFUL SERVICE, GREAT FOOD CHOICE, AND GREAT MUSIC IN THE LOBBY BAR WONDERFULLY MANAGED BY ERIC. THE NEW CHEF RICARDO HAS CREATED VERY SUCCESFUL AND SUCULENT A LA CARTE MENUS. THE SUPER PROFESSIONAL MANAGEMENT LEAD BY LUCIEN, AND ULISES AS HEAD OF CLIENT RELATIONS CATERED TO ANY WISH MAKING OUR STAY PURE HEAVEN FOR HONEYMOONERS.
WE CANNOT WAIT TO GO BACK! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
PROFESSIONAL SERVICE, ROOMS, A LA CARTE RESTAURANTS, LOBBY BAR, 2 BEACHES
The weak points
ABSOLUTELY NONE!

Amazing Third Visit

, Dollard-Des-Ormeaux, QC
2019-12-15
The resort was very clean... The staff amazing...This is a very laid back resort for adults.. There is entertainment at night but no large shows put on. Most music is played in the bar area and is quite good.. The pianist is wonderful......THis is not a loud resort at all and some may find it too quiet but it all depends onwhat you are looking for. There is no loud music at the pool area or loud music at the beach.. They do play music however.....They have stretching classes and dance classes as well..... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff by all counts are the best that i have encountered in over 20 years of going to Cuba......
The weak points
Although they have come a long way in food preparation the need to have fresh herbs would be so much appreciated......

Amazing small resort

, Toronto, ON
2019-05-07
Gorgeous new resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff are truly amazing. They will do anything in their power to accommodate. I also love that there are only 250 rooms. It really personalizes your stay.
The weak points
The food isn't great. There's a lack of fresh vegetables in comparison to other resorts. I could always find something to eat though. The 90 min drive from the airport is long but that is beyond the control of the hotel.
Certified

Angsanas future???

, Toronto, ON
2019-04-18
There is lack of management and ideas how to govern this kind of business .
As for now this resort does not deserve to be mark as 5 stars , max 3??
Food : repetitive , lack of professional and skilled cooks.
Maintenance : both pools need to be take care off regularly.
In our 2 weeks stay have not been cleaned or vacume once.
Entertainment: none.
Lobby bar: lack of professional and wall trained servers.
Jazz bar: it's a joke!!
They need to hire professional DJ. Present one have no clue how to entertain people. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location: beutifull peace of land and beaches.
The weak points
Management, no business plan at all, price way to high.
Certified

Belle vacances reposante

, Mascouche, QC
2019-04-07
Nous avons voyagé plusieurs fois a cuba et notre sejour au Angsana est de loin notre préféré. Il fait savoir d'abord ce que vous recercher comme ambiance. Ce resort est très tranquille, calme sans animation ( ou presque) J'aurais parfois aimé que les animateurs soit un peu plus présent. Il n'y a pas de spectacle tous les soirs , nous en avons vu q'un seul durant notre voyage. La plage est magnifique mais apporter dea souliers d'eau, il y a plusieurs coraux qui blesse les pieds. La nourriture est bonne, j'ai apprécié les deux restaurants a la carte. Le buffet est petit mais on manque de rien. Le snack bar est aussi très bien, il manque par contre souvent de nourriture ( parfois la pizza, les frites etc) assez typique a cuba. Les chambres sont spacieuse belle douche de pluie toujours de l'eau chaude et de la pression. Le service est tout simplement impecable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Le service La plage Les belles chambres La tranquillité du resort
The weak points
La plage est moins belle qu'à cayo santa maria

Angsana Cayo Santa Maria

, Alliston, ON
2019-04-01
Great relaxing vacation! Food was excellent. Service was excellent. The room was always clean. Staff made sure you were taken care of. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food and rooms
The weak points
Trouble converting CDN to CUC at hotel. They did not get their bank delivery. Pool and beach towels were in short supply.
Certified

What A Week! I travelled solo and had a great time

, Nepean, ON
2019-03-15
This resort is by far number 1 on my list of resorts. It's quiet, new (opened in October 2018), small (only 250 rooms) and best of all adults only. This was a very relaxing vacation. If you just want to relax and enjoy the sun and a good book or two this is the place to go. The lobby bar staff and drinks are amazing. They have all the alcohol you will ever need. They will make any drink you want. If you want them to make you a ceasar, bring small cans of Motts Clamato. They have everything else. There are two beaches. One you share with a neighbouring resort and the other is small and private with a sand bar that you can walk out quite far. There is awesome snorkeling right in front of the resort where there are rocks and coral. They have barracuda, star fish and all sorts of colourful ones as well. Bring your mask and water shoes. The buffet is good with lots to eat. It doesn't change very much. Pretty much the same every day but if you try something new every day instead of loading up on everything you will be fine. The wait staff are very good. The wine is better than all other resorts I've been to. I ate lunch almost every day at the snack bar. It's not your common snack where you have to stand in line. It has a menu for breakfast, lunch & supper. They still have burgers, hot dogs and pizza but on a higher scale. You sit down with glass plates, silverware and are served your meals. They have burgers, real chicken & pork sandwiches and best of all they have poutine, with real gravy. They also have a bar and are open 24 hours a day.
If you react to bug bites, you might want to pack some bug spray, benedryl and after bite as I saw about 4 guests that had their legs covered in bites. The staff said they were mosquitos but I believe they were either sand fleas or something called chiggers.
I can't say enough about this resort. Book it! You won't regret it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The rooms are very nice, beds are comfy, hot water everyday. The lobby bar staff are very friendly. The snack bar is awesome. The private beach is good to sit and watch the pelicans dive for sardines but only in the morning.
The weak points
They have wifi available everywhere but will only give one hour at a time. You can go back many times during the day to reactivate your account. Since I was travelling solo I promised hubby and kids I would keep in touch everyday.
Certified

Great Staff, Some Challenges

, Sarnia, ON
2019-02-16
The resort is nice overall and though this was an adults-only spot, it was regularly quiet. The entertainment by the pool and at the bar was good most nights. One thing that we were surprised by was that the resort does not directly face a beach, but a rocky reef, and either ends of the resort had beaches - these were nice but not the best for swimming. The main beach is shared with another resort and taking a walk down it was a good experience. Only two restaurants, but they were better than the buffet restaurant or the 24-hour snack bar. The buffet spot felt more like a cafeteria, with line-ups and run-outs happening frequently. Shortages of bread, butter and milk occurred during the week. The 24-hour snack bar menu was hit-and-miss; it didn't change but run-outs happened almost daily. To their defense, this may have been due to the tornado in Havana affecting their supplies. Being in the middle of nowhere, any shopping, even for chips, chocolate bars or over the counter meds (ibuprofen, etc.) requires a taxi ride. The resort shop had none of these.

Though we would likely not go back to this spot, it was nice for our first trip to Cuba. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff is fantastic, from the managers to the gardeners. The room was very comfortable.
The weak points
The Resort information said "Sail, windsurf, paddleboard or kayak..." but no such things are at this site specifically. Maybe they're available through the resort at the other end of the beach? Food was okay, but shortages of staples occurred.
Certified

Best Resort Ever!!!

, Oshawa, ON
2019-01-09
Travelled to this resort over Christmas...resort opened mid October, so I was a little hesitant as it was so new.. so I stumbled on this group chat on face book, and I booked 1 week later. Staff was so amazing and genuine, went above and beyond. When I first arrived it was Paradise... only in the magazines
Rooms were top notch and food was amazing, The restraunt staff were impeccable, I met up with 2 ladies that were having birthdays around same time as mine. Customer relations last at front desk set up a special birthday dinner.. upgraded Champaign special desert and actually sang to us all. Table even decorated.

Entertainment at night was amazing, singer, guitar playing to Piano playing plus; pool shows at night.
Few little problems that occurred, they were Adress right away. Always approachable and available for any questions.

Trust me I will be returning again and again [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff Hotel Food beach
The weak points
Na

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2022