Grand Memories Santa Maria

Grand Memories Santa Maria
3.473.473.473.473.47
3.47 based on 179 reviews
#14 of 24 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cayo Santa Maria
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (139)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Great Beach, Okay Food, Rundown Hotel

, Toronto, ON
2020-03-13
Overall, it was a positive experience, beaches were nice, entertainment and staff were great. The resort however was quite rundown, especially for only being built in 2017. Not comparable to 4.5 stars elsewhere in terms of aesthetics, however, it was a cheap price. 1.5 hour drive from the airport, but the bus that takes you to the resort offers beer ($10 for 4 beers) and staff was great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Entertainment, price, staff, beaches
The weak points
Okay food, rundown resort
Certified

Grand Memories, Santa Maria

, Saskatoon, SK
2020-03-11
Generally, very good. Just small annoyances. Cart drivers come from behind and zing by without stopping. (Wife has trouble walking). Excellent buffet, but needs a little organizing. Nice to have a good path to the market. I went several times. All in all, we enjoyed our 2 weeks there very much. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Wonderful staff, friendly & helpful. Beautifully cared for grounds. Flowers, trees and greenery just gorgeous. White sand beach. Food very good.
The weak points
No see'ums. Everyone getting bit at the pool and so itchy after. O saving seats sign at the pool but not enforced = good chairs gone early and empty for hours. Always windy = good days on beach limited
Certified

Will not return to this resort.

, Cobourg, ON
2020-03-07
The rating is a 3 1/2 to 4 star I gave it a 1 1/2. Everyone we talked to said like myself said "The beach is the only good thing about this resort". True!
My Complaints.
No water in bar fridge.
Had to go get it ourselves.
No light in room only entrance way. How long does it take to change one burnt out bulb. We never had it changed the whole entire time yet told them 4 times. Complaint to Front desk CS and the maid herself made a call to front desk. Still wasn't changed
The building 54 many rooms were under renovations.
Our safe was not working for 3 days. Paid for Wi-Fi very poor connection if any. CS was kind enough to get us a connection on our last day so we could connect with family back in Canada. Thank you for this.
The bathroom smelled so bad we had to keep the door closed. The beds were hard as a rock.
We had four flights of stairs at night no lights in common areas of buildings, had to use our phone flashlights.
Mold in bathroom,
Lights and fixtures broken off walls and along walkways. The pools... never could get a lounge chair. Many lying on concrete as not enough chairs unless you find a broken one.
These are little things make the resort rating much less then what they put out. Lots of food but repeatedly rotated between lunch and dinner. And the food Well this is Cuba right
Had 3 la-acarte. Emporium was horrible and you are dinning in A freezer. Yes wear a jacket you will freeze and eat fast or your food gets cold before you even begin to eat it.
Most staff are lazy and don't want to do their job. We tipped over and above as we always do but it wasn't well deserved. I won't be returning to this resort It's a shame it's going down as many others have said because the beach is beautiful But in Cayo all beaches are just as beautiful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach
The weak points
The resort is run down unfortunately

Great vacation!

, Burnaby, BC
2020-03-03
We enjoyed 14 days staying in Grand Memories. No complains at all. We will
definitely come back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach is the best I've ever seen. Room is clean and quiet. Food and buffet service is excellent!
The weak points
Evening entertainment could be better.
Certified

A Fabulous Week in Santa Maria.

, Montréal, QC
2020-02-24
One of our favorite resorts. Santa Maria is probably the nicest area in Cuba. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent food with lots of variety. Staff is very friendly and go out of their way to serve. The pool and beach are kept clean.
The weak points
Water was shut off during the night quite a few times. Went 2 days with no hot water. Resort ran out of Coke and some liquors. The rooms are somewhat outdated. These things, however, are expected in Cuba and did not lessen our vacation experience.
Certified

Great beach and staff

, Magog, QC
2020-02-23
I have been to this resort before. The reason I returned was for the beach and the excellent service the staff offers. This time I had an the most amazing representative/concierge with diamond Club named Nordelys. She took very good care of me and my wife. Any questions or issues I had she always addressed them immediately. Every time she saw us, she would approach us with a big, friendly smile and ask us if everything was fine. Often offering suggestions for meals, restaurants and other amenities. She is great and I would return to this resort again if I had her as our concierge. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach, and all the staff, 2 exceptional staff members Ravelo from Grand memories buffet and Nordelys from Diamond Club
The weak points
Complex is aging but offers a very authentic atmosphere
Certified

Nice Spot for a Family Vacation

, Toronto, ON
2020-02-10
The resort itself is typical for Cuba....lacking in some minor repairs but quite functional. We arrived late due to airline issues, and found issues in one of the 2 rooms we had booked. I reported this first thing the next morning, but nothing was done by supper the next day. I asked to speak with the manager, let him know of my displeasure, he was genuinely upset, talked with his staff, and came back to tell me he was upgrading us to a suite and another separate room for the balance of our stay!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great people, from Ricardo the general manager, right down to the gardeners!!
The weak points
Some of the rooms are in need of minor repairs,,,,leaky plumbing, slow drains, doors hard to close
Certified

First time in Cuba

, Winnipeg, MB
2020-02-09
It was our first time in Cuba, we loved the people, the staff were very helpful and friendly. The resort needs to be upgraded. The food was mediocre but we knew that it was going to be as we did our research. Beaches are pristine. The resort lacks cleanliness, the hallway in the lobby where the washroom is had a stench that turned my stomach. More late night snack options would have been nice but the pizza was great. Not a 4.5 star resort at all. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff/people
The weak points
Cleanliness, food.
Certified

Fun in the Sun

, Pontypool, ON
2020-01-29
Good overall. The beach makes up for any shortcomings at the resort. Rooms need repairs. Drinks could be more exotic instead of just sweet sugary drinks. Good cappuccino.
Public bathrooms were very dirty and no supplies. Buffet had something you could find to eat but there wasn't the variety that I have gas before. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff, friendly and helpful. They go out of their way to make you happy. The restaurant staff were always asking if they could get us anything more. Rooms were clean
The weak points
The buffet food was not the best. Al a carte restaurants were nothing special except you were catered to. The room needed a few repairs. Bar drinks were not good. Public washrooms dirty and no paper or handryers Rooms need updating and baths
Certified

Avoid at all costs

, Orangeville, ON
2020-01-26
The resort has greatly deteriorated since my last stay two years ago. The rooms and resort are dirty. The toilet in the room is beyond stained and disgusting . The entire washroom area smells of urine . The shower floods every time used and we had no hot water for most of our stay . The entire sink in our room fell out on my husbands foot cutting him .

Our first day an entire branch of coconuts fell off a tree and came within inches of crushing my 6 year old . It landed instead on my husbands neck and several landed on my 6 year old leaving them both sore , scratched and bruised . The resort should have been maintaining these to prevent injury and removing them since they were on a tree on a main path . My husband spoke with the manager Ricardo and feels he did handle the situation to the best of his ability but ultimately the resort is in such poor repair.

If you do not arrive to the buffet right when it opens many of the food containers are empty , even bread . Flies are on food and everywhere .

One evening we were seated (Diamond Club)and our drink orders placed and we arrived back to our table from the buffet and another family was seated at our table and the response from the server was that I should have left my purse at the table !

I finally gave up on the buffet when I ordered fresh pasta from the pasta station and found a bug in it. I ordered many hot waters at the buffet for tea that I had brought with me and cup after cup came out dirty with particles floating in it. The only place to have a chance at a clean cup was the lobby bar and even then it was hit or miss. I eventually stopped going to the buffet and lived on almonds I brought from home .

We encountered rude staff trying to enter our room to check the mini bar and had a bad interaction with one when my husband refused because I was sleeping .

We visit with very low expectations but this visit has been too much and not worth the amazing beach at the cost of everything else .

We paid cash to upgrade our room on arrival and that was credited back to us after the coconut incident (which we appreciated) however I would not personally feel comfortable recommending this resort to anyone or ever returning . We had a horrible week and wish we had stayed home in the cold and snow. I do not recommend this resort to anyone looking for an enjoyable vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
Everything other then beach!
Certified

Grand memories

, Wyebridge, ON
2020-01-24
The hotel is very well kept inside and out. The beach is outstanding. Going for long walks is easy. The food was good and plentiful. The staff are very friendly and helpful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach and the staff
The weak points
The only complaint is that there are not enough chairs and shaded areas around the pool and the beach
Certified

Christmas in Cuba

, Windsor, ON
2020-01-02
Had a wonderful time, met many other Canadians. The service was fantastic, the beach was amazing and the 3 la carte restaurants where absolutely delicious. The Cuban people are amazingly hard workers and dedicated to there responsibilities. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The strong points, the beach, La carte's I went to Mediterranean, Emporium and the Italian were 5 star service and food.
The weak points
In the main lobby washroom where not clean and most time no tissue paper. Safety drain in bathroom floor was not covered someone can really hurt themselves. The 24 hour snack bar metal ramp with uneven boards, very dangerous. No beach towels in room.
Certified

Never again

, Scarborough, ON
2019-11-26
The hotel is old and while the rooms are clean, it has a very strong musty odour. Nothing dries due to the heat .. it's a bit overwhelming to breathe it in while sleeping ..When I got home and opened my suitcase, all my clothes wreaked of musty smell.. had to immediately throw them in the wash Food extremely tasteless .. staff good in the larger hotel Grand Memories but staff at the dining room at Sanctuary not friendly at all .. All inclusive drinks but no soda water or tonic on the island .. all drinks too sweet beer best option
Cuba is a cheap destination if all you want to do is lay on the beach , not sure how some people go year after year .. I have travelled to many destinations so this by far is at the bottom [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach is beautiful and very warm water
The weak points
Food , musy t odour in rooms

Grand Memories Santa Maria

, Brampton, ON
2019-10-09
This was my second time in the past 6 months to Grand Memories Santa Maria and we had a wonderful time and experience, we will definitely visit again and again! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The people, the views, the beach, the pools, the food all amazing great time by our whole family
The weak points
lacking toilet paper in the public washrooms sometimes but not everytime
Certified

Grand Memories Santa Maria

, Brampton, ON
2019-10-09
THis was my first time away and Grand memories exceeded my expectations [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the resort is beautiful! Food was better than i expected. atmosphere was great!
The weak points
lacking toilet paper in some bathrooms but not all the time
Certified

Memories Sanctuary Diamond Club

, Montréal, QC
2019-10-06
Just got back from this hotel, It was our third time visiting on vacation over the past 10 years .The exterior is beautifully maintained.. but the rooms need to be updated... but they are very clean.. housekeeping does a great job!:)The staff working on the resort are fantastic! They really do everything possible to make you happy and comfortable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing staff!:) Two employees really stood out for us!Yordy mera Gonzalez at the Italian restaurant is such a nice person and very welcoming:) Also the man driving the golf cart that had the Rubber chicken hanging from his mirror playing amazing music:)
The weak points
We purchased the strongest bug repellent and this didn't help..I got at least 50 bites:( They need to spray more fumes early in the morning to control this!:(
Certified

Great Staff But Some Improvements Required

, Toronto, ON
2019-09-15
Great Staff but Improvements Needed For Me to Return

Grand Memories Sanctuary fell flat with the negatives outweighing the positives, making for a disappointing vacation esp. when compared to Sunwing's advertising video.

Among the positives, we liked our large cheerfully decorated suite with superb air con, a great mini-fridge, living room area, large closet with lotd of hangers, excellent dresser drawer storage, free safe, umbrella, amplified shaving mirror, and nice sized balcony with table and chairs. So, although we didn't get the 2nd floor room we requested nor a good view but a 1st floor, lousy view overlooking scrub bushes and litter (often with bad odour), the room itself was 4 star quality.

Here then, is the other good and not-so-good summary.

* Nice property with mature trees, flowery bushes, all wonderfully landscaped by gardeners who suffer in the hot sun but who cherish their labour of love;

* 24 hour lobby bar and snack food incl the great pizza when they don't run out (even if the bugs kept us away and off the outdoor patios, the only place we could smoke);

* Air conditioned lobby bar & restaurant (read on);

* Large swimming pool with plenty of chairs, pool bar and energetic entertainment team albeit I've never had so much trouble getting them to play music. Told they need to "clear it with Head Office" after offering to give them a "Best of Elvis Presley" & "Earth, Wind and Fire" CDs. Seems the guy hasn't heard of Elvis!

* Great "butler service" ensuring everyone has an la carte reservation each day since there's NO buffet dinner option (special thanks to Lester, Jorgie and Mercedes but read on);

* Yunier (Junior) the beach area snack bar chef who makes the "best sandwiches" in Cuba (he even rotates his mayonnaise condiment every 15 mins. so it never goes bad, a first for me in Cuba);

* Reinelle the mini-fridge delivery guy who breaks serious sweat ensuring everyone has what they want;

* Diallyis the a la carte restaurant waitress and Evelyn the breakfast/lunch waitress who stand out amongst everyone else!

* George the hard pressed yet composed hotel check-in clerk/front desk attendant with a sense of humor and great English;

* William and Thomas the golf cart drivers/room porters who drive you between resorts and luge heavy suitcases up & down stairs wearing out their vertebrae (tip these guys and your airport bus drivers - they deserve it!)

The Not So Good:

* Only 11 tables in the lobby bar with 8 of 11 with just 2 chairs and 2 bar stools for a 30 Person seating capacity at a 3 hotel resort with a potential of hundreds of people, if not way more, so people have nowhere to sit during the GREAT nightly entertainment;

* Terribly underutilizedl covered outdoor patio areas off the lobby bar without lighting or atmosphere. Take a lesson from Sol Sirenis Coral resort (Varadero) that has candlelite tables and waiter service!

* Air conditioned restaurant compromised by OPEN DOORS allowing the heat, humidity and biting bugs in! Nothing worse at dinner knowing you're the main course! Tell me, they have 3-4 people daytime opening doors at bkft/lunch, why not at night when they can serve a much more useful purpose?

* About the biting black flies, problems also incl. infested bathrooms, hotel rooms that "welcome you with dozens of bugs" on arrival that take 3-5 -days to eradicate! It was so bad, my partner wanted to leave 1 week into our 2 week vacation!

* Satellite TV. We were 3/4s thru a movie and in the 9th inning of a baseball game when the connection cut out! Seems the resort pirates the stations resulting in sudden blackouts, how awful.

* Disconnected walkway lamplights making late night walking a chore and a lost opportunity to add a romantic atmosphere to your holiday experience;

* Poor a la carte dining at the Grand Memories where they book you every night (just say, no thanks). Plus, the worst ever lobster dinner I had in 15 years of visiting Cuba! Walked out, as it was black in several spots and risky, this after originally being denied a small spoon in anticipation of eating it by a "miserable male waiter;"

* The "exclusive Diamond Club Sanctuary guests, Adults- Only beach" on the leftside at Grand Memories that isn't advertised, and worse yet, NOT policed! Non-Sanctuary guests, kids, and Cubans there when they have their own area and didn't pay the premium price! No worries at Sanctuary though, it is policed;

* Watered down juice for cocktails and bartenders who don't stir the juice jugs before making a drink plus Pina Coladas often nothing more than milk and rum. Head over to Grand Memories for the best drinks, if you don't mind the 15 minute walk or waiting on a golf cart ride;

* Screwy showerhead and no bottle openers in room despite beer bottle deliveries (bring your own);

There you go, the good, the bad.

Shame about the management of this potentially great resort with wonderful staff who you want to come see again but unfortunately, you think you won't cause of everything else.

Hopefully, they improve things and I return again! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff and swimming pool. Beach not great at all unless you go to the Grand Memories one, abd 24 hour bar and snack food including good pizza when they don't run out.

Beach very good. Food very bad.

, Toronto, ON
2019-08-09
---Room service very good.
---Entertainments were (1) poor; (2) not understandable because of being in Spanish; (3) not international.
---The management of the buffet was incredibly very poor. The quality and variety of cooking were very low. The buffet restaurant was very old and the windows glasses dirty. The flow of people and things in the buffet restaurant were very chaotic and noisy. The meat was uneatable. The main dish was boiled corn and very low-quality sausages. Fruits and fruit juices were at a minimum. Sweets and cookies were unbelievably poor and at a minimum; to the extent, always there was a line of people for the desired donut in syrup.
---Mosquitos were everywhere and 24 hours a day. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, water and sand.
The weak points
Food, cooking, buffet and snack bars. Pool.
Certified

Another Great Vacation!

, Oshawa, ON
2019-07-26
Had a great time. Staff are friendly, professional, outstanding. The lobby bar staff are the greatest! Room clean and comfortable.
Beach is awesome. Marlon went out of his way everyday to greet us at the beach, finding us loungers, cleaning them and is professional, funny , Great job Marlon. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
Some of the sections are looking old and tired, could use some painting and new tables and chairs in lobby bar.
Certified

Hmmmm

, Brighton, ON
2019-04-17
I have trouble walking. A week before arriving, I emailed the resort requesting a room in a building close to the pool and main buildings. Upon arriving, they had given me a room that was furthest from the pool and all of the restaurants. I had to walk back (2am) to request a new one.
The room I was given had mold all along the bathtub and an awful smell, but I was exhausted. At least it was near the pool.
Food was repetitive. Mornings choices were fish, omelettes, cereal, fish, toast, cheese and fish. (lots of fish and shrimp every meal). There was not much fruit or Veggies.
Lunch was similar except that instead of omelettes, it was Stirfry.
Supper was the same
Every. Single. Day.
I tried the a la cartes. Food was not better. Service was slow. The food was cold at 2 of them. My steak was almost blue rare. I did end up eating it as it tasted good.
Do not get the lasagna!!
Entertainment team showed promise as they were talented. I wouldn't take kids to the shows as they are pretty inappropriate. Girls are not dressed in much clothing and dressing sexually. In the few sites I went to, I saw many people walk out and there was always one guy who video taped it for later.
Music at the pool was so loud it became difficult to have a conversation with anyone without yelling.
Pizza station was good, snack area (ham sandwich, hotdogs, chicken) was also good in the afternoon.
Watch out for bugs.
They fogged for mosquitoes at night which Sent them all inside around supper time. I brought bug spray (strong deet and did not work) I have over 30 bites. It's a shame, but ended up going inside our room after eating supper on the last few nights.
The pool itself was nice, the ocean was amazing!! I'd go back to it or neighboring resort just for the beach. Teal water. White sand.
They had great, friendly bartenders. Raul in main lobby was great as we're a few others.
The entertainment team was friendly. I've made a few friends among them.
I'd suggest learning Spanish before going. There is not much English spoken by many of the staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, Pool
The weak points
Food, Bugs, Lack of english, Buildings are deteriorating, No schedule of events. (previous resorts had a schedule ie at 11 volleyball, at 1 archery, etc), No WiFi available until day 3
Certified

Disappointed

, Sidney, BC
2019-04-12
This was my first time to Cuba. I was aware going in that food and facilities are not like other countries standards. The resort is tired and in dire need of maintenance. At times the washroom at the pools had feces everywhere and no toilet paper, we just walked to other facilities further away. Our room was ok, but the bathroom was bad. Often smelled of sewer gas and a large patch of black mould on the wall. Bed was not too bad, have had worse but the sheets were too small for a king bed so they used 2 sheets for the bottom that overlapped, this was a pain.
The food in the buffet was good at times but was very dry, repetitive and poorly marked to show what it was. One gross thing that happened was my girlfriend having a cockroach in her latte. She took it well considering she had to spit it out, nasty. Omelets in morning were great as was the ala cart meals. The 24hr pizza guy was very popular for good reason, his food was better than the buffet.
The location was very good and the beach was the best I've seen, and I've been to a lot of beaches in different countries. Ocean was warm and crystal clear, just beautiful.
Staff were amazing, so friendly and kind. They work very hard and deserve the tips they receive. They speak English and French very well so language was not a barrier. I enjoyed all of them.
Bring bug spray, got eaten alive first day and off and on during my week there I did buy bug spray at hotel but they still seem to find a way to get you.
I would not recommend this resort overall and would give it more a 2 1/2 star rating. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach Staff
The weak points
Food Facilities Mosquitos, flys Lack of maintenance
Certified

Grand Memories Santa Maria

, Brampton, ON
2019-04-08
Great place, great atmosphere, better than expected for Cuba. Amazing friendly staff, food better than expected as well [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly amazing Staff - great atomosphere
The weak points
some areas of cleanliness but much better than expected
Certified

Amazing holiday!!

, Toronto, ON
2019-04-06
I traveled with my daughter in law and grandaughter, we had an amazing time. our room was spacious, there was plenty of places to eat other than the the buffet. bar b q on the beach and at the pool were great the pizza was amazing. lots of activities. Yasmanny, Elaine, Claudia, Melina Raul, Deni Osneil, Alexandro and all the rest of the staff were amazing!! Will definitely be going back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach, good food, spacious rooms, plenty of activites
The weak points
far drive to and from the airport
Certified

Not worth the money or a 4.5 star rating

, Pickering, ON
2019-03-30
Ben to Cuba 14 times and this was by far the least memorable trip.Had to fight with front desk then finally go to a manager to get the proper room we had paid for.Room not made up for 2 days,then maids folded up wet and 2 day used towels when they did do room.No toilet paper.Room fridge was supposed to be stocked daily,was not.And when it was ,1 beer,1 pop and 1 water.Asked for 2 beers and was told flat out NO you only get what was given.We had paid for DIAMOND CLUB that was supposed to get PERKS,what a joke.EXCLUSIVE beach area with own waiter,,,ya,,yourself .Leaking water pipe access closet that was right beside our room,water on floor in hall,told maid,looked inside closet and saw LOTS OF MOLD.So this has gone un-repaired and not cleaned for a long time.Diamond Club service was great,,,,if you could find them.Not all was below expectations as there was 1 bartender who was beyond great,,,Yamilka.Lobby bar was next to impossible to get served at.This is maybe a 2.5 star resort,,,,definitely not a 4.5.As I said we have traveled to Cuba frequently and this was the first time that we were glad to be going home.Paid a lot for this trip and then the price dropped considerably the very next day.Would not recommend this resort at all. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pizza bar and Yamilka the Bartender. And yes the beach area was very nice,but it did need to the seaweed cleaned on the shore better.
The weak points
Front desk,Diamond Club service,room cleaning,food not hot at buffet ( tried the vegetable mix,was still frozen) a ,joke of a mini fridge stock in room,mold ,junk laying along walkways to beach
Certified

Very bad place ever

, Markham, ON
2019-03-26
we had very bad experience , not clean at all, all washroom are not usable, room with bed bugs, we still suffering from bed bugs, my wife and both sons
still vomiting, sick, still we did not have proper sleep, bed bugs , we put our clothes at the belconey some one took it. my wife got breathing problem. food are very bad, when we enter buffet area smell like garbage, i would suggest please do not go to this place, you will be sick after.we wait for drinking water more than 4 hrs. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
no strong point at all
The weak points
it's very bad place to go
Certified

My stay at Grand Memories Santa Maria

, Pierrefond, QC
2019-03-05
My overall experience at the Grand Memories was average. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The hotel was very clean. Most of the staff were kind and helpful
The weak points
There was a lack of food selection during our stay. The service was extremely slow all the time. Our fridge was not replenished always with water and drinks. We had to constantly ask and they would limit the water to one big bottle a day. Toilet broken
Certified

Definitely a Grand Memory

, Guelph, ON
2019-03-05
The hotel is decent and very clean. The staff are beyond amazing. Always friendly and smiling and ready to assist you. We made friends with so many of the staff and we feel like we've got friends for life.
The buffet is good. The best part of the buffet is the fresh fish grill and the fresh pasta bar.
The show's are amazing. The dancers are very talented and it is absolutely mind blowing.
I will definitely be returning next year. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff, the entertainment and the atmosphere.
The weak points
The rooms are weathered but it didn't matter we didn't spend much time there.
Certified

Beach and Staff make this place a good stay!!

, Winnipeg, MB
2019-02-10
Resort in need of some TLC - would consider it more of a 3 .
Staff are friendly and helpful.
Food selection is limited and not usually hot.
Overall, good resort for a good price. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, beach, beach! Staff were very helpful and super friendly Great 24 hour pizza. No problem getting beach and pool lounge chairs. Rooms always cleaned and stocked....great maid service. Grounds were well kept.
The weak points
- Overall resort needed some TLC.... - Major short of TP and soap in the lobby, beach and pool bathrooms....usually none, be sure to bring your own tissue and hand sanitizer. - food selection was limited and not always at a warm temperature.
Certified

Awesome experience

, Ottawa, ON
2019-02-03
My wife and I travelled to this resort for a relaxing time. We definetly got that! Would like to mention that our butlers Claudia and ‘Glendy' were really both excellent!

We really enjoyed the main pool! Our room was ready when we arrived and was comfortable. For my wite's Birthday the room was made up with banners and balloons and we got a cake too! Would definetly recommend and return! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

A week in Grand Memories

, Vancouver, BC
2019-02-01
We stayed as a couple in January and were prepared for the worst as we had done our TA research. However, the price seemed competitive (Los Cabos was over $200 more each) and the flight was direct from Vancouver so we decided to try it out. We were looking for a mostly relaxing sunny poolside vacation with maybe one or two excursions. I think we got what we paid for, the weak points notwithstanding.

The trip from the airport is 2 hours which took a while, but the host on the bus was very funny and brought his beers so that was nice.

The pools are nice and one thing I have to say is that there was only one day we had to go hunting for a sunbed to lie on. Most of the time there was plenty of room which is a big contrast to how it can be with Mexico. The pool bars were well-stocked and the beer was fine, the mix drinks were strong although my travelling companion did mention that the more complicated drinks didn't really cut it. This is likely due to the paucity of ingredients they have.

The food is poor. The bread is terrible. Even the omelettes in the morning which I usually look forward to most of all were not well done. They pre-mixed the cheese into the omelette instead of putting it on at the end, which was unfortunate. Quality of meats - outside of hamburgers - is poor in Cuba. You will be let down so prepare to be disappointed.

The staff are very helpful and extremely grateful when you tip them. I found the front desk more than happy to convert bigger bills to singles or $3 peso bills. Sadly I didn't see much tipping happening. These people get paid $10 a MONTH - they make their entire lives happen from the tips we give them. Come on people!

The grounds are well-maintained in terms of the flowers and vegetation but the pathways and buildings are old and in many places cracked. If you have accessibility issues you may have problems with this location.

Last but not least, be prepared for bugs - on the beach and potentially in your beds. I brought "Off!" and while it worked for the (beautiful) beaches, it did not work for the bed. We had to switch rooms after being torn to shreds by bugs the first couple of nights. After that it was fine, but the safe in the second room wasn't working so we just carried our valuables with us everywhere we went. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful location, beaches, staff are mostly attentive, friendly and not hawking for tips (but are extremely appreciative). Bar staff pour strong drinks. Could always get a pool chair! general appearance of the grounds is in great nick
The weak points
Old buildings, bugs in our bed in first room, internet not always working, safe didn't work in second room, food is not good. Times of day for buffet are very poor. Pools not the safest or cleanest. VERY dark outside at night.
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021