Ocean Casa Del Mar

Ocean Casa Del Mar
3.683.683.683.683.68
3.68 based on 401 reviews
#10 of 24 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cayo Santa Maria
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (278)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Fantastic Vacation

, Winnipeg, MB
2020-03-20
The whole experience was amazing. When we first checked in our accommodations were adjusted to allow for my walking disability. They put us in rooms that were close to all amenities. The staff was amazing from our butler to bars, cleaning staff, Gardeners and restaurants. I must Give huge thank you's to our butler Jairon and Elizabeth a server at the bar who went out of there way to insure we were comfortable and had everything we needed.
Definitely this is where I would go again [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, Guest Services, on 2020-03-23
Thank you very much for taking your time and writing about your wonderful experience at our hotel, it is a pleasure for us been your choice for the enjoyment of your holidays, we hope you´ll be back as soon as possible, once again all your expectations will be met, the family of Ocean Casa del Mar, awaits your return. Sincerely: General Manager

Ocean Del Mar

, Ottawa, ON
2020-03-14
Great Value for the price! Hotel is about 4 years old I'm told and need a little help in some areas of repairs but they are working on it!
Clean friendly, beautiful beaches and for Cuba ...food was good at the buffet. A la cart not so great food half cold
Coffee bar was amazing [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, Guest Services, on 2020-03-18
We appreciate your comments about our hotel services; it is a pleasure to always receive positive opinions from our clients. We hope to be your choice again on your next vacation, we would be happy to have you with us. Sincerely: General Manager

Beautiful beaches, but hotel is a little sad

, Montréal, QC
2020-03-08
This was my second time to Cayo Santa Maria, and 6th time in Cuba, so my range for comparison and expectations of what service etc is like is pretty good.

ROOM-First off, we were 4, a couple with 2 children travelling together. I had requested a second floor room, and we had paid for an ocean view room.
When we arrived at our room, there was one king sized bed and one single bed beside the patio door. I contacted the front desk and they put me on priority to change rooms the following morning when one with 2 double beds was available.
The next day they told me they had no rooms with the requested bed arrangements but they would add another cot in our existing room. This never happened.
The view from our room had a sliver of ocean visible over the extended empty lot and mangroves. If you have booked ocean view, ask for a 3rd floor, so you can actually appreciate it, otherwise the pool view rooms are more inviting.
The room itself is not very nice and give off an air of prison accommodations...might have been the sterile lighting. They are due for renovations, and beds are standard discomfort.
The showers were great, good pressure, very hot water and large and spacious.

BEACH/SERVIC-The beach is beautiful, and the service at the beach bar is fantastic. The service at the hotel overall is very good. Staff is kind and helpful and it doesn't seem forced. Probably one of the better experiences in terms of staff and service I've received.

FOOD-the options are decent and surprisingly one of the better hotels in Cuba in terms of food. Not saying it is great, but there is enough edible food and not one of us was sick.
The food at the beach was also good, but a little repetitive.

The hotel is owned by Gaviota, and I think I'll do my research next time, as I feel they cut corners. I'd prefer to go with an international chain, whose standards are higher.

So all in all, if your trip is already booked, don't worry, you will still have a good trip, but if you haven't booked yet, I'd suggest looking into another chain. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, Guest Services, on 2020-03-13
We appreciate your comments about our hotel, they will be very useful to improve our hotel future work, we would be very grateful to be your next choice, and we would win your trust one more time, thank you. Sincerely: General Manager

Amazing Resort

, New Glasgow, NS
2020-03-04
The hotel was Great! Best beaches I've ever been to with White sand and crystal clear water. The hotel rooms were big and spacious and very clean. The house maids did a great job. The staff was very friendly and went above and beyond to make sure you had a great time. The night time entertainment was amazing. They had some very talented musicians / dancers at the resort which made it for some very fun evenings. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great Beaches, Great staff, Great night time activities, Food was good, They even made us pizzas! Internet was great...no problem with connection and great wifi
Hotel reply, Guest Services, on 2020-03-09
Thank you very much for taking your time and writing about your wonderful experience at our hotel, it is a pleasure for us been your choice for the enjoyment of your holidays, we hope you´ll be back as soon as possible, once again all your expectations will be met, the family of Ocean Casa del Mar, awaits your return. Sincerely

Worst layout

, Brampton, ON
2020-02-17
The layout of this place is horrible. They first put usnina a building which is a kilometer away from the main building where the restaurants are. Then there is the strip of land between the rooms and the beach which is barren and ugly. I expected to see Mad Max driving through there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
Bar staff would ignore people who did not tip often.
Certified
Hotel reply, Guest Services, on 2020-02-20
Nous apprécions vos commentaires sur notre hôtel, ils nous seront très utiles pour améliorer notre travail futur. Nous vous serions très reconnaissants d'être votre prochain choix et nous gagnerions votre confiance une fois de plus, merci. Cordialement: Directeur General

My stay at Melia Jardines Del Rey

, Toronto, ON
2020-02-03
we would definitely go again. Loved it. Grounds are so well maintained. 7 al la carte restaurants. The buffet has 4 hot stations for cooking in front of you. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, Guest Services, on 2020-02-07
Thank you very much for taking your time and writing about your wonderful experience at our hotel, it is a pleasure for us been your choice for the enjoyment of your holidays, we hope you´ll be back as soon as possible, once again all your expectations will be met, the family of Ocean Casa del Mar, awaits your return. Sincerely: General Director

Wonderful family vacation!

, Winnipeg, MB
2020-02-02
Beautiful resort with an amazing beach, and great staff!
We really enjoyed our stay at Ocean Del Mar. The pools were clean, the beach absolutely amazing with clear waters and soft sand.
The staff at the resort are attentive and friendly. Food at the buffet and the a la carte restaurants was delicious. We always found something to eat, and it was very yummy- especially the fish dishes.
The entertainment crew is great!! Funny and full of energy. We enjoyed a few beach games and challenges. The Michael Jackson show at night was just superb.
We went as a family of 6, and we would recommend this resort to others!
Thank you Ocean Del Mar for a memorable vacation!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach, the staff and the food.
The weak points
A few infrastructure and plumbing issues in our room, but nothing that affected our vacation. People have to remember that this is Cuba, and these people have been under sanctions for so many years, and there are many obvious struggles.
Certified
Hotel reply, Guest Services, on 2020-02-07
Thank you very much for taking your time and writing about your wonderful experience at our hotel, it is a pleasure for us been your choice for the enjoyment of your holidays, we hope you´ll be back as soon as possible, once again all your expectations will be met, the family of Ocean Casa del Mar, awaits your return. Sincerely: General Director

Give this place a pass

, Hawkesbury, ON
2020-01-28
At check in the gentleman refused to look at my reservation which clearly stated that we had an Ocean View. Arrived at our room. No ocean view. Went back to front desk and of course no ocean view available until the next day. Had to hang around the next day till 4:00 pm before we could get settled. The setup to get things is very inefficiently run. Line up to go get your internet tickets. Should be already assigned and given out at checkin instead of lining up to go into this little room to get the ticket. A time waster. The same with getting reservations at the a la cartes. All shuffled around on papers (computers?). Also give the people a couple of menu books with all the restaurants in them to look over while waiting. Geez, no one knew what restaurants were available and it took so much time.
Food: juice tasted like coloured water, sliced bread not available most mornings and both toasters were malfunctioning. A la carte restaurants were a little better, however items on the menus were not always there or as presented. ☹️ Finally five days in they created a juice bar and that was better. My husband is a very easy person to feed and he was very disappointed. The snack bar in the east pool area was horrible. The west pool at least had French fries. No staple of pizza and fries, would have been easy peasy.
Public washrooms had no working locks on the stall doors in the women's And were often closed.
The grounds were well kept and our room was very nice with a walk in shower. The staff were very pleasant and accommodating.
The little store on the resort had nothing. Rum and cigars. You couldn't even buy a bag of chips or a candy bar, a box of Kleenex. Being so far from everywhere they should have a good stock of things. The two shopping areas close to the hotel only have trinkets.
The beach itself was gorgeous however getting to it at our end was a challenge. The stairs down to the beach were cut off and all broken up. Ocean View is really a misnomer, we couldn't see the beach only a minimal view of the ocean.
Many things could have been done at very low cost to make this resort a place to come to.
I question the star rating on this resort. They may need to reassess. We have travelled to many other places in Cuba and unfortunately I will have to say I would never return to this one. Speaking with many of the other guests, they all felt the same and were also frustrated. I have never written a review in the past as I have needed felt compelled to until now. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, Guest Services, on 2020-01-31
We appreciate your comments about our hotel, they will be very useful to improve our hotel future work, we would be very grateful to be your next choice, and we would win your trust one more time, thank you. Guest Service Manager

My stay

, Sandy Lake, MB
2020-01-19
Overall experience was very good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We enjoyed the friendly staff and good service.
The weak points
The food was disappointing especially at the a la carte restaurants .
Certified
Hotel reply, Guest Services, on 2020-01-31
We appreciate your comments about our hotel, they will be very useful to improve our hotel future work, we would be very grateful to be your next choice, and we would win your trust one more time, thank you. Guest Service Manager

Very Nice Resort

, Grand Manan, NB
2020-01-19
There are multiple restaurants, bars and pools, which are enough for the number of guests viisiting at any given time. Besides, the white sand beach is beautiful and you can always find a spot (lounger) whenever you go.
Food and drinks never run out. There are Italian, Asian, International, Mediterranean and Cuban themed restaurants as well as the open buffet.
There are 2 main pools. Both have swim-up bars. Both are big enough to accommodate lots of guests. Also, there are 2 beach Bars and a BBQ. Lobby Bar is open pretty much the whole day and good part of the night.
There is a theater with different show every night.
The small market place is close-by, only a 10 minute walk. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, drinks, pools, service, location
Certified
Hotel reply, Guest Services, on 2020-01-31
We appreciate your comments about our hotel services; it is a pleasure to always receive positive opinions from our clients. We hope to be your choice again on your next vacation, we would be happy to have you with us. Sincerely: Guest Service Manager

Cayo Santa Maria

, Timmins, ON
2019-12-28
The hotel is very nice and big, the pools are very clean lots of seats around the pools enjoyed the entertainment at night there is bands m, singers shows every night plus they put music at the sports bar everybody dances very friendly it was very packed so sometimes you did wait for your drinks but they have food service it's very clean over all I would go back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful and clean pools, many pools two 24 hour snack bar the food is very good, friendly people clean rooms
The weak points
Buffet wasn't big enough not lots of choices of meat in the buffet only fish for meat I don't eat fish so had to stand in line for porch ops or beef that was the only meat my toilet had hundred of aunts coming up they fixed the problem right away
Certified
Hotel reply, Guest Services, on 2020-01-31
We appreciate your comments about our hotel services; it is a pleasure to always receive positive opinions from our clients. We hope to be your choice again on your next vacation, we would be happy to have you with us. Sincerely: Guest Service Manager

A wonderful vacation

, Mulmur, ON
2019-12-15
Our recent stay at Cayo Santa Maria's Ocean Casa Del Mar was great. Weather was perfect, food was good, beach was beautiful. Most of all the service was amazing. Our butler, Alberto was attentive and quick to make sure anything we needed was taken care of immediately. The service at the lobby bar was great. Most especially servers Elizabeth and Gilleni. Overall the most relaxing, worry free vacation we've had in years. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, Guest Services, on 2020-01-31
Thank you very much for taking your time and writing about your wonderful experience at our hotel, it is a pleasure for us been your choice for the enjoyment of your holidays, we hope you´ll be back as soon as possible, once again all your expectations will be met, the family of Ocean Casa del Mar, awaits your return. Sincerely: Guest Service Manager

Terrible experience

, Kitchener, ON
2019-08-13
Hello, My name is Eduardo Amaya and I went to Ocean Casa Del Mar in Santa Maria from August 1- August 8th 2019. I would like to share my experience with you so that you avoid going to this hotel. For starters, it is said that this hotel was built in 2016 but let me tell you that is not what it looks like. Everything looks super rundown, the pool tiles come out extremely easily, it's full of green mold. The washrooms smell gross, the fencing on railings looks like it's about to fall at any moment and has nails sticking out. All the paint done on the basketball court and tennis courts has almost completely come off and the pictures they advertise online look nothing like how it really is in person. Other than how run down this hotel looks, the service received there did not help. None of the workers knew any information, as simple as “can you turn on the fan” would get you sent to 3 different counters that would send you back to the beginning because they couldn't help you. They were very inattentive and when you would go to them for help with say refilling the mini fridge in the room, resetting the safe that wasn't done when you arrived or trying to get the wifi info, the workers clearly looked annoyed at you asking. It was very difficult to get help and every time you did it was clear that they were not happy providing you with the services. As a both English and Spanish speaking individual it was easy to communicate with the workers so communication barriers was not the reason behind the bad service. In addition the food was not good and was almost the same every single day. Most of the extra “fancy” restaurants were all closed and the ones that were open were not worth the effort. The Buffet has frequent not properly cooked meat so you had to be very careful and the milk was either spoiled or spoiled extremely quick so drinks with milk were avoided. It was hard to look forward to eating because 3 days into the vacation we were already tired of it. The area we were in was also packed with mosquitos. If you left the room without any bug spray you would get eaten by mosquitos. Although there were less during the day, the morning rituals consisted of sunscreen and then spraying every corner of your body with bug spray. At night we would go eat dinner and then run to the hotel run as quick as we can because there were so many mosquitos that we couldn't be in the lounge areas or watch the shows. Even inside the buffet and closed areas, mosquitos would be found everywhere. Only one of the shows was somewhat seen because we left before it finished due to the mosquitos constantly attacking and how bad the show was. The shows were very basic and nothing special, the performers also constantly messed up their tricks and did not seem to be enjoying themselves. Although the natural part of the island was beautiful such as the beach and water, it was saddening to see how much garbage was tossed at the beach and how none of the workers cared to clean. My family constantly picked out garbage to avoids it going into the ocean but that's about where the cleanup ended. We would ask staff to empty out a garbage can that was overflowing and they wouldn't do anything about it. Even the staff themselves would be seen just throwing cups on the ground. They had this whole program where no straws were used in the hotel which is awesome but also pointless if all the plastic cups and wrappers are being thrown on the ground onto the water and beach. It is safe to say that my family and I did not have a good experience at this resort and would not recommend going there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good location
The weak points
Management , infrastructure, costumer services and quality
Certified
Hotel reply, Guest Services, on 2020-02-04
We appreciate your comments about our hotel, they will be very useful to improve our hotel future work, we would be very grateful to be your next choice, and we would win your trust one more time, thank you. Sincerely: Customer Service Manager

Amazing

, Halifax, NS
2019-05-14
I love ocean casa del mar, the resort is beautiful, the rooms are clean, the drinks are good, the food is good (a la cartes are great!) But the main thing, is....the staff are FANTASTIC! Arley makes the trip amazing, and of course the bar tenders we love so much, yunier, edel, Bilbao, gali, Elizabeth ❤ leo, and hector in the buffet, all the a la carte staff....everyone was so friendly! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff, clean, relaxing
The weak points
Nothing.
Certified
Hotel reply, Guest Services, on 2020-02-04
Thank you very much for taking your time and writing about your wonderful experience at our hotel, it is a pleasure for us been your choice for the enjoyment of your holidays, we hope you´ll be back as soon as possible, once again all your expectations will be met, the family of Ocean Casa del Mar, awaits your return. Sincerely: Customer Service Manager

Wonderful

, Halifax, NS
2019-05-09
It was absolutely beautiful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
All
The weak points
None
Certified
Hotel reply, Guest Services, on 2020-02-03
Thank you very much for taking your time and writing about your wonderful experience at our hotel, it is a pleasure for us been your choice for the enjoyment of your holidays, we hope you´ll be back as soon as possible, once again all your expectations will be met, the family of Ocean Casa del Mar, awaits your return. Sincerely: Customer Service Manager

Not Happy

, Ardrossan, AB
2019-04-13
Bad, will never go here again:((( [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, Guest Services, on 2020-02-04
We appreciate your comments about our hotel, they will be very useful to improve our hotel future work, we would be very grateful to be your next choice, and we would win your trust one more time, thank you. Sincerely: Customer Service Manager

Resort

, Fonthill, ON
2019-04-07
We had a great time. Resort was very clean and staff were excellent. Would definitely go there again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, Guest Services, on 2020-02-03
Thank you very much for taking your time and writing about your wonderful experience at our hotel, it is a pleasure for us been your choice for the enjoyment of your holidays, we hope you´ll be back as soon as possible, once again all your expectations will be met, the family of Ocean Casa del Mar, awaits your return. Sincerely Customer Service Manager

Just OK.

, Mascouche, QC
2019-04-04
Hotel not a 4.5 star more like a 3 and not worth 1235.00 each person. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Cuban Workers very nice, the Italian restaurant a la carte was the best in our opinion. All Bars great service especially the bars on the beach. the Coffee shop was very good delicious coffee.
The weak points
Bus ride too long to reach the destinations (2 hours) and no toilel in the bus, missing bottled water in the rooms, the food was awful, waiting in line for the food was very long, snack bar very long, no cakes and cookies in the coffee shops.
Certified
Hotel reply, Guest Services, on 2020-02-03
We appreciate your comments about our hotel, they will be very useful to improve our hotel future work, we would be very grateful to be your next choice, and we would win your trust one more time, thank you. Sincerely: Customer Service Manager

Good value

, Toronto, ON
2019-03-31
This resort is pretty good, it's very large which makes it not seem crowded. You don't go to Cuba for the food so don't have high expectations. I heard other neighboring resorts ran out of fish and chicken, the Ocean had lots but had ran out of french fries last day. You go for beachs and relaxation and there's plenty of that here! The resort is aging and it's starting to show, our room was very dark as two main lights where out. Door knobs and handles either bent or loose. Faucet spins around and it should be stationary. But the TV worked and the air-conditioning was ice cold. At the sub $1000 mark it's a great value when you think about it. Would recommend it to new comers as it's a cheap first experience [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Spaciousness of resort
The weak points
Aging buildings
Certified
Hotel reply, Guest Services, on 2020-02-03
We appreciate your comments about our hotel services; it is a pleasure to always receive positive opinions from our clients. We hope to be your choice again on your next vacation, we would be happy to have you with us. Sincerely: Customer Service Manager

Great Family Vacation!

, Cambridge, ON
2019-03-21
If you're looking for an amazing beach this is the perfect resort. This was our 2nd time to Cuba and overall we had a great family vacation.

The beach was perfect. Lots of chairs and sun shelters. We had a great ride on the catamaran. It would be great if there was a bathroom close to the beach. We had to walk up to the pool area to find a washroom. Beach towel service was not good. We tried 3 times to change our towels and then gave up.The pool was very nice, clean and refreshing but the broken chairs need to be replaced.

Service for the most part was excellent. Thanks to Andro at the buffet and Alejandro at Limoncello for their friendly and efficient service.

Our room was nice, clean and the shower was huge. The “twin” beds are small though, not good for 2 people. Next time I will take my own pillow. Our maid Yaumara did a great job everyday cleaning our room and making sure our mini bar was fully stocked.

As for the food we knew what to expect. More veggies would be good but we survived for a week. The buffet was busy so get there early. If you want to eat at the a la carte restaurants make reservations on your first day. We ate at 3 of the a la carte restaurants; Limoncello, Blue Moon and Origami. All 3 meals were good and the service was excellent. One comment about the snack bar, coffee & cream really needs to be available especially in the morning!

We did one excursion off the resort and took a taxi (thanks Fidel) to Acuario Delfinario to see the dolphin show. It's only about 15 minutes away and it was a great show.

Overall we had an amazing vacation and I would recommend Ocean Casa del Mar resort for families. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- Beautiful beach & lots of sun shelters - Catamaran ride was great - Pool was clean and refreshing - Lobby Bar was excellent - Servers at the buffet were friendly and efficient
The weak points
- Beach towel service was not good - Broken chairs need to be replaced at the pool - Coffee & cream needs to be available at the snack bar especially in the morning
Certified
Hotel reply, Guest Services, on 2020-02-03
We appreciate your comments about our hotel services; it is a pleasure to always receive positive opinions from our clients. We hope to be your choice again on your next vacation, we would be happy to have you with us. Sincerely: Customer Service Manager

2 Wonderful weeks

, Halifax, NS
2019-03-06
Great hotel, not too big, great staff. We were in building 10 so everything was close at hand. We met groups up to 23 in size, who were very happy. We had our family there for 1 week also. Really satisfied with resort and their service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach was good on both ends and fine for snorkelling in the middle. Had a wonderful time. Entertainment was well done, except for taped music in buffet. Food was great for Cuba. We would go again
Certified
Hotel reply, Guest Services, on 2020-02-03
We appreciate your comments about our hotel services; it is a pleasure to always receive positive opinions from our clients. We hope to be your choice again on your next vacation, we would be happy to have you with us. Sincerely: Customer Service Manager

Nice resort

, Toronto, ON
2019-02-25
Very nice resort with beautiful beach.
Very nice wait staff and bar staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff was very friendly and helpful.
The weak points
Reception at checkout and check in took forever as not enough staff. Card lock keys stopped working constantly and had to be re programmed. Need a bigger buffet for size of resort.
Certified

Mixed reviews...

, Toronto, ON
2019-02-24
Started by getting to our room with no toilet paper and an empty fridge in the room. Sheets were stained and the provided beach towels had holes in them. Also there is a shortage of beach towels... meaning we had the same ones all week. Throughout the week, our bath towels were only changed once. We had to wait in long lines for everything. Good things were nice beach, great evening entertainment and tasty food at beach bars. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Horrendous

, St Marys, ON
2019-02-11
Don't expect your room to be ready at 4 p.m. check in, and don't expect the front desk staff to care. The staff throughout the resort are indifferent at best, and often rude. It seems to be an annoyance for staff to serve you. Prepare to wait in long line ups for terrible food. The buffet is exactly the same every day and breakfast consists of last nights overcooked cruciferous vegetables, and scrambled eggs, with mystery meat croquettes, made with last nights, left over meat or fish. The resort ran out of bread for 4 days straight. The 24 hr. snack bar has a limited menu which included bacon cheese burgers with fries, but they ran out of buns, bacon, cheese,and fries, so instead we were served a heaping plate of partially cooked, quartered hamburger patties, for my husband and I to share. We stopped at the snack bar before an early morning excursion, and at 4 a.m. could not get any service. All but one of 6 employees sat at a table laughing and joking. One employee sat at the bar sleeping in a chair and only awoke to urinate just outside the snack bar entrance. Don't expect luxuries like enough toilet paper, or water to get you through until the next day. If anything is not working in your room, get over it; no one cares. After standing in line for over an hour to book a reservation for 4 people, at the Italian restaurant, we were looking forward to a reprieve from the dismal buffet. The next night, we were rudely turned away from the Italian restaurant, and were told that our reservation was made for 2 people and they therefore, had no table for us. The buffet is half as big as it needs to be to serve the number of guests in the hotel. The wait is ridiculous and makes you feel like cattle being herded to the trough. The over all experience was a massive let down. The whole hotel staff need to be fired and management should rehire people that care to actually work for their pay check. Save your hard earned money; don't stay here. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful Hotel and very nice beach.
The weak points
The wait times and line ups for the most awful food. The utterly indifferent staff.
Hotel reply, Guest Services, on 2020-02-04
We appreciate your comments about our hotel, they will be very useful to improve our hotel future work, we would be very grateful to be your next choice, and we would win your trust one more time, thank you. Sincerely: Customer Service Manager

Awful! Totally not worth the price. Beware.

, Edmonton, AB
2019-01-25
Very, very few positives. Mikes Coffee was nice, my niece said the coffee was good, occasionally there was a piano player that was very good. The beach was lovely. Absolute chaos when we landed at Santa Clara. The staff told us to stay on the plane while they loaded passengers and new staff and then we would be off to our next stop Cayo Coco. Quite sometime later they came back and said nope they want to clean the plane so everyone off, we would be taken to a lounge for the few minutes wait. We all stood on the tarmac, someone finally handed us a TRANSIT placard and said follow. We were taken to an area
which turned out to be security? We lined up but there was total chaos no one knew where to go and no one was indicating they understood our questions. Once through security, someone pointed up the stairs. Up we trooped to a waiting room looking like a Greyhound Bus Station. Again no one understood ( or at least would help us) our questions as to where we were to go. After a long period of time finally found someone official that pointed to one of the two signs indicating a Gate. We all lined up there again and waited and waited. Finally, we made it back on the plane to Cayo Coco. After an extremely dark long ride, we made it to this hotel. The front desk staff totally indifferent and unhelpful. The room was a total disappointment! Extremely old, very small, smelled of mildew and sweat. The floorboards broken, it looked like it was a run down room from an inner city|! Stank the whole time, the pillows god awful and reeked of sweat, the shower did not drain, the mini fridge had one pop, one juice, and one beer the entire time. There was food stuck on the front of the fridge for the whole stay. Front desk staff totally indifferent to any concerns or complaints. The cushions in the lobby area are not cleaned. Many pieces of marble broken so caution is required. The food is awful, the same thing on the buffet each and every day. Most of it cold and unappetizing. The pumpkin and cabbage were nice the first couple of days but remained lukewarm for the week. The "8 restaurants" are a total joke it is just food from the buffets line presented in a different way!! The meat sits out the entire time, no refrigeration. Flies everywhere.
Many many people got sick. Not enough seating at the pool area, the pool is kept cold. The spray for mosquitoes in the morning is enough to make you gag, some horribly strong chemical. Some of the staff were friendly, but they have no concept of customer service they are totally and shamelessly about the tips. You can tell the majority of the staff at this resort do no like their jobs. They preferred to spend time chatting in large groups, with their coworkers. The gardener and housekeeper of block 1 were the friendliest people we met. The steps leading to the beach which we finally found, are old and in total disrepair, unsafe, rickety with boards missing. There is one server on the beach, one!!! The small "store" at the fits one person at a time and the staff pick and choose the ridiculously high prices which are never the same. The entertainment, well E for effort but extremely disappointing. One of the singers had a great voice and one dancer was very talented. Saw a few coackroaches but not that many, so that was a good thing. We took the "tour bus" to the tourist market and walked around another resort, this one has lush greenery but the lobby was absolutely disgusting. The smell of sewer when you first walked in, the washrooms absolutely horrific. Nothing you can do about Mother Nature, we got two nice days and the rest of the time it was rain, overcast and huge winds. The problem is that there is nothing absolutely nothing to do here without the beach. Totally and utterly disappointed with this trip, it cost a lot and was 100% not worth it! Would not recommend Cuba travel at all. Many fundamental and basic things need to be done first: an understanding of modern designs for their resorts, cleanliness, upkeep, food handling and storage safety, customer service training, to start. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach is spectacular.
The weak points
Everything else !

Do not waste your money

, North York, ON
2018-10-20
Just came back from a week in hell. We were looking for a last minute vacation and the travel agency highly suggested this place based on resort calling themselves a 5 star getaway.
This was not our first time to Cuba but unfortunately would be last. We met so many new people and they made our stay unforgettable, I wish I could say the same about the staff at the resort..

Food:
The food is not even 1 star. We knew Cuba does not offer the best food but this was really a joke. We arrived around 2pm so we got to walk in to the buffet were they had no food left by then except some old pasta and super chewy beef.. Which they offered the whole 7 days we we there! They tookke the food from lunch and bring the exact same thing for dinner then the leftovers come back next day and the day after.. So many people got sick during our stay and they wonder why! The resort had to post a memo on the bacteria going around..
The a la carte restaurants serve foods that been sitting in a fridge all day( the plates were super cold when brought to table) or raw meat. We ordered beef, pork and fish just to see if we can find a right choice and every single time they were raw inside. How can you serve raw pork?? I thought the chefs are educated on temperature at least to minimize the food poisoning!

Drinks:
If you're going to this place to get a drink and enjoy your stay well you better look somewhere else.
During our stay the resort was out of vodka for 2days, coconut rum for 2 days, beer for 3days which they started serving beer right of can after a lot of demands. They don't offer Amarertto or Bailey's at any of their bars.

Cleanliness:
Our bedsheets were never changed during our stay(7nights). There was a card by the bed that they will automatically change the sheet every 3 days but I guess that meant really every stay?!! We had the same stain on the sheets the whole time..
The pool on west side had a thick layer of dark green algae the whole time. Not even once they tried to clean that pool. The one on east was a bit cleaner considering there was no algae showing but during the 7days of stay not even once they cleaned the pool. All locals were in the pool with their hoodie and jeans on and dumping their leftover drinks in the water.
To make things even worst, one day we were in the pool joining the daily activities they had and we saw a guy with a 10 gallon container walking straight to the pool were they were about 50 people in the water and dumped the chemicals in. The smell of chlorine was so strong that we had to get out of the water right away.
The staff noticed how dirty the pool was but never bothered to clean it after hours??
We both got skin rashes because of that nasty chemicals and dirty pool from that day and back home now to deal with the rashes and marks on our skins now.

Entertainment:
One of the reasons we were suggested this resort was because we were looking for daily entertainments. The nightly entertainment was good, keeping the crowed signing and dancing along but during the day they all slacked! Most of the entertainment group were hooked with a group of girls and they were always busy in their room rather than being on the beach or by the pool to even have the music going. It was so obvious that the guys were in those girls, dancing with them in the pool or having them around every where they would go..

Staff:
We can easily say only 30% of staff there love their job and what they do. We would go to the buffet and no one would even pass by to ask if we need anything to drink.. Go to snack bar and just sit there for 10 minutes to get service while the staff were busy chatting. One time we tried to have a conversation with a guy at snack bar(I wish I remembered his name) he just brushed us off and started speaking Spanish to his coworker. We don't speak Spanish but we understand it well. This guy was telling his coworker why the hell would we ask him questions about the ocean instead of ordering. He didn't give a damn and called us stupid. Just because we don't speak the language doesn't mean we don't understand it! Shame on them.
We would go to a bar and order a drink from one person and go back next 10 minutes and someone else would say oh we totally out. We watched other customers ordering the same drink and got it made right away. Staff chose who they wanted to serve and what they wanted to serve.
If you don't tip they pretend they don't acknowledge you.
The lifegaurds at the beach are never there to find. We seen few at the bars the first couple of days and that was it.. I got stung by the jelly fish(beside the other couple that got stung same day) and there was no life guard to be found. they all supposedly carry the venom but that's if you can find any of them in the case of emergency. My boyfriend had to run back to the restaurant to get some vinegar for me after looking for them for 15-20 minutes.
The guest service lady is useless, she is rude and even when we asked for water in our room she told ua to leave the room and she will follow up. Well 24 hours later we still had to follow up to get our fridge refill while they had a sticker stating it would be restocked daily..
Overall this place has a great potential of being a 5 star but they need to hire new staff to replace those salty ones.
The resort needs a better management, the general manger heard all the complains and did nothing beside sitting down and have a dinner and drink with a traveler the whole night. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Family vacation

, Loretto, ON
2018-09-09
The staff at this hotel go above and beyond with customer service and greet you each day with a friendly smile while treating you like family. The beach is gorgeous and amenities are plentiful.the weather was wonderful and entertainment every day.
Hotel commute was 1,5 hours plus but worth the drive through each province.
This was a first time for our family so a very good experience for my children who were exposed to a different culture. Tania our room Service lady was amazing . Building 7 perfect location for both beach and pool access. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Mikes was amazing Luvia was great every day remembering our order and always friendly with a smile. Ismail at beach bar was great,friendly and made amazing beverages and quite knowledgeable. At the buffet Hector, Alin, Andro and Minguelle great service.
The weak points
Food wasn't repetitive and bland and A la carte not worth the reservation. Lots of bugs bring repellant.
Certified

First and last time in Cuba

, Calgary, AB
2018-08-16
Arrived at the Santa Clara air port via Montreal in late evening, took a bus ride >2hrs to the Resort.
the first room (4th floor-BW4) given to us has faulty, noisy air conditioning & clogged bath stand, changed to second room in the next morning in the same building (4) on 2rd floor,a better room but has no view of the sea
a little things here and there make this place unattractive likes : bad foods, unavailable beach towers, scorching lobby, tiny souvenir/money exchange shop, paid wifi...with this price you can stay in much better places: Tulum, Costa Rica, Dominica...just to name a few. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the beach, it's public so you can walk both direction as far as you want, uncrowned even in the heart of summer
The weak points
the foods, the only place you can eat probably the buffet snack bar near the pool serves horrible food, beach hut serves grilled pork and so but usually run out in short period of time, a-la-cart are just a joke
Certified

Better than our expectation

, Montréal, QC
2018-07-24
We are family of 5, we got 2 Rooms with connections door. Main room with king bed ,walk in closet , and jacuzzy, Wow.....the best room i ever had. The beach was so clean, white sand and blue ocean, nothing can beat that beautiful nature. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and rooms
The weak points
The activities programm from hotel not organized properperly. Excursion to expensive.....
Certified

Unhappy

, North York, ON
2018-06-11
Way to many mosquitoes..cannot enjoy your stay cause your getting eating alive. Foods good.95% workers r very room front desk the worse. If you don't tip you don't get food servive. U complain to manager and they don't care. Never again here .. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Worse service ever.
The weak points
Beauitful resort just sad to see the way people treat that are making them still have there jobs
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021